Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010
Re: Commonwealth Games-New Delhi 2010
And a Gold for Delhi
For banishing Page 3 people, for coming out to play on a dazzling, level playing field
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/and-a ... hi/698297/
For banishing Page 3 people, for coming out to play on a dazzling, level playing field
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/and-a ... hi/698297/
We were gracious host; they were thankless guests
Can someone tell me why did we go out of our way to please those goras, who don't deserve any of this a bit?nough was enough. The party got over late at night, but for Bharat it was over even before it started. Bharat was glad to see is guests off.
Wonderful games, only regret, not being able to attend the Games closing in person.
where does 70 crore Aerostat goes now? Was it also on uber expensive rent?
Asit P ji,Asit P wrote:So India achieves both its targets (2nd finish in the medal tally and 100 medals). I hope that it acts as a baby step towards greater accomplishment in the Olympics.
I don't want to rain on your parade. I too wish all the good for India.
Let's not forget that many sports persons dropped out of the games for various reasons. The Olympics is a different ball game all together. Kalmadi may actually be responsible for our good placement and medal haul at the CWG.

If the powers that be are serious and actually are willing to spend good money on the training of our athletes than surely we will put up a good show at the Asian as well as the Olympic games.
chetak, which sportsperson(s) dropped out in the categories we got medals in ?
Can anyone please post the closing ceremony video with the horseman?Rahul M wrote:that was from lata mangeshkar's vande mataram video, produced by bharat bala.Lalmohan wrote:^^^ come come, we don't want to frighten everyone do we?
as it is everyone is commenting on 'nationalistic' tone of ceremonies!! (not to mention the flag waving horseman!)![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6PHJg9D_Sk
At the hockey finals, we were requested to take of our sunglasses so that they would fotograph us while the tickets were scanned. such was the security. But this was not the case in boxing finals.
I saw CRPF digital camouflage!

Sushil Kumar: The world champion not only gave a gold to his country but also mauled his opponent in just 9 seconds, a CWG record.
http://static.ibnlive.com/pix/slideshow ... il_630.jpg
TFTA paki, going down in flat 46 secs to SDRE...
AdityaM, The next step is to link the photo recording device to a iris database. Not kidding but one can eventually track a person's movements by a picture of their eyes. Sort of GPS tracker but with no signals.AdityaM wrote:At the hockey finals, we were requested to take of our sunglasses so that they would fotograph us while the tickets were scanned. such was the security. But this was not the case in boxing finals.
Good display of composite culture civilizational India!! 

Because of PM and Sonia's presence in the stadium I think.AdityaM wrote:At the hockey finals, we were requested to take of our sunglasses so that they would fotograph us while the tickets were scanned. such was the security. But this was not the case in boxing finals.
As someone not living in India, I could only "see" the CWG from what is uploaded in the youtube. The games were excellent. However, what strikes me the most are the comments posted by various watchers from various nations. This shows the Khujli that is taking place in various unmentionable parts of the anatomy. And unfortunately this will not go away from mere scratching. One example I can give is how Sheila Dixit's name was attacked. As India progresses, we should be prepared to see such khujli overtaking common sense and decency. It is the price of success I guess.
Can the Mods keep this thread alive, to cover the CAG audit findings and discussion?
I read somewhere that there were attempts of cyber attacks on Game website from pakis and chinis and that probably explains why sometimes the site was down!
I too have the same suspicion. The specialised ERP used by CWG was similar to one used at Beijing. It is very curious how the whole ticketing thing happened. How could the SW ever show that the tickets were sold out and the stadiums were empty? Surely there is more to it then what meets the eyes....
If 10 janpath allows..!Fidel Guevara wrote:Can the Mods keep this thread alive, to cover the CAG audit findings and discussion?
What is making me furious is Govt probing corruption, how can you, when you are yourself implicated..!
This should be fully a judicia l enquiry.
This will be the first mega-scandal since the telecom and internet revolution, and the first where the media is not just DD and a handful of coteries. Ideas and accusations will fly thick and fast all over cyberspace, and there's no way the govt can find a couple of scapegoats and cover up the rest. We have sites like Wikileaks which are beyond the control of our netas, and what's to say that some bureaucrat (who didn't get his/her rightful share of the loot) won't post a ton of dirt online. In the days of Bofors, voice and video recording wasn't in the palm of everyone's hand or in their pockets...I'm sure there's lots of masala out there, just need someone to unplug the dike.IndraD wrote:If 10 janpath allows..!Fidel Guevara wrote:Can the Mods keep this thread alive, to cover the CAG audit findings and discussion?
What is making me furious is Govt probing corruption, how can you, when you are yourself implicated..!
This should be fully a judicia l enquiry.
From a popcorn perspective, the CWG just keeps on giving - the hungama before the games, the glory during, and the settling of accounts after.
What is the logic to say that tickets have been sold out?Sri wrote:^^^
Who benefits and where is the cash?
Surely such sales would have left a clear paper trail.
Am I missing something?
The slumdog gentleman has still managed to hang on to the
5 Crore rupee fee.
That's a lot of money for mediocrity.
http://news.oneindia.in/2010/10/16/ar-r ... -tune.html
5 Crore rupee fee.
That's a lot of money for mediocrity.
http://news.oneindia.in/2010/10/16/ar-r ... -tune.html
AR Rahman apologises for disappointing CWG tune
Saturday, October 16, 2010,
New Delhi, Oct 16: Admitting that the Delhi Commonwealth Games (CWG) anthem was not up to the mark, award-winning music composer AR Rahman on Friday, Oct 15 apologised for his disappointing tune.
In an interview with a TV news channel, the maestro attributed his failure to enrapture everyone with his CWG anthem, 'India bula liya', to the fact that the song was was only tested on the younger generation and not all the age groups.
"The anthem was tested on the younger generation, and not all ages. We tested it on a lot of nationalities, but for some reason, people did not like it and it became a huge controversy," Rahman told NDTV.
Delhi CWG vs. Beijing Olympics
India handled the 2010 Commonwealth Games well in many respects, even with the controversy over hygiene, facilities and so on. What has really mattered is that at the end of the day, India pulled it off. When the athletes took their places in the various stadiums, they have performed.
India and the Games have attracted a great deal of negative publicity. However, I have traveled to Delhi countless times (our firm has an office there) and can assure you it is not the “cesspool” that many suggest. Rather more, there have been an abundance of negative stories based on the fact that for many journalists, this is their first time to India. It is true that India is an assault on the senses for the uninitiated. Cattle wandering the main roads, for example, makes India appear more rural in its urban centers than it actually is. Yet, welcome to the land of the sacred cow. Journalists who have visited will go back to their desks and will talk it up as an adventure. For sure, not all of it will be positive, but as I experienced with my early first trips, the fonder memories will stick out. The very journalists who have been negative about India and the Commonwealth Games, will, I am sure, be among the first to put themselves forward if asked to return.
The fact that India has pulled off its first major international event since 1982 demonstrates how much more confident and competent the nation has become. In terms of security, the Games come just two years after the dreadful Mumbai attacks, a terrorist situation of the type that China has fortunately not had to face. Yet the security aspects of hosting major and regular events in India appear to have been solved.
Delhi vs. Beijing
While the Delhi Commonwealth Games have inevitably been compared with the Beijing Olympics, consider this. India spent US$4.6 billion on hosting the Commonwealth Games, an event about a third of the size of the Olympics (71 teams against 204 teams). China spent US$70 billion on the Olympics – 15 times more on an event just three times bigger. The point being that the comparisons in amount spent will dictate the Delhi Games were never going to be able to compete with the sheer grandeur of China’s 2008 Olympics. There would have been outcry if they had – India as a democracy has the right to public voice, and India has plenty of mouths to feed. Such fiscal prudence, while it didn’t match the spectacle of the China event, didn’t take as much money away from the people as China’s Communist Party did from theirs, and India should be commended for that.
At the end of the day, despite all the criticism and the inevitable comparisons with China, India’s Commonwealth Games have proven a success for a country still adapting and emerging from decades of neglect and disarray. They weren’t perfect, but India will learn from this and will move on. India’s Commonwealth Games worked. They represent a platform for a newly resurgent nation, and as such, showed off India’s capabilities rather well.
Rahul M wrote:chetak, which sportsperson(s) dropped out in the categories we got medals in ?
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 185368.cms
Among the top athletes who are skipping the Commonwealth Games in Delhi are Usain Bolt (100m & 200 m Olympic Champion), Asafa Powell (Former 100 m World Record Holder), Lleyton Hewitt (Former World No 1 tennis player), Andy Murray (Current World No 4 tennis player), Shelly Ann Fraser (Olympic & World 100 m Champion) and Chris Hoy(Quadruple Olympic gold medallist). According to Mr Kalmadi the “biggest squad ever is coming from every country” .
http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news ... WG/685808/
Yesterday, Australian world champion discus thrower Dani Samuels pulled out of the Games citing health and security concerns following Sunday's gun attack on two foreign tourists and the recent outbreak of dengue fever in Delhi.
none of which are in categories we got medals in, so their absence hasn't affected our medals tally in any way.
Lleyton Hewitt is the no. 1 oiseaule of the fast ejecting assie tennis team. The assie davis cup team did nt even turn up for their match against India in India in 2008 and used their clout to downgrade what would have been an automatic ban for 1 year into a degradation to the Asia-Oceania Group I. From which they have climbed out in 2 years. The monetary fine was also degraded, that is how colonial and racist the DC body was/is.
Regarding Samantha Stosur, this is what happened:
The same story repeats with the brit cyclists. Bringing Usain Bolt to India would have been a coup for Suresh Kalmadi, and it will still be a coup if glasgow pulls in usain bolt. Fact remains that:
The problem is this: If the rest of the world is more individualistic and more worried about personal wealth rather than nationalistic aspirations, why should the blame be on dilli billis. The dilli billis have enough crap to answer for, dumping useless crap on their plates is not right. And yes, fck those who did nt turn up.
PS: And imagine the h&d loss when andy murray would have bitten the dust against Somdev just like goran met his leander in 97. The games are done, successfully no less, and mud is on the face of those who predicted that sky will fall in case the events happen. I refuse to see the logic in whining about anything other than the Himalayan corruption.
PPS: And in terms of precedet, the west boycotted moscow80. in return the orthodox branch of christianity boycotted los angeles84. Everywhere we go, people still say India has 8 gold medals in hickey, no?! Boycott, bans, etc. are/were all par for the course. The problem lies in folks' minds where sports are meant to be that ah-so-pristine gentlemanly avenue to human endeavors. Any random reading of history will tell you that sports, least of all, have been gentlemanly in the past. And sports has been one arena where politics comes in and dumps its crap much to the surprise of many. Surprise, only if folks choose to find it surprising.
Regarding Samantha Stosur, this is what happened:
The same can be said of the three Indian doubles players: Hesh (ranked no 13, doubles team with Max ranked 9), Lee (ranked no 8, doubles team with Lukas ranked no 3) and Rohan (no 18, team with aisam ranked 6). The fact that these guys skipped the ATP events (which would have put them in line for the world doubles championship) and came for cwg shows their commitment to national duty rather than to personal glory.The Games clash with the prestigious China Open and conclude the day before Stosur is due to defend her title in Osaka from October 11. With more match wins on tour than any other woman in the world this year, Stosur is also in line to qualify for the season-ending championships in Bali.
The same story repeats with the brit cyclists. Bringing Usain Bolt to India would have been a coup for Suresh Kalmadi, and it will still be a coup if glasgow pulls in usain bolt. Fact remains that:
And Usain has made it clear that he wont run in UK (he did nt run this year) till the tax law gets changed, except for london 2012 (where he has graciously made an exception).Tax rules state that any payment received thanks to a UK appearance by a sports person who is not a resident is subject to tax at the basic rate – currently 20 per cent.
The problem is this: If the rest of the world is more individualistic and more worried about personal wealth rather than nationalistic aspirations, why should the blame be on dilli billis. The dilli billis have enough crap to answer for, dumping useless crap on their plates is not right. And yes, fck those who did nt turn up.
PS: And imagine the h&d loss when andy murray would have bitten the dust against Somdev just like goran met his leander in 97. The games are done, successfully no less, and mud is on the face of those who predicted that sky will fall in case the events happen. I refuse to see the logic in whining about anything other than the Himalayan corruption.
PPS: And in terms of precedet, the west boycotted moscow80. in return the orthodox branch of christianity boycotted los angeles84. Everywhere we go, people still say India has 8 gold medals in hickey, no?! Boycott, bans, etc. are/were all par for the course. The problem lies in folks' minds where sports are meant to be that ah-so-pristine gentlemanly avenue to human endeavors. Any random reading of history will tell you that sports, least of all, have been gentlemanly in the past. And sports has been one arena where politics comes in and dumps its crap much to the surprise of many. Surprise, only if folks choose to find it surprising.
Last edited by Stan_Savljevic on 17 Oct 2010 12:48, edited 1 time in total.
Women's 4*400 meters was an epic event something that shall be etched in my memory for a long time.
Hewitt is a racist fagot his outburst against the linesman in a match against Blake is there for everyone to see/read. Its good that Federer wipes the court with him whenever the two meet.

Really?Rahul M wrote:none of which are in categories we got medals in, so their absence hasn't affected our medals tally in any way.
Woman discus thrower Krishna Poonia winning the gold.
Somdev wins men’s singles gold
Why is the 4x400 womens team performance so surprising? Are folks dropping in after taking a 10-15 year hiatus from watching sports and suddenly seeing Indians doing well?! Go check out the asiad performance of the womens 4x400 teams over the last 20 years -- all the data are on wiki. What is worse, we were the silver winners in mel-burn06.
Did nt realize that the 2018 bid is between that god-forsaken place called gold coast in oz against hambantota in sl. Mahinda Rajapakse entry in the closing ceremony may have been to forewarn the goras which side India will vote. If Delhi could beat the hamilton bid in 03, I am waiting with glee to see by how many votes gold coast is going to get thumped.
That said: Rajapakse for closing ceremony, Yudhoyono for republic day, when Maung Aye or minh triet make it, it may be another bolt from the blue?!
Boss performance in front of home crowd has a special sentimental value , btw I knew it was coming else babus wouldn't have kept it for the end . 

Boss, 4x400 is always in the end. What has that got to do with babus? The games have more or less standardized the way in which core sports are being belted out, it is pretty much the same routine as with OG or AG. Btw, lawn bowls is a core sport
, so paging all pattis and thathas from India for the glasgow games.
Further to the precedent issue: India bunked the 50 event in auckland (this was the time of wrangling between the post-clement attlee phase in britain with the tensions between the churchill side and attlee side, and j l nehru government in India about what exactly does the commonwealth mean -- this was also why the Indian membership to what was then the MCC and now the ICC got pushed down by a few years), 62 event in perth (officially because of the war with china and unofficially because of the attitude of the commonwealth nations during the war-time) and 86 event in edinburgh (along with many other asian and african countries over the thatcher government policies in apartheid-era south africa).

meanwhile, apart from all that sport/shoart bijnej
i am still getting over the two lal-chicks during closing of opening ceremony
http://www.smh.com.au/commonwealth-game ... 16o97.html
Samuels to meet Indian champion in showdown
Daniel Lane
October 17, 2010
AUSTRALIA'S Dani Samuels will challenge Commonwealth Games discus champion Krishna Poonia to a lucrative winner-takes-all contest.
The challenge follows Poonia's pre-Games insinuation that Samuels's ''poor form'' was the real reason the world champion did not compete at Delhi.
Samuels's concerns about her health and safety were behind her decision to withdraw, but Poonia told Indian reporters the Australian hadn't performed well during the European summer.
While her comments were dismissed by Samuels's coach Denis Knowles as a misrepresentation, Poonia laid the foundation for a battle royale. The event would be tailor-made for Indian television as a result of Poonia's new-found star status after she won her country's first Commonwealth Games athletics gold medal in 52 years.
^ So the H&D is strain! tell them to come to delhi & we will pay 20K
Yup, it has to be in Indian hot and humid with dirty toilets conditions onlee, otherwise it is not a fair challenge 
Also that aussie-wussie would have got a delly-belly anyway, and the results would still be a gold for India in tennis. People who did not show up whatever the reasons, are losers no matter what their ranking.

The scumbag is back.
http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/oct/ ... -aiyar.htm

CWG 'denigrated' India's image, says Aiyar
October 17, 2010 16:22 IST
Continuing his tirade against the just-concluded Commonwealth Games , former Sports Minister Mani Shankar Aiyar said India should have focused on improving the plight of its poor instead of spending thousands of crores on the event which only "denigrated" its image. "Tell me if your stadium is empty why not invite the children of those labourers who built the stadium to come in and sit down," Aiyar, the most vocal critic of the Delhi [ Images ] Commonwealth Games, told PTI in New York. "But no, this was a middleclass party." "So only PLUs (people like us) were given the opportunity of coming in and they didn't come in adequate numbers," the Congress MP said, noting that 960 crores spent on renovating the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium could have been put to better use.
Aiyar also claimed that no single event had done more damage to India's image in the past 63 years since independence than the recent Commonwealth Games. "I don't think the world has ever denigrated us and in such obscene language as we have seen happening in the past few weeks," he said. "70,000 crores to get ourselves a bad name," the former minister said, referring to the total amount spent on the 12-day mega sporting event. On whether the Games were a success as declared by the Indian government, Aiyar claimed that the event had failed to position India as a top player on the global stage. "I'm not sure we've attained the objective we had of projecting ourselves as a great rising economic power to the Western world or even to Africa," he said.
Given India's poverty and inability to provide basic health care to millions of women and children, Aiyar said that the question is not whether the Games were successful but whether so much money should have been invested in the event. In view of talks that India is ready to host the Olympics [ Images ] as well, the former minister urged that CWG should be seen as a deterrent for India hosting mega sporting events, and noted that sports in India would be better served if the money was spent on the athletes and not stadia.
"I see no reason at all why we should create this perversion of national priorities," Aiyar said. "We must get back to the fundamental goal of poverty alleviation." "95 per cent of our youth have no access to organised sports and games," he said, calling for "making India a sporting nation rather than a nation that hosts sportsevents." On being pointed out that China and South Africa had pulled off the Olympic Games and the football World Cup respectively while dealing with developmental issues, Aiyar stressed that China was already a "fantastic sporting nation" and South Africa had plenty of financial help from outside.
"A huge number of Chinese children and Chinese youth are given full facilities to develop their sporting talent," he said. "They are a sporting nation that then hosted a sporting event ... we are not ... we have to become a sporting nation first." On whether the criticism of the CWG was fair, Aiyar said, "Why are you making the Games a test of patriotism." "Is it patriotic to have done the games in such a way that the first action of the Prime Minister after the games are over is to appoint a probe team to look into malfeasance, inefficiency and possible corruption," he said.
Betwa Sharma in New York
magar chetak sahab, how much of a difference do those two events make to our overall tally ? even our ranking might not have been affected given that england picked up medals in events which are aussie strengths. further, a higher ranked player does not get a medal just for turning up he/she ?
after all a leander paes did defeat a goran ivanisevic, then world no 5 IIRC.

I wonder how much difference did the "home crowd" make to the indian medal tally. With thousands shouting for you, I wonder how many non medals were converted into medals!
MSAiyar's father should have not sent him to Doon school, when lot of us poor SDREs had to go to lesser schools. Atyachar onlee... 

I have a small suggestion for all reports and discussion related to probe into CWG start a separate thread. Keep this for games related discussion.
Stan ji,Stan_Savljevic wrote:what exactly does the commonwealth mean?
When you get a chance, can you pl elaborate more on this? to me this sounds most absurd concept - a club of rape victims celebrating their collective rapes with the master given central place? This may have been discussed before and if so, pointer would help.
- What does this club mean? Why should we be in this club?
- What are the pros-cons for India to be associated with this club?
Thanks in advance.