Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread

Re: Armoured Vehicles Discussion Thread

narayana wrote:
Sanku wrote: tcchhh Kanson -- dont be petulant now, IA is supposed to make the GSQRs IT IS their job -- GoI has tasked them for it -- you have a problem with that?

Agreed sanku but why the requirements are ignored in phoren maal induction,when su-30 was inducted it was a paper plane and you know about t-90.if our armed forces are so generous on phoren maal what makes them so stringent on desi stuff.
I personally do not think that is the case; (I dont think there is a yes no answer to above)

YES there is some natural bias to trust a design house/manufacturer which has a proven history of successful products, and the past track record of OFB and DRDO has given them negative perception (in many cases unjustified) the role of kickbacks is also present (particularly in case of western products) but kickbacks and or political factors (canceling the Heli choice so that US could also get in) are usually at top levels of MoD (which means Babu+Neta; since the signatures are there) --

BUT having said that I would say that in most cases the forces will be equally stringent; its just that in case of domestic manufactures the ramp up time for simple change requests by forces is higher since they lack the massive Mil-Ind complex back up the others have.

However as we see with Groshkov, even a foreign vendor gets into the same tu-tu main main (bickering) with the forces for similar reasons when the underlying issues are the same.

RayC wrote:It is not the IA’s mindset or history that prevents induction of indigenous equipment.
That is true. If you read carefully again, you will note what I think is the problem is the Indian Army's INSTITUTIONAL FAILING as the primary cuase.
Why are we buying Maruti cars instead of the warhorse Ambassadors?
By the logic you are arguing, you will be buying the "warhorse" Ambassador instead!. Dont believe me ?. Consider this. You had the proven "A" segment cars from Maruti/Suzuki the 800, the Alto and now the latest version the "A Star" . Which one will you buy, the latest "A Star" which got recalled for a fuel leak problem with O rings and solenoids or the previous version the "Alto" , which is proven over millions of cars and billions of passenger miles? .

Look at the problems at Toyota, a brand that made it's name for bullet proof and indestructible reliability. Why the post 2003/4 odd models are in trouble ?. Is it because of the introuction of drive by wire systems ?. So are you going to buy a 2004 Toyota Camry instead of a 2010 Camry?
That means for technology improvement, one should sacrifice the Armed Forces lives. I fail to see the logic! Wars are not video games! It all about lives and winning the war!
The answer bluntly is YES, that is unfortunately how engineering works. It is the accumulated wisdom of real world learning , experience and feedback that gets reflected in future generations of products.

Just google around and find out what is/was called the "Lawn Dart" (hint, we are looking to buy it ..shocking innit?) . Also, find out just how many were killed in the "Lawn Dart's" development, test and induction phases . And those lives lost mind you that is for just ONE product. Also google around for something called V22 Osperey. Find out how many lives have been lost for the Osperey until now. It will shock you. The Osperey is NOT YET in full service!

The problem with India is until recently we did not have the industrial base to build weapons, but could only import . The insitutional mindset in the Army reflects that. Now India has the industrial base (when I mean India,I mean the country and not the babu /DPSU/DRDO monkeydom), so that mindset should change. The reason why the others are spending time, treasure, effort and yes LIVES on developing new weapons is becuase they know that they will be fighting Tomorrows Wars with YESTERDAY's weapons if they dont!. That is why.
Let us not quote the West. They have fought no wars after WW II. We are ever since Independence in the ‘war’ mode. Therefore, there is no comparison.
Surely this is joke. There was something called the cold war on which untold wealth was spent in developing all kinds of weapons and they were literally on hair trigger. If you want a "hot war" how about Korea, Vietnam, all the Arab Isreali wars (which created the Isreali Arms industry), Afghanistan (US and USSR) and not to mention Gulf Wars. Learnings from each of those wars went to develop next gen weapons.. Vietnam experience led to the "Teen Series" fighters. Gulf War led to unmanned vehicles.

I agree, that India's strategy until the 70s was correct. But what we missed out on what the Isrealis did, that is develop a robust indigenous industry. Isreal is a far smaller country which faced/faces a far greate existential threat than us and are in perennial "war mode" . Even they dont import nearly as much as we do and have fielded far greater number of systems!.
It must also be understood that induction does not mean one or two tanks or even 124. It means laying out a production line. That costs money. And if it turns out to be a lemon, who will cover the cost for a useless project? CAG will go all guns going and people like you will burn time on the internet as to how foolish all were!
That is why product development is risky. But remember, no risk, no gain!. If you dont risk developing drive by wire systems because of "risk" , you will be history becuase your competitors who have the guts to take risks will!.
It is another misnomer that one buys equipment and then fits into the op doctrines. In fact it is the reverse.
Not true. In reality, your op doctrine is circumsribed by the choice of weapon platforms that you have and that is always limited because of cost, geo strategic concerns and what exactly fits your op doctrine may really not be available to you. If for instance the Abrams was the "best tank" suited to the op doctrine you had in mind in the 80s, so what? It was probably not available to you anyways.

I agree that the Armed Forces ask for the Moon when they formulate their GSQR. The DRDO should tell them what is feasible or not. They go over the Moon asked by the Armed Forces and Armed Forces are delighted.
Those are institutional failings. When the army actually partners in development and the guy who do that, all that will get worked out. So first get the institutional failings fixed.
And then they fail to deliver not only what they promised over the moon but less than the moon!! That is the harsher reality!
Right. They were set up to fail. They then failed. So you go get some other system (like T-90) which really doesnt seem to be all that it was said to be has failings in real world and then scramble to fix it , coz your backside is exposed if the fixes dont happen.. Somehow all that rhetoric of "lives" , 'winning wars" etc get lost in that scramble.

The point I am making is that you cant win tomorrows wars with yesterday's weapons. If you dont go through the pain and trouble and hopefully not shedding blood during development , you surely will be battered and bleeding in war.
It is good to use words like systemic failure and institutional failure etc. There are discussions when a GSQR is formulated with those who are to develop equipment as also with those who will be maintaining and servicing such equipment. I might as well mention that one of the finest mountain guns was designed by Lt Col Gurdial Singh and it was known as the Gurdial Gun. It was in middle 1950s. So, to feel that the IA is keen on foreign acquisition is an incorrect assumption.

I would not mind buying A Star because that would suit my pocket. To believe that the other cars have had no problems would be wrong. The fuel pump leak problem is because of filling the petrol tank right up to the neck of the fuel inlet. One should not fill a tank beyond the specification. Ask Hormazd.

I cannot comment on Toyotas since that is beyond my range and I don’t dream. Those who think beyond their purse tend to find avenues to fulfil their dreams through means that may not be moral or legal. Its only when I win a lottery would I like to think big and it would not be a Toyota. It would be a Rolls Royce and nothing else! But since my luck is not that good, let it remain a pipedream! ;)

If you BLUNTLY state that for technology improvement we should sacrifice defence personnel lives, then you might as well stand post and face the brunt. As a Commander of troops, I will be damned to make them cannon fodder. The most unfortunate comment I must say. I am aghast that you feel that the defence personnel’s lives is that cheap!!

I googled Lawn Dart and it gave this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawn_darts

As far as V22 Osperey, the aircraft crashed while it was being developed. Obviously, since it is still not acceptable, it has not gone into service. By your logic, they should have had a squadron and have the whole lot killed in the bargain just to please people like you who wish to use the defence personnel as guinea pigs. Your point is? Indigenisation at the cost of defence personnel’s lies? Wow!! Good logic!

If you are so keen on learning and gaining experience, put your life at stake. It is like those who claim that INSAS 5.56 does not kill. Fine, I will buy that argument if those who make the claim stand in front and take a couple of INSAS bullets and live to tell the tale!

Armchair critics and ‘think tanks’!

I would like to dispel the idea that the IA does not favour Indian products. Please check the inventory. At the same time check the quality control. Even a simple thing like the camouflage uniform cannot be standardised and fade proof. And we go gaga on BRF over foreign camouflage uniforms!!

Cold war on hair trigger? Maybe. However, only a hot war can prove equipment. Pattons touted as the greatest of tanks came a cropper against ancient Indian tanks. So, that is how the cookies crumble.

Unmanned vehicles and unmanned devices were not because of the Iraq War. It was there and thought about many years before. It may surprise you, but the IA was thinking of the same way back in the late 70s.

Nothing is wrong in taking risk in product development. The DRDO is doing it.

Sadly, you are not aware how the op doctrines evolve and so you feel it is built on equipment. Please understand one has to be concerned of men’s lives and the General worried of his reputation. Therefore, to feel (even if it s popular conception) that men lives and one’s own reputation and how history will judge is something that one does not care for, it is another fantasy being purveyed. If the best for one’s op doctrine, then the nearest is selected. For Christ’s sake, quit feeling that those responsible are money grubbing cretins even if it is fashionable to dub them so!

So the DRDO is being set up to fail? Any good reasons that you can conjure out of your magic hat?

T 90 is to fill the void in case of war. Now since you know all, by what date will the Arjun be available in bulk so that Pakistan does not have a home run? You want the crescent on Red Fort? If so, say so! Why all this rigmarole?

Indeed the IA wants equipment for tomorrow’s war. Deliver it!

What upsets me is that there are people like you who want the defence personnel to be guinea pigs.

Why don't you and your ilk be our guinea pig?
Last edited by RayC on 03 Mar 2010 22:37, edited 1 time in total.

kanson.. i cant understand you lament about british tradition and why is it holding back IA ?? what negativity do you see in that?? i think IA is contant evolving and responding adequaltely.

more than IA , i think it is the netas and babus ( majorly) who are holding back the nation. imagine what will a babu do if everything is privatized ??

recently met a british national who also happens to a be some kind of nuclear scientist/ engg. he said it is the stated policy of british govt not to import major arms and to focus on indegenous development.

Kanson wrote:

We always wish IA to do well. Even our laments are toward this end.

It is my belief that it is this constant penchant for the British Army traidition/standards is bringing the IA not to realise its own potential, Sir. People are so enamoured about British that they always lookup to their methods and standards, failing to realise their own potential. Every solution and method has a shell life. What was good at one point of time may not be good at later point. Quit India movement was very famous and rattled the British but the same solution of hartal/bandh is currently considered as deterimental to the society/economy. Even those MNCs like Motorola and General Electric suffered from this inertia but they moved on. So, for IA to realise its full potential, it needs to have its own leaders and visionaries and should have its own systems and create methods and procedures that is valid to this time and for this generation of people. I strongly believe any change, only IA and its personnel are most suited to bring that. Outsiders can only give some direction. And i also believe that there are enough potential lying within the IA. All it needs is a rat who can bell the cat - a small push and atleast a leader. This is my idea behind my statement. And i take leave and give room for Manjgu to take your attention.
I do not like British as such.

However, the traditions they left has served us well.

Morality and honesty and regimental traditions etc.

Look at what is happening today!

Compare.

Having worn the uniform, I am embarrassed with all this Ketchup Colonel, Booze Brigadier and the Land Scam!

The quality of intake has indeed gone down seriously!

manjgu wrote:RayC...

INSAS - a good example of indigenous dev - i am sure INSAS has also evolved from its first incarnation/version based on its usage, which is the whole idea about product dev.. prototyping and then iterative improvements.

Maruti is by no means indegenous development ... its japanese tech , screwdrivered here in india. By that yardstick / logic even BEL is doing indigenous development?? when in fact it is majorly assembling imported tech.

the paucity of such examples is also indicative that something is seriously wrong with the way this whole issue is dealt with. and we as a nation are not upto speed on this aspect. Yes. there is a vested lobby starting right from ministers, babus, arms dealers who encourage imported arms.

Q. Do you see any issues with units dedicated to hastening product trails/induction and not tasked for war?
I don't know about the wheel within wheels in the GOI.

All I know is INSAS is a good weapon, as good as any other.

INSAS is not a pure Indian design. Unlike the Maruti, it has incorporated many other designs to make it. And that is no easy task either!

RayC ...

i did not get your argument about guinea pig? nobody wants def personnel to be G pigs but since def personnel can only test def eqpt in real life conditions , there is a attendant risk? i mean who will fly aircrafts or dive in subs to test something or fire guns in siachen??

as rightly pointed out by vina, there are casualties in def product dev all over the world and are accepted as part of the game should also apply to India?? or is India any different? or is testing unproven eqpt not part of duties ? in the indian AWACS crash, the DRDO chaps were also casualties.. !!

RayC wrote: I googled Lawbn Dart and it gave this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawn_darts
Sir, the original aircraft that was called the "Lawn Dart" was the Lockheed F104 Starfighter (at least the Canadian version was nicknamed that. Another Canadian nickname for the CF-104 was "Widowmaker"). Later on, the "Lawn Dart" nickname was passed on to the F-16 because it failed a lot in the early development days.

rayC... in the case of LCA ( which is still unproven ) testing, would you classify the pilots as G pigs?

manjgu wrote:RayC ...

i did not get your argument about guinea pig? nobody wants def personnel to be G pigs but since def personnel can only test def eqpt in real life conditions , there is a attendant risk? i mean who will fly aircrafts or dive in subs to test something or fire guns in siachen??

as rightly pointed out by vina, there are casualties in def product dev all over the world and are accepted as part of the game should also apply to India?? or is India any different? or is testing unproven eqpt not part of duties ? in the indian AWACS crash, the DRDO chaps were also casualties.. !!
That is why there was a Regt earmarked to accept it and 'prove it'.

Unless 'proven', it cannot be inducted into service.

manjgu wrote:rayC... in the case of LCA ( which is still unproven ) testing, would you classify the pilots as G pigs?
No.

They are test pilots who know the dangers!

Test pilots have died before proving aircraft.

Part of the job.

Just as much as the defence personnel know that to defend the country they may have to die!

If they die, so be it.

There is the fashionable stuff to lament of how many died for Kargil. Yet none volunteers or send their children to the army! I find all this pseudo nationalism and patriotism laughable.

What's so great? Every time an attack was mounted, we all knew that some will have to die. So, is the case for COIN.

One takes it in one's stride.

Let me assure you that every thime we go into, what the US says 'harms way'. we know we may not come back. When we do return we thank our Gods.

At least, here we know we are doing our job and you want us to die for lousy equipment just to show patriotism that we are supporting indigenisation?

I wish you all great patriots had seen a battlefield to talk so glibly!

I would be damned if I were to prove my patriotism of supporting indigenisation at the cost of my men's and my life!

At least, here we know we are doing our job and you want us to die for lousy equipment just to show patriotism that we are supporting indigenoisation?
So getting into a Arjun tank is asking someone to die? With an attitude like that... :roll:

Both the t90 and the Arjun are untested in battle. All defects pointed out by Arjun are rectified. Yet, the in your opinion it is okay "to die for lousy equipment" if its a T90 , but not if its Arjun since its made by DRDO, even knowing the fact that T90 suffered from defective thermal sights?

Arent you now flame baiting:
T 90 is to fill the void in case of war. Now since you know all, by what date will the Arjun be available in bulk so that Pakistan does not have a home run? You want the crescent on Red Fort? If so, say so! Why all this rigmarole?
Last edited by Tanaji on 03 Mar 2010 20:59, edited 1 time in total.

rayC .. i think you got it wrong. its a given that many of us will not see a battlefield. but our fathers, brothers are in harms way as well. so we are not at all casual when talking about death etc.

atleast i still did not get a reply to the G pig argument when you accept that casualties are inherent. If i understood your argument right ..you said in one of your earlier posts that deaths while testing unproven eqpt / product dev is not acceptable.

Tanaji wrote:
At least, here we know we are doing our job and you want us to die for lousy equipment just to show patriotism that we are supporting indigenoisation?
So getting into a Arjun tank is asking someone to die? With an attitude like that... :roll:

Both the t90 and the Arjun are untested in battle. All defects pointed out by Arjun are rectified. Yet, the in your opinion it is okay "to die for lousy equipment" if its a T90 , but not if its Arjun since its made by DRDO, even knowing the fact that T90 suffered from defective thermal sights?

Arent you now flame baiting:
No I am sure it is good tank (Arjun) now.

Let it get proved!

It is only a fool who will reject a proven Indian product.

I am not an Armoured Corps man, but if a Chief who is Armoured Corps say it (T90) is good, I accept that.

Is that a flame bait?

Are you better qualified than the ex Chief?

As I have said there are many proven Indian products in the Army.

It is just that the media does not highlight it!
Last edited by RayC on 03 Mar 2010 21:12, edited 2 times in total.

manjgu wrote:rayC .. i think you got it wrong. its a given that many of us will not see a battlefield. but our fathers, brothers are in harms way as well. so we are not at all casual when talking about death etc.

atleast i still did not get a reply to the G pig argument when you accept that casualties are inherent. If i understood your argument right ..you said in one of your earlier posts that deaths while testing unproven eqpt / product dev is not acceptable.
Since you say your father was in the army ask your father who was in harm's way.

He will know it better than many of us.

I have never said that when a equipment is being developed, deaths are not acceptable.

The Army is not daft. In field firing, there is a percentage of casualties that is acceptable! And that is in peacetime!
Last edited by RayC on 03 Mar 2010 21:16, edited 3 times in total.

:?:

manjgu wrote::?:
Ask him.

chackojoseph wrote:
Sanku wrote:Arre bahi, difference between paraphrase and quote is there or no?

Meanwhile I have already quoted a report not written by me (I am not Manoj Joshi) -- your turn :P
Sanku,

I thank you for the debate.
Thank you in turn Chacko; and I hope I wasnt offensive in my push to make my point, in case I came across as rude' apologies.

rayC.. frankly i did not quite understand your reply and my dads opinion is not relavant here since he is not participating. all i am saying that there seems to be an apparent contradiction in your posts on the indicated matter ... so could you please clarify your stand on the matter.

btw i think the debate has shot off on a tangent ... time to take a shower !!

RayC wrote: At least, here we know we are doing our job and you want us to die for lousy equipment just to
show patriotism that we are supporting indigenisation?
I wish you all great patriots had seen a battlefield to talk so glibly!
I would be damned if I were to prove my patriotism of supporting indigenisation at the cost of my men's and my life
RayC sir,
No one here is ever going to say that you should show patriotism by using inferior indigenous tech in battle. We just ask you to take a sizeable number of the inferior device and run them ,quite literally in the case of arjun, through its paces and give a continuous stream of feedback to the designer.

This way you can have a decent number of tanks in the fleet that can be easily upgraded to the required standard and the ones rolling out of the production lines in a few years time can be directly bought to the same standard.

This way, if the worst comes to worst we would have a decent tank for second line services. Mind you sir, I am not asking that army completely throw away their T90s. I am just asking that we be given time to improve the tank, while keeping the production lines open and active.

On your comment that all "great patriots" should have faced the battlefield, couldn't agree more. Hell i wish that MoD would somehow use us defence fanatics for something in The Battlefield.

No one here is ever going to say that you should show patriotism by using inferior indigenous tech in battle.
That is the issue!

INSAS was not accepted till it was proven to be excellent.

Likewise many other indigenous stuff!

And here we have the BRF warriors who want the INSAS junked and buy foreign cosmetically enhanced rifles instead!

I say accept what is the best! And INSAS is damn good!

It is just that the OFB's quality control and DGI which is letting us down!

RayC wrote:
No one here is ever going to say that you should show patriotism by using inferior indigenous tech in battle.
That is the issue!

INSAS was not accepted till it was proven to be excellent.

Likewise many other indigenous stuff!

And here we have the BRF warriors want the INSAS junked and buy foreign cosmetically enhanced rifles instead!
pretty sure, its not the Average BRFite who would want to throw the INSAS for some fancy Import...
Hell for that matter, any of the indigenous technologies developed so painstakingly.

About OFB's QC issues, why don't you work with them??? I mean its the army for crying out loud. they can arm twist the MoD to get at least this done.

Sanku wrote:And when I say official sources PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING

http://164.100.24.208/ls/CommitteeR/Def ... report.pdf

Page 79 onwards -- its pretty clear what is what.............<SNIP>
Which part of your argument that Arjun even after 1996 trials fell short of GSQR is suported by above link? Mind pointing to the facts....

And for someone who knows the details of Arjun Story, the fact that all you couls dig out was that single article from Manoj Joshi is quite a pittance. How about opening the floodgates of your knowledge to us "bachhas"?

Sanku wrote:Thank you in turn Chacko; and I hope I wasnt offensive in my push to make my point, in case I came across as rude' apologies.
Absolutely not. Just that its an old logic that if people don't believe you then bow out. So I did. I did respect your thoughts.

Bala Vignesh wrote:

pretty sure, its not the Average BRFite who would want to throw the INSAS for some fancy Import...
Hell for that matter, any of the indigenous technologies developed so painstakingly.

About OFB's QC issues, why don't you work with them??? I mean its the army for crying out loud. they can arm twist the MoD to get at least this done.
True. Arm twist.

Like they they were successful with that dhoti clad midget over the Sukhna land issue?

RayC wrote:.........<SNIP>......T 90 is to fill the void in case of war. Now since you know all, by what date will the Arjun be available in bulk so that Pakistan does not have a home run? You want the crescent on Red Fort? If so, say so! Why all this rigmarole? Indeed the IA wants equipment for tomorrow’s war. Deliver it! What upsets me is that there are people like you who want the defence personnel to be guinea pigs. Why don't you and your ilk be our guinea pig?
RayC Sir, allow me to comment on the part of your post that I've quoted above.

Requirement for T90:

--Everyone here understands that T-90 was purchased to fill the gap. We also know that the induction of T-80UD by PA was the trigger. I'm with you on this.

--We've actually gone ahead and ensured that T-90 moves from being a stop gap measure to being the mainstay MBT of IA in short to medium term. From intial order of 310 with option to manufacture another 1,000 more@HVF,Avadhi, we went on to purchase another 347 T-90 off the shelf. Reason: Russia playing hard ball on ToT and not HVF (for a change). I'm okay with this as well. For a simple reason that the modernization if IA Mechanized Forces has been lagging by decades. The sorry state of T-72 upgrade is an example of that. Is it IA's fault? Only partially but the biggest blame lies with MOD.Those tanks are needed and needed as of now. I'm happy with having 1,647 T-90 in IA's arsenal.

--Is it a good tank? With the planned "bells & whistles" which will be installed subsequently (RFP is out for the same), it should be able to take on anything with PA or PLA.

Problems with T-90:

--Has T-90 in IA service had issues and serious ones at that? Yes, they have. Right from problems with Torsion bar to the FCS and TI Sights. The problem with electronics not functioning in Pokhran is serious enough to warrat installment of "environment control system" (euphemism for aircon).

--The inital order of tanks was without the "bells and whistles" referred to in para earlier to keep the cost low. These are now being imported--good 9 years after the deal was signed and when we have 600+ T-90 in service. Did the tank need these add-ons even when they were being inducted? Answer is yes. The threat perception has not changed overnight to warrant these systems. PA always had high density of ATGM units spread aross the formations in its orbat.

Arjun Story:

--Did Arjun story had problems? Yes, hell lot of them.But were they rectified? Yes. After the 1996 trials the Arjun met all the bse line requirements. The link from frontier-india.net has the whole development story.

-- IA went ahead and placed an indent for 124 Arjuns in 2000. But before the serial production could begun and induction of the tanks could take place, the tank was made to jump couple of more hooplas. So much so that, the serial production began only in 2007.

--Question is this? Why did the IA not go ahead with induction of Arjun tanks 2000 onwards in numbers and then came back with operational feedback and additional requirement? Why did it wait till December 2007-August 2008 to carry out AUCRT? Having a squadron worth of tanks in one of your regiments does not qualify as large scale induction and support for tank. Did IA induct the T-90 in one squadron and then came back with feedback on the system or inducted it mass scale?

--Did IA stop the induction of T-90 when as early as 2002 it realized that there were problems with firing of local ammunition***? Or when the FCS+TI did not function in the heat of Rajashtan (which is 1/6 the cost of tank) and IA ran to OEM and DRDO to develop the 'environment control system"? This when the Arjun Team was asked to develop "hardened electronic" when they failed to function in the Rajasthan trial? Which they did. Did IA ask the OEM of T-90 to 'harden' the electronics and halt the induction until then? They did not and they shoudl have not. But the same yardstick does not apply to Arjun in case of IA.

--IA cannot pass off what would in most cases be teething troubles as something fundamentaly flawed with the domectic tank.

***This was because the FCS was not caliberated to fire the local ammo. Source:d_berwal on this forum couple of pages back.

chackojoseph wrote:
Sanku wrote:Thank you in turn Chacko; and I hope I wasnt offensive in my push to make my point, in case I came across as rude' apologies.
Absolutely not. Just that its an old logic that if people don't believe you then bow out. So I did. I did respect your thoughts.
you're toooo humble onleeeeee saaar..........

I want to reiterate that I don't care if Arjun is good or T 90 is good.

I am only concerned that we don't die uselessly because of stupid equipment.

Is that too much to expect?

And do you think we are not as patriotic as you are?

The only thing is that your patriotism is on our lives and not yours!

RayC wrote:I want to reiterate that I don't care if Arjun is good or T 90 is good.

And neither the debate from those informed on the topic has been about T-90 versus Arjun. As I've said earlier, T-90 is a good tank. And I'm a 'literature man' as you put it. I read and try to learn.

And neither is anyone here questioning the patriotism of IA and the fine men who constitute the organization. Especially those (like me) who come from the Defence Forces background and have seen the services close enough. So these remarks are unwarranted.

No one has died due to shortcomings of the Arjun program. Though, tankmen did die due to the barrel busting in case of T-72 which were (and pretty much are) the mainstay of the IA.

But at the same time, I'm well within my right to question the contrast in handling of the T-90 and Arjun induction in the IA. All my assertions and arguments are based on facts which I've provided for every argument that I advance. Anyone on this forum has the right to challenge me on my assertions but they need to give me factual details. I'm ready and willing to be educated.
Last edited by rohitvats on 03 Mar 2010 22:45, edited 1 time in total.

manjgu wrote:rayC.. frankly i did not quite understand your reply and my dads opinion is not relavant here since he is not participating. all i am saying that there seems to be an apparent contradiction in your posts on the indicated matter ... so could you please clarify your stand on the matter.

btw i think the debate has shot off on a tangent ... time to take a shower !!
Yes your father is not participating, but I am sure you talk to him sometimes; espeicay when you want money!!:).

Ask him!

If he is from the combat arms,he will surely explain it to you!

RayC wrote:I want to reiterate that I don't care if Arjun is good or T 90 is good.

And neither the debate from those informed on the topic has been about T-90 versus Arjun. As I've said earlier, T-90 is a good tank. And I'm a 'literature man' as you put it. I read and try to learn.

And neither is anyone here questioning the patriotism of IA and the fine men who constitute the organization. Especially those (like me) who come from the Defence Forces background and have seen the services close enough. So these remarks are unwarranted.

But at the same time, I'm well within my right to question the contrast in handling of the T-90 and Arjun induction in the IA. All my assertions and arguments are based on facts which I've provided for every argument that I advance. Anyone on this forum has the right to challenge me on my assertions but they need to give me factual details. I'm ready and willing to be educated.

Please question. It is your right since it is your money and you pay the tax.

But to feel you are more qualified than those who wear the uniform and have experience is a bit cheeky and out of place.

If you feel that those who wear the uniform are lousy, be good enough to prove yourself and take their place!
satya

Post by satya »

The issue in replacing T series tanks in IA is debate whether Arjun represent disruptive technology today if not then its future upgrades ? excluding geo-political factor & durbar's assessment tht moon will be inhabited earlier than IA activating any of its IBGs for action across the border :(( . Answer is u can guess unless Russians screw up real badly in other issues with us or unkil come here slim chance till then chal raha hei chalne do 50 now 20 then to keep payrolls rolling in arjun factory .

be good enough to prove yourself and take their place!
If wearing a uniform is the sole criteria for commenting on defence matters, then this forum should be shut down and we should all go home.

I can apply the same logic and say that you are an Army man, and should not be contributing on the C -17 thread, or commenting on politicians. Wear a IAF uniform or stand for elections before you comment!

Obviously the above is stupid on my part. You bring invaluable experience from your point of view of a user, and hence your comments are appreciated (by me at least and most others). Similarly others bring their own perspective, but doesnt mean that because they havent served they cant comment.

RayC wrote:
Please question. It is your right since it is your money and you pay the tax.

But to feel you are more qualified than those who wear the uniform and have experience is a bit cheeky and out of place.

If you feel that those who wear the uniform are lousy, be good enough to prove yourself and take their place!
Sir, if you continue to advance an argument as the bolded part of your post, there is not much anyone can say. But let me tell you this; that is not the final word on any argument.

As for my reason for not wearing the OG, let me tell you this on a public forum. That the biggest regret that I have is not being able to don the OG and Maroon beret. And it has nothing to do with family pressure or the desire to earn green bucks. A congenital anomaly prevented me from joining up. So let us stop any further remarks on these lines.

No one is attributing malafide intentions to the IA brass and so lets stop alluding lack of patriotism to those who are questioning the lack of enthusiasm on part of IA for Arjun.

And as for the wisdom of those who take these decisions, the facts and data points available in the public forum point to contrary. All the factual arguments are in front of you. An ex-IA Armored Corps officer (Ajai Shukla) is on records about the T-90 induction saga. No one has bothered to call his bluff (in case he is bluffing).
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

I think rohitvats post in the last page sums up the arguments of the pro-Arjun lobby very well. Unless somebody replies to those points in a coherent and logical manner, we should desist from discussing the topic. As things stand now, the thread is degenerating into the pitiful "authority knows best" - "no it doesn't" boxing match.
Last edited by ManuJ on 03 Mar 2010 23:06, edited 1 time in total.

rohit

no need for any explanation about why one is not in OG.

Forum members could be more qualified in many other overlapping areas - else as Tanaji said - lets shut down the forum

Sanku wrote:And when I say official sources PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING

http://164.100.24.208/ls/CommitteeR/Def ... report.pdf

Page 79 onwards -- its pretty clear what is what.............<SNIP>
Which part of your argument that Arjun even after 1996 trials fell short of GSQR is suported by above link? Mind pointing to the facts....

And for someone who knows the details of Arjun Story, the fact that all you couls dig out was that single article from Manoj Joshi is quite a pittance. How about opening the floodgates of your knowledge to us "bachhas"?
Google uncles is great try it.

Meanwhile more articles for your to scoff at

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ ... un-dev.htm
The Summer trials carried out in April 1997 on PPS-15, reference tank for bulk production indicated that though there was improvement from the previous years, it was still below the acceptable standards. The major deficiencies pointed out in the summer trials of 1996 i.e. accuracy of gun at battle ranges, mission reliability, lethality of ammunition, containerisation of ammunition bin, emergency traverse etc. continue to persist and were yet to be solved.
http://www.strategypage.com/militaryforums/72-8409.aspx
A report by India?s Comptroller and Auditor General noted six premature transmission failures and frequent overheating of transmission fluid during trials in the summer of 1997 because the imported transmission assembly had been overloaded. The excessive loss of engine power was attributed mainly to the cooling unit, which failed to function adequately during prolonged use. As reported by some Army officers the cooling unit experienced sharply rising temperatures during full throttle runs and made excessive demands on the electric system because there was no auxiliary power unit to handle peak demand. A worse problem was the sand blasting effect in the desert, which caused leakage of the coolant and damaged the cooling fan blades. Field trials showed that life of cooling fan blades was only 600 km instead of the declared 4,000 km. Designers tried to rectify the flaws by installing an improved cooling unit on the rear deck. The unit is so bulky that the main gun can no longer fire at zero degrees elevation over the rear pack.

The Arjun tank uses a hydro-pneumatic suspension system, which has been giving problems. This system required recharging every 300 km in desert and semi-desert conditions. On soft ground it required recharging every 250 km. In the desert heat and dust sealing of fluids and gas malfunctioned causing leakage and requiring more frequent maintenance. Inherent design flaws in the hydro-pneumatic suspension were aggravated by the increase in the tank?s weight, which was above the maximum specified by the Army. Owing to these problems two prototype tanks were equipped with torsion bars as an alternative.

There are problems with the tank?s bogie wheels as well. These have to be changed every 600 to 1,000 km. Failure rate of the bogie wheels is due to poor quality material, early disintegration of rubber parts and poor bonding of rubber with steel. Aside from the technical failures the induction of the tank in the Army would be costly.
Well I can post more; but whats the point? You wont believe it. It doesnt suit your world view

--------------------------

And finally the CAG report that I was looking for which forms the bedrock of other reports

http://www.cag.gov.in/reports/defence/1 ... /chap3.htm
According to the Army the overall reliability of MBT Arjun was far from satisfactory as it had failed to fully meet even the bottom line parameters. DRDO while contending that the summer trials of 1997 clearly met eight out of the ten bottom line parameters have agreed to make efforts for changes/requirements which can then be incorporated in due course in the limited series production. Despite the Army’s reservations regarding the MBT - Arjun in its present form and even though a fully integrated PPS-15 tank (reference tank for bulk production) was yet to be successfully evaluated by the Army, the Ministry in August 1996 sanctioned the manufacture of 15 numbers of Limited Series Production tanks by Ordnance Factory Board at an estimated cost of Rs 162 crore without CCPA’s approval and decided to commence Limited Series Production work using PPS-12 as reference tank. Clearance for bulk production of MBT was yet to be given by the Army as of November 1997.
Hey even DRDO accepts that only 8 out of 10 BASELINE requirements were met.

I am tired of doing the hard work of fetching and putting DATA, REPEATEDLY, while others go about merrily with fact free opinions.
Last edited by Sanku on 03 Mar 2010 23:14, edited 1 time in total.

There is nothing to debate, the Arjun will be inducted when it passes the tests. Which it is doing, although in a exceedingly slow manner.

Thats it.

ManuJ wrote:I think rohitvats post in the last page sums up the arguments of the pro-Arjun lobby very well. Unless somebody replies to those points in a coherent and logical manner, we should desist from discussing the topic. As things stand now, the thread is degenerating into the pitiful "authority knows best" - "no it doesn't" boxing match.
There is no pro Arjun and anti Arjun lobby here. People are creating strawmen and knocking it down.

I second Rohits post.

RayC wrote: I am only concerned that we don't die uselessly because of stupid equipment.

sir, that is the very reason that most people are exasperated by the IA's T-90 acquisition. it is the 'stupid equipment' that will get our soldiers killed, if, heavens forbid, we have to fight a war with them.

and please, for once kindly do go through my post carefully first before responding with rhetoric.

trust me, we (that is those who are argung for arjun and against the T-90) would not have been up in arms if it was a modern tank the IA bought, something of the leopard or the abrams category in stead of the T-72 series which are death traps on wheels irrespective of whatever anyone tells you.

these are the irrefutable facts :

>> in 1991 gulf war showed without an iota of doubt the glaring vulnerability of russian philosophy tanks when it came to crew protection, as also overall protection.

>> a couple of dozen abrams tanks were hit in GW1, there was only one fatality IIRC in all those incidents. the T-72's crews on the other hand died a violent fiery death almost every incident when their tanks got hit. and these were by and large the lion of babylon tank (an iraqi version of the T-72)which even then had better armour than the Indian Army T-72.

>> read this too.
http://ajaishukla.blogspot.com/2008/08/ ... ed-in.html

>> a couple of years down the line the vulnerability was again exposed when russian forces were in chechnya.

>> the T-90 is nothing but a T-72 with cosmetic improvements and carries over the SAME vulnerabilities. it was originally called T-72BU.
While the T-72 has traditionally been fitted with less sophisticated fire controls than the T-80 (as it was intended for second-line Soviet units and political allies) the Vagonka Design Bureau decided to make the T-72 much more competitive against the T-80 by adding the T-80's fire control system. The result was the T-72BU, although it was decided to rename the tank the T-90 to distance it from the T-72A that had performed poorly in both the Gulf War and to a lesser extent the Chechen conflict.
http://www.historyofwar.org/articles/weapons_t90.html

>> argument : T-90 is a new tank.
it is not. T-90 is just a T-72BM to which the T-80's main gun and fire control system has been added.

>> and this is the fate of the T-72BM from the couple of years old war in georgia.
I'll let you come to your own conclusions about the fate of the crew.
meanwhile please remember that a variant of this tank is going to be the spearhead of IA's armoured forces for next 20 years. the soldiers you and we care about will go to battle in this piece of junk. :x

I can find more such pictures if you want.
the problem with carrying the rounds in turret is evident from the way the tank has cooked-off. and to think we bought this junk at the expense of a FAR better system ! :x

>> active protection measures will remedy any protection issue T-90 has.

again, by and large false, first of all the active protection systems haven't reached that level of maturity yet and like any active systems, it will also be limited by the number of shots available.
also, tanks like arjun have a much better basic protection level than the T-72/90 can have by virtue of their superior design. any incremental increase due to an active protection system will give a correspondingly larger boost in protection to the arjun than the T-90 can ever hope for. near misses by the APS for example could well be fatal for the T-90, not so for the arjun. again, T-72/90 is VERY short on space and retrofitting further sensor equipment/more robust active protection systems etc are that much more difficult.

these facts do NOT change even if the COAS in waiting says otherwise.

and I believe I speak for most BRFites here, are Indians first and supporters of indigenisation second. if the later comes in the way of our defence preparedness none of us will have spoken a word in favour.

and please, stop making this a "you people don't care for the soldiers but only for the desi machines" argument.
I don't see anyone

> arguing that army should use INSAS in COIN over the AK-47 (because IA has a valid reason for doing so)

> saying LCA should fill up all the air force and all other projects/upg programs should be scrapped. (because IAF has a valid reason for doing so)

> arguing that the 2nd batch of talwar class frigates from russia should be canceled. (because IN has a valid reason for doing so)

But, most people here are arguing against the T-90 acquisition in such huge numbers because the IA has forwarded NO good reason for doing so.

statements like "they know best" are NOT valid arguments.

and sir, if you do care about the current and future armoured forces soldiers of the army, as I know you do, then please go through the facts (and not just opinions) and decide if it is worthwhile to support the T-90 acquisition at the cost of the arjun.
what if it is actually true that the T-90 saga is due to ego problems of some people in the mech forces and not hard military reason ? are you willing to take that chance ?
there may still be time to change it before we are doomed with this deathtrap.