They will have a betting scandle in that form of cricket as well.

World cricket must not turn its back on Pakistan, who surely deserve one more chance. Many will not want to give them another for they have had plenty in the past, being behind most of the game's leading controversies of the past 30 years.In Urdu, Pakistan means "land of the pure" – the last bit of which their cricket team need to start living up to if they are not to end up as the basket case that nobody wants to know.
With Zardari at the top, it won't be a surprise if it goes all the way up to him.Neela wrote:My suspicion is that several key members of the TSP team are involved and every one in the hierarcgy takes a cut.
From 2005:However, non-payment of bets or sauda fok, as punters call it, may not be possible. With Rs 1,500 crore riding on the fourth and final match of the Test series between England and Pakistan, bookies fear interference by members of the Dawood Ibrahim gang.
"The D-Company may force us to honour payments, as most of the bets have been won by those bookmakers, who have nexus with their Pakistani counterparts. It now appears that they were clued in about the match fixing," said a punter, requesting anonymity.
Dawood's men have pressured Indian bookies to honour payments in the past, despite them agreeing on a sauda fok. Most of these matches involved the Pakistani cricket team, say insiders.
Cheated
In fact, the scandal, which has rocked Pakistani cricket, may also strain relations between desi bookmakers and those across the border and in Dubai.
"We will take a final call on this later, but we now feel cheated," remarked a top bookie from Ghatkopar.
Another bookie, who did not wish to be named, said that he and his colleagues were suspecting that they were being defrauded by bookies overseas when England went on to win the match after being 102/7 on the second day of the Test match, which started on Thursday (Aug 26).
"Our fear was confirmed when Scotland Yard detectives arrested Mazhar Majeed, an alleged middleman who paid bribes to the Pakistani players to bowl no-balls in the Lord's Test," he said.
Ibrahim lives like a king. Home is a palatial house spread over 6,000 square yds, boasting a pool, tennis courts, snooker room and a private, hi-tech gym. He wears designer clothes, drives top of the line Mercedes’ and luxurious four-wheel drives, sports a half-a-million rupee Patek Phillipe wristwatch, and showers money on starlets and prostitutes. He bought Lahore model, Saba, with whom he reportedly had a passionate involvement, a house and a car. Nor does he shirk his obligations: Mandakini, of Ram Teri Ganga Maili fame, former Bollywood actress with whom he had a child is reportedly still being supported by him.
His daily regimen is also rather kingly. He wakes in the afternoon. After a swim and shower, he has breakfast. In the late afternoon, he gives his employees an audience where he briefs them on their assignments and they give him daily reports of his myriad businesses.
If in the mood, he engages in a game of cricket or snooker with friends. And as the sun sets, Dawood and his party set off for any one of his ’safe houses’ in Karachi for an evening of revelry - usually comprising drinks (Black Label is his preference), mujras and gambling. The long-married Dawood’s passion for women has made him a favoured client for local pimps. His current liaison notwithstanding, he whets his allegedly large sexual appetite with a variety of women.
"He prefers virgins, preferably young girls. And he is a good paymaster. If the market rate for a woman is 10,000 rupees, Dawood pays 100,000 rupees. He is thus always surrounded by Pakistan’s top call girls," discloses one of his family friends.
Carousing through the night, Dawood and his companions quit only at dawn and collectively offer fajr prayers. This has been Dawood Ibrahim’s routine for several years.
Dawood’s business activities are not confined to the subcontinent. His network extends to several countries of the African continent, and to Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Dubai, Germany, France and UK. His net worth has been estimated at close to 30 billion rupees.
Meanwhile, not only have the Pakistani authorities turned a blind eye to the gang’s activities within Pakistan, but many in the corridors of power have partaken of Dawood’s hospitality. Dawood often throws lavish mujras for Pakistani politicians and bureaucrats. A recent guest was a former caretaker Prime Minister.
These are not the only members of the establishment who have close ties with Dawood. He is said to have the protection of assorted intelligence agencies. In fact, Dawood and his men move around the city guarded by heavy escorts of armed men in civvies believed to be personnel of a top Pakistani security agency.
A number of government undercover agents, who came into contact with Dawood because of their official duties, are now, in fact, working for him. "A major serves him a glass of water. Nearly all the men who surround him for security reasons are either retired or serving officers,"claims an MQM activist. "And he keeps them happy - buying them expensive apartments and showering them with favours. So they are more loyal to Dawood than the government of Pakistan."
Why is he allowed to operate with such impunity?
According to informed sources, Dawood is Pakistan’s number one espionage operative. His men in Mumbai help him get whatever information he needs for Pakistan. Rumour has it that sometimes his men in Karachi accompany Pakistani intelligence agents to the airports to scan arriving passengers and identify RAW agents. Both Dawood and his lieutenant Chota Shakeel, who have international satellite telephones and mobile roaming facilities, are in constant touch with their people in India and are allegedly able to garner valuable information for local agencies.
Ah - just saw it - a very interesting anecdote. It's amazing how his name has stayed under the radar when he is clearly king of extortion, betting and gambling.Philip wrote:Shiv,exactly what I've said at length,with a first-person example in the "general thread".
In fact in both cases those Indians, like firangis are trusted to do the right things and not be parochial. Pakis of course will do their utmost to claim that they are biased Indian agents. The happiest thing is to see Paquis changing from screw India to screw the world. True purity calls for that onleee no?NikhilB wrote:Isn't it strange that the destiny of Pakis' two of the biggest problems is at hands of Indian people or people of Indian origin. Flood Aid depends on Rajiv Shah, US AID chief; and their cricket ban depends on Shard Pawar, ICC chief (however corrupt he himself may be for India !).
Well there are two ways of looking at this. If you think Pakistan is weak - then what you say is right. Pakistan is not that weak in reality and protects Dawood. I think many of us take a sort of roundabout view here.ShivaS wrote:Is it not shame that Indian agencies cant put a finger on Dawood Bahi?
Thats why I often look forward to the day he will Indian PM. After all he is Indian gone on mission to Pakistan.
RAW seems to be childs play for him from the above snippets.
Proves the point most of our problems are home grown indeed.
Jo Lawhore main gand*, woh ICC aur IPL main bhi gand*World cricket must not turn its back on Pakistan, who surely deserve one more chance. Many will not want to give them another for they have had plenty in the past, being behind most of the game's leading controversies of the past 30 years.
From "Managing PAkistan's failure" thread:shiv wrote: In fact in both cases those Indians, like firangis are trusted to do the right things and not be parochial. Pakis of course will do their utmost to claim that they are biased Indian agents. The happiest thing is to see Paquis changing from screw India to screw the world. True purity calls for that onleee no?
Johann wrote:ABCC,
Take a look at the the talk I posted in the Af-Pak watch thread, but I'll try to summarise a few important points.
- The Islamists of the PA are largely of the Islamic Nationalist variety, while the TTP is of the Pan-Islamic Global Jihad; the former believes in Pakistan, the latter has no loyalty to the idea. PA field grade and junior officers will not join any movement unless its one that proclaims its desire to save Pakistan.
SP??....Heard this from a lot of politicians in the 1990s about Dawood Ibrahim and SP being business partners....
Samajwadi Party I guess. The Abu Azmi types are well known terrorist sympathisers.Pratyush wrote:SP??....Heard this from a lot of politicians in the 1990s about Dawood Ibrahim and SP being business partners....
1) Extortion and Corruption Along the U.S. Supply Chain in Afghanistan also posted excerpts here last posting on this page 69. The PDF is protection payments for safe passage are a a significant potential source of funding for the taliban.CalvinH wrote:
here is one picture where people are collecting logs flowing downstream with the flood water somewhere in KP
2) Pakistan: A Land Left to Drown by the ‘Timber Mafia’While certainly the most lucrative, opium is not the only illicit business in Afghanistan and
Pakistan from which the Taliban extorts payments to fund their operations. Throughout the
Northwest Frontier Province (NWFP) and Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) along
Pakistan’s border with Afghanistan, the Taliban have reportedly established a “symbiotic tie” with
groups like the “timber mafia,” for whom they serve as the “cavalry.”
If Pakistan's authorities continued to allow the country's timber mafia and a benighted and oppressed peasantry to strip the country's forests at a faster rate than anywhere else in Asia, as is happening, floods of Biblical proportions would be inevitable. They would not be acts of God.Who fell the trees and profit from themThey would be man-made catastrophes.How were the bridges and houses destroyedTrees felled by so-called illegal loggers - an infamous "timber mafia" that has representatives in the Pakistan Parliament in Islamabad and connections right to the top of government and the military - are stacked in the innumerable nullahs [steep narrow valleys], gorges and ravines leading into the main rivers. From there they are fed into the legal trade, earning the mafia billions of dollars yearly. "Who protects Indus river systemBut, propelled by the force of the run-off, the logs turned into instruments of destruction, smashing all in their wake. Rivers and dams turned black with timber. Relief workers said bridges, homes and people were destroyed and swept away by the hurtling and swirling logs before the waters spread on to the plains below, engulfing an area of more than 60,000 square miles, more than twice the land area of Scotland.great comment at the Ending"The riverine forests were the first line of defence against the raging floods [which have inundated the plains annually for thousands of years]. They have been cut everywhere from Murree [a hill station on the Jhelum River before it fans out onto the plains] to lower Punjab [in the heart of the plains] to upper Sindh [the province where the Indus flows into the Arabian Sea via a massive delta]."kamments section- likely a pawki venting his frustration-long kamment, took only the pawki section.As John Muir, the great Scottish naturalist, once said: "God has cared for these trees, saved them from drought, disease, avalanches, and a thousand tempests and floods. But he cannot save them from fools."In Pakistan's case, as I have pointed out elsewhere, and every truthful and knowledgeable Pakistani intellectual knows, the deadly combination of fundamentalist, non-scientific Islamism(fundoos) and a moneyed elite(RAPEs) completely devoid of any sense of humanity, let alone Islam of any kind, and a corrupt, brute-force military,(TSPA) will wreck that place. They will put, within a few years at most, the whole world in danger if their nuclear weapons-on-missiles fall into the hands of some crazy Islamist. It is shameful to me that I was born a Muslim but that Islam, as practiced around the world, especially in Pakistan, the Arab Middle East and Africa, Afghanistan and other such benighted "Islamic" countries is so many centuries backward in the sciences. They are more concerned with a mosque in NY than the tens of thousands of little children who will die of cholera in Pakistan very soon without medical aid. The 180 million dirt poor Pakistani people, of whom 20 million are now under water and dying like flies, are so much in thrall of Islamist anti-science misogynist ideology, that they cannot get rid of the 100,000 or so stinking rich, inhuman moneyed elites, who are like leeches on them, in a French type revolution. These Pakistani landlords ("zamindars' in local parlance), of which "President" Zardari is Capo di Capi, Donfor the last 30 years with nearly $10 billion held in Swiss banks, cannot even raise a measly $100 million for the worst natural disaster in Pakistan's history, largely of their own making by clear cutting and no reforestation, to alleviate human suffering. If the rich Pakis have no humanism for their fellow humans, then why should the rest of the world?
To conclude, I agree with you the math facts of the article are pitifully misreported. The writer’s assessment that God cannot save Pakistan's forests and hence people, since it is governed by a clique of Islamist non-scientific, inhumane moneyed elite and military muscle-bound fools. The sooner Pakistan sinks into a failed state on the scale of Somalia, the sooner its population will string up these fools from the trees of the remaining forests and invite their sycophants to watch. Then they should plant thousands of trees on their remains.
Amar?Ajatshatru wrote:Hint: A politician whose name has already found mention earlier on this page of "TSP" thread.SP??
MULTAN: Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi said on Saturday India made efforts to isolate Pakistan in the international community but could not succeed in its designs owing to our successful foreign policy.
Mohammad Asif's ex-girl friend has launched a scathing attack at the bowler and accused him of being directly involved in match-fixing.
As a panelist on a news channel, Asif's former girl friend Veena Malik accused the fast bowler of being 'criminal minded' and a 'serial match-fixer.'
Not talking about you. By all means "coronate" Dawood. It is your right to admire anyone you choose. But your views fit in very well with the views that I have described.. We have a fetish about blaming India and Indians first - which you seem to have missed in your anxiety to point out the "blame America" fetish.ShivaS wrote:There is no USA in my post. All I am saying is not kill Dawood bahi but coronate him so that he does a better job than most of our Netas. Anway our babus are aligned with him other wise chota shakeel can not pick out raws from the passengers stepping down from the aircraft.
More than Pakis we have a fetish about America blaming no?
Arent atleast 13 of the 15 players in Poak squad Pakjabis?Akshut wrote:One thing to note in this match fixing saga is that all the 7 players are Pakjabis.
That should be 8 more widows...makes it easier for those left alive.shravan wrote:8 die as bullets settle militants' argument over widow
With all due respect shiv. , can you please explain the use of the bhai in refrence to an abscoding terrorist.ShivaS wrote:Also looks like Dawood bhai must be buying bag loads of Niagra for his consumate tastes and talents.
Looks like SAMs club member.
Come on guys! No need to fight! There are plenty o' wimmen one would find in Rawalpindi, Lahore, etc.shravan wrote:8 die as bullets settle militants' argument over widow
'We have killed the spy', Mehsud's members cried after killing Usman Punjabi.
Firstly I do not think that the team can do this.
Secondly no one in the world was happy that a 17 years old bowler can becomes that popular. This might be a trap as World Cup is approching and Pakistani team now a dangerous team and a call of death for the opening pair of all the teams around this world.
Let’s see and get the clear picture as i beleive that someone not happy to see Pakistan team growing.
believe this is all scam and west has already sense the devastation that Amir, Asif and Gul can bring in the future if our batsman at all supports them. We must back our players, after so many years we have seen our team winning and that west cannot see this.
The biggest disappointment is our local media which is propagating against our players the most, what good this media is bringing to our country?. Our players are inocent till they are proven guilty and we should support them
ahhh its nothing but just fake propoganda. like in the late 80′s early 90′s when wasim n waqar were at the peak of their careers it were the brits who accused them of ball tampering as they couldnt handle the reverse swing. then in Inzi’s captaincy we had some issue in england in a test when inzi baked out they again accused the Greens. so nothing gonna happen this time as well its just mind games to stress out your bowlers which are performing extreamly good and put a black spot over them thats all
Guys,
Please believe me this is some sort of conspiracy against Pakistani cricket team. British team were very scared of Pakistani bowling attack and there is noway any of our team member are involved on this scam. If you are bookie you better know this not the way you take and accept the bets. We need to support our team and country in this hard time because I don’t believe a word from the British media and truth will come out soon than later.
Its clearly proven even in past that many Pakistani players are been targetted & politisized very cleverly to lead this nation’s talent, morale & spirits down, dont worry brothers we’ll shine & we will keep shinning dont pay much consideration over this media hype of sick minded mafia which is acting against Pakistani team.
None allegation will be proven on our players and we’lll rock again, its just a regime to spoil Pakistani talent like Aamir we have infinte guys who are equally competent & potentially blessed. So put ur fingers crossed, nothing will happen InshaAllah.
shravan wrote:8 die as bullets settle militants' argument over widow
Wasnt this guy Asad captured with Col Imam and the other Khwaja. Now we know Khwaja has been dispatched to meet his 72. What about Imam is he enjoying his raisins and biryani or is still fasting in some celler? Any news I might have missed.The dead include Usman Punjabi, the abductor of British journalist Asad Qureshi.
Will all due respect Nihat, could you please check exactly who used the "bhai" and ask that person. TIA. Perhaps the "enlarge font" feature might help?Nihat wrote:With all due respect shiv. , can you please explain the use of the bhai in refrence to an abscoding terrorist.ShivaS wrote:Also looks like Dawood bhai must be buying bag loads of Niagra for his consumate tastes and talents.
Looks like SAMs club member.
Well articulated, but does not go deep enough. Does threat to India's peace and stability constitute as massive threat to global peace and stability? Because, most of the powers that nurture a nation that is based on Islamist fundamentalism does not seem to think so. Now, as a reciprocal arrangement, why should poor SDREs be all of sudden become worried about global peace and stability?Philip wrote:It appears that a major part of the populace CANNOT see Pakistan in any other light but as "top dog" from sport to military prowess,"djinn power",you name it and that India,the West,Israel and their pals-the infidels,Yindoos,Christians and Jews are all conspiring to bring down this "great Muslim state".Paki paranoia and delusions which manifest themselves at the very highest levels of the state and military are thus a massive threat to global peace and stability,through such imbecility and Islamist fundamentalism which seems to be the foundation of the nation.
,you name it and thatIndia,the West,Israel, India (ideally not in the list) and their pals-the infidels,Yindoos,Christians and Jews, Yindoos (ideally not in the list) are all conspiring to bring down this "great Muslim state".Paki paranoia and delusions
“I deal with an Indian party. They pay me for information,” the newspaper quoted Mr. Majeed as saying.
The exact details of the “Indian party” are unclear but may come to light in coming days. Scotland Yard on Sunday arrested “a 35-year-old man” on suspicion of fraud.
Both Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin and South African captain Hansie Cronje were later forced to resign for their roles in taking money from betting syndicates in India to fix parts of play.
The report found that illegal betting on cricket, organized by syndicates, had boomed after India won the cricket World Cup in 1983. In Pakistan illegal betting also thrives. Critics of the ban in both countries say legalization would help to stop match fixing.