Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Issues faced by Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

^^^ explaining why that story died away as fast as it came up
the only persistent stories now doing the rounds is "filthgate" and "chaos"
those sink and shower photos are on almost every news outlet globally, it doesnt matter if that was only one out of 1000, but the perception out there is that its ALL like that

conversely almost all Oped articles are pro-India (except for the Indian ones) - i.e. never mind the chaos, lets get on with it. and just like the stone throwers in srinagar valley - the reason for the global hoo haa is that we allow free access to the press to go see what is going on

too much satyameva jayate (as shiv once said)

amit wrote: But be that may what appalls me the kind of unholy glee I see in highlighting every single negative story that is being printed by the Gora media which has entered into silly season now. If I didn't know better I would have thought I was visiting a Paki dhaga on the games.
Ah so anti national to Paki.
That was a short intellectual hop, no? The thing that you call glee is called holding the mirror and speaking the truth in normal world. In fact not accepting any criticism and blaming everything from Tenali Ram to Soviet Union but the real culprits aka political leadership is a very purelandseque trait. The games are a disaster and have proven once and for all the hollowness of the claims of good governance by current regime. THE CWG is merely one symptom of misgovernance and rot in the system and people are satisfied that it is has started to become visible. In absence of this criticism none of the fanboys of MMS-ji would have allowed even an inch of introspection or cleanup.
I would again stress CWG is NOT == India and H&D of UPA is not all India's responsibility. Irrespective of what "abroad-itis" class says.

Reports say that "150"apts. are "uninhabitable".Now that's a massive number and one can only imagine the chaos within those apts.India was given 7 years to do the job and Kalmadi and co. have betrayed the nation's trut.More than Kalmadi I blame our beloved PM Dr."Mis-sing",for stepping in so late in the day.What was he doing all the time when reports about the crisis surfaced in the media months ago? From all accounts,Dr.Mis-sing is interested in only one matter,that of cementing his N-deal and handing over India to the US as a gift from "Native Indian-Indians" and our "reservations", in eternal friendship.I gave earlier several accounts of how world leaders leapt into action when there were crises in their countries.Dr.Mis-sing and Pres.Zardari are in my opinion,joint holers of the "Ig-Noble " prize for dereliction of duty.

I also ask what was the Queen Bee also doing? Kalmadi and co. have disgraced the nation far more than the defeat by China in '62.That was a military defeat when India was stabbed in the back when we were underprepared,but this disgrace in the eyes of the world has brought ridicule and shame to India and Indians,at a time when we are infinitely more prosperous than ever and where next year we are going to host an F-1 race.The latter-day Mrs.G. has let India down by not cracking the whip and lighting a fire under both Kalmadi's butt and also Dr.Mis-sing's butt too.The Congress party is in total disgrace with mutts like "Monsoon-Wedding" Gill and his flat jokes,calling upon God and Nature to rescue the CWG ,and a woman totally out of her depth as Delhi's CM,unable to get her act together and allow the DDA,etc. to ruin the show.Just recollect the catastrophic bridge collapses of the Delhi Metro not too long ago and you will then understand why the pedestrian bridge failed."No VIPs will walk on it -so what me worry?", appears to be Dixit's motto? Dixit's famous words will ensure her immortal name being installed in India's "Hall of Shame".
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

James B wrote:Some Pics of CWG
James, those are some great photos. Just one question for civil engineers : why is the roof of the Yamuna Sports Complex so neat and "finished", while the other stadia have industrial-style beams and girders on the roof, probably to carry all the lighting and media gear? Will those beams and girders be covered up prior to the games, to have a more finished look?

Philip wrote:The Kalmadis,Bhanots,Gills and Dixits of the ruling clique will not be forgotten the next time elections are round the corner.Their utter greed and total incompetence has angered the entire nation who are not in a forgiving mood and Im sure will do so with a vengeance cometh the next round of elections.
I wouldn't be too sure of this given the non-serious alternatives. For example, everyone and their uncle knew the inside scoop on Kalmadi, but his closest contender was someone whose idea of fixing the local trash collection problem was to have everyone keep a cow to eat the trash. So Kalmadi, unfortunately, is the best his constituency had!

Who is to open the games?

charlie boy or President Patil??

In malasia, when the queen did not go for the games there, the games were opened by the local king. The precedent has already been set.

charlie boy is ready and raring to go but the GOI seems to be putting foot down.

vera_k wrote:I wouldn't be too sure of this given the non-serious alternatives. For example, everyone and their uncle knew the inside scoop on Kalmadi, but his closest contender was someone whose idea of fixing the local trash collection problem was to have everyone keep a cow to eat the trash. So Kalmadi, unfortunately, is the best his constituency had!
Now now hope we are going down that route, may you also mention the role of certain Sena's spoiler candidate who got North of 75000 votes to split the verdict election badly. Despite these shenanigans our man had a razor thin margin of 25,000 in a Lok Sabha seat!
This can be easily reversed in next round and all houses will have a cow eating trash which is much better than corrupt politicians eating tax payer's cash. :lol:

The voters have already given their verdict - however bad the governance and however brazen the corruption, communal forces must be kept at bay, come what may. Come poll time, all these other minor considerations will be swept under the carpet as a few engineered riots and bums blast this corruption coverage away for good. Why, tomorrow itself, the diversionary games will start with the ayodhya land verdict. Watch this space.

/Am thoroughly convinced no perp will be sacked, prosecuted etc for the games loot, regardless of what happens next. Would love to be wrong on this one, though.
Anyway, hence my feverant wish and prayer that GOI get no further games hosting awards for a looooong time to come.

interestingly, the western media i monitor all have +ve coverage of the games preparation
TOI continues with -ve coverage

but within both sets of coverage, what is apparent is that whilst we have super-duper clean loos and showers for athlete-loge, workers are bathing and sleeping on the street and security personel are 'making susu' on the brand new blue hoardings - because as usual, they have nowhere to go...

now that remains to me atleast what is wrong with these games
so if we ignore the hidden huddled masses, i am sure it will be a great games

munna wrote:Now now hope we are going down that route, may you also mention the role of certain Sena's spoiler candidate who got North of 75000 votes to split the verdict election badly. Despite these shenanigans our man had a razor thin margin of 25,000 in a Lok Sabha seat!
This can be easily reversed in next round and all houses will have a cow eating trash which is much better than corrupt politicians eating tax payer's cash. :lol:
Well, aren't we ignoring the builder who took away 62,000 Kalmadi votes then.

vera_k wrote: Well, aren't we ignoring the builder who took away 62,000 Kalmadi votes then.
Ze builder was contesting from the oppressed people's party and whatever he polled were his own votes. In any case he polled far lesser than what he thought he would, therefore in all fairness "Calamity" may have swayed his votes by methods that were used in organizing the CWG.
And this is the crux of the issue how can we ignore such corruption in name of being progressive! The dirty tricks used in one sector can be easily transferred to another one. Therein lies the danger for the nation, cows or no cows.

PS: I have not even mentioned a certain former babu who was pivotal to vote split :P
Last edited by munna on 27 Sep 2010 21:37, edited 1 time in total.

CWG opening show to depict Indian culture

Well, well... they've already depicted Indian political culture spectacularly only. Jai ho.
Manishw

Post by Manishw »

^ :rotfl: :rotfl:

Hooper's remarks unkind: Sheila (video link)

unkind?

wow.

Smt Sheila remains a picture of uncommon grace, courage, wisdom and all in this melee. No?

Meanwhile, curioser and curioser...
CWG: Australia backs India
backs and not backstabs? wow. chalo, let us be thankful for small mercies.
Hitesh

Post by Hitesh »

Nihat wrote:http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/tra...s/s3023099.htm

Just goes to Expose what a sham that "Bomb got through JLN" was.
You need to fix the url. It is showing up as a dead link.

Guys dont post the link without the url tags or else it truncates.
Kukreja

Post by Kukreja »

Hitesh wrote:
Nihat wrote:http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/tra...s/s3023099.htm

Just goes to Expose what a sham that "Bomb got through JLN" was.
You need to fix the url. It is showing up as a dead link.
i think this is what he was trying to post
http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transc ... 023099.htm

lying australian media exposed :evil:
Last edited by Kukreja on 27 Sep 2010 23:16, edited 2 times in total.
mnag

Post by mnag »

hilarious kalmadi interview on rediff at http://sports.rediff.com/slide-show/201 ... almadi.htm

'You should credit me with success after the Games' (if its a success, its because of me. if it fails, i still keep the loot)
Asked how many medals India will win at the Games, Kalmadi was confidence personified as he replied: "We will win 70!" (why not. we scared away all the athletes)

charlie boy to read queen's speech but President Patil to declare games open.

Open, run and close the games.

Then let's get the hell out of the commonwealth.

I am beginning to feel sorry for kalmadi. He has been chosen as the fall guy. Sure, there are faults on his side but they seem more of omission rather than commission in this case.

His reputation as a money grubbing leech is to well deserved to merit discussion.
mnag

Post by mnag »

He and his cronies have been well compenstated for his service. We should feel sorry for people like us who are totally powerless to do anything to punish these politicians.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 627692.cms
I am beginning to feel sorry for kalmadi. He has been chosen as the fall guy. Sure, there are faults on his side but they seem more of omission rather than commission in this case.

His reputation as a money grubbing leech is to well deserved to merit discussion.
Manishw

Post by Manishw »

mnag wrote: We should feel sorry for people like us who are totally powerless to do anything to punish these politicians.
+1 Absolutely correct.

I salute Gideon-saar of SA!!! What a kickass manager and with dignity. Goradom will never get it.
Manishw wrote:
mnag wrote: We should feel sorry for people like us who are totally powerless to do anything to punish these politicians.
+1 Absolutely correct.
There is a way out - make the Indian political class compete in spending during election campaigns. A free color TV set, good free meals, new educational institutions, co-operative banks - wrest these from corruptest of politicians, which is already happening. whatever will keep that much money back in Indian economy is a good way of pumping back "corrupt/lobbying money". Indian govt of the day cannot do a lot of such things without WB etc screaming "populist!" and applying pressures via multi-lateral fora.

Days of *widespread* squirreling stuff in swiss banks are kinda over since the 90s amnesties and campaign costs have gone up phenomenally. And who says all money in the economy needs to be "accounted for"? The forefathers of the grand jernails of Wall Street? If Indian state is made to spend more and more money for protection against Western supported Pakis and Chinese military, we take some money out of global circulation, to be circulated during *our* elections (post and pre). Granted, we need a fig leaf of "taxable economy" as we have to fit in as a "modern economy". But I want to mention that the world has existed without these and traded with each other fairly well.

so divert the flow, not dam it up and pay the price later :wink:
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Got this via Email - Chetan Bagats take on the CWG fiasco..

THE UNDERAGE OPTIMIST

CHETAN BHAGAT

I am not going to harp on about how messed up the Commonwealth Games are. Enough has been written. The CWG 2010 is, by far, the biggest and most blatant, exercise in corruption in independent India’s history. Not only have they stolen public money, they’ve made a mess of the job at hand. Delhi is dug up and the official anthem (and ringtone) of the Games should be the never ending sound of drilling. If you worry about whether or not the work will finish on time, imagine the plight of Delhi’s residents after the Games. The dug-up roads will never be repaired; the potholes will remain as souvenirs, symbolic of the great daylight robbery of 2010.
Posturing, something this government has a PhD in, is in full progress. Enquiry reports, vague statements, tossing responsibility from one person to the other will continue, until the Games are over. After that, fingers crossed, people will forget. Bollywood stars will do the closing ceremony and the entertainment provided will somewhat compensate for the loot-fest.
In the middle of all this, there will be propaganda campaigns to ‘save India’s image’ and get the Games done somehow. People will be expected to support the event - after all, the pride of India is at stake. The great Indian youth will be called upon to fill stadiums and add energy to the event.
Usually corruption issues are local in nature and they never really get the national traction or resonance that these Games have offered.
The CWG is an amazing opportunity because all Indians have been robbed at the same time. Add to that the fact that the government is desperate to save face. Now is when we can get them. And the way to do it is simply what the father of our nation pioneered in his time — noncooperation. Yes, and i’ve deliberated long before saying this — do not watch these Games. Do not go to the venues. Do not watch them on TV. You cannot become a cheerleader to an exercise in cheating. The Indian people have been exploited enough, but to expect us to smile through it is a bit much. If they can walk out of Parliament, we can walk out of stadiums.
Some might say, shouldn’t we support the Games on account of our country’s pride? The word ‘pride’ reminds me of a little story. When i was a child, our neighbours were a violent man and his battered wife. The woman would cover her bruise marks with make-up, suffering silently. Whenever we visited them, the couple presented the perfect picture of a happy couple. She even praised her husband. I asked my mother why the woman behaved in that way and didn’t expose her husband to show him in his true colours. My mother told me it doesn’t look nice to portray an unhappy home. She has to save the family pride. Over time, the bruises turned to fractures, and the fractures became near-fatal injuries. Until one day, police cars and ambulances came in and took both husband and wife away respectively.
Yes, such is Indian culture. We are ready to cover up injustice on account of a fake sense of honour that needs to show everything is in order. In the case of the CWG, the organizers are the oppressive husband, the Indian people the battered wife. But modern Indian wives do not stay silent and suffering anymore.
Just as Gandhiji figured, the oppressor can oppress us; it cannot make us cooperate. Brand ambassadors lending their names to these Games should think twice before lending their image to cover up corruption. The foreign media could present the full picture, namely that it is not the Indian people’s fault, it is a bunch of losers who didn’t think twice before looting the coffers of a poor country. The foreign media could use the situation to explain why India doesn’t win Olympic medals — not because we don’t have the talent but because people who run sports would rather stuff their pockets with stolen gold than help their country win a gold medal.
And if the ruling party wants to get out of this mess, there is only one way. No, it isn’t to execute the Games well — nobody cares about the silly Commonwealth club anyway. The only way to get out of this is to punish the people who did it, irrespective of their stature, and punish them hard. Use this as an opportunity to kill corruption, not to put on a grand, fake show. Otherwise, those holes you are digging in Delhi will be nothing but your political graves. People in India tolerate a lot, but when they get upset, they cause upset. Fix the mess, or the Indian people will soon be telling you — game over.

hnair wrote:Days of *widespread* squirreling stuff in swiss banks are kinda over since the 90s amnesties and campaign costs have gone up phenomenally.
OT, but the skeptic in me is reminded of this analysis which figured that little has changed in 25 years.

Why NREGA is a dud
It spends Rs 8,823 crore on the programme in 2006-07 (and Rs 39,000 crore or Rs 390 billion in 2009-10) and is able to actually deliver only 14.7 per cent (Rs 1,270 crore) to the targeted audience?!

The figures suggest that Rajiv Gandhi, the enlightened pragmatic realist, was extraordinarily right.

that is why he is no more :(

India's decade was lost thanks to stupid VPS. Again Sri PVNR's vision is eclipsed by MMS.

No wonder INC cannot come out of the "controlled dynasty"

the only solution is "creative" destruction. Is Rahul capable of this feat for india?
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Delhi children moving force behind Commonwealth Games: Sports writer http://in.news.yahoo.com/43/20100927/81 ... d-c_1.html

On my way to the office I was asked for a lift by a young DP officer who was on his way to one of the CWG venues. We began chatting. He was very young not more then 25 years old. The responsibility and challenges faced by him and his fellow officers are enormous. Upon reaching the venues I wished him to have a Good day he questioned me on that. To which, I replied that a quite day at work for him is a good day for all of us.

Why talk about "Oceans 11,12,13th,etc.".There never has been such a hesit by Kalmadi and co.,it staggers the imagination.The audacity and swagger with which Kalmadi & co. have allegedly swindled bilions of dollars,with the CWG budget about 18+ times its original estimate,beggars the mind,equal perhaps only to the $30+ billion in hard cash that the US flew into Iraq to bribe the insurgents of which most of it mysteriously disappeared.The Indian Express has done an investigation and reveals the nepotism at the heart of the CWG top bosses!

Their Common Wealth
New Delhi: Father and daughter, uncle and nephew, twin siblings, mother and son, sister and brother, father and daughter and daughter-in-law — the list of employees of the Organising Committee of the Commonwealth Games, chaired by Suresh Kalmadi, includes at least 38 of the top brass who are related to each other, an investigation by The Indian Express has revealed.

http://news.in.msn.com/national/article ... id=4424600
Manu

Post by Manu »

Bhailog,

Let me stick my neck out and say something (Bhagwaan Kare, Nazar na lag jaye etc).

For those of us who are intimately aware of Indian culture, we know that minutes before a "VIP's" arrival on to the stage, there is last minute Jharoo/Pocha going on.

I predict - on the day of the commonwealth games opening - all flowers will automatically bloom, the weather will be good, all facilities will be shiny and ready and our H&D will be preserved. It is one of the "We are like this onlee" things which can be experienced better than put in words.

Does this mean the people responsible are off the hook - No. But at this time, we should band together.

This is happening and will happen well. Trust me. If some NRIs feel ashamed by reading BBC + others (our friends on the best of days n'est-ce pas?) - avoid reading the paper till October 3, it's not that far away.

For some regional chauvinists on this board (some of who are mentally participating in Dakshin Bharat Rakshak)...if you can't say something encouraging at this late stage, why not drink a tall, cold glass of STFU?

manu-ji, no need for anyone to have takleef, there are no new stories on CWG today in western media - which means that nothing bad has happenend, and possibly quite a lot of good. in fact the Beeb is carrying some nice videos of TFTA atheletes and atheletebabe-loge wah-wahing the facilities. One Beeb jouro has even interviewed local shopkeepers (to stadiums) saying that they have new pavements and drains and lights, jai ho commonwealth games! As you say, the games will be allright on the night - and i sincerely hope that it becomes a good telespectacle since that is the new perception of India that will be broadcast around the world.

that said, the economic press are continuing to comment on poor managerial skills, etc., which was my deeper (and taller) anxiety all along about FDI hiccups

my taller and fairer anxiety is that the paquis will now resume their non-state actor plans to interfere in the games, and perhaps simultaneously turn up the heat in the srinagar region

Manu wrote:Does this mean the people responsible are off the hook - No. But at this time, we should band together.
Sometimes something as simple and logical as this is missed!
This is happening and will happen well. Trust me. If some NRIs feel ashamed by reading BBC + others (our friends on the best of days n'est-ce pas?) - avoid reading the paper till October 3, it's not that far away.
Personally I don't give a damn what Beeb and others say, write. What bemuses me is the unquestioned way all of it was swallowed hook line and stinker around these parts without any critical analysis. Why? Because of the mistaken notion that they are putting the blame on UPA and not on India. As if the Goras know (or care) the difference between the three letter words: UPA and NDA.
For some regional chauvinists on this board (some of who are mentally participating in Dakshin Bharat Rakshak)...if you can't say something encouraging at this late stage, why not drink a tall, cold glass of STFU?
Very well said. And do note I come from Calcutta so can't be accused of being a Dilli Billi. :-)
Last edited by amit on 28 Sep 2010 14:50, edited 1 time in total.

Australian abc network exposes Channel 7's fake story of "Bombs carried into CWG" that came in the news 2 weeks ago

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6xk-Tm_1y4
jagga

Post by jagga »

amit wrote:
Very well said. And do note I come from Calcutta so can't be accused of being a Dilli Billi. :-)
+10 Onlee

MORE 'MONKEY BUSINESS" AT THE GAMES!

Trained monkeys guard athletes at Commonwealth Games
Trained langur monkeys are being deployed by organisers of the Commonwealth Games to prevent wild animals infesting sporting venues in Delhi.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/others ... Games.html

PSSST! What news about the other "monkey business" we were told of,with a 1000+ "escorts" flying in to "service" CWG officials and others?!

The "game" now taking place inside the Games is how the OC of the CWG can get off scot free once the Games are over.Kalmadi's arrogant statement,"hang me if I'm guilty",indicates that operation "whitewash" has already begun.What the media should do,as they have the done all the investigations,is to file with the SC,either them of with any willing indiviiduals,the demand for an independent inquiry along wiht the CBI ,etc.,even though the CBI is a shaky outfit.If it can deliver the needful in the Gujarat encounter case involving the HM of the state,then it can deliver here too.Parliament must also demand an independent parliamentary commission.Every lead should be exposed and proved.$16 billion has been squandered and what have we got in return for it? Paan stained walls that cannot be rid of it,toilets that are filthy and don't work ,150 apts. unliveable and Delhi's infrastructure incomplete and in chaos.Heads must roll.

following on with ijaz butt defense line as advocated earlier - i hear from chaiwallah's bandar that australian team took huge amounts of money from shady beijing bookies to fix the third toilet picture and put it out on the internet. they were provided with large quantities of pindi chana also to help with fixing picture
meanwhile, i am continuing to not care about what gora, kala, peela, lal aur hara loge think about our toilet standards (which are different to his or theirs or his)

but seriously folks - would it not have occured to anyone to build a decent workers colony somewhere near the games site with decent sanitation so that worker loge dont have to go out in the open? and have somewhere decent to sleep in the monsoon?

EMAAR MGF was awarded the contract for building the games village which they further subcontracted to Ahluwalia at a cheaper price. Ahluwalia employed Rs.200 per day daily labourers for the job and provided one toilet for every 114 workers. Workers were sleeping on plywood pieces provided in place of beds. What else do you expect from them? It is the top management that has to be made accountable for this mess.

Dilbu wrote:EMAAR MGF was awarded the contract for building the games village which they further subcontracted to Ahluwalia at a cheaper price. Ahluwalia employed Rs.200 per day daily labourers for the job and provided one toilet for every 114 workers. Workers were sleeping on plywood pieces provided in place of beds. What else do you expect from them? It is the top management that has to be made accountable for this mess.

Then these two jokers got into a god awful fight which stopped work for a long period during the crucial stages.

Hari Seldon wrote:CWG opening show to depict Indian culture

Well, well... they've already depicted Indian political culture spectacularly only. Jai ho.

Certainly.

See the decorous culture maintained by jaipal reddy, ms gill, MMS, rajmata et al.

rajmata is actually ahead of all. She's maintaining this decorous culture in the good old us of a.

Philip wrote:MORE 'MONKEY BUSINESS" AT THE GAMES!
Trained monkeys guard athletes at Commonwealth Games
Yep! Noticed this "trained" monkey during my visit to India last week (in New Delhi's Connaught Place) selling personal loans in his "air-conditioned office" during his time off from guarding aussie and english athletes.

Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

China backs India to successfully host Commonwealth Games

Why is Panda poking its nose into this most imperialist event? Do they identify themselves as an honorary member of the British Empire, due to the Opium Wars? :)