Member created artwork-Geo-Political Cartoons etc..

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Member created artwork-Geo-Political Cartoons etc..

Please post your artwork in this thread as a repository. Please limit it to geo-political commentary eg. TSP, US, PRC etc.
Do not post political cartoons on India.

Thanks for your efforts.

Re: Member created artwork-Geo-Political Cartoons etc..

By KrishG
KrishG wrote: I don't have a scanner so I uploaded a photo of my drawing.......

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Last edited by hnair on 27 Aug 2010 08:14, edited 2 times in total.

Anujan wrote:Well, I cant draw as well as you guys. Nevertheless, here is my attempt:

Gagan wrote:X bosted:

A wonderful idea for a thread. Amazing we haven't done it before. I have always had ideas for political cartoons in mind, but never had the talent to draw a stick, let alone something more elaborate. Are the artists open to creative collaboration, I mean if an idea is described precisely, to render it into a cartoon medium? No credit for the idea supplier required.

Thanks JEM-saar, if you have an idea (however half-formed), just throw it into this thread (or sent a mail to my BENIS id).....
Suppiah

Post by Suppiah »

I have an idea...shall try and make them into cartoons - but other willing mujahids can copy them freely if desired...

1. Death to America sign held by Pakbarian-animal-in-rage replaced with BEG to America sign
2. Pakbarian jehadi holding 'India is stealing our water' swept away by flood, half drowning.

OK, here's one:

An army officer holding gun to his own head tells Uncle Sam "help me or else" ...
An Talib holding a gun to Uncle Sam's head saying "help him or else"
With his free hand, the army officer is passing on a wad of notes to the Talib.
Talib has a suitably crazy bug-eyed look, while Army officer has a "hamid gul" look with Kayani's racoon eyes.
In the corner a loinclothed bearded mango abdul on his hands and knees holds a begging bowl plaintively

Menon sir!!

All you need is some training in art work and you will become an excellent cartoonist for geo political issues. Can we please add a Copyright to these cartoons? (BR or artist name or something?)

Sandeep

Allright, JEM-saar, I got a bit deviated, but I hope I caught the gist?

Suppiah-saar, go for it!! :D

nairgolis, a very nice one in its own right... though not quite what I had in mind. I know. Very difficult to describe, or to translate into drawing, something which someone who has no sketching skills dreams up.

Let me try to "draw" it :D and post it here, and somebody can see if it is worth prettifying.

Sandeep, dude, you have no idea how poor my drawing skills are!!! I fear I'm a lost cause in this. Funny thing is I have (or so I think) good cartoon ideas. But now you've germinated an idea that instead of describing it (poorly it seems), I should draw it however poorly I can and someone else can prettify :D

(Note: Guys no need for sir, garu, ji etc. for me. It is not that I mind specifically or am being pretentious or something, and I really appreciate all that it implies. It is just that I myself never remember to use these honorifics - and to be honest have some discomfort using them especially towards people who expect it - and I don't want to cause offense in any way by forgetting to return the favour).

Thanks to SanjayM for the link:

http://www.moviestorm.co.uk/

folks can use this tool to get to next step of political cartooning.

Rudradev, Can you consider updating photochor flash animation using this tool?

JEM, There are inexpensive books on learning to draw using pencil and paper. Next step is to take those instructions using a graphics program. Three to four weeks should do it.

Boss, I simply have no skill... to draw... I can do basic, having tried quite a bit... but it doesn't look anything worthwhile... need someone more skillful to polish it up ... Here is what I was trying to convey... It is about the 4th time I redrew so I could convey what i wanted to say to someone who can do it better without changing the essentials...

Clicky

SBajwa wrote:Menon sir!!

All you need is some training in art work and you will become an excellent cartoonist for geo political issues. Can we please add a Copyright to these cartoons? (BR or artist name or something?)

Sandeep

I guess that if the cartoonists want copyright - that must be added. But copyright is a hindrance to free spread of a message.

JEM-saar (honorific is purely tongue in cheek), hope I got some of what you wanted ?
Me being non-state, is highly unmanageable. So kindlee adjust onlee.... 8)

(btw, great drawing of yours', so I did not have to do much)

Couple of humble suggestions + points
1) the ones I draw are free to forward, use and print. That is the whole point: free dissemination of illustrations of pakistaniyat
2) I dont do Ad Hom...whatever, attacks, but here goes.... am sure he has his uses, but anyone who brings in Sanjay M into a thread are not being serious. So please do not attract him here or this will become a spam thread for irrelevant crap like that Indian Space thread. And if that happens, I am done.
3) One pencil, one eraser and a sharpie/pilot pen are all one needs.
Last edited by hnair on 31 Aug 2010 13:13, edited 1 time in total.

hnair,

Is it acceptable to you, if the sketches are sent ot indian news media. For wider publication. Not that they will publish it but just in case.

of course!!

Fab cartoons. Of course with Pakistan, real life pictures (as shown on BENIS) are always 10 steps ahead of what any cartoonist can dream.

Hnair Excellent work. You have great future in Cartoonist profession

Hnair, excellent stuff... this is what I had in mind ... I will post more ideas as they come to me.

OK. I remember my old request.
We have uncle sam character slapping a jihadi in TSPA uniform who in turn slaps a SDRE in dhoti and uncle sam holds him back with the other hand.

How about a Gubo Cartoon describing the current situation of naPakistan? Milking all type of disasters/terroristic acts/cricket matches/etc for money by Pakistani leaders (10% Zardari and Sharif Bandhus) which promptly gets diverted to palaces in France, Dubai, NY, London, etc? I don't know how to put this into pictures.

A Zardari/Sharif Devil Grim Reaper type character thinking of "money making oppurtunity" at every natural or man created disaster, with future disasters in front of him while the gone are under his sickle (behind him)?
jagga

Post by jagga »

Hnair, excellent Work.

Here is a site which allows you to directly make simple 3D movies online:

http://www.xtranormal.com/

For the purposes of this thread, the features should be quite adequate.

Geo-Political Poems are also Art, right?

Hnair, is it possible to have cartoon of Mahesh Bhatt talking to NPR after the 2006 Mumbai train blasts saying "we deserve it!" and his son Rahul cavorting with DCH and scouting targets for Mumbai 26/11/2008 terrorist attack?

I think this thread is for member created artwork. Please keep it free of all other things. The posts here should be of the type:

a) ideas given by members
b) artwork by the members
c) congratulatory posts if anyone likes the work, though they should be kept at a minimum. We all know and greatly appreciate the fabulous job.

other than this, if anyone wishes to help using links etc., they should have first hand experience using those external tools and show how they can be helpful to this thread's purpose.

Has anyone seen this :D - some of the words are not pronounced correctly, but still...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdk_JfRhTPM

A version with slightly improved pronounciation - if distributing, send this one to friends, families, pakisatans, etc...

No attribution needed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqxvUAC6qWM

JE Menon wrote:A version with slightly improved pronounciation - if distributing, send this one to friends, families, pakisatans, etc...

No attribution needed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqxvUAC6qWM
I just wonder if anyone on this forum might be able to tell me what software was used. I could use it too perhaps? :mrgreen:

shiv wrote: I just wonder if anyone on this forum might be able to tell me what software was used. I could use it too perhaps? :mrgreen:

http://www.xtranormal.com/

Nifty stuff, guys. I forgot to mention that because the text-to-speech translation is simple and english-based, you should try to spell things phonetically.

"Pakistan" --> "Pahkisstahn"
"Hindu" --> "Hindoo"
etc, etc

Feel free to use strategically placed additional punctuations, phonetic spelling, etc, to modulate the flow of the speech to your liking. Some experimentation may be required for best results.

My this week's quota ..............
Again, I don't have scanner so uploaded a photo of it. I will try to get it scanned later....

Should have added two additional comments--
Flying Angel : Meine kucchh Kiya-nahi
Mango Abdul : Jehaard on Kaffir Yindoos!

Haha, cool!

It would be nice if this thread could be converted into a poll thread, so that we could vote on the funniest entry!

For the great artists of BRF, another idea.

A scene:
On the one side (say the right side) we have an Indian politician with the Nehru Topi sitting and sewing some cloth on the sewing machine. Some high-nosed Britisher (British Raj style) is looking over his shoulder giving him some instructions.

In front of them we have three Indians on the floor, sitting, lying, squirming all looking in the other direction, with some pain in their faces as if when gets kicked. The Indians can be distinguished from each other perhaps by topis, mustaches, etc. They belong to IPS, Indian Armed Services, IAS/IFS etc. They are all wearing straitjackets.

One can see that the Indian politician is sewing straitjackets.

On the other side of the cartoon (say the left side) a TSPA General, a PLA General are kicking the 3 Indians on the floor, with a Talibanic dude placing a bomb under the face of the tied down IPS officer.

Just an idea!

X-post..
Lalmohan wrote:^^^ i get the feeling that the paquis have stepped back from "we must have kashmir" to "we'll be happy if kashmir is independent" in their gubo sessions with amirkhan. dragonbhai is smirking in the wings holding the vasel-ed-din jar

Can someone draw up a jihadi general, uncle sam and fu man chu type holding the jar?

The dilemma of Partition is that while India has used the chance to modernize and leap into the 21st Century, the TSP has reverted to a pre-modern no progress version of ideology and has become a shackle with a millstone on India's legs.

Can some one cartoon this?