Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010
Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010
I don't think we can match england this time, since most of our strong categories are over. coming no3 and above canada should be doable and should be done.
another gold in wrestling. narsingh yadav in 74 kg.
what happened to sania's match ?
A very tight match going on. Australia's player Anastiasia, as usual, complaining about the crowd when losing points.Rahul M wrote:another gold in wrestling. narsingh yadav in 74 kg.
what you are seeing are the very early payoffs of the Army's Mission Olympics launched in 2006.
very big private guys are showing very big interest in olympic sports in India.
India's coming out party will be the 2016 summer olympics.
Our people excel at all sports that require some kind of martial activity - Wrestling, Shooting, Weightlifting, Archery and Boxing. And this is now understood. Instead of wasting time on track and field and pool, this is where the focus is and this is where it will be for the forseeable future.
Olympics are after all winning big in a few sports rather than winning some in all.
very big private guys are showing very big interest in olympic sports in India.
India's coming out party will be the 2016 summer olympics.
Our people excel at all sports that require some kind of martial activity - Wrestling, Shooting, Weightlifting, Archery and Boxing. And this is now understood. Instead of wasting time on track and field and pool, this is where the focus is and this is where it will be for the forseeable future.
Olympics are after all winning big in a few sports rather than winning some in all.
one factor is a lot of european countries will weaken in olympic sports due to economic constraints.
in 2008, china launched a decisive 'assault' on a wide assortment of sports not traditionally played in china and managed
to scoop up some medals.
since they have a lot of funding and H&D takleef, I would expect them to do neck and neck with US in next few olympics perhaps taking the #1 spot.
in 2008, china launched a decisive 'assault' on a wide assortment of sports not traditionally played in china and managed
to scoop up some medals.
since they have a lot of funding and H&D takleef, I would expect them to do neck and neck with US in next few olympics perhaps taking the #1 spot.
Chicom already has the number 1 spot from Beijing 2008. They were some 15 gold ahead at the end. So in a way China has emerged as the "true successor" to East Germany on steroids in the Olympics pecking order. In fact it has taken the GDR's dream forward in a way that GDR itself could not.
And remember the United states of Michael Phelps alone won eight for the star spangled banner in 2008.
With Chicom's "sports system" ( all aspects of course
) in place its a question of the goras catching up not the other way round. They'll probably end up number 1 in London 2012 as well.

And remember the United states of Michael Phelps alone won eight for the star spangled banner in 2008.
With Chicom's "sports system" ( all aspects of course

Last edited by D Roy on 09 Oct 2010 18:47, edited 1 time in total.
err, they took the #1 spot this time onlee, no need to wait for the next one.
- self-deleted-
Last edited by D Roy on 09 Oct 2010 19:44, edited 1 time in total.
sania gets silver,good try though
Re: Issues faced by Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 68#p931168
A dissatisfied Human is better than a satisfied pig.
On Ticket front Kallu Mama's expectations were modest. On the eve of Launching ARH crap as these song for CWG 28th Aug I was amazed when he said 800 tickets were sold. Naturally this is the area which was overlooked and mismanaged as well.chaanakya wrote:Finally a Cacophony from Oscar Award Winner AR Rahman is CWG theme song , downloaded 7000 times within two hours.
In his speech Kalamdi said Gudgaon has done far better in ticket sales for CWG and he is proud of it.
I watched on TV yest'day in amazement when he said 800 tickets.
Most of the songs and presentations were jarring and colors were too harsh on eyes.
BTW, while majority of works seems to have been done, some finishing touches are only needed and hopefully those would be over JIT. I also hope plants would start flowering before the opening ceremony.
Pavements , which are pictured here in BRF , and other works seems as bad and unprofessionally as as we are capable of doing it.
Traffic is going to be a nightmare scenario. I think Govt might restrict the entry of some class of vehicles.
CCTV installations , police pickets, information kiosk seems much better.
Could not see T3 , new arrival terminal, as Air India took the usual bus route for the old terminal. Even Departure was from old terminal. Felt disappointed.Looks like not yet fully operational. Though didn't have much time to look around.
Perhaps being preserved for Int'l arrivals not for poor desis.![]()
I pray we are ready for Grand opening.
A dissatisfied Human is better than a satisfied pig.
Free education for CWG winners
Extract
Extract
The support would continue as long as the student wishes to pursue studies and would include tuition fee as well as maintenance expenditure.
Sibal has also advised the UGC and CBSE to formulate financial incentive schemes to support talented sportspersons and to strengthen the sports infrastructure in educational institutions in the country.
and the funny thing is that the top events that Americans watch in olympics are only Swimming and Gymnastics. Majority of the sports that americans kids play are American Football (not soccer), Basketball, Ice Hockey, Baseball, Soccer.And remember the United states of Michael Phelps alone won eight for the star spangled banner in 2008.
USA representing athletes in olympics are mostly college students being sent by their universities who are studying on "sports quota".
Vast Majority of grants go to American Football athletes (Just the coach for university of Pittsburgh football team makes $1.2 million a year). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Wannstedt
Swimmers, Athletes, Soccer players, Tennis players, shooters, archers, lifters, wrestlers only get fraction of football players and supporting staff. Though now some of the NFL (football) players do compete in athletic competitions (sprinting,etc).
The sports culture of USA is exactly opposite from India (which is mostly cricket only these days). Three years old playing soccer (soccer mom is the term for such mothers who scream at coaches at each call)., five years old playing golf in their backyard. It is organized perfectly at each level i.e. Fridays for School football, Saturdays for College Football and Sundays for Professional Football. neighbourhood Fantasy football leagues betting through their wireless internet.
Do you guys know the real reason of decline in West Indies cricket? It is the money in American Baseball that West Indian players now prefer to play baseball than cricket.
^^^There aren't that many West Indies players in baseball. But the money in baseball is no doubt pretty high for the top levels.
Most of the Olympics involve random individual sports so China can pour state funding into them and do well. Similar how in the 80s Korea figured out that short track speedskating, which favors smaller guys, was one event they could really dominate. Whereas sports that are actually competitive like football, despite their absolute best efforts, China is terrible.
We can do the same in individual sports, but let us get private and corporate organizations like the Mittal Trust to get involved rather than gov. organisations.
Most of the Olympics involve random individual sports so China can pour state funding into them and do well. Similar how in the 80s Korea figured out that short track speedskating, which favors smaller guys, was one event they could really dominate. Whereas sports that are actually competitive like football, despite their absolute best efforts, China is terrible.
We can do the same in individual sports, but let us get private and corporate organizations like the Mittal Trust to get involved rather than gov. organisations.
not baseball, but baskethall per media reports.
Seeing a lot of tweets by Pakistanis celebrating "South Asian" medals
I hate the word South Asia
Was noticing the same thing about the Aussie whining and flaping hands about when in a spot of bother. The Aussies really seem like sore loosers .James B wrote:A very tight match going on. Australia's player Anastiasia, as usual, complaining about the crowd when losing points.Rahul M wrote:another gold in wrestling. narsingh yadav in 74 kg.
Have to say that Sania is not my fav sportsperson but she really did play out of her skin in the final and must applaud her stupendous effort!!
ANy video to see these gamessum wrote:
Was noticing the same thing about the Aussie whining and flaping hands about when in a spot of bother. The Aussies really seem like sore loosers .
Have to say that Sania is not my fav sportsperson but she really did play out of her skin in the final and must applaud her stupendous effort!!
^^ Dinesh Kumar jut lost out in his pre-quarter due to a single point which his opponent got right on the final bell..the Desi staff protested but no avail. He is the first Indian boxer to loose this CWG. Good stuff by the desi boxers in CWG so far
Akhil kumar thrashed his nemesis, Iain Weaver who had defeated Akhil 12-1 just few months back and was taunting him via the media just before the match

Sorry but have no idea since saw it on my SDRE TV set on SDRE DD onlee...Acharya wrote:ANy video to see these gamessum wrote:
Was noticing the same thing about the Aussie whining and flaping hands about when in a spot of bother. The Aussies really seem like sore loosers .
Here the aussies can afford to do it because they are the strongest team here. And since its being held in this third world country, all the WASP nations can get away with behaving like a prima donna and still come out as the victim.
There is just so much for us to learn in media and PR management. All the games OC seems to be doing is trying to give explanations for every damn thing that these foreign atheletes say is a problem. Very disappointing.
DD presenter said we got bronze in men's 20 km walk. pretty good !
wonder if we can get our gold tally up to 35.
Just for the heck of it, how many medals did 'South Asia' win?
Just checked. Rest of 'South Asia' won a grand total of 2 silver and 2 bronze
Paki -1 S, Sri Lanka 1 s, 1 B, Bangla Desh 1 B
Just checked. Rest of 'South Asia' won a grand total of 2 silver and 2 bronze
Paki -1 S, Sri Lanka 1 s, 1 B, Bangla Desh 1 B
Last edited by saip on 09 Oct 2010 23:08, edited 2 times in total.
Definitely no doubt that the 2 medals in gymnastics, 1 in walk and 1 in swimming should be the stand out of this games. Had never imagined such a day coming in my lifetime.Marten wrote:That 20km medal and the gymnastics medal are the best things coming out of this Games. I hope SDREs take up 5k to 20km events more seriously. Our build is ideally suited to this range.
Also, had never imagined seeing double digit medal tally in Olympics for Desh but suddenly, am seeing such a vision approaching in the distant horizon. We really seem to be developing pretty good talent line in shooting, boxing and wrestling ( maybe even archery??). Yes, the CWG isn't the toughest competition around but it is apparent that a start has been made and we can only get better. If only weightlifting also can pull its socks up, we can safely look at ~8-10 medals every Olympics in near future.
Which other sports have a bright prospect for Desh in the future other than the above mentioned? ( Honestly, cant see us going places in swimming, track and field and gymnastics where all the slots are already very keenly fought for by multiple nations)
And how many of those 'South Asian medals' are Pakis?saip wrote:Just for the heck of it, how many medals did 'South Asia' win?

"S.Asia" tally : 24 19 19 ( read as G S B , ) in which Poaks account for 1S, SL for 1S,1B and BD for 1B.
Rest are by the SDRE who are cowering in their dark corners after duly collecting their medals onlee while the TFTA strut around medal-lessly...
Please to visit Benis thread for enlightenment. Learn new equation of 1 paki = 20 SDREs, derived from CWG 2010.Raja Bose wrote:And how many of those 'South Asian medals' are Pakis?saip wrote:Just for the heck of it, how many medals did 'South Asia' win?
wrong kweschun RB !
'south asia' = TSP
south asia = term for the sub-continent
lankans got 2 I think ?
sum, yes. some of our archers are doing well in the world championships, which is a good way to gauge their level.
wrong kweschun RB !

'south asia' = TSP
south asia = term for the sub-continent
lankans got 2 I think ?
sum, yes. some of our archers are doing well in the world championships, which is a good way to gauge their level.
I recall one athlete named perhaps Chand Ram who won gold in 20km walk for 1982 Asiad - perhaps India's first gold of that asiad. and the equestrian and polo teams were good too - one soldier Raghuvir Singh won a gold iirc in horse jumping event. ...almost 28yrs ago but I recall going with my father and sister at night to the local SAI stadium where a colour TV set had been arranged for 100s of citizens to enjoy in full colour! I recall being awed by the chinese and japanese gymnasts (Li ning?) and then liem swie king, icuk sugiarto and han jian in badminton. P.t.usha was just coming up and won silver in 100m and 200m iirc.
If the Army and private trusts are supporting talent that is good indeed. Why leave out swimming ? It is an important component of any marine commando unit
We should do well in swimming. Just build large pools in towns where there natural swimmers and catch the lanky kids with strong upper bodies. India can do it for sure. There are plenty of medals at the Asian Games level to add in this category.

Notice how its only Govt Orgs that are advertising inside stadiums and on TV. No private company came out to sponsor.
This govt organisations sponsorship should also be added to the total cost of the games to the country
Vasu had posted some links a few pages back. I am using TVU Player set to channel 90441 (DD Sports). Pretty good.Acharya wrote: ANy video to see these games
Swimming = TFTABade wrote:If the Army and private trusts are supporting talent that is good indeed. Why leave out swimming ? It is an important component of any marine commando unitWe should do well in swimming. Just build large pools in towns where there natural swimmers and catch the lanky kids with strong upper bodies. India can do it for sure. There are plenty of medals at the Asian Games level to add in this category.
Seriously though I think we should go for developing winners in every sport including track. How does development work in places like Oz, are the academies there all state run or private?
Tally after day 6:
1. Australia 55 30 31 116
2. England 24 43 29 96
3. India 24 17 17 58
4. Canada 17 11 22 50
5. South Africa 9 9 9 27
1. Australia 55 30 31 116
2. England 24 43 29 96
3. India 24 17 17 58
4. Canada 17 11 22 50
5. South Africa 9 9 9 27
Very good discussion on sporting culture in India on BigFight, NDTV
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/i ... ion/168494
performances from the athletes continue to be great, well done to everyone
and there's more to come - we need to really secure third slot, canada is creeping up slowly but surely
some saner voices in australia finally... (sydney morning herald readers opinions/comments) - selected highlights (there are others doing the usual racist rubbish)
Its a shame that we Australians have hell bent on 'nit-picking' and 'whinging' about everything and everybody that is not Australian. I have seen the coverage of these games and they are fantastic. 'The Age' in particular has criticized the games on every day and on every event.
Our way of doing things is different than others. We have to appreciate that Indians believe in the management principle of JIT (Just in Time). The Age said Athletes Village is not ready. But it was ready 'Just in Time'. Then you aid the Opening ceremony of Games has some problems. But as the world has seen it was probably the best opening ceremony I have seen. Then they said Athletics may not start on time as the stadium is not ready. As we have seen it started smoothly. Then they said the food is not good, because couple of aussies have stomach bug. Well when 7000+ athletes have no problem with the food then how can you pass such a sweeping statement based on problems to just 2 athletes? There were many such incidences. None of the problems reported are insurmountable or serious problems that merit reporting.
Now Stop Whinging and start writing about the games.
Andrew White | Melbourne - October 09, 2010, 2:16PM
The Age
You were part of the chorus setting these Games up for failure from the outset, with fear mongering opinion pieces about safety, hygiene and chaos, all designed to actively discourage attendance. Yet now, you are part of the same chorus criticising the Games for the lack of attendance. Try reporting the news objectively (remember journalism?) instead of this narrow-minded self-serving spin.
Disappointing.
Clare | Melbourne - October 09, 2010, 2:27PM
Well said Andrew!
I agree that too much focus is on negatives. This is the first time India has hosted an event of such scale and as noted "everything" is ready albeit just in time. Why didnt you criticise MCG when their was a burst water main on grand final day and players couldnt go back to their dressing room? I am sorry but I have lost faith in media completely now.
Deepak | Melbourne - October 09, 2010, 2:36PM
Oh dear, another article that claims Delhi is no good. What happened to the fair go spirit.. Age is shaping to be a worst magazine and even the TV commentators claiming the condition is hot and humid and athletes cant run.. each and every country has its own pros and cons.. What do you want for athletes... running in an AC room...
RR | Melbourne - October 09, 2010, 2:47PM
After so many controversies, hype and negative publicity in phoren media about CWG it seems like India's second (or atleast third) position in medal tally is very very respective. One of the positive side effect myself can see (apart from Kalmadi & Co's unaccounted income) in regards to hosting CWG in India is we are poised to get better only. Not only in events like shooting, boxing and wrestling but also in gymnastics, archery long distance running and possibly swimming. CWG medal tally itself says a lot and proves there is no scarcity of talent but its matter of giving right direction to the talent. BTW my observation is (could be wrong) large sum of athletes representing India are from rural India falling in low-medium income range. So its perhaps better for GoI to focus more on sporting infrastructure (obviously roads, water and other amenities is priority) in rural areas then in metros. My guess is every metro city with population of >30 40 lacs has already got some pretty decent pools and other stuff. Also any wanna-be athlete living in metro would have more income to be able to afford that facilities then his/her counterpart living in rural.
Apart from this obviously we need to get better with event management and PR on this huge scale.
JMT.
Apart from this obviously we need to get better with event management and PR on this huge scale.
JMT.
Gold #25 : Archery Women's Recurve Individual title won by Deepika Kumari.
did she beat the english girl ? dola banerjee lost to one english girl and was kind of struggling for bronze vs a malaysian lady of indian origins
one of our wrestlers in the finals of 84 kg. another lost to a paki.