Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Issues faced by Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Gaurav_S wrote: Heck with slogans like Incredible India... :evil:
India (GoI) is incredible indeed. :mrgreen: Nobody else can goof up like this ... :P
Last edited by Chinmayanand on 22 Sep 2010 17:05, edited 1 time in total.

Given a chance Dilli Billies (Kalmadi, Dixit et.al) would continue to bid for much more mega events like the Olympics. And if god-forbid that bid comes to India, New Delhi would be once again chosen for the looting game again. My hopes lie on the non-Indian members in various committees who finally decide who gets the bid. Only they can save the Indian mango-man from these embarassments :(. Each and every comment from the big-wigs makes me cringe even further. Are we conducting a world wide event, or some sort of "wedding reception" for some might Dilli Billi here?

forget Olympics, no other developing nation is going to get CWG again...

Lalmohan wrote:forget Olympics, no other developing nation is going to get CWG again...
Amen to that and that would be a blessing indeed!!!

chaanakya wrote:CM told reporters to show good things which are done .
Outcome of Indo-Pak peace-talks! Our UPA leadership is developing Paki-intellect. It is others fault that they can't see any good in us.

Now I am sh*t scared. Is India progressing towards our western neighbor???

girish.r wrote:
Manny wrote:So..does the Sonia Gandhi party take any responsibility for this embarrassment or not?
Would they? have they ever? :?:
The question is WHY should they?

INC is not in power, UPA is. MMS is a PM without (political) party. The babudom has allocated contracts based on certain "selection criteria". Contractors have no (prior) experience in building modern infrastructure.

More than anything Indian public mandated UPA against "India Shining"!

BijuShet wrote:
Lalmohan wrote:forget Olympics, no other developing nation is going to get CWG again...
Amen to that and that would be a blessing indeed!!!
+1.

CBNaidu did a splendid job conducting the national games in Hyd in 2001/02. Spruced up city infra noticebly back then.

National games also brought much needed smiles, peace, coexistence and happiness to people in the northeast when the games were last held in Manipur. Insurgent outfits and all went all out to suspend activities for the duration of the games and all.

What good this gawdforsaken commonwealth games does, who knows? aak-thoo.

Friends!!!

Follow Ramanaji's advise. No point in getting banned for others' stupidity and mistakes.

From a tweet:
RT @palkisu: #CWG sms joke doing the rounds: Kalmadi tried to hang himself but the ceiling collapsed!
LOL
Jaspreet

Post by Jaspreet »

Fire all those b@st@rds in central government and make them pay price for bringing national disgrace to all of us.
The central govt is where the buck stops but firing them won't do a thing.
There's no accountability at any level. You can't ask a "mistry" to do his job properly because he and his union might threaten
violence and agitation.
A sincere officer, of the few that exist, can't follow up the status of something with junior officers because nothing's going
to come out of it. There are no consequences ever for bad performance.

He can't push his seniors for obvious reasons plus the fact that he knows that they don't care so why should he.

There's no point firing the central govt. It has to start with everyone.

AdityaM wrote:in all this rona-dhona we overlook the fact that our men managed to build all these stadiums in record time 2008-2010!
poor quality is a necessary consequence/side-effect of this, but still they mange to do this. May be if they had the comfort of another 2 months.
But due to poor project management, the delivery team will have to suffer the shame
No stadium is new build except one. All others are renovation as pointed out in Parliament debate.
They had five years to do all jobs.
The Organising Committee Commonwealth Games Delhi 2010 was formed and registered as a Society under the Societies Registration Act 1860, on February 10, 2005 vide registration No. S/51518 of 2005. The Director General of the Games Secretariat was appointed, a 15-member Executive Board formed and the Games Secretariat put into place.

See all the venues photo. Looks nice. Except for the defects pointed out and hand in money pot rest other patriotic Indians would make sure that games would be a success.

http://www.cwgdelhi2010.org/?q=image/tid/37

I am sure hygiene part would now be taken care of now that Cabinet Secy has instructed to MCD to put more man and each tower is given senior DANICS officer to look after. Hope that these babulog do a good job.

The comment of Bhanot was indeed in bad taste and invited ridicule. But reaction of countries are no good either. It is not that such things are done perfectly every time.Athlete statement was as if she is reading under pressure. These countries want to make India look bad.
During olympics China too had several issues in the run up to the games.
Rains have played its part but project schedules should have taken that into account.

TVs have indeed gone overboard. Times Now expected that Kalmadi would be sacked but when it did not happen they feel morally indignated.

I feel ashamed that Kalmadi and his team , in addition to others, have done a shoddy job but there would be time to deal with it. Lets pray that games are held fabulously.

<ThoughtCrime Mode On> Friends, so who is responsible for this mess? :P Where does the buck stop? Where is our government? (Oops I have spoken too much) <ThoughtCrime Mode Off>

http://en.wik...Thoughtcrime
In the dystopian novel Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell, a thoughtcrime is an illegal type of thought. In the book, the government attempts to control not only the speech and actions, but also the thoughts of its subjects, labelling disapproved thought as thoughtcrime or, in Newspeak, "crimethink"

This thread displays the greatest whine fest on BR. Seriously, folks when aam aadmi in most Indian cities has to deal with poor infra and hygiene on a daily basis, why did you guys have such high expectations for CWG.

The only inexcusable offense in my books here, is poor planning given the 5+ years to execute it. All other complaints like 'excrement' in the CWG village etc however is a daily reality when you step into the real India, outside of 5-star hotels. Till there is overall improvement in quality of life, do not expect it to compare with the best.
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Silver lining to all the withdrawals and pullouts...we may end up on top of the medals tally! :twisted:

SandeepA wrote:Silver lining to all the withdrawals and pullouts...we may end up on top of the medals tally! :twisted:
May be we also can get oppurtunity to play as there will be a lot of room to participate.

my whine is about GOI not being able to lift mango people out of cesspool
games are a catalyst onlee, or could have been...

I think cities and governments should be made to qualify for future events based on their observed characteristics like -

1. Potholes on roads / km

2. Smog on Monday mornings

3. Proportion of population living in slums

If cities wanting to host events cannot get the basics right, then they can be considered to be a high risk venue, because the same politicians and contractors responsible for the existing state of affairs would get to play host. Hopefully this can also set up some healthy competition between governments if they see Delhi doesn't have a de facto monopoly to corner all funds.

What we are seeing is only part of the story. Part-II will unfold after games are over and Village would become available for allotment and there will be gold rush to get a flat in Games Village. Reward for well organised games.These reporters would also be vying for the same.
Bhima

Post by Bhima »

Look on the bright side chaps:

Delhi can't get worse than Athens

CNN-IBN Sardesai asks What V K Malhotra was doing when he is on Organising Committee. BJP should have intervened.

This is what ramana garu said. There is BJP to fall back upon.

[quote="Manish Jain"]Aditya, and why did they start in 2008 when they had 7 years to prepare for games? The reason for starting only in 2008 is that honorable Mani Shankar as our esteemed sports minister sat on all decision making for years. Nothing at all happened in his tenure.[/quote]
[quote="Sachin"]If I read it here correctly we had got the bid nearly 6-7 years back. So there was enough and more time to build quality infrastructure which could withstand the test of time, and also can be used for other sporting events. Building in "record time" was not done intentionally, it was done after the looters knew that time was running out and these folks should build some semblance of structures.[/quote]

yes agree to all that of-course. But just to make a point that we feel that chinese do wonders with timely construction, and it can only be done in china. The fact the our people could build the infrastructure despite the men of dubious integrity shows that We too Can. And if we had better men incharge, we can do wonders!
Mani Shankar is sitting pretty pointing fingers at others. Not one media report has called off his bluff. :evil:
Sachin wrote:I feel you are assuming that folks out there want to do an honest day's job, but....<snip>
No No. I am not make such assumptions...my previous posts express my anger very well at them.

[quote="Sachin"]Sir, poor project management etc. all comes from a simple notion that the top honchos in Dilli hold. That is they being the nation's capital, they can get away with any crime and always and every time other provinces need to pump in money. And considering the Dilli Billies (again, I dont mean Mango Man) shame is some thing which they will never have. <snip>
Guess the rest of the country needs to find out ways to make Nai Dilli another 'Bahadur Shah Zafar' (i.e token king, in his on world writing poetry, with only authority in paper) ;). Let this 'Bahadur Shah Zafar' remain on its grandoise thoughts and strut around the palace, where as critical things happen else where.[/quote]

There you go again maligning our lovely but currently pothholed, wet, chaotic city!
Somehow you ignore the fact that the dilli Sultanate under Maharaj (Whose name can not be taken lest you ban me), is made up of representatives of other provinces only!
If at all anyone should complain, it is us dilli wallahs who have to suffer the jams, pothholes, shoddy infra, excessive inflow of people from provinces only because we carry the brown sahibs burden of having to govern the ungrateful provinces! :P :wink: :mrgreen:

Aditya I pointed out MSA here
CNN-IBN Sardesai has put MSA in CWG Hall of shame putting blame on his shoulder squarely saying that 2006-2008 he sat over decisions and wanted games to fail.

Bade wrote:This thread displays the greatest whine fest on BR. Seriously, folks when aam aadmi in most Indian cities has to deal with poor infra and hygiene on a daily basis, why did you guys have such high expectations for CWG.
Bade-saab,

There are two options.

1. India doesn't venture into this type of events unless all its citizens achieve the expected living/wealth standards. That means no international events unless India achieves 1st Rank in HDI and a GINI score of 1. Unfortunately one cannot achieve wealth/progress/recognition without interacting the world community.

2. India tries to achieve internal progress while simultaneously hosting CWG type international events. The reality appears to be this.

The interesting issue here is that -

- The current GOI came to power promising many things (Remember MMS's 100 day program? The thread I started to track these items was deleted by Mods). How is the current administration planning to achieve its own promises, amounting to ~$1TN worth of projects in 5 years, when it miserably fails to execute a single $5B worth of project?

- The current administration sought national acceptance of down-grading national interests in order to pursue economic progress for the next 10+ years (this is the philosophy MMS and his UPA II administration lay-ed out for the intellectual and strategic groups).

Now all the rats can come out of their holes bringing all unrelated issues, topics to justify INC's failure to execute this project. My interest is to preempt such nonsense.

That doesn't mean a person/party/govt cannot falter. It can definitely do, but then we have to see some correction, introspection somewhere. I am not big enough to dream such a thing for INC. All I can dream (and work towards) is to see some change in this forum, whatever that means.

We can only ban the people who want to come and participate in BRF. We cannot do anything to people like Sri B Raman, who made an incorrect assessment of BRF and did not even bother to correct it.

Sumeet wrote:
Lalmohan wrote: interestingly, how did IG pull of 72 Asiad?
IG was all that MMS isn't. One unfavorable flick of her eye brow would send shivers down others ............
Why does something tell me the thing would have been pulled off much better if held in Gujarat or TN? ( Hint: strong willed neta present there)

Guess our country needs strong willed leaders to make things work else everything falls apart!!! Really disappointed with MMS leadership on this "national image" issue...

the real waste of money will start after the games are over.
Last week went to nursery to get plants...all plants have become expensive because lakhs have been spent by govt to buy plants to put by the road side at the last moment. Once games are over, they will all die due to absence of care. They already look like thin lifeless baby plants. They should have been planted atleast 1 year ago. Similarly all such infra will go waste. And all consumer items like LCD displays etc will be stolen

After the games, they will say they have no money left, and no more road repairs etc for the next 2 years in delhi
As i mentioned earlier, the only good that can come from this is if CWG is scrapped and MMS govt falls.

BTW, how many whiners here have actually put their money in the games? I bought tickets, if it fails i hope i get refund

Is there any basis to the rumour on twitter that the CWG lootfest is now funding the massive rise in Sensex through participatory notes? People are anticipating a crash ones they pull out.

chetak wrote:The Sheila dixit government will now call in the Army to pitch in and help out.
What a mess.
But under the condition that they work without AFSPA :rotfl:

Well, the reason for this debacle has been found by shri MKB, ex-diplomat and the reason is ** drumroll**, the NDA:
Will CWG failure be Manmohan Singh's legacy?
First, what a screw-up it has been by the National Democratic Alliance government when it courted this dubious honour of hosting the games as a sublimating moment of cultural nationalism! They should have known their country's limitations. We no longer live in the Vedic age.

For today's right-wing warmongers who talk of 'cold start' and simultaneous wars on two fronts, too, this must come as a moment of truth about the 'real India'. A country that knows not its limitations (and strength) would wander into perils.

But then, why blame the NDA government, which is already distant history? Besides, for them it was at least about a heart-felt ideology. To be fair, they are not part of the stinking corruption that apparently surrounds the Games' preparation. When racketeers use the petard of ideology to make money, it becomes sheer political cynicism.
*sigh*
Also, cold start should be chucked out now that Shri Kalmadi, MMS and co couldn't hold a proper CWG...
Indeed, these are futile vanities. Let us not lose our sense of proportions. Hitler's [ Images ] Germany [ Images ] collapsed within nine years of hosting the extraordinary pageant of the Berlin Olympics [ Images ]. The Soviet Union disintegrated within 12 years of the Moscow [ Images ] Olympics.

In fact, it makes one somewhat uneasy in such moments in history when the political elite equates pageantry with national glory.

Remember the lavish pageantry in the Tent City of Persepolis in 1971 (in yet another balmy October) to celebrate the 2500th anniversary of the founding of the Iranian monarchy by Cyrus the Great? Shah Reza Pahlavi fled Iran in January 1979 and the royal regime came down like a pack of cards.
So, Desh is now ready to splinter up now that it is hosting a major event, like past history tells us :-? :-?

The lengths to which even criticism goes in our country is amazing..

I need to get this off my chest, and am posting in the capacity of a normal poster, not a mod:

The entire sordid line of discussion about NDA vs UPA vs Sheila Dixit vs Kalmadi vs <insert_someone> regarding CWG2010 is a self goal. Who was allocated these games ? It was not NDA. It was not UPA. It was not Kalmadi. It was INDIA - our country.

We may have put together everything in our typically haphazard, chalega-filled, skin-of-the-teeth approach nearly all of us know from having attended assorted ceremonies like marriages. It's aggravating, embarrassing, and filled with heartstopping questions generally tailored to gladen Pfizer executives.

But we need to show a united front for the duration of these games. The success or failure of these games reflects on all of us, not just some particular scapegoat of choice. No amount of roof collapses is as embarrassing, to me personally, as seeing people blame assorted strawmen and political entities even before the games have gotten off the ground.

On several other threads, people have lamented about how presenting a divided house made us vulnerable in historic engagements. The time for recriminations and punishment are when the dust has settled and emotions have come down. This is not the time for it. Right now is the time to present a united front with the best of what's at hand and enthusiastically show what we can do.

Ok, I'm done now.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

In TFTA nations are events like the olympics/WC primarily organized/run by the olympic committee or by the local gov?
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

I for one deeply miss having someone like Lalit Modi run the show. The IPL was the last time I felt proud of India..and the last time we saw the usual suspects going green with jealousy. Oh I forget they killed that too and wont stop till they hang Lalit Modi. :(

When failure stares in the face then the country comes to mind.

Suraj wrote: Who was allocated these games ? It was not NDA. It was not UPA. It was not Kalmadi. It was INDIA - our country.

We may have put together everything in our typically haphazard, chalega-filled, skin-of-the-teeth approach nearly all of us know from having attended assorted ceremonies like marriages. It's aggravating, embarrassing, and filled with heartstopping questions generally tailored to gladen Pfizer executives.

But we need to show a united front for the duration of these games. The success or failure of these games reflects on all of us, not just some particular scapegoat of choice. No amount of roof collapses is as embarrassing, to me personally, as seeing people blame assorted strawmen and political entities even before the games have gotten off the ground.

On several other threads, people have lamented about how presenting a divided house made us vulnerable in historic engagements. The time for recriminations and punishment are when the dust has settled and emotions have come down. This is not the time for it. Right now is the time to present a united front with the best of what's at hand and enthusiastically show what we can do.

Ok, I'm done now.
These Games are awarded to Cities ( and not to the Country) with local Govt taking the responsibility to implement and with OC to supervise. Idea is that these games improve infrastructure and local economy.
Though prestige associated with such games tends to include national pride.

Right now I agree with you, there will be time for all this.

Suraj wrote:The entire sordid line of discussion about NDA vs UPA vs Sheila Dixit vs Kalmadi vs <insert_someone> regarding CWG2010 is a self goal. Who was allocated these games ? It was not NDA. It was not UPA. It was not Kalmadi. It was INDIA - our country.
This is fine for outsiders who cannot make out the difference, or choose, between NDA, UPA, Dixit or Kalmadi.

In any case the NDA vs UPA thing is a sideshow because of internal INC politics. I can't get over the feeling that dynasty Priyanka-is-like-Jesus toadys like MSA were sleeping on the job precisely to clear the path for Rahul by showing up MMS as incompetent.

X-post from Nukkad.
Indeed, these are futile vanities. Let us not lose our sense of proportions. Hitler's [ Images ] Germany [ Images ] collapsed within nine years of hosting the extraordinary pageant of the Berlin Olympics [ Images ]. The Soviet Union disintegrated within 12 years of the Moscow [ Images ] Olympics.

In fact, it makes one somewhat uneasy in such moments in history when the political elite equates pageantry with national glory.

Remember the lavish pageantry in the Tent City of Persepolis in 1971 (in yet another balmy October) to celebrate the 2500th anniversary of the founding of the Iranian monarchy by Cyrus the Great? Shah Reza Pahlavi fled Iran in January 1979 and the royal regime came down like a pack of cards.
So, Desh is now ready to splinter up now that it is hosting a major event, like past history tells us :-? :-?

The lengths to which even criticism goes in our country is amazing..
Best part of the article are the observations about the fate of host countries after hosting such mega events. He forgets Olympic hosts for 1996 Atlanta (US) and 2004 Athens (Greece) and the shape of these host country economies today. The best part he left unsaid was about the Olympics of 2008 Beijing (China). It is 2010 already so another 2-6 years before we see the damage to China ;-).

vera_k wrote:
Suraj wrote:I can't get over the feeling that dynasty Priyanka-is-like-Jesus toadys like MSA were sleeping on the job precisely to clear the path for Rahul by showing up MMS as incompetent.
Finally some one agrees with me. There is a conspiracy on this count. I argues with so many people who think it is ridiculous theory.

There is Sonia who won't let MMS fire any one whether it is Raja or Kalmadi. OTOH, crooks like Digvijay are attacking Chidu or some other minister.

Suddenly IE (Sekhar Gupta), rediff, India Today, outlook are all attacking MMS. MMS gives two combative interview saying he won't resign. It is all grand strategy to show him so bad that people fed up with him want the Rahul as PM. They are convinced that it is all over for BJP and people have no choice. BJP buffons are working according to their plan too.

The best case for my argument is the "Tickledown Revolution" by the nautanki rani Arundhoti Roy in outlook. I don't want to give the link and increase hits to that creep. She comes out openly calling MMS as the capitalist stooge, the man behind the capitalist conspiracy and defends Sonia/Rahul like any thing. She has a word or two against Sonia: She is being used in the front to get votes and in the back MMS is the agent of WB/IMF/US/Industial complex. I never saw this bigot coming out so openly campaigning for the dynasty. I think she is worried the image of Sonia/Rahul is getting hurt by this incompetence.
Last edited by vijayk on 23 Sep 2010 01:03, edited 1 time in total.

vijayk, where have you been arguing this? In which thread?

Posting in full from DNA INDIA : Complete lockdown of C'Wealth venues, Athletes Village from tonight
Published: Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010, 19:40 IST - Place: New Delhi | Agency: PTI

Commonwealth Games venues and Athletes Village will have a complete lockdown from midnight tonight with entry to be allowed only to those carrying valid passes.

A large number of armed policemen, including paramilitary personnel, have been deployed across the stadia and village. Sophisticated gadgets have also been installed at the stadia.

"The lockdown will start from this midnight," a senior police official said.

The security has been stepped up across the city after Sunday's firing incident at Jama Masjid that injured two Taiwanese nationals.

Delhi police, which is the nodal agency for Games security, have conducted various drills, including anti-sabotage checks once they take over possession of the venues, the official said.

Apart from around 80,000 Delhi police personnel, over 17,500 paramilitary personnel, 3,000 commandos and 100 anti-sabotage check teams will be deployed across the city.

The army has been asked to be alert.

Concerns were earlier raised about the delay in handing over venues to security agencies as some quarters felt that it would hamper the security preparations.

Delhi police commissioner YS Dadwal, however, had downplayed the delay and said the force was prepared to handle the security issues related to the sporting extravaganza.

"We know the stadia and surrounding areas. We know the city very well. So securing them or other areas will not be a problem," Dadwal had said when asked whether the delay in completion of Games projects was compromising security preparedness.

Union home minister P Chidambaram also reviewed the arrangements.

Heli-borne snipers, four-layered security cordon around Commonwealth Games venues and exclusive lanes for Games vehicles were among the components of the mammoth security plan for the event.

The security plan prepared for the mega event, which will see participation of around 8,500 athletes from 71 countries competing in 17 events, also envisages snipers on rooftops, commando hit teams and expert groups to tackle any chemical, biological, radio-active or nuclear attacks.

Air Force will provide surveillance from the skies. Heli-borne assault teams will also be deployed to thwart any terror strikes.

"We are closely working with central intelligence agencies. The air force will be surveying the airspace. We will have heli-borne snipers patrolling the skies," the official said.

According to the plan, the venues, Games Village, practice and parking lots and the Indira Gandhi International Airport where athletes arrive will have a four-layered security cordon.

At the outer cordon, the traffic will be stopped and access controlled. At the middle cordon, security-men will channelise the spectators to their designated seats while in the inner cordon, barcode reading of tickets will take place and spectators' photographs taken.

At the centre would be an exclusion zone which is in the 30m radius of the stadium, where spectators and others will have to go through door-frame metal detectors and X-ray scanning besides manual searching.

Mobile quick reaction teams (QRT) will be deployed on the outer perimeter of the venues besides a close watch through CCTV surveillance.

The Games Village will also have a similar elaborate security arrangement. The boundary of the village will have a 3m high perimeter wall, a 1.5m-high iron grill on top of it, mobile QRTs and CCTV surveillance system.

Elaborate arrangements are also made for the entry for athletes and vehicles into the village. After entering the village following a thorough check, the athletes can freely move around the residential and dining halls.

For vehicles, the drivers will have to pass through radio frequency identity checking where the number plates are checked to see whether are authorised to enter the place.

There is a boom barrier and it will be opened only after the vehicle clears the radio frequency checking. But if somebody tries to forcefully enter, there will be a tyre-killer and even if the vehicle clears it, the road blocker will block the passage of the vehicle.

At the hotels, there will be "robust" security arrangements with watch towers, CCTV surveillance and access control.

"All food prepared and served for Games guests in hotels will be sorted by security personnel and tasted by food experts," the official said.

With large number of athletes, officials and tourists reaching the city for the Games, security at and around the Indira Gandhi International Airport is also being augmented.

vera_k wrote:I can't get over the feeling that dynasty Priyanka-is-like-Jesus toadys like MSA were sleeping on the job precisely to clear the path for Rahul by showing up MMS as incompetent.
vijayk wrote: Finally some one agrees with me. There is a conspiracy on this count. I argues with so many people who think it is ridiculous theory.

There is Sonia who won't let MMS fire any one whether it is Raja or Kalmadi. OTOH, crooks like Digvijay are attacking Chidu or some other minister.
Vera_k or VijayK

Could you please summarize key contributions of MMS in the past 6 years? Really appreciate the items where he had a clear vision on something and he was thwarted by SG/RG/Leftist-media kabal.

Another question is why is he clinging on to the seat in such a bad company? On what items he compromised (in return for the seat) and on what items he didn't?

thanks

AdityaM wrote:
chetak wrote:The Sheila dixit government will now call in the Army to pitch in and help out.
What a mess.
But under the condition that they work without AFSPA :rotfl:

Should they not declare Delhi as a disturbed area?