India-Australia News and Discussion
Re: India-Australia News and Discussion
BBC
Australia signs huge China coal deal
Coal is used to generate about 80% of China's power supplies
An Australian firm has signed a $60bn (AUS$69bn; £38bn) deal to supply coal to Chinese power stations.
Clive Palmer, chairman of the company, Resourcehouse, said it was Australia's "biggest ever export contract".
Under the deal, the firm will build a new mining complex to give China Power International Development (CPI) 30m tonnes of coal a year for 20 years.
Analysts say it is further evidence of China's strong demand for resources boosting Australia's economy.
Australia signs huge China coal deal
Coal is used to generate about 80% of China's power supplies
An Australian firm has signed a $60bn (AUS$69bn; £38bn) deal to supply coal to Chinese power stations.
Clive Palmer, chairman of the company, Resourcehouse, said it was Australia's "biggest ever export contract".
Under the deal, the firm will build a new mining complex to give China Power International Development (CPI) 30m tonnes of coal a year for 20 years.
Analysts say it is further evidence of China's strong demand for resources boosting Australia's economy.
Satya_anveshi wrote:We really need to start to embarrassing Australians on this issue at various international forums. At the minimum we can always invite them for cricket and use the event to start communicating with their general population. Of course, we can expose two sides of our janta - one diplomatic/social message targeting the saner elements and the other more virulent form that we are willing to take it to a different plane where it begins to hurt them too.
Truth Seeker ji
Hope you realise that we are dealing with a White Pakistan here
The saner elements you talk about are 10% of the population
The rest of the population is proud of what is going on/doesnt care/ lives in denial
The common aussie is a binge drinking muppet who thinks he looks like a greek god and thinks OZ land is great because of its white people and not because of its immense natural resources and real estate
The idiots are out to protect" the austraaliyan way of laaif" by beating up helpless Indian students
So vinaa saar: Shouldn't we get on to the exercise of "civilizing" them
and get some returns too in the process? I agree desh has to work on alternate sources; but meanwhile why let go of an opportunity.

- Location: Doing Nijikaran, Udharikaran and Baazarikaran to Commies and Assorted Leftists
Err. While the other points are spot on, I doubt this particular one about looking like a Greek god.GuruPrabhu wrote:The common aussie is a binge drinking muppet who thinks he looks like a greek god
Of all the things why would an Australian want to look like a "Wog" ?. That would be a serious blow to his self esteem and self image.. Very similar to a Paki H&D loss if he were called a Yindoo.
Of course, don't remind the Aussies that the Turkish "Wogs" gave them such a beating at Gallipolli that they haul their sorry asses on every Anzac day to get a reminder and wince and wallow in self pity.
Ah.. And less said about the beating they got in Vietnam the better. That is something they dont even want to talk about. Other than riding in the motorcyle parade on Memorial day in Washington DC !
Shoot me an email at crazyhawk911 at hawtmail dawt com saar and will go from there.Acharya wrote:How to contact you. Give me your locator
Australian Police advise to Indian Students “Dress Poorer”
That is precisely the kind of advice that legitimises advise that Australian’s visiting India should dress as 19th century transported convicts as no sane person is likely to mess with a criminal:

Indian students urged to 'dress poorer'
February 7, 2010 - 11:29AM
AAP
…………….. Chief Commissioner Simon Overland is reported to have told an international students' safety forum in Melbourne on Saturday that Indian students could make themselves less of a target if they dressed poorer. ………………
Sydney Morning Herald
New world power flexes its muscles
He postulated that the attacks were due to jealousy by Anglo Australians that Indians were outperforming them in education, not to mention that they had beaten us in cricket.
I tried to counter that Chinese students appeared to be doing better than both of us but were not being targeted and that Australians were much less passionate about cricket than Indians thought and preferred to direct their passions to various codes of football. He was unmoved.
The local media reports this with much enthusiasm in parallel with stories such as one about Indians being refused entry to a Melbourne nightclub. Their outrage at this seemed curious in a country where lower-caste Hindus are refused entry to some temples.
Balasaheb to receive presentation from BCCI before deciding whether Australian cricketers can play in Mumbai.
It's a shame Mr Thackeray did not show a similar degree of passion before he willfully dined with and praised Dawood's brother in law not so long ago.
Mumbai: Shiv Sena chief Balasaheb Thackeray has asked the Indian cricket board to give him a “presentation” before he decides on letting Australian cricketers play at the Indian Premier League (IPL) in Mumbai.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/thackeray-to ... ml?from=tn“We presented our viewpoint before Thackeray on this critical issue. We also explained to them the format of the IPL teams and matches and how there were one or two Australian players in each team. He agreed to consider the issue in a couple of days,” said Manohar.
“We have tried to convince him that the entire Australian team is not coming. Mr Thackeray was considerate enough and he asked to us give us a detailed presentation. So within a day or two we would give him a detailed presentation on the format of the tournament and the number of Australian players. Thereafter he would consider our request,” said Manohar. The IPL will also make a presentation on the issue before Thackeray.
It's a shame Mr Thackeray did not show a similar degree of passion before he willfully dined with and praised Dawood's brother in law not so long ago.
Even for a naturalised citizen of Australia, it is very obvious that racism exists, if not in my uni or school but readily visible when mates and I go out etc.
I would not feel safe walking through a park at night, I don't know what the guy that got stabbed was doing there, common sense should prevail.
biswas wrote:Even for a naturalised citizen of Australia, it is very obvious that racism exists, if not in my uni or school but readily visible when mates and I go out etc.
It is quite possible that the "guy who got stabbed" was working on a night shift and was taking a short cut/ usual route to work.
Common sense is that people who pay helluva lot of money to go to OZ land to study will have to work towards meeting their living expenses and would have to in most cases do odd jobs @odd hours @odd places.
The OZ government should at least acknowledge that the Indians are being targeted, instead they seem to be investing in the Warnies and Brett Lees to tell the Indians that All ij Well
For 20 lakhs/ student there are many countries which provide on par/ better services than these descendants of unwanted British s**m.
Biswas,biswas wrote:Even for a naturalised citizen of Australia, it is very obvious that racism exists, if not in my uni or school but readily visible when mates and I go out etc.
Boss, common sense should also prevail in the Victorian administration. The sense of denial and the convoluted bullshit that's being uttered by their spokespersons need to stop. Only then the problem can be tackled.
Oh indeed, I could have sworn that they had already admitted at least some were racially motivated? Also this latest one about the guy setting fire to himself for insurance? The insurance was on the car, why the hell did he set fire to himself? I frankly think it's utter crap and will get thrown out in the Courts.amit wrote:Biswas,biswas wrote:Even for a naturalised citizen of Australia, it is very obvious that racism exists, if not in my uni or school but readily visible when mates and I go out etc.
Boss, common sense should also prevail in the Victorian administration. The sense of denial and the convoluted bullshit that's being uttered by their spokespersons need to stop. Only then the problem can be tackled.
The Indian community should organise a "poor" protest by stripping down to their UWear,dressing in rags,etc., in protest against the asinine Oz cop whose brains (if any),appear to be located in his backside.If his remarks were not "racial" than I don't know what is.Does this fine specimen of Oz poliocing tell Americans and Britishers how to dress and what to wear? So Indians according to him must look like niggers and slaves, ******** ****!
One can easily fault Indians for going there in the first place, but Ozzie b@$%%^s are getting away with murder. I mean the Ozzies lapped up all the moolah these naive Indians spent in the hope of a better life, treated the Indians like dogs, and forcing them to go back. What disgusts me most is that these attacks on Indians is not even news in the so called 'international media'.
Cram ji, i did'nt say anything about them going in the first place. I meant to take a dig at not sticking it out. I've maintained that Indians must continue to go there. Not going there is not going to help one bit. Fact is it's not that unsafe too. While it's right for the media to highlight attacks on Indian students, it's tipping the scales one way so much that pressure is getting people back like this.
harbans:
No at all, I was just making a rhetorical statement, not contradicting you or anything.
How is Australians killing Indians in Australia different from Shiv Sena Targetting Biharis in Bombay or Hindus targetted in Karachi? All are pains of Internal and external discrimination to minorities. These will go away with time. Indian media should focus more on discrimination concerning Internal migrations and in neighbourhood., but due to the cowardice of Indian media it is easier to target far away/down under Australians than Shiv Sena or Pakistan(due to muslim appeasement).
There is a bit of journalistic spin here. I know this one guy living in Sydney (Indian origin) who told me a slightly different story. A lot of these so-called college degrees offered by third-rate private colleges were started to take advantage of a hole in the immigration law. They offer courses in stuff like hair-styling, commercial cooking etc., but the real idea is to allow people to immigrate into Oz. A lot of people coming in under this pretext didn't even study in the courses they enrolled in, but were working low tech jobs like 7/11 clerk, picking fruit, pizza delivery, taxi drivers etc. Lots of desis are supposedly involved in the private college racket too, mostly in North India.
GOO (Government of Oz) recently closed down this hole, so now a lot of desi students are left in the lurch, having paid huge sums of money to shady immigration agencies and dodgy colleges to go to Australia. No degree = no permanent resident status. Note that the TOI article mentions a lot of them coming back without finishing their degree. Quite a few of those are probably because their private colleges were shut down.
Ageing population dragging Australia into the red
Is it not a win-win situation, if desh provides some of these new citizens?Australia will be forced to look overseas for more new citizens as rising health and aged care costs threaten to drive the country into debt by 2050, Treasury figures released today show.
^ Absolutely. And it's for Australians to realize that by taking in Chinese and Paki's they'll be destroying their country in the long run. If they value freedom, democracy, religious and racial tolerance in the future, their best bet is taking more students from India. India should not abandon Australia because of a few retarded elements in their society. There are lots of very decent and very civilized Australians also.
SBajwa wrote:How is Australians killing Indians in Australia different from Shiv Sena Targetting Biharis in Bombay or Hindus targetted in Karachi? All are pains of Internal and external discrimination to minorities. These will go away with time. Indian media should focus more on discrimination concerning Internal migrations and in neighbourhood., but due to the cowardice of Indian media it is easier to target far away/down under Australians than Shiv Sena or Pakistan(due to muslim appeasement).
Red on Blue is not equal to Blue on Blue.
A similar racket did exist in the Socialist Republic as well, nearly two years back. Large amounts of money (nearly 2 lakhs +) was paid to certain agents (which also included politicians) for securing admission in a "college" in UK. The "college" too seems to be part of the racket. A friend of mine had desperately tried to get into this "college". The "college" authorities also tried to help him with the documentation etc. My friend how ever was trapped in his UK Visa Interview, when they found that he was way too weak in English (and he cannot learn any thing in UK using the English languageArmenT wrote: I know this one guy living in Sydney (Indian origin) who told me a slightly different story. A lot of these so-called college degrees offered by third-rate private colleges were started to take advantage of a hole in the immigration law.

It was known from day one what that the idea of my friend was to get into some "college", but then start working on part time jobs (bar man, was his first choice

SBajwa wrote:How is Australians killing Indians in Australia different from Shiv Sena Targetting Biharis in Bombay or Hindus targetted in Karachi? .

Hindus targeted in Pakistan (along with other Non Muslims and Ahmaddiyas) are subjected to systematic elimination on the basis of religious doctrine, aided by the pious beliefs of the Policemen, the helpful laws of the Constitution including the religious ordinance and the Blasphemy laws, the pure beliefs of all sections of Society including lawyers and such behaviour is aided by the judiciary in whose eyes the Hindus cannot be acquitted, for howsoever flimsy case. The case of Jagdish Kumar of Karachi comes to mind?
Australians killing Indians in Australia is a matter of racial concern in which the motive of the "robbers" is more than just robbery.
They might be foolish stone pelters but how many of Indians or people of Indians origin were killed by such political parties as SS (bashing whom is the test of media secularism, btw) in Mumbai the last few years? Of course, if you count administrative as well as political /policing negligience of that particular state gov. as the cause of death of Indians, the following come to mind:
Aug 25, 2003: 52 killed in twin blasts
July 11 2006 : 209 killed in train blasts
November 26, 2008 : 200 killed
If a small number of 21,500 well armed and battle ready policemen dedicated to a rail yatra of a particular leader in Mumbai were allocated to the Railways, the above would have been prevented.
Let us not do == by scoring self goals and confuse stone-throwing fools with serious issues like terrorism in the country or Hindus being targeted in Pakistan or Australians killing Indians in Australia.
Absolutely
Absolutely
Methinks i was inches away from being hellphyred upon, must've been a really offensive post 

Victoria refuses to release details of attacks on Indians
http://www.hindustantimes.com
Admitting that the statistics of the attacks on Indians in Australia were “problematic”, Victorian police chief Simon Overland has refused to release the details saying it can be “misinterpreted”.
Overland refused to release the statistics on the grounds that they are “subjective and open to interpretation”.
http://www.hindustantimes.com
Admitting that the statistics of the attacks on Indians in Australia were “problematic”, Victorian police chief Simon Overland has refused to release the details saying it can be “misinterpreted”.
Overland refused to release the statistics on the grounds that they are “subjective and open to interpretation”.

I have not been to Australia, but is it a citadel of quality education?
Or getting any type of education allows a ticket for immigration? And that is the lure!
Is Australia such a fantastic country?
Or getting any type of education allows a ticket for immigration? And that is the lure!
Australia has world class universities, but how many of the Indians going there are attending them?RayC wrote:I have not been to Australia, but is it a citadel of quality education?
Indians are resourceful people, they will go any where, where they can make even marginally better lives than the last place.RayC wrote:I have not been to Australia, but is it a citadel of quality education?
However as you rightly pointed out, education in Australia is not something that Indians consider of value, for education they go to other places, the education route is merely a way to get into Australia as a country to work etc.
Yes, I suppose Indians have been able to make a better life for themselves in Australia, its a large country, lot of resources and very little competition in terms of either the quality and quantity of human resources + a very contented and easy going population -- an Indian is automatically ahead in the race once he gets there.
Indian Student charged with murders of Indian brothers in Morley
This is just awesome......

POLICE have charged a 22-year-old Indian student with murder after a fight over money in Morley early this morning ended with two other Indian students dead.
Two brothers, one aged 20 and the other 19, died after a dispute about money escalated at a unit in Crimea St, where it is understood four friends lived.
Detective Inspector David Bryson, from the Major Crime Squad, said the injured 20-year-old staggered to the nearby St John Ambulance depot seeking medical help at 4am and alerted paramedics to another injured man.
``Police have responded. They have found a deceased male (his 19-year-old brother) on the roadway,'' Det-Insp Bryson said.
Victoria, NSW premiers wrestle over racist attacks on Indians
Victoria refuses to release details of attacks on IndiansBrumby accused Keneally of seeking to exploit Victoria’s problems with violent attacks against Indian students.
He claimed that Keneally was trying to drag down Victoria while her state was much less safe than Victoria.
“We are the safest state in Australia, full stop. All of the statistics on that are unambiguous,” The Age quoted Brumby, as saying.
Brumby and Overland should talk....Admitting that statistics of the attacks on Indians in Australia were “problematic”, Victorian police chief Simon Overland has refused to release the details saying it could be “misinterpreted”.
^^^ They do, behind the scenes and on all matters except the one which matters!
http://au.news.yahoo.com/a/-/latest/679 ... utilation/
I'm somewhat surprised that drugs havent featured prominently in these discussions because they are one of the prime triggers for violence (alongwith alcohol). Junkies in Mel or Syd go on a road rage after a smacked Friday night and target some poor desi who has no idea what's going on, partly because desh has been blissfully and largely spared the narco culture and associated violence evident in the West.
If there is one area where we could really cause takleef to oz it is by persuading them to crack down on the narco/bikie gangs which also finance organised gun running.
I'm somewhat surprised that drugs havent featured prominently in these discussions because they are one of the prime triggers for violence (alongwith alcohol). Junkies in Mel or Syd go on a road rage after a smacked Friday night and target some poor desi who has no idea what's going on, partly because desh has been blissfully and largely spared the narco culture and associated violence evident in the West.
If there is one area where we could really cause takleef to oz it is by persuading them to crack down on the narco/bikie gangs which also finance organised gun running.
Andy, biswas
is this presently pretty much a Victorian issue - looks like Sydney is OK
I stayed 5 yrs in sydney and other than a couple of incidents was mostly ok.
Victoria and West Australia were always more European and hence more racist compared to NSW.
is this presently pretty much a Victorian issue - looks like Sydney is OK
I stayed 5 yrs in sydney and other than a couple of incidents was mostly ok.
Victoria and West Australia were always more European and hence more racist compared to NSW.
Australia police probe alleged Indian cyber attacks

The Australian newspaper reported that several Melbourne construction and engineering firms had been attacked in recent days by a hacker called "Ghost Buster".
"Your server data have been compromised ... and have been encrypted," Ghost Buster wrote on one.
"Stop racial attacks against Indian people," the message said, vowing that until the assaults end, Australian servers will be hacked "every day".

AoA !!! Jinn technology used to fight racism . Not bad ! 

I had a long chat recently with a Melbourne based pal,long term resident about the attacks.This family have never had any problem in all their years of residence,but they admit that there are certain areas of town which they themselves do not venture into late at night unless they are in a large group,as it would be foolhardy to do so.According to them,Ozzies of Greek and Italian origin who migrated during the last century seem to have more anti-immigrant feeling than the old time Ozzies who went there centuries ago.The problems of drug related crime are major,not neccessarily committed by "ethnic Ozzies" and they personally had a severe auto accident attack some years ago due to a car hijacked by a junkie.One observation that they have is that it is common feeling that Indian students are well off,money rolls in from India from their parents.Some flaunt their outward trappings of wealth and others are studying any old course just to get the "PR" permanent resident status.So a soft target ,"curry", becomes flavour of the time of the town's criminals.Repeated attacks which go unpunished then evolves into another OZ national sport,"curry-bashing".
If our lot wise up,defend themselves,carry "curry powder" to blind attackers,knives,iron rods,knuckle dusters,sprays whatever is non-lethal and non-criminal,travel and move around in groups,there would be less attacks.The OZ authorities should also make it public that any attacks against Indians would be treated as racial and attract severe punishment,plus some well publicised night patrols in gangland areas,would do a lot of good in reassuring the Indian student and immigrant community that the law will protect them.
This is what I have heard. Melbourne has some areas which are risky.Philip wrote:I had a long chat recently with a Melbourne based pal,long term resident about the attacks.This family have never had any problem in all their years of residence,but they admit that there are certain areas of town which they themselves do not venture into late at night unless they are in a large group,as it would be foolhardy to do so.
Long time residents from my family who have been there for the last 20 years have no problem.