India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

Karan M wrote: Meanwhile, we continue to pay off extortionist demands like the Gorshkov, paying amounts that are unbelievable and which we would never spend on developing our own capabilities.

Karan M ji,

The Gorshkov was built in an Ukrainian yard.

Per wiki
The ship was laid down in 1978 at Nikolayev South (Shipyard No.444) in Ukraine, launched in 1982, and commissioned in 1987.

The mess is because of a gross miscalculation and misunderstanding by both Indian Navy and the Russians. Low IQ faqers from both sides negotiated the deal in good faith without knowing their a***holes from a hole in the ground.

This sort of deal was usual to do with the erstwhile Soviet Union. Attention to detail was not encouraged by the soviets who provided very little information in any case. The soviets usually took care of the nittie gritties with close monitoring from the Indian side.

The reality of the soviet union breakup hit them both rather late in the day. In the early days the soviets took care of the minute details because they had the resources and firm control over far flung suppliers.

The russians just do not have the malum to do this job nor the expertise. They are building both at our cost.

Since national H&D is involved in both cases matters have been sliding in such a disgusting manner.

Naval heads should have rolled for sure with a serious bloodbath to teach shammers not to shirk their responsibilities. This has only partially happened.

At the first hint of trouble, the ship should have towed back to its makers, Shipyard No.444 in the Ukraine and refitted there with the necessary soviet assistance.

Why this was not done is a mystery.

ramana wrote:Chacko garu, any updates on LGB?
Ramana,

Except for sudarshan, all your questions have been answered. Or I am missing something :?:

If services are managing their business so well, how come we still cant induct those 155mm howitzers? No DRDO involved there to spike the sugar rush..

sudeepj wrote:If services are managing their business so well, how come we still cant induct those 155mm howitzers? No DRDO involved there to spike the sugar rush..
Your question is right. DRDO is involved only till the specs and technical approval. For example, bugs in software, ballastic testing etc. But, Army is lagging in coherence. A lot of big ticket items have been purchased by Navy and IAF.
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

IIT seeks robotic solution in conflict
A group of students from IIT-Kharagpur is working on a prototype of an Autonomous Ground Vehicle (AGV) which, if it proves successful, may be developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for use by security agencies for Low-Intensity Conflict (LIC).
The robot will have to complete a closed loop obstacle course of 500 metres within an anticipated time of 20 minutes, using autonomous navigation. For the first 350 metres, the robot would have to navigate with the help of lane-following' by colour detection. While doing this, it would have to avoid static positive obstacles, cross over slopes, staircases and corrugations. It would have to navigate the remaining 150 metres with the help of GPS waypoints. Maximum width of the robot would have to be 1 metre, maximum speed of 10 km per hour and minimum turning radius of 5 metres. It would have to carry an additional payload of 10 kg. The robot would have to be self-powered in all respects
Phase II
The teams are now busy building their prototypes. The final competition will be held at the Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment (CVRDE), Chennai, between September 27-29, where the prototypes would be tried out.

chackojoseph wrote:Your question is right. DRDO is involved only till the specs and technical approval. For example, bugs in software, ballastic testing etc. But, Army is lagging in coherence. A lot of big ticket items have been purchased by Navy and IAF.
And, pray, do tell me, which 'big ticket' item of IA is lagging in procurement for lack of coherence on part of IA?

sudeepj wrote:If services are managing their business so well, how come we still cant induct those 155mm howitzers? No DRDO involved there to spike the sugar rush..
What has the 155mm induction saga got to do with the Services managing their business or not?

IA or Services managing their affairs well still does not mean that the procurement and political decisions happen at the same pace as they want.

Sudeep, Karan, Chacko et al,

Since I have been involved in the process, I’ll try to explain. It’s a complex process, but I’ll try to keep it as simple as possible.

There are multiple entities involved with varying interests, like –

1. GoI (payback to US for 123)
2. Ministries (setting up Ordinance Factory at Nalanda & Amethi, George Fernandes & Rahul Gandhi’s constituencies)
3. Ministers
4. Bureaucrats
5. DRDO (which tries to maximize its kitty at the cost of procurement)
6. PSU (Like HAL, MDL, OFB who often undertake screwdriver assembly and call manufacture)
7. Services

Now, every procurement has a champion among the above seven entities. The champion is someone who is most interested in benefitting from the deal.

Case 1 – Gorshkov/Champion - GoI

Gorshkov was offered to India since 1996. When GoI conveyed the Russian offer to IN, no less than four chief of staff rejected it in writing. Post Kargil, the NDA government in a jingoistic frenzy OK-ed both the IAC (right step) and the Gorshkov (hasty and IMO, wrong step). IN stepped in the picture after GoI had decided to purchase it.

Since then, IN has been trying to make good of a bad deal. Even Sureesh Mehta got mad when Russia demanded the extra billions, however was told to stay cool by GoI who were keen to preserve the Russian relationship by paying the extra billion(s).

So what is the IN’s fault? They had communicated their assessment of the ship since 1996. And it is to their rentless arguing with Russians and GoI that the rust bucket has transformed into a fine ship.

Case 2 – Scorpene/Champion – MoD batting on behalf of MDL

MDL & Daewoo has been “building” Type 209 since 80s. However, what is it’s capability to build newer submarines? Zero. Because all they did was weld and assemble as per drawings and instructions provided by HDW using materials, tools and components provided by HDW and its ancillary suppliers.

During Scorpene discussions, MoD decided that some components will be procured by MDL to show as “indigenous content” manufactured by MDL. So they were excluded from the main contract. DCN realized since India has already invested billions in the Scorpene project, it could jack up the price, because the whole project would be jeopardized without those parts. Ultimately we paid up.

Because MoD had not drawn up a good contract and left critical items out of the contract, it got its balls squeezed. Who wouldn’t squeeze if you allow them to squeeze?

So what is the IN’s fault? It was kept out of this whole business of MoD sham of showing “indigenous manufacture” by MDL.

Case 3 – Hawk/Champion – MoD batting on behalf of HAL

In this case, BAe supplied sub standard parts to HAL. HAL was fuming what to do. Turns out the contract was drafted so poorly by MoD that there were no penalties covering breach of contract. BAe Hawk line is closing down after India, UK, Australia and South Africa deals. So it passed the leftover jigs and assembly to HAL instead of manufacturing new ones as expected in the contract. It fully exploited the loophole.

What is IAF’s fault? MoD wanted to pass off HAL assembly as manufacture.

When BR jingos jump for joy when HAL boasts its manufactures 28 Su-30 MKI per year, I would like to point out that not more than 14/15 are phase 3 ones, that involve more locally manufactured content.

The difference 14 that HAL boasts as manufacture – are the 18 replacements of original MK – and 40 ordered in 2007 as CKD kits from IAPO – gradually delivered now by IAPO and assembled by HAL.

Case 4 – Artillery/Champion – In a negative way, MoD

There were multiple trials after Kargil, and surprising Bofors came on top all the time.

BJP couldn’t buy Bofors because it had accused Congress of playing with the dirty gun, and if its government bought, the Congress would accuse it of playing with the dirty gun. Thereafter, if Congress bought the dirty gun, the BJP would start accusing it again. So, the process was stopped.

Denel blacklisted after false allegations in an obscure SA newspaper run by a person of Pakistani origin. French, UK, Israeli, Czech and Russian ones don’t meet requirements. The two that do are politically tarnished as is the Singapore one.

Fortunately, the M777 was available and GoI had to payback US for 123. So it will be bought.

What is IA’s fault in the whole thing?

Case 4 – INS Talwar/Shitil missiles/Champion – Indian Navy

Due to depleting fleet strength, the frigates were critical to IN. IN had strong project management. So when Shitil missiles were not working properly, they forced the Russians to rectify and refused to take delivery. IN then enforced the USD 1 Billion contract penalty for delayed delivery, that is being adjusted against the Teg class frigates.

So, when left to itself, IN enforces and protects national interests, commercially and contractually.

Case 5 – Barak1 missiles/Champion – Indian Navy

IN urgently required an anti missile missile given Pakistan acquisition of Exocet and Harpoon, and Trishul inability to target sea skimmers, and long gestation period for the anti aircraft Trishul.
Till date, Barak 1 program, when extended to other ships, had no cost escalation unlike Gorshkov or other programs. Why? Because IN drafted the contract properly and has enforced proper project management.

So Samay, when I say we need to study Basil Zaharoff, what I meant was that we need to stay alert and focused. Stupidity and agendas will invariably lead to balls being squeezed.

tsarkar wrote:Sudeep, Karan, Chacko et al,

Since I have been involved in the process, I’ll try to explain. It’s a complex process, but I’ll try to keep it as simple as possible.
Now think about the DRDO side. It has to deal with all those procedures, sanctions etc. Why is that they are flogged?

How come China survived with all those arms sanctions and inefficient PSU's, design houses etc?

These discussions are the worst waste of time, effort and bandwidth, and dont lead to any meaningful conclusion.

So lets stop all this flogging business and go the Pramod Kumar Barbora way :-)

Cool. :lol:

'Terror attacks have led to demand for new technology'
Recent terror attacks in the country have led to the demand for new technology, different to what used in conventional warfare, a top defence official said on Thursday. "The means of fighting a war have undergone changes through the ages and modern threat categories include weapons of mass destruction, missiles, battlefield
threats like aircraft, submarines, surface ships, electronic, information and cyber warfare, space control and security
," Vijaya Kumar Saraswat, scientific advisor to Defence Minister AK Antony, said in his convocation address at Bharathiar University in Coimbatore.

Saraswat, also the Director General of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), said the global threat to India has to be analysed with respect to the country's nuclear doctrine - no first use and no use against non-nuclear states.

As part of the mandate of technology development for national security, DRDO has already developed strategic missiles like Agni, Prithvi and tactical missiles like Akash, Nag, Astra and many electronic warfare systems. "Phased array radars have also been developed and inducted," he said.

With the advent of nano and biotechnology, the size of the systems was getting smaller, performance getting enhanced and the cost has been coming down, he said.

According to him, major threats to space security were increasing orbital debris, increasing crowding in key orbits and potential use of space weapons that threaten the space environment.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

tsarkar, last post was great.

sunny y wrote:

Honestly I am confused now with all these varying reports....

1) Why are they putting so much effort on INSAS when they are developing a new multi calibre assault rifle for F-INSAS ???

2) When the programme for AR is being run indigenously the why the Army is issuing RFP's for AR's ??

3) Sometime ago, Someone here I think Juggi mentioned that there is no such program for assault rifle currently going on but more than one source has mentioned that ARDE is heading the program to develop new AR. SO what actually is going on ??

Can someone knowledgeable here please clarify these doubts ??

My understanding is that:-

DRDO is NOT developing any new assault rifle or even any new small arm like pistol or shot gun. DRDO proposal to develop one was shot down long time back by the army (?). OFB Zittara was corruption ka pittara. OFB has been rumoured to have set up a factory in Korwa, UP along with a lab to develop small arms but nothing has come out of it. It seems that there will only be imports.

Edited to contradict my own aforesaid para

I did some googling and it came up that Antony made a statement in Parliament that DRDO would develop new weapon which is part of FINSAS project. Also there are web reports of DRDO working on two new rifles with Israel.

But recent DRDO reports are very negative. They seem to suggest that DRDO wants army to go ahead and import and they "might" only look at a new design.

So am confused
Last edited by vic on 16 Jul 2010 13:33, edited 1 time in total.
shukla

Post by shukla »

Boeings India plans..

'India has been great for Boeing'

Dr Dinesh Keskar, president, Boeing India talks about the technology practices/processes they aim to develop at the Chennai-based CoE and the future plans of the company in India. (By Sudipta Dev)
What are your future plans in India?

India holds a unique status for us. Both the aviation and defence markets are significant and the India industry has huge potential. Boeing values India as a key aerospace partner and we are enhancing our strong, long-standing relationship with Indian government and industry. The pace and depth of our engagement with Indian industry through products, services and partnership has increased in recent years. Boeing is pursuing a 'One Partnership' integrated strategy to become India’s preferred aerospace and defence partner and provider. The advantages and benefits we can offer the customer by pulling together all the talent, technology, capabilities and products from the commercial and defence sides of Boeing is unmatched by any other company in the world.

But before that, Boeing has had a long relationship with India. We started our journey here with the DC 3 about six decades ago and, over the time, we have gradually got success after success by putting the 707’s into India, then the 747’s, now the 777’s and the very latest 787 will be introduced in India next year. So it’s been a long and fruitful time here. In the last five years, India has grown to new heights and with the better relationship between the US and Indian governments, we are now able to participate in the defence arena. We have already achieved success in the area of P8I, recently C-17’s and are now involved in the large fighter competition where F-A/18 super hornet is our candidate. India also has the unique opportunity of building a strong supply base from here to the world. We are collaborating with the India industry to grow the ecosystem. While manufacturing is picking up, India was always known for software. We are producing and buying a lot of things from them and other software companies like Wipro, Infosys, HCL, TCS, which are big name companies in India and this is a two way thing that we are doing. In March of last year, we opened a research centre in Bengaluru which has been a good success, the former president of India, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, visited it and was pleased, so I think India has been great for Boeing and Boeing has come a long way in India over the last 60 years.
Last edited by shukla on 16 Jul 2010 08:16, edited 1 time in total.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Now, military mosquito formula for civilian use
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/815 ... ilian.html

Set Tech Agenda for Us: IAF Chief to Defence Scientists
You (DRDO scientists) are aware of the present, emerging and cutting-edge technologies. You understand IAF requirements. If not, we can work together on that. So, it's you who should be telling us what to go for," he said.

"With your knowledge and with your brains, you should be telling us. This (technology) is available. It will be available in 15 years (to make the time-frame known). This is what we can give", he said...............

Craig Alpert wrote:Set Tech Agenda for Us: IAF Chief to Defence Scientists
You (DRDO scientists) are aware of the present, emerging and cutting-edge technologies. You understand IAF requirements. If not, we can work together on that. So, it's you who should be telling us what to go for," he said.

"With your knowledge and with your brains, you should be telling us. This (technology) is available. It will be available in 15 years (to make the time-frame known). This is what we can give", he said...............
Finally.

Craig Alpert wrote:Set Tech Agenda for Us: IAF Chief to Defence Scientists

chackojoseph wrote: Finally.
Yep finally. The final fortress safe guarding the long drawn out tradition has fallen. :(( :P

Must appreciate the intiative he is trying to take. Long live that synergy.
You understand IAF requirements. If not, we can work together on that.
Yes Chief, do you need to even mention that? We know that verryyyy well, it is only the best of the best of the best, aint it? :P

Kanson wrote:
chackojoseph wrote: Finally.
Yep finally. The final fortress safe guarding the long drawn out tradition has fallen. :(( :P

Must appreciate the intiative he is trying to take. Long live that synergy.
I had recommended a RAND type think tank to someone up there. Recommended the organizational structure, objectives etc.

I assume the file will be dusted or it might form a blue print or at least some reference.

I had told them that the think tank will recommend the technology and time frame etc.

Its sort of coming true.

We are standing at a point of time when RAND was born. Our defence R&D has matured to a lot of times. Our threats are now real time. We will need such an organization in the future.

I had even mentioned the time frame it "might" happen.
shukla

Post by shukla »

Financial Express reports..

Our order book is full for delivery up to 2012
Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers (GRSE), a mini-ratna company, is a premier defence PSU that has delivered 600 vessels after its takeover by the government in 1977. While supporting the country’s defence needs, GRSE foresees its profitability growing in the coming decade. Beginning its journey in 1884 with a small factory in the eastern banks of the Hooghly, GRSE is now attempting to create a global footprint. Rear Admiral KC Sekhar, chairman and managing director of GRSE, talks to FE’s Indronil Roychowdhury about the company’s prospects and its strategic importance.
Detailed interview on future plans, IN and International orders..

>>I had recommended a RAND type think tank

Nice to hear that. May all our effort bloom..

[quote="tsarkar"][/quote]

Tsarkar, thank you for a polite, gracious post. While in each of the cases you mentioned, there was a substantial level of mess-up from the services end as well, with continuing problems. However, its to nobody's benefit, especially us Indians to get into a slanging match over it, and point fingers.

In fact, if there is one point I'd like to make, is that we (as in our country's stakeholders) need to come together and start working together, than point fingers, wash dirty linen in public, so I'll gladly stop here and not beat a dead horse (topic).
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Jul 2010 05:51, edited 1 time in total.

rohitvats wrote:And, pray, do tell me, which 'big ticket' item of IA is lagging in procurement for lack of coherence on part of IA?
The artillery is a case in point, but lets get to that later.

One segment is the T-72 upgrade. The most critical item, the FCS has still not been selected, nor has the engine and transmission. Over the years, DRDO/local industry has managed to get almost everything else upto spec. But the FCS and the engine remain unsettled as these were to be procured from external vendors, and the Army was unable to select/finalize on any. The trials have become another endless arty saga, only that the T-90 procurement has meant that leaks to the media have not occurred to bring this up as something is happening. Huge amounts have been budgeted for these tank upgrades while doubt remains about how viable these upgraded tanks will be,better to have focused on Arjuns but thats another can of worms.

Huge gaps still exist in other procurement areas, only that the items may not be "big ticket", but their volume and requirements do make them substantial. Infantry battalions continue to be far from ideally equipped, lacking enough thermal imagers for instance. While supposedly better off than our inbred "cousins" from Pak, its not ideal. All sorts of comic procurement messups have occurred. To save money, fewer chargers were procured for x thermal imagers, causing problems later on. Rectification by later procurement adds to time and cost.

Network centricity is nowhere near planned (the successes have been DRDO/BEL developed CIDSS, ACCCS and some others, but BMS remains in development while the F-INSAS remains in controversy with a tug of war going on between DGIS and DGInfy over who should lead the netcentricity component of F-INSAS. Similarly, the NWCW component for the CADA has yet to mature or take off. Compare and contrast to IAF's IACCS.

Finally Artillery - the story of the IAs biggest screw up. Very easy to blame it all on the MOD, CBI investigations etc. Harder question, why did no Army leadership even attempt a local development of the Bofors gun via RE and similar earlier? An attempt was launched, cancelled because the powers that be, in the Army decided, import was better. As such, no imports occurred and instead, the Army got nothing, we had no local program and recently, there were reports of how the Army was running around East Europe looking for excess, spare 130mm guns for its new raisings. A typical case of how the IA cannot forecast, and even support local industry to meet its own operational needs, and relies on imports even when decades of experience should tell it whats on the cards.
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

Multi-crore scam surfaced in DRDO
, the DRDO, which is involved in research and development project for defence, released crores of rupees to a particular university sans norms and regulations.
According to the Samay Exclusive report, DRDO has awarded research projects worth crores of rupees to a single university, which signals towards major swindle of money.

As per the DRDO guidelines, the defence organization will distribute the research projects to various universities across the country.

But it is obvious to raise doubts when all the research projects worth in crores go in favour of a single university.

Now DRDO has to answer to an RTI activist Prabhu Dayal eh? No where is any defence research institution subject to so much harrassement, why funds to one university and not others, are they suppossed to be doing reasearch or answering RTI queries from AAM Junta- this apart from Audit by CAG, answering Central Vigalence Commission etc? And just a doubt in one persons mind about why funds to one University is a scam?

If the media opposses someone or Organisation that person is guilty until they prove themselves innocent?
Manishw

Post by Manishw »

All countries that peddle their wares and ahem maybe some gentlemen in Delhi representing them have one enemy in common ie D.R.D.O

Karan M wrote:While in each of the cases you mentioned, there was a substantial level of mess-up from the services end as well, with continuing problems.
Could you explain and elaborate on the "substantial level of mess up"? Otherwise its just a baseless flippant statement from your side.
Karan M wrote:Finally Artillery - the story of the IAs biggest screw up. Very easy to blame it all on the MOD, CBI investigations etc.
Could you give one iota of fact or explanation that IA goofed anywhere? What can IA do it MoD blacklists? Provide facts, not rhetoric.
Karan M wrote:Harder question, why did no Army leadership even attempt a local development of the Bofors gun via RE and similar earlier?
Do you know about the Gurdial gun that was developed by an Army Officer. And how OFB screwed up manufacture of the 105mm Light Field Gun? The barrels exploded.
Karan M wrote:An attempt was launched, cancelled because the powers that be, in the Army decided, import was better.
Proof please - of any such development attempt, and IA scuttling it. OFB Kanpur couldnt even indigenize Bofors components and we've to import them. AFAIK, ARDE or any DRDO lab never made any offer to develop any howitzer.

For your information, DRDO makes offer to develop to the ministry, and not forces. If ministry sees value in that offer, they could allow development. Neither does IA have any issue with indigenous equipment, IA buys large numbers of Dhruv despite vibration issues never being fully resolved. IA proactively pushed Brahmos Block 2 with SCAN when DRDO never had plans for that.

Provide a little less rhetoric and a little more facts, Karan.

I know this is BRF....(anyone could disagree :P )....So before a big show...here is my small contribution in the form of trailer. :mrgreen:

It was reported in the news(The Hindu) that Army men from Artillery met the then Union minister Renuka Chowdhury. She is just a minister for Tourism.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/arti ... 397272.cms
When Renuka Chowdhury, then Union minister of state for tourism, wrote to defence minister Pranab Mukherjee lobbying against Denel, a South African firm trying to sell artillery to the Indian army, she appeared to have acted as a front for serving senior army officers and bureaucrats.

Her letter, written on June 10, 2004, (a copy of which is exclusively available to TIMES NOW) says very clearly that she is forwarding a nine-page document "prepared by some senior officers of the army and the bureaucracy, who are due for retirement in a matter of (a) few weeks".

These officers and bureaucrats had met her and "expressed their anguish and angst at the blatant violation of prudent and laid down procedures." Serving army officers are not allowed to meet politicians; least of all to discuss arms deals they consider dodgy.

In some cases, officers, after retirement, work for arms manufacturers as consultants. The armed forces are proud of their apolitical nature. Meeting with politicians is clearly against service rules.
For example, when the army was considering Denel to upgrade its 300 artillery regiments, political lobbying took over. Then tourism minister Renuka Chowdhury wrote to the defence minister suggesting that Russian guns were better despite the fact that they were below the prescribed calibre that the army was keen on. The Denel deal was cancelled.

For what guns she is lobbying for? Russian.[There ends the story] With the assistance of whom? Officers..not just officers but serving officers. Mera Bharat Mahan..sorry Mera Bharat Jawan.

Do you know about the Gurdial gun that was developed by an Army Officer.
Pre historic times.
And how OFB screwed up manufacture of the 105mm Light Field Gun? The barrels exploded.
Now blame DRDO for that.

everyone is asking a simple question: Why there is no artillery gun project of the wanted size?

chackojoseph wrote:
And how OFB screwed up manufacture of the 105mm Light Field Gun? The barrels exploded.
Now blame DRDO for that.
:rotfl: Right from RayC, those who try to put an argument against drdo quote OFB as an example.

Could you explain and elaborate on the "substantial level of mess up"? Otherwise its just a baseless flippant statement from your side.
Actually I can - but its my prerogative not to get into a slanging match, which you seem intent on, despite my polite rejoinder to your post.
Could you give one iota of fact or explanation that IA goofed anywhere? What can IA do it MoD blacklists? Provide facts, not rhetoric.
I already did, in my follow on statements, noting that the Army could have done far more, but didnt.

Harder question, why did no Army leadership even attempt a local development of the Bofors gun via RE and similar earlier?

Do you know about the Gurdial gun that was developed by an Army Officer. And how OFB screwed up manufacture of the 105mm Light Field Gun? The barrels exploded.
I said Bofors gun and similar, ergo 155mm. I am well aware of the Gurdial gun saga and the that it was resolved. If teething problems with any equipment were an issue on the lines of metallurgy and manufacturing problems and led to subsequent cancellation in toto, then the Army would never have gone for T-90 manufacture in India either, given similar issues were to recur with the T-72 as well. Such problems would effectively mean that no weapons would ever be made in India or anywhere, given that these problems are legion with any new effort. Net, your statements are not tenable.

The issue with the artillery is not about how bad the OFB is either and that it is and was the only option. If the Army so wanted and had visionary, determined leadership, it could have done what the Navy did, when it tapped Walchandnagar into assembling and then actually manufacturing gearboxes. Talk about a change in focus, yet the Navy worked with them and had it work. However, the Army made no attempts of this nature. Till date, the Army's engagement with local industry remains ad hoc and nothing transformative has been done.

Unfortunately, there was a large "Chalta hain", "imports will come" attitude which has & continues to be a problem with the Army.
An attempt was launched, cancelled because the powers that be, in the Army decided, import was better.
Proof please - of any such development attempt, and IA scuttling it. OFB Kanpur couldnt even indigenize Bofors components and we've to import them. AFAIK, ARDE or any DRDO lab never made any offer to develop any howitzer.
So you want weblinks & that would construe proof? Weren't you the same person complaining about how some folks want the "DNA analysis" of every bit quoted, vis a vis things which folks are personally aware of? For the record, I met one of the people involved in this effort many years back and that the program was dropped in lieu of imports once they became available. It was not merely a DRDO effort or OFB effort but several companies with HE expertise were involved. As matter of fact, the barrels were not even to be made by the OFB but someone else.
For your information, DRDO makes offer to develop to the ministry, and not forces.
Which is the problem, given that in this case, the Army sat around doing nothing and not even pursuing back up options when its primary import/TOT option ran a cropper again and again. And still has no backup option. Releasing new RFP seems to be the solution.
If ministry sees value in that offer, they could allow development. Neither does IA have any issue with indigenous equipment, IA buys large numbers of Dhruv despite vibration issues never being fully resolved. IA proactively pushed Brahmos Block 2 with SCAN when DRDO never had plans for that.
The vibration issue is not critical for the Army Dhruv. My source is one of the display team, who in 2007 noted this was more of an issue for the Navy, in particular and that HAL's roadmap for successive reductions in vibration were good enough for Army requirements. And no, the Army does not compromise on features/specifications/services which are critical to its requirements. In the Army's case, it was serviceability which they were concerned about and which HAL met by setting up dedicated spares & serviceability teams.

The second statement is false. The Army did not "proactively push Brahmos Block 2 with SCAN when DRDO never had any plans for that" - the DRDO already had a technological roadmap for the Brahmos and the Army inducted the weapon, because there was nothing similar to it available. Even there, there were issues from some sections, again no point in getting into it as enough dirty linen has been washed already. There is also a roadmap after Brahmos which is also being worked on for multiple requirements. Again, the development is being led by the DRDO-Russian partners, with the services involved in terms of functional requirements.
Provide a little less rhetoric and a little more facts, Karan.
Please follow your own advice and tone down the aggression as it serves no purpose. I for one made a polite reply to your post & really see no purpose in a discussion on the lines of which it is going.
Last edited by Karan M on 23 Jul 2010 18:35, edited 3 times in total.

I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?

Oh! by the way....IA had evaluated the Russian Gun (and that too as last measure) but rejected it because of the 152mm Caliber thing...but then, objective analysis is passe these days, I suppose...Indeed, Mera Bharat Mahan.

rohitvats wrote:I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?
Only certain ex. Also, circumstantial evidence substantiated.
Kanson wrote: :rotfl: Right from RayC, those who try to put an argument against drdo quote OFB as an example.
It used to be like that in 1998 too :lol:
Last edited by chackojoseph on 23 Jul 2010 17:50, edited 1 time in total.

Kanson wrote:I know this is BRF....(anyone could disagree :P )....So before a big show...here is my small contribution in the form of trailer. :mrgreen:

Thats the thing. The so called debate ended with Tsarkar noting These discussions are the worst waste of time, effort and bandwidth, and dont lead to any meaningful conclusion. wherein I didnt have any wish to get into more of this stuff on an open board which is then gleefully quoted across the net by Pak/Chic. posters as proof that the Indian services are as woebegone as theirs (which they arent).

>>Kanson

>>Thats the thing. The so called debate ended with Tsarkar noting These discussions are the worst waste of time, effort and bandwidth, and dont lead to any meaningful conclusion.

True, Sir.
Last edited by Kanson on 23 Jul 2010 17:52, edited 1 time in total.

rohitvats wrote:I guess this is truely the new BRF - where ex-COAS is called a liar and quotes from his book are considered unacceptable but news items are OK to pass judgement on the IA?
Rohit, who exactly called the ex COAS a liar? I for one have not.

One of the things is to note that even the finest human beings - which may be the ex-COAS have their own organizational POV and will continue to stick to it, post retirement. Its human nature. That does not necessarily mean that what he said is the entire picture or that things were as black and white either. There is clear evidence that many Indian projects were impacted thanks to sanctions, in specific timeframes, and had to developed locally. There, were and are many more such items here and there, but web URL are often not available. What this means is that claims that "xyz overestimated their capability and did not deliver" also need to be tempered unless all data is available.

So quotes and all are ok, but they need to be considered with all available facts on hand. In a very popular Indian defence mag, there have been literal slanging matches between IAF and IA over Kargil. Both sides postulating dramatically opposite things. Each side, has respected officers, who have risen to the top in their chosen professions.

Does that mean if one reaches a POV that looks at both having +/- points, one of the two sides, or both, are liars and their "quotes are considered unacceptable"?

Do consider.

Karan M,

Winds of change has touched the Army lightly. What was really different of Gen VK singh was he actually said that Army's image has taken a beating. He actually started with Akash and Arjun inductions in addition to image issue. However, am still waiting to see what he does to make it better. Even in Armour, the folks have dented the previous mindset. But, some people live holier than though.

The other factor which has come in is about the Kargil episode. There are some indisputable facts:
- India won
- India would not have won but for the indomitable bravery of the jawans and officers who led from the front
- After initial reverses, the Indian Army acquitted itself well and did a thorough and meticulous job under huge constraints
-The IAF also supported the Army to the best of its ability

However, the fact that Kargil occurred thanks to a series of lapses (including political) and initial casualties were so heavy, and there was a certain amount of chalta hain, is also undeniable.

I quoted Lt Col Viswanathans death in particular, because I recall reading his final letter to his parents, in which he pretty much expects his death and even apologises to his family for not meeting up to their commitments. At the time I first read it, I accepted it as a symbol of sacrifice and what is to be "expected" of the standards of the Indian Army, which would demand no less. Today, I also think of it as an avoidable tragedy, given that if senior leadership had been less blase about the task set out for the men, things may have been different.

That we criticise the Army leadership on some aspects does not mean we disrespect the institution and the uniform. At the end of the day, it is the Army's own young that have to go to into battle and face such challenges, and they deserve nothing less than a good system in every which way. That is where I , at least, am coming from, if I criticize or appear to, some aspects of the Army or services institution. Any organization, over a long period of time, tends to pick up a huge amount of inertia, and organizational culture. Most have served the Indian Army well. Some, have not and continue to pose issues, hence my tack on these specific issues in particular, including the civil-military divide on procurement.

The fact becomes more complicated that any attempt to suggest any improvement is taken as an attack on the uniform and treated akin to the political caste/creed census that was attempted by some sections. It then becomes an uppity civilian versus the services issue. However, the points remain. In days to come, the challenges faced by the Army are only going to multiply and there are many worrisome indications that lessons will have to be learnt under painful conditions which seems a frightful waste given all that we have seen and observed. It is not my intention to be an arrogant prophet of doom, but I am merely stating what I observe. Again, it is your (and everyone else's) prerogative to disagree. But do realize, that it is not meant to pour scorn on the services. There are enough idiots doing that, and I am not from their ranks.