The Red Menace

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: The Red Menace

its well know TMC has been trying to leverage the maoist tiger to get their back on CPIM. but just the US trying to use the mujahideen to attack soviets, the TMC will be butchered in short order if the tiger took over the controls.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

State anti-rebel force on Greyhound lines
The CIF currently has a strength of 250. The personnel have been trained in jungle warfare by the army and the Border Security Force. “The strength of the CIF will shortly go up to 700. Several are still undergoing training,” the home department official said. “Training camps are being set up and more men will be inducted gradually.”

The government has decided to set up three training centres of 250 to 300 acres each. The centres will be set up at Salua in West Midnapore, Taldangra in Bankura and Matigara in Siliguri with financial assistance from the Centre. “Once these units are ready, we will recruit young men for training. We will engage retired armymen and BSF personnel to train them in jungle warfare,” the official said. Officers of the rank of deputy inspector-general of police will be in charge of the training.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1100717/j ... 694230.jsp
Bike-borne rebels pose new threat
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1100717/j ... 693757.jsp

Singha wrote:its well know TMC has been trying to leverage the maoist tiger to get their back on CPIM. but just the US trying to use the mujahideen to attack soviets, the TMC will be butchered in short order if the tiger took over the controls.
This is the reason for the Moasits and their ideology to be alive even today. What TMC is doing in WB is same as what INC did in AP and even in Chattisgargh. I do not know about political parts of Orissa and JHK. It is a same reason why these jokers does not want a no-nonsense flushout operations.

Every thug and goonda calls himself as a naxalite or Maoist to get some respect and they are nurtured by these parties to capture booths etc. By blowing hot and cold they actually save these goons for their street work.

I gaurantee you if Ajit Jogi is CM of Chattisgargh there will be some local hafta collecting deals in Bastar and you will suddenly see a drop in Maoist violence there. If parallel governments (by Naxals) are allowed then you will see drop in Maoist violence.

At the end of the day it is all about hafta collecting industry from local economy ( Ex: read TATAs costs at Jamshedpur due to Maoists )

For me the root cause of all ills leads to the electoral system. The day we have a system where the winner has to get 50% of votes polled then a substantial portion of current unlawful stuff will whither away.

Muppalla wrote:
For me the root cause of all ills leads to the electoral system. The day we have a system where the winner has to get 50% of votes polled then a substantial portion of current unlawful stuff will whither away.
Mauppllaji

Can you clarify why you think 50% votes will change this?

digvijay singh has again attacked HM on naxal issue. he seems to be the front face of the pro-ROP/pro-naxal factions in the INC who dont want publicity for themselves but want to sabotage the HM ?

vijayk wrote:
Mauppllaji

Can you clarify why you think 50% votes will change this?
Briefly put - just check the winner's percentages and overall percentages of votes polled in areas affected by maoists and also in backward areas of the nation. There are several seats with winners having approximately 30% of votes polled or less. In most of these seats the overall voting is about 55% of the total electorate. In this situation by using help of any elements that are available, you can get a substantial percentage who are perceived as your voters to booths and threaten those who are not perceived as your voters. This trecheory of using this as a tap when needed and closing this when not in need using money and muscle is going since ages. Now imagine if there is a need to get 50% of votes polled then the costs increase to a level of unsustainability which will ulitimately kill this nexus.

That is the reason for some politicians being extremely-anti towards no-nonsense approach.

kanchan gupta tweets:
https://twitter.com/KanchanGupta
Law same for all, privileges differ. Why else would Chhatradhar be in jail under UAPA and propagandists of Maoists in TV studios?

Those who wax eloquent on justice: Why is UAPA being applied selectively? Why Chatradhar Mahato and not south Delhi's P3P?

Digvijay Singh is true inheritor of Arjun Singh's legacy, which is largely toxic waste.

Wrong time to call in the army. Should have been done without fanfare and when public attention was less aroused. Now the "red"s prestige grows in all the forces poised against the rashtra. What is the problem in detaching units and rechristening them as special forces and not called the IA? I am not sure of the success of this venture. It will disperse the reds more into the urban areas, and could be just the thing to revive a jaded movement that was going the pure criminal gang way.

We already have a whole brigade of big-mouths giving them the aura of legitimacy in political terms. At a time, when, the Indian rashtra in a sense is withdrawing or retreating or proving ineffective in certain areas or regions, the danger is that a protracted struggle with the reds may turn out to be advantageous for the reds.

The gov needs to be clear in its objectives and considerations about the reds : either decide to eliminate them physically and completely crush all the bases, or go entirely for the political engagement process. A hybrid scenario is not a workable situation wherever army is called in. The army is trained to deal with the "enemy" in "enemy territory", and not have political considerations in mind while operating [unless it is an ideologically motivated army like the revolutionary communist armies or Jihadis]. This is where the internal dynamic of the Congress may intervene and draw the army into something from which it will emerge shaken.

"If I were the PM of India" series...

The Red Menace has multiple players and each player needs a different prescription -

1. Disgruntled commons and under developed tribal regions:
This is a genuine complaint. Negotiate directly with each tribal-village, near-by town etc to find out what exactly they need so the entire village can ensure that no maoist is created and supported from that area. Oftentimes the requests would be in the realm of land-allocation, water supply, food security, health and education, basic civic governance and police protection. These things have to be done in any scenario, so do them in a timely fashion and partner with locals in every project.

2. Maoist command structure:
Starting from top, kill/capture every one you can find; with no exceptions. We don't need these Maoist leadership to negotiate with and settle the the issues of common people and Indian citizenry. Offer generous settlement package for low-level cadre. I would pay Rs 6 Lakhs for every maoist who will surrender to police with a gun (this is the passing criteria). All these surrendered maoists will be treated as "Rowdy Sheeters" for 10 years, requiring them to be present and sign at the local police station periodically.

3. Leftist Intellectuals who support Maoists and romanticize revolution:
Arrest them and prosecute them under a POTA like law. Let them get a bail under a Rs 50L bond.

4. Political/Business-Mafia:
This will be the toughest nut to crack in the short term. Build strong corruption cases on selected bad-apples. Arrest them under those charges and takeover their assets.

I would put a total budget of Rs ~100,000 crore and a 5 yr time frame. There are nearly 100 Maoist affected Districts (at various levels) in India. All these districts will reach the national average on development index by the end of this project.

P.S: The sum Rs 100,000 crore may appear large to some. In last 6 months India announced equal amount of money on new defense deals (Rs 23000 for Akash, Rs 50000 for 6 submarines etc). There are 626 districts in India. Total expected tax revenues in India for 2010-11 is Rs. 746,651 crores. A proportional budget allocation for 100/626 districts would be Rs 119,273 crores.
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

An interesting read from Tehelka on what our CRPF jawans find themselves against, in the battle against naxals...

http://www.tehelka.com/story_main46.asp ... rStory.asp
A week with the CRPF in the jungles of Chhattisgarh gives BRIJESH PANDEY a first hand view of what the forces are fighting in India’s bloodiest internal conflict
“Seventy-six members of the 62nd unit died and all we heard was how incompetent we were. How we were not trained properly, how we didn’t know a thing about road opening drills and how we violated standard operating procedures. Do the higher-ups living in Delhi even know what they are talking about? Are they even remotely aware of the ground reality? The country is not behind us.” By now he is shouting with rage. He says the force doesn’t have enough units to secure a stretch of road once it has been cleared.

The jawans have heard of the report submitted by EN Rammohan, former Director General of the Border Security Force, on the “leadership failure” and “lack of coordination between the CRPF and the state police” that led to the massacre. “We are here to assist the administration, but there is no reciprocity on their part.”
“One incident will best define how good our morale is and how powerful we feel while operating on the mined roads of Chattisgarh. We were posted in Chintalnar .There is only one bus which plys once a day. That bus was carrying ration for the whole camp. The bus starts at 6 am. Just 5 km before our camp, the Naxals put up a check post and took away the ration. The whole camp depended on that ration, but we couldn’t do a thing. When we can’t save our food, imagine the kind of morale we will be in, when it comes to saving our life,” Rakesh says
But Mahesh Prasad, who has seen action in two other war zones, blurts out this is the worst he has seen. “For the last one and a half years, we have been dumped here with bare minimum facilities,” he says bitterly. “Several times, we had to eat rice with tamarind juice. Is this how we fight a war? Would they treat the Army the same way?”

typical delhi/itivity strategy of dumping bodies on a "project" and hoping that something good happens, without the necessary strong logistical tail and planning to match.

more I see it, all managerial classes be it delhi or itvity suffer from the same issues
- people trying to operate at above their natural level of competence
- overambitious and unclear goals driven by marketing spiel than realism
- too fond of good publicity rather than quality/stability
- a desire to compress schedules
- vicious fights among internal factions
- SVP/minister types not on talking terms with each other yet having overlapping zones of influence
- lack of tenure in important posts
- ignoring the real feedback from the trenches
- unwilling to hear bad news, the bringer of such news is always punished and sidelined

Singha wrote:typical delhi/itivity strategy of dumping bodies on a "project" and hoping that something good happens, without the necessary strong logistical tail and planning to match.
<OT>
It hit me very close to my work. I had a very recent experience when talking to a manager who talks in blunt language of bodies. "I need some SME bodies in another 24 hours"
</OT>

arun wrote:
arun wrote: ............... Digvijay Singh, General Secretary of the AICC authors an article in the Economic Times.

In the article Digvijay Singh takes a potshot at his fellow Congress Party member, Home Minister P. Chidambaram, on policy towards the Maoist / Naxalite terrorists. Digvijay Singh claims off course that his potshot at his fellow Congress Party member is “personal”.

Rethink counter-Maoist strategy: Digvijay Singh to P Chidambaram
Congress party General Secretary Digvijay Singh expresses regret over writing the above linked article in the Economic Times (ET) that attacked Home Minister and Congress party colleague P. Chidambaram over policy regarding the Maoists / Naxalites:

Diggy sorry to embarrass party & govt
Digvijay Singh now says he does not regret the attack on P. Chidambaram and that the attack reflected Congress Party views:

Digvijay says his article on Maoist problem reflected Cong views

'Chidambaram seems cold to peace with Maoists now'
In May, home minister P Chidambaram agreed to let him mediate with the Maoists. But human rights activist Swami Agnivesh says this has meant no more than feelings of deep guilt after the Naxalite spokesperson he was speaking to, Cherukuri Rajkumar aka Azad, was killed in an encounter with security forces. Agnivesh speaks to Rakhi Chakrabarty about the dharma of justice and his quest to solve a hydra-headed problem. Excerpts:

Has Azad's death snuffed out all hope of dialogue between the Centre and Maoists?

Azad's death is a big blow to the peace initiatives. But I haven't lost hope. I am trying to re-establish contact with the Maoist leadership, especially, Venugopal Rao (Kishenji's brother). The Maoists have also been sending feelers about restarting the process. In his final days, Azad was working to pave the way for a dialogue. I wrote to him last on June 26 when I informed him that P Chidambaram had arranged my meetings with senior Maoist leaders Kobad Ghandy lodged in Tihar jail and Narayan Sanyal in Raipur Central Jail in the last week of May. Both had responded positively to the peace process. Chidambaram had been insisting that Maoists should set a date for abjuring violence for 72 hours. In my letter to Azad, I had suggested three dates: July 10, 15 and 20. Before he could respond, the police killed him.
Ironically, its kongi riled state which finished the hope for talk and non kongi riled state which face the dance of death by Maoists. Luckily you know who next AP kongi will talk to . :twisted:
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

This potrayal of Azad as a wannabe peace dove is as sickening as the portrayal of Benazir Bhutto as democractic and modern politician after her death...

How many years did this animal live and how much of that was devoted to peace? the last 2 days?

The media, by writing such things is deliberately playing into the hands of the Stalinist mass murderers and Maoist eye-gougers.

Singha wrote:typical delhi/itivity strategy of dumping bodies on a "project" and hoping that something good happens, without the necessary strong logistical tail and planning to match.
Singha-ji,

Is this about my post :oops:

I don't know but I am confused. Don't you think it is better to address each issue separately as if it is independent of its surroundings? How/When can we solve any problem if we tangle it with poverty, corruption, bureaucracy, political self-interests, religious conversions, national security, geopolitics, environment, civilization etc? While we need to keep the underlying spirit Indic (if that is what you meant by strategizing for the complete domain space), don't you think tangling each issue with everything else is a useless exercise, never leading to action on the ground?

I would rather approach each problem independently, as a project if you will meaning it has specific objective, timeline, and resources, and then worry about the consequences. Strategizing before implementation for every parameter and outcome is not only a near-impossible task but also eliminates any opportunity for feedback mechanisms. On the other hand, time bound projects, provide feedback streams for next projects allowing changes in strategy. This is what they call "managing by projects".

We did a study on this at my work place (I am about to publish a white-paper on it) and the findings are inline with above philosophy. Of course there always will be different approaches to a given problem. I was presenting my approach knowing that there will be gaps.

Sorry for the OT. I am X-posting this in conceptual discussion thread. We can continue our discussion there if you are interested.

Muppalla wrote:
<OT>
It hit me very close to my work. I had a very recent experience when talking to a manager who talks in blunt language of bodies. "I need some SME bodies in another 24 hours"
</OT>
In common man parlance, it is well known stratergery, as trying to get a baby in one month by nine wimmens, instead of, by one woman in nine months.

^ the other extreme is analysis paralysis.

We need to find a middle-path.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Maoist attack on schools in Jharkhand affecting education
http://www.hindustantimes.com/special-n ... 74466.aspx

Another Rail Crash in Bengal: 60 Dead, 90 Injured

http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld ... 9384.story

It is speculated that Maoist Sabotage may be responsible for this tragedy, the second train collision event of this magnitude within seven weeks. Recall the crash of May 28, 2010 which killed 145 people... firmly established as an incident of Maoist sabotage.

Interestingly, this crash comes within two days of the Pakistanis scuttling the Foreign Minister-level talks by stonewalling on the issue of terrorism sponsorship.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Maoist threat to Chidambaram, Pillai: Government
Official sources told on Monday that intelligence agencies had advised the government to enhance the security of the two VIPs, after they intercepted Maoist messages "planning revenge" for the killing of Communist Party of India-Maoist leader and spokesperson Cherkuri Rajkumar alias Azad in Andhra Pradesh recently.
Government sources said the intelligence reports spoke of "doing something spectacular" against the "rulers in Delhi" to avenge the killing of Azad, and therefore the security cover for Chidambaram and Pillai have been upgraded.

Another Rail Crash in Bengal: 60 Dead, 90 Injured....
Maoist threat to Chidambaram, Pillai: Government
CPI has done its job well, converting WB from an scientific/industrial powerhouse to Sierra Leone
We allowed them to do the damage through their proxies in all these decades

There should be a President's rule in WB for a decade at least

Rudradev wrote:It is speculated that Maoist Sabotage may be responsible for this tragedy
Hmm.. News reports say that the second express train rammed into the back of the first one, as it was slowly pulling out of the station. The second express train was at a very high speed, even though it was to stop at that station.
1. The driver of the second train did not observe the signals at all, did not even know he was approaching a station and rammed in at full speed. This IMHO is very unlikely, unless the drivers (both of them) were sleeping or incapacitated. Engine drivers generally operate on a fixed route, so they pretty much know the track and station layouts very clearly.
2. The signals were sabotaged, which gave a false indication to the second train drivers which made them proceed at a high speed. But still they have stuff like walkie talkies so that can cross check with the nearest station.

Unfortunately both the drivers and the guard of the first train have died. So crucial evidence on their observations are gone.

Sachin wrote:
Rudradev wrote:It is speculated that Maoist Sabotage may be responsible for this tragedy
Hmm.. News reports say that the second express train rammed into the back of the first one, as it was slowly pulling out of the station. The second express train was at a very high speed, even though it was to stop at that station.
1. The driver of the second train did not observe the signals at all, did not even know he was approaching a station and rammed in at full speed. This IMHO is very unlikely, unless the drivers (both of them) were sleeping or incapacitated. Engine drivers generally operate on a fixed route, so they pretty much know the track and station layouts very clearly.( yes, very correct)
2. The signals were sabotaged, which gave a false indication to the second train drivers which made them proceed at a high speed. But still they have stuff like walkie talkies so that can cross check with the nearest station.

Unfortunately both the drivers and the guard of the first train have died. So crucial evidence on their observations are gone.

Just before the station ( 1.8Kms ) there is a bridge.It is unlikely that driver ( in A category and a regular on that route) would not know that they are approaching the station and need to be below 30kmph. Bridge itself has speed limit of 30kmph. Driver reportedly halted at Gadadharpur station, just 10km from Sainthia and then speeded in excess of 70kmph.. So signal may not be malfunctioning.
Something drastically gone wrong after train left Gadadharpur. What could that be ???
Why drivers did not apply breaks at all when there was no visibility problem??
Another good question is , why line to that platform was open. Train could have gone to another line as there was already a train on platform. To me it appears that as Vanachal was leaving the platform, the interlock could have been disengaged.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

Two accident, both in WB, both now blamed on Mamata B not 'focussing' on job - both eminently fitting into propaganda of Bejing puppet rapist goons..too convenient aint it? Needs investigation...
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

Add INC as well to the puppets.

Too many lives are being lost - relief operations are tardy slow, so the unfortunate ones (including the CRPF ones) who lost their lives, lost it because of continuous bleeding. An acquaintance bled to death in the Gnaneshwari incident.
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Raman Singh hit out at Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh for what he called a sustained campaign against Chhattisgarh to portray that the state is mishandling the Maoist issue.

'The union home minister (P. Chidambaram) held several meetings with the Chhattisgarh government on the Maoist issue and this month home secretary (G.K. Pillai) too had a meeting with us in the state,' Raman Singh said.

'They (Chidambaram and Pillai) did not criticise us for any mishandling. So why is an extra player desperate to make goals?' he asked referring to Digvijay Singh. :lol:

http://in.news.yahoo.com/43/20100721/81 ... dra_1.html

Last edited by chaanakya on 21 Jul 2010 21:53, edited 1 time in total.

Not getting into a "I told you so" mode..
1. For the two drivers to behave in a totally irresponsible way suddenly, it could be because of drugging or they being threatened at gun point. Threat can be ruled out, as no other body has been found in the engine cabin.
2. An autopsy on the body would certainly reveal what the drivers had? The traces of drugs/poison would be there.
3. Then it would be plain police work to identify where the drugs/food laced with drugs could have reached the two drivers. And the first point would be the previous station in which the train halted.

Time to pick up the Tea Vendor, make him drink his own tea and then make him answer questions. A different kind of narco analysis, if I can put it that way.

Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

It is so sad to see that no one, not even the BJP is giving Mamata a hand in her brave struggle against the Nandigram rapist goon traitors. The maniacs these criminals worship prominently are responsible for countless killings, and do not bat an eyelid before wiping out 10-15% of the population simply to preserve the rule of a dictator. What is 60-70 passengers to them? Is it a crime to even ask for investigations?

Mass murderer ideology controlled yellow dailies and journalist plants/puppets are spinning daily conspiracy theories by the dozen against Hindus and their organistions but no one seems to dare to take on these treacherous leeches....why? Why leave only MB to plough a lonely furrow? Gadkari & Co. have a lot to answer for...

Suppiah- > given mamata's behaviour and her being a key UPA ally and being dependent on the 30% minority vote share in WB, I doubt either she or the BJP want to be anywhere near each other
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

They dont have to get near each other, but BJP owes to itself and to the victims of Stalinist rapist goon sponsored yellow propaganda to pay them back in their own coin...

remember Mamtha diched the bjp before. Now in fact there are allegations flying around that she is in league with naxals and their front organisations. She may get rid of CPM goons but can she get rid of the naxals? Pity if she fails.

Why is it the onus is on BJP to do that?
Also MB sabotaged West Bengal by her agitation against the Tata Nano factory. Some time back I said she will not be able to pull a surprise in WB for there are other reasons for status quo.

And she is in league with the Maoists if not the Naxals thoguh there isnt much difference.

We have been saying for more than a year now, that MB will be kept under pressure by the Cong by supporting the Left indirectly and this will mean that Delhi will try to do everything to see that Left survives and is not completely wiped out electorally. The ideal situation is where Left and MB both weaken each other by attrition, and as and when PC is bridled in, a pocket of Maoist strength retained to provide excuses to intervene of neither MB nor Left is weakened sufficiently.

BJP will do well to maintain a not-so-hot line with MB, for this tactically brilliant leader (but strategically poor) may yet need to and do twists and turns in the future. After the initial euphoria of a TMC style radicalization which will prove hollow, Bengalis will look for their periodical radicalization fix. The super red, the super green, all have been tried out - so a change of colour to orange could just be the thing to experiment with.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

IMHO the Stalinists of CPM are a bigger threat than the Maoists because Maoists/Naxals can never capture power, they can only count bodies. Nor can they set/influence policy. For all their ills, they are sons of soil and do not act under directions of any overseas paymaster (IMHO). Having gone far to the left they are also likely to see the futility of the whole ideology of mass murder and change mind unlike Stalinists who pretend they have found a fantastic middle-ground.

As I mentioned elsewhere, they can only kill far far far less than drunk driving, IR incompetence and lightnings kill in India...perhaps 0.1% of that tally.

Hence MB's dalliance with Maoists if true, (here I am not sure if you guys are swallowing Stalinist yellow propaganda hook line and stinker), is likely to be a tactical move with not that much serious long term consequence, certainly beyond WB. But a Stalinist collapse in WB will essentially rid India of communism. Beijing will have to find replacement for its current puppets and also perhaps wake up and realise India has to be treated as equal.

Re. BJP what I am saying is they can do their own (not coordinated with MB) propaganda on Stalinists at least to the extend of what these traitors do to pay them back....that is all. Why are they taking it and showing other cheek?
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Suppiah wrote: Re. BJP what I am saying is they can do their own (not coordinated with MB) propaganda on Stalinists at least to the extend of what these traitors do to pay them back....that is all. Why are they taking it and showing other cheek?
If BJP makes a statement of support the following are likely to happen:
1) Sekoolar media goes into a tizzy ... "Is MB planning on ditching UPA and going with BJP" kinds of analysis and news starts floating around.
2) Stalinists go the minorities in WB and point out that MB is working with BJP and they may get a breather in terms of vote share and seats in WB elections.
3) In order to woo the same minorities MB may publicly snub the BJP which leaves BJP red faced.

Therefore, IMHO, BJP should not make any statements supporting MB at this point in time and keep out of this fight.
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

You got a point there...I hope that is the reason behind this general tendency to show cheek in the face of all the anti-hindu yellow propaganda..but in general the fact of Stalinist mass murderer/traitor characteristics has to be brought out into public discourse in India which is unfortunately not happening and only BJP can make a start.