J & K news and discussion

Re: J & K news and discussion

BijuShet wrote: This party has governed India and thus adminstered control over J&K for more than 50 years out of the 63 years(including the last 6 years) of Independent Bharat. Yet in a thread about J&K (and I assume his post was about finding newer solutions to resolve the J&K issue), his first and last paragraphs are entirely dedicated to denigrating the BJP.
These supporters and the leadership of Cong(I) expects India and her citizens to expect better set ideas to come out of these tired delusional minds. B Raman (a retd top level Babu in GoI) writes about his intellectual and professional deficiencies in understanding the current situation and yet assumes he is correct in his assessment of the way forward.
To be honest anybody in this forum has to be nationalist first and party specific later. Most of the issues discussed are the national and international ones. So if somebody bring such false party diversion to deflect and ignoring the 60 years history then there is an agenda. They cannot be taken seriously in the discussion.

This "use" of BJP is a std tactic which is increasing for no apparent reason.
When somebody point out the cognative dissonance and no context then they just keep quite. This is very obvious.

This "use" of BJP is a std tactic which is increasing for no apparent reason.
When somebody point out the cognative dissonance and no context then they just keep quite. This is very obvious.

The use of "Yuvaraj" and "Italian" are in the same category.

India hits back at Pakistan for Kashmir comments

India [ Images ] on Friday hit back at Pakistan rejecting as "gratuitous" its statements on Jammu and Kashmir [ Images ], saying they amounted to interference in the internal affairs of the country.

It asked Islamabad [ Images ] to take effective action against infiltration from across the LoC and dismantle terror infrastructure there as it is the people of the state who suffer from the consequences of terrorism fomented from across the border.

Reacting sharply to Pakistan Foreign Minister S M Qureshi asking India to "exercise restraint" in the state, Ministry of External Affairs official spokesperson Vishnu [ Images ] Prakash said "India firmly rejects gratuitous statements issued by Pakistan on Jammu & Kashmir, which amount to interference in the internal affairs of India.

"Pakistan should take credible and effective action against infiltration from across the Line of Control [ Images ] and dismantle the terror infrastructure that exists in the territory under its control.

"This would be an important contribution towards safeguarding the welfare of the people of J&K, who suffer the consequences of terrorism fomented from across the Line of Control and the International Border."

He also said that as a vibrant democracy, India has sufficient mechanisms and constitutional safeguards to address issues raised by its citizens in any part of the country.
Thank god for small mercies that GoI verbally rebutted the Poaks instead of sending across another dossier to show their "extreme displeasure"

Guys stop shooting at each other. I bet SAAG is watching happily at the slug fest their article started here. It will only confirm their misperception.

chetak wrote:If the vina types ( and there are plenty in this country ) believe that it is the anger of the "youth", I would like to point out that the eiffel tower is still for sale.
Now. Now. that is not what I said and meant.
This is a preplanned strategy of a thinking and crafty enemy who has sworn to destroy us.
If you had read the post in which I replied to "Sum" , you will find I said exactly the same thing as you.

All I am saying is that they are playing a different game this time and while responding we should think with our heads first rather than with our balls and have a considered response rather than shoot off the mijjile oops gun by reflex. :mrgreen:

Acharya wrote:To be honest anybody in this forum has to be nationalist first and party specific later. Most of the issues discussed are the national and international ones. So if somebody bring such false party diversion to deflect and ignoring the 60 years history then there is an agenda. They cannot be taken seriously in the discussion.
Acharyaji I know about Vinaji's agenda. I wanted to highlight the same for other readers who may not know the history behind such posts. If Vinaji is a party man first and a nationalist later than I have no issue with it if he puts out this as a disclaimer in the post. But to mask ones party loyalty by throwing mud on its pricipal opposition and offering nonsensical solutions to a problem of the party's making in the first place needed a calling out.

Ps: Ramanaji I saw your note after I posted this. If need be feel free to delete this and my previous post in the larger interest of BRF.

Venkarl wrote:"Kapdaa upar kar" :rotfl: :rotfl:...the recording fella is after foreskin(s)....somebody is singing happily in the background....

Actually these videos will incite more violence...shouldn't have been leaked.
saar - they are not beating them. They are not even tied up They are merely restraining them so they cannot run away easily. The men are holding their clothes and walking naked. Today's temperature was 30 deg C (that is warm enough to take your clothes off and the policemen were made to suffer.

In India a lot of people go about naked and barefooted. What's the big deal? Is some religious code being broken by walking naked?
Shiv Garu....is your post addressed to me or Vina saab for his remarks about HR violations? because I agree with you beyond any doubt. Even if tying and beating them naked in winter will tame those J&K's young protesters...so be it...as long as situation doesn't goes out of control and is in the interest of national integrity...I am okay with it...my mere fear is that this video leakage may be used for vested interests as J&K youth don't think before they react..simply destroy anything that comes in their way....thats all.

Venkarl wrote: Shiv Garu....is your post addressed to me or
No No - it is simbly a post thrown in the air. I can see the ROTFL icon in your post.

BijuShet wrote:Small clarification to all folks who may desire to defend against this slander of BJP. Vinaji in his own words did a big lungi dance after the May 2009 election victory of UPA (Congress (I) & allies).
Yes I did. The reason for that I think BJP is divisive, revanchist over historical grievances and frankly did not look like a party with a temper to govern. The NDA under Vajpayee was far more balanced and sort of acceptable. But the team that ran the campaign for Advani was unacceptable . They started looking a lot like a budding "saffron taliban" (I know that will draw howls here, but anti valentine's day, women wearing jeans etc doesn't make me think much of them any other way) and I am grateful that the majority of Indians agreed with me and showed them the door.
It is an undeniable fact that his favorite party's policies and strategies have brought us to this crossroad. This party has governed India and thus adminstered control over J&K for more than 50 years out of the 63 years(including the last 6 years) of Independent Bharat.

A problem like Kashmir where (whether you accept it or not a significant section of the people there, maybe not a majority, but a significant section nonetheless ) there is popular support for separatism /alienation/whatever cannot be won by strong arming, not if you want anything other than the peace of the grave. At best strong arm will win only temporary peace (think Former Soviet Union, today's China), but will fester underground. The model of Americans wiping out the Red Indians or the Civil War of the US kind of stuff or Stalin's mass deportations and gulags is not available anymore or is palatable in this day and age.

India has dealt with long running insurgencies (Naga, Mizo etc) successfully without the "Soviet" kind of methods that a lot of people here seem to want and the Indian record with insurgencies has actually been pretty good. Kashmir insurrection too will be addressed, despite the Pakistani involvement and other things. You need, patience , firm resolve and realization that these are things that get resolved over generations and not a quick wham bam thank you maam kind of 'American' quick and short methods. It is a game of 5 day cricket and not baseball.

ramana wrote:Guys stop shooting at each other. I bet SAAG is watching happily at the slug fest their article started here. It will only confirm their misperception.
What is SAAG?

shiv wrote: The use of "Yuvaraj" and "Italian" are in the same category.
That is a fair point.

However we need to accept the fact that INC ruled this nation for most part and especially being in power for the past 6+ years must bear major responsibility. UPA had its way in every matter that is close to its interests even at times it is tangential to national interests.

We should be honest and brave enough to call spade a spade, be it UPA or NDA, when it comes to national interests.

In this specific situation BJP has very little role to play so the objections...

vina wrote: A problem like Kashmir where (whether you accept it or not a significant section of the people there, maybe not a majority, but a significant section nonetheless ) there is popular support for separatism /alienation/whatever cannot be won by strong arming, not if you want anything other than the peace of the grave. At best strong arm will win only temporary peace (think Former Soviet Union, today's China), but will fester underground. The model of Americans wiping out the Red Indians or the Civil War of the US kind of stuff or Stalin's mass deportations and gulags is not available anymore or is palatable in this day and age.
The congress has pandered to the sunni muslim element in the valley. The majority are happy getting doles from the sarkari mai baap.

This is seen as the only power center and wrongly in my opinion. Why else would any one even tolerate scum like mehbooba?? Aligned with BJP one day and congress the next. This smacks of someone practiced in the arts of the oldest profession. We actually made her slimy father the home minister of India. Did we lack other suitable candidates or was it advanced appeasement?

A dose of taxes and realistic transportation costs for essential supplies applied to the valley and surroundings should cure these rascals.

Why are we running scared of some wahabi sunnis?
This sort of violent reaction is not very visible in a majority of the areas. Your great party needs to explain this.

Your explanations are simplistic and self serving. The logic does not wash and in a very undie tv like fashion you drag in the BJP even where not warranted. Standard sussanah roy, nafisa ali, shabana, teesta tactic.

The DDM also does this. What next for you? the gujrat holocaust and genocide?? That should be right up your alley.

munna wrote:Hmm.. since the deal has been sabotaged and "back channel" or "azadi by pieces" strategy has received a big kick in the Musharraf so all start blaming the BJP. Nice pattern here, all the analysts who were at the throats of nation hollering "peace at all costs", "solution is a must" and "talks must go on" are looking like damp crows after a sudden downpour. Grant it folks the strategic policy of this regime has backfired and hence you have apologists coming out of the woodwork to tar BJP specifically.
I expect the BJP to be made an even bigger villain than currently for its yeoman's service to national cause. As far as coming to power is concerned, dekhi jayegi.
FYI they are ruling 10 Indian states out of which 5 are outright and 5 in alliance. Their voice COUNTS, any Dilli wala or Banglori non-national anthem singer will have to live and deal with them for their entire lives either in power or out of power. Deal with it and come to terms with reality!!! The nationalists will not go away irrespective of name calling and blatant persecution by a certain section since 2004. They are proud to bear the marks of their stint in this virtual Gulag.
Note - This may look OT but important in terms of any move that GOI want to do via legislation. Armed forces act or things like more autonomy etc.

First I am not going into slugfest but the it is important to note that there is no alternative to dealing with the opposition with all the patience that they can acquire. Otherwise no bill will pass parliament. Deliberate or ignorance - we don't know but INC did make a very serious electoral strategic blunder. They simply did not care about winning states and foccuessed heavily on the LS only mantra. What it ended up over a period of time is that they are woefully short in RS. Even as late as yesterday they lost another three assembly seats in KA and Guj. See if they get in to lower numbers when they go for elections in TN etc, they are going to get reduced to useless numbers in RS. They badly need to win a big state. Let us see if they can achieve the misson-impossible in Bihar and TN.

When INC was at a marginal level in RS they tried coercion and other usual INC-type tactics to get folks over to support a bill or two. The problem is CBI, coercion, money etc will only work to an extent and that time seems to be running out. The folks who has won 208 struggles and swetted out to even pass a simple bill like Finance bill.

The bigwigs who are sensible to this situation has seen that governance will be too difficult on a day to day level and started a dialog and consensus based approach. That is when Nuke liability bill, anti conversion bill (a dole/handle :) ) etc. started rolling out.

It is in this context, Armed Forces went for a kill with a hugely supporting Defense minister and vocally shouting waanara sena (BJP) to stop the Abdulla Jr. lemon-pull via WKKs.

Current setup of INC is the most interesting ever as compared to any other boring affairs. There will no change to JK situation except that we will hear more crap getting killed. Let'em die and help the forces. Jai jawan!!!

^^Thanks for understanding the import Mupallaji. Forumites please visualize the takleef of interested actors in this context.

Lets not ignore the fact that at core, Kashmiri Wahabi Jihadi problem is a religious one . It require a whole new paradigm in handling the issue and bury it for ever or pay the cost in demise of india as we know of. sine they claim not to be one of us , lets treat them accordingly as they live on our ancestral land and that too with loyalty to foreign elements. They must be shown the mirror.

ramana wrote:Guys stop shooting at each other. I bet SAAG is watching happily at the slug fest their article started here. It will only confirm their misperception.
What is SAAG?
OT :
South Asia Analysis Group a think tank that publishes a majority of B Raman's papers on geo-political / security issues.

Its very interesting that B Raman had to write one article and it set off a cat fight amidst our members.
No need for pisko posts. B Raman is doing that well already enough damage.

So instead of discussing the situation in J&K we 'strat: forum are discussing Indian political parties and who to blame.

The ones to blame are the TSP stone throwing backers, the KM wahabis, the US for supporting Hurrirats and PRC for moving into Gilgit.

Note who I did not mention.

The use of "Yuvaraj" and "Italian" are in the same category.

That is a fair point.

However we need to accept the fact that INC ruled this nation for most part and especially being in power for the past 6+ years must bear major responsibility. UPA had its way in every matter that is close to its interests even at times it is tangential to national interests.

We should be honest and brave enough to call spade a spade, be it UPA or NDA, when it comes to national interests.

In this specific situation BJP has very little role to play so the objections...
THis is correct. And dont be afraid to criticize even if you vote for INC. It is OK to criticize and it will not remove them from power. There should be no fear in discussing national interest since it is for the entire nation against external bad forces. Fear of seeing as a supporter of BJP also make many to criticize BJP and support INC. Especially people who have to make money and also business interest. But dont be afraid to take a stand for the national security and national interest. Be honest and brave.
It is OK to support BJP once is a while and do not put them is the category of Taliban. The Indian shia muslim party secretary may not like that label.

News reporters are calling Geelani's protest program strange as he calls for

"The Army was reacting to Geelani's strange 11-day protest calendar in which he called for strike during the day and permission to function "normally" during the night from Thursday."

its not strange. He is exhibiting classic Indian goonda behavior of declaring what time of the day it is. Perfect totalitarian exhibition of power.
"Nenu ratri ante Ratri!"

If I call it night it is Night!"

Prem wrote:sine they claim not to be one of us , lets treat them accordingly as they live on our ancestral land and that too with loyalty to foreign elements. They must be shown the mirror.
The boot may work better.

But soft leather boots so as not the hurt the sentiments of our own kandle kissers. :)

vina wrote: India has dealt with long running insurgencies (Naga, Mizo etc) successfully without the "Soviet" kind of methods that a lot of people here seem to want and the Indian record with insurgencies has actually been pretty good. Kashmir insurrection too will be addressed, despite the Pakistani involvement and other things.
I will not go into the rest of politics that you have brought up, but if the above is the standard of your successfully addressed insurgency, and you think the above cases in any event can be compared with Kashmir in the same breath -- I now see why India ends up being in such royal mess at fairly regular intervals.

That is the strategy that India adopted. Worn out via attrition and make some compromizes like Art370 in Naga (so that EJs can have a field day), statehood to Mizos who are not even a Taluk size in any Indian state. Life goes on. This is also the strategy of "Army is anyway Paid to Die" and so games of attrition is OK. Same game and strategy is being tired to be repeated in JK.

2010 is a landmark year for Indian sub-continent. Its the year India lost more of POK to PRC.

In 1963, Ayub Khan ceded POK areas to PRC by treaty.

In 2010, Zaradri & Kiyanai have ceded Gilgit-Baltistan to PRC without treaty.

IOW PRC has expanded the area under its control from Aksai Chin to G-B becasue it makes it that much more difficult for India to recover POK.

Or putting it differently UPA-2 had its 1962 all over again without a shot being fored and its Intel guys not havign clue except to dust out old reports of PRC presence.

I think B. Raman's article is first strike to blame someone else than the ruling party before people realise its 1962 allover again.

Now I understand why the faces of INC types in the all party meet were so grim and worried about the fallout. Most likely there will be statements about POK is internal to TSP etc.

More than that, the INC was thinking that sucking up to the US and UK will help with the Pakistan problem. Now there's a new player and a lot of investment went down the tubes...does Rahul Gandhi know Mandarin?

Muppalla wrote:^^^^

That is the strategy that India adopted. Worn out via attrition and make some compromizes like Art370 in Naga (so that EJs can have a field day), statehood to Mizos who are not even a Taluk size in any Indian state. Life goes on. This is also the strategy of "Army is anyway Paid to Die" and so games of attrition is OK. Same game and strategy is being tired to be repeated in JK.
This is practically what that dodgy bugger and commie D Raja practically said on TV when discussing the AFSPA. :evil:

vera_K, I am sorry you see it at so level. Its much bigger. India has been handed a stunning blow. It wasn't envisaged by even the most thoughtful mandarins in the US-PRC relationship expertise.
When India loses we all lose no matter who is in charge.

ramana wrote:2010 is a landmark year for Indian sub-continent. Its the year India lost more of POK to PRC.

In 1963, Ayub Khan ceded POK areas to PRC by treaty.

In 2010, Zaradri & Kiyanai have ceded Gilgit-Baltistan to PRC without treaty.

IOW PRC has expanded the area under its control from Aksai Chin to G-B becasue it makes it that much more difficult for India to recover POK.

Or putting it differently UPA-2 had its 1962 all over again without a shot being fored and its Intel guys not havign clue except to dust out old reports of PRC presence.

I think B. Raman's article is first strike to blame someone else than the ruling party before people realise its 1962 allover again.
Interesting deduction. This post is a keeper.

Chetak - that line was uttered on this very forum by a great and respected maharathi. That time I was a chinnan (kid in Malayalam :) )

vera_k wrote:More than that, the INC was thinking that sucking up to the US and UK will help with the Pakistan problem. Now there's a new player and a lot of investment went down the tubes...does Rahul Gandhi know Mandarin?
He has claimed in public recently, during his calcutta press conference that he has interacted with senior panda leaders.

May be he discussed schezwan noodles?

ramana wrote:G-B because it makes it that much more difficult for India to recover POK
Just nuke it!

Na rahega baans, na bajegi baansuri!

It might be difficult to recover COK today but this also provide excuse and oppertunity in the future. Aint India Danda gonna increase in size ? If Indian leadership has the brain, balls and guts , they will test if PRC willing to loose 100 years of progress in exchange for GB/NA... in future not now. Once the bluff is called , the onus to save face will fall on PRC. 62 brought us to 71 and 2010 might do same as India has no choice but to erase Durnad line .

Prem wrote:It might be difficult to recover COK today but this also provide excuse and oppertunity in the future. Aint India Danda gonna increase in size ? If Indian leadership has the brain, balls and guts , they will test if PRC willing to loose 100 years of progress in exchange for GB/NA... in future not now. Once the bluff is called , the onus to save face will fall on PRC. 62 brought us to 71 and 2010 might do same as India has no choice but to erase Durnad line .
It will be 2032 when we will recover COK

Prem, Only if its public. 1962 was public incident. This one is where no blade of grass grows and media has learnt their fortune is with keeping their mouth shut. Even after so many days and experts with backroom briefings they havent come to the conclusion I came and write hack pieces..

Tribune writes:

All Party Delegation to reach J&K
All-party delegation to reach J&K on Monday
After Rahul backing, Farooq says Omar won’t quit

Aditi Tandon
Tribune News Service

New Delhi, September 16
Kashmir remained centre stage in the capital today, with the government deciding to send an all-party delegation to the valley on Monday to gauge the sentiments of people and suggest to the Centre the modalities of the proposed political and economic package.

The delegation will spend two days in the state, staying in the troubled valley for just a little more than one day. The trip will coincide with September 21, the day Hurriyat hardliner Syed Ali Shah Geelani has given the protest call to people to march to security force encampments.

On the political front, National Conference patron Farooq Abdullah today ended speculation of his son and state chief minister Omar Abdullah’s resignation, saying Omar had no intentions of stepping down nor was there any such move.

“There is no disappointment on the lack of consensus on Armed Forces Special Powers Act. Omar is going to stay,” he said after a meeting with UPA chief Sonia Gandhi, whose details he refused to divulge, saying the meeting was “private”. :mrgreen:

That the Centre would prefer status quo for the while in Kashmir was evident after AICC general secretary Rahul Gandhi today threw his weight behind Omar, saying the Kashmir job was tough and Omar needed time and support and was doing a good job.

Rahul even said that the Kashmir situation “was not critical”. With his all-out support to Omar, he poured cold waters over the speculated teaming up of Congress and PDP, whose leaders Mufti Sayeed and Mehbooba Mufti have been camping in New Delhi for the past two days. Both stayed indoors today claiming illness amid reports that Mufti met Sonia and Prime Miniser day before yesterday and was given some hope. Top Congress sources and the Muftis, however, denied any such meeting.

For the all-party delegation, the Congress is yet to finalise its nominees as the party core group met tonight to discuss the modalities. The final schedule of the visit was, however, put out this evening by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Bansal who has asked party leaders to nominate one delegate each by tomorrow evening. Bansal is likely to be part of the delegation. The BJP will send Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj, JDU chief Sharad Yadav is likely to go, the CPI has finalised Gurudas Dasgupta’s name and BJD has zeroed in on Prasanna Patsani. The CPM is yet to nominate a delegate.

As per the itinerary, the delegation will leave Delhi on September 20 morning for Srinagar, spending the day there, and will fly to Jammu at 12.30 pm on September 21. After halting there for a day, it will return to Delhi by 10 am on September 22.

Some leaders today wondered if there would be enough time to meet everyone. There were apprehensions about free movement of members given Geelani’s protest call which will force a curfew.

CPM general secretary Prakash Karat told TNS, “One day is too short a time. We wonder if we will be able to take on board all shades of opinion. A curfew is expected. We will, however, try our best to meet whoever we can.” CPI’s AB Bardhan slammed Geelani’s move as “provocative” and said a day was enough if put to good use.
Muppalla garu, Wasn't it one who writes 'open letters" now? Aftermath of the Lt Kalia's patrol going missing?

Excuse me, but for the fond wishes of forumites, where is the concrete plan (not even action, mind you) by the powers-that-be (or powers-that-will-be) to take back PoK, G-B/NA etc.

Shaksgam valley was given over without a shot either.

If GoI has no plans to take back G-B, PoK etc, what difference does it make if it is under Pak or China? IOW, if we can't even take it back from Pak, what is the point in thinking 'oh now its with Chinese, NOW we can't take it back".

If all of GoI's plans are to wait for Pak's disintegration for PoK, G-B to fall into our lap...then GoI can wait for China's disintegration too...Not just lost J&K land, but even Tibet will fall into our lap.
sunnyP

Post by sunnyP »

Gus wrote:Excuse me, but for the fond wishes of forumites, where is the concrete plan (not even action, mind you) by the powers-that-be (or powers-that-will-be) to take back PoK, G-B/NA etc.

Shaksgam valley was given over without a shot either.

If GoI has no plans to take back G-B, PoK etc, what difference does it make if it is under Pak or China? IOW, if we can't even take it back from Pak, what is the point in thinking 'oh now its with Chinese, NOW we can't take it back".

If all of GoI's plans are to wait for Pak's disintegration for PoK, G-B to fall into our lap...then GoI can wait for China's disintegration too...Not just lost J&K land, but even Tibet will fall into our lap.

Recapturing the land itself is one thing, but how do you contain the 5million+ POKashmiris who will do all they can to resist Indian rule.'Nationalist' or not, I don't think any political party has the will or foresight to take back POK.

Land can only be taken back by re-populating it with others, not just the local Kashmiris be it KM or KP.

Bade wrote:Land can only be taken back by re-populating it with others, not just the local Kashmiris be it KM or KP.
Since China is reaching its peak in population it will hold this for another 10-20 years. After that it has to withdraw. India has to "create" the environment for quick and hasty withdrawal.

Pioneer Op-Ed...
LINK
Urgently needed, a strategic perspective
September 18, 2010 1:45:58 AM

Hiranmay Karlekar

National security demands a strategic perspective and unflinching action. Any move facilitating grant of autonomy to Jammu & Kashmir would cost India its natural border and its Army its military advantage

It is outrageous that missing from most deliberations on the current violence in Kashmir is a national strategic perspective. The State of Jammu & Kashmir is a part of India and, given its common borders with Pakistan and China, of critical strategic importance to the country. Pakistan’s attempt to push Islamist terrorists across the Line of Control and international border in Jammu & Kashmir is well known, as is the fact that the Balkanization of India through cross-border terrorism and the stoking of insurgency is a central component of its Army’s strategic doctrine.

Then there is China. Defence Minister AK Antony said at the Combined Commander’s Conference, attended by top brass of the Army, the Air Force and the Navy, in Delhi on Monday, that India could not ignore Beijing’s fast-improving civil and military infrastructure along the border. Noting that “there has been an increased assertiveness on the part of China”, he added that India needed to keep abreast of military modernisation drives in the neighbourhood to maintain a military edge.

{How many military procurements did he cancel during his tenure as RM and he talks about modernisation drive to maintain edge! By now the Denel guns would have been made in India.}

As important as military hardware and infrastructure like roads, is a border that is easy to defend. Traditionally, the Himalaya has provided that in the north. Even in 1962, the Chinese, who had inflicted a humiliating defeat on us, declared a unilateral ceasefire and returned from Bomdila and elsewhere from what was then North-East Frontier Agency because their supply lines were becoming too stretched, and their forces were in danger of becoming vulnerable to an Indian counter-offensive facilitated by a short supply line.

Throughout history, most invaders came to India from the north-west crossing, or originating in, Afghanistan, and descended into the plains of Punjab. Since Independence, invaders and cross-border terrorists have also been coming across the LoC and the international border with Pakistan in Jammu & Kashmir. We had captured the Haji Pir Pass from Pakistan during the 1965 and 1971 wars, but returned it at following the Tashkent and Shimla agreements in 1966 and 1972 respectively. Today, the Haji Pir Pass and the area around it constitute one of the principal routes of infiltration by terrorists from Pakistan.

One has to remember this, as well as possible future developments in Central and South Asia when considering a policy for Jammu & Kashmir. An important year will be 2014 when, as Afghanistan’s President, Mr Hamid Karzai, has said, Afghans would take over the defence of their country. That year is also expected to see the completion of the withdrawal of American forces, which is to begin in July next year, from Afghanistan. As things are, there is no guarantee that the withdrawal will follow the destruction of the Taliban and the Al Qaeda. Rather, it may well follow a face-saving settlement paving the way for both organisations taking over Afghanistan in a couple of years.

The consequences? The withdrawal of Soviet troops from Afghanistan, completed on February 15, 1989, was followed by a massive influx of Islamist terrorists, veterans of the Afghan jihad, into Jammu & Kashmir from Pakistan and a sharp increase in insurgent and terrorist violence. Judging by present trends, it will be worse in 2014. Supporting the infiltrators/invaders will be the Pakistani Army whose strength will be considerably enhanced by the massive economic and military aid it is receiving from the US and which it is using to build up its military muscles vis-à-vis India. There will also be nuclear blackmail.

India is also scheduled to have a parliamentary election that year. There will be trouble if it brings to power in Delhi a knock-kneed coalition forced to constantly compromise on national security. The trouble will be compounded if the parliamentary elections in Bangladesh, to be held early in 2014, bring Begum Khaleda Zia and the Jamaat-e-Islami Bangladesh, both pathologically anti-Indian, to power, and if Nepal is in turmoil. It will be disastrous if our effective border with Pakistan then does not run along the mountains of Jammu & Kashmir but the plains of Punjab following the grant of autonomy to the State or a settlement reducing the Centre’s military presence there. Any sign of weakness-such as dilution of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act — will push events in that direction by encouraging further violence which will be seen as capable of wresting further concessions.
He does spell it out. Are there no other journalists or are they all sold out?

ramana wrote: Tribune writes:

All Party Delegation to reach J&K
I am pretty sure ISI/Paasha has mapped out the required GPS coordinates, passed them on to LET/Hafeez Saeed, and TSPA/Kiyani has the necessary logistical support in place. Question is will the green signal be given along with wink, wink, nod, nod from Washington?

CRamS wrote:
ramana wrote: Tribune writes: ...
I am pretty sure ISI/Paasha has mapped out the required GPS coordinates, passed them on to LET/Hafeez Saeed, and TSPA/Kiyani has the necessary logistical support in place. Question is will the green signal be given along with wink, wink, nod, nod from Washington?
CRamji, I doubt anything like that would happen as it would only force the political parties to close ranks and take a hardline stance against violence. This is a group of parliamentarians who will supposedly try to alleviate the problems of the protesting masses or atleast give them a patient hearing. It would be akin to shooting a messenger of peace. I think even TSPians are not that stupid unless they intend to provoke GoI down a certain path.