Aha!!!...The moment I mentioned the Infantry Brigade, I was expecting a question from you...my fellow Orbat junkie

Thanks Guru! Didnt know the A&N bde was a mountain bde.
What Corps/ Divs do these two bdes come under?
Aha!!!...The moment I mentioned the Infantry Brigade, I was expecting a question from you...my fellow Orbat junkie
So we're building the Indigenous Aircraft Carrier in India but we have to run to the Russians to build an IAC's replica on shore for training purposes? Hmmm... makes sense.putnanja wrote:Top LCA-Navy Team In Russia For Talks
A high-level naval delegation from the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) – the government makers of India’s much-anticipated Light Combat Aircraft (LCA-Navy) – is currently in Russia for contract negotiations and issues related to the program’s shore-based test facility (SBTF).
“Building the SBTF in Goa is a huge technological challenge for ADA and the Indian Navy, and Russian help is critical. It will have to be an exact ship-on-the-shore facility based on India’s Indigenous Aircraft Carrier being built at Cochin Shipyard,” the official said. “The measurements are the same as IAC and it must have all equipment to simulate an aircraft carrier with ski-jump and arrested recovery. Hence, the current project review being undertaken with the Russians is crucial in many ways.”
Ayyeooo...no guru please....only learner..Avik wrote:Aha!!!...The moment I mentioned the Infantry Brigade, I was expecting a question from you...my fellow Orbat junkie![]()
Thanks Guru! Didnt know the A&N bde was a mountain bde.
What Corps/ Divs do these two bdes come under?
Luxtor wrote:So we're building the Indigenous Aircraft Carrier in India but we have to run to the Russians to build an IAC's replica on shore for training purposes? Hmmm... makes sense.putnanja wrote:Top LCA-Navy Team In Russia For Talks
Building the training replica seems more complex than building the actual ship.
it does, IFF you bothered to read up on it. the shore based facility is an exact replica of the one on vikramaditya which, if you remember, is being built at a russian yard.Luxtor wrote:So we're building the Indigenous Aircraft Carrier in India but we have to run to the Russians to build an IAC's replica on shore for training purposes? Hmmm... makes sense.Building the training replica seems more complex than building the actual ship.
Re the Harrier.Philip wrote:Given its size,perhaps the package fitted out in the MIG-21 Bison could've worked on the Sea Harrier.I wonder whether the IN examined that option also/evaluated it with the current Israeli package.In going for the MIG-29Ks,there could be some commonality of sensors,weaponry and other eqpt. between IN Fulcrums and IAF Fulcrums being upgraded.This would greatly assist logistics and suppliers of spares etc. locally.4 aircraft-MIG-21 Bison,Jaguar,Sea Harrier and the LCA could benefit if there was standardisation of eqpt.,using the best available ,as these aircraft are of similar size.
n 2009, Chinese think tanks suggested that once China gets its own aircraft carrier by about 2015, the US Navy should “look after” the sea area east of Hawaii, while the Chinese Navy would “look after” the rest of the Pacific and Indian Ocean regions. Chinese investment in nuclear submarines too, will aid a “two ocean deployment capability” in the future.
Gotta admire the audacity though. The Audacity of hope, they must've learnt from Sri obama garu ji only.rohitvats wrote:So, PLAN with one Carrier should be given control of Pacific and USN with god-knows-how-many carriers should look east of Hawai? Wah.....Chinese seem to smoking something potent....
I think we are missing something over here. China will not build a single aircraft carrier, they will build more than one. And the gap between PLAN and USN in 25 years will be nil. That is provided China is able to sustain its break neck economic growth.Hari Seldon wrote:Gotta admire the audacity though. The Audacity of hope, they must've learnt from Sri obama garu ji only.rohitvats wrote:So, PLAN with one Carrier should be given control of Pacific and USN with god-knows-how-many carriers should look east of Hawai? Wah.....Chinese seem to smoking something potent....
In any case, fact of the matter is PLAN is closing the gap between itself and USN, so what if the gap is mile wide at present. IN 25 yrs, it will be only qtr mile wide.
I agree with you Suraj on both the points. From pacific to Indian Ocean there are a series of choke points, andaman-nicobar-ache (Indonesia), Lombok Strait, etc. If India wants it can easily cut off china's energy supply route to the persian gulf, by blockading these areas. China knows this. It also knows that it will be difficult for china to impose a similar blockade on India or break the blockade. This is one of the reasons, another being the predominance of US Navy, that china is building its strategic oil reserve, oil basing stations in pakistan, burma and sri lanka, etc.Suraj wrote:For all the usual Chinese talk of first doing and then talking, they seem to be getting a little ahead of themselves. Their carrier killer weapon is something someone else can develop and point at them, for what it's worth. No one is going to give them the space - they'll have to push their way in the hard way. The Pac/IOR junction has several natural choke points as well.
From an economic perspective, after the burst of economic development that takes a country from poverty to low-mid income zone, there's a massive 'wall' before they can continue growing, because their lower cost industries continuously loose cost competitiveness, and they still face massive pressures to maintain full employment, manage an ageing population and worker:dependency ratio, all of which means a linear progression either in their case or ours is not exactly an assured prediction.
Tender pe tender, trails pe trails. India ends up buying less than it says.putnanja wrote:Suman Sharma reporting that DAC has cleared purchase of 56 utility helicopters for IN at Rs 7k crores
DAC Clears Naval Utility Chopper Deal, RFP To Follow Soon
Pratyush from what I could remember it is not just rotor issue but serious vibration problem , on sea endurance problem and couple others which the IN after adequate testing rejected the Naval Dhruv as unsuitable for Sea operation.Pratyush wrote:The main problem that was plaguing the Dhruv were with the rotor folding mech. As per the previous discussion on this topic. I am sure that this can be resolved in a timely fashion if attempted by the HAL .
Finding frivolous reasons to buy imported stuff should be avoided.
Based on the report it is not obvious that a 10 ton helo is required. which is where the NH 90 fits.
First some basics...Christopher Sidor wrote:I think we are missing something over here. China will not build a single aircraft carrier, they will build more than one. And the gap between PLAN and USN in 25 years will be nil. That is provided China is able to sustain its break neck economic growth.
The main point, where India is concerned, is that the admiral said west of Hawaii and INDIAN ocean would be spheres of Chinese influence, where USN ships need not come.