So the current test was first flight of the Scramjet engine flight demonstrator vehicle. Whoopie

Yes the first picture. The second picture (the one below) is that of HEX mission (Hypersonic Flight Experiment). It will use a scaled-down version of RLV. A 9-ton booster will power it. It will validate the aerodynamics of the design in the hypersonic regime.K Mehta wrote: So the current test was first flight of the Scramjet engine flight demonstrator vehicle. Whoopie
Nice work KrishG! Please keep it up. One thing to add- the tricolour which warms the heart of the jingoes!I have written an article on HEX in wiki - HEX
IIRC HEX-01 was supposed to be launched this year but has been postponed to next year.
"An MoU for bilateral cooperation in Russia's satellite navigation system has been agreed upon,'' Dr. {Man Mohan} Singh said in a statement shortly after concluding delegation-level talks with Mr. Putin.
Two people were early Tuesday morning involved in a shootout with Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) security personnel around its high-security facility at Byalalu near Bangalore.
The two men, who were roaming around the area, fired at the security personnel on being questioned forcing the security forces to return fire, but the duo escaped.
"Two people were seen moving in a suspicious manner outside our centre," ISRO spokesman S Satish told reporters. "The police immediately challenged them, and they opened fire in retaliation. The shootout continued for some time before the two men fled." "The police are investigating. It is up to them to see whether it was a terror attack," he added.
The duo fired at them with a small pistol, after which the security guards retaliated. The incident occurred between 3.30am and 4.00am, sources said.
The home ministry sees ISRO buildings as a high priority target for terrorists, and has beefed up security around them after warnings of possible attacks.
A police complaint has been lodged and an investigation is on.
Normally I dont do the "Paanwallah told me" stuff. Sorry. But this is important: so - Paanwallah (someone who works there) told me that another angle is being investigated: One guard is being investigated for altercation with other guards/intoxication/leave & pay raise matters/mental stability ityadi. So hopefully this does not turn out to be serious.Craig Alpert wrote:Shootout at ISRO space centre near Bangalore
I sure hope you are right, if that's the case then no worries...Anujan wrote: Normally I don't do the "Paanwallah told me" stuff. Sorry. But this is important: so - Paanwallah (someone who works there) told me that another angle is being investigated: One guard is being investigated for altercation with other guards/intoxication/leave & pay raise matters/mental stability ityadi. So hopefully this does not turn out to be serious.
Chaiwalla reports indicate that all possible efforts on to meet the schedule.Varoon Shekhar wrote:Any news on the upcoming PSLV launch of Cartosat-2B et al? It was supposed to be launched in March, and there is less than 2 weeks to go in this month.
^^^What are the different missles here
http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/2830 ... celist.jpg
I don't specifically remember the site but I think it was Militaryphotos...I am not so sure...Rahul M wrote:where did you get it btw ? tineye throws up only chinese sources.
According to me, the first Prithvi seems to be PAD....incidentally, unless I'm widely mistaken, the last two prithvi pics are those of the target prithvi and the PAD.
PSLV launch in April at the earliest and GSLV in June I believe.sum wrote:Chaiwalla reports indicate that all possible efforts on to meet the schedule.Varoon Shekhar wrote:Any news on the upcoming PSLV launch of Cartosat-2B et al? It was supposed to be launched in March, and there is less than 2 weeks to go in this month.
The collective carto-2B team @$$e$ are literally on fire.
IIRC the first satellite is still in initial stages of fabrication and GAGAN is yet to be launched aboard GSAT-4 in June. 2nd quarter of 2011 at the earliest would be a safe bet.Nihat wrote:has there been any news on IRNSS, the 1st sattelite to be launched was by late 2009.
hoping to see you on DD in june then.Gagan wrote:.........
Gagan ji...Do you work in ISRO ??...just asking out of curiosityhoping to see you on DD in june then.
Is the schedule slipping?KrishG wrote:IIRC the first satellite is still in initial stages of fabrication and GAGAN is yet to be launched aboard GSAT-4 in June. 2nd quarter of 2011 at the earliest would be a safe bet.
There will be 2 IRNSS sats launched in one go onboard GSLV-MKII.Nihat wrote:has there been any news on IRNSS, the 1st sattelite to be launched was by late 2009.
After this 2008-2009 report many things has changed including the number of launches and types.
I'm not sure about that. I don't think GSLV (Mk1 and Mk2) has the capability to launch two 1350 kg satellites into 24,000 X 250 km orbit.jaladipc wrote: There will be 2 IRNSS sats launched in one go onboard GSLV-MKII.
The Launch onboard GSLV is awaiting for its qualification flight. We might see first 2 sats go into orbit during later 2010 or early 2011.
But the ICBM with the 5500 km range is the pointy one = Agni TD? So if the A/B/C ones are the MIRV versions, which one is the Agni V?Gagan wrote:Pointy one seems to be the Agni-3 TD (Technology Demonstrator) currently undergoing trials. When deployed with a single warhead that is what it will look like. When it is MIRVed it will look like the Agni-3 C in the above picture.
The Agni-3SL as named by Arun_S is apparently going to be the Agni-4.
The Agni-5 is the MIRVed ICBM with the "5500"Km range(Shown as Agni-3 A &
The different shapes of the nosecones on agni 3 / 5 A/B/C versions seem to be different configurations based on the number of MIRVed warheads they'll carry.
The number and type of warhead will be based on the different configurations that are allowed.
For example Arun_S's drawing shows 2 large RVs in one nose cone config, which I assume to represent two HUGE and heavy FBF warheads. The ones with multiple smaller RVs would perhaps be a mixture of the TNs and the FBF/Pure fission warheads - apparently the FBF/Pure fission warheads being included to offset the TN not going off.
Problem with India's TN is that even if we assume that POK-2 was successful, that design is only scaleable to 200KT as reported many times by both AK and RC. Whereas both Adm Arun Prakash and Gen. Malik talk of either 500KT or Megaton bombs deployed with the forces. Now if these are TNs, then they are completely untested. Any scaling based on a smaller design should ideally be proofed to full yield, which India has not done - yet.
Fusion Boosted FissionCarl_T wrote: What is FBF?
http://idrw.org/?p=1001#more-1001The government is yet to give its nod for the Rs10,000 crore project, which will put India in a select club of nations that includes the US, Russia and China, which have undertaken manned space missions. So far, the government has sanctioned Rs380 crore for preliminary work.
PUDUCHERRY: The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will launch a Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV-D3), fitted with an indigenous cryogenic stage, from Sriharikotta in April, and the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV-C15) in May, P. S. Veeraraghavan, Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, said on Wednesday.
Terming the launch of the GSLV-D3 by April-end “a landmark in indigenous technology,” he said the vehicle would put into orbit an advanced communication satellite (GSAT- 4).
Great photo in the article above... http://www.topnews.in/files/GSLV-D3_0.jpgGerard wrote:...
ISRO to launch GSLV-D3 in April and PSLV-C15 in May
That is the RS-68. The engine which powers the Delta-IV family and the most powerful single chamber rocket engine.PratikDas wrote: Great photo in the article above... http://www.topnews.in/files/GSLV-D3_0.jpg
Wow, don't I feel like the fool for falling for the ISRO logo..KrishG wrote:...
That is the RS-68. The engine which powers the Delta-IV family and the most powerful single chamber rocket engine.
Pic straight from commons and they have even added the ISRO logo onto the pic.
What else can we expect from DDM!![]()