Should HH The Dalai Lama be elected India's next President?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Should His Highness The Dalai Lama be elected India's next President?

Poll ended at 24 Jul 2012 21:03

Yes
58%
No
42%

Total votes: 154

Re: Should HH The Dalai Lama be elected India's next Preside

Altair wrote: Can we not consider Abdul Hamid Khan,the chairman of BNF as Vice-President of India?
Maharaja of J&K has already given IOA to India and I think that includes area GB. So what more could he offer? He could become CM if GB is declared state carved out of J&K when GOI, hopefully and eventually , control POK.That should offer him enough motivation to keep PA busy. I don't know if GOI has given any overt or covert support to him.

HA, the VP , is doing fine so far.

naren wrote:IMO, HHDL has done best with whatever available resources He had.
Which is zilch.
He isnt any superman. Hailing from a remote cut off part of the world and a refugee, He has indeed done a great job so far.
Like what?
Rather than siding with Shugden and dissing Him, I would rather blame it on our own govt for all the failed policies. India must have done something for Tibet - WE failed them.
Yeah right, let us blame India for the plight of Tibet. Simply great.

Chinese Panchen Lama
Though he is not recognized by the Dalai Lama and the Tibetans, Beijing has begun to use 'their' Panchen Lama full swing. It is a way to prepare the 'succession' of the Dalai Lama. He will probably soon start to travel abroad in 'safe' countries. It is sad that the Singaporean Foreign Minister accepted to play Beijing's small game.
During the meeting, Yeo invited the 11th Panchen Lama to visit Singapore in his capacity of a CPPCC member, and the Buddhist community also welcome him for religious practice.The Panchen Lama accepted the invitation happily.
george yeo is a singapore chinese politician.Yeo is married to lawyer Jennifer Yeo Lai Peng and he is also the uncle of Chinese American actress Gwendoline Yeo. Yeo has taken an important role in restarting the ancient Buddhist university, Nalanda University, in Bihar, India.

If ever the proposal of this thread is accepted, India should become very vocal in demanding the release of the other Panchen Lama.

Voyed yes. Great Idea indeed. HH represents the INdic idea well.
naren

Post by naren »

SwamyG wrote:
naren wrote:IMO, HHDL has done best with whatever available resources He had.
Which is zilch.
Not true. There were others - the ones who collaborated with CIA & engaged in insurgency pre-Nixon era and the Tibetan Youth Congress. None of them have made anything better. What about the 2008 rioters ? What have they achieved ? Thanks to them, the number of refugees who escape to India dropped from about 3000-5000 to about 800.
He isnt any superman. Hailing from a remote cut off part of the world and a refugee, He has indeed done a great job so far.
Like what?
The very fact that we are discussing this issue here. How much attention does Xinjiang & Inner Mongolia get in comparison to Tibet ? In hard power area, HHDL & co are a failure. Heck, even India is a failure - we let them control Aksai Chin and GB. Very successful in soft power - in popularizing Tibetan Buddhism, Tibetan cause & Tibetan culture. What about the creation of democracy for Tibetan leadership ?
Rather than siding with Shugden and dissing Him, I would rather blame it on our own govt for all the failed policies. India must have done something for Tibet - WE failed them.
Yeah right, let us blame India for the plight of Tibet. Simply great.
I heard this once - takeover of Tibet happened with the full blessings of UK/US & JLN. This was to prevent USSR, the bigger threat at that point, from usurping Tibet. I dont know how far this is true. But India's policy vis-a-vis Tibet has been an epic failure for the past six decades. First it was the "hindi chini bhai bhai" - commies royally phucked us in '62. Now we have "one China policy". The industrial activity in Tibet is accelerating the global warming. HHDL and co have constantly warned us about this. We havent done shiite. Lives of 400 million Indian citizens are at stake. Add to that the occupation of parts of Kashmir and demand for "South Tibet". :roll: And any blame on our policies will invite jeehaard. Simply great indeed.

As for the "plight" of Tibet, was it solely HHDL's fault ? what do you expect ? Their population is 6 Million. PLA's "human wave" is 2 million. The ones who could back them up were busy singing "bhai bhai". Do you seriously think they had a chance ?

What have they achieved ?
Just because others have not achieved anything does not automatically mean DL achieved something. So you are happy with status quo?
The very fact that we are discussing this issue here. How much attention does Xinjiang & Inner Mongolia get in comparison to Tibet ?
We at BRF discuss a whole lot, it does not mean everything has some real life impact. Xinjiang and Inner Mongolia does get attention from India because they have been for long been kept quiet and we have do not have cultural association as much as we have with Tibet.
HHDL and co have constantly warned us about this. We havent done shiite.
Really, what do you propose we did in the past and now? Launch a war with China? For crying out loud, we do not even attack Pakistan.
As for the "plight" of Tibet, was it solely HHDL's fault ?
Did I say or imply that? So you are okay in blaming India but do not want to apportion blame to Tibet and its leaders. Tibet region used to be PITA to China once upon a time. They were great warriors. I know some of the parties like VHP etc blame JLN for what happened back then. Some of JLN's detractors would point out Sardar Patel's lettres as well. I do not say they do not have any merit, but the 1950 letter from the great visionary and statesman - Patel - is warning note on how India should take the Chinese threat seriously. The "disappearance of Tibet" is almost accepted. Well we can blame India for so many other things, letting Srilanka, Nepal and Burma to slip out of the influence too. Were mistakes made, sure they are bound to be from leaders and a young country. But that does not shift the onus of entire Tibet on India and the West. It is like a rowdy entering a house looting and raping that family, and we blame the neighbors for letting it happen. Hello, what were the family members doing?
naren

Post by naren »

SwamyG wrote: Just because others have not achieved anything does not automatically mean DL achieved something. So you are happy with status quo?
I'm not happy with the status quo - that does not automatically mean that HHDL has to be solely blamed. My earlier point was that people have tried different "solutions" - none of them worked either. The problem is more complicated. Its naive just to single out one person. I personally dont subscribe in having a binary world view. I analyze what HHDL has done, with the options He had and I'd say that He has done well compared to others.
We at BRF discuss a whole lot, it does not mean everything has some real life impact. Xinjiang and Inner Mongolia does get attention from India because they have been for long been kept quiet and we have do not have cultural association as much as we have with Tibet.
ok, I should have been more clear - Tibet gets much more attention from the world media than Xinjiang/Inner Mongolia.
Really, what do you propose we did in the past and now? Launch a war with China? For crying out loud, we do not even attack Pakistan.
My question is, HHDL has worked towards creating awareness about the issue - why has that awareness not translated into policies ? Why single out HHDL ?
But that does not shift the onus of entire Tibet on India and the West.
So how much %age of blame would you allot to HHDL ? So far the impression I'm getting is 100%. As if, if He just hears us out & implements what we say, things will change overnight.

naren saar: Getting attention is only half the thingie. Srilankan tamilians have been attracting attention for how long? Decades and decades after they took up arms. Their movement was hijacked and eventually they were all defeated. You are from TN, and you know how these Dravidian goons are, in spite of such political parties and India's "adventures" nothing effectively was done.

I am not blaming DL, I am saying he has not done enough for the attention he personally gets. I have not, yet, said that Tibet is where it is because of DL :-). You must have noticed, I did not start this poll or thread to bash him up. All I am saying is "nope, he has not done enough for the adoration the World bestows upon him". That is not blaming or singling him out.

Do you agree Tibet has the primary onus on what it does for its people? And India's role can be from strategic and humanitarian reasons.
naren

Post by naren »

SwamyG wrote:All I am saying is "nope, he has not done enough for the adoration the World bestows upon him".
SwamyG saar,

Without the facts, thats an opinion. Its best to agree to disagree, unless you want to show what are all the choices He faced and how He could have done better.
Do you agree Tibet has the primary onus on what it does for its people? And India's role can be from strategic and humanitarian reasons.
Ofcourse.

I guess both of us are emotionally looking at this issue. I'm POed because it was within our power to help them & we failed (just as we failed SL tamils). A little thing we, as individuals, can do is to make noises in BRF and hope GOI hears it. Thats all I'm trying to do.

I'm not a fan of Buddhist ahimsa either (& its modern day reincarnation - Gandhianism). I've said that before too on this thread. The events were predicted during the time of 13th HHDL. The current one lamented that they did not act upon it and then asked whats the use of worrying over the past. As far as I can see, HHDL is very practical & reasonable. He doesnt shun away from any particular reasoning. For e.g, He has justified his conviction in "middle path approach" by contrasting with all the alternate scenarios - like collaborating with CIA, smuggling in weapons, guerilla ops etc. In fact He did make some progress in '79 post Mao, where the HHDL's delegation toured Tibet for the first time since '59. But then things went downhill later.
naren

Post by naren »

Our future brejident teaches levitation taknik. :twisted:

No, I am not emotionally looking at the issue. For me it boils down to India's strategy or lack of it. Did India (or its leaders) make blunders. Possibly. I would not discount that, heck I believe India should have fought diplomatically hard to keep Burma, Nepal, Srilanka and Bhutan inside Indian Union. When BD split, I think India should have kept Chittagong at least :-)) And yes, I give that India should have done more for Tibet too. Now the big question is "Could India done any better or is it all hindsight?" Only knowledgeable people can tell that.

Noises in BRF that GoI hears? LoL. Even if we send a deputation to GoI and have a chai-biskoot session, what is it going to do?

The onus is on the group that says DL has done something. I am saying show me what he has done.

SAARC was meant to be the vehicle for better cooperation between the nations of the sub-continent.However,"SAARC" sounds too much like "Shark" and if one believes in such mystic sciences,the acronym sounding like that terrifying creature the "shark",is a recipe for disaster.

What instead should be promoted is a confederation of the states of the sub-continent/S.Asian/IOR region to include Burma,Afghanistan,Mauritius,Seychelles,etc,based upon an "economic union",not a political one as in the EU-when it started at least as the "European Common Market",so that economic ties which spur growth between the nations concerned,eventually lead to better political ties.A forum similar to that of ASEAN for the sub-continent/IOR is what is needed.

HH the DL's latest statement that he "would go to Tibet.even on a Chinese passport",is a dampener to this thread,but stems from the fact that the GOI has done prcious little for the aspirations of the Tibetan diaspora other than giving them the status of "refuges".This is a demeaning stae of affairs.The Tibetans and India should become part of a strong "union",just Bhutan is,where India protects them physically allowing full freedom for them to run their own internal affairs.If the GOI approaches HH the DL with this long term visionary plan,it wil seal the strategy for dealing with China and saving Tibet for the Tibetans in the long run,an event that strengthens India and its interests ultimately.

You guys want this man for Pres?
From today's TOI

One can't say whether HH DL is acting upon some 'recommendations' of some Indian politicians, who have come under pressure from the Chinese or of his own volition.

^ such vulnerability even if acting under duress should be summary disqualification for the post of president of India.
sarkar

Post by sarkar »

Not good yaar !
He is a spiritual leader. He is an icon of peace.
Imagine him being the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.. quite bizarre !

Anyway if we do it then it will surely bring earthquake in Chinkistan.

JwalaMukhi wrote:^ such vulnerability even if acting under duress should be summary disqualification for the post of president of India.
That vulnerability is based on his guest status in India, and not necessarily one of his character.

sarkar wrote:Not good yaar !
He is a spiritual leader. He is an icon of peace.
Imagine him being the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.. quite bizarre !

Anyway if we do it then it will surely bring earthquake in Chinkistan.
Dalai Lama is both the Spiritual Head of Tibetan Buddhism, but also Political Head of Tibet and Tibetans. As political head, he is aware of the necessities of defense and security, especially so being on the wrong end of its outcome.

chaanakya wrote:
Altair wrote: Can we not consider Abdul Hamid Khan,the chairman of BNF as Vice-President of India?
Maharaja of J&K has already given IOA to India and I think that includes area GB. So what more could he offer? He could become CM if GB is declared state carved out of J&K when GOI, hopefully and eventually , control POK.That should offer him enough motivation to keep PA busy. I don't know if GOI has given any overt or covert support to him.

HA, the VP , is doing fine so far.
Just a prank... can't hold it :mrgreen:

[Sarc]
We need to be careful about where we draw Laxman Rekha on this kind of issues. Soon we will be getting ideas like "why don't we all covert and make king of KSA as our president? We will hold the entire land mass from Indonesia to Turkey?"

[/Sarc]

Tibet reports fastest population growth in China dated sept 7 2010.
Tibet's population has grown about 140 percent in five decades, the fastest population growth rate anywhere in China, the regional government said Tuesday.
Tibet had 2.9 million permanent residents at the end of last year compared with 1.228 million in 1959, according to an official document released at a seminar on Tibet's demographics held in the capital city of the Tibet Autonomous Region.
In the last decade, Tibet's population has been growing at a rate of 1 percent per year, higher than the national average of about 0.5 percent.
More than 90 percent of Tibet's permanent residents are Tibetans, according to the last national census, conducted in 2000.
does it take almost 10 years to release the data?
Tibet's fast population growth is because Tibetan families are not subject to the nation's one-child policy. some mercy of Tibet
China's family planning policy limits most families in China's inland to one child.
More than 200,000 Tibet residents are aged over 60, about 10 percent of the region's population.
The middle path which is bound to fail, there is some hope among tibetans that it may not be non violent after HHDL rests in peace sometime in future. many younger tibetans are not in favor of middle path.
wonder how India can help these tibetans get freedom from oppression and tyranny of chinese forces. :evil: :twisted:

JwalaMukhi wrote:^ such vulnerability even if acting under duress should be summary disqualification for the post of president of India.
That vulnerability is based on his guest status in India, and not necessarily one of his character.
And his character is what?

Alright. Vulnerability is vulnerability. The cause of vulnerability needs to be remedied, if it can be, before consideration for the post. Post of president of India cannot itself be the remedy. (Surely, India can certainly select someone else who is better suited without any vulnerabilities and deliver.)

Let his status be changed to citizen of India first. Given, the penchant of questioning the citizenship of Vishwanathan Anand by the Indian establishment, that process could be in for a long haul, hopefully within this lifetime.

SwamyG wrote:And his character is what?
I presume, this is a rhetorical question, for if it was seriously posed, I wouldn't know how you would want it answered.

No it is a serious question. Please answer in any way you feel is apt to substantiate your earlier statement.

SwamyG wrote:No it is a serious question. Please answer in any way you feel is apt to substantiate your earlier statement.
If you re-read my statement, you would see, that it needs no substantiation. It merely states that the reason for the alleged vulnerability cannot be attributed to his character with any level of confidence, as the vulnerability can also have its root in his 'guest status' and the associated compulsions.

So his guest status compels him to say he is ready to return to Tibet on Chinese passport? You brought in the word "character" and was wondering why you introduced that instead of just focusing on the circumstances which is reasonable argument to make.

SwamyG wrote:So his guest status compels him to say he is ready to return to Tibet on Chinese passport?
Not compels, but rather COULD be the reason behind his decision.
SwamyG wrote:You brought in the word "character" and was wondering why you introduced that instead of just focusing on the circumstances which is reasonable argument to make.
Only to refute the implicit implication already being made behind the alleged 'vulnerability', that it was one of 'character'.

Fair enough. Thanks for explaining.
TonyMontana

Post by TonyMontana »

This is an interesting thought experiment. I'm facinated by the results of the poll. Just over half of the people voted agrees. I wonder what conclusions can be formed from this thread.
naren

Post by naren »

Budapest Confers Honorary Citizenship to His Holiness the Dalai Lama

We can use this as a precedent to give Him citizenship and then make Him our president :twisted:
naren

Post by naren »

TonyMontana wrote:This is an interesting thought experiment. I'm facinated by the results of the poll. Just over half of the people voted agrees. I wonder what conclusions can be formed from this thread.
45% of BRF posters are Chinese agints :P

/s onlee

naren wrote:Budapest Confers Honorary Citizenship to His Holiness the Dalai Lama

We can use this as a precedent to give Him citizenship and then make Him our president :twisted:
Sorry naren , there is no such class of Honorary Citizens in India. There needs to be a change in the Act to incorporate such ideas.

First of ll, India has to open the question of Tibet. That ould amount to radical departure from stated position of Indian Govt which is that Tibet is part of China and the cultural an political autonomy needs to be ensured by China. We don't accept that India is holding any part of Tibet ( as China say Greater Tibet) . China says it does not accept the IB between India and CHina which was drawn arbitrarily by Britishers In which China was not invited . Tibetans had no authority to conclude any treaty.

Therefore first the status of Tibet needs to be defined by HHDL. It needs to be clearly stated that Tibet comprises only those areas which are under control of China as its province, no endorsement of Greater Tibet. Then he needs to agree for IOA and accepting Citizenship. How this move would be perceived by exiled tibetans and non-exiled ones? Would it enhance the authority of HHDL or erode it it? Would he continue to hold sway over tibetans in the same vein?
We need to find answer to this?

Thereafter, the question of China's reaction to this would have to be answered and how do we counter that?
We can't expect to do this and think China would keep quite. China would be on a massive propaganda blitz to discredit HHDL and try to show India as imerialist expansionist and aggressor. How do we play this when we did not allow Tibetan refugees to demostrate freely during Olympic torch run in delhi. The voice of tibetans have been muted by India for reasons best known to everybody. This itself needs to change.

What happens if China says this is aggression against its territory and moves its forces immediately to border. MOD estimates that China has capability to move large forces within 48 hours. Our forward bases are still building up to counter existing Chinese moves.

Are we ready t commit enough forces to forward bases for a long time to come? If yes then there would be visible signs of such build up.

What about reactions of other countries surrounding , at least, China? We need to explain them and keep them in confidence and build a cooperation treaty esp. Military ones. SO that China is not ale to commit forces by withdrawing from other areas. Our own Naag pash. I don't see India's look east policy being followed very aggressively. On the other side of the border Tajikikista turkmenistan and Ujbekistan needs to be brought into fold very aggressively.

How Western countries would react to it. Would they still iconise HHDL and keep inviting him to bestow awards prizes/ honors. WOuld they still feel comfortable with HHDL.

As nothing comes for free huge amount of money needs to be spent for a long period and develop network to achieve such a simple task.

We have not even developed Military bases/ports in Maledives, Sl and BD, ohh I forgot , our very own A&N Island. Navy itself need to be brought to speed to impose its will in IOR as and when Tibet Card is played up.

Remember, there would be no turning back.

HHDL has enough character and integrity to be a worthy Citizen of India than so many of our citizens. Hell, he would be better President than many of our Rubber stamps or stamptress. But to follow through such a policy massive amount of expenditure, political , administrative and military will has to be committed. May be period of Tienanmen episode would have been a good opening.

One thing I want to make clear that if we leave CCCP/PLA out Indians don't see Ordinary Chinese folks as enemy. So their opinion have to be build up against tibetan occupation.I don't see that happening and we are not helping HHDL either.

This is a good Idea but we must be ready to back the IOA long before it is delivered and prepare accordingly else it would go the way other things usually go in India.

May be India goes ahead with this while professing at the same time eternal friendship with China and intensify engagement.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 47#p947147

This is Chinese version of Nag phansh . We need to find Indian version.

Chaanakya ji,

Good piece.

I think India's stated position should be that after Instrument of Accession of Tibet into India, whole of Tibet belongs to India. India would however pursue peaceful means to convince PRC, that they should let go of Tibet, as the Tibetan people do not accept Chinese as their identity or China as their nation. India's official stance should be - that India does not intend to free Tibet through military means. India's stance is however contingent upon China's own peaceful stance.

As you have said, this policy entails an enormous amount of commitment of resources. But I think, it would be well-used resources, in building up our defenses and military.

Except for CPI-M and INC, I think many political parties can be brought around to seeing this as ultimately in their interest. I also think, that other parties have a better chance of putting pressure on INC on the question of India's stand against PRC. The other parties can push INC to take a tougher stand against PRC, then it has been the case up till now. I think, anti-Americanism is an option of diminishing returns. CPI-M found that out to their shock during the Nuclear Deal politicking.
But there is some potential for anti-Sinicism.

BSP is connected to the Buddhist cause, through its patron-saint B. R. Ambedkar. Samajwadi Party has often stood for nationalist causes - Kashmir being the latest one. TDP's grand old man - NT Rama Rao once got huge statues of Buddha made. BJP would like to espouse the Dharmic cause, especially as Kailash Parbat and Mansarovar lie in Tibet, though they should not make that as their focus. So the possibility of gathering support for the Tibetan Cause is good provided a full script of all that the step entails is made clear.

Chinese propaganda regarding Tibet would fall on deaf years. No great power endorses Chinese occupation of Tibet, but due to lack of alternatives also do not openly dispute it. With India throwing in her hat into the ring, the other countries would see an alternative, and would support Indian position.

In order to win the propaganda war, it is also essential for India to opt for a democratic face-saver. All the Tibetans living outside Tibet should get an opportunity to vote on the issue of accession to India. Should they give it some thought, they will see that that is the only way to preserve their identity and culture from the predatory behavior of the Chinese.

There is a huge sympathy for the Tibetan cause in the West, and HH Dalai Lama is a star. HH DL is in a unique position to address the populations of the West and explain this step to them as essential for saving their culture and tradition. On this issue the Western countries would support the decision of Tibetan people and HH DL but urge caution and restraint. After his term as President, HH DL can proceed to continue with his mission to educate people on Buddhism and Tibetan cause.

Just my opinion! Can't say whether it is all optimism or some realism is also there.

Very correct. However . member who oppose it , don't see the return worth the trouble.

But if this idea gets acceptance then there are several steps that need to be taken.

HHDL and exiled community has to accept it and at the same time keep it secret.
Media and others have to ve converted to this idea as natural and logical coroloray. Tibetans have to be acclematized to the idea of Indianness. In Buddhism we have ready to use bridge to start operating.
It should seem that the Idea has emanated from Tibetan community as they reappraised their long standing geopolitical relations, historical relations, religious relations and found that what they call Tibetan culture is nothing but Indian Culture brought to them by Monks from Viharas ( Bihar). So they are actually Indians , long lost due to treatment of Himalayan Kingdom and Swarga Bhumi and Sacred place by Indians.

Once the idea is wonderfully discovered by them we need to bring our own fractious political parties into fold. Few would chicken out as usual.But majority of Indian would start debating and may be accepting the idea. If this poll is any indicator then there is a fair chance of idea to succeed.

The countries surrounding China and India would have to be brought into this idea. Usual suspects which woul play spoilsports are well known but we could gt majority of them.

This entails building all round relations with them, instead of dithering on indecisively.

Meanwhile things would not get unnoticed by China and it would up the ante via PK, Nepal BD and SL. A clear strategy to deal with these are needed.

BRO needs to make roads and rail links upto border to facilitate easy movement of people and troops.

Western world might be needed to remind of its divine role to protect human rights in xinxiang and elswhere in China from oppressive CCCP. They are also to be reminded that they have sold all their values for few chinese goodies. And if they are Mard enough they should support the idea. Western world may get the Idea but what about their Govts.

We should keep raising this issue in UNO. India should be ready to forgo support of China, if there is any, for Indian Bid to Permanent UNSC seat.

Also need to counter the lure of business opportunity that might get lost. FiCCI, FII CII etc would holler. Media would hoiller. Need to be managed with quite little Brown sarkari envelops. On receipt of these , their balls usually dissolves.

Army, Navy and IA with Missile forces would have to be readied ostensibly in keeping with India's growing economy. What about actually allocating more resources in proportion to GDP.

Diplomatic initiatives have to be undertaken so need to convince MEA Babus as well.

Then need to find/engineer an opening like Tienanmein and follow the rest.

Lets us see how many members are bought into the IDea.

ps: Just by floating this idea in diplomatic community and tibetan minds, Chinese H&D would go for a toss.

chaanakya ji,

I think what Raja Ram is doing is fabulous. He is going out there, holding his lectures and enlightening people who matter to the threat of China. Kudos to him.

A big portion of the Indian Elite has to be sensitized to India's national interests and Chinese modus operandi. This includes political elite, business leaders, and Indian bureaucrats.

All aspects would have to be dealt with simultaneously, all dishes need to be cooked in parallel - military fortification, inspiring the Tibetan community, educating influential Indians to the Chinese threat.

Chaanakya / Rajesh,

Reading what you guys have posted above, I feel that the proposed re-establishment of the Nalanda university will go a long way towards creating the necessary public opinion about Tibet and the Indic cause in Indian Near abroad.

X-posted here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 71#p948371
brihaspati wrote: That is the crux of the question. Your answers will immediately show what you want or don't want to do about Tibet. Or the current Chinese regime.

Tibet must be made independent, or an autonomous region allied to India. That may require a Constitutional amendment but can be done if it becomes necessary to do so. If India needs legitimacy to act on Tibetan soil and on behalf of the Tibetans - then India has to plan for it. It is apart of a comprehensive programme about PRC and PLA and the entire East Asia. The CPC and PLA has to be drawn out into increasing expenditure all around its territories - on both flanks along the mongolian-Turkestan sector as well as SEAsia. The ultimate target is to destroy the CPC and the PLA and give full support to all indigenous Chinese resistance movement against the mafia network of communist party bosses who are practically looting the people and it resources.

We want to see a much territorially shrunk China without its communist party and its communist army, and which follows a open multiparty democracy - and which also systematically tries ex-communists and PLA commanders for their crimes and delegetimizes all communist and PLA legacy and authority.

If Tibet cannot survive as an independent nation we should offer the Tibetans autonomy with Indian Union in all aspects except foreign affairs, defense, and currency.

We should pursue all methods, economic competition, military triggers to increase military expenditure on PLA, constant diplomatic skullduggery, and use all possible sources to cause pain and loss to both CPC and PLA. No one method should be touted as the only method to the complete abandonment of all others.

chaanakya wrote: HHDL has enough character and integrity to be a worthy Citizen of India than so many of our citizens. Hell, he would be better President than many of our Rubber stamps or stamptress.
On what historical basis do you say that?
Very correct. However . member who oppose it , don't see the return worth the trouble.
LoL......it is not question of worth the trouble. It is the question, of if he is the right horse to bet.