India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

https://santitafarella.wordpress.com/20 ... andalized/
And who are the people being terrorized?:

The men praying here on a recent night included a cardiologist and a pediatrician from Pakistan; two grocers from Yemen; a part-time farmer from Morocco; the owner of a trucking company who was born a McAllister, a member of a black family that arrived in Madera during the Dust Bowl; and a 77-year-old retired mechanical engineer from Syria who takes a shortcut through the fence to get from his house to the mosque. Many mosque members have lived in the community 30 years or more. There are some 200 Muslims in Madera, and about 20 of them are doctors. They’ve slapped the bottoms of newborns who are now grown-up community members and adjusted people’s high blood pressure medicine. “We’re not travelers. We live here. We’re Americans. We’re Rotarians!” said Dr. Mohammad Ashraf, a cardiologist.

Anti-Muslim paranoia—treating Islam as a religion that is sui generis, and therefore incapable of integration into the broader community—is the new antisemitism, isn’t it?

Prem wrote:Obama to Take India to ‘Next Level’ :roll:
http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2010 ... ext-level/
To the 'Next Level' of More Talk and Less Substance! :roll:

Post by amdavadi »

^^^ LOL....Who the hell is "The One" we been looking for will take India to next level....It is nothing but hotair..

Post by amdavadi »

Well before O takes India to next level, India will teach O value of sanatan dharma & teaching of kautilya.

"Om baba" will take us to next level of preaching - we are ready :wink:
New clear deal bill must have knocked the bottom of their bottoms. :oops:
plenty on the plate ---still lot more to discuss like the MRCA, dragon, more weapons, outsourcing etc etc.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Muslim Persecution of Hindus In India -- The Story You Won't See In the Western Mainstream Media

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2010/09/ ... terrorism/

They are crossing the border illegally and violently displacing the indigenous population whose homes and possessions they either destroy or occupy. They are attacking the young, the elderly, and especially the girls and women, whom they kidnap, forcibly convert, or traffic into brothels. The locals are terrified of them. The police rarely come to their aid, nor do the politically correct media or government. Both are terrified by the criminals and terrorists who are riding these immigrant waves.

I am not talking about illegal immigrants to Europe or North America. I am describing Muslims who are penetrating India’s West Bengal region. These Bangladeshi immigrants are becoming conduits for criminal activities (arms, drugs, and sexual slavery) which also fund global jihad.

You won’t read about this in the Western mainstream media—or even in the Indian media, which has turned a blind eye to this ongoing tragedy because they are afraid to be labeled “politically incorrect” or “Islamophobic.” They are also afraid of reprisals. When Islamic zealots ransacked the office of the renowned newspaper, ‘The Statesman’ in Kolkata, in retaliation for a mere reproduction of an article condemning Islamic extremism, the Indian press remained silent. The editor and publisher of the newspaper were arrested for offending Muslim sentiments and no action was taken against the rioters.

Fortunately, there are a few very brave Hindus who are taking a stand against the Muslim terror campaign in India. One of them is Tapan Ghosh, whom I had the privilege of meeting recently when he came to New York City to talk about anti-Hindu persecution in his homeland. In 2008, Ghosh founded “Hindu Samhati” (Hindu Solidarity Movement), which serves persecuted Hindu communities in both West Bengal and Bangladesh.

shukla

Post by shukla »

krisna wrote:Indian filmmaker pleads guilty, subsisted on “bread and water”
Indian filmmaker Vijay Kumar, who was arrested at an airport in Houston for carrying brass knuckles, may be able to leave the United States within “five to seven days”, according to his lawyer. His lawyer also said that Mr. Kumar was forced to survive on bread and water for the last 20 days he spent in jail.
sad story.
Why the hell would he be carrying brass knuckles on a trip to US where he was about to deliver a lecture on harms of terrorism??.. beats me..

shukla wrote: Why the hell would he be carrying brass knuckles on a trip to US where he was about to deliver a lecture on harms of terrorism??.. beats me..
Read the article-
Brass knuckles are allowed in the luggage compartment according to federal rules. He did the same. But in Texas state you cannot carry brass knuckles. Hence he was caught on the wrong side of law.You can also check on their website.
While this was completely legal under federal law, federal law is not consistent with Texas law — which forbids carrying brass knuckles in any baggage or on one’s person — and thus Mr. Kumar had fallen afoul of the latter.
shukla

Post by shukla »

krisna wrote:
shukla wrote: Why the hell would he be carrying brass knuckles on a trip to US where he was about to deliver a lecture on harms of terrorism??.. beats me..
Read the article-
Brass knuckles are allowed in the luggage compartment according to federal rules. He did the same. But in Texas state you cannot carry brass knuckles. Hence he was caught on the wrong side of law.You can also check on their website.
I had read the article krisna, but was just kinda trying to put logic to his actions. Its a moot point I guess. Thanks for clarifying anyways.. From his point of view hes probably just thrilled to be heading back to India and not Guantánamo Bay :wink:

Interview with Vijay Kumar. He seems calm

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/video?id=7657098

India and indispensable partnering

An interesting writeup of in the HT. Some of the relevant excerpts below.

Washington was working to build a “global architecture that reflects and harnesses the realities of the 21st century.” Of these is the fact that the global architecture “is buckling under the weight of new threats.” One of these realities, and potentially a threat, is that “the major powers are at peace, but new actors, good and bad, are increasingly shaping international affairs.” In other words, US needs to persuade emerging economies to chip in and help with the running of the world. The US provides, free of charge, many international services like patrolling the world’s sea lanes, maintaining global navigational systems and, more controversially, restraining the nuclear ambitions of countries like Iran. Much of India’s shipping, for example, runs through a channel running through the Indian Ocean, from South Africa upward to East Africa and then over to the Arabian Sea. This is Somali pirate territory and it is largely secured by the US navy.

But many of the potential new partners are not particularly nice. China, the biggest emerging economy, plays a tough game of essentially asking for equal status as the US. About India, Clinton spoke of “a very large convergence of fundamental values and a broad range of both national and regional interests.” The US was “laying the foundation for an indispensable partnership.” In other words, the US sees in India an emerging power which shares a lot in terms of democracy, security concerns and the like. But India is still a project under construction when it comes to being a global player. Clinton spoke of the US seeking to develop the capacities of potential partners – and I have no doubt India was among the countries that this line was about.
India as a partner to the yanks, if done for Indian benefit is some thing that we should be open to.
Indian strategic thinking focuses a lot on capacity-building, and rightfully so. India still has plenty of work on that front. It doesn’t spend much time analyzing if the political system, especially as the era of Congress political domination has come to a close, can use that capacity. Or, for that matter, what circumstances lend themselves to praxis.

New Delhi is capable of doing things on the global level the less it is hamstrung by problems at home. Indian politicians are naturally cautious when they see the home front looking wobbly. For example, I would argue a key reason for the present United Progressive Alliance government’s lack of accomplishment is its growing concern at the inexorable rise of commodity prices, notably in food. This is sapping the political will to do anything remotely risky.
Covers the limitations and the thinking of the Indian power elites in a good way. Also, is realistic about the Indian limitations. Ultimately the Indian Battle is of Human Development Indiacators. As it should be. We are content to be on the defensive. Till such time we are more confident of our capabilities.
The US, and especially by most accounts Clinton herself, is trying to determine how to help India develop its capacities and see this spill over into the actual doing of things. Does the US expect India to mimic its policies? No more than it expects France or Israel to do so. But it believes even as India pursues its own national interests it will be more often on the same side as the US. “We must let India be India for the West to benefit,” a French strategic commentator once said.

But what is frustrating for people like Clinton is that India being India also means long bouts of navel-gazing and policy paralysis. So the US wonders how to make India more great powerish when the price of pulses is foremost on the minds of its establishment.
He is primarly looking at the problem form the US perspective. What india needs is stability arround its near abroad. If working with the US gets it for us then we should by all means work with the US. But the trouble is that the US is more interested in prolonging the life of Pakistan. The primary source of instability in the region.

So the reluctance of India to partner the US becomes understandable in that regard as well.
Christopher Sidor

Post by Christopher Sidor »

nice analysis

can't think where else to put this
"9-11, Ground Zero mosque, Babri & their symbolism"

BBC news says that there some negotiation going on to cancel the burning in return to cancel the G-zero mosque.

The burning is on hold as of now.

RamaY wrote:BBC news says that there some negotiation going on to cancel the burning in return to cancel the G-zero mosque.

wah-wah. Anyone think this hole drama ain;t scripted only? LOL

Creating and leveraging pressure points is an old art only. Cheenis and pakroaches are jhonny come late practitioners. Learn from the maestro's unkil yimself, I say. :lol:

I think the pastor fooled by taqqiya. The Florida Imam had no powers to make promises for the NY Imam who can refute them.

Lets see how it pans out.

ramana wrote:I think the pastor fooled by taqqiya. The Florida Imam had no powers to make promises for the NY Imam who can refute them.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/1 ... 11715.html

They are comparing KKK with this thing. Pat Robertson

Check this out - jesussavesatCitibank
Last edited by svinayak on 10 Sep 2010 20:42, edited 1 time in total.

ramana wrote:I think the pastor fooled by taqqiya. The Florida Imam had no powers to make promises for the NY Imam who can refute them.

Lets see how it pans out.
The NY Imam already said he didn't enter into any deal.

We don't know who is doing taqqiya and who is protecting their ech-en-dee :mrgreen:
rohiths

Post by rohiths »

CRamS wrote:
Philip wrote:
Pastor Terry Jones is sticking to his plan to send an incendiary anti-Islam message – unless God gives orders to the contrary
I don't think he will stick to his pledge. I am sure he has already gotten some phone calls from big wigs in DC. As the bolded part indicates, he is beginning to ski downhill :-).
As predicted earlier downhill skiing is complete. :rotfl:

Hari Seldon wrote:
RamaY wrote:BBC news says that there some negotiation going on to cancel the burning in return to cancel the G-zero mosque.

wah-wah. Anyone think this hole drama ain;t scripted only? LOL

Creating and leveraging pressure points is an old art only. Cheenis and pakroaches are jhonny come late practitioners. Learn from the maestro's unkil yimself, I say. :lol:
That was my thinking too. No doubt this is being scripted by the powers to be. Kind of like how they remote control TSP actions, and then when India cries, oh jee we wants noth sides to talk and if they need will mediate kind of crap. Anyone has an iota of a doubt that there are handlers in DC, well paid, well funded watching every move of the stone-pelting louts in Srinagar, and using their TSP assets to remote control the pressure on India as part of AfPak strategy?

Anyway, coming back to the entertainment, at an objective level, I would say it would be a colossal disgrace if Amercian Muslims agree to shift the mosque in exchange for the pastor goonda to hold back on his provocative thuggery. If Muslims were smart, they would show the middle finger to the goonda and his ef-bee-eye, see-i-yaa, and yestate-depo remote control handlers; tell him to go ahead with his goondagiri to the cheerleading from the Nazis on Fox news, ignore the dik-head and his followers, but insist that they will not budge from their constitutional right to buld the mosque. After all, as much as the Pastor's antics cause takleef to Muslims worlwide, an even more takleef and loss of H&D to the white Christians if the mosque were to go ahead. They have invested too much in opposing the mosque.

so... american taliban meets real taliban, everyone happy no?
Karna_A

Post by Karna_A »

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/plum-l ... p_for.html
I think I've been pretty clear on my position here, and that is, is that this country stands for the proposition that all men and women are created equal; that they have certain inalienable rights. One of those inalienable rights is to practice their religion freely. And what that means is that if you could build a church on a site, you could build a synagogue on a site, if you could build a Hindu temple on a site, then you should be able to build a mosque on the site.
The real issue here is "What is a religion?" If my religion tells me to carry a nook suitcase whereever I go, is it really a religion and should one be allowed to practice it freely?
The UN needs to change definition of religion. Basically religion is what you do in private and with other co-religionists. How you deal with other religions is based on "UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS " which is nothing but Dharma in Latin.
http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/index.shtml

Any religion that does not follow that should be branded as a political ideology. That should clear a lot of present confusion.
By some counts 10% of Muslims are hardcore fundamentalists. So with projected 5000 people coming to visit mosque daily, US is inviting 500 potential terrorists every day to Ground Zero.

The Indian Express Editorial

The BPO Test
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/The-BPO-test/680194
shukla

Post by shukla »

X-post..

India: U.S. Completes Global Military Structure
India was elevated to the status of an American strategic military ally, on the level of a NATO partner, on June 28, 2005 when U.S. Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld and Indian Defence Minister Pranab Mukherjee signed the New Framework for the U.S.-India Defense Relationship, in effect a ten-year defense pact.

India has become the convergence point for the U.S.-led NATO bloc moving from the west into Central and South Asia and the expansion of an Asia-Pacific NATO growing from its Japan-Australia-South Korea-Taiwan nucleus to absorb the ten members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN): Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Mongolia, New Zealand and the five former Soviet Central Asian republics - Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan - are to varying degrees being integrated into the structure as well.

India is also intended as a central locus for the U.S. global interceptor missile grid based on land and sea and in the air and space, linking deployments in Eastern Europe, the Eastern Mediterranean, the South Caucasus and the Middle East to those in Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Australia and Alaska, including the latter's Aleutian Islands. Moving the Asian nation into the Pentagon's column will not only affect the balance of forces in Asia but throughout the world.

Names: State’s Gandhi to Berman’s shop

http://thecable.foreignpolicy.com/posts ... man_s_shop

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/nabil-ech ... 12141.html

http://www.thedailyshow.com

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-a ... ee-no-evil
This is the Islamic center that was attacked by an arsonist on Saturday. Someone set fire to the construction equipment at the site of their new building. Camie Ayash (the spokesperson for the Islamic Center, featured in the video) has been speaking about the attack in the press. This is what happens when people spread hate and fear -- someone eventually decides to act out in a dangerous and illegal hate crime. The people protesting the mosque claim they have nothing to do with the arson attack, but they are responsible for trying to turn the community against their Muslim neighbors. I hope that the majority of Murfreesboro comes together to support the Islamic Center.
Funny sad scary funny stuff. I live in Murfreesboro, and I have mixed feelings about the notoriety my home town has gained. On the one hand, I am deeply ashamed that my city is full of such unabashed bigotry, ignorance, and fear. The Islamic Center of Murfreesboro lawfully purchased the land they intend to build on and complied with all the legal requirements, so how can we justify preventing them from building? On the other hand, I'm also a little giddy that John Stewart knows where I live! *OMG! He knows my name!* And that's the closest I'll ever get to being a 12yrold girl. However, the way the clip closes, with Aasif Mandvi ripping into the woman from the Center, was too harsh.
I know it's part of the joke, and she must have known that it was a joke before she agreed to sit down for the interview. But Aasif, you could have hit that punchline more effectively without the cruelty. I've met Cammie briefly but haven't had the chance to talk with her yet. Our church hosted a joint potluck with the ICM just before Ramadan (yes, that's right, Christians and Muslims being nice to each other in Tennessee on the eve of the Muslim holy month), but there were about 80 people there, so we didn't get chance to really talk. I hope our congregations will work together again soon and find a way to turn this situation into something positive for our community.
Last edited by svinayak on 11 Sep 2010 09:49, edited 1 time in total.
shukla

Post by shukla »

Indian IT protests US 'protectionism'..

[youtube]cFUPSDUOiQg&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]

shukla wrote:Indian IT protests US 'protectionism'..
Excellent defense of India. Superb.He didn't come across as begging, and he was realistic at the same time.
Last edited by SSridhar on 11 Sep 2010 16:19, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Do not repeat youtube references, pictures etc. when quoting

"Pastor" Jones,a latter day "Christian" soldier who believes in stoking fires of wrath rather than spreading the message of Christ, Love,has given his Muslim counterpart a deadline,"otherwise...."
Jones has gained a billion plus followers of his absurd antics,if it were not so serious would make him favourite comedian for the Oscars.It appears that he is just milkng the situ for as much as he can get,and come what may and no matter which bigwig speaks to him to desist,will
carry out his disgraceful and senseless act that will surely endanger the lves of non-Muslims ,especially Christians in the Muslim world,predominantly in the countries where conflict is on along with the presence of large numbers of US/Western troops.

It is shameful though that the US can swiftly arrest an innocent Indian on terror suspicion,arrest anyone whom they please and then send them on secret "rendition" flights worldwide to friendly countries to be incarcerated for years in 21st century's equivalent of Nazi concentration camps,but cannot arrest a man who is threatening to start another global inferno! I get the feeing that the words emanating from the White House and elsewhere form the US establishment protesting Jone's Koran burning,are in fact wanting that to happen,with reactions abroad to justify their continued "war on terror,which in fact has become rather unpopular in the US and in the west and plan for the next war against Iran.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... dline.html

Philip ji , Pastor Jones is protected by the First amendment of US constitution(which applies to US citizens only).So he cannot be stopped legally.He can burn any book for that matter,religious or non-religious.

But as of now he has suspended this event.Dunno till when

darshhan wrote:Philip ji , Pastor Jones is protected by the First amendment of US constitution(which applies to US citizens only).So he cannot be stopped legally.He can burn any book for that matter,religious or non-religious.

But as of now he has suspended this event.Dunno till when
True, but invoking national security measures, anything is possible. Just see the # of American Muslims they have hounded since 9/11 on flimsy grounds. Plus there are also restrictions on Muslim donations (don't know the exact details) for fear that they might end up in terrorist hands. Lets not hide behind this constitutional and legal predicaments, if they want to do it, they can. This pastor thug serves a purpose.

If one throws enough mud some will stick, especially if even the surface of a particular cult is so rough. The pastor has started throwing mud.

(BBC)The long legacy of 9/11

I'm not sure I agree with their conclusions. Putin's response to Chechen terrorist provocations has been very effective. The key is to take the situation beyond the threshold of where terrorists can survive - especially ideologically. If the terrorists can be ideologically defeated, then they automatically lose.

Meanwhile,

'26/11 part II may lead to full blown Indo-Pak war'

I seriously doubt the Kaangress would give enough of a damn to go to war with Pak over another terrorist massacre. They're more interested in protecting their party than in protecting the country or the public.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

AMERICAN HINDUS SAY NO TO THE MOSQUE AT GROUND ZERO IN NEW YORK

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZBHFp6C ... r_embedded#!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-11273678
Pastor Terry Jones: 'God is telling us to stop'
Hilarious. I suspect this Terry Jones guy might be thinking John Kerry is the God. Flip - flop for small decision to burn or not, by God, God must be John Kerry. Such indecisiveness on the part of God. :rotfl:
Hmm.., wheels within wheels, Taqiyya meets Perfidy. Results: TBD.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5m1oOFgM0M
Check out the TA Paul guy
The Quran burning controversy is bringing people of all religions together.

Also a lot of Indians have been hounded suspecting them to be Muslims. Even those born in US. Should see the xenophobia at first hand.
Karna_A

Post by Karna_A »

http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2010/ ... ak-war.htm
Such a war involves the possibility of a nuclear exchange and the certainty that Pakistan would move substantial resources to its eastern border and away from fighting the Taliban on its western border, so relieving pressure on all the militant groups based there, including the Al Qaeda," said the report.
The word fighting above actually means training and arming Talibans for fighting Americans. Now that should be good for Unkil.

I think there is need for another thread called 'The day after" to deal with how to manage Indian subcontinent after a nook exchange.