Indian Military Aviation

Re: Indian Military Aviation

Luxtor wrote:
Well, the buyer of the 160 km range missile then should have the wherewithal to understand that point that you're not supposed to fire a 160 km range missile at a target that is 160 km away. But one can't make a blanket statement that at the extreme ranges the missile would not hit its target. There is a good chance it would hit it (if it has good sensor, guidance and flight control logic). But if aggressive evasive maneuvers are taken by the target aircraft along with decoy dispensing and ECM(jamming), the missile may very well run out of propellant from having to maneuver too much in a chase and not be successful.

Luxtorji of course a BVRAAM of range 160 km may hit a target. I am only talking about the probability of hitting a target at 160 km. That is all. I am sure that one can think of an infinite number of scenarios but let me just post 3 scenarios.

1) Target is 180 km away and heading directly at the BVRAAM firing aircraft. In this case it is theoretically possible to hit him at 160 km, but the missile will not be released because there is no guarantee that the intruder will obligingly keep flying towards the missile

2) Target is 160 km away - you have answered the question yourself. The missile will not be fired

3) The target is less than 160 km away - say 140 km. Here the missile might hit the target. But if the target aircraft detects missile launch and engages afterburner to turn away and run he may be able to cover the extra 21 km to put him out of range.

So we find that the probability of hitting an aircraft gets higher as the aircraft is closer with no guarantee of hitting any aircraft at any range. You yourself surely read the article I posted where the US is stated to call for positive BVR identification followed by the firing of at least 4 BVRAAMs to ensure a 90% kiil probability. Clearly hitting an intruder at 160 km with a 160 km range missile is asking for a near miracle. And that miracle is more likely to occur only when the missile is fired at a range of less than 160 km for reasons that you have yourself stated - i.e the missile will not be fired at any intruder at max range.

May I point out a curious fact in a rather cruel and unkind way? Nothing personal

In a video game where points are scored for hits, only the hits count. In real war, the hits don't count for much because they merely eliminate one intruder, it is the misses that are more important because the misses are the real killers who will come and take you out.

The only analogy is internal security. You may be able to stop 99 terror attack attempts but nobody gives you any credit because nobody sees or feels anything. But the one that gets through is the one that causes mayhem. Alam got personal glory, but Pakiland got ass-whupped. Germans aces got respect and glory, but Germany still lost. In both cases it was the ones they missed that got them.

Kailash wrote:What is stopping us from choosing either option - investing men and material or reverse engineer?
How successful are chinks reverse engineering the Al-31? I was banned in one of the Chinese dominated forum for pointing out that WS-10 success news appears every year. How can it be successful every year?

Chinese have had greater success via hacking computers. There is an article in the latest DTI that is great interest on this topic. Reverse engineering is passe.
srs

Post by srs »

After Brahmos its Nirbhay on the flankers :twisted: :twisted:

http://www.aviationweek.com/aw/generic/ ... 20Maneuver
steve

Post by steve »

putnanja wrote:Sitara Completes Hot Weather Trials
India’s new Intermediate Jet Trainer (IJT) has successfully completed its hot weather trials at Jaisalmer.
IJT is said to have met all the technical and system performance specifications during the hot weather trials. “The environmental system air-conditioning inside the cockpit, environmental control systems, and factors for pilot comforts were checked. Representatives from the Indian Air Force’s Aircraft and Systems Testing Establishment (ASTE) also participated in the trials,” a source says.
During the Jaisalmer trials, the aircraft were flown at an ambient surface temperature of 44 C. A total of 13 flights were flown and various functional parameters of the aircraft were tested and monitored, including cockpit ambient conditions, avionics, oil and hydraulic systems, aircraft performance, instrumentation and engine bay temperatures.

“These parameters were compared against the trials conducted at Bangalore as well as the technical specifications and air staff requirements laid down by the IAF,” a source added.

Now IJT is set to begin its spin program, after which the aircraft will be ready for its initial operating capability phase late this year.
IJT will cost an estimated $10 million each, making it the best-priced aircraft in its segment, sources say.

Thank you very much for posting this news. I have been waiting for this news for a long time.

Willy wrote:Engine research in india has been driven by results or end applications.

Can someone tell
why a country like sweden which rolled out series of successful military aircraft dint go for a indigenous engine?
why Israel didn't venture into engine manufacturing,even after successful in many other military fronts?
why Japan which had successfully manufactured 100's of car engines didnt venture into this?(ww2 sanctions?)
why SOKO didnt venture into Engine Manufacturing?
why the chinese were not able to develop their own successful engines(incl copy cats)?

Engine Manufacturing is the most difficult one,and many didn't want to waste money,time and effort in this.

And we should stop worrying now about sanctions,we are not the 90's India,the world needs us more than we need the world.even if there are sanctions we will wriggle out from it,we shouldn't try to manufacture every nut and bolt in the world, in fear of future sanctions.
IMHO

The Europeans and the Japanese dont need to bother about engine development. They have uncle sam to fall back on. Not the same case with India. We are prone to sanctions. Yes engine development is a hard one. Ask the Chinese. We shouldnt give up on R&D in engines. We need to be self sufficient.[/quote]

I visited the DEFEXPO 2010 EFJET stall.

I asked the gentleman how much would it cost (today) to develop a entirely new jey engine and how much time would it take,

ANSWER

Costs : US$ 5 - 10 billion
Time : 5 - 10 years.

The EJ 2000 started with the conceptualisation and project definition stage in 1985 !!!

So me thinks that designing a jet engine is a no joke.

But me also thinks. There Is No Alternative. We have to start today to have a decent engine. I am sure we can make a decent engine say suitable for a trainer, in say 2 - 4 years and a fraction of the cost of development in Europe.

Why cannot we employ Europeans. Maybe we pay them US$ 250,000 each and get the work done. I am sure a private company will/may do it. But if HAL vene talks about it all hell will break loose, with the unions and asociations.

X Posted.

Two Indian Coast Guard RFI’s for a total of 30 Helicopters.

First an RFI for 16 Ship Borne Light Helicopters. The Ship Borne helicopters are for Maritime Surveillance, Interdiction and SAR with a MTOW not exceeding 6,500 Kgs and capable of operations off OPVs and AOPVs. Details here:

RFI Ship Borne Light Helicopter

Then a second Coast Guard RFI for an additional 14 Twin Engine Shore based Helicopters. Helicopters again for Maritime Surveillance, Interdiction and SAR but this time with a MTOW not exceeding 12,000 Kg capable of stage through operations off OPVs and AOPVs with an MTOW reduced to 10,000 Kgs. More details here:

RFI Shore Based Helicopter

Austin wrote:Ramana the issue is they misled every one till the last moment , if they knew they couldnt develop turbofan Kaveri they could have gone for external expertise much earlier in the program like they are planning to do it now.

But they spent ~ 3,000 crore in two decades and they do not have an engine for Tejas , but never mind they have something that can power small naval ships.
I am nit much worried about the Rs 3,000 crores. But losing 20 years is too much !!!

srs

Post by srs »

For Europeans thr was no tech sanctions. but for india thr was and so the prgm got delayed. I think what evr we have achieved is in itself a gr8 step. we shud move forward based on the experience gained from kaveri. if we kill the prgm today it will be a disaster.
Venu

Post by Venu »

srs, you better type words in full rather than sms type, lest you will be on the receiving side from our bredators :) Just a word of caution.

And oh, by-the-way, I second your view.

srs should change his nick to sms
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

srs wrote:After Brahmos its Nirbhay on the flankers :twisted: :twisted:

http://www.aviationweek.com/aw/generic/ ... 20Maneuver
Its a very good article,lets hope the missile is operation by 2015-16.

early days yet. lets get the GLCM into service first. but a good thought.

srs wrote:Indian scientist develops technology to prevent mid-air collisions‎
link http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 901062.cms

Dr Radhakant Padhi, a 37-year-old scientist from Bangalore’s Indian Institute of Science (IISc), has developed a technology that can prevent mid-air collisions of both manned and unmanned UAVs. Infact, he has received a funding of $80,000 from the Air Force Research Lab, US, to develop collision avoidance algorithms for UAVs.
I suppose that we do not have funds for such research programs.

But IAF/IA/GOI/IAAI will happily pay $ 8000000 to a US company to develop the same/similar thing

arya

Post by arya »

Thank You Nitis

Fellas, I am moving some posts related to castes / reservation system to trash. please refrain from this line of posting
srs

Post by srs »

Thanks Venu (AWACS) for the early warning :D. I will take necessary counter measures.
vardhank

Post by vardhank »

Philip, in the International Naval Discussion, says:
I have suggested for decades that for all classes of warships larger than 10-12,000t,they should be flatotops,from where STOVL aircraft can operate.The Japanese and S.Koreans have done exactly that with their "pocket carriers" ,which will operate such aircraft types in future,masquerading under the guise of "destroyers".
Sounds like a pretty fair plan to me, with one problem: STOVL fighters. There aren't many around.
The options, as I see them:
1) Upgrade the Harriers we have, buy up all the second-hand ones we can (already happening, but will still keep them going only up to about 2020 at the very outside). We'd need more, and the Harrier, doll though it is, simply IS old and in need of a faster, more capable replacement.
2) Buy a smallish number (~30) of F-35Bs. I'm not happy with this - I remain leery of the US - but with a small number, and using these 'pocket carriers' largely as a supplement to the larger carriers, it might still work well.
3) Get a proper fleet of F-35B and Cs. Even worse dependence-wise, but great for increased commonality, and gives us a potent strike jet, better optimised for the role than the MiG-29K.
4) Link up with someone and develop a new STOVL fighter. Nicest option, and best long-term, but most difficult as I can't see that many takers. The only route I can see here is to convince Russia to get some 'pocket carriers' of her own, and restart the Yak-141 programme.

Any other ideas?
Boudhayan

Post by Boudhayan »

vardhank wrote:Philip, in the International Naval Discussion, says:
I have suggested for decades that for all classes of warships larger than 10-12,000t,they should be flatotops,from where STOVL aircraft can operate.The Japanese and S.Koreans have done exactly that with their "pocket carriers" ,which will operate such aircraft types in future,masquerading under the guise of "destroyers".
Sounds like a pretty fair plan to me, with one problem: STOVL fighters. There aren't many around.
The options, as I see them:
1) Upgrade the Harriers we have, buy up all the second-hand ones we can (already happening, but will still keep them going only up to about 2020 at the very outside). We'd need more, and the Harrier, doll though it is, simply IS old and in need of a faster, more capable replacement.

Any other ideas?
I thought there were plans for the IN to buy some second hand Harriers but that has'nt happened. Did I miss any new news about this ? Gurus please enlighten !!!
vardhank

Post by vardhank »

Hmm. I could have looked at the wrong source, of course :D
The Indian Navy is in the process of upgrading up to fifteen Sea Harriers in collaboration with Israel by installing the Elta EL/M-2032 radar and the Rafael 'Derby' medium range air to air missile.[61][62] This will enable the Sea Harrier to remain in Indian service until beyond 2012, and also see limited service off the new carriers it will acquire by that time frame.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sea_harrier

IAF to kick-start airfield modernisation (MAFI) by mid-June

10 May 2010 8ak: The Indian Air Force (IAF) hopes to kick-start its $238-million (rumoured amount of lowest bidder) Modernisation of Airfield Infrastructure (MAFI) project, which envisages upgrading 30 airfields, in the first phase, over the next few weeks. A senior IAF official told 8ak “the upgrade is expected to start by mid-June/July. The IAF is carrying out the upgrade with the aim of making all the airbases in the country capable of handling all kinds of aircrafts operated by the IAF at all times.” Adding further, the official said, “As per the plan, first phase of project was supposed to end by 2012, but once the contract is signed the IAF will leave no room for delay and push for an early completion of Phase-I.”

The project has been dogged with controversy, the last of which was when in a rare move, Selex Sistemi Integrati, a Finmeccanica company sued the Ministry of Defence for alleged violations of procedures. Amongst other things it stated that a competitor was providing untested equipment. An industry source said (*rumour) that the real reason was that Tata had tied up with Selex but dropped them in favour of Raytheon at the final stages (rumour*). Another analyst had expressed surprise at a foreign company suing the MoD.

The project when completed will provide the airfields with the latest equipment and aids such as Tactical Air Navigation, Integrated Landing Systems, upgraded communication systems, airfield approach aid systems, Digital Measuring Systems, VHF Omni Range, Range Navigation aids and modern meteorological facilities. This will allow India to maximise the use of advanced communication/landing/tactical systems on the slew of modern transport and fighter aircraft it is buying. Incidentally, 16 of the airports are near the border with China. :twisted:

The Request for Proposal (RFP) for airfield upgradation was issued in 2007 and sent to various global players which include US defence major Raytheon bidding jointly with Tata Power, French Siemens and Thales and Italian consortium Finmeccanica. The first airfield to be upgraded in the first phase would be the IAF airbase at Hindon, as the first C-130J military transport aircraft is expected to arrive at this base some time in December this year.

In the first phase of modernising 30 airfields will be completed in 42 months. The Centre has made a provisional allocation of Rs.180 crore for the project in the 2009-10 budget, and the sum will be released after the contract is signed. Phase II of the project, under which 20 airfields would be upgraded, will start after the completion of Phase-I.

The latest issue of Combat Aircraft has a picture (albeit quite small) of an IAF An-32 in Kiev, complete with one Indian flag and one Ukrainian flag jutting out of the open cockpit windows..and tri-coloured balloons on the An-32's side as well..:D

anyway, it states that-

"The biggest aircraft repair and modernisation deal in Ukranian history got underway on March 11 when the first Indian AF An-32 (Serial K2670) was ceremoniously inducted into the State Aircraft Repair Plant 410 in Kiev. From 1984-1991 the IAF recieved 118 hot and high optimized AN-32s from Aviant, and the Ukranian plant is now comprehensively modernising the aircraft.

All 105 remaining IAF An-32s will be cycled through the upgrade over the next five years. The first 40 aircraft will be completed in Kiev, with the remaining 65 to be refurbished at the repair facility at BRD-1 in Kanpur. The contract includes general repair, wing strengthening, installation of modern avionics (TCAS, GPS and enhanced ground proximity warning system, new radar, two new cockpit multi-functional display and upgraded AI-200 Series 5 turboprop engines (with reduced noise level and radically increased service life, from 6,000 to 20,000 hours). The contract valued at nearly $400 million, will see 10 aircraft upgraded this year and returned to India (serials K2670, K2676, K2679, K2681 and K2698).
"

This is one amazingly cost-effective upgrade..new avionics, cockpit displays, new engines, wing strengthening, general repairs for 105 aircraft for just around $4 million per aircraft ! The reason I say that is extremely cost-effective is that these overhauls and upgrades are very labour-intensive and to think that in addition to all the equipment that they will order, they can finish upgrading each aircraft for that sum is seriously amazing..similar upgrades for a Western sourced transport would cost us an arm-and-a-leg.

Same magazine had an article on the IAF's MiG-21 Bison (but it had no new details so I'm not going to post anything on it) and it mentioned that the Bison upgrade based on the MiG-21-93 concept cost $2 million per aircraft..I cannot even imagine a more cost-effective upgrade..the writer points out that the IAF basically got a fleet of 125 multi-role MiG-21 Bisons for the price of a handful of new generation fighters, albeit with limited residual structural life.

Kartik wrote: This is one amazingly cost-effective upgrade..new avionics, cockpit displays, new engines, wing strengthening, general repairs for 105 aircraft for just around $4 million per aircraft ! The reason I say that is extremely cost-effective is that these overhauls and upgrades are very labour-intensive and to think that in addition to all the equipment that they will order, they can finish upgrading each aircraft for that sum is seriously amazing..similar upgrades for a Western sourced transport would cost us an arm-and-a-leg.
I doubt if the upgrade includes new engines. I remember reading through press reports at that time, including Indian Express, and they all talked about extending the engine life of current engines. Plus the figure of $4 million including new engines appears to be very less.

Antonov website has this to say about the upgrade:

The AN-32: Further Prospects
ANTONOV ASTC, jointly with AVIANT Kyiv State Aviation plant, IVCHENKO PROGRESS Design Bureau and MOTOR SICH JSC (Ukraine), developed a number of procedures in order to renew and upgrade the AN-32 airplanes being operated. Implementation of such procedures in cooperation with aeronautical enterprises of India will allow to: 1) prolong an aircraft service life up to 20 years with further prolongation up to 25-30 years. At that, it is proposed to carry out less laborious reconditioning repair instead of overhaul; 2) increase an engine life to 1st overhaul from 1,000-2,000 up to 4,000 hours, a specified life from 3,000-6,000 up to 20,000 hours; 3) increase a payload; 4) extend a flight range by 1,000 km due to installation of additional fuel tanks total of 3,000 l capacity; 5) advance electronic equipment; 6) reduce a noise level in a cockpit; 7) perform maritime patrol and search-and-rescue missions. After completing the corresponding development, the AN-32 airplanes will be able to be fruitfully operated in the sky of India for many years, successfully performing preset tasks.

ANTONOV ASTC started developing a deeper modification of this successful aircraft powered with turboprop engines of a new generation. As a result, a cabin noise level, fuel consumption, empty weight of the aircraft will be essentially reduced; ability to be operated from unpaved strips will be improved; runway length required will be shorter; some other performance will be improved too. Besides, the new modification will differ from the basic AN-32 aircraft with advanced systems and avionics. Soft tanks in a wing center-section will be replaced with integral fuel tanks. As a result a fuel tank capacity will be more than 1.3 times increased, a transit range will be more than twice extended. The new aircraft of the family will meet all the International requirements to light military and civil transports. Due to good combination of high performance and a comparatively low price, it will be able to successfully compete with analogous aircraft at the world market. It is planned to set a new AN-32 aircraft production under a wide co-operation of enterprises of Ukraine, the Russian Federation, India and other countries.
Boudhayan

Post by Boudhayan »

vardhank wrote:Hmm. I could have looked at the wrong source, of course :D
The Indian Navy is in the process of upgrading up to fifteen Sea Harriers in collaboration with Israel by installing the Elta EL/M-2032 radar and the Rafael 'Derby' medium range air to air missile.[61][62] This will enable the Sea Harrier to remain in Indian service until beyond 2012, and also see limited service off the new carriers it will acquire by that time frame.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sea_harrier
That was the first source I had checked after your post 8) :oops: :mrgreen: but I doubt if the second hand Harriers have been bought by India at all. How could it miss everyone ??? :evil: Can it be that there were a few frames kept in reserve which are being included in the upgrade ??? I can be wrong in this though :( any Gurus can enlighten us please ???
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

i don't think we have fifteen Sea Harriers in fleet now due to recent crashes i put figure of 10-12 as the best ,some say figure is below 10 .

karan_mc wrote:i don't think we have fifteen Sea Harriers in fleet now due to recent crashes i put figure of 10-12 as the best ,some say figure is below 10 .
In fact I seem to recall the figure 8.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

dame man why are we upgrading them such a waste of resource ,extra stock of derby cannot be fired from 29k so they have to wait till Tejas is inducted in to navy
vardhank

Post by vardhank »

It's still a very versatile jet, na? I honestly think we need a new Harrier.
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

AFAIR Indian navy has 11 Sea Harrier's of which 8 were upgraded with Israeli equipments.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

last crash was of upgraded harrier

karan_mc wrote:i don't think we have fifteen Sea Harriers in fleet now due to recent crashes i put figure of 10-12 as the best ,some say figure is below 10 .
In fact I seem to recall the figure 8.
Yup.. It came in a show that only Seven harriers were currently operational on the INS Viraat... and atleast one aircraft will be on training duty...

we already have the 2 seat trainer version in adequate numbers. however I don't remember if those are combat capable, probably not.

Tajikistan: The modernization of Ayni aerodrome is finished
Meanwhile, in the last years mass media of Tajikistan, Russia, India and Pakistan have been paying special attention to the use of Ayni aerodrome. With the reference to their military sources Indian media reported the intention of this country to establish the air force base in Tajikistan. In their turn, Tajik military disposed such rumors. Russia also announced its intention to use this aerodrome. During his last year visit to Dushanbe RF Defense Minister Anatoly Serdyukov announced the Russian-Tajik decision to jointly use Ayni aerodrome.

IAF C-130J trials to begin soon

11 May 2010 8ak: Brahmand reports Lockheed Martin will begin flight trials of first of the six C-130J Super Hercules tactical transport aircraft for the Indian Air Force (IAF) in a few weeks. Tribune quoted a Lockheed Martin spokesperson as saying, “The first aircraft is expected to be ready for its maiden test flight by mid-summer. All six aircraft would be fully assembled by spring 2011, with the first aircraft scheduled to be delivered to the IAF in December this year.”

In an exclusive interview to 8ak in February, during the Def Expo-2010, Lockheed Martin's Vice President for Business Development, Orville Prins, had revealed that the IAF can expect to get an early delivery of the first plane in Dec 2010 or Jan 2011 as against the contracted date of Feb 2011.

Once the flight trials for C-130J would be completed in the U.S., the aircraft would be further tested at in Indian conditions at the Hindon airbase near New Delhi before its formal induction in to the IAF transport fleet. The decision to buy six C-130J aircrafts from the U.S. opened a new area of defence cooperation between the two nations, even though India had used U.S. military planes like Dakota, Packet and B-24 bombers, which were inducted by the pre-independence Royal Air Force, a gradual shift towards buying military hardware from Russians had been made with fresh induction of transport aircrafts like An-32 and IL-76.

Meanwhile, IAF is keen to buy six additional C-130J transport aircraft. The additional orders will be part of the US$1.05 billion contract for six C-130J transport aircraft signed between India and the U.S. using the FMS route in 2008, which gave India an option to increase the aircraft order to 12. The IAF is keen to buy the aircraft because of its ability to land and take off even in improvised or short airfields, and without lights. What has also impressed the IAF top brass is the performance of the J model in Hot and Humid conditions, which can reduce the useful load of older Hercules or similar transport aircraft by 50-60%.

The C-130J Super Hercules is the newest version of the U.S. Air Force's primary cargo and personnel transport aircraft, the C-130 Hercules. The plane is externally similar in appearance to the older C-130E Hercules. But the J version features new Rolls-Royce turboprop engines with composite propeller blades that generate 29 percent more thrust while increasing fuel efficiency by 15 percent. It has digital avionics, including head-up displays for each pilot, is far more reliable and requires only three crew members.
Boudhayan

Post by Boudhayan »

This might be a bit OT. Admins please let me know in which thread I should post this but since we are discussing about Sea Harriers, thought of asking it here itself.

If we are planning to retire the Sea Harriers once the Mig 29Ks are operational on the Gorki (around 2013 I believe if everything goes file), what is the point in upgrading the Harriers ? Would we be still using them after Gorki comes in ? and what would we be doing with INS Virat once Gorki comes in ? would we be using it as a Heli carrier or a landing/carrier for troops or would we be retiring it ?

again, please do not start jumping on me for posting this in this thread. This thread might not be the correct one for posting this question. Really sorry for this OT question :(

IN has invested in a RR Pegasus engine overhaul facility in Goa. I dont think it was assumed so many would crash and reduce our inventory to a handful, so quickly.

to make use of the sunk investment and tide things over until 2014 IOC for the gorshkov Mig29K airwing on the ship, they are investing in upg ....

maybe plan is to retain the VSTOL pool of operational knowledge and qualified people until we order JSF for ADS2 (60kt INS Vishaal) :)

maybe plan is to retain the VSTOL pool of operational knowledge and qualified people until we order JSF for ADS2 (60kt INS Vishaal)
A 60Kt carrier in all probability will be CTOL. So maybe JSF C version or maybe the AMCA carrier version (one can always hope of course)..

JSF would also imply american EM catapults (if such be possible on COGAG propulsion). yes JSF-C is also the much less risky option
as the USN will be using it . its payload and bringback will likely be higher due to conventional takeoff.
K_Rohit

Post by K_Rohit »

Singha wrote:IN has invested in a RR Pegasus engine overhaul facility in Goa. I dont think it was assumed so many would crash and reduce our inventory to a handful, so quickly.

to make use of the sunk investment and tide things over until 2014 IOC for the gorshkov Mig29K airwing on the ship, they are investing in upg ....

maybe plan is to retain the VSTOL pool of operational knowledge and qualified people until we order JSF for ADS2 (60kt INS Vishaal) :)
Dont we need to upgrade the SHARs to keep them operational on the Viraat? Else, we may as well dispose her off. Without a formidable air compenent, shes just dead meat.