LCH and other Helicopters Discussion Thread

Re: LCH discussion

mandrake wrote:Link
IR-suppressor adorns the ALH
Wednesday, 16 January 2008

The performance of indigenously developed IR-suppressor for engine exhaust duct of Advanced Light Helicopter masterminded by the Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIT Bombay is proved successful by ground tests conducted in RWR&DC HAL - Bangalore, in Dec'07. The non-specific stealth design concepts behind this critical component will soon be published in AIAA's Journal of Propulsion & Power, authored by Prof. Mahulikar & his M.Tech. students, Mr. H.S.S. Prasad & Mr. S.K. Potnuru.
Reported in 2008 and even after 2.5 years still no sign of IR-suppressors on ALH/LCH? for LCH its even more crucial as over Himalayas under extreme cold, it will light up with a big beep on Stingers.

Sid wrote: Reported in 2008 and even after 2.5 years still no sign of IR-suppressors on ALH/LCH? for LCH its even more crucial as over Himalayas under extreme cold, it will light up with a big beep on Stingers.
I've written about this earlier. Just go back 1 or 2 pages. IIT has been working on this for a while now and the LCH already features one type of a design (BHO) that suppresses IR signature. And right now, the aim is to validate the LCH's flight characteristics. It's also well above the original design intent weight. When they manage to reduce the weight substantially, they'll be able to add additional IR suppressors.
Sagrawal

Post by Sagrawal »

So what did your panwalla say about the video????[/quote]

I am going to meet him this weekend. Will let you guys know.
chiru

Post by chiru »

please bring it to the blore BR meet if you can or please upload it somewhere and give the links to the mods atleast ...so they can send it to us
Sagrawal

Post by Sagrawal »

chiru wrote:please bring it to the blore BR meet if you can or please upload it somewhere and give the links to the mods atleast ...so they can send it to us
I will bring it to Blore BR meet.
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

Anantz wrote:Caught the LCH doing a couple of rounds above HAL airport just now. It was accompanied by a chase Dhruv. After 3 - 4 rounds, the Dhruv gave way and the LCH started flying solo, it flew a circle towards Leela palace side and turned around towards the airport. Was an awesome site... The chopper sure looks sleek!
I assume you do not have a terrace view nor a good camera. Else we could make you a top notch reporter.
BTW did anyone notice the Nimbu under the wheels :D :eek: :mrgreen:

It was mentioned by another forum member. Unfortunately, I have failed to spot any pic showing that. Could you please post a pic with the nimbu highlighted?
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

Gaur wrote:It was mentioned by another forum member. Unfortunately, I have failed to spot any pic showing that. Could you please post a pic with the nimbu highlighted?
Link added Look out just below the wheel for the yellow color stuff
srs

Post by srs »

Any update on LCH??? any new pics?? video??? :(
Sagrawal

Post by Sagrawal »

srs wrote:Any update on LCH??? any new pics?? video??? :(
Sorry guys, I asked my Chaiwalla and the verdict is not to make the LCH video public yet. I will post it on BRF as soon as any LCH video is released in public domain officialy. I dont want to be the guy who leaked it first.
Venu

Post by Venu »

Yeah. Hold it for now. May be they don't want to release its videos untill the official presentation to babus.

Any idea when it is going to take place? I thought they would do it towards april end, but it didn't happen.

pushkar.bhat wrote:
Gaur wrote:It was mentioned by another forum member. Unfortunately, I have failed to spot any pic showing that. Could you please post a pic with the nimbu highlighted?
Link added Look out just below the wheel for the yellow color stuff
Thanks. I am able to spot it now.
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

LCH to make official first flight on 21st.
http://angle-of-attack.blogspot.com/201 ... ht-on.html

lch is good looking. good hunting!

smpratik wrote:LCH to make official first flight on 21st.
Have seen it flying a number of times now. However, no client meetings on 21st. Period. :mrgreen:

Actually it would be great to see the LCH fly like a standard Dhruv. However on the two occasions that I saw it fly - it was very very tame. Slow, level flight. Not that I am complaining. the testing has to be done in whatever way the testers deem fit and not to satisfy my whims.

shiv wrote:Actually it would be great to see the LCH fly like a standard Dhruv. However on the two occasions that I saw it fly - it was very very tame. Slow, level flight. Not that I am complaining. the testing has to be done in whatever way the testers deem fit and not to satisfy my whims.

Shiv ji,

These are the very first series of flights of a new prototype aircraft.

Its all experimental at this stage and prototype flying quite dangerous and demanding.

Most performance predictions at this stage are theoretical.

I don't wonder that they are starting out in a "tame" manner. This is infinitely better than the approach of some of the other experimental flight test groups.
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

shiv wrote:Actually it would be great to see the LCH fly like a standard Dhruv. However on the two occasions that I saw it fly - it was very very tame. Slow, level flight. Not that I am complaining. the testing has to be done in whatever way the testers deem fit and not to satisfy my whims.
LCH flew close to 150kmphs on one occasion. We can assume that it will fly like Dhruv and other helos after the official test.

smpratik wrote: LCH flew close to 150kmphs on one occasion. We can assume that it will fly like Dhruv and other helos after the official test.

Oh I am sure they will do a super job. No Indian must forget how competently the LCA test program has been conducted given the constraints we face. The Dhruv is an absolute pleasure to watch as part of the Sarangs.

That does it... I am taking 21st off an perching myself on the Manipal Hospital's terrace.. That should give me a good view of the events, if they are held in HAL airport.. Or drive down to Dad's office and catch the show from there...

Good luck

Bala Vignesh wrote:
That does it... I am taking 21st off an perching myself on the Manipal Hospital's terrace.. That should give me a good view of the events, if they are held in HAL airport.. Or drive down to Dad's office and catch the show from there...
Perch with a good camera - preferably a camcorder. I suspect there will be more than an LCH show. there may be an LCA flyby as well. Just guessing - assuming there is a planned event for some minishter-shinishter
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

I have been informed that the LCH did 280 Kmph on one occasion and apparently it was not doing full throttle.
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Hi, I have been following this forum for quite sometime now. Cannot wait to see the first live video of the LCH.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

i am more interested in watch Lch firing weapons then simple flying

**********PAGING BRFites**************

We have an open offer from a fellow BRFites to lend his fundoo SLR to click the pic of LCH when it officialy flies on 21st. Any takers?

Contact me at rohitvats29atgmaildotcom.

karan_mc wrote:i am more interested in watch Lch firing weapons then simple flying
Sir, I am sure that everyone of us is waiting for that... but its a going to be sometime before that ever happens.. the WSI dhruv itself hasn't done that AFAIK... By the Way, any updates on WSI Dhruv???
vipins

Post by vipins »

Marten wrote:Past three days, we've been seeing *a helo* flying around at about 5:15-5:45pm over the airport and surrounding areas - CVR Nagar and KGDPura (perhaps someone in DARE has had a word with the pilots so the staff can enjoy the sight as well). Last night, we saw a couple of helos cruise in for a landing at around 8:30pm, but are not sure which crafts but they eased in gently into the landing and did not hover into a landing.
A white chetak and a sarang team dhruv is making lots of rounds around golfcourse area for past 2-3 days.Also saw a LCA took off with loud sound some 3-4 days back.It was carrying 2 white drop tanks .That was the first time I saw a LCA in realty. :D

Bala Vignesh wrote:
karan_mc wrote:i am more interested in watch Lch firing weapons then simple flying
Sir, I am sure that everyone of us is waiting for that... but its a going to be sometime before that ever happens.. the WSI dhruv itself hasn't done that AFAIK... By the Way, any updates on WSI Dhruv???

Such are the pressures of PR!!

LCH has yet to auto rotate but panwalla says that they have already flown with external stores.

Where is the hurry saar??

After these very few hours, they seem to have dispensed with the chase aircraft.

Not prudent, IMVHO.

its more urgent the WSI dhruv enter service asap and plug gaps. it has fallen off the radar lately.

chetak wrote: Such are the pressures of PR!!

LCH has yet to auto rotate but panwalla says that they have already flown with external stores.

After these very few hours, they seem to have dispensed with the chase aircraft.

Not prudent, IMVHO.
Sir, I accept Haste makes waste... So, let them take their own sweet time.. But let the final product be the best... not some compromised solution... And btw sir, these are just desires... we haven't put in any time frames on them have we...

Bala Vignesh wrote:
chetak wrote: Such are the pressures of PR!!

Not prudent, IMVHO.
Sir, I accept Haste makes waste... So, let them take their own sweet time.. But let the final product be the best... not some compromised solution... And btw sir, these are just desires... we haven't put in any time frames on them have we...

Bala Vignesh ji,

Many featherbrained things are happening preparatory to saint antony's visit, methinks.
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

LCH is flying with dummies, i think they are simulating weight of missiles as well.

smpratik wrote:LCH is flying with dummies, i think they are simulating weight of missiles as well.
smpratik ji,

Please don't mind saar.

Weight is not the issue, aerodynamics is.
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

@Mr chetak
Actually both are, its also important to know how the aircraft performs when loaded.

smpratik wrote:@Mr chetak
Actually both are, its also important to know how the aircraft performs when loaded.
True sir, but for that first we have to evaluate aerodynamics of the airframe and them go with the weight
sathyaC

Post by sathyaC »

smpratik wrote:LCH is flying with dummies, i think they are simulating weight of missiles as well.
smpratik ji,

Please don't mind saar.

Weight is not the issue, aerodynamics is.
weight is very important as their will lot changes in the AC as it makes turns with wrights

I think that when you have helicopter shaped lump of metal and composites sitting in front of you you need to know
1) Can the damn thing take off?
2) If it takes off can it fly?
3) If it flies can it land?(safely)
4) if it can do all 3 above can it fly like it is supposed to fly?
5) Can it fly like it is supposed to fly while carrying a payload?
6) Can it actually use that payload in the designed manner?

I think we have reached point 4.

That's what chetak ji is trying to say, we have jumped straight to point 5 without validating all previous points. That too in first 10 or so flights.

Safety should not compromised just to put up a show for some babu. Report on Saras proto crash is a must read for all HAL personals.

Safety has been compromised? I dont think so