Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010

kavita raut wins first ever indian track medal, bronze in 10,000m

Topping the 30 gold collection from the 2002 Manchester games would be a very good achievement. Back then, the tally was swelled by the fact that weightlifting provided separate medals for snatch, clean&jerk and combined totals (it was also why we got a much fewer 22 golds in the 2006 games, where we depended primarily on shooting, especially Samaresh Jung, who won 5 golds). This time around, we're medaling in a whole lot of sports, including ones where we never amounted to anything in the past, like swimming and gymnastics.

Interesting how we've gone from nobodies to major contenders in the CWGs. If you look at the ones we attended in the distant past, you'll find we finished below the pakis in the medals tally on a few occasions :eek:

20 and counting as India look to set Games performance record

I think ACM Naik is ready.

Saina Nehval has won.

Some really exciting Badminton matches today between India and Malaysia but unfortunately India lost. Saina Nehwal's match was the best badminton match I've ever seen.

Vijender Singh overwhelmed his Kenyan opponent in boxing. It was 16-1in the second round and referees stopped the match because it was very one sidedm Vijender sails on to next stage.

**IF** the money went missing, it has to be traced immediately. Dont want it to mysteriously end up in sleeper jihadi hands. State to non-state handover is a common tactic of pak govt.....

But then probably his bosom chums, the paki weightlifters must have ordered extra lassi and full plate chilli-chicken on this pompous ass' credit card and he wants India to carry the blame. Vintage paki team work :D

BTW, somebody make sure all australian swimmers wear granny diapers. Others have to swim too and we dont want that "Doody!!" scene from movie Caddyshack. No wonder they are good at this, god knows what chaff they dispense to keep other swimmers from overtaking... :)

day 5 and we have almost matched our total tally from 2006. 6 more days to go, including boxing, all of which are on last day.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

The main page of the Daily Mail online
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldne ... apses.html

Hidden away in the Sports section!!!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/others ... mmers.html

NOTE: There are no comments :evil:

In wommen 10000m, Kavita Raut did very well. the difference between her and the english number 4 was a long one.
When the Ethiopians came 1st & 2nd, there was an Ethiopian to hand them a flag.
There was no one to greet & congratulate Kavita. no indian official came forward! :evil:
Instead she went out on her own to find her teammates & search for the flag, before taking a victory lap. O when will our people learn!

already posted many pages back, kindly do check before posting.
Last edited by Rahul M on 09 Oct 2010 06:00, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added comment.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

South African swimmer slams crowd with monkey jibe
Delhi has the world of trouble getting the Commonwealth Games ready to start on time.

Now that it finally has the next problem is getting the starts right.

On Thursday night Australian hurdler Sally Pearson broke, was allowed to run, won gold and was then disqualified in the 100 metre final at the track. {This story has been repeated to death now..as if it was someone else's fault..big time whingers..}

Last night problems plagued in the men at the pool in the semi-finals of the 50 metre freestyle, with veteran Australian Ashley Callus disqualified and Simon Burnett and Roland Schoeman going in to the water early before being allowed back on the blocks to swim. Schoeman went through to tonight's final.

Crowds have been small but not well schooled in the etiquette of swimming fandom and at times the noise gets out of hand. Repeated requests from the pool announcer haven't quietened spectators.

The noise put off both Schoeman, from South Africa, and Burnett of England and although they were allowed to swim, Schoeman was furious.

"It's an absolute disgrace. There's a guy in the stands just shouting, shouting, shouting. Somebody like that needs to be ejected," he said after going through to the final, along with Australians Eamon Sullivan and Cam Prosser. Another South African Gideon Louw was the fastest man through.

"It's unacceptable to be at a professional event like this and have people going on like monkeys. Someone like that doesn't deserve to be here."

Schoeman also took a swipe at the lack of professionalism shown by Games staff.

"I asked for a towel, they weren't willing to give me one," he said.

"Then the guy comes up to me and goes 'Are you ready now?' Like, do I have an option?

"It's a joke. It's an absolute joke this event."

Callus, 31, was devastated. "I'd really revved myself up for this tonight and I was feeling really, really good in my warm up. It was just a silly mistake from someone with my experience and it shouldn't have happened," he said.

"It's just one of those things - a one in a hundred, one in a million thing. I just stuffed the start."

Philip wrote:CWG condom "cock-up"! At last Kalmadi can claim that the Games were a "Sex-cess"!
Sir, with due respect, the athletes who did this should be stripped of their medals. Here are the reasons:

1. For sheer stupidity. The condoms do not go into a toilet bowl. Let them try it at their home and see how much they end up paying for.

2. For causing a medical hazard to others. Think about clean up.

The media is definitely acting crazy, wonder why. Why are they making an issue of this? I think TOIlet dredged this thing up first. Remember, it is angling for TRP via negativity.
The above is actually ridiculous. Why the hell UK suddenly caring for a labourer? First of all, only in India we have this ridiculous and curious phenomenon of MPs/MLAs and all sundry officials rushing to the hospital and declaring a compensation for all this accidents, to show that they care. It is merely a photo-op for those guys to remain in news. If they really care, the contractor should be hauled to court and pay the compensation. Better still, hire only contractors that carry an insurance for their workers. In such situations, the insurance companies will ensure that minimum safety standards are met.

Yes what happened to the above labourer was sad and something needs to be done, but no we do not need 2 bit journalists particularly from white racist ba$tard$ countries to take up selective cudgels.
The only thing I can say for the above is - ungrateful guest. BTW, SMH is one racist rag., they are doing everything to turn the focus away from arrogant and boorish behaviour from Oz and Nz athletes. Further, they deservedly *lost* a medal. They are doing everything to protect that shameful H & D. There were others in the race and they started just fine. Some of the athletes do deserve a nice kick up their backsides for their arrogant behaviour on and off the field. SMH should focus on that behaviour instead of running the games down.

And now this article from TOIlet http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cwga ... 716211.cms. Basically World media slams the CWG! How pathetic., who is this world media and why they are off consequence? It is a kangaroo court by the media. Here are their "issues"

1. Empty stands! Why the concern by the media? Of course it is a democracy, if I want to root for wrestling and not for swimming that is my choice!

2. blocked lavatories! Yeah with brainless athletes from Oz/Nz and Englandinistan putting condoms in places where it should not belong, it is somehow CWG officials fault!

3. collapsing scoreboards! Never saw one., but heard a rumour.

4. vomiting swimmers! This was proved to be a rumour!!

5. and striking officials! Where? All the events are running just fine and on time!

Here is the deal - The CWG is a great forum for tiny countries like T & T and Nigeria and Naouru to show themselves up and improve their game. It helps India too., brings a boost to the confidence of the athletes, and gives them an international exposure. Oz precisely does not want this!

Also, the game for dominating the CWG (71 countries) is in full progress. Oz/Eng/Canada want to deny upstarts like India a space to maneuver around. Hence all this blatant lies and running down the host country. Ungrateful ba$tard$ is only thing I can say.

BTW, I really enjoyed women's wrestling. Real fighter spirit and wow the gold from Women's team archer event - priceless. Oh not to mention Women's TT. Great show - keep it up!

The thing is that I am used to all those comments and mostly likely true about hygiene, standards, accidents and gaffes. But I just can't accept the money it has taken for all these characteristics.

A scam suspicion that needs to be investigated., even if puts us in shame and pulls us down the corruption ranking. We need to own up responsibilities for mistakes. Without which it is all banana republic.

SaiK wrote:The thing is that I am used to all those comments and mostly likely true about hygiene, standards, accidents and gaffes. But I just can't accept the money it has taken for all these characteristics.

A scam suspicion that needs to be investigated., even if puts us in shame and pulls us down the corruption ranking. We need to own up responsibilities for mistakes. Without which it is all banana republic.
Yes, all the above is true. Nobody is denying that. But there should be balance. Why not also highlight the fact that thousands of volunteers and game officials have done a remarkable job and the games are going smoothly! Rumours are rumours and those need to be called out. Further, constructive criticism helps., running down somebody's hardwork does not. Running them down with lies, absolutely wrong.

Systemic corruption is everywhere. How and where it effects the common person and how it depraves them and more so in developing and underdeveloped countries is something that needs to be thought through. Last post from me on this subject, but I would love to see TOIlet being sued for defamation followed by SMH and the Telegraph.

http://cwg.ndtv.com/commonwealth/articl ... 58226.html

English official abuses Indian archery coach

Just after the Indian recurve trio of Dola Banerjee, Bombayla Devi Laishram and Deepika Kumari registered a thrilling one-point win over their English opponents to bag the gold, Limba walked over to shake hands with the officials of the English team.

But to the utter shock of the three-time Olympian, an English official allegedly showed him his elbow in a rude gesture and abused him on his face saying "F*** ***"

The behavior of the inglistanis and kiwis is irrelevant but ozzie behavior is difficult to understand. They survive by selling their country rock by rock to the *real* countries and the Big Dog after China is India which, according to their bankers, is going to be bigger for longer. What are they thinking? Or are they just stupid?

Perhaps panda makes them do that. Panda plays his game well and the ostrich has to give concessions to be in panda's good favors. The ostrich, being a defenseless bird, knows it has to cling on to one rising star and panda is the star of the moment.

disha, I agree with your thoughts, but it has difficulties in this project at a near global event. I think we are expecting them to be like us, and that is going to be difficult to project. When it comes to negatives nobody in the advanced world thinks about the constructive side. This may be true within our society when things go bad, people start talking.. else everything is okay. Now, as honest responsible people we should act in asking for more information (RIT).

bottom line, it is very easy to forget and forgive the corrupted people since they always hide under some "India incredible" banner. bad people are bad wherever they are. Hope, we may change in the near future for zero tolerance on such matter. Then, the world will looks us in an entirely different sphere.

I'm sure the chinese faced as much hostility once upon a time. it would take some time for the news of our place in the world to penetrate their thick skulls. of course, people shouldn't forget the direct and indirect effects of murdoch's squeeze.

It is simple, when we project "we are dirty", and show them "we are so clean", then the view of the world is different. If we project "we are the best", and we have spent more than anyone on the planet done, then you are asking for trouble. That is what happening now.

Ok guys, this chutiya report in SMU requires some responses in the comments section. Unfortunately it seems you can only respond via Tweets. I don't have a Twitter account (!!!!) so folks here who do can please respond?
Crowds have been small but not well schooled in the etiquette of swimming fandom and at times the noise gets out of hand. Repeated requests from the pool announcer haven't quietened spectators.

The noise put off both Schoeman, from South Africa, and Burnett of England and although they were allowed to swim, Schoeman was furious.

"It's an absolute disgrace. There's a guy in the stands just shouting, shouting, shouting. Somebody like that needs to be ejected," he said after going through to the final, along with Australians Eamon Sullivan and Cam Prosser. Another South African Gideon Louw was the fastest man through.

"It's unacceptable to be at a professional event like this and have people going on like monkeys. Someone like that doesn't deserve to be here."
The Fukker is going on justifying the Monkey comment from a white South African and blaming it on the crowd.

I would have responded somewhat like this:
It's nice that Andrew Stevenson has captured the anguish of Roland Schoeman so well. Indeed the ignorant Delhi crowd has no excuse to behave like "Monkeys" in the presence of a worldclass athlete like Roland Schoeman. As it is being a white South African athlete must be very difficult of Mr Schoeman and stressed out as he is that he's having to compete in chaotic and inefficient country like India the crowd should have shown him consideration and I'm glad the Mr Stevenson understood this point very well. Finally I'm sure Andrew Symonds is at last feeling vindicated. In India they have a saying, "Karma" (your deeds) always has a way of catching up with you.
Cheers!
Once again if any kind soul here can access the comments section in SMU please post something, you can take the above if you so like.

Until 2002 we were nowhere on the CWG medals radar, typically pottering around earning 3-5 golds per games, except in the 1990 event where we got more than 10 (nearly all weightlifting as I recall). In the last decade, we've suddenly upped the ante, gaining 5x or more compared to historical average, and progressively widening the net into many sports. It'll face some resistance.

However, the CWG standard is at best moderate, and we now comfortably achieve 20-30 golds/games. What would be a real step forward is stabilizing at ~20 golds/games at Asian Games level. That would be a sign of real progress, and would herald a capability 4-5 golds/Olympics for a start. We could, with luck, achieve that already with some of our shooting prowess, but stabilizing at that level takes effort.

While the labourer paralyzed and in coma has been abandoned by GOI, foreign delegates are misusing Indian medical facilities for chronic problems and not paying a penny for the same. Pathetic

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Games-del ... 10248.aspx

Games delegates snap up health freebies
Rhythma Kaul , Hindustan Times

A Nigerian Commonwealth Games delegate who had been suffering from rheumatoid arthritis for years got her knee replaced within a week of landing in Delhi. The surgery costs anything between R2.5 lakh and R3 lakh in a private hospital. The cost for the Nigerian delegate: zero. The taxpayer paid the

The surgery was performed on the Nigerian — reported to be the contingent’s doctor — at the Capital’s G B Pant Hospital, one of the medical centres designated for procedures that can’t be handled by the polyclinic at the Games Village.

The Nigerian delegate isn’t the only who’s turning this visit to India into a health trip. More than 1,400 have visited the Village polyclinic in the last 10 days, figures made available to Hindustan Times reveal.

Of these, 224 came for dental check-ups and 140 for eye-related tests. Among women, more than 100 came in for preventive ultrasounds. As many as 300 visited the polyclinic for cardiac check-ups. Some got comprehensive heart tests done, with eight officials going in for ECGs, EEGs and angiography.

“The medical staff realises problems that require root canal or tooth extraction don’t develop overnight. These have obviously been deferred,” said Delhi Health Minister Kiran Walia. “But as medical care providers, we have to treat everyone.”

Countries like Nigeria, Kenya, Ghana, Cameroon, Samoa, Cook Island and Northern Ireland have used the polyclinic’s facilities the most.

things must be pretty tough financially and medically to try and 'comp' even basic stuff that too for sportsmen. isnt northern ireland part of UKstan?

Rahul M wrote:I'm sure the chinese faced as much hostility once upon a time. it would take some time for the news of our place in the world to penetrate their thick skulls. of course, people shouldn't forget the direct and indirect effects of murdoch's squeeze.
Actually IMO we face hostility because the Aussies and others of their ilk know that they can get away with it. The few times we've squeezed their manly stuff they've squealed like pigs. The two times I can remember is the Bhaji-Symonds incident when the BCCI came down like a ton of bricks and the other was during that terrorism case against that Indian doctor.

The Chinese do it blatantly. They jailed Rio Tinto executives after they couldn't buy the company. They insulted Kevin Rudd in Beijing despite his fawning attitude. In general they treat them like a third world country who's only importance is the quality of rocks on which they've built their homesteads on.

India can never be like that. (And I'm glad that is so). And hence they feel that India and Indians are easy game.

Remember the famous saying: The mouth which bites the hand the feeds it, usually licks the boot which kicks it.

Great news for India, Vijay Kumar and Harpreet win Gold in the 25 m center fire pistol men's paris event, notching our tally up to 21.

We should tell the world SDRES are the way we are and yes we are here now. So deal with it.

South Asia Hosting CWG, Daan reporting.

For the Pakis, major cause of concern.

eng overtakes us finally with 21 golds but higher # of silver.
we have already crossed last time's total of 50.

Philip wrote:CWG condom "cock-up"! At last Kalmadi can claim that the Games were a "Sex-cess"!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/oc ... dom-drains

Huge Commonwealth Games cock-up leads to condoms blocking drainsDelhi event's organisers 'working around the clock' to remove thousands of condoms obstructing plumbing at athletes' village

Whats with sex and athletes? Does it not hamper their performance outside the bed?
jagga

Post by jagga »

No end to Bhanot's verbal slip-ups
misinterpreting a question on reports of a South African swimmer calling Indian spectators "monkeys".
Asked about reports of Roland Schoeman's remarks that "it's unacceptable to be at a professional event like this and have people going on like monkeys", a bemused Bhanot at first responded, "There are monkeys in that area and we are trying to get them out of there."
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Chandragupta wrote:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/oc ... dom-drains

Huge Commonwealth Games cock-up leads to condoms blocking drainsDelhi event's organisers 'working around the clock' to remove thousands of condoms obstructing plumbing at athletes' village
Whats with sex and athletes? Does it not hamper their performance outside the bed?
fake news, see this

CWG Village officials deny reports of condoms clogging drains
http://sify.com/news/cwg-village-offici ... iaehe.html

it is alleged bob beamon had a wild night of sex before his path breaking 8.9m jump

so not sure of strength or running but it shure gives some people a jump!

there is no longer any semblance or pretence at truth anymore from the media reporting
they've had good ratings with the filthgate stories, now they are inventing other stories to cash in
there will be payback for this
maybe not now, maybe not tomorrow, but there will be payback
aussies in particular, take note

Sania Mirza is in action in her gold medal match today. I am cheering for her as long as she represents India. Go Sania, get that gold.

Some juicy quotes from Indian gymnast Ashish Kumar (the first Indian to win bronze and silver in different categories in gymnastics at the international level). PTI has this report:
I think I could have won the gold had equipment arrived on time for the Commonwealth Games and the venue was also ready on time. Then we could have got the home advantage which we certainly lost out,” said the 19-year-old.

Gymnastics Federation of India (GFI) President also added that had the gymnasts got the apparatus in March as they were promised earlier, they might have performed better.

“We could have got better results had the equipment arrived on time in March,” said Khandhari.
Clicky
AbhishekD

Post by AbhishekD »

This is the same situation as cricket. India used to suffer huge embarrassment and humiliation during the 60's and 70's for performance and hosting of cricket matches. These over spoiled white men used to feel special about visiting India.

India is just getting onto the scene in Olympic sports. Our performance in all olympic sports is embarrassing and our overall conduct of games is below par. It will take a few more events before we will be able to deliver flawless conduct of olympic games. Till then we will have to suffer this.

Olympic sports is not easy for India to pick up. Even in shooting our most favorite olympic sport, we are not the best in the world. We barely make the grade in Olympic events. The level of competition in CWG is low. If we perform commendably in Asian games especially in shooting, that will certainly show us as world beaters. But I am hopeful that olympic sports will come up slowly in India.

The event that will trigger it is a big medal haul in one of the olympic events. Something like 5-6 golds and shooting taking the lead, then olympic sports will become more popular in india.

Foreign shooters in awe of Karni Singh shooting range
The refurbished Karni Singh Shooting Range here has come in for rich praise from foreign shooters participating in the ongoing Commonwealth Games with a few terming it as one of the best range in the world.

Shooters from Australia, England and Singapore are in awe of the picturesque range that was renovated for the Games.

“It’s right up there with the world’s best and there is no doubt about that. We are really enjoying shooting in this range,” said 21-year-old Australian shooter Tyren Vitler.

England’s ace shooter James Huckle too praised the range. “This shooting range is absolutely fantastic,” said Huckle who combined with Kenny Parr to win silver in 10-metre air rifle event on the first day of shooting competition.

Yogeshwar Dutt wins gold in men's wrestling 60kg category (freestyle). England has gone up to no.2 spot in medal tally we have to catch up fast.