The Trash Thread in the Trash Can (Use 4545 to Merge Posts)

atreya

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by atreya »

Sharma wrote:Rahul

Warning for calling retard a retard is fair. I apologies, but please make a guideline about those questioning other's usefulness to the nation? Would you please delete that as well.
Well, thank you for that elaborate explanation, and not to mention that beautiful description you have for me. Let us now try and establish what a "retard" is. A retard is the short form for a mentally retarded person. Now, a mentally retarded person is one with below average IQ, of which I am sure you are not aware. Because, if I am a person with below average IQ, I wouldn't be able to type on a forum like this in the first place. This only serves to prove the point that you are extremely ignorant and resort to cheap techniques like calling other people names (which do not apply to them, as I have just proved). Remember, Mr. Sharma, you are not the only person around here who can use such language. We can do so to, but unlike you, we follow some forum etiquettes, which maybe "beyond" YOUR grasp!
As far as the matter of Tibetan "uselessness" is considered, you seem to harbour some major discontentment against them. I advise you put aside your prejudices before you comment further, else it will serve no purpose.
My last post on this topic here, as this is OT. (Mr. Sharma may have not noticed that again, I presume)

My dear good sir, It is obvious that you're either ex-army or serving with some association with Ladakh Scouts - for the way you use 'my own nunnus'..an affection that can come only with regimental association. Did you serve attachment with them or got commissioned into/seconded to LS after they became a Regiment of IA? We can really do with more contribution from someone like you but guess you're 'holier-than-thou' attitude will not let you survive longer..but we digress.

Sharma wrote:..LoL...it is certainly beyond you as you yourself are saying. You look equaly retard or trying to show solidarity with the other. Anyways I belive there are many here like both of you so Broader sense means that these Tibetans are just sitting in India on huge GoI funds and facilities. They could not deliver for what for what they were given shelter for. Instead they are sucking in to our resources in Ladakh and whereever they have been given shelter. Local Ladakhis feel that they get step child treatment from both State and Central Govt. State Govt for being more Kashmir and Jammu centeric and Centre Govt for being more Tibetan centeric. Even average Vikas (Tibetan) soldiers get more hype then my own LS nunnus (Ladakh Scount soldiers).
As for the Tibetan and resources issue is concerned, it is not their fault that they get assistance from GOI while the Ladakhis get step-motherly treatment from J&K Government (as does Jammu). The mandate to maintain Leh is with GO-J&K and not GOI. But more than GOI subsidy, it is the foreign aid that supports Tibetan population in India.

And btw, what resources are they 'sucking'? Land alloted to them to settle and establish their colonies? Everything else, they must buy from open market and sustain themselves (from business and grants from Tibetan Government in Exile). And apart from the land alloted initially, land for further development of monasteries in India has been brought at face value. Land, which cannot be registered in their name - will have to be surrendered by back in case they decide to leave some day.

They do more good to the local economy than 'suck' up the local resource. Dharamshala today is a tourist hot-spot more due to presence of HH Dalai Lama than anything else. Bulk of the tourist economy (from foreign tourists) is sustained on the basis of those who are drawn to this small town due to presence of Tibetal Government in Exile than the scenic beauty - which is incidental. Just for your reference, many moons ago their was a spat (and violence) between one section of local community and Tibetan. After the local politicians raised the bogey of driving the Tibetans out of D'Shala, HH Dalai Lama oferred to move his government. Guess, who stopped him? HP Government and local people. For without them, the money-spinning component of tourist economy would have gone bust. So, please don't go by the rhetoric and make some effort to research the topic in hand.

As for the coverage of LS and Vikas, don't you think it is but natural for media to write a story about "Tibetan" - foreigners, fighting for India than Indians themselves? Something that is more sensational. On the other hand, have you seen articles on Rajput/Kumaon/Bihar/(fill your favorite) Regiment in the print or electronic media? BTW, the articles about Vikas have more platitudes and 'emotional' stuff than anything else. From a soldiers point of view, what matters more is the recognition when the history and details of the war are written. Will any such history book talk about Vikas Regiment? No, and for obvious reason.But do they talk about Ladakh Scouts (or the earlier Nubra Guards)? They do and do in details and in glorified terms.

Only conflict, in which I've not come across the details of ops by LS is Kargil. Captain Amrinder Singh, in his book, 'Ridge too far', while giving details of operations about the battalions (ten of the twelve in all) which received the "Bravest of Brave" Commendations, writes and I qoute -
"The two left out are the two wings of the Ladakh Scouts. Both, under their respective Commanding Officers, Lt.Col. AS Chandoke of the Indus Wing and Lt.Col.Dinesh Naikwade of the Karakoram Wing, performed brilliantly. However, the role of Scouts borders on that of Special Forces and no country would wish to have the organization and tactics of their Special Forces made public. In consequence, and with utmost reluctance, I felt bound to leave out the detailed accounts of the operations of these fine units<SNIP>"
Now a soldier, would go by these words of commendation or an article published here or there by the media?

The above article denounces exactly what you want the Tibetans to do with respect to the Chinese. So what was the point of posting the same?

Also, I realy find the section of your post where you say and I qoute, "They could not deliver for what for what they were given shelter for", pretty, shall we say, stupid. What was expected of the Tibetans that they have not delivered on? And what should have they done? Raised a guerilla force and launched raids across the LAC? Who signed agreement with Chinese which restricts SFF from operating close to LAC? GOI does not even allow them to protest infront of Chinese Embassy for 'fear' of upsetting our northern freind without permission...So,what could have they done?
And for Rohit, As you know that Indian Govt has allowed a Tibetan Govt in exile in Dharamshala and same way he is allowed to have his own security guards. Increase in threat perception for your HH after recent violence in Lhasa has increased the security detail also. Therefore we could see these guys. Well, these guys are not SFF for sure as XIV corps (read Army) is not responsible for security details of any visiting State head anywhere in country.
Well, I do know that there is a Tibetan Government in Exile in D'Shala and HH has his security detail. That is why I said that he does not have personal security guards who flaunt arms like those gentlemen are doing. It is the responsibility of State Police along with IB to take care of his security. Those fellows cannnot be Tibetan for a simple reason that they are in uniform. They could very well be armed with those toys and be in civvies - like those gents in background. Last I checked, Tibetan government in exile hasn't raised a private militia.
Sharma

Post by Sharma »

atreya wrote:
Sharma wrote:Rahul

Warning for calling retard a retard is fair. I apologies, but please make a guideline about those questioning other's usefulness to the nation? Would you please delete that as well.
Well, thank you for that elaborate explanation, and not to mention that beautiful description you have for me. Let us now try and establish what a "retard" is. A retard is the short form for a mentally retarded person. Now, a mentally retarded person is one with below average IQ, of which I am sure you are not aware. Because, if I am a person with below average IQ, I wouldn't be able to type on a forum like this in the first place. This only serves to prove the point that you are extremely ignorant and resort to cheap techniques like calling other people names (which do not apply to them, as I have just proved). Remember, Mr. Sharma, you are not the only person around here who can use such language. We can do so to, but unlike you, we follow some forum etiquettes, which maybe "beyond" YOUR grasp!
As far as the matter of Tibetan "uselessness" is considered, you seem to harbour some major discontentment against them. I advise you put aside your prejudices before you comment further, else it will serve no purpose.
My last post on this topic here, as this is OT. (Mr. Sharma may have not noticed that again, I presume)
Questioning other's faith and stereotyping without knowing (context) completely is equally cheap and you are right, cheapness fetches equal cheapness. I do not doubt your ability to scoop down to levels lower than anybody vis-à-vis etiquettes are concerned with your first reply on my post. Well, that’s really beyond my grasp. Posting here on this "forum" really certify anybody with above average IQ? Life is bigger perhaps. Anyways, I also leave it here.

And may I ask how and what purpose your theory of “usefulness” of Tibetans will serve here whereas my “prejudices” will not? This is difference of opinion and you simply can not force me to accept yours and shut mine. Did I ask you to go with mine at any stage? May I further request you to have little patience and always listen to others before going for their throats? If not understood first time you can always ask politely before commenting rudely.

Re: Military Multimedia Content

Chinese junk fit only to pollute the oceans by leaking lead and other toxic materials and fall apart in a crunch situation

^^ Rite :roll: because Indian Ships don't leave any trail of smoke behind :| They operate on clean fuel technology which has no repercussions to the environment!

Mr Alpert Craig

Why do you have to bring in the IN when the talk is about PLAN and its fatichar rustbuckets?
Why the takleef and why the equal equal :roll:
If the Pollution caused by IN ships causes you any takleef, join Arundathi Roys gang which is demanding the disbanding of Indian armed forces and handing over the reins of the country to Maoists
Tushar

Post by Tushar »

Yes, Indian ships do also leave trails of smoke, but we **Indians** don't call these ships the most advanced peices of machinary on the market. The Chinese on the other hand, consistently publish their propaganda throught out the known worlds media showcasing how superior their single hulled ships with their plastic armament is.

But the Harbin Z-9 with its retractable landing gear sure looks nice. I don't know why they chose to have a enclosed tail. Maybe they were inspired by the commanche, even though theres no real use for it.

Tushar wrote:Yes, Indian ships do also leave trails of smoke, but we **Indians** don't call these ships the most advanced peices of machinary on the market. The Chinese on the other hand, consistently publish their propaganda throught out the known worlds media showcasing how superior their single hulled ships with their plastic armament is.

But the Harbin Z-9 with its retractable landing gear sure looks nice. I don't know why they chose to have a enclosed tail. Maybe they were inspired by the commanche, even though theres no real use for it.
Very well put Tushar but I wonder if your explaination would fall on deaf ears and another pile of pakistaniyat or cheeniyat would come your way with a comment like we are jealous of the Chinese achievements etc etv
Last edited by Rahul M on 26 Apr 2010 07:11, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: user warned. IED's are not acceptable outside a couple of less serious threads.
Tushar

Post by Tushar »

c
Last edited by Tushar on 26 Apr 2010 02:42, edited 1 time in total.

Mahendra wrote:Mr Alpert Craig

Why do you have to bring in the IN when the talk is about PLAN and its fatichar rustbuckets?
Why the takleef and why the equal equal :roll:
If the Pollution caused by IN ships causes you any takleef, join Arundathi Roys gang which is demanding the disbanding of Indian armed forces and handing over the reins of the country to Maoists
Do give a source for your assumption that Chinese called their ships, GREENER and CLEANER! If not I suggest you take a hard look at reality before pointing fingers, because as far as I can tell, your BELoVED Kangress Govt is apparently doing NOTHING to revenge the death of 75 brave jawans, lack alone give them proper facilities... Don't worry about me, Arundathi, or Kakart. For all you care, my heart could very well be with the Modi Govt!

I don't walk around claiming IN ships are rustbuckets, or for that matter state of the art, but they are building more advance ship, and Insha Allah, they'll catch to some of the best stealthiest warships being churned out by the West, but until that happens, no need to put down a ship with a perfectly well balanced of weapon systems which can cause a problem to their potential enemies!
Last edited by Rahul M on 26 Apr 2010 07:15, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: user warned for starting irrelevant political discussion (coupled with a personal attack)in mil forum.
Tushar

Post by Tushar »

Oh no, I deleted my previous post, but I meant to edit the spelling. Is there anyway to get it back.

Anyways though, Craig you seem to be pretty immature. Yes the lives of CRPF was lost, but you cannot just start killing civilians left and right. Revenge needs planning, and support from politicians. Its not only Congress party with its italian Prosti**te Sonia and half retarded monkey Manmohan who are to blame, its P.Chaddi whos Dhoti needs a change anytime any movement is brought up.

Even that inbred Advani who yells Babri anytime elections comes up, hasn't even been able to put a brick on that destroyed mosque ground for the temple he wants to build there. You think this coward will protect this nation with proper policies when war starts. Hes only interested in votes from monkeys like you.

Modi seems decent on the outside, but he is another corrupt ******** with money stashed in tax havens. Don't be so naive and immature. Those personall that died, died because of a culmanative failed policy of the cheifs, police, and politicians, not just Congress.
Last edited by Rahul M on 26 Apr 2010 07:18, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: 4th warning for the bolded parts above.

Before you go running your mouth :(( learn to understand the facts! The Congress govt, never allocated proper facilities, because it does NOT have the will or courage to tackle Maoists. For all they care, as long as the violence doesn't spread they are happy let alone even thinking about providing strategic air support! Second as for monkeys like me, rooting for Modi govt, it's because IMMATURE DONKEYS (A$$E$ would be a better word) like you vote for the napak govt! It is THIS napak govt, who still hasn't HUNG Afzal Guru, let alone willingly playing ball with Kasab, and now we get to hear shit like Pakistan want's access to Kasab to build their cases! I'd answer more of your immature and amateurish responses with grave technical and political details but unlike you, fortunately I do NOT want to derail this thread and hence I'll stop before this thread ends up like the MMRCA thread!
Tushar

Post by Tushar »

Craig Alpert wrote:^^

Before you go running your mouth :(( learn to understand the facts! The Congress govt, never allocated proper facilities, because it does NOT have the will or courage to tackle Maoists. For all they care, as long as the violence doesn't spread they are happy let alone even thinking about providing strategic air support! Second as for monkeys like me, rooting for Modi govt, it's because IMMATURE DONKEYS (A$$E$ would be a better word) like you vote for the napak govt! It is THIS napak govt, who still hasn't HUNG Afzal Guru, let alone willingly playing ball with Kasab, and now we get to hear shit like Pakistan want's access to Kasab to build their cases! I'd answer more of your immature and amateurish responses with grave technical and political details but unlike you, fortunately I do NOT want to derail this thread and hence I'll stop before this thread ends up like the MMRCA thread!
Ya, its better you stop, since your third grade knowledge on Indian politics is comparable to that of my janitor or guard at my Greater Kailash Mansion. But again, you insist on trying to show me your intellect. So here's a few words before I go ! The Indian politicians are indeed careless of events unfolding with maoists, but theres always a greater agenda at mind. Just because its not visible to the common monkey like you, doesn't mean its not in play. Your simplistic view and reasoning on Indian matters only proves to me you need to further your education. You should leave politics aside, since I bet you can't even define politics without the help of google or wikepedia.
Last edited by Rahul M on 26 Apr 2010 07:20, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: 5th warning for the bolded parts above. permanent ban.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

Tushar-saab, would you mind hopping over to the MRCA dhaaga? We have a lack of knowledgeable posters there and we are curious to know your opinion regarding the tender.
Prabu

Re: India Nuclear News And Discussion

Post by Prabu »

Prabu wrote:** Deleted **
Have PMed you.
Ji,
Thanks a lot. Replied.

Re: The Red Menace

A short poem on this red -menace .........
Simply burn the jungles ,burn them all,

Carpet bomb these,one by one,.

Where these sick morons ,live,plant ieds,and multiply.

No jungles,no man eating tribes..

Meanwhile attach dhotis and kurtas with the bombs ...

They call themselves communists,

They aint fight for any community

they are anti-evolution

that's their revolution?

tribes will be history in 2 decades, this is the flash point !

burn the jungles, make SEZs there.
.....................................................................................
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

Moderators: please take note of the previous post and do the needful. It is disgusting to even suggest that all our vanavasis are enemies of the nation and that we need to bomb the jungles indiscriminately.

It is indeed true that there is a serious maoist problem. There are two aspects to this.

1. Most of the foot soldiers fighting on the maoist side probably have no idea about marxism, etc. The vananasis have certain grievances that are exploited by anti-state elements for their own ends. The root that sustains the maoist movement is the huge presence of anti-national leftists among the intelligentsia. These exist in places like JNU (most humanities departments in India), as "civil society" groups, in mainstream political parties (like diggy, mani sh. iyer., mamata bannerjee, etc). The political types are by and large opportunistic, but the JNU types and NGO-types are not. It is these over ground networks that enable the maoist movement to live.

Without that state cracking down on them very thoroughly, there is no solution to the problem. Generally, any kind of leftist (WKK/ commie) thought expressed by a person with potential public influence (this especially includes academics, NGo types) should warrant that a person be under surveillance, possibly arrest. This kind of program needs to be executed even if it is beyond what is allowed by the current constitution. After all, the total number of persons that need to be detained for say, 10-15 years is probably of the order of several 10 thousand. Certainly not more....

2. There is, of course, a physical/tactical aspect to this problem. We need to train huge numbers of paramilitary troops to implement a J&K like COIN grid throughout the forest areas. For an country with our challenges, say, 10 million paramilitary troops would be necessary for this purpose. It is not impossible. After all, in a matter of months, the Indian army (then under the british) expanded from 250000 trps to 10 times that number. In fact, emphasis could be placed on recruiting people from the poorer/ tribal areas for such a force. Artificial restrictions like requiring 12 std pass, etc should be done away with.

Several million more could be recruited into yet another entity devoted to basic ground level surveillance of potential anti-nationals. This would of course, require things like 12 std pass, etc among the most basic level members.

In all, casting such a massive security blanket over the country will come with many benifits: Millions of families would be direct benificiaries of joining the state-security system: a poor tribal/ landless farmer, could, by joining such a paramilitary force, ensure that his family is provided the means for a much better living, his children get education in say, a KV, and so on...better than something like NREGA where politicians swallow most of the money for questionable gains for the state.

3. Of course, the above will settle a basic problem we have: the presence of the state in many parts is simply inadequate. This vacuum does a lot to help anti-nationals...

This is not what we need samay.
No jungles,no man eating tribes..
I don't know of any in India
tribes will be history in 2 decades, this is the flash point !

burn the jungles, make SEZs there.
Are they any less Indian. Why would they become history? Any Why burn jungles and make SEZ?

Maoists are the problems not the tribals or jungles.

Re: Indian Military Aviation

sunny y wrote:^^^

Oh God, These AmirKhan guys have already got their eyes on him....I hope he doesn't get carried away by their fancy cheques :evil:
WHY NOT ?

Should he stay in India and work in an Indian PSU / "Research" Lab under a person who is his boss because of SC / ST / OBC / neta's brother-in-law/ some babu's son-in-law ?

Kersi D wrote: WHY NOT ?

Should he stay in India and work in an Indian PSU / "Research" Lab under a person who is his boss because of SC / ST / OBC / neta's brother-in-law/ some babu's son-in-law ?

Absolutely not... he should command the likes of them... And most probably if he joins DRDO he may well become second to V K Sarswat...

Bala Vignesh wrote:
Kersi D wrote: WHY NOT ?

Absolutely not... he should command the likes of them... And most probably if he joins DRDO he may well become second to V K Sarswat...
But will he be allowed (read promoted) if
1) He is not SC / ST / OBC / some-thing-or-the-other
2) He is not related to a minister / MP / MLA / babu

starek

Re: PRC Economy and Industry: News and Discussions

Post by starek »

abhischekcc wrote:
starek wrote:As I known, Beijing govt. paid avg. CNY 30 lakh (INR.2 crore = 2 slumdog millionaires) to every peasant family whoes lands was robbed.
Perhaps party officials are stupid, but the capitalists who buy the lands are clever than you, I'm sure.
I am sure the Beijing government allocated CNY 30 lakh for each displaced person.

I am equally sure that most of the money was pocketed by honest communist bureaucracy members.
It's a misunderstanding. "Beijing govt." I've said is not the central govt., it's beijing local govt..
Compensation for lost-land peasants depend on property prices, in undeveloped area and 3-tier city suburban, a peasant family will get CNY 2~5 lakh, in 2-tier city suburban CNY 10~20 lakh, in 1-tier city such as Guangzhou-Shenzhen, Shanghai and Beijing, CNY 30 and more. The compensation is paid by local govt., nothing about central govt..
The cost of an apartment per square meter , 3-tier city CNY 2000~4000, 2-tier city CNY 6000~10000, 1-tier city CNY 20000~30000.

Mullah Startrek

The word "slumdog millionaire" is not acceptable to most here, perhaps it is common to use the term in China when you dish out compensation after harvesting organs of the poor. The Indian poor live a hard life, perhaps we should give them some dignity? or is it considered "dangerous" to give the poor some respect because it may embolden them to dream of reversing the "revolution"?
Sukhothai

Post by Sukhothai »

abhischekcc wrote:Building temples and so forth creates employment that would otherwise not have been there.

And I think you missed the point that Raghav K was making - Indian culture has survived despite not having any grandiloquent pretensions of large constructions. This is because we focused on the morals of the people, not on the ego of rulers. Today, China may have 'largest this' and the 'fastest that', but tell that to the parents of the children killed in shooting sprees in schools, or to the rioters of 80,000+ riots in China every year, or to the destitute common folk whose homes (and life time savings) are razed because some stupid party official wants to build another empty shopping mall.

CCP has lost the mandate of heaven. That is why they employ 'internet moderators' such as you to try and fool people into accepting the unacceptable.
Dharmic truth? Do you even understand what Buddha preached? Or you are looking it through a Hindu lens that Buddhism is just another Hindu sect. If you took the liberty to understand Buddhism, you would have found out that Buddhism itself is not a religion, it is a quite secular teaching. It does not have the pantheon of gods like Hinduism; instead it questions the ignorance of humans worshipping blindly. And it is because of this precise same reason that the Brahmins were afraid that Buddhism might erode their stranglehold on the masses. Read how Buddhism was wiped out by Hindu Brahmins.

Enlightenment? Buddha was trying to enlighten the Hindus, he himself was a Hindu, he tried self suffering like the Sadhus to attain enlightenment, but when a passerby fed his hungry stomach, only then he truly understood life.

Nalanda University was a place of great debate especially in logics. He questioned the concept of caste and saw it as the reason for suffering, that’s why you never see any caste in Buddhism. He promoted peace and understanding and most important, he wanted people to question things.

Hinduism didn’t want you to question things; they want you to follow your assignment in life as per caste.

He didn’t force people to be vegetarians; he just promoted it because it involves less killing. He was after all an enlightened man and seeks balance in actions because humans are never perfect and humans need to eat.

The early Buddhist used a chakra to symbolize the cycle of life. Buddhism was about explaining the essence of living and suffering. How it all relates to human actions and thoughts, no rituals no idols whatsoever. It was the local populace that combined Buddhism with their local religions.

Buddhism belongs to humanity because a person found the truth. And from what I can see, India is not an enlightened country nor is China. Clapping your hands together and pray does not enlighten you nor do singing hymns of praises bring your soul joy. I am just sad to see that the place Buddha wanted most to enlighten was India. It was here he saw the injustice, the ignorance, the fanatics and the suffering. It was in this environment he finally understood the source of suffering. He could not have found it anywhere else, it is only found in India where the poorest live among the richest and in some instances side by side. You can see this story being played again and again in all major cities like Mumbai and Delhi to this day.

You don’t need to be Indian to be Buddhist nor Buddhist to be enlightened. He just wanted to pass on his ideas just like how I am writing to you to pass on my ideas. And am I Buddhist? No, and I don’t need to be, I am just a human being that is learning from the teaching of Buddha. It is neither monks nor beautiful temples that bring you enlightenment; you have to seek the truth yourself. You have to walk the path yourself.
Sukhothai

Post by Sukhothai »

Raghav K wrote:^^ When we look at the Tree, we forget to think about the roots..

*Star* welcome to BR and first this post not a comparison between China vs India.

If you look at history, the Indian civilization has been in existence more than 5000 years dwarfing any civilization and we have never given importance to shiny steel structures or magnificent buildings like the Greeks or Egyptians (pyramids). We have always given importance to inner growth and is the land of the "some" of the greatest people like Buddha, Swami Vivekanada etc. I will guarantee you that we will continue to prosper for the next 5000 years without any Great Walls but with Great souls.

As time passes Buildings collapse, but not the sayings of these Great souls.

You may be shouting aloud how great China is on BR, but you know the ground reality how much the poor man on the road is suffering with massive explosion of mining and this is what matters.
The reality is both India and China are suffering. You see the plight of the miners....the Chinese see the plight of the starved and oppressed. Does it enlighten you? Souls? Are Indian souls really ‘liberated’? Think!! Is it true that just by listening to a Swami and not having enough to eat is enough to be a great 'Civilization'?

In China, the disgruntled stab people, in India the disgruntled form Maoist militias and kill police.
Purush

Post by Purush »

^ Two posts = a lot of rubbish.

Under the pretext of "oh BTW, I am impartial onlee", you are trying to put down Hinduism and promote Buddhism as the 'true religion'...anyone can see that from your posts.

Disgruntled people will rebel regardless of religion; just that sometimes religion/ethnicity/race acts as a catalyst or convenient excuse.

'Buddhist countries' :roll: have some of the world's worst records in the quantity and quality of violence.
Japan (pre-1945), Koreas (Korean war), Burma, Cambodia :roll: , Laos, Viet Nam :roll: , Sri Lanka :roll: , Thailand...all Buddhist countries...all have participated or are participating in genocide and violence on a scale that is alien to Hindus. Oh noes..there goes your Buddhism is so soup-e-rear onlee theory. :((
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

I have been observing for a long time and I see a pattern. BRF members from India's response is usually instantaneous and in almost all cases from the heart, which sometimes leads/triggers emotional response. heck in some instances we write before we think.... and I cherish the fact that we Indian can do that, even if at times it blows up. CCP 'Internet Moderators" like Startek, Sukhothai, etc. all take 60~90 min to respond and use researched links to backup their statements. It has triplicate filing written all over it and it lacks soul, which is expected from full time govt. servants.
biswas

Post by biswas »

Sukhothai wrote:
Raghav K wrote:^^ When we look at the Tree, we forget to think about the roots..

*Star* welcome to BR and first this post not a comparison between China vs India.

If you look at history, the Indian civilization has been in existence more than 5000 years dwarfing any civilization and we have never given importance to shiny steel structures or magnificent buildings like the Greeks or Egyptians (pyramids). We have always given importance to inner growth and is the land of the "some" of the greatest people like Buddha, Swami Vivekanada etc. I will guarantee you that we will continue to prosper for the next 5000 years without any Great Walls but with Great souls.

As time passes Buildings collapse, but not the sayings of these Great souls.

You may be shouting aloud how great China is on BR, but you know the ground reality how much the poor man on the road is suffering with massive explosion of mining and this is what matters.
The reality is both India and China are suffering. You see the plight of the miners....the Chinese see the plight of the starved and oppressed. Does it enlighten you? Souls? Are Indian souls really ‘liberated’? Think!! Is it true that just by listening to a Swami and not having enough to eat is enough to be a great 'Civilization'?

In China, the disgruntled stab people, in India the disgruntled form Maoist militias and kill police.
Just a random observation. One of my NRI relatives, lived and worked in a slum (dont remember for which one) and when he went back to Germany where he lives, he would repeatedly tell everyone (and we in Australia weren't spared either), that after that time life was not as colourful, people were not as genuine as those he had met and grown to love there. There was nobody that he had met that was as free to love and be happy as those 'starved and oppressed' people. They didn't have much, most were dirt poor, many had diseases, but they were truly happy. This is what we Indians call our Indianness.

I don't know if you can say the same for these miners and people that have been forced from their homes in China.
naren

Post by naren »

Sukhothai xiansheng (hope thats polite way to address Chinese),

First, welcome to BRF. Its nice that you shared your view on Buddhism. We can discuss it more on "distorted history" thread in "general discussion forum". This thread is mainly for PRC economy discussion & occasionally, we touch on cultural/civilizational/historical aspects to convey that point.

Sorry for the OT, but I'm just going to address few misconceptions which some Chinese/Buddhists seem to have. (Follow up can be debated in distorted history)
If you took the liberty to understand Buddhism, you would have found out that Buddhism itself is not a religion, it is a quite secular teaching. It does not have the pantheon of gods like Hinduism; instead it questions the ignorance of humans worshipping blindly.
If you took the liberty to understand Hinduism, you'll find that Hinduism has the entire range, from Adi Shankara's Advaita philosophy (which is very close to Buddhism) and "pantheon of Gods" (whatever that means). Hindutvaists define Hinduism as any spiritual tradition which originated in India. So by that definition, Buddhism will qualify as a sect within Hinduism.
And it is because of this precise same reason that the Brahmins were afraid that Buddhism might erode their stranglehold on the masses. Read how Buddhism was wiped out by Hindu Brahmins.

Buddha is considered an Avatar in Hinduism. To give a parallel, its like the Jews recognizing Jesus Christ as the Messiah. That should blow a big hole in your evil Brahmin theory. Jesus Christ was nailed to the cross. Buddha was celebrated as a great Teacher. Even during His life time, no hindu ever laid a finger on Him. His only enemy was His own cousin.

"Buddhism was wiped out by Hindu Brahmins" ??? How far these people will stoop to protect their Islamic brethren !
Hinduism didn’t want you to question things; they want you to follow your assignment in life as per caste.
:rotfl: :rotfl: Here's a hint, find out what "jnana yoga" is.
Nalanda University was a place of great debate especially in logics. He questioned the concept of caste and saw it as the reason for suffering, that’s why you never see any caste in Buddhism.
Thank you for bringing up Nalanda. As you know, Tibetan Buddhism has faithfully preserved Nalanda tradition for all these centuries. The Tibetan exile community is doing great work in renewing it in India. What China has done for Tibet & Tibetan Buddhism, needless to mention in this thread.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

naren wrote:
Buddha is considered an Avatar in Hinduism. To give a parallel, its like the Jews recognizing Jesus Christ as the Messiah. That should blow a big hole in your evil Brahmin theory.
Not disagreeing with any of your other points but this is not quite correct. There are two versions of "Buddha is an avatar of Vishnu" principle. What you're referring to is the later philosophy, the earlier version of this principle was much more hostile towards the Buddhist teachings.

Sukhoi - As for Brahmins wiping out Buddhists, I don't think anyone suggests that. Thapar and Co. have routinely played down claims of "Brahmin" violence against Buddhists and Jains as exaggeration and boasting. I think it is quite questionable whether Buddhism was nearly as prevalent and widespread as is usually argued.

Carl_T wrote: What you're referring to is the later philosophy, the earlier version of this principle was much more hostile towards the Buddhist teachings.
I would not call it hostility towards teaching
shukla

Re: India-US News and Discussion

Post by shukla »

US scientists hack into India's EVMs, expose flaws
Professor J Alex Halderman of the University of Michigan and his computer science students say they were able to hack into the EVMs to manipulate results.

Halderman, who led the seven-month research project, with a security researcher from the Netherlands and Hyderabad’s NetIndia, said a home-made device allowed them to change results on anEVM by sending it wireless messages from a mobile phone.

“Almost every component of this system could be attacked to manipulate election results,” said Halderman. “This proves, once again, that the paperless class of voting systems has intrinsic security problems. It is hard to envision systems like this being used responsibly in elections.”
Direct attack on India's election process.. :eek:

Re: LCH discussion

Please find below picture of example of sturdy shocker mounting capable of handling overloading in any weather condition:

HAL needs to learn a thing or two from Italian designers.

Re: LCH discussion

wtf? :eek:
Sukhothai

Post by Sukhothai »

Purush wrote:^ Two posts = a lot of rubbish.

Under the pretext of "oh BTW, I am impartial onlee", you are trying to put down Hinduism and promote Buddhism as the 'true religion'...anyone can see that from your posts.

Disgruntled people will rebel regardless of religion; just that sometimes religion/ethnicity/race acts as a catalyst or convenient excuse.

'Buddhist countries' :roll: have some of the world's worst records in the quantity and quality of violence.
Japan (pre-1945), Koreas (Korean war), Burma, Cambodia :roll: , Laos, Viet Nam :roll: , Sri Lanka :roll: , Thailand...all Buddhist countries...all have participated or are participating in genocide and violence on a scale that is alien to Hindus. Oh noes..there goes your Buddhism is so soup-e-rear onlee theory. :((
Purush-ji,

Can I ask you what Buddhism is? Is Buddhist someone that stands in front of a giant idol and pray? Is Buddhist some one that chants scripture all day long? Does it matter if someone is not Buddhist but tries to learn what Buddha is teaching and question its meaning as he preached? Are Thais and the others Buddhist when they wage war? Or are they labelled Buddhist when they kill?

As for Hinduism wiping out Buddhism, well let’s see, practically Buddhism is everywhere in Asia but Hinduism today is only found in India and Bali island. Why did the Chinese not follow Hinduism but follow Buddhism. Although being label Buddhist has nothing to do with being student of Buddha, I just want to point out this piece of history. The Chinese took Buddha as a teacher just like how they took Confucius, Taoism as teaching and not religion, but it was taken by others and made into a pantheon of Chinese gods. Taoism was founded as a teaching on balancing human and nature, hence the concept of Yin and Yang. If Aristotle was preaching in China, he would have been another great ‘Teacher’.

Do I even need to label someone Buddhist just because he believes in Buddha’s teaching? Do you see people call Chinese, Confucians, just because they believe in his teaching? Or call some Aristotelians because he learns his way of philosophy?

What is religion? Why do Indians feel the need to institutionalise everything into religions? Was Buddha divine? Was he God? Buddha is neither an avatar nor saint, he was human and he said this himself.

He was a teacher just as Confucius was a teacher. What he preached was reasoning and enlightenment, he wanted people to question things and understand ‘life’. I think the foundation of Indic civilization has always been religion, where as China and the East Asians were secular in nature. The mandate to rule was by providing for the people and make sure there are no catastrophe and not by convincing people that it is happy to be suffering and its your fault you are suffering. Ignorance is bliss….no wonder there is an incentive to keep the oppressed illiterate.

Can you be Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist and Jain at the same time? Chinese can be Buddhist, Confucians and Taoist the same time if you want to put a label to it. I think Chinese should be more appropriately called the 'Students of the World'.
I think I shall stop here. After all, can you tell me the logic of praying to an elephant headed chimera or a lady with a long tongue carrying a skull necklace? No wonder Buddha wanted to enlighten Indians. This was his reason!

Sukhothai wrote:Can you be Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist and Jain at the same time? Chinese can be Buddhist, Confucians and Taoist the same time if you want to put a label to it.
Yes undoubtedly, you can be all the four rolled into one. I fall in one of the cross categories because of my lineage and my current beliefs.
I think Chinese should be more appropriately called the 'Students of the World'.
Indians produce the Teachers of the world!
I think I shall stop here. After all, can you tell me the logic of praying to an elephant headed chimera or a lady with a long tongue carrying a skull necklace? No wonder Buddha wanted to enlighten Indians. This was his reason!
Actually there is no need for logic. You might as well belong to Charvak school of Hinduism and be an atheist and a materialist. Hinduism imposes no bounds or conforming notions on its followers (not even caste). You can deny existence of god and still be a Hindu. No need to follow or pray to any of the two, happy?

PS: BY THE WAY NICE FLAME BAIT. :P

My first reaction on reading Sukhothai's post was TF, why is he talking about religion in an economic thread? But he deserves a fitting reply after abusing Hinduism.

I consider Buddhism as an ill formed, incomplete religion. Look at the four cardinal truths of Buddhism:
1. There is suffering
2. The root of suffering is attachment
3. It is possible to end suffering
4. The eight fold path is the way to end suffering.

1. The first cardinal truth is the biggest lie, and the foundation of the manipulation in the other 'truths'.
There is both suffering AND pleasure in the world. When Siddhartha Gautam (SG) mentions only suffering, he is PREYING on the sorrows and disappointments that all human beings face in their lives.By failing to mention pleasure, he is not being honest with his audience.

2. The second truth is somewhat honest, but it is a half truth at best. Attachment is not only the basis of paiin, but also pleasure and success. Attachment is the reason we fight for our families, our country, our friends and our values.
The correct thing to say is that attachment with sensory perception is the cause of suffering AND pleasure, both failure AND success.
Why this small distinction is necessary will become clear in the next point.

3. The third truth is again misleading in its intention. It is effectively trying to seduce into believing that suffering of sensory variety is going to end. It does not tell people that even pleasure will end. SG is lying again. He should have made clear that detachment from sensory allusions make both pain and pleasure immeasurably small and irrelevant.

4. The last cardinal 'truth' leads to the singh, dhamma, and buddha - IOW Sangham Sharanam Gachchami, etc, etc.
But here also, he pulled a fast one on the world. He first asked people to stop worshipping all the gods, etc, etc. Then he asserted that the path to salvation is by surrendering to him. WTF. All he wanted to do was remove other gods and become god himself. THis is ridiculous.

---------------------
Buddhism does not practice non-violence. It practices violence of a very refined AND hypocritical variety. They claim not to hurt anyone and practice karuna towards all. But why do they do the Kalchakra poojan every 6 years? It is meant for the destruction of Islam. Kalchakra poojan has PERVERTED the practice of Shree vidya, the most creative vidya is now being used for destruction. All the pain and suffering you see in the entire planet today is a result of that creative energy getting perverted. The creative energy that sustains life on this planet is being abused by a bunch of parasitic monks who do nothing and still can afford the best of clothes, vehicles, homes (and women).

And even when Buddhists pray for the destruction of Islam, they are such hypocrites that they will not pick up arms themselves. They expect others (Hindus) to die for them.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

I think you bring up four good points, but I think they should go in Indian texts or strategic scenarios .

Re: India-US News and Discussion

shukla wrote:US scientists hack into India's EVMs, expose flaws
Professor J Alex Halderman of the University of Michigan and his computer science students say they were able to hack into the EVMs to manipulate results.
“Almost every component of this system could be attacked to manipulate election results,” said Halderman. “This proves, once again, that the paperless class of voting systems has intrinsic security problems. It is hard to envision systems like this being used responsibly in elections.”
Direct attack on India's election process.. :eek:
We should thanks this Professor as he has exposed the weakness and the fraud committed to usurp the sentiment of Indian public. Folks confused at GOI not reflecting lndian public opinion or lacking interest in furthering indian gains should find answer in this EVM weakness.
Purush

Post by Purush »

Sukhothai wrote: Why did the Chinese not follow Hinduism but follow Buddhism.
The obvious answer is that they're civilizationally too dumb to understand the intricacies and the depth of the philosophy of Hinduism. They have been conditioned for much of their civilizational existence to unconditionally following orders. They need an easy to follow, nicely compiled bullet point list of religious Dos and Don'ts. There is no scope in their civilization for independent thought or philosophy (That's so very clear even in modern day china..look at how enthusiastically the cultural revolution was executed lol). Buddhism as well as the Abrahamic religions do that gig very well. No wonder the Western religions are expanding like crazy in China and Korea.

And thanks for adding Chipanda to the 'Buddhist list'...I was unsure whether it really fits in...but you seem to think so, and their history of brutality and violence reinforces my point that they have a Borg mentality with an innate propensity for organized violence.

BTW, what's wrong with painting all those violent fruitcakes in the East as 'Buddhists'. If you can label the Maoist twats as 'disgruntled' Hindus, I can do the same for the Khmer Rouge, JVP, CPC and other assorted weirdos and link them to Buddhism. :rotfl:

And Buddhism itself is fragmented ...ever heard of the Hinayana and Mahayana schools? All religions are fragmented..protestant/mormon/sunni/shia/catholic/blah blah. Probably the only exception is the Baha'i faith.

Take this to some other thread if you don't want to get lathicharged by the admins.
I am not wasting anymore time on responding to your bullpakistan....nothing we haven't seen or heard before here.