Indian Economy: News and Discussion (Jan 1 2010)

jagga

Re: Indian Economy: News and Discussion (Jan 1 2010)

Post by jagga »

Gus wrote:Some months ago I read an article of an IIT-M grad experimenting in farming part time and then turned full time. He adapted / adopted several Israeli techniques to farm in semi arid water shortfall area near chennai. Will try to fish it later and post it.
I guess you are referring to below:

An engineer from IIT, now a farmer

^ that's the one...I just looked up the link and came here to post... :)

India surprises with big new coal ports

Good report by Reuters about some thing that may be happening under the radar, which is always a good thing in India.

However, what caught my eye is the liberal use of adjectives that used to be reserved for China only: "Wow"; "Astonishing"; "Breadthtaking" etc. All by Gora sahibs? :D
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

RamaY, can you explain in a few lines what is the "secret sauce" in your model that allows for such high incomes from agriculture?

Abhijeet wrote:RamaY, can you explain in a few lines what is the "secret sauce" in your model that allows for such high incomes from agriculture?
There is no secret sauce. These are the expected gross incomes based on simple calculations.

Irrigated Land = 137,904,571 Acres
Current Agri GDP = $273,000,000,000
Per Acre GDP = $1,980
Avg. Food grains / Acre = 35 quintals
Avg. food grains income * = $56.56 quintal
Productivity improvement 50% ** = 52.5 quintals
Revised income / acre = $2,969.44
expected income on 5 acres = $14,847.22

* This rate of ($57) Rs. 2,658/quintal may seem high for rice like items. But when you take average of all types of food grains this is a fair support price.

** Currently China's average food grain production is 65 quintals / acre.

Note: The catch here is that these numbers are gross incomes, not net incomes. Secondly in my proposal there is a mix of food grains, bio-diesel products (which will bring better returns with minimum maintenance costs after 5 yrs) etc. These calculations are made to understand the feasibility of Indian-agri sector to be our SMB.

Geeth,

>>>Not discouraging at all. Just saying that 60% of India can not be in agriculture. Get into this with your eyes open. I kinda stumbled into it and its been tough some years.

I don't know your background...are you in farming? If yes, Shall we discuss about rice cultivation - the it is done presently and what better methods can be adopted for a dramatic rise in production?

Needless to say, anybody else interested to discuss, most welcome.. I am seriously thinking of utilising the acres and acres of unutilised farmland...for our benefit first and for the society in turn.

I shall put down my thoughts soon.
Abhijeet

Post by Abhijeet »

Abhijeet wrote:RamaY, can you explain in a few lines what is the "secret sauce" in your model that allows for such high incomes from agriculture?
There is no secret sauce. These are the expected gross incomes based on simple calculations.
The reason there must be a secret sauce is that no country has been able to do what you are proposing - keep a large percentage of the population in agriculture and simultaneously grow rich.

If there is no secret sauce in your model - that is, something that no one else has thought of before - then it's just an exercise in number twiddling.

RamaY wrote:Irrigated Land = 137,904,571 Acres
Current Agri GDP = $273,000,000,000
Per Acre GDP = $1,980
Avg. Food grains / Acre = 35 quintals

* This rate of ($57) Rs. 2,658/quintal may seem high for rice like items. But when you take average of all types of food grains this is a fair support price.

** Currently China's average food grain production is 65 quintals / acre.
You have left out about 60% of the cropped land in your calculation.

Total Indian cropped area is about 400 million acres. This drops your per acre production to about $500 per acre. Even this is very high IMHO.

As you have noted, per acre cost has been conveniently left out.

35 quintals per acre is 7 ton per hectare. Only the central valley in California gets that kind of productivity. The inputs required to make it so means the Central valley rice costs 2 times that from the rest of the world. This after the enormous US subsidies.

Yes we can improve the rice output, but the population can not bear the input costs that would be required. Not yet anyway.

Productivity will automatically increase when the price of rice is about 2-3 times what it is right now.

Give it another 10 years or so.

I am thinking of consolidating RamaY's posts in a new thread so this thread can focus on the Ind Economy. I might put it in the GD forum.

Why are so many people blowing our own trumpets? By people I mean individuals in GoI.
* Commerce & Industry Minister Sharma is on records saying "We will see India doubling its GDP in the next five years to USD 2.5 trillion" :shock: . While I ecstatic. But that is a tall order, no?
* External Affairs Minister S. M. Krishna, says " ndia's present speed of growth would qualitatively transform its economy and society in 15 years."
* MMS says "We expect to achieve 8.5-per-cent growth rate in the year 2010-11 and I do hope we can achieve 9 percent in the year 2011-12"
* Pranab Mukherjee talks about India aiming for double-digit growth and India being in a better economic position.

Another personality also chimes in:
* Lord Meghnad Desai, Professor Emeritus, London School of Economics, on Wednesday said India is one of the most matured economies of the world.

My question:
Is this all to assuage foreign and domestic investors that India is doing good? I mean are they just doing their job of presenting our best image (which what they should do, no denying). I can understand us jingos crowing about it, but is the 'selling of India brand' a necessity and reflection of the 21st century?

Theo_Fidel wrote: 35 quintals per acre is 7 ton per hectare. Only the central valley in California gets that kind of productivity. The inputs required to make it so means the Central valley rice costs 2 times that from the rest of the world. This after the enormous US subsidies.
With due respect,

Please do some research/reading before...

In last few weeks one of us posted a link on BRF which gave the comparitive food-grian production per acre in India, Pakistan, BD, Srilanka and China.

I am not pulling these numbers from ...:wink:

SwamyG wrote:Why are so many people blowing our own trumpets? By people I mean individuals in GoI.
* Commerce & Industry Minister Sharma is on records saying "We will see India doubling its GDP in the next five years to USD 2.5 trillion" :shock: . While I ecstatic. But that is a tall order, no?
* External Affairs Minister S. M. Krishna, says " ndia's present speed of growth would qualitatively transform its economy and society in 15 years."
* MMS says "We expect to achieve 8.5-per-cent growth rate in the year 2010-11 and I do hope we can achieve 9 percent in the year 2011-12"
* Pranab Mukherjee talks about India aiming for double-digit growth and India being in a better economic position.

Another personality also chimes in:
* Lord Meghnad Desai, Professor Emeritus, London School of Economics, on Wednesday said India is one of the most matured economies of the world.

My question:
Is this all to assuage foreign and domestic investors that India is doing good? I mean are they just doing their job of presenting our best image (which what they should do, no denying). I can understand us jingos crowing about it, but is the 'selling of India brand' a necessity and reflection of the 21st century?
Its a sort of indirect attempt at an "India Shining" campaign. The NDA's campaign was hollow and over the top and they paid the price for it. UPA wallahs are trying to take the Statistical route knowing fully well that five years down the line nobody is actually going to ask them why India's GDP is not $2.5 trillion like they promised. It also has a secondary objective of trying to attract investors (those who choose to believe the govt. rather than doing their own research and there aren't many of those) as you pointed out.

Current GDP is approx $1.4 trillion. $2.5 trillion in 2015 implies a nominal growth rate in USD terms, of ~12%, i.e. the combined effect of the real GDP growth rate, the effect of inflation, and any appreciation in the Rupee vs the USD. A 12% figure for this is not a massively hyped up level; during the 2006-08 growth spurt, we were averaging over 16% annually on this metric. During a down year like 2008-09, it fell to about 10-11%. If the CSO actually gets down to business and properly revise the inflation and production indices to a modern base year as opposed to 1993-94, that will further boost the GDP figure. Regardless, averaging 12% over a half-decadal span is not unachievable - it's pretty much been done already.

Einstein allegedly claimed that the most powerful force in the world is compound interest. It may be an exaggeration, but the compounded growth in GDP due to nominal growth rate is often underestimated; five years ago our GDP was around half of what it is today, viewed at prevailing exchanged rates. One of the first mistakes people make is assume the economy grows at the lower real growth rate, as opposed to nominal one.

Isn't that like ignoring the 800lb gorilla in the room? Why include inflation and currency appreciation. If one equates GDP growth to a country's growth on the streets (i.e where people are positively impacted), then isn't it little deceiving? We might have doubled the GDP in numbers, but the actual growth (benefits to the people) might be less than the touted ones, no?

Lots of fears of the strett level economics can be easily offseted with the existence of black, unaccounted economy and here i think supply side economy ought to kick in to balance and keep the inflation at reasonable level in long run. Assuming 8% average growth and 4% inflation is not bad at all, if we can keep it for 2 decades...

SwamyG wrote:Isn't that like ignoring the 800lb gorilla in the room? Why include inflation and currency appreciation.
This is the contradiction economist often try to address using the PPP statistics.

By this measure we are a $ 4 Trillion economy already.

So lets ask the counter question. Why depress the GDP of a country using currency depreciation.

What do you gain by saying we are a poor and destitute country.

SwamyG wrote:^^^
Isn't that like ignoring the 800lb gorilla in the room? Why include inflation and currency appreciation. If one equates GDP growth to a country's growth on the streets (i.e where people are positively impacted), then isn't it little deceiving? We might have doubled the GDP in numbers, but the actual growth (benefits to the people) might be less than the touted ones, no?
Nope. You referred to a statement about GDP in 2015, in USD, asking if it wasn't a tall order. I merely explained that there's nothing outlandish about the person's claim, extrapolating on those exactly same parameters. Over the last 5 year period, you'll probably get a nominal growth rate in USD slightly more than the extrapolated growth rate over the next five years. The US is pursuing greater export-led growth in the medium term, which means it will seek to have a weaker dollar, i.e. potential for a comparatively stronger Rupee going forward.

To address your new question, a high inflation-low growth regime will result in erosion of the INR's value vs USD. Therefore the USD-denominated growth rate would be depressed. You can 'grow' nominally at a million percent through inflation, but it will kill the value of your currency, e.g. the Zimbabwean dollar.

There's nothing 'deceiving' about the aggregate size of the economy being listed in nominal terms, including the effect of inclusion. Real GDP growth rate, despite the name, is a statistical figure computed on paper; there's no such thing as a 'real GDP', just a real growth rate.

Suraj sir ji,
When you say 2.5 T in2015 , does this mean by March 2015 or end of 2015? The calender and fiscal year diffeence will constitute of " 9Months/ Quarter Trillion $ worth economic data which can have huge compounded impact on 2020 GNP figures.. if growth remains same.
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

^ IMO It's quite hard to predict. It can as early as 2014 end, or can be March 2016 depending on all the growth and policy factors.

What Akshut said :)

Suraj saar, I did not say you were deceiving. You explained me the practice, I just questioned the practice :-) My questions' genesis is from the thought "Is there some way to measure how the aam family is faring year on year?"

The numbers only matter to an extent, they are obviously metrics to measure our performance. So I don't question the metrics. The bottom line is how do we effectively measure if people are well-off? One would naturally have to define "well-off".

So if we say the GDP doubles, but one out of the three components is "real growth" the other two components being inflation and currency. If the inflation is very high, that is what I think you are referring, then it boils down to the fact that people's progress was not really double.

Blame all stupid & meaningless questions on my ignorance onlee, please.

Theo_Fidel wrote: So lets ask the counter question. Why depress the GDP of a country using currency depreciation.

What do you gain by saying we are a poor and destitute country.
Are you implying that I like to call our country a poor and destitute? I did not. The size and adjectives are probably useful at some level. Cut to the chase what matters is aam family's improvement in life.

SwamyG, the problem is that you're mixing up multiple topics. The original statement was about GDP as measured in a particular manner, while you responded asking about something different. There's no 800-lb gorilla in the USD GDP room, because he's in another room - the per capita income in Rupees room perhaps :)

The concerns of an 'aam family' who lives on Indian Rupee-denominated goods and services and hardly ever deals with goods or services priced at an exchange rate level equal to US, are a different matter from a discussion on USD-denominated GDP projections. Hence Theo's reference to PPP-adjusted GDPs and incomes.
SwamyG wrote:So if we say the GDP doubles, but one out of the three components is "real growth" the other two components being inflation and currency. If the inflation is very high, that is what I think you are referring, then it boils down to the fact that people's progress was not really double.
Sure, that's all correct on paper. However, I never made any statement about per capita incomes, nor did I make a reference to inflation rates. I just mentioned that prevailing growth rates are roughly on track to deliver the economic output projected for 2015, assuming it is maintained at a similar level. All standard disclaimers about a statement about the future apply.

Thanks for answering.

If I may just add one point to the GDP prediction debate. This is how the whole world measures GDP growth. And this is precisely how China's GDP has galloped (of course helped by a generous base year change, something which Suraj alluded to with his CSO comment).

If we're going to present numbers (on the economy) to the world why use oranges when everyone else uses apples?

IMO these statements, made by various netas, on growth are eminent realistic projection based on where we are now.

Prem wrote: When you say 2.5 T in2015 , does this mean by March 2015 or end of 2015? The calender and fiscal year diffeence will constitute of " 9Months/ Quarter Trillion $ worth economic data which can have huge compounded impact on 2020 GNP figures.. if growth remains same.
It can be March 2012 :P .

GDP as of March 2010 = 1.35T
+20% due to base change = 1.62T
+20% due to currency appreciation = 1.94T
+13% nominal growth to March 2011 = 2.19T
+13% nominal growth to March 2012 = 2.47T

13% growth = 9% inflation + 4% growth

Its better if they change the base year in 2020 to add coool Trillion Plus !! In the mean time lets hope ,pray and try to have Sterling less than Dollar and PKR 330 to a Dollar. :P Let there be few or many Indian rich enought to buy both of these individually or collectivly by writting the personal check.

If we're going to present numbers (on the economy) to the world why use oranges when everyone else uses apples?
I agree to an extent; if the World measures and talks in a language then it is natural for us to measure and talk in the same language. The danger is when countries get so obsessed by measuring whose size is bigger. Nominal, real, base year itiyadi all is fine and dandy we, as a society, hopefully keep the people's development in mind. Indicators are indicators; it gives us a sense of what is happening. Genuine Progress Indicator (GPI) sort of indicators are some of the new ones that are worth looking at by countries.

SwamyG wrote:
I agree to an extent; if the World measures and talks in a language then it is natural for us to measure and talk in the same language. The danger is when countries get so obsessed by measuring whose size is bigger. Nominal, real, base year itiyadi all is fine and dandy we, as a society, hopefully keep the people's development in mind. Indicators are indicators; it gives us a sense of what is happening. Genuine Progress Indicator (GPI) sort of indicators are some of the new ones that are worth looking at by countries.
Dear Swami Ji :wink:

I guess you are trying to push for the gross national happiness idea that Bhutan was pushing a while back. Do even get me started on those wackos.

I think the majority of India is benefiting at different levels with present growth. Esp. the urban aam janata.

Having lived thru the educated unemployed stages and the severe economic restrictions of the 70's & 80's the present situation is infinitely better.

Yet there is undoubtedly a large 25%-30% chunk mostly rural & landless that is not directly benefiting. I meet this population often and to be honest I just don't know what the answer is for them. They are stuck in manual labor Cos they don't know better. This guarantees them grinding poverty. They have very few skills and Zero interest in acquiring them. I've personally tried. The men work often for a bottle of arrack in the evening and the women work to put some food in front of their kids. They are invariably in debt and have no means to pay it off. This is a 250 million person, over 30 year old chunk. Maybe more.

They are hard workers but can't seem to move up..

The only redeeming factor is their children are mostly in school and they are motivated to keep them there. May be different elsewhere.

If you know what the answer is please illuminate us.

Theo_Fidel wrote: Yet there is undoubtedly a large 25%-30% chunk mostly rural & landless that is not directly benefiting. I meet this population often and to be honest I just don't know what the answer is for them. They are stuck in manual labor Cos they don't know better. This guarantees them grinding poverty. They have very few skills and Zero interest in acquiring them. I've personally tried. The men work often for a bottle of arrack in the evening and the women work to put some food in front of their kids. They are invariably in debt and have no means to pay it off. This is a 250 million person, over 30 year old chunk. Maybe more.

They are hard workers but can't seem to move up..

The only redeeming factor is their children are mostly in school and they are motivated to keep them there. May be different elsewhere.

If you know what the answer is please illuminate us.
I can't help wondering if their fate was sealed when India missed the low-cost manufacturing bus that has lifted so many out of poverty in China, Taiwan, Malaysia etc..
These people cannot be expected to make the jump from manual labour to the Service Sector. It is just not possible. And our manufacturing sector which is still in its infancy in many areas doesn't have the scale to provide employment for so many.

Core sector grows 4.5% in February
Six core infrastructure industries grew at 4.5 per cent in February against a meagre 1.9 per cent during the corresponding month last year, primarily due to increased output in electricity (7.3 per cent). The core sector had grown by a robust 9.5 per cent in January 2010.

The month on month deceleration in the growth rate is expected to moderate the overall industrial growth rate measured by the Index of Industrial Production (IIP), but is expected to continue at a healthy double digit level.

“Given these numbers, I think the IIP figures would come down and would be in the range of 10-11 per cent in the coming months,” said D K Joshi, principal economist of research and ratings firm Crisil Indian Limited.

The six infrastructure sectors — crude, petroleum refinery products, coal, electricity, cement and finished steel — that constitute 26.68 per cent in IIP, recorded a growth of 5.3 per cent in the period April-February 2009-10, as against 2.9 per cent in the same period last year.
Highway building on faster track
Road Transport and Highways Minister Kamal Nath is a man in a hurry. Soon after he took over in June last year, he announced ambitious plans to build 20 km of road a day.

But by his own recent admission, he has been able to achieve 13 km a day – far short of the target, though much more than the 2 km a day achieved during the first five years of the United Progressive Alliance.

Nath was, however, quick to say that come June, the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) would be able to achieve the 20 km target.

The minister has many admirers but there are several who do not share his enthusiasm. To achieve the target, the minister has asked NHAI to prepare an annual work plan and award projects on that basis. NHAI has prepared two work plans for the first two years, under which it plans to award 11,928 km of projects till June this year and 11,721 km in the next financial year.

Even though the NHAI has already awarded 44 road projects totalling around 6,000 km, officials say they do not foresee the same kind of response for a major chunk of road projects to be awarded in the next financial year.

“In the second work plan, 8,959 km out of 11,721 km are two-lane highways that are not financially viable. These are unlikely to attract bids under the public-private partnership plan. This might delay all the progress we have achieved till now,” said an NHAI official, who did not want to be identified.

The earlier plan was to upgrade all national highways to four-lane. This was later revised to two-lane to make them financially viable. However, the toll rate on a two-lane road is 40 per cent lower than a four-lane one, still keeping them financially unviable.

To build 7,000 km of roads a year, there has to be work in progress on 18,000 km of highways.

But many feel that would be too cynical a view as the minister’s enthusiasm has helped rev up the system at least. “Whether 20 km is achievable or not is not the question. Here is a minister who aims at taking the road projects from 2 km a day to 20 km and doing his bit to make that happen and that is evident. Even if he achieves 15 km, that will be an achievement,” says Parvez Umrigar, managing director, Gammon Infrastructure.

Nath’s achievements include convincing the prime minister to form a committee to look into all the issues slowing the highway project, an exercise that gave NHAI more autonomy.

“To our surprise, we have received around 88 applications for a single project. This shows the interest road projects are generating and the credit goes to the minister,” says an NHAI official.
A recent change that flew under the radar is that infrastructure companies are now allowed to issue their own bonds, something they had no recourse to do previously:
Need to double infrastructure spending
The finance minister called on Tuesday for a doubling of infrastructure spending to $1 trillion in the five years to 2016/17, and said private sector firms would be allowed to sell special bonds to help pay for it.

The enormous funding needs cannot be met by overstretched banks alone and will require new sources of financing, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee told an industry conference.

Red tape and difficulties in acquiring land, along with an underdeveloped domestic bond market and wariness of overseas investors in committing to long-term, big-ticket projects have slowed infrastructure development.

The government has decided to allow private firms to issue infrastructure bonds, which will hopefully attract investments from big pension funds and other cash-rich firms, Mukherjee said. Issuance of these bonds, whose buyers can claim tax breaks, is currently limited to state entities.

"We have still not completely succeeded in exploiting the full potential of insurance and pension funds for deployment in infrastructure projects," Mukherjee said, without giving a timeframe for when the first such private bonds would be allowed to proceed.

"The availability of equity, both domestic and FDI (foreign direct investment), continue to remain an area of concern," he said.

About Rice Cultivation, about which I am somewhat familiar

Rice being the staple food is widely cultivated and consumed all over India, in particular South India.

I have hands-on experience with cultivation of rice, and what I write is my experience, together with what I have observed and read about over the years.

The agricultural revolution that was brought in during the early seventies used hybrid seeds, mainly IR-8 and its clones. At that time it was okay… thought the grain was course, it gave ‘bumper’ yields and crop duration was less. I have seen this rice variety giving yields of 3 tons or more per acre. After a few years of cultivation, new varieties gave way. Though the yield was somewhat less, the grain quality was better and people preferred these.

The reasons for lower yield were found to be (in my observation) :

 Unscientific use of chemical fertilizers, mostly because of the lack of awareness among farmers about the right quantity and time of application.

 Lack of application of farmyard manure such as cow dung/compost etc. This can be attributed due to less number of cattle reared amongst the farmers. This in turn was the result of the advent of tractor for ploughing the field.

 When both combined (over application of chemical fertilizers and less application of farmyard manure), soil degraded, resulting in less output. To get more output, the farmers applied more chemical fertilizers which accelerated soil degradation further.

 Application of pesticides, weedicides etc aggravated the situation and in some areas, the productivity has come down drastically.

 Farmers are generally unaware of the condition their soil. Most of them don’t know what is PH value and how it affects their crop. Of course, some of them apply lime (CaOH) arbitrarily, once a while and that is the end of the story. The exact PH level to be maintained for each crop and the dramatic effect it can have in the final yield is not taught to them.

 Cost of labour – The cost of labour is so high that it has become uneconomical to cultivate paddy in many parts of the country. Various social security/employment schemes introduced by the Govts have played havoc and employment of manual labour has become almost impossible. The tendency of the labourers is to harvest only that much necessary for their daily wages (as paddy)..This way they can extend the number of days of employment and the farmer gets practically nothing. When last counted, my family lost Rs 10,000/- per crop per acre, when paddy was cultivated. Of course, the cultivation is completely manual (except for the tractor ploughing part) and unscientific.

I have started to think seriously about the ways and means to improve the situation..I don’t know how far I will succeed. I am planning o do things in the following manner.

1. Mechanize the operation completely. Earlier, there used be resistance from farm labourers in my state (Kerala), but as of now it has mostly subsided – there are simply not enough labourers available. Plus most of them consider working in the field as a menial job and in about 10 years, there won’t be anyone available.

By mechanization, I mean ploughing the field, sowing the field using seed drills, weeding by using semi-mechanized devices, application of fertilizers using ferigation, harvesting by combined harvesters. It may not be possible to avoid manpower completely, but I feel this much of mechanization itself would reduce the labour cost dramatically.

2. Use of quality seeds. At present many farmers use seeds from the paddy cultivated for the next crop. They don’t buy seeds from quality seed suppliers or agencies. This has a big effect on the yield.

3. Use of farmyard / Green manure. To retain the soil fertility, it is essential to apply generous quantity of farmyard manure. But it is easily said, than done. The basic reason is lack of enough animals around..And very few are familiar with composting techniques. It is major challenge, and particular care needs to be given to have adequate source of farmyard manure. To supplement the availability, plants like daincha etc can be grown in the fields and ploughed after 45 days of growth.

4. Application of Fertilisers – correct usage of fertilizers is very important and this can be done successfully by fertigation. Use a chemical dosing pump to inject concentrated fertilizer solution to the pump discharge at the right dosage level. This will result in savings on labour cost and even distribution of the fertilizer throughout the field.

5. Removal of weeds – Use semi-automatic methods which are already available to improve productivity and reduce labour cost.

6. Harvesting – Use combined harvesters to harvest the crop. It costs about Rs 1,500/- to harvest one acre, which is much less than manual labour.

The reality!

At present, the average yield per acre (including the paddy given to labourers as their wages) is about 3 tons per acre. This can be increased to 7 tons per acre. There are reports that it is already being achieved at some places in Kerala where Basmati farming is being taken up by farmers.

Good quality seeds give more output and fetches better price. The course paddy in Kerala is bought by the Govt at a price of Rs 12 / Kg. So, 7 tons would fetch about 84,000/- per crop. For 2 crops per year, it gives 1,68,000/- per acre per year. The Expenditure can be restricted to Rs 50,000/- per year/acre, giving a return of Rs 10,000/- per acre per month. It is achievable, in my opinion. If you take the land on rent, reduce Rs 5000/- per year per acre, as rental. If high quality seeds like Basmati is cultivated, it fetches about Rs 17/Kg.

Now, for an educated youth to venture into farming, he would need an income ‘comparable’ to what his ‘city’ cousins get….

It is ‘very easy’ to manage 10 acres of paddy field by one man. With hard work, and an assistant, he can manage 20 acres. With a dedicated team, it is possible to manage 100 acres.

It is also possible to grow a crop of say, black gram after harvesting paddy in the same field, which fetches additional income. If you get into dairy farm and other supplementary activities, then sky is the only limit.

To top it all, your farm income is not taxable, to the best of my knowledge. At present I am paying almost 35% on my taxable income, and another 10% as service tax (which used to be 12%) – i.e., almost half of what I earn is ‘taken away’ by the Govt. (of course the incidence of service tax is due to peculiar nature of my business). :((

Anybody Salivating?

Please feel free to comment, as your inputs will be most valuable

Correction...pls take the yield and income per Hecre and Not Acres.

I have to cross check my data sources. I remember reading the yields/acre. I will correct my calculations if wrong. It is a common scene in costal Andhra to achieve yields of 18-25 quintals (25-35 bags x 75kg) per acre per crop. Almost all farmers could get 2 crops per year and some even 3 crops.

I got the food grain value in Rs/$$ based on agri-sector's GDP contribution. I am sure that this number includes all value-added services to the base food-grain production that is farming.

That is why I brought the SMB approach to the discussion. In this approach a family (1 male + 1 female labor) can include most of value-added activities to their farm produce and increase thier value proposition.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Nex ... 729761.cms

Next 10 years could see the Indian economy growing by four times

We have assumed Indian gross-domestic savings at around 35%, an incremental capital output ratio of four as in the past decade, inflation of 4% and a marginal current account deficit of 2%. These assumptions lead us to a real GDP growth rate of 9% and a nominal growth of 13%. By 2020, India’s GDP is likely to quadruple from the current $1.1 trillion( this wrong figure itself will make Trillion $ difference)makes to about $4.5 trillion. Per capita income is likely to triple from the current approximately Rs 50,000 to over Rs 1.5 lakh. The number of households with income of more than Rs 16 lakh will be over 18 million, while the number of middle class households (income between Rs 1.5 lakh and Rs 16 lakh) would grow by 50% to 180 million. By 2020, we expect total savings to be about $1.4 trillion — more than our current GDP. The massive growth in savings will propel a 5.3 times growth in banking, 4.7 times in broking, 5.7 times in asset management and 4.7 times in life insurance. However, in the past decade, we have grown at 7.2% with 5% inflation and carried out significant reforms despite pulls and pressures of a democracy. We see no reason why this can’t continue for the next 10 years. In fact, I am personally confident that our projections may well prove to be underestimates.
Masaru

Post by Masaru »

Delhi Lacks All Credibility on Inflation

On the security and foreign policy front MMS naivety may be excusable. Now ineptitude shines through in economic management too. The after effects of wasteful distortionary fund diversion to assorted schemes like NREGA while doing little on the infrastructure front are evident. There is simply no efficient manufacturing/agriculture infrastructure to meet the growing demands and hence the inflation. Monetary measures won't be enough to fix this menace.
The irony is that India has growth potential even greater than China's. It has the highest household savings rate in Asia at 32% of disposable income, with 65% of annual national savings coming from households compared to under 40% in China.

India also has natural economic growth in that its growth in recent years has come from domestic demand and employment, not net exports. Half of India's annual 7% real growth came from private consumption and less than 10% from external demand. By comparison, about two-thirds of China's average 10% real GDP growth in the 1990s came from exports and export-driven investment; only about 25% from private consumption. India is much less dependent on global demand for its prosperity.

And then there's employment. India's workforce has been growing at nearly 2% a year in the last decade, while China's grew at less than 1% and that growth in China's labor force will disappear in this next decade.

But all these long-term structural advantages contrast with appalling public finances and the risk of credit-fuelled inflation. Much firmer policy action is needed to reduce the size of government and its profligacy.
If action is not taken soon, then the government's target for nominal GDP growth of 12%, made up of 9% real growth and 3% inflation, will look increasingly silly. At best, it will be met by a much higher proportion of inflation than real growth; at worst, growth will pared by the need to curb inflation.

Theo saar:
Pushum illai gushum illai.Are GNH or GPI better indicators than GDP? SOme believe so. My fundamental belief is economy is for the benefit for the humans. And these metrics help us explain the complex world of Economics.
Your post seems to take an opinion that I am questioning "are we better of now than in the past?" Since I never went that route, your last sentence is simply a bait.

Geeth saar: Good luck. All warm wishes for prosperity itiyadi. I have a question on this:
2. Use of quality seeds. At present many farmers use seeds from the paddy cultivated for the next crop. They don’t buy seeds from quality seed suppliers or agencies. This has a big effect on the yield.
By next crop did you actually mean previous crop? If yes, why do you think seeds from the previous crops are not good quality seeds? If the current crop does not produce good quality seeds, and they end up buying quality seeds from the suppliers and agencies, can't they use seeds from this crop in future? How often would they have to buy seeds?

of course you can just harvest the seeds from your present crop.

however its no gurantee that you will get the same size and disease resistance of the original crop. that's why people buy seeds from seed suppliers. there's no guessing game and you have some assurance of the size, quality, color, longevity, disease & pest resistance, time to harvest, temperature resistance... etc.

sort of like humans. there's no gurantee you will be as handsome as your dad.
shyam

Post by shyam »

^^^ Since there is no guarantee, you go and adopt handsome children born to others :rotfl:
Or ask your more handsome neighbor to give a more likely handsome child to your wife :rotfl:

You better watchout the real motive of the seed suppliers. If you get hooked to someone like Monsanto, who genetically modify the seed, your food security is up for a toss.

BTW, how did our ancestors create seeds for thousands of years without these modern seed providers? Once we understand those details, most of the risks will be solved.