Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Issues faced by Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

amit wrote:Nope, if they spit on India, they will spit on every Indian. Like it or not if India shines, Indians, including ourselves shine. And if India craps, the smell comes out from all our behinds as far as foreigners are concerned.
Sir it is all easy to say this. If the worthies in New Delhi had atleast the intelligence to understand 5% of what you are trying to say, we would be in a better shape. We need to understand that for Kalmadi & Co (and the hundreds of sarkaari contractors loitering around NCR) this was a way to swindle money. Today CWG gave them an oppurtunity, tomorrow some thing else comes up.
Even if that happens do you think that India's tarnished reputation will be suddenly mended?
And what do you suggest? :).
1. Apartments for athletes are not ready. We had plenty of time to get that done.
2. Sanitation facilities are pathetic, and things are yet to fall in place.
3. A bridge which was not completed on time, also came toppling down.

Keeping these in mind, how do you think we (folks in BR, or Mango men across the world) can try to salvage India's image from getting tarnished. By aping that Bhanot fellah who said that hygiene, cleaniness is subjective? We can also add to that in India time for finishing things are also not fixed. It is actually the "Indian Stretchable Time". Yes, we can make excuses but again nobody is going to take it at its face value.
However, that's for later after the Games are over and the everyone's gone home.
As Tanaji said nothing of that sort is going to happen. We are trying to create an image that all these folks are genuine honest chaps who made mistakes. But for majority of the people these are crooks who knew right from day one that games etc. are secondary and the primary idea is to loot money.
rgsrini wrote:I believe that the photos are from apartments that are not occupied yet and they have not been given a final "once over" yet.
The catch here is that, every body knew when the common wealth games would begin. What such things tells the world is that we (Indians) are bad in planning. Athletes are already falling in, while the accomodations are not yet ready.

CWG Update: Suresh kalmadi tried to hang himself. But the ceiling collapsed!

Lalmohan wrote:shocked to discover that kalmadi is a former IAF pilot
Two things puzzle me.

WTF this joker was doing in Fergusson College from 1950 -2009. BTW this was my old college :roll:

" Participated in the Indo-Pak war " Wonder how much he made here. :rotfl:

http://in.linkedin.com/in/sureshkalmadi

Suresh Kalmadi

Candidate Lok Sabha Constituency Pune at Lok Sabha Elections

Pune Area, India

* Contact Suresh Kalmadi
* Add Suresh Kalmadi to your network

Current

* Candidate of Indian National Congress from Pune at Lok Sabha Elections
* President at Indian Olympic Association (IOA)

Past

* Member, Defence Consultative Committee,Member, Standing Committee on Defence at Member of Parliament
* Member of Parliament at Rajya Sabha
* Minister of State for Railways, at Government of India

* Chairman at Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation
* President at Maharashtra Pradesh Youth Congress

see less...

4 more...
Education

* Fergusson College
* St. Vincent High School, Pune

Connections
21 connections
Industry
Government Administration
Websites

* My Website
* My Blog

Suresh Kalmadi’s Summary

From 1960 – 1963
National Defence Academy, Khadakwasla,Pune.
1964 Air Force Flying College, Jodhpur and Allahabad
1964 – 1972 Served in the Indian Air Force
1972 – 1974 Instructor Air Force Training Team at NDA
1965 – 1971 Participated in the Indo-Pak war
Suresh Kalmadi’s Specialties:

Indian Air Force Pilot, Instructor Air Force Training team at NDA, Participated in the Indo-Pak war.
Recipient of eight medals in his career with IAF
Suresh Kalmadi’s Experience

Candidate of Indian National Congress from Pune
Lok Sabha Elections

(Government Administration industry)

2009 — Present (1 year )

President
Indian Olympic Association (IOA)

1996 — Present (14 years )

President, Indian Olympic Association (IOA) – 1996 to 2004
Reelected un opposed – 2004 to 2008
Reelected un opposed – 2008 to 2012
President, Asian Athletics Association (AAA) – 2001 till date
President, Athletics Federation of India (AFI) –1989 – 2006
Life President Athletics Federation of India 2006 onwards
Council Member, International Association of Athletic Federations – 2001 till date
Chairman – Afro – Asian Games, Hyderabad – 2003
Member, Defence Consultative Committee,Member, Standing Committee on Defence
Member of Parliament

2004 — 2009 (5 years )

Member of Parliament
Rajya Sabha

1998 — 2004 (6 years )

Minister of State for Railways,
Government of India

1995 — 1996 (1 year )

Presented a Railway Budget in the Parliament.
The only Union Railway Minister of State to present Railway Budget in the Parliament
Member of Parliament
Rajya Sabha

1988 — 1995 (7 years )

Chairman
Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation

1988 — 1989 (1 year )

Member of Parliament
Rajya Sabha

1982 — 1988 (6 years )

President
Maharashtra Pradesh Youth Congress

January 1978 — December 1980 (3 years )

Suresh Kalmadi’s Education

Fergusson College

1950 — 2009
St. Vincent High School, Pune

arre wah! defence kamite mein bhi hai kya?
phir to bahut kamayega!

I have a feeling MMS will appoint the Yuvraj as the 11th hr CCS approved czar to make sure stuff happens, 'straight shooter', 'ask the tough questions', 'manage the war room' kind of role, CNN/NDTV will broadcast him live following his movements and like patton atop his sherman tank will be projected as
the can-do yuva neta who 'delivered'

what better opportunity to polish his credentials more right?

Singha - whilst its highly plausible, given the late hour, he might not want to touch it with a bargepole
probably they'll salvage something reasonable and the games will splutter through, dixit may well be a casualty, right now she is reported to be jhaRu maroing the village with 1000 helpers. He may well be waiting to become the mr infrastructure fix it post games - which if he succeeds in will certainly get my appreciation

there is increasing political pressure from gora governments on their atheletes to get with the programme, or else Glasgow is in for the high jump

quite a few of the athletes have said, lets get on with it we've been training too hard not to, Kuala Lumpur had problems, Athens had problems, everyone winged about Beijing and South Africa about the world cup and it all kind of worked out ok

only the big stars are shying away (but they are probably relieved to not be risking any injury for a less important medal)

indeed. he could have timed his attack run maybe 2 weeks ago to leave enough manouver space. now its too late - scapegoats and fall guys need to be found.
Dixit madam is probably quite sincere - a sure recipe to be punished severely by the real shadowy criminal politicians behind the mess.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

Sachin wrote:The catch here is that, every body knew when the common wealth games would begin. What such things tells the world is that we (Indians) are bad in planning. Athletes are already falling in, while the accomodations are not yet ready.
I would tend to believe that "delay" is not an Indian invention. I am sure several of us have worked on many major prestigious projects running into millions or even billions of dollars in various parts of the world. I am sure all, if not most of us, have seen delays of varying magnitude. Here such a mega event is being planned and implemented for the first time (of this scale) in India. Delays are not surprising to me. If we do enough research then we will find out stories of delays, lethargy, lack of coordination, corruption in almost all major events in the world.

Criticism is warranted and people should be held accountable/responsible. But what I am seeing is lynching mentality from both the media and general public. The general opinion seems to be "Disown the games", "feeling ashamed of being an Indian" (not necessarily in BR), "hoping this to be a monumental failure". "happy that it sucks", This is shocking to me.

I may be in the minority. I am proud of CWG and I want the organizers to overcome the hurdles and showcase the capabilities of India well. I wish them and the atheletes the very best.
Last edited by rgsrini on 23 Sep 2010 20:46, edited 1 time in total.

A few comments.

- Despite the rage at the corruption of the organisers of the CWG, one should never ever hope the games fail
- The games should be made successful with wathever is required to accomplish that
- The corupt organizers can be taken care later
- Cabinet Secy K.M. Chandrasekhar was told to take charge by M M(issing) Singh
- Poetic justice that Chandrasekhar promptly put Shiela Aunty in charge of clean-up including the toilets.

Amit, Tony is a PRC supporter.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

BREAKING NEWS: Suresh Kalmadi attempted to hang himself this morning at the Games Village...

But the ceiling collapsed!!

Geeth,

I hope you and others here realise that this exactly the same attitude which had, a few years ago, another bunch of Indians rubbing their hands in glee when Modi was denied a visa to the US. At that point of time those idiots didn't pause to consider that what the US action amounted to was that an elected Chief Minister of a state and major figure in a National Party was denied a visa by the US government. It was a slap on India more than it was on Modi personally - especially since the US routinely gives visas to all manner of dictators and mass murderers.
That includes you..I don't know your involvement in politics, but to me it appears that you behave like a politician and your crocodile tears for Modi is not convincing to me. Pls do not respond to my post - I am not interested in replying to you.
SureshP

Post by SureshP »

A stormy meeting rocks OC office

All is not well inside the Commonwealth Games Organising Committee office on Jai Singh Road. With each passing day the meetings are getting stormier as was apparent at an executive board meeting on Tuesday, which ended up as a verbal duel between chairman Suresh Kalmadi and Commonwealth Games Federation CEO Mike Hooper.

Kalmadi demanded an explanation from Hooper on going public with the problems in the Games Village. A day earlier, Hooper had told the media claiming that the Village is not ‘livable’, even as Games Federation president Mike Fennell shot off a letter to the Cabinet Secretary saying the Games village is filthy and a matter of concern.

According to sources, unfazed by Kalmadi’s questioning, Hooper retorted: “Do not raise your voice.” To this Kalmadi replied, “I am not the one who is raising his voice, it is you who is going around complaining.” Kalmadi’s reasoning being that while the Organising Committee and senior Indian bureaucrats were going around fire-fighting, Hooper was calling the Games Village “unlivable and filthy” in front of the media.

Meanwhile, executive board member Vijay Kumar Malhotra sought details of the opening and closing ceremonies. As OC vice-chairman Randhir Singh started giving details of the ceremonies, calling all facilities were world class, Hooper reportedly interjected saying “the truth is completely contradictory”.

At the two-hour meeting, the members also held discussions on who will finally declare the Games open. According to the constitution of the Commonwealth Games, “The Queen or her representative” is on top of the protocol list and is the person who declares the Games open by reading out the message on the baton. While President Pratibha Singh Patil is expected to be present during the opening ceremony of the Games, the executive board could not arrive at a conclusive decision on who will do the honours.

As if the negativity in the room was not enough, Kalmadi received a note informing him about the collapse of the foot overbridge near the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, which he promptly announced in front of the board. Incidentally, no government representative in the executive board, including Chief Secretary Rakesh Mehta and Urban Development Secretary Naveen Kumar, were present.
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/a-sto ... e/686414/0

I don't know whats disgusting , Kalmadi and co and the utter shambles they have delivered, or to have to read BR accolites whining on and on about which political party and politician did what to whom. DONCHEA GET IT, NO ONE IN THE EFFING WORLD CARES OR ARE IN THE LEAST BIT INTERESTED. This is India's bag full of dog doo, and ALL Indians are carrying it as far as the rest of the world is concerned. Salvage what can be salvaged, TOGETHER, and follow up with a credible inquest after the games. It should be all hands to the pump for the next few days.

This thread should be concentrating on information and hard facts, not personal political opinions which are a 100 to a rupee.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Indian players voice concern over Commonwealth Games
http://sify.com/sports/indian-players-v ... gbicj.html

While some people in the government work very hard to develop the site and building there are a few folks such Kalmadi and others are making India to be mocked. This exposes our culture of corruption and culture of politics. Congress is trying to defend a few folks here. All who are responsible should not only be fired but also put in prison if there are evidence of cheating the government. Intelligence should make full report on who are all responsible and bring them out to the public and thus make them responsible for their corruptive actions and particularly pulling India down.

Re:

Many here are preaching that CWG must not fail because Incredible India and all her citizens will be labelled as incompetent. We are further advised that Outsiders will not differentiate this as a UPA or NDA failure. Yet these same folks slice and dice the current mismanagement. They are ever eager to apportion all the blame to single indviduals like Mr. Mani Shankar Aiyer or Mr. Suresh Kalmadi or even Mrs. Shiela Dixit (some of these modern civilized elites are even ready to hang these people like the Taliban did in Kabul). Not one of these indviduals however wants to utter a single word against the political party in power for the last 6 years and its high command who appointed such bumbling corrupt people to the top jobs.

BTW anyone aligned to the political right in India has already been maligned as Hindu Fascists in the eyes of outsiders by these same people who rule India today. Another snafu like the CWG games would only register as eye shadow to such muddy faced Indians. The real fun for such maligned Indians will be when the rest of the white kurta/saville row suited folks are also castigated by their westetrn peers. We would like them share in our discomfort too. These games will do exactly that and not much more damage. Will a pan stained toilet really stop a Boeing executive from shuttling to India to sell his latest wares?

In a past company, we had a trouble making bitch. Whenever she had trouble with the management, she would come back to the team and incite us to resist the 'dictats' of the 'management'. Things got so bad that the team had to be wound up.

What I am saying is that the biggest trouble makers are also the one who talk most about 'teamwork', being of one mind, sticking together, etc.

F... all to that. If somebody made money from these games, then they need to be punished. We are so proud of our democracy, let at least the democratic process be carried out - at least one thing should work in this country.

At any rate it was MK Bhadrakumar, contributor to the anti-Hindu rag The Hindu, who said that bringing these games to the country was the work of the Hindu Nationalist BJP.

Salvage what can be salvaged, TOGETHER, and follow up with a credible inquest after the games.
OK. Name one neta or babu or any card carrying NBJRIE member who has ever, ever been held to account by the MMS administration?

Sure, I understand that that's no reason to temper preachiness and exhortations with a gun to India's H&D.

Anyway, its not about what I want or don;t want. Its about reality taking a life of its own out there.

I agree that we should stick to 'just the facts, ma'm'. Opinions tend to produce more heat than light.

Re:

SureshP wrote:I don't know whats disgusting , Kalmadi and co and the utter shambles they have delivered, or to have to read BR accolites whining on and on about which political party and politician did what to whom. DONCHEA GET IT, NO ONE IN THE EFFING WORLD CARES OR ARE IN THE LEAST BIT INTERESTED. This is India's bag full of dog doo, and ALL Indians are carrying it as far as the rest of the world is concerned. Salvage what can be salvaged, TOGETHER, and follow up with a credible inquest after the games. It should be all hands to the pump for the next few days.

This thread should be concentrating on information and hard facts, not personal political opinions which are a 100 to a rupee.
Let me break it down for all concerned.

The country has been run by a "Foreign Log Kya Kahenge" syndrome for the past 10 years (yes yes CENSORED-party was also guilty of it and it suffered due to this) and this has resulted in nothing but deterioration of our government institutions. Those concerned about India's image abroad should also ponder what about our own standards within the country. And the level of discourse within the country.

1) Nobody hems and haws when domestic political expediency destroys reputations of people, organizations and institutions by alleging grievous religion based terror slurs? It does impact our international credibility or no?

2) Our armed forces are made monsters out of but none are outraged? Is'nt it demenaning internationally?

3) None bothered from the "abroad-itis" class when entire lower middle class of India took to streets against inflation. Instead we had folks complaining of the "inconvenience" caused due to delayed travel schedule. India is divided and badly so, it helps to face the divisions head on and reconcile various opinions.

CWG fiasco hits the neo-rich urban classes squarely in the solar plexis. There is a big section of India that is already demonized, condemned, persecuted and tarred beyond recognition. They do not care nor have anything to do with abroad-itis class. How do we plan to restore those burnt bridges? It all depends on evolving a national consensus, without it will all be shameless political posturing.

abhischekcc wrote:At any rate it was MK Bhadrakumar, contributor to the anti-Hindu rag The Hindu, who said that bringing these games to the country was the work of the Hindu Nationalist BJP.
Dear oh dear and so it begins!

Mike Fennel tried to meet MMS , was directed to meet Cabinet Secretary Thiru Chandrashekhar.

fennel does not need to meet the PM
meanwhile this thread is now focusing on blame and punishment, instead of solution and success
time to call in dr shiv for some SDRE piskology

Lalmohan wrote:fennel does not need to meet the PM
meanwhile this thread is now focusing on blame and punishment, instead of solution and success
time to call in dr shiv for some SDRE piskology
Sirjee solution and success can only come when we have the correct diagnosis of the problem. Piskological studies will only deflect attention. Why should aam aadmi not blame and seek punishement from the ones who promised but failed to deliver?
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

meanwhile this thread is now focusing on blame and punishment
My mom was visiting me in the US and I had setup SunTV for her entertainment. I was nauseated by the emotions (and the dialogue) shown in the soap opera. I thought the reactions of the characters for any "cheap" emotional situations were over the top, their emotions (besides their acting, good "show energy" they say) were not in proportion to the situation, the focus and the priorities were inappropriate, and argued that it was nothing closer to the normal behaviour of humanbeings. But I may have to reconsider my opinion based on the reactions here and elsewhere in the media. I guess humans do behave as crass as Bollywood(what ever that means) movies and soap operas.

fennel does not need to meet the PM
time to call in dr shiv forp some SDRE iskology
Piskology or no Piskology, the game is allready a failure and there is no solution to it. May be the "weakest PM" with able support from Pronoy Roy, ToIlet, India yesterday and our great man from CNN-IBN may declare it a Grand success - But success is there for all to see - not only Indians, the whole world.

one of the issues that is emerging is that there was no single accountability in resolving issues which allowed things to drift as they wandered between ministries. I would imagine that this has happened because the decision making was devolved to Delhi government, but with some decisions left to other agencies and ministries with no one pulling it together. In a sense this mirrors what happens in India overall for governance with all the loopholes for siphohing off funds in between. I don't think it particularly matters which party is in charge, politicians are in a system where they can promote themselves through the appearance of action but without the delivery of results - regardless of party.

Bijushet-ji, i have no political axe to grind, my annoyance is that we get upset if foreigners point out that we are sitting on a pile of cr*p but don't appear to care that we ourselves are sitting on a pile of cr*p. we are like that onlee? i don't see why we have to be that way? why can't we set ourselves meaningful, useful targets of development? things that actually make sense like sewage works, clean water, etc.? the CWG build up SHOULD HAVE fundamentally addressed some of these issues for the city of Delhi.

even if our facilities were squeaky clean, foreigners would find something to complain about, but that does not mean we shouldn't strive for the best for ourselves - but no, we fall back on the "oh these are Indian standards" arguement - which is no different to what bhanot has done.

i sincerely hope that the games are a success, it will restore some h&d back to india's image in the world - which has taken a beating and a lot of ridicule in the past week. this undermines confidence in the country from many aspects, not least for continued global trading and investment. it delays the long journey, which frankly we can ill afford

chaanakya wrote:Mike Fennel tried to meet MMS , was directed to meet Cabinet Secretary Thiru Chandrashekhar.

fennel would have taken secret photos and gone to town on the state of toilets in 7RCR.

What gall for a 2 bit gora babu to even try for such a meeting.

Singha wrote:looking at the BBC pix the quality of the tiles and fittings looks top notch and at par with expensive flats here. but nobody seems to have cleaned or monitored them for months to arrive at this sorry state. paan chewing labour seems to have had a nice time doing thoo thoo and susu both.
few builders if any provide wall mounted hidden toilet cisterns due to the extra cost.

bingo! That is the first thing that went through my mind. Sans paan-marks, that is a serious loo, worthy of a Paris Hilton to rest her tattered O-rings or snort a line. Any one remember the rather over the top spoof movie, "Not Another Teen Movie"? The football jocks trying to find a challenging ugly girl to be turned into prom queen and the hot heroine walks in? "She's got glasses, pony tail...... paint on her dress. No way she can become Prom Queen" :D

CT: That story looked like a leaked one for a Bolly-Holly ending of "ugly dame turning into princesses overnight". Some white knight might have supposed to have galloped in and swished those paan-marks away and lo-behold, a decent Games Village. Same with roofing issues. None of these issues are showstoppers. A second media leak of the white knight in action would have come out, with Pink Chaddis types observing "National Wet day" etc. Cynic that I am, these media games would have been there if any party is in power, as these are standard tactics of politics all over the world.

But that bridge collapse, that might have caused the plan to get affected. And sadly, some Indians are in hospital.

Anyways, the sooner these anachronistic entertainment options (aka International Sporting events) gets over, the better. Money is not being made by India in a sustainable way from these gigs.

Mike Fenell

he is from Jamaica and certainly looks to be of mixed race
the Jamaican newspapers have expressed their confidence that the games will go ahead and be a success
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

even if our facilities were squeaky clean, foreigners would find something to complain about
LalMohanji,
Where is the need for foreign criticism, when we hold the ultimate expertise for criticising others.

Here is what my brother wrote in one of the magazines 20 years back.
If India takes a big initiative like noon-meal scheme, then the wagging tongue will say. "What is the big deal in providing food for the poor children? Everyone is sending rockets to the moon and what is there to be proud about cooking food "
When India sends a rocket to the moon, then the very same wagging tongue will say. "What is the need to send a rocket to the moon? We have so many poor and filth around us. We need to fix that first, before thinking about sending rockets to the moon. Horrible priorities!"
The doers will continue to do and the wagging tongue will continue to wag. I only wish there are more doers.
I think he was pretty accurate... forget the variety of huge stadiums, the multitude of buildings, the improvement in hotel capacity, the airport improvements, the roads, the bridges, the entertainment, the buses, the metro connectivity, the invitations, the soft skills etc.. Let us concentrate all our energies on the corrupt officials, pan stains, broken foot path of incomplete buildings right before the game starts (sarcasm, in case you don't get it)

We will ofcourse have the right to be proud about the whole thing, if it succeeds. If it fails, let the f.ing "X" be lynched.

Lalmohan wrote:...
Bijushet-ji, i have no political axe to grind, my annoyance is that we get upset if foreigners point out that we are sitting on a pile of cr*p but don't appear to care that we ourselves are sitting on a pile of cr*p. we are like that onlee? i don't see why we have to be that way? why can't we set ourselves meaningful, useful targets of development? things that actually make sense like sewage works, clean water, etc.? the CWG build up SHOULD HAVE fundamentally addressed some of these issues for the city of Delhi.
Sirjee there in lies the problem. Maybe you should have an axe to grind with the current GoI. The mainstream media in India certainly does not criticize any of the misguided policy decisions or the divide and rule politics going on in India. If educated individuals such as yourself also shuns from their responisbility of constructive criticism of the UPA govt then why would they not assume that its all Jai Ho praise for themselves.
Lalmohan wrote:i sincerely hope that the games are a success, it will restore some h&d back to india's image in the world - which has taken a beating and a lot of ridicule in the past week. this undermines confidence in the country from many aspects, not least for continued global trading and investment. it delays the long journey, which frankly we can ill afford
Pray tell whose policies have brought shame to India's h&d in the last few weeks. The govt of the day came to power on the promises of serving the aam aadmi yet look at the inflation, lack of security and corruption going on in the country. Who is responsible for this mess? Why are people not blaming the party leadership that made these promises and appointed these incompetent and corrupt people to important positions. Last I heard there is a Communal & Sectarian Violence Bill being drafted and I would strongly advice folks to have look at the drafting committee and Advisory Group Members of this bill. Show me a more partisan grouping and then tell me we all are together and united in this mess of a country.

I articulated what I thought the governance issue was, both party blocs have so far shown that they are happy with that system, its upto everyone to call their MP and give them a piece of their mind, its up to everyone to voice their opinions to the media

either the big parties need to reform, or a new party needs to come into being. its not like political corruption is uniquely an indian problem, others have dealt with it and many have come through to a better place

i would hazard a guess that most of the siphoning off happens to gather election funds and in the process pockets get lined...?
sourab_c

Post by sourab_c »

Some of the "unfinished" facilities in the games village were designated as out of bounds to the media, but BBC still managed to get in and take photographs. BBC is now projecting those pictures all over the world on their website.

Does this not call for a legal action against the BBC?

BBC is not an Indian corporation to be vulnerable to INC pressure tactics like that used against Hari Prasad (the person who exposed the EVMs).

Lalmohan wrote:either the big parties need to reform, or a new party needs to come into being. its not like political corruption is uniquely an indian problem, others have dealt with it and many have come through to a better place
A new party is unlikely to succeed because it eventually gets corrupted by the existing system. Probably the Maoist type initiatives have a better chance as they want to bring in a new constitution.

Friendly reminder: We are getting derailed here.

India should never be in this colonial setup called Commonwealth.

This is how it all started at the Grand Finale of Melbourne 2006 where Delhi took over the Flag of CWG for Delhi 2010. You can see Chairman of OC Mr Kalnadi and CM of Delhi Ms Sheila Dixit . CM is holding the flag proudly.

India put up a dazzling display ( I had watched it on TV then) and it showcased what India can achieve.
SO friends , Peace be there.
No doubt there are glitches and hiccups, but let us not have a doubt that Games would be successful. I have shown my share of concerns and others have shown too. The time is past for all that. I think self loathing as Indians would do us no good. The whole thing would not depend on few.Lets have faith in actual organisation of CWG when games are on. It would be grand, I have not even an iota of doubt. Issues thrown up the way things moved could be discussed threadbare after the games and we would have benefit of knowing how much vested interests were there in showing only bad spots. Personally I did not like the Times Now's the evangelical and predatory approach to the problem, esp Arnab who perhaps thinks that he is the only high moral god of this country upholding highest standards.

Meanwhile cheer up and watch mesmerising photos of Grand finale display put up by India. Same will be there at New Delhi.
http://www.melbourne2006.com.au/M2006/H ... i+2010.htm
The host of the 2010 Games, Delhi, staged a stunning showcase of Indian culture at the Closing Ceremony, showcasing its plans for the 19th Commonwealth Games.

Delhi 2010 will be a fantastic opportunity to bring the Commonwealth Games to a new generation of fans. India has a population of over 1 billion, of which half are under the age of 25.

India's fantastic contribution to the evening started with the sounds of shankhs and chimes filling the MCG, as giant video screens displayed images of India - a nation of diverse cultures, magnificent landscapes and a rich heritage.

Dancer Isha Sharwani treated the packed stadium to a yoga-inspired dance, as dancers with petals formed a rose which opened to reveal India's Miss World, Aishwarya Rai.

Bollywood superstar Rai began her career as a model and was crowned Miss World in 1994, before starting a hugely successful film career.

Bollywood - the informal name given to the hugely popular Mumbai-based film industry - is a significant part of the popular culture of not only India but also the Middle East, parts of Africa and south-east Asia. The output of the Indian film industry is the largest in the world in terms of number of films produced and audience tickets sold.

The Indian extravaganza continued with golden rays unfurling all around the stage to represent the sun in all its glory, as monuments of India and Delhi were projected onto the main stage.

A high-energy Bhangra performance followed - a lively form of north Indian folk music and dance - featuring Saif Ali Khan, Rani Mukherjee and hundreds of brightly costumed dancers.

As a grand finale, the theme song for Delhi 2010 was performed by some of India’s finest singers including Sonu Nigam, Shiamak Davar, Sunidhi Chauhan and Shreya Ghoshal, before the MCG erupted in a dramatic pyrotechnics display, featuring the three colours of the Indian flag - saffron, white and green.

Nameste! See you in Delhi 2010! Swagatam!

SwamyG garu,

Is that the reason why we should fail at CWG???

RamaY wrote:SwamyG garu,

Is that the reason why we should fail at CWG???
There is no justification for any INDIAN to hope or wish that the CWG should fail.

I do not count MSA as an Indian, born as he was in pakiland.
That in itself is a good reason for him to wish India bad things. I don't care a toss for his justifications or explanations.

This disgraceful public result of an unsuccessful abortion should never been elected or nominated to the parliament. People responsible for this monstrosity polluting the Indian parliament should be banned from public life.
Last edited by chetak on 23 Sep 2010 23:49, edited 1 time in total.

RamaY: Did I say that or even imply that anywhere? {and I am waiting for your reply in the 'other' thread}

Added: Chetak mian: Please hold on to your arrows and horses, will ya?

SwamyG wrote:RamaY: Did I say that or even imply that anywhere? {and I am waiting for your reply in the 'other' thread}

Added: Chetak mian: Please hold on to your arrows and horses, will ya?
Not aimed at you saar. You well know that.