Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread

Surya wrote:
"CVRDE should work on future gen"
needs the ARmy to spec out its requirement for next gen
why even bother ? the army will issue a GSQR after four years of work, read jane's the day after and issue a new GSQR the next week. and once a tank made to their specs is ready they will say it was late and go on to buy russian anyway. :roll:

CVRDE should seriously consider outsourcing the GSQR to russian army or israeli army, given IA's 'stellar' record in this regard.

nrshah wrote:..........<SNIP>............So did Israeli army rejected Merkava 1 because it had some problems? over 250 Merkava 1 were ordered and built before going for 2 or 3 or 4....

Do you know what is the size of inventory of MBT in Israeli army? It is close to 1500 tanks.. An order of 250 signifies 16% of tank force committed to Mk 1 which as you stated had some problem. Compare the same with a peanut order of 124 arjun in an inventory of around 4000 tanks and u will understand the level of co operation and efforts to desi products... Even 500 arjuns are only 12.5% compared to 16% of Israel...<SNIP>....
Where did you get the 1500 MBT number from? Is it from Wiki? The reason I ask is that Israel has these whole lot Armored Divisions (active+reserve) and those are very low numbers (even if I add the low category tank numbers from Wiki). Last I checked, IDF had 3 Active Armored Divisions [active component (2*Armored Bde+1*Artillery Bde)+reserve component (1*Mech Bde+1*Armored Bde)] + 9 Reserve Armored Division. These cannot be filled with the number of MBTs that you've mentioned. The numbers of tanks should be around 7,000-8,000. Let me look up for source for the numbers.

rohit, the reference of the wiki page for the inventory data is this. http://www.inss.org.il/upload/%28FILE%291245235226.pdf

turn to page 11, the number of MBTs is given as 3360(3740) I expect the number in () is the reserve force figure. that would put it closer to your estimate.

edit. go to page 12. I was wrong, 3740 is the total number apparently and 3360 is 'in service'.

I guess this means the larger number includes war wastage as well ?

btw, only merkava mk3 and mk4 are in active service (1030 + 300 mk4 on order), all the rest of that ^^^ number is "in operational storage". intended for the reservists I guess.

Sanku, the IAF Is fully behind the MCA project. It has been discussed in the Military Aviation thread. If you have missed it, here it is :

India's Medium Combat Aircraft
As per official documentation by the IAF, it wants the MCA to be a twin-pilot configured multirole stealth aircraft capable of "close air support, all weather interception, air defence suppression, long-range strike, electronic attack, limited command & control and reconnaisance" -- that's the profile from an official IAF wishlist to the ADA last year. That might roll right off the air force's tongue, like off a brochure, but they're deadly serious. Putting all speculation to rest when it officially began dialogue about the MCA in 2008, the IAF said it was not willing to look at a strike aircraft with other capabilities. It wants a fully multirole (preferably, swingrole) aircraft for the job.

So, the IAF is fully behind MCA, and have outlined what it expects from it in official documentation. Same is the case with LCA where it expects to have around 200 LCAs. So there is commitment and intent, and the IAF is fully behind LCA. That gives the confidence to the ADA to go ahead with development of technologies as they know it will hold good for LCA and also form basis for MCA. Also note that ADA has decided to go ahead with an imported engine while simultaneously trying to develop kaveri in parallel. Do you think the GoI would go for that if all that the IAF wanted to order was 40 LCAs?

The IA has to fully support the Arjun and work out the kinks in service. Show me one tank/defence product from other countries which was accepted only in perfect condition by their forces. They usually work in partnership with the development agency, and are willing to induct them as they try to work out the kinks in future versions. Same is case with Merkava, Gripen etc.

Kanson wrote:Good or bad, let keep the news flowing.
chocolate will be fantastic. There is a lot of good news that is going to flow. I am working on confirmations. After that more chocolates can flow. :D
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

What we need to see is it take hits from other tanks (especially 120 mmm non russian ones) and what survives inside? :D You can get the best crash dummies and put them inside and record it.
and vice-versa i presume
Oh and by the way - we do not hate the T 90 - just think its a dead end in tank design, will leave a lot of dead Indian crews and find the Arjun superior. Reverse the numbers and you will not hear fro us.
Both T-90 and ARJUN then are dead end in Tank Design prespective.

where were ur concern when we had vijayanta/T-55/T-72(virtully no armor) facing there T-80u / AK-I

and vice-versa i presume
absolutely

T55\Vijayanta\t 72??

Wow

this is what you came up with ??

smacks lips

will come back - got some meetings - later gator

unless someone else skewers you - :mrgreen:
d_berwal

Post by d_berwal »

Wow

this is what you came up with ??

smacks lips

will come back - got some meetings - later gator

unless someone else skewers you - :mrgreen:
hope u will not resort to name calling

boss

relax - lator gator is not name calling

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.p ... er%20gator

we will get exasperated but will not call you names.

Well guys why not just ask CVRDE to close down? As you have all managed to convince yourself, IA is not going to accept the Arjun and CVRDE is completely helpless at moving a small little leaf wtithout a firm order of 5000s Arjun before it can even attempt to get the manufacturing right.

And yes, MoD is going to look back indolently, with a Mr Clean as Def Min who gets upset at every little detail not raise issue?

Seriously?

-----------------

Rahul M seriously where does "production started at 2007 after it was forced down IAs throat" come from? Why did the production NOT start after 1998? Who was stopping Avadi?

Any open source/official confirmation? (I dont by Col Shukla unless he can back himself up with open data -- chaiwallas wont do)

I will take up other questions after we thrash our this one detail.
------------------

Kanson; dont play the games of "I can provide the audio files" -- provide real confirmed info.

As far as it is clear it is 20 + 20 (at best) -- and the 20 comes now.

----------------

Arjun is clearly getting ready only now, and as it gets ready its being accepted, those who know me long enough know that I have always maintained and predicted the same -- the question was more of when will the CVRDE+Avadi finally manage to get their act together.

putnanja wrote: The IA has to fully support the Arjun and work out the kinks in service. .
Which it has, it has devoted a full regiment worth of manpower and has baby sat CVRDE as it made its way.

Meanwhile the discussion about MCA/LCA Mk 2 was w.r.t. firm orders that folks wanted as ONLY proof that IA is behind Arjun.

I think that a R&D unit absolutely needs to have funding to first develop and then convince its customer -- the money needs to come from investors/owners (MoD)

Currently Avadi is purely reactive, IA asks, they say they will deliver and then set about finding how -- the order has to be reverse.

Also there are tons of glaring omissions in current competence set of Avadi -- it can not keep blaming the need for a 500000000 tank firm order before it does anything.

Note -- I am not saying CVRDE is at fault, given the systemic deficiency they have done pretty well, the question is that the systemic deficiencies have resulted in a delayed Arjun and THAT needs fixing.
Last edited by Sanku on 02 Mar 2010 22:38, edited 1 time in total.

d_berwal wrote:
Both T-90 and ARJUN then are dead end in Tank Design prespective.

where were ur concern when we had vijayanta/T-55/T-72(virtully no armor) facing there T-80u / AK-I
Yes, isnt it amazing, we have tons of those which need changing, yet for some reason bashing upp T 90 has become fashionable.

And before people ask ok if the older tanks are so bad, take ANY Arjun and replace the lot -- > the answer is obviously simple MoD does not want to replace the older tanks by something which will not be cutting edge when introduced. Thats wasted money.

MoD does not buy the argument that Arjun can only be made if there is a big ifirm order. They clearly believe that once the Arjun is made they will gradually change the systems -- that to an extent is correct -- only that they need to give CVRDE what it needs (including a generous kick on the butt) money, PPP, flexiblity to come up as THE vehicle design/construction center.

Sanku, you sadly don't know how the procurement/development works. The GoI doesn't finance R&D projects hoping the MoD will accept it. The way it works is that the user (IA/IN/IAF) comes up with a list of items that it needs. There is then a meeting of MoD officials, DRDO officials, users etc on those items to decide which ones need to be imported and which one can be developed by DRDO. After everyone agrees to let DRDO develop a product, the GSQR is issued and finances alloted.

It is similar situation in all countries. Developing products costs lot of money. In US/Europe etc, the users come up with the requirements and call for bidding from private industries. They then select the winner and fund the project while being totally involved in the project in all phases. There are cost and time overruns, and sometimes projects are scrapped after spending billions on it. However, the money spent is from the armed forces budget and not private sector funds. It is only for spin-offs that the industries to market them to the armed forces. A lot of US universities receive funding from US forces for cutting edge R&D. Whole labs and facilities are built by the US defence money.

To ask DRDO to comeup with something and then ask the armed forces to accept it just doesn't make sense. It has to be user driven and user must be involved in all aspects of the development

^ The whole point was the delay in Arjun programme is a result of IA's seemingly indifferent attitude towards the programme ; unlike the IN or IAF programmes who from IA is working with DRDO or CVRDE to get the project up to speed ?

Why should the installed capacity at CVRDE be bumped up ? for a token order of 124 tanks ?
In this land of red tapism how can people expect CVRDE to invest in the assembly line to churn out 50/100 tanks a year specially when it is not sure if will receive another order from the IA ?

As for the whole argument about CVRDE's inability to produce in numbers vis a vis the T-90 is a sham ; hell even the IAF is having to buy directly from RU despite the HAL having the capability to build the flanker here .

The point is this is a chicken and egg issue ; the domestic MIC will be able to roll out products in high numbers only when they receive the Gobmint and Military backing in terms of assured orders in substantial numbers . The capability can be only gradually scaled up knee jerk purchases like the T-90 (as response to Baki deal with Ukraine) are not gonna help anyone in the long run .

The truth is IA had made its mind about the Arjun based on the first impression , they never took the effort to actually be a part of the programme and went ahead with their T-90 order it is only when the T-90 too faced issues in initial trails and issues highlighted in the media the IA came under the scanner , else to be honest who in desh has ever questioned anything what goes on behind the scenes as far as services are concerned ?

The first batch order of 124 tanks and now the talk of a follow on order only prove that it is all about right INTENT/WILL when it comes to absorbing indigenous platform and I for one am extremely happy the way IA has been rounded up on this for this would serve as a much needed blow to the powers that be who have until now been rigid , displayed lack of foresight .

And for those who :(( about Arjun not being perfect when first inducted by the IA how do they explain a huge order of 1500+ T-90s being placed only to get receive a buggy platform when the first batch arrived ; in case of the former had similar trust and support been extended to DRDO and CVRDE in form of assured orders Arjun's induction and growth as platform would have been faster .

putnanja wrote:Sanku, you sadly don't know how the procurement/development works. The GoI doesn't finance R&D projects hoping the MoD will accept it.
Of course GoI can not finance R&D hoping MoD will accept it they are from the same body after all (nitpicking). MoD finances a project after deciding its need and MoD is also the final acceptor.

Meanwhile you did not get the jist of my post at all. I know how it works, I am saying something different.

Firstly this was discussed was in context of FIRM orders before anything can be done. Clearly there are tons of counter example within India itself IGMDP, PAD,ADD, any number of Radar etc etc So MoD can give a broad charter, finance and let the R&D org develop competencies in the driver mode without being in driven mode because they cant meet GSQR in time.
It is similar situation in all countries. Developing products costs lot of money. In US/Europe etc, the users come up with the requirements and call for bidding from private industries. They then select the winner and fund the project while being totally involved in the project in all phases.
And what do private industries bid on the basis of? Paper models? Or pre developed expertise as well as R&D monies already spent and prototypes and competencies developed? (Rhetorical question the answer is obviously the later)

And if you are using this example, CVRDE would never get its foot into door because it started developing its competency like 5 years after it won the contract that too with hand holding from the IA.

And what would ADA bid for LCA on ?

Of course in India the competency needs to be kick started by putting in funds from GoI because we have already missed the curve, and there are no Indian players who can bid, at all.

To ask DRDO to comeup with something and then ask the armed forces to accept it just doesn't make sense. It has to be user driven and user must be involved in all aspects of the development
Which I have not asked DRDO to do. I have asked for competency development in the field of fighting vehicles like was done with ADA.

negi wrote:And for those who :(( about Arjun not being perfect when first inducted by the IA how do they explain a huge order of 1500+ T-90s being placed only to get receive a buggy platform when the first batch arrived ; in case of the former had similar trust and support been extended to DRDO and CVRDE in form of assured orders Arjun's induction and growth as platform would have been faster .
Like 25 years instead of 30 yes :twisted:

Meanwhile, T 90s issues are way different than Arjun; Arjun had basic GSQR issue till 1998-2001 (didnt even meet GSQR fully in 1998 but was waived in anyway after saying they will meet by 2001) After this it still had tons of robustness issues has found in joint testing by all stakeholders even in 2004.

And yes if Avadi could not manufacture 124 tanks in time without a firm order of X numbers of tanks they should not have committed to meet the production targets which they have slipped by about 100%.

And yes about 25 years of Arjun development does tend to bias IA somewhat :twisted:

Meanwhile I am completely with you that GoI needs to break the chicken and egg situation by coughing up money.Lots of it WITHOUT going through the IA/IAF budget route heck without going through def budget route if you ask me

Rahul M wrote:rohit, the reference of the wiki page for the inventory data is this. http://www.inss.org.il/upload/%28FILE%291245235226.pdf. turn to page 11, the number of MBTs is given as 3360(3740) I expect the number in () is the reserve force figure. that would put it closer to your estimate.............<SNIP>
Rahul da, the same page says that IDF has 12 Armored Divisions. The same ties up with the number I gave: 3 Active+9 Reserves. If IA with 3*Armored+ (I) Armored Bde+RAPIDS has ~4000 tanks, then an Army with 12 Armored+4 Mechanized Divisions should have far higher number. The authors could have corelated the two numbers: ~3800 tanks+12 Armored Divisions. My guessestimate is that those numbers are for 3 Active Armored Divisions+ Mehcanized Divisions.

Sanku wrote: Like 25 years instead of 30 yes :twisted:
Ah the baki argument about quoting development timelines of Yindoo weapons development programme when other arguments fail . SHould we also include the development timelines of T-90 (basically a upgraded T-72 , 1970 vintage) ; and of course compare the platforms now that timelines are being quoted.

Btw did this 25 year deadline disappear suddenly or IA only realized that it needed tanks when Bakis signed up for newer MBTs with Ukraine , only shows IA's procurement policies were running in a reactive mode where 11th hour knee jerk purchases are justified in the name of change of threat perception.
Meanwhile, T 90s issues are way different than Arjun; Arjun had basic GSQR issue till 1998-2001 (didnt even meet GSQR fully in 1998 but was waived in anyway after saying they will meet by 2001) After this it still had tons of robustness issues has found in joint testing by all stakeholders even in 2004.
Yeah like the sight going kaput in desert heat or when some gung ho afsar claimed MBTs do not need AC only to eat crow soup later . And what happened to the mythical Refleks firing capability of T-90 which we hear BDL is having issues producing (ToT anyone ? :lol: ).
And yes if Avadi could not manufacture 124 tanks in time without a firm order of X numbers of tanks they should not have committed to meet the production targets which they have slipped by about 100%.
Time will tell how many T-90s will be delivered by Avadi out of stipulated 1000 and in what time , we have the MKI template in front to get a fair idea about the way things run in India.
And yes about 25 years of Arjun development does tend to bias IA somewhat :twisted:
Yes it took 25 years for DRDO to DESIGN,BUILD and DELIVER a MBT and how many years did the Jernails in IA took to get their ARTY guns ? last I checked they were busy doing trials .

But then not much is expected out of IA as they say "we will fight with what we have". :lol:

Like 25 years instead of 30 yes :twisted:
It is so easy to spout BS without any thing to back up what you say, right. This when more than one poster has pointed the facts. But you are sure selective in your reading.
Here we go again.....more BS.
Guess, what would you say about 25 years of changed GSQR and shifting of goal posts doesn't count.......bad bad DRDO...

Forgot to address this point in earlier post. Guess your frontline MBT's electronics not being able to withstand the environment in their most likey area of operations is not basic enough. While Arjun was told to go and get the whole system to work in the same environment without any facny-shmancy "environment control" nonsense........

Err rohitvats; cool off, if you think IA is really the all powerful malevolent beast killing Arjun you are welcome to your view, meanwhile I am really glad to know that IA is THAT powerful. I can only say "I wish"
Ashutosh Malik

Post by Ashutosh Malik »

This is the first time I am posting on this thread but have been reading all the views expressed over a long period of time.

My sense is that unless we have leaders who can stick their necks out, particularly in difficult times, we as a nation will just be also-rans.

Neither the Army nor the MOD and DRDO can escape the reality of the fact that, they have not had great leaders, for substantial periods, who have been clearly focussed on what is required in the long run . None of these organisations - none, I repeat, whether the Army or the DRDO or the MOD, have taken consistent leadership positions for a long periods of time. Unless, we develop a vision, stick around with it and support each other during times of hardship and trial, in particular, we will never come up great products or strategies or action. And fact of the matter is that most of our institutions have been lead by people who came to pass their time for 2-3 years and then get on to the next assignment. This reminds me of Vice Chancellors of most of our universities who decide to go through their tenures without ruffeling anybody's feathers - leads to dead wood, no research worth talking about - but also ensures that there is no controversy and the guy is ready for another appointment. UNLESS people are willing to stick their necks out for what they believe in, unless they think long term, we will always end up with what we have been experiencing with respect to LCA and Arjun. You need to have balls to back up a vision. Most of our leaders don't.

Now it seems that LCA and Arjun have reached a critical point. If some of the leaders can think beyond their own tenures and not worry about ruffeling feathers, next 2- 3 decades should be very interesting indeed.

now where is that IDF armoured corps vet we had on BR a few months back ?
anyway, 12 armoured divs does sound a bit on the higher side don't you think ? I mean 7-8,000 tanks would put it right up their with the largest tank inventory alongwith US army and PLA-GF isn't it ? that would be a little odd for a country the size of israel ?

from wiki I can count only 3 active armoured divisions with a total of 5 armd bdes. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israeli_Armor_Corps

globalsec summary says :
Between 1977 and 1987, the IDF reconfigured its units as its tank inventory grew, reducing the number of infantry brigades while increasing the number of armored brigades from twenty to thirty-three upon mobilization. {=roughly 3450 tanks}
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... l/army.htm

here are the orbat estimates. http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... orbat2.htm
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... ipment.htm

the bottomline is, as things stand now, almost all of IDF's armoured forces tip of the proverbial spear consists of merkava mk3 and mk4 and the rest also includes the mk2 and mk1.

Rahul M wrote:now where is that IDF armoured corps vet we had on BR a few months back ?
Uri_T? This is his site: http://www.idf-armor.blogspot.com/

Sanku wrote:Err rohitvats; cool off, if you think IA is really the all powerful malevolent beast killing Arjun you are welcome to your view, meanwhile I am really glad to know that IA is THAT powerful. I can only say "I wish"
As long as you keep on posting the stuff you write, I'm not exactly going to "COOL OFF". I cannot allow you to post BS about the system and get away with it. You can consider it my "jeeehaaaarrdddddddddd".. :twisted: ....and also as a shameless tactic to increase my post count :mrgreen: .....I think you're the god send who'll help me achieve the BRF Oldie status faster than I thought.....see, we have the positive spin-offs already of the Arjun program...... :mrgreen:

Jokes apart, I know exactly what the Army is and what are the compulsions it operates in. That is why I have never said that IA should not have bought the T-90. I disagree with other posters when they say that IA procurement plan is reactionary. It is not IA's procurement plan that is reactionary...it is our MOD which is reactionary...which moves only in case of existential threats. Remember, Mig-23MF(with its BVR capability) and later MiG-29 were bought only after PAF inducted F-16? Our babus would not have sanctioned T-90 if the PA had not bought T-80UD. Also, while T-90 has its drawbacks as inherent in any T-XX design, I have not said anywhere that it is junk. T-90 with all the bells and whistles (which will be bought in future and were not part of existing tanks) is good tank that will thump anything in PA and PLA armory....my beef is with the leeway IA has given to the T-90 is something it never gave to Arjun......

I can live with IA inducting the 1,647 T-90 with all the required bells and whistles...because God knows, Indian Armor will need every bit of those. The way PA has proliferated the ATGM assets across the whole set-up represents extremely grave threat to the Indian Armor.

Even in its current form, IA will require ~4000 tanks. With 1,647 T-90 and around 1200 T-72(upgraded)..we will still need additional 1,200 more tanks to replace older T-72 and T-55/Vijayantas. If the IA does not start inducting Arjun in numbers now, how is it ever going to replace those numbers? And the way IA is behaving, I have a distinct feeling that T-90X number is going to increase, especially the directly purchased one. That, my freind, is where the game will show up...and where it stinks to high heavens....
ParGha

Post by ParGha »

knee-jerk reaction? It reminds me of something an acquaintance at a UK arms house once said, If the Paks had bought M1 Abrams in 1987, India would have immediately bought Leo2s - christened most likely as 'Arjun', the indi project aborted. And India would have settled for an East/West mix of 'arjuns' and 'ajeyas'. I think he is right, too! Just something for you all to think about.

Rahul M wrote:now where is that IDF armoured corps vet we had on BR a few months back ?
anyway, 12 armoured divs does sound a bit on the higher side don't you think ? I mean 7-8,000 tanks would put it right up their with the largest tank inventory alongwith US army and PLA-GF isn't it ? that would be a little odd for a country the size of israel ?

from wiki I can count only 3 active armoured divisions with a total of 5 armd bdes. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israeli_Armor_Corps

globalsec summary says :
Between 1977 and 1987, the IDF reconfigured its units as its tank inventory grew, reducing the number of infantry brigades while increasing the number of armored brigades from twenty to thirty-three upon mobilization. {=roughly 3450 tanks}
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... l/army.htm

here are the orbat estimates. http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... orbat2.htm
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... ipment.htm

the bottomline is, as things stand now, almost all of IDF's armoured forces tip of the proverbial spear consists of merkava mk3 and mk4 and the rest also includes the mk2 and mk1.
Rahul da, I have read an anlysis (have no link) from Ravi of orbat.com on the strength of IDF Armor forces and the high number of Armored Divisions being their mainstay.

Also, wiki shows that for active armored brigades, the number of armored regiments per brigade is 3. Now assuming IDF also uses the 45+10 principle, 33 armored brigades will have 99 armored regiments with 5,445 tanks. Even with 45 tanks per regiment, the number will be 4,455 tanks. We have like what, 22 armored brigades+2 Mechanized brigades+Div armored regiments and still ~4,000 tanks.

ParGha wrote:knee-jerk reaction? It reminds me of something an acquaintance at a UK arms house once said, If the Paks had bought M1 Abrams in 1987, India would have immediately bought Leo2s - christened most likely as 'Arjun', the indi project aborted. And India would have settled for an East/West mix of 'arjuns' and 'ajeyas'. I think he is right, too! Just something for you all to think about.
True words....how i wish the PA had bought the M1s then.....

It would be interesting to note the out come of "trying to find a role for Arjun" trials and what final role is assigned to the tank ...

[Rant] I hope its NOT consigned to fighting naxals in view of its superior armour ! [/Rant]

Ask Israeli armor guys when you meet them about which tank they worry about the most.

Its Egyptian M1s. Not souped up tin cans.
Uri_T

Post by Uri_T »

Sriman wrote:
Uri_T? This is his site: http://www.idf-armor.blogspot.com/

Hello to all dear friends of the forum
If I can contribute to this thread I would be happy
I need to read more of that thread

http://www.idf-armor.blogspot.com/

Uri_T wrote:....Hello to all dear friends of the forum

You're most welcome on the thread. We need your expertise to answer a question that has cropped up here with respect to the Armored Divisions in IDF.

How many Armored Division does IDF has? Open source gives information as 3 Active+9 Reserves? Also, how many tanks per regiment does IDF maintain or roughly the total number of tanks in service (a broad range)? if any of this is something which you think cannot be discussed on public forum, we'd understand. But do help out with general information which you think does not compromise operational security.
Uri_T

Post by Uri_T »

Uri_T wrote:....Hello to all dear friends of the forum

You're most welcome on the thread. We need your expertise to answer a question that has cropped up here with respect to the Armored Divisions in IDF.

How many Armored Division does IDF has? Open source gives information as 3 Active+9 Reserves? Also, how many tanks per regiment does IDF maintain or roughly the total number of tanks in service (a broad range)? if any of this is something which you think cannot be discussed on public forum, we'd understand. But do help out with general information which you think does not compromise operational security.

Well well with all my love to India and to this forum I can not discuss such information
I served in the IDf tank corps back in the 70's and later as a reserve till late 80's
My son is serving today as a tank commander in th 188th Brigade (Merkava mk 3) so his security
is in my heart! as well as my nation .............

It is well known that the IDF use 4 tank Division as the regular army 7, 188 ,401 ,460
each have app 100 tanks in 3 Battalions each
During all the years the IDF used the regular divisions as a training platforms to teach crewman
for their 20 years to come as reservists in the force!!!
I think the hint is clear

God bless you all

Uri_T wrote: Well well with all my love to India and to this forum I can not discuss such information
I served in the IDf tank corps back in the 70's and later as a reserve till late 80's
My son is serving today as a tank commander in th 188th Brigade (Merkava mk 3) so his security
is in my heart! as well as my nation .............

It is well known that the IDF use 4 tank Division as the regular army 7, 188 ,401 ,460
each have app 100 tanks in 3 Battalions each
During all the years the IDF used the regular divisions as a training platforms to teach crewman
for their 20 years to come as reservists in the force!!!
I think the hint is clear

God bless you all

I understand your concerns and still much appreciate the nugget of information shared by you...many thanx.

Rahul da, if we take what Uri_T has written as applicable across the board, the number will be in range of ~3,500 tanks

yes rohit, just did the numbers, provided it is applicable across the board.

thanks Uri, nice to have your inputs.

More GCV Details Emerge
I was on a reporter’s conference call yesterday with Army Maj. Gen. Keith Walker, the service’s Future Force Integration Directorate Commander, who discussed Army modernization post FCS. I asked him about new Ground Combat Vehicle (GCV) Infantry Fighting Vehicle and how he sees it fitting into the future force. The GCV is intended to replace the Bradley, he said, and will also be used as a battlefield medical vehicle.

The number one priority of the GCV, according to what’s written in the initial capabilities document and the capability development document, he said, is to provide armored protection to the soldier, particularly against IEDs. Close behind it is mobility. “The MRAP is not mobile off the roads… protect the individual soldier, having a mobile off-​​road capability and having it networked… are the three [priorities] that come to mind.”

I asked him about GCV strategic mobility, which back in the day was the main goal of the FCS manned ground vehicles (seen above in an artists rendering), to be light enough to fly full brigades to distant battlefields. To be useful in a place like Afghanistan the GCV would have to be lighter than the 30 ton Bradley which is too heavy to fly there in any real numbers.

“We would hope that it would be lighter [than a Bradley], but there are some mathematics here. To survive an IED you’ve got to heavy up,” Walker said. The Army’s goal is to build an off-​​road mobile, heavily armored infantry fighting vehicle, but build it in such a way that it can be made lighter over time. Hence, the modularity concept that figures so prominently in GCV design.

“It’s written in the requirements that as technology changes and allows the vehicle to lighten up, that we can do that. The exact opposite of what we’ve done the last eight years where we’ve taken a Humvee and slapped appliqué armor on them and they’ve gotten heavier and heavier… to be able to take advantage of technology to make it lighter over time.”

“I suspect it would be heavier than a Bradley to start with and the idea is that we would be able to lighten up over time as technology enables us to,” Walker said.

With the Army talking about replacing the Bradley fleet, I can understand, as one industry source told me, why Bradley builder BAE Systems is right nervous. They stand to miss out on serious recapitalization money if the decades old Bradley fleet is retired. Although, some think GCV will face long development delays if for no other reason than the country’s rather dire fiscal situation will put a crimp on major new weapons programs. Best case scenario for BAE is GCV gets delayed and Bradley fleet is recapitalized over the next decade, and they wrap up the GCV contract if that program ever gets going.

When I spoke to BAE executives last fall, they sounded pretty confident they would win GCV because, as they said, they’re the premier infantry fighting vehicle builder. To boost their chances, BAE announced this week that they’ve teamed with Northrop Grumman to leverage the latter’s networking and sensor expertise.

Forgot to address this point in earlier post. Guess your frontline MBT's electronics not being able to withstand the environment in their most likey area of operations is not basic enough. While Arjun was told to go and get the whole system to work in the same environment without any facny-shmancy "environment control" nonsense........
Actually rohitvats, In 1996, Arjun Tank cleared all requirements laid down by the Army. It was a very stringent review by the Army and VCOAS had reviewed it. The Army designated the XV PPS tank as the reference tank for production. The person you quoted is terribly of the mark.

chackojoseph wrote: Actually rohitvats, In 1996, Arjun Tank cleared all requirements laid down by the Army. It was a very stringent review by the Army and VCOAS had reviewed it. The Army designated the XV PPS tank as the reference tank for production. The person you quoted is terribly of the mark.
Thank you for that information. As for being off the mark, well, our dear freind is off the mark most of the times when it comes to Arjun Story....so nothing new here.....

chackojoseph wrote:
Sanku wrote:Meanwhile, T 90s issues are way different than Arjun; Arjun had basic GSQR issue till 1998-2001 (didnt even meet GSQR fully in 1998 but was waived in anyway after saying they will meet by 2001) After this it still had tons of robustness issues has found in joint testing by all stakeholders even in 2004.
Actually rohitvats, In 1996, Arjun Tank cleared all requirements laid down by the Army. It was a very stringent review by the Army and VCOAS had reviewed it. The Army designated the XV PPS tank as the reference tank for production. The person you quoted is terribly of the mark.
Uh Chacko; the reference is not mine, its seen in many open source literature including the GoI relelases at the time. There were some issues still in 1998 but they were considered solvable by 2001 time frame and hence IA decided to still go ahead despite less than 100% meeting of GSQRs

These have also been posted umpteen times before, and thats why I didnt even think that it would by questioned. Anyway for your reference here is ONE of MANY

http://www.india-today.com/itoday/24111997/defence.html

DEFENCE: DRDO
Way Off Target
By Manoj Joshi

November 24, 1997

Its army project director at the time, Brigadier (retired) D.R. Gole, went on record last month alleging that there were serious deficiencies in the fire-control system of the tank, reducing its probability of hitting an enemy tank with the first shot to anywhere between 20-80 per cent. The required accuracy is of the order of 90 per cent. Despite the well-publicised problems, the Army has in a mature decision agreed to accept 124 tanks of the first batch, while insisting on the required improvements in the second. These include some "slimming" down of weight, redesigning to accommodate an internal auxiliary power unit and a better gun, and provision of reactive armour to neutralise incoming kinetic-energy shells.
I am for Arjun to, but see no need to whitewash the history or carry out a witch hunt with scapegoats to show that its a good Tank, if this needs be done it probably means that the folks defending it have no confidence in what they are defending in the heart of their heart.