DEFEXPO 2010

Re: DEFEXPO 2010

AdityaM... plz do send me a mail with your contact details.... will inform you as soon as it can be confirmed.

adityaM and Jamwal... its confirmed for you 2.

meet outside gate 7 , 17th feb 1300 hrs.
hope you have my mobile nos.

Thanks manjgu, but I am afraid i dont have your number plus today now seems a remote possibility! :(
my number is xxc9zzc8xxc9zzc1xxc4c9zzc3xxc0zzc1xxc8cc
Last edited by AdityaM on 17 Feb 2010 11:48, edited 1 time in total.

sunny y

Post by sunny y »

From this site http://sayaredefenceworld.blogspot.com mentioned in above post by krishnan

New pic of MSMC
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_8gXQngrI7x8/S ... 010843.jpg

Can somebody please identify these weapons ??

What is this 5.56mm Amogh carbine in the the following pic...
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_8gXQngrI7x8/S ... 010904.jpg

What are these ?? seeing them for the first time...

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_8gXQngrI7x8/S ... 010823.jpg

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_8gXQngrI7x8/S ... 010822.jpg

sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

Is there any common place,any pavillion where i can meet the BR members,i'll be visiting defexpo tommorow :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
cheers
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

Alright just back from the defexpo,

Initial thoughts-

1. Bhim project it seems is indeed being revived.

2. More Arjun orders very very likely. 376 more would make the project viable.

3. BMS from Arjun Mk-II

4. DRDO may make the tank lighter with newer materials without compromising survivability of course. there is even talk of a lighter version for use in the hilly areas. ARVs of course . Also being positioned as a platform for surface to air missiles.

5. There is a thinking that lesser number of better tanks may not be a bad idea.

6. the tank guru I talked to put the Chinese T-99 in the same mold as Ukrainian improvements of the T-80 like the T-84, Yatagan etc.

7. Akash IAF version mostly for base defense. the trailer is detached and the middle assembly is kept static.

8. Akash - IAF - 1 squadron- 8 launchers. IA 1 regiment - 16 launchers.

9. IR seeker for the Akash is being considered.

10. Sig sauer is very confident of pushing the Sig 551 for the IA's latest RFP. They say that the fact that the NSG, Punjab Police and Orissa Police have procured/ are procuring this system will help them.

Initial thoughts-

Isnt Denel banned? :-?
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

I heard "talks" may be happening.

Either way, the Arjun chassis is very likely for the tracked howitzer requirement, regardless of who wins.

Info board behind the first pic says that it's a Gun Mounted ROV and in the second pic the info board says "Takshak Disrupter Mounted Robot" for defusing IED's. IMHO DRDO is capitalising on the Daksh project and coming up with these new ROV's. It's a very good step I was hoping to see these developments.

Thanks for the pics.
Bheem

Post by Bheem »

taksh, Daksh and GMR are 3 sizes of RPVs with different configeration and complexity/speciality

D Roy wrote:Alright just back from the defexpo,

Initial thoughts-

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... te]Chances are that DRDO might be asked to fill in the requirements in SP segment. Less than 1 yr or little more will be the timeline.[/quote]

Thanks to manjgu, I managed to visit during business hours and some photos. I now know for sure that I suck with any camera :((
Here are a couple of pics. Will be uploading more tomorrow

SagarG

Thats GMR Gun Mounted Remotely Operated Vehicle equipped with a LMG and a grenade launcher. The controller was a generic off the shelf Logitech gamepad :mrgreen:

Image Image
HAL officials today said that over 15 more ground runswould be carried out for the Light Combat Helicopter (LCH), before it takes off for its first flight, which is likely towards the end of February or first week of March. So far all ground runs have been successful.

ISRAEL doing what it does best, Representing !
Check the scope on this beast
Image Image
tejas

Post by tejas »

Does anyone know if this is Nirbhay?

This seens to be the GPS / GLONASS later IRNSS guided bomb kit
From Livefist:
khukri

Post by khukri »

tejas wrote:Does anyone know if this is Nirbhay?

Raytheon FishHawk torpedo GPS wing kit

http://www.azstarnet.com/business/local ... c63ba.html
tejas

Post by tejas »

Thanks for the responses about Nirbhay guys.

Cheers.
K_Rohit

Post by K_Rohit »

Craig Alpert wrote:Image Image
HAL officials today said that over 15 more ground runswould be carried out for the Light Combat Helicopter (LCH), before it takes off for its first flight, which is likely towards the end of February or first week of March. So far all ground runs have been successful.
Just curious...what anti-radiation missiles are carried by our helos? Do MI-25/35s carry them and will the same ones be used by LCH?

Also, I imagine air-to-surface missiles implies anti-tank missiles. Right?
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

Anti-terror golf buggy draws attention at DefExpo
http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/feb/ ... veiled.htm
According to a report by BBC News, the battery operated Anti-Terrorist Assault Cart (A-TAC) (costing Rs 20 lakh) is said to resemble a bulletproof golf buggy with firing ports.
It weighs just under half a tonne, has bulletproof windows and contains numerous firing ports. Furthermore, it is able to negotiate corridors and lifts.

Metaltech said that the squat and heavily armoured vehicle can also withstand grenade blasts and last for six hours on a single charge -- with a top speed of 25km/h (15mph).

The company said it was offering a prototype of the vehicle, which drew applause from visitors and military scientists attending the arms fair in Delhi, for trials with the sponsors of the Commonwealth Games [ Images ], due to be held in the city in November.

The LCH appears to have one significant drawback when compared with contemporary designs,the lower level of the rear pilot/weapons operator.Most attack helos have the rear pilot/weapons operator,sitting in a significantly higher elevation when compared with that of the forward cockpit.The SoKo attack helo design udnder devlopment should be looked at for comparison.The LCH's rear cockpit will have visibility problems for the rear occupant.
manish

Post by manish »

Initial thoughts-

Isnt Denel banned? :-?
I was there and had asked the same question - the answer was "It is being resolved, we are working on it".
The person was quite confident about the Bhim, but sounded very unsure when asked about Tank-Ex. However, both of these appeared in a brochure kit that CVRDE was handing out. Curiously, the Bhim brochure makes no mention about the origins of the gun on the vehicle - no mention of any collaborator (read Denel) on the brochure. But then again, it is the same story with almost all the DRDO brochures, so may be it is just the way it works.

Take it FWIW.

BTW, I do not have access to a scanner, but I do have quite a few brochures on hand. If anyone has any specific one in mind, perhaps I can take a picture of the brochure and upload it somewhere.

Rakall ji, I do not have most of the brochures/info boards you had asked for - will sift through and find out if there are any matches and upload them.

AdityaM wrote:How are the mango people of brf able to visit defexpo when it is not open for regular junta?
Because we are mangoes, not oranges !!

manish

Post by manish »

Some photos.
The MSMC. This was kept on a rotating pedestal which kept spinning way too fast for my liking. Shown with a MARS sight here.

OFB 40mm UBGL. Made in Trichy.

Standard INSAS Rifles with black furniture at the OFB stall. DRDO still had the famous orange ones in its stall. Interestingly, a DRDO guy demoed a Holographic Sight that they have developed. Would make a nice addition to the INSAS rifles. The man even explained why it would be a better bet than the reflex sights that are the norm currently. Note the MSMC shown above still has a MARS sight - none of the desi guns on display seemed to have these sights installed.

As an aside, the SDRE sarkari people were friendlier and more forthcoming than some of the TFTA private guys who seemed to get upset when you tried to approach them.

I have no information on the planned induction volumes/timelines.

Prithvi Warheads for those who are interested.

Last edited by manish on 18 Feb 2010 19:21, edited 4 times in total.

What's the source of the information about Bhim ?
I'm uploading the pictures I took on my blog here. It's not possible to post inline images directly here due to their size.
manish

Post by manish »

Some more pictures. Sorry about the not-so-good quality.
A heavy weight torpedo named 'Varunastra'.

DRDO/CVRDE's Hydro-pneumatic Suspension for Armoured Vehicles.

EVERYONE is out to make Mine Protected Vehicles! Here is the OFB 'Yukthi Rath'. Mahindra, AL and Tata also had their MPVs out on display.
Last edited by manish on 18 Feb 2010 18:11, edited 1 time in total.
manish

Post by manish »

jamwal wrote:What's the source of the information about Bhim ?
I'm uploading the pictures I took on my blog here. It's not possible to post inline images directly here due to their size.
Saar, try posting the images on some flickr/imageshack like site and then link back the reduced res images here.

The Bhim info came from the guys manning the DRDO display. I am all pure SDRE onlee, no paanwaalas in play here.

You were there on 17th ? What time ?
Right now, I'm uploading pictures in different posts for different groups. Will dump all pictures in one dump on flicker or picassa tomorrow.

The Prithvi warheads are interesting. Were only three types displayed? Do you have more photographs?

the middle warhead jmho is a hard target/runway penetrating type meant to unleash a shower of the hardened "HE shells" into a circular area.

the others are airburst meant for area damage on soft targets ?
manish

Post by manish »

merlin wrote:The Prithvi warheads are interesting. Were only three types displayed? Do you have more photographs?
merlin, I could find only three such warheads were on display. However, if you are interested, I have taken individual photos of all three separately. If you need them, will upload and link here.
manish

Post by manish »

The AMOGH/INSAS Carbine. Could not get info on its fate. I liked the picatinny rails (?) and the new design hand guard. I somehow felt the curved mag and the overall design betrays the AK-based origins of the receiver mechanism ever more. Just IMHO onlee.

A guard hanging nearby was too nosy, so could not hold the rifles and get a feel first-hand. However, I did get to play with a couple of Tavor variants in the IWI stall :twisted:
Hanging below the Amogh is the INSAS Excalibur.
Last edited by manish on 18 Feb 2010 19:32, edited 2 times in total.

jamwal wrote:You were there on 17th ? What time ?
Right now, I'm uploading pictures in different posts for different groups. Will dump all pictures in one dump on flicker or picassa tomorrow.
Please to dump them in the BR gallery ! :D :D

Craig Alpert wrote: Image
Glad to notice that the all up weight of LCH is 5.8 tons. I presume the new engines allowed the 300 kgs increased weight/payload. I was thinking/hoping it would almost touch 6.2 or 6.3 tons.
manish

Post by manish »

X-Posting from the Arty thread.
manish wrote:While everyone is caught up in the Bhim/Denel T6 heavy SPG mess, looks like OFB has gone ahead and made its own little 105mm tracked SPG.
They had brochures of a an SPG that brings together a turret mounted version of the old 105mm LFG and the BMP II chassis.

As per the brochure, the SPG has a crew of 5, weighs 16T, and can carry 42 rounds internally. It has a max speed of 65kmph and has options like an autoloader, composite armour turret, FCS (why optional? - probably they mean a more advanced one) and increased ammo carrying capacity (92 vs 42) among others.

The gun has a range of 19km and can fire HE, HEAT, HESH, APDS, Smoke and Colour rounds.

Now compare that with the MPVs of Pvt Motor companies! Yet MoD has ordered 950 of these without even having a fair competation.
D Roy

Post by D Roy »

I asked about the submunitions when I was at the display.

1. To our right is incendiary
2. in the middle are runway denial deep diggers. they explode after penetrating the ground.
3. to our left is a mix of the above two.

Apparently sensor fuzed munitions were also being developed at one point of time, for anti-armour.