India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Carl_T

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Post by Carl_T »

Karna_A wrote: Pro Business policies result in Pro India policies.
Anti terror policies are Pro India
Pro defence sales are pro India
Stand up to China are Pro India
Pro AFG are Pro India etc.
Pro Business also results in Pro China policies.

Anti terror policies also result in propping up of Pakistan and subduing Iran.

Is buying US equipment a good idea in the future when India will be a rival?

Standing up to China will force India to be a client state. Want that?

Anyways, US hasn't elected a right wing Christian president in recent memory and it's quite unlikely to happen soon.

The reality is that India will be a rival to the US in the future and US is aware of that. US foreign policy tends to revolve around not allowing any nation to get too powerful in strategically important areas. Note how US has been stumped by Turkey's desire for an independent policy, and this is a staunch US ally, India will be bigger than Turkey and clash with the US much more in the future. As someone said, we may have interests that converge, but that's it.

Let dharmam and wisdom light the way. .. (About Tricolor)
Like some US consulates do their (on their official webpages) of Visa section: to make US more inviting.
(Seriously for America , simple rule for us: (wave/display/be proud of) India Flag - Good, very good... (just make sure that it is displayed with pride, and honor)
(For WKK types: other "south asian" flags are NOT the same)

^^For once I find myself agreeing with AmberG.

All immigrants to the United States faced xenophobia-- often violent xenophobia.

This did not stop the Irish from waving their flags as they marched on St. Patricks' Day... it is all fun and games now but once upon a time it was a defiant display of solidarity while reaffirming their loyalty to their adopted land.

It did not stop the Italians from painting the fronts of their stores, barbershops and pizzerias in the red-white-green of Italy's tricolor, or attending chapters of the Sons of Italy social organization, in cities all over the East Coast.

Today who would question the American-ness of US Citizens with Irish or Italian ancestry? Yet the traditions continue.

There is NOTHING to apologize for in flying the Indian flag. We do not become anyone's enemy by standing up for our values, our heritage, our identity as a people. If people see us as disloyal or hostile for doing this it's THEIR problem, their issue, not ours.

What I don't like is that I've been the only one singled out for censure by mods, when everyone else is continuing to talk on the same topic. Furthermore, when I made my post, it was before ramana's warning had even appeared. Everybody is getting off scotfree except me. When it takes only a few censures to add upto a ban, then it's not right to single out some people over others.

Anyway, everyone should consider that the NRI-Left in the US is as dangerous to Indo-US relations as the Indian Left is to India itself, because the NRI-Left are a fusion of American Leftism and Indian Leftism. The NRI-Left are just as easily exploited as "useful idiots" as the Indian Left are.

I don't see anyone flying American flags in India on its Republic Day. It's just a normal expectation that NRIs in the US should try to assimilate as others have.

India should reform itself at home, rather than trying to always make itself dependent upon NRIs to help it from outside. Otherwise, it just becomes part of India's general laziness to help itself. Let's also not forget that it's the deprivation of opportunities in India that have forced NRIs to be emigrants abroad and face the hardships of immigration - no thanks to Indian society. Then Indians want to leech off the diaspora and set up their little India's abroad. That's ridiculous - you don't drive someone out of your home and then show up to congratulate them later on after they've become a success without you.

^ Really?

Well I would suggest to Indian Americans to fly both flags - Indian and American!

The more they are flown together, the less would Americans be piqued when the Indian tricolor is flown on its own, for example on India's national days.

moles in our govt are on verge of pushing through a nuclear liability bill that caps max damages at 1500cr paltry sum.

Singha Sir,

I thought that the 1500 crs was a more then generous amount for a Nuke Incident. So what if it kill a million Indians.

Singha wrote:moles in our govt are on verge of pushing through a nuclear liability bill that caps max damages at 1500cr paltry sum.
I have been following this NLB only peripherally. And I have seen many oppoents make claims like this. Please educate me as to how MMS would respond to this, or even dismiss such claims? What would his argument be?

^^^CRS saar,

He doesn't need any argument and is not really accountable to the opposition regarding that. He just needs the votes and there're ways of securing them - favor exchanges, CBI-use nudge^2 wink^2, horse trading and the like.

The spectrum scam, the agri commodities scam, CWG saga, the bhopal coverup etc etc and the fact that sarkar has decided to brazen it out on each and every single issue should be proof enough.

The Hon PM being present in Dilli when parliament is in session is a novelty where UPA II is concerned. Check it out for yourself - the PM was making phoren jaunts each and every single time since swearing in when parliament met starting May 2009.

The opposition is toothless and everybody but everybody sees this plainly.

And so on and on. I see no reason for the sarkar to feel anxious, much less answerable to anybody in parliament anymore.

Oh, JMTs and other std disclaimers hold.

indeed -this is the most secure sarkaar in quite a while. LF has been rendered toothless and its a** is on fire in WB.
BJP is rudderless and wasting away.

anything not bolted down can and will be sold to highest bidder.

H1B issue: India may drag US to WTO
H1B issue: India may drag US to WTO :cry:

PTI | New Delhi

India may drag US to the World Trade Organisation for its new "protectionist" move in hiking professional visa fees, a step that will make Indian IT companies less competitive in the American market.

The fee hike is expected to cost Indian companies, mainly IT outsourcing firms, about USD 200 million annually.

India "cannot keep quite" :cry: on an issue that hurts its commercial interests, Commerce Secretary Rahul Khullar said today, making it clear that moving the WTO on the matter is being considered seriously.

"Yes this (visa fee hike) is WTO incompatible... I will take up the matter under advisement," Khullar told reporters when asked if India was considering to drag the US to WTO on the issue. :cry:

Protesting the American move, Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma wrote to the US Trade Representative Ron Kirk last week saying that the visa fee hike would cost Indian firms USD 200 million a year, making them less competitive.

Khullar said the hike in H-1B and L-1 visa fees is a protectionist move that would also hurt the US interest.

"If the US wishes to put up its protectionist barriers to hurt itself let them do it. But where a measure is specifically targetting my commercial interest I cannot keep quiet," the Secretary said.

Under the Emergency Border Security Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2010 -- popularly called the Border Security Bill -- the US has hiked fee for certain categories of H-1B and L1 visas by at least USD 2,000 for the next five years.

US says the hike will help it foot nearly USD 550 million, out of the proposed expenditure of USD 650 million, on increasing security along the US-Mexico border.

Like India, American Inc has flayed the US government's move, which will hurt Indian IT companies the most, saying that the law would undermine investment relations with India.

Corporate America has come down heavily on all those in the US who, of late, have been alleging that Indian companies grab most of the H-1B work visas and take away American jobs.

In the latest report on immigration, US Chamber of Commerce, which is world's largest chamber with more than three million members, asserted that such allegations against Indian companies is "hyperbole".

However, the US Administration said the measure, "makes sense" and would in no way undermine "robust and vital" ties with India.
My :cry: is because the PTI headline will be used in every news paper in India. It is a legitimate right for India to go to WTO to seek protection from non-tariff barriers. Its not a matter of dragging.

PTI should be more responsible in its choice of headlines. And also in language for "quite" is not equal to "quiet"!

Does PTI have a feedback page?

I don't see anything wrong with the title. In the western press you frequently see statements regarding developing nations using less than respectable language. Why is deference expected only of us ? Reuters, AP etc have printed far less charitable statements with respect to India and not gotten a peep in response from Indians.

While Reuters etc are not India based PTI means Press Trust of India. I see there is a 'mental defict' in reporting the news of a legitimate right being contorted to theaterics.

Sometimes calibrated theatrics are required.

I found their feedback link and sent them my input. Lets see what they have to say.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Good point. The language is weak and casual and completely inverts the aggressor-victim equation.

Similar usage by Indian diplomats, E.g., "Sharing our concern about terrorism" leaves the other party guessing so what action is required from me?

IT is time India minds not only her language but her diction (semantics) too.
ramana wrote:H1B issue: India may drag US to WTO

My :cry: is because the PTI headline will be used in every news paper in India. It is a legitimate right for India to go to WTO to seek protection from non-tariff barriers. Its not a matter of dragging.

PTI should be more responsible in its choice of headlines. And also in language for "quite" is not equal to "quiet"!

Does PTI have a feedback page?
anjan

Post by anjan »

krithivas wrote:Good point. The language is weak and casual and completely inverts the aggressor-victim equation.

Similar usage by Indian diplomats, E.g., "Sharing our concern about terrorism" leaves the other party guessing so what action is required from me?

IT is time India minds not only her language but her diction (semantics) too.
Why the angst? What would you like it to say? "India ask, nay begs, that the WTO please look into this aggression by the US while we shiver in our dhotis in that corner over there". We're asserting that our free trading rights are being throttled by the US. Dragging them to "court" is no mean nor casual language. It implies a level of aggression and willingness to stand up for ourselves(and our interests) and that is good.

anjan wrote:It implies a level of aggression and willingness to stand up for ourselves(and our interests) and that is good.
I agree, we are asserting our rights and signalling that we cannot and will not be taken for granted. A refreshing break from "Log Kya Kahenge".

ManuT

Post by ManuT »

Singha wrote:moles in our govt are on verge of pushing through a nuclear liability bill that caps max damages at 1500cr paltry sum.
See is are my 2 cents on the NLB.

Is the limit any similar to US Federal limits on damages from the oil spills like one for BP.
From what I understand, federal limits apply in case of Accidents but do not apply if it were a case of Negligence.
If there is prima facie evidence that the accident is a result of ignoring of warnings, violation of regulations, or evidence of cover up - then the damage limits do not apply.

As Bhopal Gas Tragedy has shown - the 'lucky' ones are dead, the greedy ones got their money and the surviving victims have managed so far inspite of GOIs ‘help’. How do you compensate someone after 25 years? So the focus should now be, how should India approach this problem the second time around, in case it happens.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

We're in this together
http://www.hindustantimes.com/We-re-in- ... 88203.aspx

I hope and wish the visit of Obama will make India United States Relationship very solid one in all aspects.

I also hope India will bargain for manythings particularly for mutual business and military relationship between two countries.

Obama and Indian industry: navigating tough waters

http://www.hindu.com/2010/08/18/stories ... 541300.htm
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

NJ school district approves school holidays for Diwali and Eid

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504744_162- ... 91703.html

School board president Matthew Speesler says it was time. But Speesler says some parents were upset, feeling there were too many holidays already on the school calendar.

US nudges India to go easy on Dow Chemicals

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 331976.cms
Ahead of the November visit of President Barack Obama, US has stepped up efforts to push India to drop its demand on Dow Chemicals for Rs 1,500 crore compensation for victims of the 1984 Bhopal gas tragedy.

Senior government sources said that almost at every level, US officials were telling the Indian government to "resolve it and move ahead".
Froman's email came as a response to a request by Ahluwalia for US help in getting India access to more World Bank loans for development. India is the world's biggest recipient of World Bank loans and would be reaching the single borrower limit beyond which it is difficult to access more funds.

In response to this request, Froman said in an email dated July 30, "We are aware of this issue and we will look into it. While I've got you, we are hearing a lot of noise about the Dow Chemicals issue. I trust that you are monitoring it carefully. I am not familiar with all the details, but I think we want to avoid developments which put a chilling effect on our investment relationship."

U.S. tries to armtwist India on Dow issue

http://www.hindu.com/2010/08/19/stories ... 611400.htm

Modi let off in return for BJP support on N-liability bill: Lalu

To me, it looks like INC has deliberately raked up the Sohrabuddin issue specifically to create a way to arm-twist BJP on the nuclear deal. That they would resort to coercive measures to achieve this seems to indicate an extraordinary sense of urgency on INC's part in getting the nuclear deal done.

I have warned before that INC may be striking grand bargains with the US as quid pro quo to keep itself in power as a One Party State. This latest Sohrabuddin stunt seems consistent with that idea.

I don't feel that stable or mutually advantageous Indo-US strategic relations can be based on foreign sponsorship of a King's Party to make sure that 1 billion+ people toe the line.

India wins $42 million tax case against NYC

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 334058.cms

The US's diktat to Montek is true to form.It is no secret that the White House always bats for America & Co. and uses its physical force to bully nations into doing what it wants.

However,for the better part of the post-Independence perios,India NEVER sucumbed to US pressure and in fact during Mrs.Gandhi's period as PM,she made the likes of Nixon and Kissinger squirm,sweat and swear at their inability to get the better of her.

How the times have changed.We have another Mrs.Gandhi as our de-facto PM,with a bunch of jellyfish occupying the ministerial chairs,including that of PM.Our PM and his Sancho Panza,Montek,are well known for their flexibile spines,especially when asked to bend before the will of the great US of A.Therefore Froman's insolent and knavish reply to Montek's polite request should come as no surprise.He knows his man Montek well,as a man wont to do his master's bidding,and his master,Manmohan,is also known to do his master's (and mistresses') bidding.As I've said before,becoming the White House "butler" appears to be his ultimate ambition!

Nevertheless,the brazen temerity of the reply,its unconcealed arrogance and contempt for India's Planning Commission chief,and the duplicitous attitude of the US administration-one standard for BP and another for Dow-Chem and Anderson , indicates to us how the US is exercising its muscle power upon this pliable current dispensation of Delhi.If this is the case with a bit of aid,imagine the manner in which India's strategic affairs are being tampered with,shaped and squeezed into the US's grand strategy for the globe! The numerous FMS deals for defence,by-passing the approved tender system, appear as if India's defence decision-making was made in Washington and not New Delhi,which is probably why the IAF deliberately leaked their preferences for the MMRCA in order to "shoot down" any attempt to dump onto India an aging aircraft.

The Nuclear Liabiloity Bill is coming up for debate and one sincerely hopes that the opposition shows greater spine and courage in resisting the duplicitous and atrocious demands of the US.Having murdreed thousands of Indians at Bhopal,and now defending the murderer and his company to the hilt,they now want to ensure that even if there is a Chernobyl in India due to their negligence in future,that they will get off scot free.Having just seen the back of another Indepenence Day,we must ask the question whether we fought for Independence for decades so vailantly only to now see a bunch of self-serving vermin prepared to sell out the country?
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

Bhopal case: US Deputy NSA warns of chill in investment
Mr Froman wrote this on July 30 in reply to an e-mail from Mr Ahluwalia seeking US support for borrowing from World Bank. “We are hearing a lot of noise about the Dow Chemicals issue. I trust that you are monitoring it carefully. I am not familiar with all the details. But I think we want to avoid developments which put a chilling effect on the investment relationship,” Mr Froman wrote in the e-mail to Mr Ahluwalia. In other words, New Delhi, which seeks US help, should be sensitive to its concerns.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 333951.cms

Damn,US at it again. Probably UK might have responded the same way after the BP spill.
And our pro US manmohan who dont at all care about the lives of the people at home will simply blink to the US concerns.
When the US own nuclear liability bill is in billions of dollar he got us settled to just some 1500 crores.Manmohan desperately helping US and its companies to make India a live testing laboratory.
The funny part is,US wants India to blink about the loss of 15000 Indians in Bhopal tragedy,who knows whats gonna happen with the reactors constructed by US companies?
India has to even blink on the new visa rules and fees,yet US wont even accommodate itself to consider India`s concerns.
Why the heck are we still naive into buying of billions of dollars of US weapons?
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Or it could simply be Laloo jee trying to garner minority votes in the upcoming Bihar elections. Trying to kill 2 birds (BJP-Nitish & INC) in one stone. Laloo jee also knows that if his party does not do well in Bihar assembly elections, he loses whatever little leverage he currently has and Congress will finish his party off in Bihar. So, I would not read too much into his statements.

BTW, Why does GOI need World Bank aid anymore? Why the begging bowl still?

ramana wrote:BTW, Why does GOI need World Bank aid anymore? Why the begging bowl still?
Cheap funds, the GOI is smart enough to realize that market funds may preserve H&D but Bank funds are good from the point of view of costs and the technical expertise furnished along with the funds :D .

Clarification: WB provides two types of funding IDA (largely aid and for very poor nations) and IBRD (loans with interest, delivered to middle income countries). India is slotted as a blend country whereby it gets some money of both kinds.

Well written, Philip. The US is more a plutocracy than a democracy, and its representatives are obsessed with promoting America, Inc. Its representatives abroad, including a recent consul-general/ambassador to India, start raving about limited access to American insurance companies!

Philip wrote: However,for the better part of the post-Independence perios,India NEVER sucumbed to US pressure and in fact during Mrs.Gandhi's period as PM,she made the likes of Nixon and Kissinger squirm,sweat and swear at their inability to get the better of her.
A very good post. Nehru, and India, did not think any one particular way - Capitalism or Communism, was clearly superior over the other. He steered the country between the two understanding the country's state and World affairs after WWII.
Karna_A

Post by Karna_A »

Jetliner grounded in San Francisco after threat
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100819/ap_ ... one_threat
Count till 10, and the name TSP crops up and see how TSP is using US Tax dollars for flood charity.

State Dept Press Conference

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/dpb/2010/08/146103.htm
QUESTION: Yesterday an Indian television station reported that Deputy National Security Advisor Froman had sent an e-mail to Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission, and he had said that we are hearing a lot of noise about the Dow chemicals and about the Bhopal gas tragedy and that India should cut down on that. Do you have any comments on that?

MR. CROWLEY: Well, I believe actually, we don’t normally comment about internal e-mails. However, I believe the Indian official involved in that e-mail exchange has, himself, indicated that the subject of the e-mail was an upcoming issue of importance to India and that there was no connection to any other issue. Obviously, we have interacted with the Indian Government on the Bhopal issue. We’ve – on an ongoing basis going back many years we’ve expressed our sympathy and concern about the impact that this had on the people of India. But this exchange, the link that was suggested is not there.

QUESTION: So do you consider the Bhopal issue a closed issue today?

MR. CROWLEY: Yes.

From US Embassy In New Delhi

http://newdelhi.usembassy.gov/pr081910-2.html
PRESS RELEASES 2010

Statement by Mike Froman, Deputy National Security Advisor

August 19, 2010

With regard to recent reports about my private correspondence with Mr. Ahluwalia, I want to make clear that I was not making any link between what are two separate and distinct issues nor issuing a ‘threat’ of any sort – any assertion to the contrary is absolutely wrong, both in intent and in fact.

I am dismayed to think that anything I wrote could be interpreted as minimizing the toll of the Bhopal disaster. The human suffering as a result of Bhopal is a terrible tragedy. Resolving the Bhopal issue is for the Indian people to decide. The U.S. does not seek to interfere in this process.

I value the opportunity I have to work with Mr. Ahluwalia and others in India to strengthen and deepen the ties between our two countries, both bilaterally and through the G20. Such efforts are key to building our strategic partnership and facing our common challenges together for the benefit of both our peoples.

abhishek_sharma wrote:From US Embassy In New Delhi

http://newdelhi.usembassy.gov/pr081910-2.html
Yap yap blah blah. Meaningless drivel putout for public consumption. Fortunately, the marginal return on this kinda spin is coming down. Finds fewer and fewer buyers each time its tried. Not that it matters, either way.