Indo-UK: News & Discussion

arnab

Re: Indo-UK: News & Discussion

Post by arnab »

brihaspati wrote: "[the greatest good of all] can be realized only in the classless, stateless democracy."[2]

"If India copies England, it is my firm conviction that she will be ruined. Parliaments are merely emblems of slavery."[3] Here goes the claim of Indian gratitude for the Brit model of "good governance".

"It is a superstition and an ungodly thing to believe that an act of a majority binds a minority."[4] Here goes Brit model of governance by majority decision.

"Power resides in the people, they can use it at any time."[5] Here goes the claim of Brit model state that power reside in the admin once elections are over and the state itself is sort of a self-perpetuating machine over and above that of the people - that people simply decide who is going to control that machine for a while.

Discussing the idea of Anarchy, Gandhi said, "In such a state (of affairs), everyone is his own rulers. He rules himself in such a manner that he is never a hindrance to his neighbor."[6]

For MKG, every individual had to take steps towards self-rule in their lives; only then India would naturally move towards self-rule as a nation. He insisted, "Everyone will have to take [swaraj] for himself."[7]

Thus MKG's definition of swaraj ultimately leads to a grassroots, bottom-up, community of self-ruling communities. In 1946, Gandhi explained this vision:

Separate dining rooms as far as I know is not just only in RBI but extends to other important wings of the rashtra. The problem with "high handedness" before pre-colonial era is a debatable one, and if we go sufficiently backward, there are at least textual claims of severe penalties for over-stepping limits by law-enforcement officials coming from the pre-Islamic period.

However, the crucial debate in the modern period is that in the colonial regime, the police were serving the Brit crown and were basically and technically servants of HM's government in India. As such they were not accountable to the Indian people because there was no effective democratic representation of the Indian commons in the Brit Parliament which had some degree of control over admin. Post independence there can be no excuse for such unaccountability. As is evident in growing numbers of cases , police arbitrariness can only be subject to penalizing action if initiatives are taken by the "centre" and by current culture only if the arbitrariness has taken place on "politically correct" victims.
Ok I get it MKG repudiated the british model of governance. He wanted a 'back to the village' grass root level bottom-up development. He opposed nuclear weapons, industrialisation, arms acquisition etc. So I'm puzzled - Do you support MKG's economic vision of India? or his vision to deal with agression? So do you think his views about governance (or anarchy) would be applicable or practical today to run a country like India?

Re 'textual claims' about severe punishment for high handedness in the past - I'm afraid it proves nothing. I'm sure you will find textual claims of punishments associated with corruption and high handedness of the police in today's IPC. So maybe in 1000 years time someone will come to the conclusion of the excellence of law enforcement officials in the 20th century India. (Wasn't this why the concept of subaltern studies became popular? Rather than focus on history written by kings and courtiers?)

The fact that police were a servant of the crown in the colonial era (and a servant of the king in pre-colonial time) really has no bearing on their behaviour today IMO.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

vina wrote:Hmm. Watched David Cameron's performance on NDTV last night. What a refreshing contrast from that dour boring dork Gordon Brown. Seems to be earnest, at least talks straight, very straight on Terrorism and Pakistan, hits all the right chords, I like it!.
Right, he seems very straightforward and relaxed. Very American.

Man, Oh man, David Cameron was blunt and straight. He was not wishy washy, none of that Miliband type crap about solving Kashmir to appease LET. He was as hard hitting as it gets. I mean he was specific in mentioning TSP must crack down on LET. More power to him.

Munna ji, right, Britain needs Godmother and let India not disappoint them. No harm in using them to further our intersts>>

The RBI act created an institution which would eventually become the facilitator of currency union. The Act itself did not mean that all other forms of money would be instantly demonetised.
RBI was/is itself an institution.

All the forms of money could not be demonitised later after independence, as the case in goa and pondicherry. cash coupons were parallel currency till late sixties in many erstwhile princely state area. currency union or usage is largely determined by people, for instance, copper coins of Kanishka and other kushan kings were used as currency in many part of punjab (especially paki punjab) and our punjab/haryana/himachal till late 17th century. roman gold and silver coins were part of indian currency in ancient india. they were slashed for usage in india - the geographical spread was - from Bharuch in Gujarat to Kerala cost. Roman coin hoards are still found/being unearthed in these areas.

The point is the RBI act did not bring any kind of administrative or currency union on its own. Any kind of union happened only after Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel came and conquered. And when people of bharat accepted him as Sardar unity followed. The governance or good governance happned only after SVP's iron hand brought everyone under one name. Brits were not responsible for any kind of good governance, contrary to MMS' claims. MMS is no leader!
Last edited by Murugan on 29 Jul 2010 10:00, edited 1 time in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Murugan wrote:

The point is the RBI act did not bring any kind of administrative or currency union. Any kind of union happened only after Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel came and conquered. The governance or good governance happned only after SVP's iron hand brought everyone under one name. Brits were not responsible for any kind of good governance, contrary to MMS' claims.
Sardar Patel died in 1950. He provided the initial political fillip to integration. Sustanance is built by institutions, not individuals.

Prem wrote:Munna ji, right, Britain needs Godmother and let India not disappoint them. No harm in using them to further our intersts>>
Next step is to cut out the "Asian Community" thingy in UK and develop a solid "Indian-British" identity in UK, the community needs to cultivated and ingrained into the patronage network of Indian companies and interests in UK. This will stop them from blindly voting Labor and will also give Tories a new vote bank. If Tories pull off some real hard bum smacks on Paquis, ensure Indic people's safety in Fiji, give us a larger say in Commonwealth and give Indians sweet deals on migration front (exclusively) then we shall also pull out all stops to ensure that our cousins in UK vote only Tory.

Once we wean the Indian community off Labor by brokering a deal between them and Tories, a lot of natural advantage of the Labor would become vapor ware. David Cameron has once in a lifetime chance to demolish the Labor citadel of "Asian" vote bank and he should avail it.

He provided the initial political fillip to integration.
No mean task. as apparent from MKG's statement said to Patel "the problem of the States is so difficult that you alone can solve it".

The world super power of a time could not bring 500+ states under one name even after misrule of 90 years. Sardar did it in months. He not only provided inititial fillip but created a sustainable institution. Sardar built institution of integrated Bharat. Common currency, postal admin, rule of law followed him.

Hailed as the Iron Man of India, he is also remembered as the "Patron Saint" of India's civil servants for establishing modern all-India services (wiki)

Sustenance of this institution is being constantly put to test by misrule of an institution which has misruled Bharat for overall 50+ years.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Murugan wrote: No mean task. The world super power of a time could not bring 500+ states under one name even after misrule of 90 years. Sardar did it in months. He not only provided inititial fillip but created a sustainable institution. Sardar built institution of integrated Bharat. Common currency, postal admin, rule of law followed him.
Sure. Not sure why you would call a country an 'institution' (Incidentally UK probably had no reason to bring 500+ states under one union as long as they were benefitting commercially through the kingdoms). But it begs the question doesn't it - why did 'rule of law' (sort of) ' and other nation building activities 'follow' him? and why didn't it follow TSP after Jinnah's death?

The statement above of UK benefitting commercially through the kingdoms nullifies your statement that it brought a kind of union.

Point i want to make is RBI act did not bring any currency union. Neither states from Bahawalpur to Hyderabad accepted the currency proposed by RBI as mentioned in the post earlier. Neither the railways actually connected people for any benefit.

Contry as an Institution Re
an important aspect of the nation as an institution is that the power of the "people" who elect their representatives (theoretically at least) replaces the power of a central monarch.
and for the question
and why didn't it follow TSP after Jinnah's death?
coz
1) jinnah was not Sardar
2) there was no gandhi for TSP
3) 700000 people did not sacrifice their lives to create TSP thats why it did not follow TSP.
Last edited by Murugan on 29 Jul 2010 10:44, edited 2 times in total.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Murugan wrote:The statement above of UK benefitting commercially through the kingdoms nullifies your statement that it brought a kind of union.

Point i want to make is RBI act did not bring any currency union. Neither states from Bahawalpur to Hyderabad accepted the currency proposed by RBI as mentioned in the post earlier. Neither the railways actually connected people for any benefit.
Sigh no - but GOI used these institutions to unify the country and sustain it. I'm not sure what you mean by Hyderabad not accepting RBI currency. You think a visit from Sardar Patel and a signature on the instrument of accession was all it took to keep a country together? (If so - why didn't it work for TSP and Jinnah?)

again coz

1) jinnah was notSardar
3) 700000 people did not sacrifice their lives to create TSP thats why it did not follow TSP.
I'm not sure what you mean by Hyderabad not accepting RBI currency.
hyderabad was more than an autonomous state within british india and did not use British currenty - metal or paper. google will bring more answers. Hyderabad state area was very big consisting parts of present day andhrapradesh, karnatak and maharashtra.

Yes, signatures on instrument of accessions brought by Sardar changed everything.
arnab

Post by arnab »

Murugan wrote:again coz

1) jinnah was notSardar

Yes, signatures on instrument of accessions brought by Sardar changed everything.
I'm afraid then we have to agree to disagree. I'm not much of a believer in personality cults, specially if the personality passed away within a couple of years of independence. Your reasons for non-success for TSP seems to be entirely attributed to lack of personalities similar to Gandhi and Patel and a lack of sacrifice (though you could assume that the partition riots were a sacrifice). I'm not sure this entirely makes sense to me because to me this is simply a belief in form over substance.

OT
arnab

Post by arnab »

Murugan wrote: hyderabad was more than an autonomous state within british india and did not use British currenty - metal or paper. google will bring more answers. Hyderabad state area was very big consisting parts of present day andhrapradesh, karnatak and maharashtra.
From official RBI history

http://rbidocs.rbi.org.in/rdocs/content/PDFs/89651.pdf
Though Hyderabad had its own currency notes (Hali Sicca currency), and the Indian
rupee had never been legal tender in Hyderabad, Indian currency circulated freely in that
State till about the close of 1947. Also, in December 1947, as much as 30 per cent of the
cover in respect of the State’s note circulation was in the form of Indian rupees and
another 60 per cent in the form of Government of India securities
. There were no
restrictions on the exchange of Hyderabad currency into Indian currency, which
throughout had a higher value.
Following the ‘successful conclusion’ of the police action in September 1948, the
currency chests were re-established and remittance facilities resumed. The restrictions
imposed on the use in Hyderabad of Indian currency were removed. A programme for the
withdrawal of Hyderabad currency and its replacement by Indian currency was drawn up
by the Government of India in consultation with the Bank.
On January 26, 1950, the circulation of Hali Sicca currency (notes, rupee coin and
small coin) amounted approximately to Hali Sicca Rs. 48 crores or India Rs. 41 crores.
With the progressive replacement of Hali Sicca currency by Indian currency as from that
date, the circulation of Hali Sicca currency steadily declined and stood at Hali Sicca Rs.
6.4 crores (or India Rs. 5.5 crores) at the end of March 1955.

3 cheers for David Cameron.He has put the "spot" on Pak for its diabolic policies of terror,and is also the first heavy-weight western leader to do so.Meanwhile significant Indo-UK trade deals are in the offing some mentioned here.

Aaprt from the extra Hawk AJTs for the IAF and IN,here are more details.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstop ... istan.html
Excerpts:
Earlier, No 10 confirmed that the decision to lift a ban on the export of nuclear technology and components to India for civilian use came in the face of official Foreign Office and Ministry of Defence advice not to do so.

British companies will be free to strike deals worth billions of pounds under the new regime which will be based on a “presumption” that export licences will be granted unless there are specific concerns about a deal.

As part of the move, UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council will take part in a £2.4 million programme with the Indian Vivha Atomic programme to develop research.

As Mr Cameron was speaking, Royal Navy submarines were taking part in secret naval war games off the coast of Goa.

The whereabouts of British warships is usually kept a closely-guarded secret, with Ministry of Defence officials refusing to confirm even which ocean a particular sub is operating in.

But hours before the games began, the Times of India published full details of the exercise, in which the "hunter-killer" Trafalgar Class HMS Talent was tasked with tracking down the Indian sub INS Shankush.

As part of the enhanced cooperation on counter-terrorism, Mr Cameron also announced that the United Kingdom and India would help each other to guard a series of forthcoming sporting events, including the 2012 London Olympics as well as the Commonwealth Games which take place in Delhi.

^^^ that last para on games security is highly revealing... in both cases the clear and present threat is from state/non-state/semi-state/solid-state/apostate/metastate... etc., actors from pakistan

1. khalistan rogues start getting arrested in the UK for murder charges in India
2. cameron talks bluntly about pakistan (Pak HC is venting like crazy in the guardian this morning)
3. statements above

maybe finally the wheel is starting to turn the right way

It would be very interesting if we can encourage Cameron to assist us with obtaining some of BP's assets, as they seek to sell their stakes in various places hurriedly to pay for the Gulf of Mexico spill.

Lalmohan wrote: maybe finally the wheel is starting to turn the right way

nothing is turning the right way.

its only India's new found economic power that's talking.

if India's rising economic power ever declined, so would all the good will.

X Posted from the Pakistani Role in Global Terrorism thread.

Excerpt from the transcript of UK Prime Minister David Cameron’s speech and subsequent question and answer session at the Infosys Campus in Bangalore. This is where he warned the Islamic Republic of Pakistan that they will not be allowed “to promote the export of terror, whether to India or whether to Afghanistan, or anywhere else in the world”:
Wednesday 28 July 2010

PM’s speech in India …………………..

Question

You said Pakistan is going to be an important discussion that you are going to have with the Prime Minister of India, but the kind of leakage of funds that the US and the UK have been giving to Pakistan in the last couple of years has now exposed that we need to rethink the strategy with Pakistan. Is that going to be a discussion that you will be having with the Prime Minister as well?

Prime Minister

That is absolutely a discussion that I will have with Dr Manmohan Singh, and it is also a discussion I had last week with President Obama, and also had meetings in the Pentagon to discuss this point, which is that we should be very clear with Pakistan that we want to see a strong and a stable and a democratic Pakistan, but we cannot tolerate in any sense the idea that this country is allowed to look both ways and is able in any way to promote the export of terror, whether to India or whether to Afghanistan, or anywhere else in the world. That’s why this relationship is important, but it should be a relationship based on a very clear message that it is not right, as I said in my speech, to have any relationship with groups that are promoting terror. Democratic states that want to be part of the developed world cannot do that, and the message to Pakistan from the US and from the UK is very clear on that point. ……………………

Number 10

arnab wrote:
brihaspati wrote: "[the greatest good of all] can be realized only in the classless, stateless democracy."[2]

"If India copies England, it is my firm conviction that she will be ruined. Parliaments are merely emblems of slavery."[3] Here goes the claim of Indian gratitude for the Brit model of "good governance".

"It is a superstition and an ungodly thing to believe that an act of a majority binds a minority."[4] Here goes Brit model of governance by majority decision.

"Power resides in the people, they can use it at any time."[5] Here goes the claim of Brit model state that power reside in the admin once elections are over and the state itself is sort of a self-perpetuating machine over and above that of the people - that people simply decide who is going to control that machine for a while.

Discussing the idea of Anarchy, Gandhi said, "In such a state (of affairs), everyone is his own rulers. He rules himself in such a manner that he is never a hindrance to his neighbor."[6]

For MKG, every individual had to take steps towards self-rule in their lives; only then India would naturally move towards self-rule as a nation. He insisted, "Everyone will have to take [swaraj] for himself."[7]

Thus MKG's definition of swaraj ultimately leads to a grassroots, bottom-up, community of self-ruling communities. In 1946, Gandhi explained this vision:

Separate dining rooms as far as I know is not just only in RBI but extends to other important wings of the rashtra. The problem with "high handedness" before pre-colonial era is a debatable one, and if we go sufficiently backward, there are at least textual claims of severe penalties for over-stepping limits by law-enforcement officials coming from the pre-Islamic period.

However, the crucial debate in the modern period is that in the colonial regime, the police were serving the Brit crown and were basically and technically servants of HM's government in India. As such they were not accountable to the Indian people because there was no effective democratic representation of the Indian commons in the Brit Parliament which had some degree of control over admin. Post independence there can be no excuse for such unaccountability. As is evident in growing numbers of cases , police arbitrariness can only be subject to penalizing action if initiatives are taken by the "centre" and by current culture only if the arbitrariness has taken place on "politically correct" victims.
Ok I get it MKG repudiated the british model of governance. He wanted a 'back to the village' grass root level bottom-up development. He opposed nuclear weapons, industrialisation, arms acquisition etc. So I'm puzzled - Do you support MKG's economic vision of India? or his vision to deal with agression? So do you think his views about governance (or anarchy) would be applicable or practical today to run a country like India?
This what you had originally written :
"I think we are creating a mountain out of a mole hill. The indian independence movement was all about 'swaraj' (self rule). This was articulated by Tilak and even MKG when he said to the brits to go even if it meant leaving leaving India to the mercy of the gods. MMS's argument is about not entirely rejecting Brit's claim to 'good governance'. .... All these provided a glue which kept the country administratively unified after independence(rather than empty slogans). These are the good governance factors that MMS is refering to."

You claimed that "i"ndian independence movement was all about "swaraj" as articulated by MKG and your implication was that "swaraj" was not really about rejection of British claims of good governance but merely appropriation of that system by Indians. You reduced MKG's concept of "swaraj" to a twisted shape beyond anything the MKG ever mentioned as. Using that you justified MMS's claim. So I pointed out what MKG really meant as "swaraj", and how far he thought of the British parliament based ruling system as worth "copying". MKG's actual statements completely contradict the way you tried to use his words.

Whether his concepts are worth using or impractiable is a different debate - but then his words cannot be used to justify and support things he never supported. That was what I was objecting to. Then of course those "other good government factors" - which again turns out to be debatable. The first and foremost sign of good governance is the socio-economic prosperity of the people - if that came down so drastically, all claims of good governance is a sham. Supporting it from those originating from the receiving end population, is an act that in the colonial case can only come from comprador professionals and entrepreneurs who benefit from the special relationship they have with their colonial masters. Supporting and justifying it when the colonial power, at least officially is gone, is treason to the sufferings and sacrifices of countless millions if not formally a treason by the existing code of law.
So MMS is merely articulating that outside of the well known aspects that have denounced british rule, running a government requires one to look beyond slogans and involves the the hard and unglamourous task of providing legislative frameworks, legal structures and administrative coverage to a country. This initial framework is what the Brits provided and which is what we still largely use and it is a reality (just as the brit made famine of 1942 was a reality as shown by Amartya Sen).
Again, this is entirely MMS's take and I objected to his claims of representing "all" Indian opinion on this - just as I objected to his claim that "we" - implying all Indians accepted his claim of "good governance" on the part of the Brits. I object to his passing off his personal fantasies as that of the nation - both historically as well as that of now. I quoted MKG explicitly to show that MKG himself did not think the MMS way, and MKG openly acknowledged that there were multiple strands of opinions an dpositions within Indian nationalism that moved against the British - it was no homogeneous "we". This is what the intact passing over of the colonial state machinery has done - it has perpetuated mental slavery to the Raj in those whom the system filters in to allow to have state power over the long term.
Re 'textual claims' about severe punishment for high handedness in the past - I'm afraid it proves nothing. I'm sure you will find textual claims of punishments associated with corruption and high handedness of the police in today's IPC. So maybe in 1000 years time someone will come to the conclusion of the excellence of law enforcement officials in the 20th century India. (Wasn't this why the concept of subaltern studies became popular? Rather than focus on history written by kings and courtiers?)

The fact that police were a servant of the crown in the colonial era (and a servant of the king in pre-colonial time) really has no bearing on their behaviour today IMO.
Sure, we can trawl through "subaltern studies" and I guess if you really do it instead of just using the "keyword" you will find plenty of examples where there is evidence of self-correcting mechanisms at the decentralized village and township level, especially in the "south" which coincides with an eventual erosion of democratic grassroots admin in the north under the Sultanate and Mughal policy of imposing qazis to try and punish all according to the sharia.

I did not go into the debate proper about ancient period and simply said it was not a foregone conclusion. But what my main point was that in the modern post colonial period, the police cannot have a continuation of the colonial police attitude that they served a master who is unaccountable to the "natives" and therefore they themselves were not accountable to the "natives". But the continuation of this attitude is a direct consequence of adopting the colonial state machinery lock, stock and barrel - and obviously it was done to use the repressive effeiciency of the system towards political opposition or protest to the ruling regime. That sort of use is what marks similarity and continuity with the colonial regime.

I may be a bit late for the debate but I think Britan and Colonialism has done more harm then good to us Indians. The list is too long to mentioned and any imrovements in social structure that we should be proud of (In the words of the apologists ) were mearly tools for exploiation of the Indian population and resources.

I will agree that they gave us a cclass of leaders who are completely divorced from the land they rule today.

The economy was destroyed. The local industries and handi crafts stifled. Who can forget the last British gift (Partition)
Last edited by Pratyush on 29 Jul 2010 17:39, edited 1 time in total.

Pratyush wrote:I will agree that they gave us a cclass of leaders who are completely divorced from the land they rule today.
The economy was destroyed. The local industries and handi crafts stifled. Who can forget the last British gift (Partition)
How long can we sing the same song? The British gave us a C Class set of leaders, but did'nt we have solid 50 years to improve the situation? If the British introduced systems of Indian Railways, Indian Army, the various Civil Service setup have been so pathetic and exploitory in nature, why did we (and the so called netas who sit and blame the British for practically everything and any thing) not change it? As some one already pointed it out, the British actually made a system which when they left fell into the hands of a set of Indian politicians whose sole aim was to continue to run the show. The politicians never had to invent any thing original, every thing to enforce the rule of (British made) laws were in place. From "God save the king" the change was to "God save the top-most chap in Gandhi/Nehru clan" ;).

Gandhi was against exploitation of India by colonialist eco policies,but had he lived, would've launched an agitation against the rulers of today who have instituted rampant corruption and goondaism in place of imperialist exploitation.He was also not averse to Indians fighting against the Nazis in WW2.It is wrong to say that he was a "pacifist".On the contrary he was totally ruthless in waging war against the British occupation of India and well understanding their rules of "cricket","playing with a straight bat" and all that,used non-violence and India's massive milions as a lethal weapon against the British.

60+ years on,we cannot forever blame the British for our woes of the moment.The generation of idealistic freedom fighters who suffered under the British to win our freedom have passed on and a venal set of self-centered,greedy parasites occupy most of the seats in parliament and the assemblies instead,far more insidious than the colonial lot.The youth of today are being taught by their parents to "win" by any means,"hook or by crook",and all that matters is their success at the expense of others."Every man for himself and the devil take the hindmost".Cheat the govt. until you get caught and then deny it all,cheat your fellow Indians whenever you can,as thousands of suckers are born in our country every day! One columnist wrote last week that the collective wealth of the top 5 billionaires of the country was worth more than that of the lowest 300 million! The gap bewteen rich and poor is growing at hypersonic speed,with the new maharajahs of today being the political class,who make no bones about state politics being "family business",the states being the fifedom of their extended families and their closest cronies.Their illegal landgrabbing and land stripping (mining) goes on unabated.Why has the GOI refused a ban on iron ore exports despite the massive mining scandal,or nationalising all mining activity unless they (all parties) are all in it together?

I was surfing the intl. media this morning and saw this clip of "Congress vs. Congress",two stalwarts "battling" it out in Pune over some petty election where one was battered with chairs,kicked all over and bloodied by his rivals! Are we proud of the state of the nation?
In another thread I posted an Indian living in Germany who quoted from several European papers that India was fast becoming not a superpower but a "banana republic",listing out the many recent corruption scandals gripping the nation and wondering how MMS was unaware of it (thus incompetent and unfit for the job),or was aware and therfore complicit in it! While we from time to time love to hit out at our erstwhile colonial rulers for their sins of the past,we must acknowledge the fact that when caught,their politicos have to resign their posts in disgrace,unlike ours who like limpets and super-glue are almost impossible to dislodge despite being up for almost every crime in the book including rape,murder,extortion,fraud,forgery-you name it,they've done it! "A fish rots from the head" and today,it is an absolute fact that the head is "rotten" and the decay is spreading all across the land. This why the Naxals are rampant despite their own bloody indiscriminate acts slaughtering the innocent.If the situ continues unabated,then we are in for a revolution in the future that will be the opposite of the freedom struggle and anything but "Gandhian".
Last edited by Philip on 29 Jul 2010 17:47, edited 2 times in total.
jaibhim

Post by jaibhim »

You are spot on Philip. Why blame people like Arundhati and their clan when to some extant they speak the facts which are always difficult to digest, although their aims and agenda are different which we do not agree with.

Why foreign sec william haig is silent?

Tx Jai,though I have no time for the Arundathis and her ilk,who are another kind of parasite,the "pseudo-intellecutual",masquerading as do-gooders and conscience-keepers of the nation.They have little humility and lust after the recognition from the west as "icons" of India! They seldom soil their hands in the cause of the poor whom they claim to represent.Like the ambulance-chasers in the US,"parasiticus Arundathicus" sip champagne in the finest watering holes of great cities of the world while denigrating their homeland,denying their birthright-as Arundathi once did,and like vultures perch themselves upon a branch and feast their eyes upon every tragedy that befalls the nation,giving them the opportunities to preach and prey (pun intended).

rsingh wrote:Why foreign sec william haig is silent?
Apparently this is Cameron's show and he wants to make Indo-Brit entente a cornerstone of his foreign policy. To do the things that he is doing he may have had to personally bash a lot of heads and twist some arms in the precincts of Whitehall. William Hague will be relegated to a distant second spot in this roadshow since it is the PM who is leading from the front, failure or success are all Cameron's. Its very personal sir for 10 Downing!!

Meanwhile the PM rubs it in

Cameron Defends his comments
Later in his interview to Sky News, Mr Cameron reiterated his stand :twisted: , "I think you should say what you think, and be frank and clear. "It's not acceptable that there are still terrorist groups working in Pakistan. We need to work with the government there to shut them down. There is action being taken, but we need to see more."
Now the Prime Minister should seriously court the Indo-British community to destroy the stranglehold of Labor on "Asian Community" votes, we need to wean the Br-Indians away from lumping themselves with the Mirpurias and Pakjabis in electoral excercises. A sucessful cleavage of this votebank will solidify our gains and Cameron's stature over a pretty long term horizon.

hague was the first to announce the pro-india tilt in policy a few weeks back
this is cameron's show because the show is about trade, hence cable is with him
hague will undoubtedly be visiting soon, when the practicalities have to be done

as for indians in britain, you'll be hard pressed to find someone these days who identifies with the pakistanis in britain... the division (if indeed there ever was a conjoining) happened a while ago... and was cemented by the 7/7 bombings

ofcourse pakistanis who are half way educated and not instinctively jehadised are increasingly leaning towards a declared Indian and not Asian identity

munna wrote
Apparently this is Cameron's show and he wants to make Indo-Brit entente a cornerstone of his foreign policy. To do the things that he is doing he may have had to personally bash a lot of heads and twist some arms in the precincts of Whitehall. William Hague will be relegated to a distant second spot in this roadshow since it is the PM who is leading from the front, failure or success are all Cameron's. Its very personal sir for 10 Downing!!
Good if it is so. But I think Hauge will be used to plead Bakistani "understand the tight rope DC was forced to walk on" and " UK and Bakistan are natural friends" etyadi. BTW any comment from nasamazh Miliband ?

Lalmohan wrote:as for indians in britain, you'll be hard pressed to find someone these days who identifies with the pakistanis in britain... the division (if indeed there ever was a conjoining) happened a while ago... and was cemented by the 7/7 bombings

ofcourse pakistanis who are half way educated and not instinctively jehadised are increasingly leaning towards a declared Indian and not Asian identity
Lalmohanji I was unable to put it in better terms. I have lived in UK for a little bit and keep visiting that land, my relatives settled there are amongst the few who went back with the retreating Brits in 1947 :D . Now, these folks although hard working, rich and well settled they tend to vote Labor for some inexplicable reasons.

The Buroughs west of London like Slough, Ealing and Harrow house some richer Indo-Brits but yet they vote Labor. The few Labor politicians/big supporters that I to met took it for granted that Br-Indians will vote Labor due to their stance on immigration and a general perception of Labor being the more liberal dispensation.

In midlands the situation is even worse where a lot of Indian population is actually working class or has recently become professional class, continues to vote Labor.
Due to this lemming like voting pattern Labor treats Indian representation with disdain (it is anyways outnumbered in Labor by Mirpurias and Pakjabis). If DC offers Indian specific sweet deals on immigration front then I see no reason why Indian community in UK should not pull out all stops to en mass vote Tory. That way a lot of strong Labor seats will become marginal and Milliband's dreams of becoming PM will become even more distant.

I have witnessed the undercurrent of Br-Indians become more and more confident, its just that now we need to translate that into carving a new niche for the community in the polity of UK. It will benefit UK, India and Brit-Indians. Enough of this "Asian" catch all term, to me it was worse than someone calling me "Paki".
Last edited by munna on 29 Jul 2010 18:42, edited 1 time in total.
jaibhim

Post by jaibhim »

Try travelling at 200AM from Leeds to London in megabus or nationalexpress overnight bus service[buses from scotland pass these places at this time and a large contingent boards at this time] to the capital and you will hear a wierd telephone ring[why is the phone so incredibly busy and continually ringing pious tones from 200-300AM,the driver dare say anything to such people who have a large girth, the loud voice] and the opening answer bhaijan or urdu-punjabi in sherwani or whatever disturbing other sleeping passengers, and you will know our man is in the bus! He has been in this place for years but would rather prefer to be comfortable!
Compare this to middle class indians who have strained every sinew to become more English than the english, to climb the latter,[dal chole or idli vada at home, but risotto or whatever for the public front] and have worked hard to acquire social capital and have done everything to do well in college[alluding to the famous French thinker Pierre Bourdieu who analysed power and how people acquire capital].

rsing pindiwale wrote:Good if it is so. But I think Hauge will be used to plead Bakistani "understand the tight rope DC was forced to walk on" and " UK and Bakistan are natural friends" etyadi. BTW any comment from nasamazh Miliband ?
Paqs should not be too hopeful
Guardian Op-ed piece
On the Conservative side, William Hague's seemingly concerted effort to delink India from policy towards the Af-Pak region is noteworthy. Indeed, it is reminiscent of the Bush administration's efforts to follow a "de-hyphenation" policy in the early 2000s. Accordingly, India was made a strategic partner in 2004 and the Bush administration pushed through a major nuclear deal, increasing military ties dramatically. Meanwhile, Pakistan was made a "major non-Nato ally", and assisted with over $10bn of economic aid.

Aaaahaaa

David Cameron is a 'loudmouth', says David Miliband Telegraph.co.uk. David Miliband criticised Prime Minister David Cameron today, accusing him of being a ...

The former Foreign Secretary was speaking as the row continued over comments Mr Cameron made during his trip to India.

Mr Miliband said there was a ''big difference between straight talking and being a loudmouth'' as he claimed Mr Cameron had been ''going off script'' in recent public statements.

The Labour leadership contender said everyone had ''two ears and one mouth'' and it was important to use them ''in that proportion'' when it came to foreign policy.

Mr Cameron caused anger in Islamabad when he warned that Pakistan should not be allowed ''to promote the export of terror'' in the world.

But today he denied his comments had overshadowed his trip and maintained that he had good relations with Pakistan, whose president will be visiting him at his country retreat, Chequers, next week.

''I don't think it's overshadowed anything,'' he said. ''I think it's important to speak frankly and clearly about these issues. I have always done that in the past and will do so in the future.''

But he did not repeat the phrase today in a series of broadcast interviews, but stressed that he was talking about ''people within Pakistan'' who are responsible for terror rather than the country's government.

Mr Miliband accused Mr Cameron of only ''telling half the story'', pointing out that thousands of innocent civilians in Pakistan had been killed by terrorism.

Put to him that it was ''pretty strong'' to accuse the Prime Minister of being a loudmouth he said: ''Well, I think there is a big difference between straight-talking and being a loudmouth.

He told BBC Radio 4's The World At One: ''It is very, very important that the Prime Minister, who in three unscripted appearances at press conferences has gone off script and has said, as I say, in the Pakistan case half the story, understands that we have got two ears and one mouth and it is very important to use them in that proportion.''

munna ji, it is dal bhaat outside also, goras have voted "curry" as the #1 national dish for some time now, i've even heard them telling visiting amreekans to have something traditionally british like chicken tikka whilst they are in town!

anyway - point being that for the majority of indians, the relationship has dramatically changed, and for the better. the old equations are no longer in place. indeed many a gora dad will be relatively pleased if daughter brought home a desiboy these days! :)

if you look at the high end jobs in london (banking, law, consulting, medicine, etc.), around a third to half the graduate intake is uk-desi kids these days (hence happy dad above!)

the community as a whole is increasingly affluent and therefore migrating from traditional labour values to traditional tory ones, this is well understood by the tory party these days (which traditionally was anti-immigrant and quite racist) and they have adapted. labour needs to reinvent itself, but when it does, it is unlikely to be pandering to the increasingly marginalised pakistani community
biswas

Post by biswas »

Lalmohanji no offence but enough with this chauvinism.

It's not about what you're depicting as Yindoo conquest of firangi wimmen. These are people we're talking about, if people are more willing to inter-date between cultures, chances are it's because of personal merits, nothing to do with race.

no chauvinism there my friend, 20+ years ago the average gora dad would have been mighty unhappy if daugther brought home desi guy (no matter how nice he was) based on 'loge kya kahenge' psychology. mine was a broader social comment about how that has changed, now loge kuch nahin kahenge.

and as a social aside, yindoos on the whole do not have a firangi women conquest complex, which is seen much more commonly amongst black men and sometimes with purelanders - the former to do with status symbolism, the latter to do with "uncovered meat" syndrome as taught by their maulers

biswas wrote:if people are more willing to inter-date between cultures, chances are it's because of personal merits, nothing to do with race.
Yes. And No. Yes because without "personal merit" as you call it, there can be nothing whether within race or inter-whatever. And no, because, there is usually a "short list" of "acceptability" based on perceptions/prejudices/ whatever and whatever happens , those strong mental lines are not crossed.