Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Telangana Monitor

When ever somebody is sent on punishment location they are sent to Srikakulam etc. There is a huge part of northern Andhra, that is really poor and has high illiteracy rate. What about that, are they gonna split it into northern andhra or merge with orrisa.
I hear you and this is recognized. many areas needs a lot of attention and world is not centered around Hyd / Telangana and its real estate.

BTW: you perhaps wanted to address me instead of Stan; he did not comment on the part you quote below. I didn't bring up Telangana vs Andhra "quality" in education. I was only responding to "andhra education is better than telangana" drivel by some here. I very well know the cr@p that comes out from all regions except a few pockets (and they are definitely not in andhra).

Disclaimer: This is only for fun and came via email and I am just sharing with folks here. For those who do not know Telugu, these are just names of Telugu movies being roughly translated ( some of not real but funny) to Telugu usage of Telangana region.

For Your Laughs Only

These will be titles of some of the Telugu movies when dubbed in Telangana.
** This is printed in Great Andhra.com on Feb 02. written by Mr. Bhargav**

1. Narasimha Naidu - Narsing Yadav
2. Parugu - Uruku
3. Akkada Ammayi Ikkada Abbayi - Aada Pori Eeda Poragaadu
4. Siddu from Srikakulam - Mallesh from Malkajgiri
5. Chaala baavundi - Zabardastundi
6. Avunanna Kadanna - Au Malla Lee Malla
7. Sankranti - Bonalu
8. Ammayilu Abbayilu - Porlu Poragaallu
9. Palnati Brahmanaidu - Karimnagar KCR :)
10. Naari Naari Naduma Murari - Pori Pori Madhyana Tiwari :)
11. Chantabbai - Chinna poragadu
12. Kaumaram Puli - Kaumaram Sher
13. 47 rojulu - 47 dinalu
14. Seema Sastry - Telangana Sastry
15. Sorry naaku pellayyindi - sorry naaku laggamayyindi
16. Idiot – Dhed Dimak gaadu
17. Varudu – PENDLIKODUKU
and finally.....
18. POKIRI - FALTU BADKHOW
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

Committee for consultations on situation in Andhra Pradesh constituted
Pursuant to the statements made on December 9, 2009 and December 23, 2009 and the meeting with the eight recognized political parties of Andhra Pradesh on January 5, 2010, Government of India has constituted the following Committee to hold wide ranging consultations with all sections of the people and all political parties and groups in Andhra Pradesh:

(1) Shri Justice B N Srikrishna, retired Judge, Supreme Court of India – Chairman
(2) Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh, Vice Chancellor, National Law University, Delhi – Member
(3) Dr. Abusaleh Shariff, Senior Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, Delhi – Member
(4) Dr. (Ms.) Ravinder Kaur, Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT, Delhi – Member
(5) Shri Vinod K Duggal, IAS (Retd.), former Home Secretary –Member Secretary

The terms of reference are being drafted and will be finalized in consultation with the Chairman and announced shortly.
KCR and his ilk will say...injustice...no telangana...

skaranam wrote:Committee for consultations on situation in Andhra Pradesh constituted
Pursuant to the statements made on December 9, 2009 and December 23, 2009 and the meeting with the eight recognized political parties of Andhra Pradesh on January 5, 2010, Government of India has constituted the following Committee to hold wide ranging consultations with all sections of the people and all political parties and groups in Andhra Pradesh:

(1) Shri Justice B N Srikrishna, retired Judge, Supreme Court of India – Chairman
(2) Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh, Vice Chancellor, National Law University, Delhi – Member
(3) Dr. Abusaleh Shariff, Senior Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, Delhi – Member
(4) Dr. (Ms.) Ravinder Kaur, Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT, Delhi – Member
(5) Shri Vinod K Duggal, IAS (Retd.), former Home Secretary –Member Secretary

The terms of reference are being drafted and will be finalized in consultation with the Chairman and announced shortly.
KCR and his ilk will say...injustice...no telangana...
So chai-n-biskooti committee with judges and professors for 18 months. I wonder if they add any gotchas in terms of reference.

Muppalla wrote:I was reading somewhere thet Diwakar Reddy etc. from Rayalseema want to align with Telangana instead of Coastal Andhra. Rayalaseema seems to be giving two options (1) either trifurcate or (2) Create Coastal Andhra as seperate state from the current AP and rest with Hyd as capital.

This is interesting to me and why the Rayalaseema folks does not want to align with Coastal Andhra folks. It seems like everyone are making Coastal folks as a tribe which should not be touched.

ShyamSP garu what's going on here? I do not know psyche of Rayalaseema at all as I do not have much aquantence with south other than occassional visits to Tirupathi. I only know the media reports of factional fights and crude-bomb culture.

The whole point of Trifurcation/Bifurcation is without any plan. If the rich coastal AP folks are the "real takleef", there is no game plan about how will you stop them. This needs real discussion. How in the world you will stop someone who may be relatives in all the regions will be stopped using even some Article-370 type rules? What is that anyone is going to do or gain who are just a stone throw away?

One illusion is some how the riches of the coast will melt away after the bifurcation/trifurction. There is no chance or money ( to implement expensive technologies and projects ) to do such a thing other than collaborating with the current Multanis and drop a JDAM there.
I guess it is to add more confusion to the judges and professors in Chai-Biskooti committee.

JC influence is limited to Ananthpur but this request is also came from some Kurnool MLAs. Cuddapah may like it but Chittoor rather wants to go with Nellore. 3 Rayalaseema districts may want Rayala Telangana with 3 factors in mind - caste, Krishna river, and Hyderabad. Chittoor may want to get Northen Tamilnadu areas and go with mothership area of Nellore Prantham.

Water is permanent problem, capital city is not ("take Hyderabad, relinquish Krishna"). If Krishna water is correctly shared, why losing Coastal access and get land-locked. So I doubt many in Rayalaseema would agree to join Telengana.

But they can also propose Rastrakoota Andhra region (Western Telengana+Rayalasema) :twisted:

Look chaps.

I have to go to Hyderabad to meet my friend.

Is it safe?

He will say it is safe, but I want to know from you realtime chaps!

I don't want to get knocked off by Nizam boys and the Andhra boys (or whatever you call the non Telengana people)!
KSKumar

Post by KSKumar »

RayC,

You do not want to trust your own friend. Yet, you want to rely on the word of forumites, 90% of who are NRIs with no idea of the day to day situation.

This is really :rotfl:

If you want to visit, why should a burnch of morons stop you from visiting a place in your own country?

ShyamSP wrote:So chai-n-biskooti committee with judges and professors for 18 months. I wonder if they add any gotchas in terms of reference.
Without knowing the terms of reference, here are initial reactions:

T-TDP: Not happy and waiting for terms
T-INC: Happy that Congress announced committee
TRS: No.
Other Telengana groups: No

A-TDP: No. Asking to expand the committee to all states.
A-INC: Happy that Congress announced committee
PRP: No. Asking to get cabinet approval and have national policy
Other Non-Telengana groups: No. Committee looks like a conspiracy to divide AP.

Instead of Chai-biskooti, it looks like chappal-throwing committee
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

RayC wrote:Look chaps.
Is it safe? He will say it is safe, but I want to know from you realtime chaps!
completely safe.
if there is a Telengana bandh during your visit, do not visit the OU campus (Tarnaka/Uppal area).
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

ShyamSP wrote:So chai-n-biskooti committee with judges and professors for 18 months. I wonder if they add any gotchas in terms of reference.

IBN indicates it is a 3 year term...other media are not reporting anything wrt time frame...If it is 3 years...it jells with elections in 2014.

Telangana panel formed, to give report in 3 years
The government has given the committee three years time to submit its report.
IBN says PTI is the source of the report, however on PTI website this item does not exist. I do not have a login...
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

Is it safe?
It is safe as of now. However, i suggest u monitor the situation...do not want to stuck during bandh calls specially, if you are traveling out of Hyd using APSRTC busses, they will be canceled over night before the bandh. This is a preventive measure by APSRTC.

Also, a new security force is being constituted to minimize the disruptions...during bandh.

‘Special police teams’ during bandhs sought

This is what I meant when I earlier wrote that Center will be extra careful and will not do anything. Like any great Babu our MMS and Chdu did postphone taking any decision for few more years under this committee. May be they dont want to create any problems in 2014 when Rahul Baba will be decleared ready. For Non Telengana people it will be status quo with lot of tension. For Telangana people no escape from KCR and his gang. For Hyd city bad time to continue . For TN projects to divert. For Bangalore return of IT glory. For KCR continue oppertunity for extortion politics. For Naxals lot of scope to create havac. For CBN, Rajamatha etc silence. For BJP all day time dreams of one day ruling Telangana state. For entire AP state and its people bad time.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

skaranam wrote:

Telangana panel formed, to give report in 3 years
The government has given the committee three years time to submit its report.
IBN says PTI is the source of the report, however on PTI website this item does not exist. I do not have a login...
Time frame to be decided later.
Ministry of Home Affairs - Press release

http://pib.nic.in/release/release.asp?relid=57566

Narayana Rao garu, A Russian Prince once said "Every people get the govt the deserve...." Its for the Telugu people to set their own divided house right and be counted in national scene. Nothing prevents the Telugus to come together in the next for years and set things right.

Having contriubuted so many MPs to INC time and again how come there are no heavy weights in the Union Cabinet? Dont tell me Jaipal Reddy is a political heavy weight! :mrgreen:

To me the panel looks like a setup to give rationale or cover for dividing AP.
Other Non-Telengana groups: No. Committee looks like a conspiracy to divide AP.

ramana wrote:To me the panel looks like a setup to give rationale or cover for dividing AP.
Ramanaji,

It is exactly that.

It is time for CBN and other Samaikya Andhra leaders to come together and influence BJP (on which they have good influence) to extend the commission to 2nd SRC.

If small states are good, like some say, then it should be defined in clear and practical terms. Once the definition is presented and agreed upon, then one can decide which states to be bi/tri-furcated and which states need to merge with others.

It is a joke that Chidu uses Goa, Haryana, and Delhi as the template for his small-states theory and it shows his lack of historical, geographical and other knowledge on India. He wants to use the population, area, and geography as the criteria and doesn't understand the consequences of it.

An interesting point from Wiki

Andhra denotes "south" in Sanskrit. Satavahanas were Maurya officials titled Andhra-Bhritya (Officers of South). The early Indian people in area bore the name Andhra from the Satavahanas. A Sanskrit term name for Australia is Andhralaya. At independence, the territory now comprising Andhra Pradesh formed parts of Hyderabad State and Madras State. In 1953, Madras State was partitioned to create Andhra Rashtram. In 1956, the Telangana region of Hyderabad State was merged along with Andhra Rashtram(another Telugu State which existed from 1-10-1953 to 31-10-1956) to form Andhra Pradesh(1-11-1956).

Re: States News and Discussions

Some facts that can open some eyes w.r.t PC's "Smaller States" argument and the underlying politics

Some facts that can open some eyes w.r.t PC's "Smaller States" argument and the underlying politics.

Analyse the correlation between state population/size Vs political affiliation. Then one can see where INC is going with this.

Is it safe?

He will say it is safe, but I want to know from you realtime chaps!

I don't want to get knocked off by Nizam boys and the Andhra boys (or whatever you call the non Telengana people)!
RayC, Go ahead and visit Hyd and have a good time with your friends. And eat at the best places: birayni, qubani ka meeta and shahi tukra. And others can recommed local delicacies.

RamaY wrote:Analyse the correlation between state population/size Vs political affiliation. Then one can see where INC is going with this.
I don't follow. What do you think is the INC's rationale for smaller states?

What does the data tell you? What do you feel when you see the data?

Meanwhile Hindu reports

TDP and PRP oppose panel
“When a committee is being constituted to decide on the bifurcation of a State, how can it be done without the approval of the Union Cabinet? Moreover, it is improper to constitute a committee for Andhra Pradesh alone when there are demands for separate States in 14 regions of the country,” the former minister said.

According to him, the Congress should constitute a committee simultaneously to look into the demands for other smaller States if it was sincere on the issue.

Senior TDP leader and former minister Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy said constitution of a committee to look into Andhra Pradesh issues was raising doubts when there were demands for creation of 14 other States.

vera_k wrote:
RamaY wrote:Analyse the correlation between state population/size Vs political affiliation. Then one can see where INC is going with this.
I don't follow. What do you think is the INC's rationale for smaller states?
OK I will say what I think.

In the first group there are 10 largest states:

3 of them are ruled by BJP - two of them are won against anti-incumbency
4 of them are ruled by regional parties - BSP, CPM, DMK, and JanataDal
1 of INC ruled state required a strong coalition with NCP
1 of the states are won by INC due to infighting in BJP
1 of the states wouldn't have been won by INC if not for YSR, who is dead now.

Large states tend to have strong regional parties (BJP is seen here as a multi-state regional party) that can tread their own political/social paths.

The second group there are 11 states. This is the size INC is comfortable with as it can manage them without getting overwhelmed by regional satraps such as YSR. With large states in Group 1 staying under non-INC control the dynasty cannot be continued.

This is why INC (core leadership) wants to split large states and tactfully brings small-state idea. There too they have favorites.

They cannot split T'nadu as they have zero say/control in that state.
They already split Bihar and cannot do that again with Nitish/Laloo in control. Have abysmal political presence in the state.
They have some presense in UP and that is why they want to split it before it is too late. They couldn’t propose it when BJP/BSP/SP dominated the political space.
They are in power in AP, that is why they want to split the state NOW. Another round elections and TDP in power they cannot touch it.
They are in power in Maharashtra, and can influence Vidarbha split.

If I were INC strategist I would prefer to have assured contribution of 100 MP from these 3-4 states than unassured 160-200 MPs. By splitting AP, Maharasthtra, UP will get them ~80-100 MPs in assured block, because the regional parties cannot be affective in all regions of the bi-tri-furcated state.

Only BJP grew up into a reasonable national party. BSP doesn’t have meaningful presence in more than one state. CPM is limited to one state. And the saga continues.

Now think like an Indian for a moment. Look at the states in bottom two groups. By being so small and ineffective (economically) majority of Indians do not recognize them growing apart from Bharat. That is the time when the overt re-colonization of Bharat starts. Right now some of these states are easily influenced by external players, while being part of Indian union.

Op-Ed in Pioneer from prof at Jamia Millia Islamia.

SOURCE
OPED | Thursday, February 4, 2010 | Email | Print |

Delhi has fuelled Telangana fire

An amicable solution to the crisis does not lie in simply splitting Andhra Pradesh, writes Mujtaba Khan

It is a sad commentary that the political drama orchestrated by the Congress leadership from New Delhi over the demand for Telangana has not only disturbed peace in the region but also completely shattered its growth prospects. Understandably, the mass hysteria so unleashed was largely to push burning issues like price rise, mining scam and the YSR faction’s clamour for succession to the Andhra throne to the backburner. Amazingly, the midnight bang from Delhi came as a shock to many a Congress boss in the State and the anti-bifurcation agitation bears testimony to the lack of consistency on an issue that formed a vital component of the party manifesto during last year’s general election.

Linguistic identity and cultural cohesion were thought to be the best available options for State formation in independent India and the formula worked successfully for more than six decades although minor alterations and adjustments became indispensable at times. In Andhra Pradesh, the political leadership managed to defer and digress from the divisive psychology that erupted in 1969 by offering alternate eco-political designs. Incidentally, the period also witnessed a regular inflow of petro-dollars adding to the economic fortunes of many unemployed, particularly in Hyderabad and its surrounding districts.

The Governments that succeeded gradually put the State on the path of economic growth and instilled a sense of unity. NT Rama Rao’s slogans — “Telugu Jati” and “Telugu Pride” — greatly helped in shaping social consolidation of Andhra Pradesh as a single entity. The steady rise of literacy, the march of technical education, inclusive efforts through popular schemes like Arogya Shree heralded a new epoch of development in the State and the dawn of 21st century saw Andhra Pradesh on the brink of a distinct identity as an international centre of information technology.

The sudden emergence of global economic recession, resulting in huge repatriations, particularly from the Gulf and the US, the gradual retreat of the state from its traditional welfare commitments following the exit of YS Rajasekhara Reddy, the growing employment crunch and the inability of the Government to accommodate the ever-increasing numbers of educated and professionals have left the youth feeling frustrated. Ironically, while Maoism which worked as a talisman to ventilate and ease frustrations is branded as terrorism by our tolerant and progressive Centre, the Congress MP from Vijayawada who made the entire State police look silly by escaping from custody, is left scot-free! To some extent, the Shiv Sena’s resurrected politics of regional chauvinism has also inspired the dormant sentiment of separatism.

In such a turbulent situation, the seeds of divisiveness sown in the late-1960s have found a fertile soil for germination in the rights conscious but frustrated generation of modern youth. Today a majority of youth, particularly in the Telangana region, is obsessed with the idea that a separate State will generate more opportunities. On the other hand, youth in the other regions who look for opportunities in Hyderabad and adjacent districts of Telangana region are apprehensive about their fuure. Further, the sharing of river waters is a major point of anxiety.

Unfortunately, Mr Chandra Babu Naidu, during his stewardship, focussed more on Hyderabad and used all resources for its development. As a result, Hyderabad, which saw a spurt in investments, became a big attraction for people across the State.

Historically and geographically, Hyderabad forms part of what is now being described as Telangana. However, the contribution of coastal Andhra and Rayala Seema regions in building the State capital cannot be simply glossed over. It is not surprising that Hyderabad should be a potential bone of contention in finding an amicable division of Andhra Pradesh. Surrendering the city to the federal Union is easy but it will amount to cheating the people of Andhra Pradesh.

- writer is Director, Dr KR Narayanan Centre for Dalit & Minorities Studies, Jamia Millia Islamia.

Re: States News and Discussions

To me this small states carving/ creating new parties is like the creation/carving of new kingdoms in the olden days.

TDP leaders show proof of 'Chidambaram's Conspiracy
http://newsofap.com/newsofap-4957-21-td ... sofap.html

Even as the Telugu people fight with one another, the TDP came up with a so called "proof" of Chidambaram's conspiracy. Since last few months there has been discussion in creating a 'Greater Chennai' which includes present Chennai, and many panchayats of neighboring districts.

While there is nothing wrong in creating Greater Chennai, what caught the eye is the GO released by the Tamil Nadu government. In the GO, Chidambaram and the Karunadhi government have asked the officials to speed up the creation of the Greater Chennai area as many IT companies from Hyderabad are planning to shift their base to Chennai from Hyderabad in view of the turmoil in Andhra Pradesh.

This official reference by Chidambaram and the Karunanidhi to Hyderabad in the GO is being termed by the TDP leaders (Nannapaneni & Devineni Uma) as the proof that Chidambaram wants to extend the turmoil in Andhra Pradesh so that the IT companies can shift to Chennai.

RamaY,

Good analysis. So it looks like 25 or below MP seats is optimal for a state for Congress? Orissa looks like a model state for it. Two national parties with a regional party that never can become strong to challenge at national level.

Congress, instead of choosing right and legal model of SRC, chose a wrong model of instigating hatred between regions to split so in any post-split scenario they can manipulate people and manufacture/manage vote banks easily.

Committe timing is suspiciously for 2014 elections where they can manipulate Telengana to vote for them if they want separate state and minimize loses in non-Telengana by splitting votes among 3 parties.

ShyamSP garu,

Thank you for the kind words!

There are multiple dimensions here, in Indian context. See if it makes sense -

* The evolution of nation state - In his third wave and future shock, Alwin Toffler, predicts that the continued urbanization leads to nation states evolving into city states, similar to Singapore, Dubai, Hong Kong etc.,

* The INC dynastic politrics - This group want to continue the dynasty with Rahul Gandhi. For Rahul to be an acceptable candidate, INC must get at least simple majority. He cannot handle coalition politics. For that INC needs 271 seats. The alternative is to have MMS like candidates in the seat where as the real power stays with 10 Janpath.

* The raise of BJP. Eventhough it appears that BJP got only 100 MP seats, they got solid representation for a 2nd rung party in Indian politics. If this MMS type drama continues for long, people will lose interest in the Dynasty and will vote for strong BJP candidate such as Modi. One person who gave me accurate predictions in Andhra told me that BJP would have won if Modi was the prime ministerial candidate. I do not know the truth but this is a possibility.

* If you analyse the above table the top 10 states cover ~70+ percentage of population, area, economy and tax revenues and INC hardly has 20% represnetation in that group. Imagine a scenario where NCP goes against INC and BJP wins back Rajasthan and TDP wins AP in 2014 elections. This would be a death blow to Rahul's chance.

* One more chance in centre, BJP will definitely make its mark in national politics. People (even in BRF) associate NDA1 success with ABV. If NDA2 proves it wrong with Modi or Chauhan or Yaduyurappa then INC is a dead horse.

The sad victim of this is the state of AP. I am really saddened at T-vadi point of view that they are pinning their hopes on KCR/TRS and T-JAC. People think it is the same game as in 1950s, which is a gross misunderstanding. Today's India needs strong states and AP, KTKA, TN, Maharashtra can lead the way.

I hope people put aside their regional emotions aside for the sake of Bharata Mata for some time. once we achieve true independence, India can leap forward into V4 where we have 100+ city states, as I presented in conceptual thread.
skaranam

Post by skaranam »

Telangana - Pyar Ka Side Effects
Every year firms select engineering students in the first semester of their final year. Of the 300 engineering students in the OU campus, only 150 have ended up getting jobs this time.
anuj

Post by anuj »

Committee formed, they finally talk about "terms of reference". TOR means "purpose" of the committee. Whether it is for "creating a new state" or whether is to find feasibility is not clear.

Telangana Panel Secretary And P.Chidambaram Meet To Discuss Terms Of Reference
One of them said, "It (brief) is being drafted and would be finalised in consultation with former Supreme Court judge Justice B.N. Srikrishna who is the chairman of the committee.”
Govt moves to finalise terms of reference of Telangana panel
Sources said Duggal will travel to Mumbai later in the day to discuss the terms of reference with Justice (Retd) B N Srikrishna, who is in the financial metropolis.

"We are trying our best to quickly put in place the terms of reference," an official said.

The TOR is likely to be announced by the weekend.
JAC to wait for terms of reference
JAC to respond after announcement of terms of reference
``After knowing the terms of reference and the time it would take to complete its task, only then we will be able to announce our stand,’’ he said.
“We will react only after the Centre announces the terms of reference and time frame,” JAC convener, C Kodandaram, said adding the Centre should clarify that the committee was for preparing a road map for formation of the new state and not just for opinion-gathering.

RamaY wrote:An interesting point from Wiki

Andhra denotes "south" in Sanskrit. Satavahanas were Maurya officials titled Andhra-Bhritya (Officers of South). The early Indian people in area bore the name Andhra from the Satavahanas. A Sanskrit term name for Australia is Andhralaya. At independence, the territory now comprising Andhra Pradesh formed parts of Hyderabad State and Madras State. In 1953, Madras State was partitioned to create Andhra Rashtram. In 1956, the Telangana region of Hyderabad State was merged along with Andhra Rashtram(another Telugu State which existed from 1-10-1953 to 31-10-1956) to form Andhra Pradesh(1-11-1956).
Andhra does not mean south in Sanskrit as for as my knowledge goes. There is also one more version for the meaning of the word Andhrabhrutya which means Andhras who were servents ( of mauryas) It is indeed belived by the time of Ashoka they are said to be under Mauruas But as kings and not as officials. In Indica the Andra King was said to have some 100000 infen 1000 Eleph with some 100 towns (forts???) etc. It seems Shatawahanas became independent after the Mauryas became weak. Shathavahanas ruled for some 460 years from 271 BC

Later the Shatawahana kings in fact said to have killed Susharman of Kanwa dy and became Kings of Magadha Shathavahana and Ishwaku (of Sri Rama) dynasties are the main dynasties who ruled AP area one after another. Ishwaku were in fact samanthas of Shatawana rulars for long and became independents aftet the Shathawahanas fell.

The areas like Malwa and most of the Maharashtra Karnataka present central india etc are ruled by them at one point or another. Most of these kings called themselves as Dhakshinapadhapathi

Gupta Chandra Gupta has deposed (killed?) one Chandra Sri a king discribed as Andhra and became King of Magadha.

But for long the word Andhra denoted all Telugu people. Now it is free to insult that word just like the word Hindu
anuj

Post by anuj »

They came up with the TOR only when JAC scolded them. But the time frame is still not clear. An appropriate message will be required to make the committee spit that out. Someone needs to press them in a corner and make it clear whether this "3 year" rumour period is true because it if it's true then the TOR is obviously ready and it's real purpose is "opinion-gathering" or "feasibility". This statement looks suspicious...
"We are trying our best to quickly put in place the terms of reference," an official said.
Sounds like there working to dress together a bunch of words and sentences to make it appropriately ambiguous.

Good effort there RamaY garu. Interesting perspective with the data you are quoting. It was earlier recognized in this thread that AP is currently playing a role of what UP used to play - whoever controls this state will have decisive shift at the center. Let's continue to understand different perspectives.
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

I talked about the need for a new political compact to calm down the current unsettled state of Andhra Pradesh. I will put forward a few brief thoughts in this regard, which will have to be elaborated upon a bit later. The new political compact should have the following basis:

(1) The need to comprehensively address the grievances of the informed classes of the Telangana society, whatever the real nature of these grievances. These grievances may be real and concrete, or only a matter of perception or just a selective interpretation of the available. I mention the last aspect because there exists clear scope to interpret the existing data both to bolster the T-vadis arguments and those of the samaikya-vadis.

(2) The need to make special efforts to place the genuine culture of Telangana on to the cultural melange of Andhra Pradesh. For example, the establishment of the statues of the great leaders of Telangana in all parts of AP, introduce more T-related aspects into the text books, and so on and so forth.

(3) Something that T-political leaders also would do well to make special efforts on. Instead of straitjacketing themselves into the narrow Telangana identity, they should try to develop a pan-AP identity and recognition. Unfortunately, all mass leaders of AP have been from non-T areas. This is not because there were no great mass leaders in Telangana, but because these T-leaders have limited themselves to a narrow T-identity. A case in point is KCR.

I will need to think further about each of these points.

Satya-Anveshi garu, Thank you!
Sarma wrote: (2) The need to make special efforts to place the genuine culture of Telangana on to the cultural melange of Andhra Pradesh. For example, the establishment of the statues of the great leaders of Telangana in all parts of AP, introduce more T-related aspects into the text books, and so on and so forth.
Sarma-ji

While you are at it, please try to identify the Telugu, Nizam and Maoist aspects of Telangana heritage/culture etc. IMO it is to understand the difference between these three contributing factors. Once we have the data, we might find innovative solutions to the problem.

My objective being identifying atleast 40-70% common culture/heritage (right now it is perceived as 0-10%)

Good Luck!

Food is a common factor even if KCR says otherwise.

That angst about food (natu kodi etc.) that was posted some pages back is really about assimilation.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Activists keep the Telangana fire burning
http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2010/ ... ry-day.htm

This sun refuses to set
http://www.hardnewsmedia.com/2010/01/3430

I don't think AP state areas can pick up in near future. Most of the commercial activities were going on around Hyd and now all most all these happening will be stoped. Tax revinue has fallen like anything. Division will leads to exodus and non division leads to agitations. All the revinue on property registration in the city is gone. All major irrigation projects will suffer because there are no funds and there will be huge cost escalation. Stopping these projects is no longer an option.

I really hope congress will get the state out of the mess it has created. I am not confident.
anuj

Post by anuj »

Attack on Varudu's unit foiled
Allu Arjun and Gunasekhar were filming action sequences for their film Varudu, at Moosapet in Hyderabad, when T-activists belonging to TSF and NSUI tried to barge their way into the shooting spot and disrupt the shooting. However, their bid was foiled by the Kukatpally police. The schedule got affected, albeit for some time.
Sonia sets up panel to rein in dissidents
NEW DELHI: In a surprise move, the Congress high command on Friday set up a nine-member coordination committee for Andhra Pradesh. Sources say it has been formed to ensure that the party State unit and the State Government do not run in different directions.
PC word on T fuels fresh debate
HYDERABAD: An article written by Union Home Minister P Chidambaram seven years ago in favour of smaller states has become a hot topic of discussion in political and academic circles in the State in the context of the ongoing agitation for a separate Telangana State .
[...]
“In my view, there is a strong case for the creation of Vidarbha (out of Maharashtra) and Telangana (out of Andhra Pradesh). Uttar Pradesh and Bihar should also be further divided,” he reasoned.
Colours Of Riot
Describing how a TV crew from Delhi filmed, fascinated, as people in his constituency cooked and ate on the road, Sircilla MP K.T. Rama Rao (son of TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao), explains: “These are not gimmicks. This is about finding novel ways to sustain a long-drawn battle so that the cause does not go unnoticed by decision-makers at the Centre.” Sometimes it takes a provocative form, with young people kicking around footballs painted with the faces of politicians perceived as anti-Telangana, like Jagan Mohan Reddy, Lagadapati Rajagopal and even chief minister K. Rosaiah.
[...]
So it goes on, a playful mix of protest and creativity. At Mustabad, people make ‘Jai Telangana’ rubber seals and stamp them on currency notes. Barbers hand out free haircuts at Ilendu in Khammam district. Women roll beedis on a road in Dilavarpur, Adilabad district, obstructing traffic for two hours. Washerwomen stage Chakirevu (a clothes-washing fair) at Girnibavi village in Warangal while other protesters wash clothes with gusto right on the highway at Ramakrishnapuram in Adilabad. They call it a “cleansing ritual”. Students sweep roads and sell vegetables at Ibrahimpatnam, Rangareddy district. Their counterparts in Mahbubnagar walk on their knees.

“None of these ideas are coming from political parties,” stresses Rama Rao. Another T-protagonist, Prof Kodanda Ram, feels the movement has taken on a more spontaneous form this time, compared to 1969, when it was more “idealistic”. (Of course, there were also no TV cameras then.)

Congressmen favouring a united Andhra beg to differ. “The students are being brainwashed,” says MP Sabbam Hari dismissively.
Exactly! How did it erupt from a 9th dec speech to this? Because people revisited the movement and accessed the claims and went to the streets based on that. They don't need a singing and drama troupe to spread the movement like in 1969. TV, radio and internet spread it like wild fire. It's a movement revived, revitalized, reawakened, regenerated, rejuvenated, RENEWED.

Jagan supporters accommodated in AP panel
The committee, headed by AICC incharge Veerappa Moily and comprising chief minister Rosaiah and PCC chief D Srinivas, has Telangana leaders in minister Geetha Reddy, former ministers K Jana Reddy and Shabbir Ali. Anti-bifurcation MP KS Rao, besides KVP and Jaganmohan, are from Andhra and Rayalaseema regions.
Kakatiya University gears up for T meet
Though the police have denied permission for the meeting, the JAC leaders heaved a sigh of relief after the court gave a conditional permission. “We are happy that the court gave us permission to hold the peaceful meeting,” JAC coconvenor Gandem Siva said. “The Polikeka is a call to students to make their wish for separate Telangana loud and clear,” he added.

Scores of students have formed batches and are visiting villages and mandals. “We are motivating them to attend the meeting and make it a success so that their voice is heard in Delhi,” JAC in-charge Tallapalli Sanjeev said.

With TRS and other parties leaders extending support to the Feb 7 meeting, the JAC leaders have appealed to the managements of various colleges and high schools in the district to arrange buses so that students can attend the meeting in large numbers.

anuj wrote:Kakatiya University gears up for T meet
Though the police have denied permission for the meeting, the JAC leaders heaved a sigh of relief after the court gave a conditional permission. “We are happy that the court gave us permission to hold the peaceful meeting,” JAC coconvenor Gandem Siva said. “The Polikeka is a call to students to make their wish for separate Telangana loud and clear,” he added.

Scores of students have formed batches and are visiting villages and mandals. “We are motivating them to attend the meeting and make it a success so that their voice is heard in Delhi,” JAC in-charge Tallapalli Sanjeev said.

With TRS and other parties leaders extending support to the Feb 7 meeting, the JAC leaders have appealed to the managements of various colleges and high schools in the district to arrange buses so that students can attend the meeting in large numbers.
Polikeka became kulakeka (war cry became caste cry)
http://telugunewstoday.com/content/kaka ... kulam-keka

From what Manda Krishna is saying, money is involved in every aspect of KCR's "Telangana business". Apparently KCR gave money so Manda Krishna couldn't talk in the meeting.
http://telugunewstoday.com/content/sc-l ... oli-part-1

KCR day in and day out brings that Andhra people exploiting Telangana. I wonder how he can take lower castes accusing upper castes exploiting them. How do you carve out Telengana for upper, backward castes, SCs, and STs? :roll:

Added later: Here is link in English
http://teluguflavours.com/politics/view ... %20Krishna
KCR attacked me says Manda Krishna
MRPS leader Manda Krishna Madiga blasted TRS chief KCR for using students to attack him in Vidhyarthi Polikeka in Kakatiya University. Manda Krishna Madiga stated that KCR wants Dorala Telangana and he is trying to crush the voice of SC, ST, backward classes. Manda Krishna also questioned why all the posts in the Telangana JAC were held by upper castes and are the backward classes only to die in the Telangana agitations.
Manda Krishna openly alleged before the media that KCR offered money to Kakatiya University students to not allow him to speak in the Polikeka. The TRS leaders however pushed away the allegations and stated that the attack on Manda Krishna was not pre-planned. However political analysts were wondering what is the real intention of Manda Krishna Madiga to create nuisance before media when the Telangana movement at its peak stage.

http://teluguflavours.com/topstory/tops ... asts%20KCR
Gudivada MLA Kodali Nani blasted TRS chief KCR and his family members for demanding money during the release of his Adhurs movie.

This is directly coming from movie producer that KCR&family asked money for movie so they could spare attacking its release. :roll:
Last edited by ShyamSP on 07 Feb 2010 23:56, edited 2 times in total.

Getting murkier by the day.

Getting the caste question is a good diversion!