Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

saip wrote:Whats up with the Commonwealth Games web site? They did not update the medals tally still. Is this the official site?

http://results.cwgdelhi2010.org/en/Root.mvc/Medals
the moron(s) in charge of the site is/are updating only the aussie tally. the Indian medals tally has been reverted back to yesterday's value. :roll:
praksam

Post by praksam »

self deleted, BENIS TOPIC
Last edited by praksam on 05 Oct 2010 20:44, edited 1 time in total.

aussiranian moron has just been disqualified for showing middle finger to judges
so bronze moves to silver and 4th moves to bronze
and aussies lose a medal

SMH has the current tally:

1. Australia 8 9 4 21
2. India 5 4 2 11
3. England 2 5 4 11
4. Malaysia 2 2 1 5
5. South Africa 2 1 1 4

On the Aussie wrestler:
Australian stripped of silver medal for rude gesture
Fkiri appeared to have been disqualified for making an obscene gesture to the judges.

The Australian looked frustrated during the bout, at one point trying to slap and headbutt his local rival before eventually giving the finger to international wrestling officials.

The Australian wrestling manager is Kuldip Bassi, an Indian origin guy and then this aussie blames the indians for the wresler's bad behavior
Australian team official Leonid Zaslavsky said Fkiri’s behaviour was inexcusable, but partly understandable.

‘‘The other side was sort of to blame, if you like,’’ he said.

‘‘There were some things the other side was doing that wasn’t exactly by the rules either, he obviously lost his cool.

^^^ aussie whinging begins when they lose

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cwgmedaltally.cms

Toilets got a nice page on the tally..

More kalmadi jokes.

1) Look at the brighter side; the more countries pull out, the higher India is ranked in the final medal's tally.

2) Terrorists set to skip CWG 2010 citing unlivable conditions and fear for their safety.

3) Q: How many contractors are required to change a light bulb in Delhi CWG stadium?
A: 1 Million. (1 to change bulb and rest 999,999 to hold the ceiling)

4) Whats common between CWG committee and students???
Ans: both start their preparations at the 11th hour.....

5) Prince Charles is actively convincing the Queen to visit dengue hit Delhi, this may be his last chance to become the king!

6) Thanks to Guernsey and Jersey for threatening to pull out of games! We now know these countries existed!

7) A collapse a day keeps the athletes away

8) Sing away for the future of his ilk:

Ba ba Kalmadi, have you any shame?
No sir, No sir, it's a Common Loot Game.
Crores for my partner, crores for the dame,
crores for me too, to hell with India's name!

9) AMAZING BUT TRUE: If you re-arrange the letters "Sir U made lakhs", you get "*SURESH KALMADI"*

Tomorrow will be the start of the track events and it seems the track is not ready yet and as usual last minute preparations are on. A very pathetic Organizing committee.

we won 3-2 against malaysia in men's hockey.

ramana wrote:Looks like those who worried about the lack of spectators is also worrying the organisers.
Thats nothing. Our netas are very good at crowd-pulling...

- Bring Rahul baba to every game. Millions come to see the prince.
- Allocate constituency wide quotas to Delhi MLAs.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

I watched the entire footage posted on Youtube by JamesB here (thanks!), and I have to say it was probably the best opening ceremony I have seen in recent times. Much better than Beijing for sure. For one thing, our 7 year olds are talented AND photogenic at the same time :mrgreen: :rotfl:. Kudos to the committee that put on this impressive show. The creativity they showed will be an inspiration to millions of kids.

In a way, all that negative publicity in the lead up was helpful. A lot of pacquis, racist brits and ozzies were all eagerly watching the opening ceremony for further screw ups, but ended up being forced to sit through creative perfection. It's like a pool shark who loses a few on purpose, and once the bet is placed, BOOM, the eight ball is in the corner pocket before you even have a turn!

I wish the rest of the games go as planned, and India tops the table as well (one can hope!)

I haven't seen any of the Games footage (except for pictures), but reading the press, I'd say Kalmadi did a great job pulling everything together after MSA unloaded on him.

Let me try my hand at news selling:

Hot news! First ever gora riot in the history of the world!!

Aussie athletes 'rioted after being held like cattle'
A visibly upset and emotional Moneghetti claimed the ceremony organisers had acted with absolute disregard for athlete welfare by corralling the Australian team for an hour in an airless tunnel leading into the arena, where temperatures climbed above 40C.

"We were treated like cattle," said Moneghetti. "It was disgraceful. I'm not over-exaggerating. We were emotionally affected when we then burst out on to the arena. I've no doubt about that." :rotfl: All that mucous for standing in line in a non-white country

Certainly, there was nothing at all imposing about the entry of the Australian team. Many of the athletes appeared dishevelled and all looked as though they had just emerged from a sauna, which in a sense they had.
New theory: australian troops in afghanistan caused the recent paki flood situation with :((

From that Australian report above:
"It was one hour in absolute cauldron conditions, absolute," Moneghetti said. "In fact, it was so bad, they held us at a point that was very, very hot, it was unbearably hot, so we pushed forward. We pushed and we pushed about 50m, which was even hotter.

"So then they brought event staff to us, who said we cannot move. And we revolted, rioted, and moved another 50m forward. We entered an area that had reverse air-conditioning, so it was hotter."
Mainly because this is so devilish and funny, I can swear it is the work of our babus who are p!ssed with the australian-kiwi negative press. I can picture them allowing the ozzies to "riot" and push their way further and further into trouble.

On a more positive note, that wrestler turd was not an Iranian but a Tunisian aussie.
naren

Post by naren »

MurthyB wrote:For one thing, our 7 year olds are talented AND photogenic at the same time :mrgreen: :rotfl:.
Such a cute boy ! He was totally enjoying the experience. Made my day.

me thinks he must have been some highly progressed sadhak under Aurobindo in his past life.

Where are the pics of the rioting aussies ? Need to have them pasted everywhere to show lack of discipline among the Aussies in face of adversity. ;-)

Why are there no spectators at the games?
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

The man behind the opening ceremony is Bharat Bala aka Ganpathy Bharat who hails from TN. He says opening ceremony was very challenging and many things were just done a day before.

http://www.funonthenet.in/forums/index. ... ic=96088.0

^ Bharat Bala is also the creator of some videos about India that did the rounds in recent years.

I just saw the videos (many thanks to James B ). It was indeed very good. The kid Keshav was the best. And like somebody said above, the performers were happy to be there and showed a lot of heart instead of grim faced perfectly sync'd moved. Who cares about what others think...I like it this way. This represents us and what we are.

oh and the pakis showed what they are...
thayilv

Post by thayilv »

chetak wrote:Red faces after President's Secy asked PM to switch seats

Tue, Oct 5 06:19 AM

While the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games went off without any major glitch, a breach of protocol in the royal box by the President's staff has left both the security establishment and the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) pretty miffed.
I've often noticed during state visits to foreign countries or when receiving heads of state, there is invariably some confusion over where the PM is supposed to sit or stand. I wonder if the PM or the President is properly briefed on these matters because this has happened a few times before.

Who was the kid playing the tabla during the CWG opening ceremony? - looked completely divine. 400% more genuine than grim faced lip synced comlades.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

^^Keshav from Pondicherry.
Manu

Post by Manu »

A Child Prodigy, started playing the Table when he was only 2!

He looks and acts just like a miniature Zakir Hussain! :D

Yup...first thought he was son of ZH-guru...

Btw, WTF is this lawn bowls game? saw it for some time when india upset fancied N.Ireland but couldnt understand a thing ( and it was 2-3 hours long!!!!)

Same here, had never ever heard of this game. Where did the Indians learn to play this game ? The concept of lawns itself was alien. The first one I saw was at the Calcutta Golf club when we sneaked in through the holes in the wall in the wee hours to play football. :-) I think this is a Dilli Billi thingie. Only they have the well manicured lawns.

^^^Bade miyan, Don't tell me you lived near the Calcutta Golf club opposite the Doordarshan kendra? :D

I wanted to edit it to Tollygunge Golf club, since that is the correct name but in those days I could care less. I was from the hood across the nullah ;-)

Rahul M wrote:we won 3-2 against malaysia in men's hockey.
A big AoA to that. Go India Go. :D
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Btw, WTF is this lawn bowls game? saw it for some time when india upset fancied N.Ireland but couldnt understand a thing ( and it was 2-3 hours long!!!!)
Lawn Bowling is perhaps western concept. Quite similar to bowling difference being its played outdoors. Big time pass among oldies.

kiwis becoming white pacquis also??

http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv- ... 16753.html

If they can have lawn ball, they should have had Kabbadi....Pak, BD and Ind would be the contenders. At least 2 more (M & F) medals could be in the tally then.

My son even spotted the freckles of the participants in the lawn ball event, and was asking why grandma's are playing in the CW games.

Guys,all is now well still with the CWG.If you saw this morning's BBC news with pics of the stadium and athletic track,in an awful stae after the opening ceremony, with repairs being made ,workers sitting ifidly while women work on the track,grass being laid, tractors compressing the turf,etc.etc,it appears to be a huge work site and not a completed stadium and track where in less than 12 hours the events take place!
Here is a criitical view from a Brit. athlete.Kalmadi as usual says that "tomorrow" everything will be fine.Perhaps he will keep on saying this until the Games are finally over when he can then escape the press and forget about finishing the mess.

Commonwealth Games 2010: Jonathan Edwards astounded by state of running track
The cracks in the organisation of the Commonwealth Games have spread to the track, which could be a safety hazard for the athletes.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/others ... track.html
By Jacquelin Magnay
Published: 05 Oct 2010

Troubles ahead: The outlook for the Commonwealth Games appears ever more gloomy due to the poor state of the showpiece running track Photo: AP The track and field programme starts on Wednesday, but on Tuesday workers were frantically trying to repair holes in the inside lane created during the opening ceremony.

Britain’s former triple jumper, Jonathan Edwards, said that the state of the track was ''beyond anything I imagined".

Related Articles
Ticket queues 'a mile long', claim organisers
Dazzling Delhi games open

“The straight for the 100 metres is fine, but they are re-laying a bit of the track which was damaged during the opening ceremony,” Edwards said.

“And they’ve had to do that a couple of times because the standard to which it’s been repaired hasn’t been up to scratch. Obviously, concerns about the athletes’ safety are foremost.

“Normally, you would lay a track and perhaps leave it for two or three days to settle and to harden so this is probably unparalleled.”

After two days of competition, the reality of this Commonwealth Games is one of empty stadiums.

Swimmers have been performing in front of team-mates and relations at the 5,000-capacity Mukherjee swimming stadium, while the shouts of the hockey players echo around the near-empty 16,000-seat national stadium.
The farce with no one watching the Games inside the various stadia is because the asinine ticket sales plan where no one can buy more than two tickets,a security network so tight that to view the shooting one has to walk 5km from the car park....no wonder no one wants to watch the games which depite all the firefighting and last second touch up work has been the greatest disaster in independent India's history since '62 ,Bhopal and the demolition of the "disputed structure".

I suppose that eventually the OC will have to offer free tickets and free transport to the stadia to get people to watch.Perhaps Kalmadi can take a leaf out of the Congress Party's rally organisers,who like most parties to pack a political rally,pick up villagers in their thousands,pay them a fancy sum per head and ply them with food and booze! Since he appears to have an unlimited budget of billions,it shouldn't be too difficult for him.

Surya wrote:kiwis becoming white pacquis also??

http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv- ... 16753.html
Boss why complain, a BRF worthy used the same slang for the Lady Chief Minister of Delhi on this very thread. Fortunately it was soon removed by the Moderators.

Philip wrote:Guys,all is now well still with the CWG.If you saw this morning's BBC news with pics of the stadium and athletic track,in an awful stae after the opening ceremony, with repairs being made ,workers sitting ifidly while women work on the track,grass being laid, tractors compressing the turf,etc.etc,it appears to be a huge work site and not a completed stadium and track where in less than 12 hours the events take place!
Here is a criitical view from a Brit. athlete.Kalmadi as usual says that "tomorrow" everything will be fine.Perhaps he will keep on saying this until the Games are finally over when he can then escape the press and forget about finishing the mess.
Philip,

A question for you. Do you depend exclusively on gora media for your news? The only things you've posted so far on this thread is negative reporting from the gora media.

It's getting boring and predictable.

Here's another report from your favourite Beeb
Officials say repairs have ensured the Commonwealth Games stadium in Delhi will be ready for the start of the athletics events on Wednesday.

Work went on overnight to resurface the damaged track, while grass was laid on bare parts of the in-field.

Games Federation president Mike Fennell told reporters: "Repair work has been completed at the athletics stadium.

"It was all done, checked this morning by the technical delegate and he has informed us that all systems are go."

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium track reportedly suffered damage during Sunday's spectacular opening ceremony.

"Unfortunately when you have a ceremony on the same site as the athletics facilities you can have some damage to the facilities. The protective measures that you take do not guarantee that there is no damage," added Fennell.
You should rest easy now, after all Fennell saab is a Gora and since a Gora is saying everything is OK and ready and not a bl**dy Native like Kalmadi, it must be OK, right?

And Oh by the way in case you were getting worried as to what happened suddenly to your beloved Beeb, don't worry the piece has all the stuff which should be treated as "All iz Well"
The Delhi Games has been blighted by concerns that venues and accommodation would not be completed, as well as a collapsed bridge near the main stadium.[key phrase1]

A number of countries delayed the arrival of their competitors with the athletes' village being described as "inhospitable" just last week.[key phrase 2]

And on Tuesday, it emerged that urgent repair work was needed on the athletics track.

"This is a culture where things are got ready at the last minute but there are very real concerns," said BBC Sport's Jonathan Edwards.[key phrase 3]

"I've seen a number of athletes come in and I think they're in shock."[key phrase 4]{I'm in a state of shock that the Brits didn't have money to buy uniforms for their athletes and so had to buy them cheap in Delhi. I hope they don't ask India for money to make sure there's hot water in the toilets at the Olympics village - the white pacquis from Down Under may start a riot}

Despite the concerns, all the competitions have so far started as scheduled.[Surprise phrase No1]

The athletics action kicks off on Wednesday at 1300 BST and Edwards, part of the BBC Sport team covering the event, was inside the stadium on Tuesday to witness the track being resurfaced and being painted at the 1500m start.

The former Olympic triple jump champion told BBC Sport's athletics reporter Phil Jones: "They're relaying part of the track which I think was damaged during the opening ceremony.

"For a top athlete coming into a stadium this is not what you expect. It's beyond anything I imagined."[key phrase 5]

The Games has suffered a number of organisational difficulties, including complaints about filthy conditions, infrastructure problems and even a snake being found both in a competitor's room and at the tennis stadium.[key phrase 6]{Incidentally I haven't seen a picture of this snake, I just hope it wasn't somebody's rubber snake, which is a must-have accessory in the bathtub}

As well as the collapsed bridge, the ceiling at the weightlifting arena also suffered structural damage.[key phrase 7]

However, six days before the opening ceremony the organising committee declared accommodation fit for habitation and many of the competitors were then satisfied to move into the village. [Surprise phrase No2]
So you see no less than seven key phrases to make every body happy. You can safely ignore the two surprise phrases, they are in a minority. So indeed All iz Well, right?

PS: Why do we blame the Gora media when their most ardent readers are natives sitting in India?

thayilv wrote:
chetak wrote:Red faces after President's Secy asked PM to switch seats

Tue, Oct 5 06:19 AM

While the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games went off without any major glitch, a breach of protocol in the royal box by the President's staff has left both the security establishment and the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) pretty miffed.
I've often noticed during state visits to foreign countries or when receiving heads of state, there is invariably some confusion over where the PM is supposed to sit or stand. I wonder if the PM or the President is properly briefed on these matters because this has happened a few times before.
Their respective staff are briefed in detail.

They are entirely responsible and are to unobtrusively guide their bosses.

camila also broke protocol by choosing to sit next to her husband which was not as per plan and the british embassy. It was the responsibility of the british liaison officer to guide charlie boy and wife.

OC games, kalmadi should have been at hand to ensure that no embarrassment came to the VIPs.

No one seems to have been be in charge.

Narang wins gold in 10 mts shooting , defeating Bindra marginally

chetak wrote:OC games, kalmadi should have been at hand to ensure that no embarrassment came to the VIPs.

No one seems to have been be in charge.
Boss you're right Kalmadi should have been around to smoothen things.But other than fixing the flame in the right direction before Big Ears started his speech his only notable contribution was fawning to please "Sonia Ji". I noticed the TV (at least the feed I saw and I think that was the only feed) showed Madam only once. I have a feeling that they were under instructions not to pan too much on her.

However, a buffoon like Klamadi can't be stopped. :-(

I really liked Vir's commentary in HT where he talked about old India and new India. Old India certainly let Mother India down badly, and I'll say this even if the rest of CWG goes off smoothly.

mens double trap pairs event today - ronjon sodhi and asher naria for india. its the heaviest caliber event of the shooting program going by the meaty shotguns and big walnut butts used.

some guys have been known to get into trancelike robotic Kashtan-ciws mode in this event, drilling anything that flies up...