Seems This time they had it right, my change of slash made it incorrect.Gagan wrote:Prem bhai
convert the "\" to "/" in the daily times url to make it appear correctly.

Seems This time they had it right, my change of slash made it incorrect.Gagan wrote:Prem bhai
convert the "\" to "/" in the daily times url to make it appear correctly.
Massa. like most everyone, is interested in the bottom-line. That too, not the long-term bottom line but the short-term bottom-line. If embracing Pakis is the only way to improve the short-term results then that is what they will do. To change behavior you have to demonstrate a better way to improve the short-term results.Gagan wrote:Massa is not a fool to the extent we project him to be.
Indian is one of the biggest buyers of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) from Israel, which are extensively used by all three services. Since Tel Aviv is selling the UAVs at very high rate, India has approached Russia to provide transfer of technology of UAVs. In the regard, in mid 2009, India secretly shipped Israeli UAV to Russia for transfer of technology. The reverse-engineering of Israeli UAVs would allow India to make UAVs at home and get rid of foreign vendors. In a swift move, the Indian Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), for the same reason has announced that it has been working on the Nishant UAV, which has an endurance of four and a half hours. DRDO also claimed that its longer endurance version Rustam is in the pipeline. However, there are many ifs and buts between the productions of UAVs in India. In the past too defence scientific made announcement about producing a Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) followed by a Medium Combat Aircraft (MCA) but both the projects are running several years behind schedule due to insistence of high up in Ministry of Defence to go for foreign technology. Everyone knows that by this way there would be no kickbacks in military and other deals.
Very chanakyan...would be very difficult to swing him from the lamp posts now..rkirankr wrote:Dus percenti to donate body parts
Only if keeya nahi and co allow him to die in one piece that is
Speculated? It's just speculation!!The recent abduction and killing of two Sikhs, Jaspal Singh and Mahnan Singh, by miscreants on February 21, 2010 is speculated as a co-planned activity of the RAW and the TTP, the report said.
Indian weapons and equipment was recovered during operations in Swat and Waziristan, which implied RAW’s involvement.
Pakis!!“This is augmented with the perception that India in most of the cases plans to implicate the ISI in Punjab fiasco since RAW miserably failed in halting the Maoists’ movement”,
You see, according to paki logic, if their players had been hundred percent fit, they would have definitely won the cup hands down. So there!all players who represented Pakistan in the Hockey World Cup were not hundred percent fit to take the brunt of the challenging event
US doing India a favor by ignoring it A lot of anxious discussion is taking place in India that Obama is not as interested in India as was Bush, and that the Pakistanis have managed to leverage this into excluding India from the Afghan settlement.
But far from signaling doomsday, as Editor's compatriots seem to think, America is doing India a favor by reducing the importance of the relationship.
Editor's argument is simplicity itself. The US is like a 100-ton dinosaur that is as quick on its feet as it is attention-deficit. When the US is on the move, it crushes everything to the center, left, and right. Very frequently it forgets what it is doing and takes a giant poopies without warning. This results in the burial of its friend and allies. After which, the US goes "Oopsies!" and smacks itself on the hand, saying "Bad Sam. Sam Bad." Then it goes looking for new situations and new allies to bury....
....India does not need America to help it offset China or to deal with Pakistan, or whatever the reason d'jour for sucking up to America may be. If you want America's respect, be self-sufficient in your national security, and keep America at arms length. The Americans will respect you because you respect yourself.
As for Afghanistan, the quickest way for India to defeat Pakistan on Afghanistan is to ignore Pakistan. We don't need a seat at any table for any settlement. When you sit at the table, you become responsible for the outcomes. No one in their right mind should have anything to do with an Afghan settlement, because it is going to be a 100% mess once the US leaves. India should simply continue its support of the anti-Taliban people, and it should tell the Pushtoons "If you need us, call us."
This is called minimalist diplomacy, and its the best thing for India. It's the best thing for the US too, but there is no chance whatsoever the US will see this.
Here's a good example of the US messing up India Iran is much surplus in natural gas, India and Pakistan are energy importers. Proposal: an Iran-Pakistan-India pipeline. After Iran assuages Indian fears re Pakistan, India agrees to join, though some issues regarding transit charges remained to be worked out.
Next thing you know, US is sitting on India's head, saying "you cant trade with Iran because they're our enemy."
Iran-Pakistan are proceeding with the deal; India is sitting twiddling its thumbs. But is US saying anything to Pakistan? Nope.
So India cant trade with a traditional friend, Iran, but it's OK for Pakistan?
The US plans will be changed for our matrabhoomi when US baby boomers are retired and long gone!! when substantial number of desi people are in US administration!! executive office, Congress and State department, FBI, CIA and US armed forces and business world.by Dr. Shiv.
We need to defeat US plans and designs before we can impose any will on our own region - no matter how benign and righteous our will might be.
kittoo wrote:
Here's a good example of the US messing up India Iran is much surplus in natural gas, India and Pakistan are energy importers. Proposal: an Iran-Pakistan-India pipeline. After Iran assuages Indian fears re Pakistan, India agrees to join, though some issues regarding transit charges remained to be worked out.
Next thing you know, US is sitting on India's head, saying "you cant trade with Iran because they're our enemy."
Iran-Pakistan are proceeding with the deal; India is sitting twiddling its thumbs. But is US saying anything to Pakistan? Nope.
So India cant trade with a traditional friend, Iran, but it's OK for Pakistan?
Hardly a day passes without a member of India's political class or its officialdom taking a pot-shot at Pakistan for bad behaviour. After "India shining" and "Incredible India," we should not be too surprised at New Delhi assuming the role of the paragon-of-all-virtue-India or what was candidly described by Foreign Secretary Salman Bashir as sermonising India.
This overbearing attitude of our big neighbour is hindering a conducive atmosphere for the resumption of a meaningful dialogue between the two countries. Unfortunately, the latest remarks attributed to Home Minister P Chidambaram advising Pakistan to reinvent itself as a genuine democracy can only add to the frustration on this side of the border about India's holier-than-thou approach. His call to Pakistan to become a truly democratic country where real power lies in the hands of democratically elected leaders is rather curious.
The time has come for India's political class, which seems to be sure of its decision-making power, to show its control over the security-dominated approach by closing one or two of its consulates in Afghanistan.
The endless sermonising by India runs the risk of further alienating their public opinion from Pakistan. It helps to create the image of a monolithic Pakistan which should be taken to task if another Mumbai-like attack takes place.
The writer is a former ambassador.
Pakistan will seek U.S. aid for its civilian nuclear power program next week when its top military and senior civilian leaders visit Washington to re-start a "strategic dialogue" between the two countries.
"I think the time has come. My message to Washington is: We've been talking a lot. The time has come to walk the talk," Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi told a news conference Thursday in which he confirmed that civilian nuclear talks are on the agenda. "We've done our bit. The ordinary citizen in Pakistan has paid a price. We've delivered. (Now you) start delivering."
The U.S., however, is unlikely to deliver by offering a nuclear deal that parallels the package that former President George W. Bush granted to Pakistan's archenemy India.
The Senate would have to approve such a deal, and despite claims that Pakistan's recent arrests of the deputy leader of the Afghan Taliban and other members of its governing council signal a "strategic shift" against its longtime Afghan allies, its performance combating Islamic extremists is uneven. Moreover, the former head of its nuclear program, A.Q. Khan, sold nuclear weapons-related technology to Iran, North Korea and Libya, and Pakistan has never allowed U.S. intelligence officers to interview him.
Nevertheless, many U.S. officials think that Pakistan holds the key to stabilizing Afghanistan so that U.S. troops can begin withdrawing in mid-2011, as President Barack Obama said they would in December.
However, U.S. and Pakistani views on how to do that differ.
Pakistan wants Washington to accept a political settlement between Afghan President Hamid Karzai and the insurgents that would aim to end the fighting now, with Taliban leader Mullah Mohammad Omar and other top militant leaders included in the settlement, according to Pakistani officials, who didn't want to be named because of the sensitivity of the issue.
"Pakistan is no longer interested in getting the Afghan Taliban back on their own," said Moeed Yusuf, an expert on Pakistan at the U.S. Institute of Peace, a congressionally funded policy institute in Washington. "They realize that if the Taliban were to come back in power in Afghanistan, Pakistan would be next."
Although other incentives, including tens of billions of dollars in military and civilian aid, haven't worked, a nuclear deal could be the carrot required for Pakistan to cut its ties to Afghan jihadist groups, said Christine Fair, an assistant professor at Georgetown University.
"We need a big idea for Pakistan, to transform it from a source of insecurity for the region to a country committed to eliminating terrorism and ensuring that nuclear proliferation doesn't happen again," Fair said. "At the moment, we're trying to get Pakistan to do things that are in our strategic interests, but not in theirs."
Other experts think that given Pakistan's record on combating terrorism and proliferation, its request for nuclear aid will be dead on arrival in Washington.
The restrictions and conditions the U.S. would require in such an accord would "be so offensive to the Pakistanis that instead of improving relations, it (the treaty) would end up irritating them," said George Perkovic of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.
What's more, Pakistan couldn't pay for the nuclear technology it wants, Perkovic said. "No company in its right mind would build in Pakistan," he said. "Are they going to get paid? Are their workers going to be safe? The answer in most cases is going to be no."
But progress could perhaps be made if Washington delicately reduces New Delhi's expectations for influence in Kabul, facilitates Pakistan's partial movement in favor of "good" actors in Afghanistan and push against the Afghan Taliban, and prods both India and Pakistan further along the negotiation table.
That's true. Even when it offered the intangible, like cooperation in fight against spread of communism in the 50s, it extricated itself out of situations when it was demanded to give tangible support. For example, it never was willing to contribute troops for the Vietnam War. But, the US had always accepted the Pakistani position knowingly and in full knowledge.jrjrao wrote:All this reminds me of that perceptive thing that Uneven Cohen wrote in his book on TSP, where he explained that in every negotiation over the decades with Unkil, Pakis have framed the talks such that the obligations on US (to deliver to the Pakis) were always real, tangible and substantial, and the reciprocal obligations on the Pakis were always wisps of thin air.
Unbelievable arrogance from a terrorist state. But what is interesting,assuming this RAPE has inputs from TSP, is that TSP might demand nuke deal but will settle for India's castrated role in Afganisthan. This couple with US's indulgence of LeT means, war of 1000 cuts can go on umimpeded.abhishek_sharma wrote:But progress could perhaps be made if Washington delicately reduces New Delhi's expectations for influence in Kabul, facilitates Pakistan's partial movement in favor of "good" actors in Afghanistan and push against the Afghan Taliban, and prods both India and Pakistan further along the negotiation table.
This realization is late in coming on this forum, where we spent time huffing and puffing and imagining that it was GoI's weakness that was preventing resurgent India from great victories across greater India. As you have pointed out - with India itself being impotent and checkmated there is nothing that a pant wearing powerful pm can do more than a weak squeaky voiced PMHari Seldon wrote:Quite clearly, the thread consensus seems to be that TSP has 'outplayed' India in all departments of the game, and with good reason. Unkil Bucknor doing the umpiring after all.
The thread consensus is more of a short termHari Seldon wrote:Quite clearly, the thread consensus seems to be that TSP has 'outplayed' India in all departments of the game, and with good reason. Unkil Bucknor doing the umpiring after all
From all open source information they were not only worried but mighty worried. Contrary to forumites' beliefs the Dilli Billi bulwarks-within and outside the government are no less jingos than any of us. India was up to no good post 26/11 and Unkil and its munna knew the obvious. Unkil gave India assurances regarding justice and Paki-bashing if we did not rock the Unkil boat in the region. All the promises have been reneged upon and instead we have been stabbed in the back when it comes to Afghanistan. However the cheerful thing about this is that a certain gentleman and his office is now shorn of any political capital to favour unkil. Is it any wonder that with nearly double the seats vis a vis previous LS singh saab is facing trouble in getting bills passed?Which brings me to the question, was unkil genuinely worried after 26/11 that a 26/11 redux might invite overt Yindian retaliation, unkil's troop presence and other games int he region not withstanding? Why for did neta after neta and babu after babu from the khanate - from Gates to Kerry and from Aholebroke to Hillary - carry that message throughout 2009? Was it mere hawabazi, hot air sideshow to assuage Yindian anxieties with sweet words or was it the real McCoy - unkilian satellites and humint picking up the ominous obvious??
Shivji MMS has proven to be a doctrinaire when it comes to dealing with unkil! As with other things doctrine oriented his policies and decisions reek of dogmatism at a certain level. He may or not be weak but his real problem comes from the blind kowtowing to DC directives. When some of his cabinet colleagues can dare to challenge Massa and not give in then what stops him? To answer the rhetorical question, as PM of GOI he has tried to run the country by a vision that seeks to hitch India to US caravan. His idea was fine but as with other things in Economics and Geo-politics "Time Inconsistency" has set in. The current Unkil is not the unkil of 1970s or even 1990s for that matter and thus has less to offer in terms of alliance dividends. The Indian elite is also becoming brash and confident in its own right and hence is troublesome for unkil to control. Therefore issues of time inconsistency and systemic inclination within both the nations have put a spanner in the works of Dr Singh! Periodshiv wrote:This realization is late in coming on this forum, where we spent time huffing and puffing and imagining that it was GoI's weakness that was preventing resurgent India from great victories across greater India. As you have pointed out - with India itself being impotent and checkmated there is nothing that a pant wearing powerful pm can do more than a weak squeaky voiced PM
India's choice is pretty clear after the failure of "Afghanistan Policy Outsourcing Contract" to unkil. Shyam Saran has articulated something similar in his recent article titled "Premature Power", India will have to move its musharraff and for a change do something. The chaiwalla reports from the region suggest that Indian policy especially at the babu level was complacency personified. It was enough to do "sajda" to massa once in a while and get things done. But the London conference has put the collective musharaffs of the establishment on fire. Hope they get more active.What is India's choice given that "thread consensus" is also that unkils embrace always means trouble for any country except Pakistan where unkils embrace is good for Pakistan. After all' the reason we must not become aUS ally is because unkil screws his allies. But he has helped Pakistan no? Pakistan has successfully screwed unkil by keeping Mullah Omar alive from 2001 to 2010 and is now trying to insert him back into Afghanistan.
I wonder what new realization will come to thread consensus in another decade. Going by past experience the realization will be a decade late
It is a challenging situation. But there are plenty of things India could do, which are not being done.shiv wrote:This realization is late in coming on this forum, where we spent time huffing and puffing and imagining that it was GoI's weakness that was preventing resurgent India from great victories across greater India. As you have pointed out - with India itself being impotent and checkmated there is nothing that a pant wearing powerful pm can do more than a weak squeaky voiced PMHari Seldon wrote:Quite clearly, the thread consensus seems to be that TSP has 'outplayed' India in all departments of the game, and with good reason. Unkil Bucknor doing the umpiring after all.
Pakis bandwagoned with world leader unkil decades ago when we were bleating non alignment. So what are we going to do about it. Unkil was not joking when he said "Either you are with us or against us"
What is India's choice given that "thread consensus" is also that unkils embrace always means trouble for any country except Pakistan where unkils embrace is good for Pakistan. After all' the reason we must not become aUS ally is because unkil screws his allies. But he has helped Pakistan no? Pakistan has successfully screwed unkil by keeping Mullah Omar alive from 2001 to 2010 and is now trying to insert him back into Afghanistan.
I wonder what new realization will come to thread consensus in another decade. Going by past experience the realization will be a decade late.
O no saar, I am more optimistic than that. With noble personages who have written weighty e-tomes dissecting the obnoxious piskology of Pakistan contributing prolifically on here, I for one certainly hope that the new consensual realizations will take far less than a decade in happening only.This realization is late in coming on this forum.....I wonder what new realization will come to thread consensus in another decade. Going by past experience the realization will be a decade late.
Dear Shiv,shiv wrote:
This realization is late in coming on this forum, where we spent time huffing and puffing and imagining that it was GoI's weakness that was preventing resurgent India from great victories across greater India. As you have pointed out - with India itself being impotent and checkmated there is nothing that a pant wearing powerful pm can do more than a weak squeaky voiced PM
Pakis bandwagoned with world leader unkil decades ago when we were bleating non alignment. So what are we going to do about it. Unkil was not joking when he said "Either you are with us or against us"
What is India's choice given that "thread consensus" is also that unkils embrace always means trouble for any country except Pakistan where unkils embrace is good for Pakistan. After all' the reason we must not become aUS ally is because unkil screws his allies. But he has helped Pakistan no? Pakistan has successfully screwed unkil by keeping Mullah Omar alive from 2001 to 2010 and is now trying to insert him back into Afghanistan.
I wonder what new realization will come to thread consensus in another decade. Going by past experience the realization will be a decade late.
Err, you mean they're not winning, dupatta garu??There is a phenomenon peculiar to the Pakistani Establishment, that unique combination of its army, intelligence agencies and bureaucracy that constitutes its permanent government, and therefore spelt with a capital “E”. Every 10 or 12 years, it starts believing that it is winning. Winning what, how and to what effect, are not facts it wants to be confused with. It just believes, at that particular moment, that it is “winning” against India. This is when the foundation of an impending disaster is laid. Unfortunately, if you’ve been exasperated at the sudden turn in the Pakistani Establishment’s conduct, you have to understand that they are currently caught in the throes of another such irrational euphoria. They again think they are “winning”.
Re the bolded part, somebody's been reading brf and filling dupatta's head with hajaar ideas only...The first phase of madness was 1947-48, that led to the invasion of Kashmir and ruined our relationship at the very start. The next came along with our war with China which, they thought, was a wonderful time again to seize Kashmir, through negotiated, US/UK-backed blackmail (India was desperately seeking American military aid then) and, when that failed, through war against a recently “defeated” army. That led to the misadventure of 1965. That moment of madness came yet again in 1971, when they misread the significance of their emergence as the link between Nixon’s America and China to mean that they had a superpower shield and could crush the revolt in their eastern half as brutally as they wished. They lost half of Pakistan.
Then, almost exactly 12 years later they saw another “wonderful” opportunity in India’s Punjab, with rising Sikh militancy. This was just the moment to wage a war of a thousand cuts they were perfecting along with the Americans in Afghanistan. That phase of belligerence was put down only after the reality check of the Operation Brasstacks standoff in 1987. But check the IMF/ World Bank figures of annual economic growth. It is around this time that Pakistan permanently lost the sizeable edge it had maintained against India in terms of economic growth. In 1993, again, came the next moment of the same “we are winning” illusion, because of troubles in our Kashmir and the victory of the Mujahideen in Afghanistan.
Entertaining, if nothing. Read it all. The man talks of 'moderate' classes of RAPEs amongst civil society and civil politicians with whom dialogue and bridge-building must go on etc. aak-thoo.A full-fledged “jehad” was launched in Kashmir, the consequences of which we are all facing till today.
{Who is 'we' here? Yindia? Then wouldn't our facing (bad) consequences till today count as a TSP victory, noble sir?}
I would treat Kargil and the Kandahar hijack as part of the same continuing madness and it was all cut short by 9/11. Almost a decade after Kargil now, you see the same Establishment believe that they are “winning”. Our challenge, therefore, is to assess what is causing this “winning” feeling in Islamabad/ Pindi and what disaster, for Pakistan, and collaterally for us, this could lead to.
If you want to put a date to the beginning of this new mood, it would perhaps be Obama’s West Point address when he nearly set a deadline for the US withdrawal. The Pakistani GHQ read it as American acceptance of the unwinnability of the Afghan war. This was the window of critical relevance they were looking for. This lifted for them the shadow of 26/11. If Obama wanted to leave any time next year, it could only be after striking some kind of a deal with a faction of the Taliban. Only Pakistan could bring about that deal, and also guarantee the future conduct of the new regime. In one stroke then, this will give Pakistan a diplomatic indispensability to the Americans while they are here, and strategic depth once they are gone. That new position could then be leveraged by demanding a settlement of basic, “root-causes” issues with India, sidelining the problem of the India-specific Lashkars. The new turn in the Pakistani Establishment, the Kayani speech, the water non-paper and the sudden and brazen re-surfacing of Hafiz Saeed are to be fully understood in this context.
Which brfite wrote this??Whenever Pakistan thinks that it has won, it actually has won something substantial. Take 1947-48. Even when they were about to be disabused of their feelings of having won, Nehru handed over victory to them on a platter by rushing to the UN and they became overlords of one third of Kashmir. In 1971 too when they were trying to hide their bloody noses, Indira Gandhi let them off the hook and the problem of Kashmir remained as intractable as ever. In Manmohan Singh, the Pakistanis and Americans are seeing Nehru's weaknesses and Morarji Desai's pacifism. They have fully got the measure of India's weak policies and feeling of helplessness. Even if we now move 10 divisions of our army to the western border, they know for sure that Manmohan Singh will still speak the language of conciliation and friendship.
Briefing On Upcoming U.S.-Pakistan Strategic Dialogue
Richard Holbrooke
Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan
Washington, DC
March 19, 2010
QUESTION: It’s also an energy question, actually. Are you going to be discussing Pakistan’s agreement with Iran on the energy pipeline? You know this week there was an agreement. Is this something that you think is useful? Under the Iran Sanctions Act, I believe that you can’t put more than $20 million or so into a project. Would they be breaking the Iran Sanctions Act, and what’s your view on this?
AMBASSADOR HOLBROOKE: This – quite honestly, Sue, I have – I’ve been so busy preparing for this, that while I’m aware of the issue, I haven’t spent any time on it yet. And I think other people have expressed their views on it, and I’ll – I think you’ve asked about it to other people at this podium, and I’ll let them to speak to it for now. It is not on the formal agenda. But as I said a minute ago, either side can bring up anything they want.
Now, if you’ll forgive, I just cannot afford to miss this plane. I have a higher authority in New York, which is my wife.
US Dept. of State
For instance, even well-educated Pakistanis continue to believe that the Mumbai attacks were staged by RAW to defame Pakistan with the ultimate aim of snatching its nuclear weapons or dismembering the country. Young and old alike will assert that India is behind the wave of terrorist attacks in Pakistan because “no Muslim will kill fellow Muslims” {Conspiracy theories are very, very prevalent and easily believed in by those who suffer from paranoia. Especially so the Pakistanis.}
Ms. Subramanian's conclusions are difficult to accept though. For example, she feels that the political governments in both the countries cannot find a solution, thereby implicitly equating a military-dominated, thriving-on-terror theocratic and unstable revisionist country with a plural, democratic, status-quo victim country.I would have heated debates with Pakistanis who consider themselves modern, enlightened, liberal and secular but would suddenly go all Islamic and religious when it came to an issue such as Kashmir, seeming no different from their ultra-conservative compatriots who protest against the clamping down on Islamic militancy in Pakistan as harassment of “brother Muslims.” They could tout jihad in Kashmir as legitimate even while condemning the Taliban who threaten their own modern, liberal lifestyle, despite the knowledge that the distinction between the two kinds of jihad, or the two categories of militants, is at best an illusion.
It is evident that the political leadership of both countries, which includes the military in Pakistan, cannot be entrusted with finding this middle-ground. The political class on both sides has specialised in hyping the emotional in India-Pakistan relations over the rational
Ms. Subramanian does not realize that the 'narrow vision' of the Indian state has never preached hatred for Pakistan on the basis of their religion. Not even on the basis of untold atrocities that they have committed against India. It is totally unfair to talk about Pakistan and India in the same breath on state-manufactured hatred and history.we cannot be friends as long as we continue looking at each other through the narrow prism of our respective states. Pakistanis must locate the Indian within themselves, and Indians must discover their inner Pakistani. It would help understand each other better, and free us from state-manipulated attitudes.
...Indians must discover their inner Pakistani...