Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Issues faced by Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Don't forget maoists. They can come up with something spectacular to hog the limelight during CWG. Dragon would love to do an equal equal with Tibet-Olympics issue.

Lalmohan wrote:incidentally, we should have expected both paquis and dragon to have tried to sabotage the games... no doubt some things are underway
Who needs Pakis & Panda to sabotage the games when our own people have done a magnificent job of it. Its a facade going on, complete dramebazi. All shine & glory is superficial, below all that is only gloom. These CWG behenchods have eaten up so much of our money it must be a record of sorts in corruption. Naked, total nanga corruption going on. These people have no sense of shame at all. All the so called 'development' that has happened (beautification is a better word) has been in line for atleast 4-5 years now, they are now building the same roads that were to be build 2-3 years back but they kept on delaying so that they could loot more from the CWG. Everybody from Kalmadi to the lowest rung officer managing this corruption fest should be hung by their balls upside down & shot dead.

I hope CWG is held without much problem.There are several lacunae in the manner this game is being organised. Transparency was first casualty. Financial impropriety is galore. Quality of construction is poor. Bhanot says hygiene is subjective. That proves only one point. OC was a bunch of incompetent nincompoops. Delhi Govt , PWD, MCD,Urban Dev Ministry OC and GOI are all to be blamed. Lets not forget the loudmouth MSA and arrogant MSG. Least of all, GOM supervising all this farce.

I was watching statements being made by various VIPs and not so VIPs and officials involved in the games. There is World Standard and then there is INDIAN Standard, poles apart.

Once games are over some issues thrown by CWG should be discussed here .
Last edited by chaanakya on 21 Sep 2010 20:10, edited 1 time in total.

Some tweets:
https://twitter.com/KanchanGupta
Needed to be said. @Retributions has spoken for many when he says "Time for GOI to seriously consider admitting CWG can't be held."

@centerofright:how can loos be filthy in CWG village, didn't we buy or rent toilet paper at an exoribitant cost?

@greatbong: http://is.gd/fliJ7 "The CGF now wants all stray dogs to be removed from the Village site. " Beyond surreal.

CWG Village loos without fixtures, pots overflowing with shit and piss. The SOBs have the gall to say it's world class, better than Beijing!

India's shame over CWG loot by Sheila D and Suresh K compounded by collapsing structures. Overbridge at main venue today. What tomorrow?

Cleanliness in Games village not major issue, says Jaipal Reddy. Urban Development Minister in UPA thinks piss and shit are perfectly ok.

Heard that the current discuss throw champion (from Australia?) has said that he is not coming in for the event. "Lack of security" is his reason. As it is the western world was waiting for a golden chance to ridicule India, and Suresh Kalmadi and gang have provided them with enough oppurtunities to last for a decade :(.

^^^Crises alone can get things moving in status quoist India. Too many vested interests entrenched only.

The games are now a pointless exercise and everybody would be well served, if they, sorta, went away in a hurry. Only.

Heck, I fully expect Briturd media to get camera crews in to film and broadcast the slum that is the 'world class games village' suresh kalmuhi and co. have managed to let build. Jai ho.
Ashley Kravitz

Post by Ashley Kravitz »

Games village world class: Lalit Bhanot
New Delhi: Amid renewed spotlight over Delhi's ill preparations for the Commonwealth Games, the Organising Committee (OC) has said Delhi is ready and that the Games village meets world class standard. :roll:

"We understand the concerns of member countries here for participation in CWG, but the situation is under control," OC General Secretary Lalit Bhanot said while addressing mediapersons in New Delhi.

Speaking about the cleanliness concerns raised by Commonwealth Games Federation President Michael Fennell about the Games village, Bhanot said, "See everyone has a different standard of cleanliness. The rooms of the Games village are clean according to you and me, but they have some other standard of cleanliness." :rotfl:
The preparedness for the Games received a fresh setback when a foot over-bridge collapsed near the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Tuesday. Twenty three labourers were injured in the incident; five labourers are serious.

Speaking about the incident Bhanot said, "The collapse of the foot over-bridge is unfortunate, but we assure you that it will not have any effect on the Games." :roll:

"All Games have such problems, we are glad that this happened now. :eek: The Games will be unaffected," Bhanot added.

When asked about the numerous problems arising just 12 days before the Games begin, he said, "Every complaint on Games village will be looked into and resolved before arrival of teams."
http://cwg.ndtv.com/commonwealth/articl ... hanot.html
Why does this Bhanot fellow sounds like he is talking out of his (Mr.) Butt ? :oops: :cry: :oops:
Last edited by Gerard on 22 Sep 2010 03:19, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: username changed to conform with forum guidelines

I would have laughed at the comments of this Bhanot dude, if it was not made during such an occassion. The nation would be the butt of ridicule for years from now on, while this chap gives sermons on cleanliness. "Clean according to me and you", my foot. I doubt in which part of the world (except Mr.Bhanot's home perhaps) that toilets not properly flushed, the floors cleaned up considered to be some thing prestigious to have??

Sachin wrote:I would have laughed at the comments of this Bhanot dude, if it was not made during such an occassion. The nation would be the butt of ridicule for years from now on, while this chap gives sermons on cleanliness. "Clean according to me and you", my foot. I doubt in which part of the world (except Mr.Bhanot's home perhaps) that toilets not properly flushed, the floors cleaned up considered to be some thing prestigious to have??

The entire CWG Indian gang should be arrested, drawn, quartered and the little pieces should be lynched. :evil:

I am ashamed that these buggers are Indians. :twisted:

i can imagine that the workers on the site are using the toilets since their own are probably 20kms away and pretty dire, and then getting everything messed up and hoping that no one notices

^^ Maybe some of our BRF expert(s) in toiletology can make themselves available for CWG.

well i do hope that the party bosses learn from this international humiliation and kick some musharraffs in the cadres

The Sheila dixit government will now call in the Army to pitch in and help out.

What a mess.

I don't accept anyone criticize UPA govt as they won popular mandate and by virtue of that got the blessing of Indian commons, who are not NRIs and face the Indian life day in and day out. If a bridge falls or a toilet clogs or a stadium fails or there is a terror attack; that means that is EXACTLY WHAT indian public wanted and UPA delivered what they were mandated to do.

I will report any post that questions GOI or GoDelhi. Kindly note.

^^^ Massive fury on social media. Check twitter

Breaking news on NDTV - large numbers of pakistani subversives infiltrated into Delhi work gangs and filling CWG Village Toilets with inner pakistaniyat

What if (big IF) these games are a failure? Means lot of countries and athletes does not show up due to Toilet fears and security fears?

loss of H&D and possible setback by few years of grand plans

^ Nothing.

The CWG failure will be attributed to
- BJP for the bad press over CWG
- Some yindoo-terrorism

UPA will recommit to Garibi-hatao by declaring another round of
- Loan maafi
- RG rojgar yojana thru which INC local leaders, and maoists can make lot of dough

which is proof of why yindoos will continue to shiver in dhotis whilst rest of duniya (except yindoo wannabe's pukeistan) march ahead :mrgreen:

And a few more members here will get banned by folks reporting on them.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

I wonder such feeble , delicate stomachs ruled India for 200 years.
Ab tho balwan atheletes are running away from games not even war games

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :rotfl: :rotfl:

First they say they saw CWG workers peeing out on the grounds
Then they complain Worker used the toilets ( dont they know that there are things called unit testing, System testing and then Integration testing.

So CWG has now WC games and we are winning hands down :mrgreen:

^^ The poor labourers caught under bridge are fighting for life.
SureshP

Post by SureshP »

In the UK this is the top story on all channels. filthy, disgusting, excrement, rubble everywhere in the rooms are words repeated endlessly. 3 uk athletes, all black as it happens, have pulled out claiming "injuries" today. Dengue, falling and failing structures, flooding add to an image of a fourth world country with visions of grandeur

India is a laughing stock here, and the claim the Indians have a different standard of cleanliness really is a line from the nightmare some PR executive.

Mihir Bose ( BBC Sports editor ) says India wanted to show it too can organize a major sports event like China :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but instead of a shinning India we have the same old decrepit India

Any basis to rumours on twitter that the top brass took home a lot (and I mean a lot) of money home from the CWG money pot.
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

CWG is revealing to the international mass what poor Indian already know. Corruption! Biggest beneficiary of our economic boom has been these corrupt mafia. Before they used to eat few crores now 1000 crores is peanut for them
Every election I hope media will make the corruption huge issue but they end up licking their master's you know what.

When these people at the top can't get convicted for murders how can we even hope for them convicted for this mess.

RamaY wrote:I don't accept anyone criticize UPA govt as they won popular mandate and by virtue of that got the blessing of Indian commons, who are not NRIs and face the Indian life day in and day out. If a bridge falls or a toilet clogs or a stadium fails or there is a terror attack; that means that is EXACTLY WHAT indian public wanted and UPA delivered what they were mandated to do.

I will report any post that questions GOI or GoDelhi. Kindly note.
This is absurd. Why everybody is after NRI's. Since when it is haram to criticize GOVT that does not do needfull. UPA saw this drama unfolding.It had to react on time.
I will report any post that questions GOI or GoDelhi. Kindly note
I will report if you write such thing again ........not kidding.

Re:

SureshP wrote:Mihir Bose ( BBC Sports editor ) says India wanted to show it too can organize a major sports event like China :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but instead of a shinning India we have the same old decrepit India
If BJP govt didn't go overboard with that "India Shining" hindu-nationalistic slogan, India's Ech&Dee wouldn't have gotten this beating now.

Adding to that, the ABV govt fooled the world that India can truly conceive and execute a world-class infrastructure project {highway system in 5 years Golden Quadrilateral (GQ; 5,846 km) and North-South and East-West corridors (7,300 km) http://www.nhai.org/completedmap.htm - If someone has the status of these projects by 2004, kindly post} How stupid that is???

This is what BJP govt did in 5 years.
* Phase I: The Golden Quadrilateral (GQ; 5,846 km) connecting the four major cities of Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata. This project connecting four metro cities, would be 5,846 km. Total cost of the project is Rs300 billion (US$6.8 billion), funded largely by the government’s special petroleum product tax revenues and government borrowing. As of January 2009 5,796 km of the intended 5,846 km has been 4 laned.[1]

* Phase II: North-South and East-West corridors comprising national highways connecting four extreme points of the country. The North-South and East-West Corridor (NS-EW; 7,300 km) connecting Srinagar in the north to Kanyakumari in the south, including spur from Salem to Kochi (Via Coimbatore), and Silchar in the east to Porbandar in the west. Total length of the network is 7,300 km. As of January 2009, 42% of the project had been completed and 44% of the project work is currently at progress.[2] It also includes Port connectivity and other projects — 1,157 km. The final completion date to February 28, 2009 at a cost of Rs350 billion (US$8 billion), with funding similar to Phase I.

On the other-hand our socialist, secular UPA govt successfully demonstrated [sic] hindu rate of growth. This is what UPA govt did in 6 years.
* Phase III: The government recently approved NHDP-III to upgrade 12,109 km of national highways on a Build, Operate and Transfer (BOT) basis, which takes into account high-density traffic, connectivity of state capitals via NHDP Phase I and II, and connectivity to centres of economic importance. contracts have been awarded for a 2,075 km.

* Phase IV: The government is considering widening 20,000 km of highway that were not part of Phase I, II, or III. Phase IV will convert existing single lane highways into two lanes with paved shoulders. The plan will soon be presented to the government for approval.

* Phase V: As road traffic increases over time, a number of four lane highways will need to be upgraded/expanded to six lanes. The current plan calls for upgrade of about 5,000 km of four-lane roads, although the government has not yet identified the stretches.

* Phase VI: The government is working on constructing expressways that would connect major commercial and industrial townships. It has already identified 400 km of Vadodara (earlier Baroda)-Mumbai section that would connect to the existing Vadodara (earlier Baroda)-Ahmedabad section. The World Bank is studying this project. The project will be funded on BOT basis. The 334 km Expressway between Chennai—Bangalore and 277 km Expressway between Kolkata—Dhanbad has been identified and feasibility study and DPR contract has been awarded by NHAI.

* Phase VII: This phase calls for improvements to city road networks by adding ring roads to enable easier connectivity with national highways to important cities. In addition, improvements will be made to stretches of national highways that require additional flyovers and bypasses given population and housing growth along the highways and increasing traffic. The government has not yet identified a firm investment plan for this phase. The 19-km long Chennai Port—Maduravoyal Elevated Expressway is being executed under this phase.
NDA's 2 Phases Vs UPA's 5 Phases.
Last edited by RamaY on 22 Sep 2010 01:02, edited 1 time in total.

From above link... something that is in the range of Such gup from TFT
India will go nuts . . .

. . . most likely, over shooter Abhinav Bindra, its first individual Olympic gold medallist in Beijing two years ago. Bindra's father, recalling his son's days as a child prodigy, said: "When he was five he would place a balloon on the head of his maid and shoot it." Normally the most sparsely attended of sports, shooting isn't going to know what's hit it.

rsingh, the posts are sarcastic. Dil pe mat lena.

Congrats Ramay for that crackler of a post. :mrgreen:
I strongly register my protest as a concerned citizen of India against calling the CWG India's shame. This is "You Know Who's" shame and theirs alone.

See the powers that be were tired of scamming a few corores here and there from aam janata. So when the CWG deal came they lapped up the chance to scam the furriners. All dilli billis were on it. And thought they can get way. The floods and bad weather all conspired to make the issues more open.
Most likely the contractors did shoddy work for the pay-offs to bigwigs were large. Look at the bridge falling down before the games. It had short life but not that short. And most likely the workers weren't paid at all. So they proof tested the toilets. Unfortunately it was inspection time and hence the british high horse press coverage. BBC on XM radio is having laga taar coverage.

Common man ke wealth ki loot hai , loot sake to loot !
Ant kaal pachhtayega , jab satta jaayegi chhoot !!

Bolo , Congress Sarkar ki Jai ! Soniya Mai ki Jai ! Bharat Ke Yuvraaj Rahul Baba ki Jai ! Arthshashtri Sri Manmohan Singh Maharaj ki Jai !

ramana wrote:rsingh, the posts are sarcastic. Dil pe mat lena.
Sarcastic. I had enough from SHQ (not understanding her paintings being Jat......I was reminded) so I had to bring it out on somebody.

Friends please do not use names lest the poor/concerned critics be accused of "thought crimes" :P If the pain of your nation being reduced to a joke is too much to handle then kindly use the "memory hole" located in nearest bottle of somarasa.

rsingh wrote:
ramana wrote:rsingh, the posts are sarcastic. Dil pe mat lena.
Sarcastic. I had enough from SHQ (not understanding her paintings being Jat......I was reminded) so I had to bring it out on somebody.

If you dont mind will recommend some art appreciation sites. First, which style are the paintings in?

Read this Syllabus. Especially Week X.

Might help the wine go down.

I am surprised how folks here dont get the Chankianess of GoI in organizing the CWG in Delhi.

A few facts we can all agree on:
1) Any endeavor like CWG, Asiad or Olympics costs a lot of money and leaves the host nation with red ink on the books.
2) We are a SDRE bania nation so we will always look at the lowest cost option.
3) An Asiad or an Olympic games is a much larger affair than CWG hence would cost more compared to CWG.
4) India shinning was an idea aggressively pushed by NDA(read BJP) instead of the Aam aadmi agend of UPA(read INC and allies).

With India growing economically at close to double digit, She will be expected to display her progress by staging world events. We chose to organize a CWG which no one other than British Commonwealth nations cares about. Now if we screw this one royally than no sane nation will ever prod us to host another world event any time soon. Thus no chance of an Asiad or Olympics coming to India thus no chance of us spending more money on such ventures. Thus I offer that this CWG screw up was a intentional chanakian move by GoI to save its money from wasteful world events. How is that for a Tin foil hat idea? UPA wadis feel free to latch on to this theory before the brown matter begins to stink up Delhi.

The purpose/advantage of hosting such games is that the paying international visitors help to subsidize the infrastructure created for the games. Tourism is an industry which is known to do this.

Other than the sad news about the bridge collapse, every other complaint is a non-issue. See we are poor onlee and cannot be expected to subsidize the expensive toilet habits of westerners just for the Chor-Games (as Dileep aptly called it) when our teeming millions have to crap out in the open. Sorry onlee, we have better things to spend our money on like a Moon launch than making dry bathrooms for the honored guests.