Tibet watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
joshvajohn

Re: Tibet watch

Post by joshvajohn »

Photocopiers banned in Tibet !
Monday, May 24 2010 @ 09:18 pm BST
China constantly tells us how much life is improving in Tibet.....

Well now the communists have banned Photocopiers in Tibet, a Chinese Shop owner in Lhasa (most shop owners are Chinese since they get massive incentives to move to Tibet) put it like this...

"sometimes people come in and photocopy documents written in Tibetan"

Well there you have it, people photocopying pages in their own language, it does n't get worse than that apparently as the shop owner helpfully explains...

"We can't read Tibetan so these documents could be "Illegal Pamphlets".

Well there you have it, in Tibet using your own language is now a subversive act.

Makes you think how London might be now if the second world war had not turned out as it did.
http://www.tibetcustom.com/article.php/ ... 4211802311

* Keep off Tibet, Taiwan: China tells US

http://www.ptinews.com/news/667168_Keep ... a-tells-US

While Chinese provide help in some ways to Maoists through Nepalese Maoists and so on. It is essential to closely check all those transit points from Nepal the supply of arms and also along Bangladesh borders. Also Chinese plans to build around India a strategical arm boundary using Srilanka, Myanamar and so on then it is India's turn to disturb Chinese red army by probagating democracy and freedom on the one hand and also develop Tibetian army to fight for themselves. Unless Tibet is given her due freedom the Asia is going to be tensed all the time. Red Army is going to cause a lot of troubles for smaller nations and then to India and others around China.
naren

Post by naren »

English Translation (from the Tibetan) of Wang Lixiong’s interview with His Holiness the Dalai Lama on May 21, 2010
Question: Your Holiness Dalai Lama, how are you? I want to ask you about the religious leadership of Tibet in the future. What is your view on the possibility of “two successors”, as happened in the case of the 11th Panchen Lama?

His Holiness: In 1969 I had officially stated that the Tibetan people will decide whether the institution of the Dalai Lama needs to continue or not. Similarly, in 1992, I had issued an official statement in which I had stated that when the time comes for the Tibetans in Tibet and in exile to be reunited, I would not assume any position. The people who are currently assuming responsibilities in Tibet would have to shoulder that responsibility.

Then, since 2001, if we look at the exile leadership, a system has been established to elect (in a five-year term) the leadership of the Central Tibetan Administration and this is being practiced now.

Therefore, I do not place much importance on the issue of the Dalai Lama. I will do whatever I can while I am alive. I do not have any other consideration or responsibility.

It looks like the Chinese Communist Party seems to be more concerned about the institution of the Dalai Lama than I. :rotfl: Thus, the situation could become like that of the two Panchen Lamas. It will be an additional problem without any benefit.
Question: Hello, your Holiness. Regardless of what political path China takes in the future, the gap between ordinary Tibetans and ordinary Han Chinese is getting bigger all the time. Many Tibetan people are simplistic in saying the problem is only Han rule of Tibet. In fact we Han people are also victims of the same dictatorial rule. How do you view this problem?

His Holiness: The Chinese-Tibetan relationship did not begin in 1949-50 but is over one thousand years old. During this period sometimes we had very cordial relationship while at other times not too cordial relationship. Currently we are in a period where we do not have cordial relationship. The cause for this is governmental policies that have caused the differences and not the people. Therefore, the people-to-people relationship is becoming important.

In free countries where there are Tibetans and Chinese, we have been making efforts to establish friendship associations between the two communities and these have been having impact. One main problem is that Deng Xiaoping’s Seeking Truth from Facts is not being implemented. Hu Yaobang had made efforts to understand the real situation. Recently, Wen Jiabao has talked about Hu Yaobang’s work attitude of not relying merely on official report but understanding the situation through contact with the people. There are many drawbacks in China because there is no investigating into the reality of the issue in a transparent manner. If there is transparency, it will help in reducing corruption.
Question: Another issue. Do you have any way of maintaining good relations between

Hans and Tibetans?

His Holiness: I travel to many countries and have always been adopting the attitude that we are all same human beings. This has enabled me to have good relationship. The Tibetans and Chinese are not only same as human beings, but also have historical relationship. If we are clear and establish equal relationship, all problems will be resolved.

I have been meeting regularly with people who come from mainland China. They are sincere and I am able to establish close relationship. It becomes problematic when there are doubts and suspicions. This is not just with Chinese and Tibetans but throughout the world. This needs to be resolved.
Question: I would like to ask the Great Teacher why your description of Tibet in the past—as a harmonious Buddhist society—differs so radically from the Chinese government’s description of an evil slave society. Many drawings and other visual materials document the cruelty and iniquity of a slave society. Can you explain why this discrepancy is so big?

His Holiness: It is true that the Tibet of the past, prior to 1950, was backward and in general, feudal. No Tibetan says the former old society was like heaven. Today, no Tibetan, in Tibet and outside, thinks or even dreams of reviving the former old society. On the other hand, the Chinese Government’s charge that the past old Tibetan society was like hell is an exaggeration.

In the past there were films made about Tibetan history (by the Chinese). Some people told me that when these films were being shot, onlookers were laughing because these were not conforming to facts. They said a very strange film was being shot.

During the Cultural Revolution it was being said that the Revolution was a great success. Subsequently, when they could not cover the reality the position changed.

Similarly, the Tiananmen issue is known all over the world but the Chinese Government seems to maintain that it virtually did not happen by saying it was just a few (people). What is important is that you all should undertake scientifically sound objective investigations.

I always even tell the Tibetans that they should not base (their decision) merely because I have said it, but that they should investigate. From a Buddhist practitioner’s perspective, we need to investigate even the Buddha’s teachings.
Question: If the Chinese Government were to allow you to return to Tibet, and were to grant self-rule to Tibet, what kind of political system would you like to see in Tibet?

His Holiness: That needs to be decided by majority preference by Tibetans in Tibet, particularly intellectuals, through seeking truth from facts. In exile, in the past 50 years our Administration is run along democratic lines.
Question: I would like to ask the Dalai Lama a sharp question. The fiercest criticism that Chinese government officials level against you is that you demand there be no troops in Tibet. This, they say, is evidence that you are asking for independence in disguise. Are you maintaining your demand of no troops in Tibet?

His Holiness: I have always been making it clear that under the autonomy Foreign Relations and Defence will be undertaken by the Central Government. In the past, I had expressed my dream of making Tibet a Zone of Peace in the future through friendship and trust with neighboring India and Nepal and others. This is not just limited to Tibet but I have always been saying that the entire world needs to be demilitarized. There is no need to be concerned over this point.
Question: In view of how things stand at present, the chances of a peaceful resolution of the problem of Tibet during the Dalai Lama’s lifetime seems almost zero. May I ask how His Holiness views the current prospects for Tibet?

His Holiness: I divide the period since the establishment of the People’s Republic of China into four eras: Mao Zedong era, Deng Xiaoping era, Jiang Zemin era, and Hu Jintao era. These have seen much changes based on the reality of the situation. Therefore, I feel there will be a change to the nationality policy, and it needs to happen. I do not believe that it is not impossible for a mutually beneficial solution on the Tibetan issue to come about. Secondly, I do not think this will take that many years.

Some Party members who have worked in Tibet in the past and who are now retired, as also many Chinese scholars, have been saying that the present nationality policy is not appropriate and have suggested that it needs to be reviewed.
Therefore, I believe that there will be a change and a decision in the not too distant future.
naren

Post by naren »

Many Faiths, One Truth
Though intolerance may be as old as religion itself, we still see vigorous signs of its virulence. In Europe, there are intense debates about newcomers wearing veils or wanting to erect minarets and episodes of violence against Muslim immigrants. {Good jab to "oh wee sooo civilized & tolerant" hypocrites :rotfl: }
In my many encounters with Hindu scholars in India, I’ve come to see the centrality of selfless compassion in Hinduism too - as expressed, for instance, in the Bhagavad Gita, which praises those who “delight in the welfare of all beings.” I’m moved by the ways this value has been expressed in the life of great beings like Mahatma Gandhi, or the lesser-known Baba Amte, who founded a leper colony not far from a Tibetan settlement in Maharashtra State in India. There he fed and sheltered lepers who were otherwise shunned. When I received my Nobel Peace Prize, I made a donation to his colony.
naren

Post by naren »

His Holiness the Dalai Lama in New York, NY - May 23, 2010
Responding to a question on what could be done in relation to the Tibetan issue, His Holiness talked about the significance of the Tibetan ecology not just to the Tibetan people, but also to all the people in China and the rest of the world. He recalled a Chinese scientist terming the Tibetan plateau as the Third Pole to indicate its significance to the global environment.
His Holiness was introduced by Mr. Lingxi Kong from China, one of the organizers, who is studying in Columbia University. In his remarks, Mr. Kong mentioned that there were 230 student participants (around half of them being Chinese, 40 per cent being Tibetans) and that some of the speakers to the conference have come directly from China.

Mr. Kong said, “...this is an event about minorities, about indigenous people facing a super power that does not understand very well the minorities’ spiritual beliefs and their way of life.” Explaining the reason for some Chinese and Tibetans to come together to organize the conference, Mr. Kong said it is “because we are soul-searching individuals seeking our own destiny, because we feel the best way to resolve tension, bias or misunderstanding is through the free exchange of ideas among people with different perspectives from all walks of life.”

As a way to highlight the need for continued awareness building among the Chinese people regarding the Tibetan issue, Mr. Kong related his conversation with his mother when she learnt about his involvement in the initiative on Tibet. He recalled his mother telling him, “You are not a Tibetan. And the Chinese Government is so powerful. Why don’t you just stay away from this?” He said, “And I told her, if you really think Tibet is a part of China, then how could you ignore the plight of six million Tibetans? They are our brothers and sisters.”

Mr. Kong also talked about his discussions with officials of the Chinese Government while planning the conference. He said, “During our conference planning, we had constructive dialogues with a few consuls from China’s Consulate-General in New York. In our free-flow conversations, they seem very confident about China’s Peaceful Rising to Modernity. And one of the points I have made very clear to them is that our country will never come to grips with modernity until it re-explores, critically re-evaluates and re-appropriates her own classical culture.” {It means "f**k communism, we want to go back to Buddhism" 8) } He said that “...it must be a China that asks new questions of its classical heritage through cross-cultural perspectives, a China enriched by deep encounter with other cultures, including that in the Tibetan plateau.”
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama inaugurates Buddha Smriti Park in Patna
PATNA: Tibetan spiritual leader the Dalai Lama on Thursday inaugurated the Buddha Smriti Park, a sprawling 22 acre park dedicated to Lord Buddha in the heart of the city, on the occasion of Buddha Purnima.

The inauguration of the Buddha memorial park was an international event attended by delegations from four predominantly Buddhist countries --Sri Lanka, Burma, Japan and Thailand.

Signs of change emanating within China: Dalai Lama

http://www.hindu.com/2010/05/28/stories ... 681600.htm
ajit_tr

Post by ajit_tr »

Tibet crackdown breeds more dissent
By Kent Ewing
HONG KONG - Though Chinese leaders have restored Internet services and installed a new party chief with a lighter touch in the troubled far western region of Xinjiang, another restive region, neighboring Tibet, continues to roil under Beijing's heavy hand.

The two-year crackdown on Tibet has reached the point where paranoid authorities in the regional capital of Lhasa are now raiding printing and photocopying shops in an attempt to stamp out the dissemination of any information that might be considered subversive. Soon all such shops in the city will reportedly be required to re-register with the government to enable public security officials to collect the names, addresses and identity numbers of potential troublemakers.
naren

Post by naren »

^^^ In other newj, Khan Research Laboratories (KRL), Pakistan has managed to secure outsourcing contracts for all the photocopying activities in Tibet. KRL has world renowned fame for experience in advanced technology, such as using Jerox mushein. :rotfl:
naren

Post by naren »

His Holiness the Dalai Lama in New York, NY - May 22, 2010
His Holiness said the Tibetans have a long history with some archaeological findings tracing it back 30,000 years while others say the history is around 10,000 years old. His Holiness said if we look at the past 2000 years of Tibetan history, the powerful Tibetan empire of the period during the Choegyals gradually disintegrated. He said this happened not because of any external factor but because of internal discord. However, despite the vicissitude of history, the Tibetan Buddhist culture continued to develop even to this day. His Holiness then referred to the importance of Tibetan language and religion and the increasing interest in the Buddhism by scientists.
His Holiness talked about a Chinese journalist’s perception of a strong Tibetan character while going to Kyegudo to report on the earthquake. This Chinese journalist compared the positive attitude of the Tibetans affected by the earthquake in Kyegudo with the somewhat negative attitude of the Chinese who were affected by the earthquake in Sichuan in 2008. His Holiness said that there are signs that the Tibetan character, molded by our culture that promoted compassion and non-violence, may degenerate unless people are careful.
His Holiness asked the people to look for ways to maintain the Tibetan spirit saying we should learn from the Jews on this.
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama Inaugurates Buddha Park

His Holiness the Dalai Lama, right, prepares to plant a sapling after inaugurating the Buddha Park, with Bihar state Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, center, in Patna, India, Thursday, May 27, 2010. Buddhists across the world are marking Buddha Jayanti, a day that commemorates the birth, enlightenment and demise of Buddha. (AP Photo/Aftab Alam Siddiqui)
The Dalai Lama led the procession of monks to the top of the Stupa where he enshrined the holy relics brought by him and also by the monks from Thailand, Myanmar, Japan, South Korea and Sri Lanka in a glass case, where a tiny golden statue of the sitting Buddha was kept on a pedestal. The Tibetan spiritual head named the Stupa Patliputra Karuna Stupa as requested by Nitish. "I hope this park will become a source of inspiration for everybody, following any religion or atheist, to develop compassion and love," said the Dalai Lama.
Possibly this is the only place associated with Lord Buddha where six relics have been enshrined and two saplings of the Bodhi tree planted. The plaque, where the sapling from Anuradhapura was planted, read: A branch of Bodhi tree under which Siddharth Gautam attained Enlightenment at Bodh Gaya was taken to Sri Lanka by Sanghmitra, daughter of Emperor Ashoka and planted at Mahameghavana Park, Anuradhapura.

"I hope this park will become a source of inspiration for everybody, following any religion or atheist, to develop compassion and love," said the Dalai Lama.

Why are the religions of the east so civilised?
naren

Post by naren »

^^^ Ahimsa and religious tolerance are 1000 year old India's tradition, as HHDL would often say :)
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

What happens when the Dalai Lama dies?

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/co ... 01692.html
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Great Dalai Lama should identify now itself a successor for the religious leadership and another for political leadership and give them chances to represent him publicly. Here India needs to push one or two strong candidates who would continue after Dalai Lama. What happened to some lamas who were young?

China Looking to Build Massive Dam on Brahmaputra in Tibet
Although there has been no official confirmation of plans for a dam, the discussion is far from secret. On a prominent Chinese science forum, Zhang said a dam on the great bend was the ultimate hope for water resource exploitation because it could generate energy equivalent to 100m tonnes of crude coal, or all the oil and gas in the South China sea.

He warned that a delay would allow India to tap these resources and prompt "major conflict" in a region where the two nations have sporadically clashed over disputed territory.

"We should build a hydropower plant in Motuo ... as soon as possible because it is a great policy to protect our territory from Indian invasion and to increase China's capacity for carbon reduction," he wrote last year
Indian invasion?? These crooks certainly have it backwards!
"A large dam on the Tibetan plateau would amount to a major, irreversible experiment with geo-engineering," said Peter Bosshard of International Rivers. "Blocking the Yarlung Tsangpo could devastate the fragile ecosystem of the Tibetan plateau, and would withhold the river's sediments from the fertile floodplains of Assam in north-east India, and Bangladesh."

China's construction of dams also raises the prospect of a race with India to develop hydropower along south Asia's most important river.

"India needs to be more aggressive in pushing ahead hydro projects (on the Brahmaputra)," Jairam Ramesh, the Indian environment minister, told the Guardian during a recent visit to Beijing. "That would put us in better negotiating position (with China).
naren

Post by naren »

#1. China does not belong in Tibet. Its a huge mistake on part of India to have let these guys there in the first place.

#2. China's tapping Tibetan waters is tantamount to nuclear attack on India and must be treated as such.

Indian sub continent has always been dependent on Tibetan waters. China's STEALING of Tibetan waters to address their internal problems is totally unfair. Their actions would directly affect about half of the Indian population. Its as good as nuking the entire Northern states.

And this proposed dam would be more than TWICE AS LARGE as the Three Gorges dam!!

Tibetans and Uighurs speak with one voice at Stanford

Rebiya Kadeer addressed why the plight of the Uyghur people is not as well known as Tibetans' troubles. The Dalai Lama was able to flee in 1959, she said, and with thousands of monks and other refugees was able to set up an exile government in Dharamsala, India. "The Uyghur political leadership were forced by Stalin to negotiate with Mao Zedong," she said. Its leaders were "killed for refusing to cooperate."

Samdhong Rinpoche, a close adviser to the Dalai Lama, said that the Nobel Peace Prize winner has told him that while his faith in the Chinese leadership becomes "thinner and thinner," his faith in the people of China is unwavering; they are his "great hope."
naren

Post by naren »

About Prof Samdhong Rinpoche, old article but nice.

Playing with nature must end: Tibetan Leadership
Rinpoche said Swami Vivekananda was one of the five persons who had influenced him. "Swami's preaching of Sarva Dharma Satya meant respect of all religions," he said. 8)
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama Joins Indian-Tibetan Friendship Celebration

His Holiness the Dalai Lama gestures as he attends fire ritual (havan) being conducted by Hindu priests for his continued well-being and long life at the Main Tibetan Temple in Dharamsala, India, Tuesday, June 15, 2010. The prayer ceremony is part a day-long event organised by the local Indian community of McLeod Ganj to celebrate “50 years of friendship” with Tibetan exiles. (Photo by David Huang)
Dharamsala, HP, India, 15 June 2010 (By Phurbu Thinley, phayul.com) - Exiled Tibetan leader His Holiness the Dalai Lama Tuesday attended a celebratory function marking “fifty years of friendship and understanding” among Indians and Tibetans here in this north Indian hill town.
As part of the celebration Hindu priests conducted a fire ritual (havan) and prayer chanting ceremony in the presence of His Holiness the Dalai Lama for his continued well-being and long life.
“We chanted and offered prayers for the well-being and long life of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. And also in our puja we offered prayers for the happiness, success and well-being of Tibetans here and all over the world,” said Swami Ananda Ji, the leader of the priests. {I hope the idiots who think "evil Yindoooos destroyed Boooodism" read this}
“This celebration is an expression of gratitude to His Holiness the Dalai lama and to show that that we are blessed by his presence here,” Mr Mankotia {President of Indo-Tibet Friendship Society} said.
Mr Mankotia said Dalai Lama’s guidance and blessing enabled people from both the communities to live and prosper together in harmony and peacefully for the last 50 years.

“Your Holiness’ presence here for the last 50 years has not only helped us to grow together, but also helped Dharamsala to prosper spiritually. This has given Dharamsala the sanctity it enjoys now,” he said.
In his speech, the Dalai Lama reminded the Tibetans to continue to preserve and uphold the values that define the Tibetan people and their culture.

“In embracing modernity and progress, we must not abandon the human values that has been so preciously passed down on to us by our elder generations. These values make up our unique culture," the Dalai Lama said.
In April, Tibetan exiles organised a two-day event here called “Thank You Himachal” to thank the people and the government of the state on the 50th anniversary of the Dalai Lama’s arrival in Mcleod Ganj.
Little over 35,000 Tibetans live in Dharamsala and 14 different Tibetan settlements across the hill state.

naren

Post by naren »

China jails Tibet environmentalist Karma Samdrup
A court in China has jailed prominent Tibetan environmentalist Karma Samdrup for 15 years on charges of robbing tombs and dealing in looted relics.

Samdrup's lawyer said police had used false evidence. His wife said he had been beaten in custody.
A well-known businessman, Samdrup made a fortune trading in Tibetan antiques. He used some of his money to fund conservation projects on the Tibetan plateau.

In 2006 China's state TV named him "philanthropist of the year".
Samdrup's wife says police tried to force him to sign a confession by pouring cold water over him during winter and denying him food and sleep.

His lawyer, Pu Zhiqiang, said the evidence had been faked and no proper translator had been provided at the trial.
Human rights activists say about 50 people have been detained in a crackdown on Tibetan figures since the riots that shook Tibetan areas before the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.

Some of Mr Samdrup's supporters believe he is being punished for publicly defending his two brothers.
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama Shines Light on Spiritual Harmony
Speaking at the event, His Holiness said this spiritual gathering of Buddhist devotees - among them 400 Koreans, 300 Mongolians, 300 Chinese, and hundreds of Japanese - reflects the widespread propagation of Buddha’s teachings in Asia. He said he was optimistic about the prospects for a more peaceful and non-violent world as a small but significant group of people are now focussing their attention and energy on developing secular ethics of compassion, peace, love and kindness.

These secular ethics have the possibility of promoting a happy and healthy life for believers as well as non-believers. However, many see these secular ethics as religious and hence ignore them but His Holiness said compassion is biologically inherent in all living beings, animals as well as humans, in that everyone needs love and kindness for a happy, wholesome life. “There are many non-believers who are also great human beings,” he added.

Secularism, His Holiness said, is misunderstood by some religious practitioners as rejection of religion which is not true. In the current reality, secularism means respect not only for all religions but respect also for non-believers. In ancient India, this kind of secular attitude was quite common. He cited a conversation he had with a prominent Indian personality {L.K. Advani} who told him about the Charvakas, a group of atheist philosophers active in India around 600 BC. The Charvakas rejected the existence of gods and were skeptical critics of religion but they were well-respected as rishis (sages) as any other learned religious practitioners. 8)

#1. China does not belong in Tibet. Its a huge mistake on part of India to have let these guys there in the first place.

#2. China's tapping Tibetan waters is tantamount to nuclear attack on India and must be treated as such.
Absolutely true. However China is not really tapping into Tibetan waters..it's tapping into Indian waters emanating from Kailash-Mansarover region. That region was irrelevent to claim as Indian territory as long as Tibet was independent, but somehow it has to become very clear to the CHinese the biggest dispute actually could be the Kailash Mansarover region. A region as sacred as Mecca is to Islam as it is to 200 million (?) Shaivite followers in India..at the minimum. India not having laid a claim to it while Chinese move inside Indian territory with red paint cans..seems quite unnerving...have we lost the plot that completely about what this country is about and it's history? It's amazingly sad there's no representation coming up on this anywhere.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Peaceful protest by Parkdale’s Tibetan community
http://www.insidetoronto.com/news/artic ... -community
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama: Respecting Tibetan Rights Key to a Compassionate China

His Holiness the Dalai Lama speaking to a gathering of Tibetans and their supporters in Yokohama, Japan, on June 28th, 2010. Photo/Tenzin Choejor/OHHDL

His Holiness said the Tibetan people’s struggle for autonomy is based on valid historical and cultural basis. “Since the 7th century, the Tibetan people have developed their own language, religion, and culture without seeking any help from outsiders,” he said, adding the most comprehensive knowledge on Buddhism, for instance, is available only in Tibetan language.

Tibetan cultural and religious traditions emphasize the inner values of truth, kindness, peace, and the well-being of humanity even as Tibetans in Tibet still face violent suppression of their basic rights as human beings. Because Tibetans have been honest and transparent in their dealings with the Chinese authorities in solving the Tibet issue, there is no need for them to feel hatred, prejudice, bias, or tell lies, he said. “Truth, not force, is our biggest strength.”

In his brief address to the gathering, Mr. Tsegyam, head of the China Desk at the Private Office of His Holiness the Dalai Lama said concern is now growing among many Chinese intellectuals about the corrosion of traditional Chinese values in the current socio-political system in China.

Although extreme nationalistic feelings particularly among young Chinese, provoked largely by a xenophobic state media, is still a problem, Mr. Tsegyam said awareness about the Tibet issue is increasing not only among Chinese intellectuals but also among ordinary Chinese in and outside mainland China. He said mainland Chinese Buddhists are now paying more attention to Tibetan Buddhism by attending His Holiness’ teachings in India. Over 500 Chinese now visit India annually to learn about Buddhist teachings from His Holiness; more than 200 mainland Chinese Buddhists attended His Holiness’ teaching in Varanasi (India) last year. Many more were unable to attend due to restrictions imposed by the Chinese government. Chinese scholars, professors, writers, and artists often seek audience with His Holiness.

Recalling a meeting His Holiness had with 11 Chinese university students in Paris, Mr. Tsegyam said the students asked for pictures of His Holiness so they could take them home and show it to their family and friends and tell them about the problems faced by the Tibetans. One of the students who was studying filmmaking conveyed a message of apology to His Holiness from his father who as a PLA soldier in 1956 had to kill many Tibetans. “He said he heard his father cry on phone when telling about his actions in Tibet as a PLA soldier,” Mr. Tsegyam said. “Try to befriend every Chinese you meet because that’s the best way to clear doubts and misinformation.”

He said all Tibetans living in Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) and in four provinces of Sichuan, Qinghai, Gansu and Yunnan share a common history, language, culture, faith, and way of life. “That being the case, it is not fair and just, even defies common sense, to deny genuine autonomy for over 4 million Tibetans who live outside the TAR,” Mr. Tsegyam said.

After Chinese Re-education, Monk Regrets Action

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/30/world ... tibet.html

China Asserts Role in Choosing Dalai Lama

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/02/world ... dalai.html
ravar
Location: हिमालयम समारभ्य़ यावत हिन्दु सरोवरम, तम देव निर्मितम देशम हिन्दुस्थानम प्रचक्षते

Post by ravar »

Genetic Adaptations to High Altitude
Tibetans possess genetic variations that may protect against altitude sickness.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

After Menon's visit to China, Nirupama Rao meets Dalai Lama

http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/after ... lama-36796
naren

Post by naren »

Dalai Lama: Dialogue Only Way to Solve Human Problems

His Holiness the Dalai Lama meets with Chinese journalists, professors and scholars in Yokohama, Japan on June 27th, 2010. Photo/Tenzin Choejor/OHHDL
Yokohama, Japan, 27th June 2010 (by Tsering Tsomo): Using violence in the form of fear and repression cannot solve human problems because fear saddles the mind with needless suspicions and anxiety and blocks the trust and friendship essential to bring real peace and harmony, said His Holiness the Dalai Lama while talking to a group of 28 Chinese journalists, professors, and scholars at an informal meeting at the Intercontinental Grand Hotel in Yokohama this evening.
“Whether they accept it or not, Tibet is a problem,” he said. Tibetans in Tibet still live in fear without freedom to express themselves, to protect and promote their culture, language, and faith. He said just as Chinese people love their culture and language, Tibetans also have the right to cherish the same feelings.

His Holiness said in the last few decades, global interests in Tibetan culture and religion have increased because more people now realize that Tibetans can contribute much to the world in developing inner values of peace and compassion; even well-known scientists are now deeply engaged in exploring and researching the scientific and philosophical aspects of Tibetan Buddhism in bringing holistic well-being to all human beings irrespective of their faiths.
Responding to a question from a Chinese journalist, His Holiness said when the protests against the Chinese government erupted in Lhasa in March 2008, the Chinese leadership including Premier Wen Jiabao accused the Tibetan exiles in India of instigating the protests which later spread to vast areas of the Tibetan plateau . “I immediately invited the foreign press and the Chinese authorities to Dharamsala so they could see for themselves what we Tibetans are doing in exile,” he said.

The publications of false reports repeating the same accusations kept appearing in the Chinese state media. “After that on few occasions during my foreign visits, I met with some very upset and angry Chinese protesters; I even tried to explain the reality but they wouldn’t listen,” he said, “that’s why I believe it’s important to meet Chinese press during my visits abroad so I could give them real information.”
In his reply to another journalist about his wish to visit Tibet, His Holiness said, “It is not about me wanting to visit Tibet or not, they [the Chinese government] are not allowing me.” He said the Chinese government did not respond to his request to visit the Tibetan area of Yushu to comfort the victims of the deadly April 14 earthquake. “The Chinese embassy in New Delhi did not accept my donation for the earthquake victims,” he said, adding he had always wanted to visit Tibet way back in 1984 and also wanted to undertake a pilgrimage to Wutaishan mountain in China.
naren

Post by naren »

In Conversation with the Dalai Lama - July 6th, 2010

Barkha Dutt of NDTV interviews His Holiness the Dalai Lama at his residence in Dharamsala, India. Program originally broadcast on July 6th, 2010. (http://www.dalailama.com)
1:00 Intro
2:00 how do you manage to stay young hearted. Sufficient sleep, food. Healthy mind important for healthy body. Mental state quite peaceful. How do you look positive always
3:00 occassionally I get angry, if you ask silly question
4:00 happened one time in america. Ny times columnist. She asked my legacy in future. Buddhist practitioner. Asked question third time. Lost temper
5:00 when you get angry, do you express it ? How do you control anger. Angry due to small mistakes, express. More serious anger try to separate myself from anger. Watch the emotion.
6:00 rare for spiritual leader to believe in science. Curiousity about science since childhood. British mission in lhasa, toy.
7:00 likes trains, cars. Always try to know the system. Many toys damaged. Child like innocence.
8:00 Do you look back and feel your childhood is lost ? About 5 yr, reached Lhasa, seperated from mother
9:00
10:00 sweeper became my best friend
11:00 middle way doesn’t seem to have moved China. Do you regret ? Govt side no positive response. People side, intellectuals, professors, writers, artists. After tiananmen more and more chinese showing concern and solidarity
12:00 within chinese govt, many privately expressed support. China media says HHDL not teaching properly, it seems they know better. Chinese people support is very essential.
13:00 you still have faith in US ? Obam didn’t meet you. America democratic country. Public thinking reflects in parliament.
14:00 very sympathetic supportive. India too. GOI didn’t let you make political statement in Tawang. Do you think GOI is yielding to Chinese pressure ? GOI provided maximum help in education etc.
15:00 GOI attitude overcautious in political field. GOI more firm now, like Tawang.
16:00 photographer raghu rai's message.
17:00 when are we going to go back to Tibet ? Do you believe you will go back to Tibet in your life time ? Yes. Tibetan spirit inside Tibet, despite changes, brainwash, torture, never change.
18:00 200 million buddhist in china. Many party members. Outwardly atheist. Do you feel time is not in your side ?
19:00 things will change definitely. Retire is your human rights ? 2001 achieved elected political leadership. Semi retired position. Youth org want complete independence
20:00 difficult to explain failure inside tibet. Finally majority of them support existing stand. Im not a dictator. We are fully committed to democracy. National struggle, people should carry
21:00 time frame for your retirment. People have too much emotion. What are the main sources of your hope ? Truth, honest, transparent.
21:30
22:00 believe in truth. You expect to outlive the CCP. Change in CCP gradually or sudden
22:30 CCP positive things done. Totally dedicated people.
23:00 met Mao. Top leaders. Totally dedicated for well being of people
23:30 impression so good about marxist. Want to join communist party. Eventually spoilt better not to join
24:00 at that time, wonderful. Still a marxist as far as social economy theory.
24:30 CCP is capitalist party. Prof sharma, former principal of dharamsala college.
25:00
25:30
26:00 HHDL promised he will never leave dharamsala
26:30 till the day leaving for tibet
, please remain here. Very much moved
27:00 Would you appoint successor. Century old institiution continuation upto tibetan people.
27:30 not yet decided. DL inst could fade away.
28:00 teaching remain, not org. thoughts remain after few 100 years. Im a human being.
28:30 can there be positive benefit to have military.
29:00
29:30 how relevant is ahmisa today ? 9/11, media
30:00 tragedy, causes and condition.
30:30 oil exploit industrialized nations.
31:00 two levels: immediate, long term. Promotion of non violence. Destruction of enemy is destructionof yourself.
31:30 humans smart brain remain, problems remain
32:00 do feel obama adm is too lenient ?after copenhagen, new adm gaining more experience.
32:30 wait and see. Met obama. India economy field, little behind china. India has other values
33:00 democracy, rule of law, free press, transparent. Indian prime minister, I describe as "our" prime minister. Living here for 51 years. I consider myself as son of india. :) That expression some chinese officials furious.
33:30 major portion of life spent here. Do you feel half indian half tibetan ? My brain 100% indian. My teachers are all Indian masters. India guru, we are chela
34:00 we are reliable chela. 8th century nalanda thought reached tibet, we kept. Homeland lot of destruction
34:30 When our guru suffer, we chela kept the treasure intact. So we are quite reliable chela

35:00
35:30
36:00 alcohol, drug self destruction
36:30 use brain maximum way.
37:00
37:30
38:00
38:30
39:00 so loved leader. How does it not go to your head ? Self discipline. If you respect by everybody, you must think you are lowest person.
39:30 selection process of future DL. CCP hardliners are experts in unneccessary problems
40:00 two panchen lama. More resentment.
40:30 if I die, chinese will chose one DL. tibetan, wiil chose.
41:00 chinese communist more concerned about dl inst than me. No hurry to appoint successor. Im quite healthy
41:30 my body is considered very healthy. 20 yrs no problem.
42:00 prediction by tibetan master 200 yeas ago. HHDL will live for 113 years.
42:30 early 60s dream, indicate lifespan 113years.

43:00 DL have some kind of healing power. Surgery, proves no power.
43:30 full ordination for nuns, obstacles. Old fashioned thinking. Next DL may be woman ?
44:00
44:30
45:00 if female DL more effective, no problem
45:30 tibetan younger generation born in india, with tibetan atmosphere, think like tibetans. Others who come from tibet, grown up in intense situation. More violent.
46:00 tibetan community comparatively better.
46:30
47:00 you take meat. Shortcomings: love for watches and meat.
47:30
48:00 first watch was from president roosevelt. 1942. 7 yr old
48:30 no interest in letter, only watch.
49:00
49:30
50:00 obama copied original letter. 70 years later I saw the letter
50:30 taking meat, some kind of contradiction. In "vinaya" no prohibition in eating meet.
51:00 monk should accept whatever given.
51:30 around 1965 I became vegetarian for philosophical reasons.
52:00 whole body became yellow.
52:30 physician advised to take meat.
53:00 regrets ? This garment too hot
53:30 past 10 years, rather lazy.
54:00
54:30
55:00 since I took responsibility from 16 year old, till now, major decision, no regret
HHDL predicts that He will live for 113 years. I hope commies watch this interview and sleep well today. :twisted:

Why the Foreign Secretary met the Dalai Lama
Nirupama Rao, India's foreign secretary, arrived in Dharamsala in Himachal Pradesh on July 10 and called on His Holiness the Dalai Lama. She was reportedly with him for about an hour. There was nothing unusual or secret about her visit and meeting with His Holiness, but there is likely to be speculation connecting her meeting with India's unhappiness over China's ignoring Indian concerns over the implications to India's national security of China's decisions to help Pakistan in improving its road infrastructure in the Gilgit-Baltistan area and in constructing a railway line to Xinjiang which will pass through Gilgit-Baltistan.

Even if Rao's visit was not connected with the Chinese decisions announced during Zardari's visit, it is important for the Government of India to express openly and strongly its indignation over the Chinese actions in total disregard of India's legitimate concerns. Our policy-makers should also examine what options are available to India to counter the Chinese actions. Upgrading the interactions with His Holiness is one option. Establishing open contacts with the secular Uighur elements of the Munich-based World Uighur Congress is another option.

B Raman.
Ramesh

Post by Ramesh »

A few years ago the Panchen lama had turned up in India. what if he is a chinese implant and not the real Panchen lama? We will have one holy mess after HHDL 113 years.
naren

Post by naren »

^^^ Nobody is talking about Panchen Lama inheriting HHDL's position now.

His sect is not as authoritative as HHDL's. So first that issue will have to be sorted out. HHDL has left the democracy door wide open, so that such confusions can be avoided in future.