India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Raghavendra

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

Post by Raghavendra »

Success :)

India's ballistic missile interceptor successfully tested http://in.news.yahoo.com/43/20100726/81 ... cepto.html

India Monday successfully tested for the fourth consecutive time a ballistic missile interceptor from a defence base in Orissa as part of its endeavour to create an impregnable shield against incoming enemy missiles, defence sources said.

The indigenous interceptor was fired from Wheeler Island off the Orissa coast near Dhamra in Bhadrak district, about 170 km from state capital Bhubaneswar.

It successfully destroyed an incoming ballistic missile - a variant of the Prithvi II that lifted off from Launch Complex-III of the Integrated Test Range (ITR) at Chandipur-on-sea in Balasore district, about 70 km from Wheeler Island across the sea.

The single stage interceptor, fitted with a directional warhead and other advanced systems, neutralized the target at an altitude of 15 km in the endo-atmosphere (upto a height of 30 km).

'It was a very successful flight. The interceptor destroyed the target,' S.P. Dash, the director of the Integrated Test Range at Chandipur, told IANS.

The interceptor missile was fired few minutes after the target missile was fired. The interceptor neutralized the target missile, breaking it into fragments.

This was tracked by various radars and sensors. All weapon system elements including command and control, communication and radar performed satisfactorily, he said.

Defence Minister A.K. Antony spoke to Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) chief V.K. Sarswat over the phone and congratulated the scientists for the successful test.

The test was witnessed by several scientists and defence officials. They included DRDO chief Saraswat, Director of the Advanced Systems Laboratory (ASL), Hyderabad Avinash Chandar and Chief Controller (DRDO) K. Shekhar.

DRDO is developing a twin shield defence - the Advanced Air Defence (AAD) system for endo-atmospheric interception and the Prithvi Air Defence (PAD) missile for exo-atmospheric (50-80 km) interception.

India plans to deploy the first phase of the defence shield by 2012 after completing a series of trials and evaluating their target range.

India successfully tests ballistic missile interceptor http://in.news.yahoo.com/43/20100726/81 ... c-m_1.html

vic wrote:
Kanson wrote:So do we all agree that the induction or non-induction of WLR has no impact on the outcome in Kargil sector of the Kargil war ?

I disagree, army must have a right to import each and everything. DRDO should be disbanded. The Army/HM brass should be allowed to import as per their RFPs floated for 5.56mm carbines, 5.56mm rifles, 5.56mm LMGs, 7.62mmx51 rifles, light GPMGs, HMGs, AMRs, ATGMs, fuses, JLTV, pistols, 9mm carbines, sniper rifles (apart from 120mm mortars, 155mm guns, AD guns, Wheeled tanks, Light tanks, Medium Tanks etc). (Is anything left??).
We must have faith in infantry directorate which ignored MoD direcorate for 5 years to permit DRDO to develop new range of small arms per FINSAS and is still playing footsie. The approximate value of reverse engineering Most of these arms would be around Rs. 2000-10,000 crores while imports will be valued around Rs 200,000 to 100,000 crore over a peroid of 20-25 years time. Therefore it is wrong to spend 1-2% of turnover on R&D. We must reduce it to Zero. When I try to remember when was the last time army was importing everything it was called 1962.
Definitely, Sir. We must try to make it as much indigenous as possible.

>>This speaks volumes about DRDO’s confidence in itself to make a gun.

huh ?

and then

>>To summarize, nothing is gained by baseless allegations that “Army could” or “Army didn’t” or “DRDO could” or “DRDO didn’t”. There are constraints faced in decision making and decision makers in both organizations do take the most optimum path. Castigating them serves no purpose.

I wonder how this gyaan suddenly become void when making statements like "speaks volumes about DRDO’s confidence".

chackojoseph wrote:
Kanson wrote:So do we all agree that the induction or non-induction of WLR has no impact on the outcome in Kargil sector of the Kargil war ?
Here is how I would list my POV.

1) There was no counter firing
2) No matter where the fire came from, it came to certain points.
3) General "felt" a WLR could have saved lives. Here I have no dispute with his "felt." He is entitled to feel what ever he likes.
4) No conclusive proof that DRDO Jumped in and did all that the general claims.
5) Even if it was ordered in 1997, most likely, it wouldn't have participated in Kargil. Even if in no significant way. I have shown you the delivery pattern of Raytheon.
6) Looking at the number of sources the participants, I would say, DRDO actually played a positive role.
7) Since its a new equipment and DRDO gives its signature on the equipment tested, the general failed to tell us that it was with DRDO's consent too.
Chacko ji, I saying or atleast i'm trying to imply, there is no way even if inducted WLR could have changed the outcome of the events during the Kargil war. Even going by the interview he gave to Thapar, he only mentioned one or two incidents that arised due to WLR. Though there is no proper explanation of what he mentioned abt those incidents, i think, based on other perceptions, it comes to the conclusion we arrived.

This conclusion negates and pre-empts any discussion whether DRDO scuttled or MOD bungled. Becoz whether or not LWR was inducted, the outcome of Kargil war has litttle effect on it.

Kanson, the point I’m trying to make is not to have extreme opinions.

Karan’s PoV is that DRDO is keen to develop howitzers and the IA’s lack of requesting DRDO is holding them back.

Fact is nothing stops DRDO from developing artillery guns like it is developing an ABM system. AFAIK, there is no IAF ASR for the ABM program.

Fact is advances in design and metallurgy have outpaced us. Hence my “DRDO’s confidence in itself” statement is not used in a derogatory sense, but to state the organization is being realistic.

To explain the complexity,

The M777 weighs 3.175 tons while the Bofors FH-77B weighs 13.14 tons. Both are 155/39 caliber. The 130mm M-46 weighs 8 tons. The 105 mm IFG weighs 1.858 tons chassis and 3.4 tons including supporting equipment.

So the 155 mm M777 weighs as much as 105 mm IFG and can fire farther than the Bofors because it can withstand higher bore pressures.

Now some may say who cares about the weight? We’ve got Mi-26 and getting C-17 and Chinooks. The answer is the modern enemy onslaught requires massive volumes of own artillery firepower to counter (despite better C4I and advanced guidance). So ferrying a copious ammunition load in addition to the gun AT THE SAME TIME is as important, since a silent gun is as good as none. Even the US cannot cope with its artillery ammunition replenishment needs in Afghanistan.

So, the AAD performance is equal or better to PAC-3 and you'll find no procurement in this area, irrespective of all the "interested in Patriot" news reports. However, ironically, we do lack capabilities in artillery. Hence my latter statement to stop castigating using "could" statements.

Fact is nothing stops DRDO from developing artillery guns like it is developing an ABM system. AFAIK, there is no IAF ASR for the ABM program.
because it is done on the GOI's direct orders. TSS IIRC came out with a report that post pokhran the GOI ordered the development of an ABM project as a strategic requirement, just as the nuclear weapons or IRBMs were not developed in response to some IAF or IA ASR. it's not as if DRDO embarked on this project out of its own volition, specifically because it cannot. not unless funds are sanctioned and DRDO gets funded on project by project basis.
and last I heard no funds have been provided to DRDO to develop a field howitzer.

lastly, M777 is lighter not because of particularly technologically advanced materials but because it uses titanium, a particularly expensive metal that also jacks up its price quite a bit. and secondly because it is almost completely manually operated and on the flip side requires larger squads to operate than many 'less advanced' guns, much of the bofors' weight comes from the scooting mechanism for instance.

IA's requirement of ultralight FH are limited to only 200 or so items while the normal 155mm/52cal (not 39 cal like m777) requirement exceeds 2000 items. there is nothing particularly advanced in the modern howitzers that is beyond our capability. the development cycle is moving fast at the end of the other component, shells.
as a matter of fact DRDO did develop a simple and rugged 155mm design in early 90's which was well liked by sections of the army but rejected because confidence in DRDO was low at the time (not because the product itself was bad, it had performed admirably at initial trials) and decided to scrub the program and wait for foreign guns.
they are still waiting 200 years down the line and looks like they will have to wait for another 5 years if not more.

As it is shopping for ABM system wont be easy as Unkil could wave the MTCR card and easily pressurize the Russians to not go ahead with the sale of S-400 class system, ok at most a dumbed down system (300 PMU1/PMU2) could have been procured. Moreover ABM program has a series of successful missiles under the IGMDP behind it which is not the case with Artillery here relevant DRDO sister labs will have to actually re-invent the wheel.

Fact is nothing stops DRDO from developing artillery guns like it is developing an ABM system.
Not to mention DRDO still has the Arjun experience fresh in its mind, when a product developed at IA's behest, meeting its GSQRs is being ignored (or being given paltry orders) and an import that is inferior gets many times those numbers.

Can you imagine the IA's response if DRDO came up with a howitzer on its own given the Arjun attitude?

Rahul,

This http://www.ciidefence.com/defence_proc_org.asp?id=3 is broadly how procurement works, and it’s a collective decision. It needs SA to RM consent. The SA to RM can always make RM an offer he can't refuse like Marlon Brando ;-)

Just like GoI isnt buying Austin's favourite S-3/4/500 or someone else's favourite Arrow or Patriot despite their intense lobbying, similarly GoI could take a stance on artillery development - IF - a similar value proposition was presented.

Added later -
Rahul M wrote:M777 is lighter not because of particularly technologically advanced materials but because it uses titanium, a particularly expensive metal that also jacks up its price quite a bit.
Its very difficult forging titanium castings - developing that technology will require significant time and effort, even if we sourced titanium at friendly rates from Russia. That is what I meant when I said a technology audit was done.

Refer http://www.asminternational.org/emails/ ... 607p45.pdf as an indication of complexity on forging titanium castings.
Rahul M wrote:as a matter of fact DRDO did develop a simple and rugged 155mm design in early 90's which was well liked by sections of the army but rejected because confidence in DRDO was low at the time (not because the product itself was bad, it had performed admirably at initial trials) and decided to scrub the program and wait for foreign guns.
Would you have more details on this? I do know about a similar development, but my understanding was that projected performance fell short of 130 mm M-46 and interest waned.

Off topic, I just noticed Upamanyu Chatterjee’s name in http://www.mod.nic.in/aboutus/welcome.html Don’t know whether he is the same http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Upamanyu_Chatterjee but http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English,_August and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mammar ... fare_State was brutally honest about the bureaucracy.

Added much later - Did anyone notice the density of bureaucrats to scientists and servicemen among decision makers? I noticed only V K Saraswat and three Technical Managers. So you now have a fair idea of who actually calls the shots.

tsarkar wrote:Rahul,

This http://www.ciidefence.com/defence_proc_org.asp?id=3 is broadly how procurement works, and it’s a collective decision. It needs SA to RM consent. The SA to RM can always make RM an offer he can't refuse like Marlon Brando ;-)
true but since this is specifically wrt IA, if I were SA2RM I would be extremely reluctant to make any unilateral proposition, knowing fully well how obstinate IA can be over the issue.

Just like GoI isnt buying Austin's favourite S-3/4/500 or someone else's favourite Arrow or Patriot despite their intense lobbying, similarly GoI could take a stance on artillery development - IF - a similar value proposition was presented.
but without IA backing it would become another arjun and IA certainly has not shown even an iota of interest in a domestic alternative.
Added later -
Rahul M wrote:M777 is lighter not because of particularly technologically advanced materials but because it uses titanium, a particularly expensive metal that also jacks up its price quite a bit.
Its very difficult forging titanium castings - developing that technology will require significant time and effort, even if we sourced titanium at friendly rates from Russia. That is what I meant when I said a technology audit was done.

Refer http://www.asminternational.org/emails/ ... 607p45.pdf as an indication of complexity on forging titanium castings.

that's precisely the point ! we don't need to make Ti guns, IA's requirement for ultra light howitzers (which is realistically the only ones requiring Ti) is ~200 which is an ideal number to be bought directly. the rest of the arty saga calls for about 2000 howitzers that are as heavy as the older guns without any real cutting edge tech improvement.
the focus of development in artillery has currently shifted towards shells (laser and GPS guided etc) while the guns have stayed more or less same with a few more automation and information sharing attributes added.
Rahul M wrote:as a matter of fact DRDO did develop a simple and rugged 155mm design in early 90's which was well liked by sections of the army but rejected because confidence in DRDO was low at the time (not because the product itself was bad, it had performed admirably at initial trials) and decided to scrub the program and wait for foreign guns.
Would you have more details on this? I do know about a similar development, but my understanding was that projected performance fell short of 130 mm M-46 and interest waned.

unfortunately I do not have any more details but I heard this from someone whose word I would take over any journalist and pretty much any other IA officer, to put it differently, if someone should know about IA related projects of early 90's, he should. and this is what info he gave me for I haven't come across this project in any media source.
Off topic, I just noticed Upamanyu Chatterjee’s name in http://www.mod.nic.in/aboutus/welcome.html Don’t know whether he is the same http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Upamanyu_Chatterjee but http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English,_August and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mammar ... fare_State was brutally honest about the bureaucracy.
most likely the same one, it's not a very common name.
Added much later - Did anyone notice the density of bureaucrats to scientists and servicemen among decision makers? I noticed only V K Saraswat and three Technical Managers. So you now have a fair idea of who actually calls the shots.
and one MajGen.

I think Tank-Ex should serve as a very good example of what happens to products,DRDO tries to develop on its own.

Rahul, I see the Arjun induction issue clouding most BR members perception of IA, so no point in continuing the discussion.

On the artillery issue, I personally regret two lost opportunities. First was OFB Kanpur not establishing Bofors production line, to be politically correct during the controversy. The other was closing the Bhim project, again for political correctness. If memory serves right, both IA and DRDO were quite keen on the Bhim project.

As this is going on let me add some facts and not my thoughts...

Right from 80s, idea of DRDO is make every weapon system whereever possible as a tri-service weapon and the intiatives were carried out by the development agency. You can see that in radars and missiles like Akash/Trishul/Maitri/Prithvi/Shourya and at many sub-system levels are many cross-links & polination catering to different services. This is indian equivalent to joint-service weapon of the US origin.

Just in case, tomorrow someone should not claim copyright to have leading thoughts on the jointness misleadingly, here presenting some solid proof :)

http://www.hindu.com/2007/06/22/stories ... 541300.htm
Mr. Kalam said: I visualise long-range hypersonic cruise missiles not only delivering payloads but also returning to the base after the mission, leading to the reusable class of cruise missiles within the next decade. It is time that the three Services worked with the team of BrahMos Aerospace to evolve the QR (qualitative requirements) for such a system in a time-bound manner.

tsarkar wrote:Rahul, I see the Arjun induction issue clouding most BR members perception of IA, so no point in continuing the discussion.
fair enough, I can only say arjun is not the only datapoint to gauge IA's general attitude to all but a handful of domestic projects. case in point, akash, INSAS, pinaka. I don't quite see how an alternate interpretation is possible in this instance.
On the artillery issue, I personally regret two lost opportunities. First was OFB Kanpur not establishing Bofors production line, to be politically correct during the controversy. The other was closing the Bhim project, again for political correctness. If memory serves right, both IA and DRDO were quite keen on the Bhim project.
very true, very true, similar to the HDW fiasco. we blew up our own resources for political posturing (correctness would be a gross misnomer) in both cases.
bhim was clearly the fishiest of them all, the move having been initiated by well-known 'tank expert' renuka chowdhury and apparently strongly supported by some senior officers at AHQ. it was a very promising project.
what's worse, the allegation that started the whole thing came out in some 2-bit south african rag about the unrelated anti-materials rifle(a variation of which OFB continues to produce) and wasn't followed up by anyone for all intents and purposes.

Kanson wrote:Chacko ji, I saying or atleast i'm trying to imply, there is no way even if inducted WLR could have changed the outcome of the events during the Kargil war. Even going by the interview he gave to Thapar, he only mentioned one or two incidents that arised due to WLR. Though there is no proper explanation of what he mentioned abt those incidents, i think, based on other perceptions, it comes to the conclusion we arrived.

This conclusion negates and pre-empts any discussion whether DRDO scuttled or MOD bungled. Becoz whether or not LWR was inducted, the outcome of Kargil war has litttle effect on it.
You are correct in thinking so. What is funny is that even much needed ammo was not there. It had to be imported.
tsarkar wrote:Rahul, I see the Arjun induction issue clouding most BR members perception of IA, so no point in continuing the discussion.

Sir, time and again, I have blamed only 3 or 4 things in the army 1) leadership 2) armor 3) artillery 4) infantry. I have only praise for some other branches.

Its unfortunate that artillery schedules have been effected by unforeseen factors. But, the point is there is no plan B. Import or die. This is where the Army is receiving a flack.

A few weeks ago - during some discussion on BR - I was desperately trying to remember where I had read the story of how the first DARIN upgrades came..

I found it today - read it on Tikoo Sen's blog

Enjoy

The DARIN story
http://tkstales.wordpress.com/2010/03/0 ... rin-story/

Thanks Shiv! That is a great story.

Mods, can we add a link to the article in the BR archives section? Or contact the author and host it on BR too?

Indian Industry Criticizes FDI Efforts
“The purpose should be indigenization,” says the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), an organization that represents private companies. “In the U.S. there is a technology denial regime” to sharing know-how abroad, says Amit Mitra, the federation’s secretary general.

At the recent Washington summit between President Barack Obama and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, they referred to each other as “strategic partners.” But of 16 valued technologies, the U.S. denies India 10, Slovania three-four and Germany two-three, according to Mitra. “Besides, [better indigenous] technology may not always result by raising equity to 49%; indigenization will not [always happen],” he adds.......................

“The current policy is not capped and allows higher percentage on a case-to-case basis … 26% is a good start … Studies indicate that post 9/11 there is a global trend to restrict FDI in this sensitive area. We have to be cautious in moving forward,” Mitra says.

The government recently rejected BAE and EADS in their request for increasing equity with Indian partners.

Empowerment of the Indian private sector must be taken up. It is clear that (even in exceptional circumstances) the cap should not go beyond 49%. This is a sector that needs to develop indigenous capabilities over the long-term … It is a totality of policy that has to be driven forward,” Mitra says.
shukla

Post by shukla »

Craig Alpert wrote:“The current policy is not capped and allows higher percentage on a case-to-case basis
They haven't used that clause to good effect...at all.. The L&T EADS Joint Venture rejection is the first one that springs to mind..
shukla

Post by shukla »

DRDO's Combat Vehicle Development Unit Is..
The unit at Avadi, on the outskirts of Chennai, tasked with the design, development and testing of tracked combat vehicles and specialised tracked vehicles, has several projects in hand. Apart from the focus on Arjun Main Battle Tank (MBT) Mark II, it is also designing and developing the state-of-art futuristic main battle tank (FMBT), which is expected to cater to the requirements of the Army. "The Army expects the FMBT to be ready by 2020," CVR&DE director P Sivakumar told TOI recently. The unit is one of the 52 research units of the Defence Research & Development Organisation (DR&DO) in the country and the only one in Tamil Nadu.

Mobile platforms for missiles is another arena where its expertise is sought. For nearly a decade, it has supplied these platforms for missiles, including Akash, Prithivi and Trishul, and is presently developing several more.

Casualties are inevitable in battle and the CVR&DE's armoured ambulances come in handy. Equipped with airconditioning and heating facilities, it is designed for speedy evacuation of casualties and has excellent mobility for operation in various terrain. Another piece of equipment is the Carrier Command Post Tracked BMP-II (CCPT), designed to function as a self-propelled (SP) artillery command post. It affords nuclear, biological and chemical protection and protection against small arms. "We recently got an order for 50 CCPTs, each costing around Rs 3-4 crore," Sivakumar added.

The CVR&DE's dream project, at the conception stage, is the Unmanned Track Vehicle (UTV) through the tele-operated method the improved version is the automatic method. It is based on a wheeled vehicle platform comprising a pilot system unit and two units for surveillance. The UTVs, mainly for surveillance and detection of mines, include remote operations on wirless LAN (land area network), vision systems and robotic manipulator. A miniature model with a range of five km has been developed and will be operated with a GIS-based auto vehicle tracking system.
Avinandan

Post by Avinandan »

Tata's Answer to Mahindra AXE
http://www.indiancarsbikes.in/auto-news ... axe-13689/

A little background:--
It is taking part in Army's Light Support Vehicle competition which is for 8000 LSVs that was started about 3-4 years back
Tata Motors LSV, Ashok Leyland LSV, M&M's Axe, Vectra & and OFB's Flyer are the competitors.

Winter Tests Photo
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attachmen ... trials.jpg
Last edited by Avinandan on 01 Aug 2010 09:24, edited 3 times in total.

Hello shiv,

Thanks for the DARIN story. Hats off to Mr Sen and colleagues. It made my day. With people like that working for the country we will get there, I am sure. Jai Hind.

SKN
shukla

Post by shukla »

x-post

TOI reports.. (by Joy Joseph)

India's indegenious industry and the lack of it. All the issues that have bogged down DRDO...

Farewell to foreign arms?

This is gold... Brilliant article! This is a topic that would be close to a lot of BRFites hearts.. Snippets from the article..
What is wrong with the DRDO? In February 2007, the government tried to find out, setting up an external review committee under the chairmanship of P Rama Rao, a former secretary in the department of science and technology. The committee submitted its report to the government in 2008. In April this year, another committee headed by defence secretary Pradeep Kumar accepted some of its recommendations and rejected others. The Rama Rao Committee report remains a classified, two-volume report, which exposes all that has gone wrong with DRDO. TOI has seen a copy of the damning report.

It paints an extraordinary picture of planning and execution failure and abysmal human resource management and says the DRDO brand is “wilting”. The report says: “Sixty years ago the fervour generated by extraordinary leadership won India its political independence. At the present time, technological independence requires a similarly passionate and inspiring leadership.”

The report says poor HR management is the DRDO's biggest problem and only 3% of its scientists have PhDs in engineering-related subjects, 60% being plain-vanilla graduates or post-graduates in science, humanities or medicine. The DRDO's staffing clearly is ill-equipped and ill-prepared to conduct cutting-edge research, which could find its way to the assembly line and eventually into the armed forces' armoury.

The DRDO has more than 6,750 scientists in its Defence Research and Development Service (DRDS) cadre, which is spread over 51 laboratories. Fewer than 2% of the scientists in 43% of the DRDO's labs have PhD degrees in their respective core disciplines. The report warns that the DRDO's “biggest challenge” is to attract, nurture and retain talent. “The situation cries out for reforms in HR policies and imaginative new steps to improve and enhance professional opportunities for a technically highly qualified workforce,” it says.

The DRDO's cut-off age for entry-level scientists “should ideally be less than 24 years (but) is 28 years and above in more than 40% of the labs,” the report says. It adds that in half its labs, “the average age of scientists in all grades is above 37 years. The average age at various levels is significantly higher than what is desirable. This has to be corrected since it is important for younger people to occupy higher positions.”

DRDO's recruitment process, too, has come under fire. Entry-level scientists are hired through the Scientists Entry Test (SET) and there is some campus recruitment from IITs, IISc and NITs. But SET suffered a 71% drop in applicants between 2003 and 2006, says the report and there is unnecessary delay in hiring, which “is a major deterrent for the highly talented to consider DRDO as a ‘go-to' organization,” says the report.

An internal survey, quoted in the report, says 57% of scientists leave DRDO on account of professional dissatisfaction. A whopping 87% of the entry-level cadre joins the DRDO in the belief that it offers great career opportunities, but is “disenchanted soon after”, laments the report.

The committee also points serious lacunae in project execution. The report says the DRDO has taken up several large projects, which it would find impossible to execute because of human, financial and infrastructure resource constraints. The committee said interaction with the UK and Israel's defence R&D establishments revealed the “involvement of users at virtually all levels of design, development and production.” But back home, there is nothing like that, save for the Navy. “While the Navy has taken the initiative in managing and involving itself successfully in several major projects, the Army and Air Force have not had a similar experience. DRDO, too, has not been forthcoming in accepting service officers, especially at senior levels, to assist in project management,” the report says.

The report recommends setting up a ‘Services Interaction Group (SIG)' and creating a new chief controller's post within the DRDO. But the panel headed by the defence secretary has shot down these proposals. Instead, it has suggested nominating an officer from each service, who would always be available to the DRDO for consultations. There is the suggestion that senior DRDO scientists undergo abridged capsule training at the War College and other military colleges and that junior scientists be sent on field assignments in a bid to overcome the mistrust between the country's premier defence research organization and its armed forces. “This will enable them to meet and see men in action, and get a better appreciation of the ‘how' and ‘why' of general staff requirements,” the report suggests.

More important, the DRDO should have a bigger role in the purchase of weapons from abroad, the report says, but the defence secretary's committee has shot down this proposal too. The point of all of this is that the DRDO, in the words of the report, is playing a “peripheral role” and India's “most important need is of a policy for self-reliance, promoted by specific quantitative targets for indigenous sourcing of products of R&D.”

The report argues that “such growth and development are most urgently required in taking India beyond vulnerability in research, development and effective production”. It warns the “imported equipment will increasingly (be) embedded denial-of-use technology as a strategy to protect the national security interests of supplier nations.” It says India urgently needs to “reiterate...the goal of self-reliance as a basic policy goal”.

All of this is damning stuff but India's inability to create an MIC goes beyond the inherent weaknesses of the DRDO. Senior private sector executives blame the ministry of defence's “institutional bias” against private sector participation. “The attempt is to keep out the private sector, and favour the defence PSUs even if it is at the expense of quality and cost,” says a senior executive, who insisted on anonymity. He points out that the central recommendations of the Vijay Kelkar Committee, set up by the government in 2004 to enhance the “country's self-reliance in the defence industry” haven't been implemented six years later. The Kelkar committee had suggested nominating more than a dozen Indian private sector companies Raksha Udyog Ratnas, with a status equivalent to that of the defence PSUs when it comes to bidding for major defence contracts. It had also suggested setting up a Technology Development Fund to support R&D.

An indigenous MIC would also go against the interests of that other invisible power broker — the arms dealers lobby, which greases palms at every level of decision making. It's thought that on average, 5% commission is paid on every defence deal. That would mean a few hundred crores for a deal worth, say, $2 billion. “If the Indian private sector were to become system integrators and major players in the defence sector these middlemen would have no role,” points out a senior executive with a major private sector firm.

The problem is clearly part DRDO incompetence, part conspiracy and part systemic weakness. All of this means India is losing out on what could be a key driver for the economy. According to some estimates, a Rs 5,000 crore defence contract can sustain or create about 20,000 high-end jobs. For each high-end job, there are about four support jobs. So, India's projected $80 billion arms imports over the next decade could create six million to seven million jobs within the country. The other positive fallout would be greater financial commitment to industrial R&D and improvement in engineering capabilities.

There has never been a better chance for India to create an MIC as a force for good. It has huge military requirements, a growing defence budget and a thriving private sector. Never in its history has India needed a MIC more than today. South Asia's growing chaos, the rise of a “superpower” in the neighbourhood and its adversaries' threatened manipulation of imported systems.

shukla wrote:x-post

TOI reports.. (by Joy Joseph)

India's indegenious industry and the lack of it. All the issues that have bogged down DRDO...

Farewell to foreign arms?

This is gold... Brilliant article! This is a topic that would be close to a lot of BRFites hearts.. Snippets from the article.
A lot of guys posting jumped down my throat when I articulated similar sentiments.

Unpleasant as the facts may be, its time that we wake up and smell the coffee.

Plain vanilla "scientists" can only produce plain vanilla results. India deserves more than this vanilla effort.
tejas

Post by tejas »

The current setup suffers from three fatal flaws. One is the plain vanilla syndrome. Two is the lack of incentive to constantly develop newer and better products ( i.e. profit motive) and three even if a good product is developed, it will be horribly manufactured in the cesspools that are the OFBs.

The only redeeming quality of the current setup is the copious amount of baksheesh it produces via foreign purchases for India's patriotic "leaders". People who actually care about India can only weep.

Agree chetak and tejas,

But some of us are thinking of giving up their profession for the sack of our country and put these "leaders" where they belong -in Jail
some of these leaders have amassed thousands of crores in illegal money stashed away in foreign banks or under their relatives name or bought land under some relative or friend,s name or some other devious scheme. Can not disclose things on a public forum but suffice it to say that this is coming straight from the horses mouth, from business men helping these goons in their nefarious activities. Our finance minister is one such "leader"
Luckily for this country some of our prime minister,s have been men and woman of substance inspite of some shortcomings otherwise India would be in the doghouse.
To expect these goons to do anything good for the country is sheer day dreaming. If anything good comes out it is a lucky accident and not by design.

If "This is gold... Brilliant article!" - the forum seriously needs a new emoticon, if this article or Josy Joseph of DNA nee Rediff is the new epitome of analysis.

No mention of the % of the defence budget that goes to R&D overall, vis a vis the production value obtained, nor is there a mention of the lack of planning at the MOD level.

Lets evaluate some of the more interesting claims -"The DRDO's cut-off age for entry-level scientists “should ideally be less than 24 years (but) is 28 years and above in more than 40% of the labs,” which only goes to show what reports by committee are worth, and furthermore, when journalists with a track record of incompetence, get their hands on such reports without the foggiest of the reality as it exists. End result, regurgitate bilge and publish it as being authoritative.

"Entry level scientists" at 24 - wonderful. Given the quality of the engineering education imparted across india, with the difference between theory and practice, suffice to say, this wonderful, age alone yardstick, leaves a lot to be desired. As things stand, the biggest challenge is to actually get more relevant workforce with sufficient work-experience beneath their belt, people who can actually work as compared to being hand held during the initial years. Otherwise, DRDO will continue acting like some of India's "most valued institutions" - which act as training houses for folks to launch their real "Rs" careers. 3 Years in x, do MBA, bye bye.

Second - "Fewer than 2% of the scientists in 43% of the DRDO's labs have PhD degrees in their respective core disciplines." - The figure needs to be put in context vis a vis how many Phds are required vis a vis the roles that require them! What will a much larger number of Phds do? There are a handful of core R&D areas in each lab, which involve extensive research. Put Phds on all tasks apart from these alone, and end up with more hats than work!! End result, dysfunctional setup, with folks leaving en masse.

What DRDO (and DPSUs) actually need in heavy scale are design engineers without fancy degrees but multidisciplinary skills, who have worked on different systems.

They do need Phds in more number but the requirement for Design engineering is far more critical. This has long been an issue for not just DRDO but Indian defence industry as well, which is struggling to mentor folks in specific roles. In short, this misses the wood for the trees.

The real details to track would be what the organization has in terms of sending folks for education, and the proportion of Masters Grads and the trending. A triangle set up can compensate for the lack of Phds, otherwise we end up with the same issue that dogs certain countries, which decide "x" degrees are required, and quality and fitment go for a toss.

"An internal survey, quoted in the report, says 57% of scientists leave DRDO on account of professional dissatisfaction. A whopping 87% of the entry-level cadre joins the DRDO in the belief that it offers great career opportunities, but is “disenchanted soon after”, laments the report."

Surveys in most Indian (and more than a few MNC) organizations today in India would pretty much give the same report, whether public or private. Even so, more needs to be done and should be done. Qn is, what actionable tasks has the report set out in this respect.

"The report recommends setting up a ‘Services Interaction Group (SIG)' and creating a new chief controller's post within the DRDO. But the panel headed by the defence secretary has shot down these proposals. Instead, it has suggested nominating an officer from each service, who would always be available to the DRDO for consultations. There is the suggestion that senior DRDO scientists undergo abridged capsule training at the War College and other military colleges and that junior scientists be sent on field assignments in a bid to overcome the mistrust between the country's premier defence research organization and its armed forces. “This will enable them to meet and see men in action, and get a better appreciation of the ‘how' and ‘why' of general staff requirements,” the report suggests. "

Again, cosmetic band aids over the real issue.

To overcome the distrust factor, and to generate reasonable GSQRs, the services need dedicated technology cells as well. Until then, the civvies can "play soldier" all they want, but items will continue to get bogged down in unobtainium as the products are never theirs but DRDO's or XYZs.

Finally, if India can make do with vanilla citizens, vanilla soldiers, vanilla businesses, etc, it can make do with vanilla scientists as well.

This elitist mantra of having the best of the best of the best and then ending up with a bunch of whiny prima donnas is counterproductive. Most of the real performers in most organizations, the ones who dont covet visibility but who get the work done are ordinary joes from humble backgrounds, and who dont suffer from the rancid peer pressure that dogs many of our "high achievers" who constantly compare paypackets, titles and perks. Unfortunately, the general attitude that exists amongst many in India today is to look more towards fancy paper degrees or "whom you know" versus mental acumen and professional stability. A sad reflection of our times and our society.

The sooner we move away from this, the better. But as things stand, they are very much the reverse.

Unfortunately, most of these reports are generated for political consumption and end up never being implemented or progressed, based as they are, on shaky analysis.

The article written by joseph is a good one and gives a pretty good overall picture even if some of the numbers may or may not be accurate

tsarkar wrote: Fig leaves like "I can but cannot" are the first sign of lack of facts/information/knowledge. PLEASE EXPLAIN AND PROVIDE EXAMPLES OF "substantial level of mess up" rather than vague "Army could have done far more".
I could but then again, your shouting in CAPS LOCK and snide remarks "fig leaves etc" do not really give me any incentive to reply...even so I have mentioned the details below.
The MoD can direct IA, and IA on its own initiative is always ready to draft a GSQR for indigenous equipment, provided inhouse capability exists. Just like Scientific Advisor to RM proactively offered to develop WLR, MLRS (Pinaka), etc, for these requirements, DRDO never offered to develop artillery, simply because its most optimistic INTERNAL technology audit showed it lacked ability.
The entire point, which you have missed, is that the Army should not have to sit around waiting for the SA to RM to do something, it should have realized what was happening around its artillery requirements, and proceeded further on its own. Which is what the Navy did a long time back, when it realized sitting around would not work, and it had to take its fate in its own hands when it came to indigenization.
Again, repeated usage of vague "could". "COULD" IS NOT A CREDIBLE EXAMPLE, NOR A TENABLE POINT IN A DEBATE. For example, you or I too "could" have been astronauts like Rakesh Sharma or "could" have been married to Anna Kournikova. "Could" statements are as unrealistic and useless as the ones made just now.
Your resort to caps lock at the drop of a hat, while not even making the barest attempt to understand another person's POV is amazing. While the tempation to respond like for like would be refreshing, lets get to the point:

http://indiannavy.nic.in/t2t2e/trans2em ... design.htm
“When the plans paper for the training of constructors was put up, the Government was very reluctant to approve their post graduate training in Britain. They asked a simple question, 'Does it mean that the training in India would not be as good?' The straight answer for that was 'Because there are no R&D facilities to upgrade our technology in the area of naval architecture, we have no other option.' When I explained what happens to a naval architect who studies abroad as an undergraduate and comes back, and the low level at which his technology will be after 10 years, the Government agreed. I firmly believe that whenever we put our problems fairly and tell the Government 'This will be the end result and it is up to you to take a decision', they tend to take the right decision.

“So the Navy decided to form its own Design Organisation. There was a bid from Mazagon Dock and from the Ministry of Defence Production to take over the Design Organisation. Some senior naval officers asked me, 'Wouldn't you feel more comfortable working in a Public Sector Enterprise?' My answer was simple, 'If the Navy is not directly involved in ship design, its building and its commissioning, we will meet the same fate as a Defence Production Unit, where the hardware is made and the Services are not accepting it, because the Services are not deeply involved right from day one. The Navy's involvement should be right from the Staff Requirement, which should be refined by the Material Branch as regards our own capability. The Staff Branch and the Material Branch should work hand in hand till the design is frozen and then it can be given for production'.
Does the Army have its own design organization yet, which works hand in glove with Indian industry & DPSUs to do all the above? The answer is no. The Indian Army deputes officers to programs and projects, which then also suffer when there is a change in leadership on account of continuity issues. The Navy set up its own DO, and even fought off attempts from MD and MOD et al to take it over. And that took brass with vision.

Further on, note the relevant details below.
Rear Admiral Baxi, the first Director of WESO and in later years the Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Electronics, recalls:

“There were several organic elements which contributed to the success of the Navy's projects:
First and foremost, amongst the three services, the Indian Navy has shown the greatest determination to be self sufficient and self-reliant. And this was by a genre of people over generations, not merely by one individual.
Secondly, by creating the Directorate General of Naval Design within Naval Headquarters, we got an agency, manned by officers on deputation, responsible for indigenisation, under the direct control of Naval Headquarters, which slowly started to build up complete design and project management skills in-house, within the Navy.[/b]
Thirdly, the Navy started inducting naval constructors in uniform. These uniformed constructors became a highly specialised cadre, capable of handling all aspects of naval architecture, ship design and ship construction.

“On the Mazagon Docks side, the Navy sent some of their best officers and best brains to go into shipbuilding. The best naval technical officers were placed at the disposal of Mazagon Docks to be able to build the ships.

“This total involvement of Naval Headquarters in ship design, ship construction, development, inspection and testing, whereby NHQ was itself the vendor and was also the customer, led to a pragmatic approach by NHQ whenever confronted with compromises in the design process.

“Unfortunately, in the Army and the Air Force, exactly the reverse happened. Because there was the Defence Research Development Organisation and there was the Directorate General of Inspection, most of the time they treated these two organisations as if they were the vendors and the Army Headquarters or the Air Headquarters were the customers. Because they themselves did not have any design or construction responsibility, they tended to treat the designer or Indian industry at that stage at par with their corresponding designer in the world market. In that mindset, if I get a MiG 21 from the world market, I want a MiG 21 from HAL. This was never possible and never feasible. And because there was no involvement on the part of the service, they were not able to succeed.

“Whereas in our case, first of all, progressive indigenisation was done. The goal and ambition were limited. The first Leander was made totally from sub systems imported from Britain. The second Leander had partial indigenisation, in the sense that whatever systems were available within the country or could be developed were utilised. The remaining systems were imported. And so on.

“Then naturally the next corollary was that we re-designed the fifth Leander, the Taragiri, with one Seaking helicopter. Then we went on to the seventh frigate, the Godavari that again was designed by naval officers, with two Seaking helicopters. The Directorate of Combat Policy and Tactics, was the one who actually did the concept designing and asked why can't we have two Seaking helicopters on board? Right from top-level decision makers like DCPT and DNP, down to a Lieutenant in the naval architecture branch, everybody learnt to take technological and professional decisions. A complete, integral, decision-making process built up within the confines of NHQ.

“This is the one and only reason why, other than the Atomic Energy Commission and later on the Space Organisation, Naval Headquarters is the only service in this country which had truly succeeded in indigenisation. If you see the ingredients of Space and Atomic Energy, it is exactly the same story as Naval Headquarters. Space and Atomic Energy had nobody to fall back upon. They were the designers, they were the ones who formulated the concepts, they were the ones who did the designs, they ultimately had to see that their rocket fired and so a large amount of in-house work had to be done in developing systems, sub-systems and concepts in design. These are the three services you can be proud of, who have done true indigenisation namely Naval Headquarters, ISRO, and the Department of Atomic Energy. In my opinion, this is the crux of the matter.

“I have always maintained that nothing succeeds like success. The indigenisation of the propulsion system, the main machinery, the auxiliaries, the switchboards, the cables, the fire control systems, including those that were manufactured by Bharat Electronics under license from Holland, all gave NHQ a lot of confidence. This confidence, of having succeeded with a concept and the feeling that we can do it, led to the design of the Taragiri and the subsequent design of Godavari and then of Project 25 (Khukri class corvettes), Project 16 Alpha (Brahmaputra class frigates) and Project 15 (Delhi class destroyers) and the Navy has never looked back. The ingredients of why NHQ succeeded, which NHQ actually implemented, are not being replicated by many organisations in this country.”
The parallels with developing Indian developed systems viz the topic in question are fairly clear.

All these problems afflicted the program in question I referred to. Based on my indepth recollection, here are some of the problems which afflicted this attempt:

There was no consistent IA interest in a 155mm program. No single ownership or agency from the Army end which could or would lead the program and make it an ARMY Program versus a vendor program or as one officer told "yet another deal to be forced down our throats"

There was no iterative method to improve on what was available while accepting Mk1, as the Navy did -in specific: "Unfortunately, in the Army and the Air Force, .... Because they themselves did not have any design or construction responsibility, they tended to treat the designer or Indian industry at that stage at par with their corresponding designer in the world market. In that mindset, if I get a MiG 21 from the world market, I want a MiG 21 from HAL. "...which is exactly what killed the program, because once the import option became available, the requirements changed to leading edge, from good enough. There was no strategizing around iterative improvement.

And most importantly, There was no institutional push for a system from an internal organization or a long term plan around it. Ergo, once it died, it was not even resuscitated within a few years.

"Karan M": Till date, the Army's engagement with local industry remains ad hoc and nothing transformative has been done.
Again, sweeping statements and baseless rhetoric. It was the Army insistence on indigenous production of anti tank missiles that led to establishment of BDL for license manufacturing the French SS11 in the late 60s.
The point being mentioned was clearly around the artillery project, not having licensed assembly of missiles way back in the 1960's. If that is "engagement with local industry", talk about "sweeping statements and baseless rhetoric". IAF asking HAL to make R-60s inhouse? IA asking BDL to license manufacture Milan 2's and Konkurs missiles? Are these examples of transformation. They are merely examples of the respective services meeting political compulsions for local sourcing while attempting to get whatever they can.

This is an example of out of the way, service led effort, or at the very least work hand in glove with MOD/DPSU/Pvt whoever:

http://indiannavy.nic.in/t2t2e/Trans2Tr ... roject.htm

Far too many lessons. Look at the manner in which Gearing was manufactured in India at Walchand - a first. The lessons learnt were then transferred to our other efforts. In contrast, the Army effort so far has been mostly around designating requirements and then proceeding to audit the vendors efforts once prototypes are available with only limited input before as it has no design organization of its own. Its a circular process, pretty much designed to end up with scope creep.
The end result - Arjun saga.
The effort was a non starter because the product offered couldn’t even match the specifications for the 130mm M-46 and failed ARDE INTERNAL technical audit. I was peripherally associated with the project for assessing whether naval guns could be developed in house. Just so that you have an understanding of how things work, whenever a new ship is built, the first question asked is whether a particular equipment for meeting requirements could be sourced within the country.
Sorry, that does not match the details for this project. This project did not fail any ARDE internal audit and nor did it fail any sort of comparison to the M-46. This project was a program in which substantial time and effort was invested to develop a 155mm platform. Perhaps you were involved in a separate program. Eitherways the details dont match up to what you have stated. In this case, the problems are mentioned above. Considerable work was done in drawing up a gun that would be the functional equivalent of a current in service IA system, with a clear demarcation of who would do what, including both private and public industry, and non DPSU public units as well. The plan ended up nowhere once the IA indicated it would prefer a state of the art system, produced through TOT.
In parallel and completely independent, the Scientific Advisor to Raksha Mantri is a part of DAC and can always present its case for “make”. The SA to RM, through all these RFPs, NEVER made a REPRESENTATION to develop a gun. At the same time, they offer Maitri missile at every possible opportunity. They do so because they have the self confidence in the Maitri missile and not for the gun. This speaks volumes about DRDO’s confidence in itself to make a gun
Why should the SA to RM make a presentation to develop the gun, when the entire topic is about why the Army did not approach the DRDO to make one! The entire debate is about WHY the Army ends up waiting for others to react, whereas it should lead and you note that XYZ should have offered!!

Actually Ajai Shukla's recent article mentions enough about confidence and lack of thereof as well, but a key problem was with lack of IA leadership vis a vis taking up such a high value program as well.
HAL's roadmap for successive reductions in vibration were good enough for Army requirements.That’s the point I am trying to make. If a workaround is provided, even if it is not optimum, the forces still induct.

http://www.flightglobal.com/articles/20 ... -deal.html

There was a weight penalty associated with the vibration control system. Now weight penalty is important because a Dhruv is supposed to carry a full section + equipment + reserves, however the IA accepted lower performance standards. Secondly, vibration affects soldier’s physiology. However, it was decided that personnel will endure those vibrations over Dhruv mission timeframe. What more could you ask for? Are you willing to put up in a rattling bus for an hour while commuting and then work at full efficiency? And these chaps abseil out into the thick of things!!!
I am aware of the Lords AVC system. It is the latest in a series of iterative improvements to the Dhruv.

Now "rattling" - the rattling in Mi-17s, Mi-8's is bone jarring in comparison. The point was that the non negotiable requirements for the Navy - vibration issues, folding rotors et al, are not necessarily the same for the Army, and the Army does not compromise on those.

Brahmos was initially positioned as a ship bourne Anti Ship Missile and as a Manned Mobile Coastal Battery (MMCB) replacement. Regiment of Artillery officers attended one of the test firings and evinced interest in a land attack missile, and the rest is history. On the other hand, the Navy assessed that MMCB replacement was not high priority, and till date, has not inducted a single Brahmos coastal battery as originally intended. DRDO always thought Brahmos as an anti ship missile, until the Regiment of Artillery officers convinced them of the missile’s potential for land attack.
Arty guys may have definitely provided their input and interest, no doubt. But the Army was kept in the loop for the Brahmos from the beginning. Tri services brass/MOD were made aware of the program early on. The DRDO had long been on the lookout for adding impetus to its missile program via a CM, and decided on ramjet tech. It then chose the Russians because of their expertise around ramjet tech. So its incorrect to state that the Brahmos was developed purely as an AShM and then with a LACM as an afterthought.

http://www.aerospaceindia.org/Journals/ ... %80%9D.pdf

(Note the author).
To summarize, nothing is gained by baseless allegations that “Army could” or “Army didn’t” or “DRDO could” or “DRDO didn’t”. There are constraints faced in decision making and decision makers in both organizations do take the most optimum path. Castigating them serves no purpose.
Hardly "baseless allegations" but merely a pointer to the fact that the Army needs to do much more to meet its own requirements, than waiting for others to take the lead. It has the technological capability and leadership potential to do far more & it should. Pointing to this is not maligning the Army but merely stating what many folks, rtd and otherwise, themselves say.
Last edited by Karan M on 02 Aug 2010 04:00, edited 3 times in total.

snahata wrote:The article written by joseph is a good one and gives a pretty good overall picture even if some of the numbers may or may not be accurate
"Even if" - first, shoddy details are the sign of a shoddy report.
Second, some of the claims made are way off target, at least the ones Joseph has cherrypicked. One hopes the full report is more comprehensive and actually addresses the real issues.

If not, then its a report intended for political consumption and will result in nothing actionable. People who actually face the challenges and overcome them, will rubbish it and discard the prescriptions if they are of no use. Thats the point. All these committee reports, post action reports, samosa and chai discussions end up worthless, unless the major stakeholders agree they help. The CAG has been around for donkeys years. Has it assisted in reforming the system? No, its regarded as a once in x years issue, which is dealt with, and forgotten. Why? Because the CAG, given its limited mandate, only focuses on specific issues and completely ignores everything else. The only "good" that comes out of it is some media hype to embarass the GOI, and which ends up supporting the dealers, as GOI ends up importing under emergency purchase...

Karan M wrote:I could but then again, your shouting in CAPS LOCK and snide remarks "fig leaves etc" do not really give me any incentive to reply...even so I have mentioned the details below.
Its clear you dont have any facts to back your rhetoric. Nor do I find any facts that IA has not supported local R&D or manufacturing.

Added later - The Arjun issue is indeed disheartening, but I attribute that to a cultural mindset rather than hatred towards indigenization. For example, many in IAF wanted Mirage 2000-5 that competed against Su-30 in the 90s. Their reasons, too, were cultural.
Karan M wrote:IA asking BDL to license manufacture Milan 2's and Konkurs missiles? Are these examples of transformation.

I said SS-11 missile, NOT Milan. And YES, it is an example of transformation, because these were the FIRST missiles of any kind manufactured in India.
Karan M wrote:They are merely examples of the respective services meeting political compulsions for local sourcing while attempting to get whatever they can.

You're making an outright false statement. There was NO political compulsion for the IA/IAF to manufacture missile in India. The only reason they insisted on local manufacturing that led to establishment of BDL is to have local logistic supply chain, and to establish a manufacturing base.
Karan M wrote:Finally, if India can make do with vanilla citizens, vanilla soldiers, vanilla businesses, etc, it can make do with vanilla scientists as well.
Typical chalta hai statement of chalta hai attitude of chalta hai employee thriving on a welfare state.

While the Indian soldier is indeed from humble origins, he rises to the occasion when situation demands. Other than the ballistic missile teams, where the best talent goes, I never met any DRDO/PSU chap who had the intellect or drive to rise to the occasion when situation demanded.

Most of whom I worked/interacted with spent their time publishing papers or hosting symposiums where papers were presented and enjoying the perks of a government job. Your words are not going to change my first hand experience of working with DRDO/PSU chaps. My opinion of them is low, and will stay so. There are exceptions, though, and I give full credit to them, however they are far and in-between.

The Navy took the lead in establishing DND because no facilities existed, no private or even public sector (including DRDO) took the initiative or effort required. Hence IN had to take initiative.

On the other hand, DRDO had expertise to assist IA and IAF. If they are unable to, and if IA has to undertake its own R&D and project management, then fine, let IA do so. That makes DRDO redundant and I suggest it be closed down.
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

tsarkar wrote:On the other hand, DRDO had expertise to assist IA and IAF. If they are unable to, and if IA has to undertake its own R&D and project management, then fine, let IA do so.
Actually, I somewhat concur, in the sense that the Army should definitely leading the R&D into the cutting edge of the fighting arms - specifically Infantry, Artillery and Armour. Equipment and technology for these arms is strongly influenced by the doctrine for their usage - it's a kind of 'yin-yang' self-sustaining circle:
1. The IA foresees a requirement;
2. Outlines the tech/equipment required to fill said requirement;
3. Develops/funds/oversees development of tech/equipment soln primarily in inhouse R&D set-up with tech inputs from DRDO/pvt. labs as needed kind of like NDB;
4. Equipment is productionised with full TOT to a production agency - (BDL, Avadi, L&T, Tata - you choose :twisted: )
5. Blk 1 production commences
6. LSP units tried out in operational or close-to-operational situations
7. Iterative improvements developed through further R&D and/or user recommendations
8. Blk 2 production commences
9. IA in the meanwhile has evolved a set of 'best practices' for maximum efficacy of the said equipment in battle conditions... Etc. Etc...

Of course the enemy isn't just sitting around on its musharraf in the meantime, so a futuristic requirement will come up and then of course it's back to step one.

Of course what this 'ideal' scenario of mine needs for realisation is a team/lab of IA officers performing Step 3. That's the lacuna currently.
tsarkar wrote:That makes DRDO redundant and I suggest it be closed down.
Alas, no. DRDO doesn't only exist to cater to the IA's needs.

IA is still creating requirements for Heavy conventional fighting using strike corps while the need of the hour is to tackle the raging fire of CT
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

DRDO working on border intelligence, bomb disposal systems
...a border communication intelligence gathering system and a laser-based ordnance disposal system that are likely to be inducted in service by end of next year.
Developed by Hyderabad-based Defence Electronics Research Laboratory (DLRL), the project envisaged fitting up of 10 static and 25 mobile stations for intercepting enemy communication.
Also talks of the various lasers being developed by LASTEC
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

STAY OFF - DRDO gets ready to dazzle unruly crowds

Rahul Singh [email protected]
NEW DELHI:
The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has developed a laser-based weapon that will impair vision temporarily to control unruly crowds such as Kashmir's stone-throwing mobs.

The non-lethal military gadget would be supplied to para-military forces in Jammu and Kashmir within three months, a senior DRDO official said.

When turned on, the gadget, called laser dazzler, sends out radiation to immobilise individuals or crowds without causing permanent injury. The green rays can throw a wave of agony nearly 250 metres away.

A.K. Maini, who heads the DRDO's Laser Science and Technology Centre, told HT hand-held laser dazzlers with a range of 50 metres would be supplied to paramilitary forces by October for feedback on performance.

He said a vehicle-mounted weapon system for engaging mobs at nearly 250 metres would be ready by the end of next year.
What makes the laser effective is that it doesn't have to be aimed and shot, it moves like a large circle with a spread of almost 20 metres.
It will allow security forces to disperse crowds without inflicting life-threatening injury.

Maini said the system was different from Western gadgets that employed millimetre wave technology to repel crowds by targeting different parts of the body.

He explained, “It's not a stun gun. The laser dazzler targets only the eyes. It could be the perfect solution to de-escalate aggression such as the kind caused by Kashmir's stonethrowing mobs.“

The DRDO is also working on a laser-based ordnance disposal system to detonate explosives from a safe standoff distance. Also in the pipeline are vehicle and airborne laser systems to engage hostile targets such as aircraft and missiles. These technologies may take up to two years to mature.
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

If I had to prioritise what equipment the IADB (a la NDB) would work on, it would be:

Infantry
1. Infantry protection technology - body armour, helmets, padding, etc.
2. Small arms - ARs, MGs, Rocket Launchers (Carl Gustav-type unguided inf. support), UBGLs, AGLs, Anti-Mat. Rifles
3. Ammunition for the above - including future-ready calibres, intelligent ammo, etc.
4. Infantry optics, sights, night vision equipment
5. BDU design - attuned to theatres of conflict, comfort, utilitarian features (pockets/clips/hooks), backpacks, etc.
6. Infantry force-multipliers - foliage/wall-penetrating EO/EM devices, Platoon-level and upwards secure commn., network-enablers (e.g. sathi)

Armour
1. Planning the Mechanisation of regiments through the envisioning and design definition of vehicle families - Light Wheeled, Medium Wheeled, Medium Tracked, Heavy Wheeled (Logistics/Transporters), each encapsulating multiple roles - Recce, Troop Transport, ICV, Mortar carriers, CASEVAC, Command Vehicles, Communications & ESM/ECM, Missile carriers, AA Gun-missile units, Tank transporters, Logistical support, etc.
2. Executing said plan through tendering for vendor consortia who will not only supply vehicles but will integrate sensor/armament packages; leverage economics of scale to keep costs in control;
3. Consistent feedback loop for upgradation of armament, sensors etc.
4. Design and development of MBT's and MBT derivatives - the premier tool of the Armoured Corps. Including main armament - current & future - sensor & self-protection kit, ammunition - guided & non-guided, transmission & powerpack (could be outsourced, but integration overseen by IADB), upgrades...

vic wrote:IA is still creating requirements for Heavy conventional fighting using strike corps while the need of the hour is to tackle the raging fire of CT
And pray, do tell me, how did you arrive at this conclusion? And I hope, you will honor this request and explain your reasoning?

tsarkar wrote: Most of whom I worked/interacted with spent their time publishing papers or hosting symposiums where papers were presented and enjoying the perks of a government job. Your words are not going to change my first hand experience of working with DRDO/PSU chaps. My opinion of them is low, and will stay so. There are exceptions, though, and I give full credit to them, however they are far and in-between.

The Navy took the lead in establishing DND because no facilities existed, no private or even public sector (including DRDO) took the initiative or effort required. Hence IN had to take initiative.

On the other hand, DRDO had expertise to assist IA and IAF. If they are unable to, and if IA has to undertake its own R&D and project management, then fine, let IA do so. That makes DRDO redundant and I suggest it be closed down.
I very strongly support this.

As a developing country we cannot afford the luxury such shirking employees. Kick them and make them work. It is our right to ask for output when a salary is paid from public funds.

I too have first hand experience in these two organizations. Apathy and resigned despair is the the all pervasive feeling depending on which end of the spectrum you are looking from.

Distasteful as it may seem to some, it's high time that we looked at the large number of employees of DRDO and PSU's as "i am entitled" type time servers. There are many honorable exceptions to this rule but survival in this non standard mode is very difficult. One little lamented chairman of HAL used to specialize in vindictively and peremptorily transferring senior people to far flung divisions during official meetings for daring to disagree with him. This faqer is now reduced to coming to various divisions and surreptitiously using the telephone to make long international calls to further his private consultancy.

Many PSU folks have second jobs which they happily go to during working hours. Many DRDO folks provide lucrative consultancies using official facilities.
Similar deviant practices are present in the Armed forces but on a comparative very much lesser scale not because of higher moral standards but lack of opportunity and the omnipresent threat that justice in the Forces is swift, vicious and fatal to the future promotional prospects. Resignation is the only course left in very many cases. Rehabilitation is the norm in the other two organizations. These faqers again set up shop very soon.

Caste based unions and equally confrontationist "officer's unions" are endemic in their relentless search for more perks. Production be damned.

I have been witness to the wanton and vicious cold blooded slaughter in the Annual Confidential Reports of junior hard working and very bright youngsters to the ultimate detriment of the organization.

Such youngsters have found very good jobs in industry or have simply emigrated.

Opinions formed first hand over the years will not be changed become some johnny come lately has a different take on things.

When reality is staring you in the face, you do not need to be bitten in the ass over and over again. Wake up and smell the coffee, if there is any left. :)

Thank god that the Navy had the foresight and the testicular fortitude to keep the DRDO out of its business despite the constant heavyweight efforts over the years to desperately muscle in.
Jaeger

Post by Jaeger »

vic wrote:IA is still creating requirements for Heavy conventional fighting using strike corps while the need of the hour is to tackle the raging fire of CT
Well what with the greater role being played by the CRPF in J&K as of now, and the fact the Govt. is resisting bringing in the IA, should tell you something. Also the creation of the Rashtriya Rifles - staffed by IA but nominally under MHA control should also tell you something.

The IA is India's Iron fist in the velvet glove, the business end of India's diplomacy. It's job is not to handle internal fires except in the rarest of the rare cases. And inshallah, it will stay that way.

PS. In case however, you think the IA is ignoring the "need of the hour", I suggest you spend sometime perusing the news section of the site, and read up on the heroics of the Paras in remote regions of the North.