shiv wrote:On the idea of a "state philosophy" for India - no matter how attractive that option could have been - that has not occurred in the manner Rajesh writes about it and is does not exist as of now. Under the circumstances we come right back to the dilemma that I am writing about for the third time in this thread, that is
We have a situation where we could do things better if we were different (if my aunt had a d***) so we are faced with the choices of
1) Changing ourselves first, formulation of that state strategy within the Gordian knot that we call Indian democracy and then talk of dealing with Pakistan
2) Dealing with Pakistan as is, from where we are, as we are.
I do not see that we have the luxury of time for the former option, only the latter is possible.
Side note: Well actually, there are really lots of people, whose aunts have gone ahead and become uncles. That is not all that iffy iffy!
This is posing ourselves a false choice. Of course we have to deal with Pakistan as is, but to deal with it better, one has to tell Pakistan, what it is not yet, and how it should be.
If we can find the time to do a military build-up to take on Pakistan, then certainly we can find time to do a 'morality'-build-up and to improve our rhetoric, based on it.
The choice has to be made clear for most of the Pakistanis: either be like Taliban or be like us.
Now the Taliban say very very clearly, what they expect of the Momeen. India does not express her conditions clearly. We say something like:
well if you are willing to live and let us live, then it is ok, but even that condition is just performa.
Pratyush wrote:Try saying that the Islam followed by Pakistan is the problem and not Islam it self. That may open a few doors for us. I know that there is no seperation but try an dcreate a seperation and we may have an opening we need.
Pratyush ji, thank you.
That is exactly, what I am trying to say.
shiv wrote:On another note India does have a "state policy". It is clearly visible to all. We may not like or agree with all aspects of the state policy, but it exists
1) Secularism, equality for all people including women
2) "Development" - education, infrastructure, industrialization
3) (naive as this may sound) Peace and harmony with our neighbours
And these are the good things. These are things, that make me, an Indian, feel good about being an Indian.
My regrets about our "State Philosophy" is that 'secularism' is basically a sign-post, which bends and turns with the wind. The most heed to it, but the sign-post can still do very little to make people respect it. I would have wanted that 'secularism' be a lion, with teeth and strength, and a lot more fleshed-out.
shiv wrote:There are two options for India as I see it
1) To try and leverage Pakistan's failure as a modern state to bring about splitting of Pakistan or some other change leading to better control
2) To try and fight Islamism Pakistan which is stronger than it was before.
No matter what we do - either option 1 or option 2 - we have to do this in Pakistan to Pakistanis.
I wouldn't call them options. Both are imperatives. Imperative 1 is important, because as long Pakistan does not split, we will continue to deal with Pakistan, as we have done till date. A higher level of intervention and 'treatment' can only take place after Pakistan splits up.
Islamism, IMHO, is both good and bad. In order to reap the dividends of the advantages of Islamism, India has to position herself correctly.
Now the conventional thinking may be that the GoI's Pakistan Policy is wrong but is being pursued for the right reasons. The right reasons in this case being 'Peace in South Asia', etc. The wrong policy being of appeasement, no retaliation against terror, both are victims of terrorism, talks should continue despite terror, India wants Pakistan to be stable, etc.
I think it is the right policy for possibly the wrong reasons. If the assessment of Pakistan's future in Delhi is that it will not break-up then the pursued policy is for the wrong reasons. On the other hand, if India is somewhat certain that the drivers in Pakistan are all pointing towards a split, then they do sound logical.
The reality of Pakistan right now is - Islamism is increasing in Pakistan. The purer strains of Islam are using coercion to enforce their views on the majority. There are more acts of 'terrorism' against the 'innocent' Pakistanis. wagerah, wagerah!
Keeping in mind the realities, some of the scenarios for Pakistan are:
- 1) Pakistan sees its folly in encouraging extremism. The Pakistani Army comes down heavy on all sorts of groups and crushes them. Pakistan reforms itself into a moderate Muslim state and cleanses itself of the underlying reasons for the extremism: tolerance and encouragement to jihadi groups, hate-filled education system, etc. HIGHLY UNLIKELY!
- 2) Islamism takes over Pakistan. Slowly and steadily the Sufis and Barelvis become Deobandis, the Deobandis become Wahhabis, the Wahhabis become Jihadis. The TSPA becomes fully Islamized, and it becomes difficult for USA to pursue the same type of relationship with Pakistan as it is now. An unleashed terrorist country with nuclear weapons. QUITE LIKELY!
- 3) Talibanistan breaks off taking Pushtun areas with it. The Pakistani Army is able to hold on to the rest of Pakistan - Pakjab, 'Azad Kashmir', Northern Areas, Sindh, Southern Baluchistan. The split is official, and Talibanistan unifies with the Southern Afghanistan forming a Pushtunistan under Taliban rule. The State of Pakistan continues to exist, with only little change in its foreign policy, especially towards India. Now it feels threatened from Pushtunistan also, but soon settles down on a relationship of trade. It remains a client state of America and China. So the only change is that Pushtun areas of Pakistan go to Afghanistan, everything else stays the same. MOST LIKELY!
- 4) There is a proper fight between the Taliban and Pakjabi Army with Taliban having proxies within Pakjab itself in the form of Punjabi Taliban. This weakens the Pakjabi Army to such an extent that it forgoes control over the Pushtun Areas, and moves back to consolidate its strength in Pakjab. In the mean time, Sindh and Baluchistan see their chance and they declare their independence. Sindh and Baluchistan are recognized as independent states by the international community, which has in the mean time fully lost confidence in the ability of Pakistan to exist as a united country. As long as Talibanism increases chaos in Pakistan it acts as a centrifugal force, as in the chaos, the various regions can slip away from TSPA's control. DESIRED!
Scenario 1) is a daydream. Inertia and Fear would not allow this Herculean Task. Vested Interests would sabotage any effort.
Scenario 2) is the scenario, the world should be afraid of. Only consolation for India is that now the whole world takes cognizance of Pakistan's danger. But in the long run, India too suffers if left unchecked.
Scenario 3) is a lost opportunity. Instead of a poodle, we will have an eel next door.
Scenario 4) allows India the maximum leverage to deal with the problems in Pakistan on the one hand, and eliminates and breaks the hold of China and USA over Pakistan. PoK return to India giving India increased access into Central Asia.
The onslaught of Talibanism on Pakistan will come as surely as the sun in the sky! If we want scenario 4) to succeed then we have to make sure that Pakistani Army is badly mauled by it, but does not buckle to an extent that it completely accepts defeat. So India would have to do some cheerleading for the Pakjabi Army, enabling the Pakjabis to create a buffer between India and Talibanistan. At the same time India should promote Sindhi and Baluchistani self-determination.
India's current engagement with Pakistan is productive, as it polarizes the society enough, so that Islamism does not have a walk-over over the whole Pakistan, painting Pakistan a deeper green. I think our engagement, helps one side to resist this Talibanization of Pakistani society. The goal of this engagement should not be stabilization of Pakistan, or keeping Pakistan united. The goal of this engagement should be polarization of the Pakistani Muslim society, giving the 'moderate' pole sufficient strength, that it does not fall.
After the split, Islamism would have to be fought tooth and nail.
shiv wrote:It hardly calls for self change. Changing ourselves at this stage as opposed to doing something in Pakistan at this late stage, or even lamenting that "we are like this onlee" to me sounds suspiciously like
Hum ko man ke shakti dena,man vijai karein
Doosroon ki jai se pehli khud ko jai karein
Very Indic. Very laudable. But completely misplaced. IMO
This is a sequential perspective, which makes it look misplaced.
Islamism is a long term problem in the neighborhood. Even in 30 years, it will be around. Nothing wrong in having some Dates for the long battle.
shiv wrote:One would have to spend every effort to change India and Indian views to move them from the current thought process to a new one that sees Islamism as the single major threat. To me such a tactic boils down to "changing ourselves first" (khud ko jai kaerin) because Indian priorities cannot be changed without changing the views of a majority of Indians.
A neta who says Pakistan is a problem will be believed (now). A neta who says corruption is a problem will be believed. A neta who says Islam is a problem will be called a con man.
We are confusing our interests with our rhetoric here. What is the need of announcing that Islamism is our single major threat?!
When we are working on our "State Philosophy", we are presenting a 'Positive Agenda'. When we are creating the institutions and devising policy, we are in fact only putting in place 'Disincentives' for those who do not comply to this 'Positive Agenda'. Domestically it need not be pursued forcefully in all cases, so as not to give the impression of it being a 'Negative Agenda'. Domestically one should spare the sticks, but sometimes also the carrots for those who do not follow. A country needs time and indoctrination for a new way of thinking.
In our neighborhood, especially in case of Pakistan, we can hold up the new Flag of our Value System. No need for first and foremost
'khud ko jai karen'!
Such a Value System would include
- Coercive Secularism,
- Coercive Tolerance,
- Coercive Respect for all Faiths (who are respectful of others)
- Coercive Depoliticization of Religion
- Coercive DeJihadization of Religion
- Coercive Gender Equality
- Full State Protection for Scientific Commentary and Debate on Religion
With this Value System, we can demand from the Pakjabis, that they reform themselves in a verifiable way, if they wish our financial and other support for their Pakjabistan. Same would be the case with the Sindhis. Reform of their religious institutions can be demanded by us. I have Scenario 4 in mind here.
Otherwise even according to brihaspati garu's proposals, should India need to forcefully eliminate the Islamist elements in the region, even then one would need a national consensus about what we are trying to do, some higher principle that would sanction our actions.
Just some thoughts