MRCA Discussion - October 2, 2010

shanksinha

Re: MRCA Discussion - October 2, 2010

Post by shanksinha »

Allright enough of this "Paper Plane" stuff. Last I heard (if my memory serves me right) of a MiG 29 variant and paper plane in the same sentence was a sensational front page cover story in Indian Express (2001 or 2002 cant remember). I still remember reading that piece sitting in my college library in Pune. It went on and on about how the MiG 29k was a cold war era defunct programme and only one airframe existed, that too unoperational. In short a paper plane (exact words) and it made out the IN's decision to buy it as some sort of scam.

Here we are today the paper plane has materialised, flying in Indian skies and heralding a new era in our naval aviation with more on order. But whats is amusing is how the same opinions are rehashed for MiG 35........just a few airframes flying, defunct programme, old wine, paperplane......I almost feel like a college kid again. Thanks for that. :D

indranilroy wrote:Viv, appreciate your point of view.
Likewise.
And then coming back to my idea of buy the cheapest fighter that does the work for us. Now I do understand why IAF just had checkboxes to tick and then give the MOD the list of three which filled most tick boxes (prioritized may be). And then MoD just goes for L1.
That was certainly my belief all along. But, if you recall Eurofighter Gmbh intended to back out from the competition before the trials as it felt the investment wasn't it worth it since the EF was at a disadvantage in the lowest bidder model. But after discussions with the IAF, the EF head honchos decided to commit as the performance is apparently factored into the equation somehow.

Frankly, I don't know what to expect anymore. Sometimes, the Rafale and EF are the only game in town, sometimes a single engined aircraft is a shoe-in. :-?

I know. It is just a balance. It would be interesting to know which way the IAF/MoD decides.

As interesting as the choice may be, the reasons may be more interesting. I am hoping against hope to know why the IAF/MoD choses a particular plane as the winner. I am pretty sure it will not be made public for a couple of decades :)

All I know, whichever plane is chosen, it will be a damn good plane :).

If, however, the Eurofighter is selected, then we would be contractually bound to effect a 60% technology transfer.
there is no such thing as 60% technology transfer as 90% of the technology is locked up in the brains of foreign scientists.

maybe if we get to cut their heads off and keep it, it might be 60%.

technology transfer is largely a unless buzzword to get suckers to part with their $. Unless there exist some company in the private sector able to absorb that technology and make good use of it, talking technology transfer is a waste of time.

Viv S wrote: I'm pretty sure the EF and SH were designed to have a low signature right from conception as well. In addition the EF carries half of its MRAAMs in semi-recessed troughs to further reduce its RCS. But, yes between the EF and Rafale, neither has a decisive edge as far as the radar cross section goes.
Probably, but the careful sculpting involved in the Rafale (forward fuselage area especially), and the the angular looks of the Tiffy vis a vis the Rafale imvho suggest this. I feel that the French insistence upon building on their "discrete" objective is a reflection of this emphasis upon low observability (not in the full blown sense of an F22 of course, but in specific applications).
??? How is more silent than say the Python-5 or Iris-T or for that matter the R-73.
Because iirc it (Mica IIR) can be used at BVR ranges - a unique feature not shared by any others. A very possible scenario is targeting using feeds from others or even the ELS/Spectra or the OSF. I recall reading an old article by a British pilot in a Rafale claiming that the OSF could lock on to a Transall well beyond Mica range through clouds!
I don't quite share your optimism. The Russians doubled the price of the MKI in six years. The T-90's real cost ended up being much more than the Arjun(after refusal of ToT), to say nothing of the Gorshkov disaster.
First, we don't exactly know what is included in the latest deal - what is the configuration for these MKI? Secondly, regardless of the price hike, what other a/c with similar capabilities can be delivered at a similar price? Rafale? Strike Eagle?
The worst part isn't the price. Its the attitude towards signed agreements -
"Hey fellovs, remember the kontrakt we signed recently. Turns out we skrewed up...... so if you could just make the check out to Rosoboronexport, we vil be on our way. Oh and we may be a little late on delyveries, but vil send over some komplimentary vodka. Do svidaniya!"
Yes, it seems bothersome, but if it ultimately works out, a little haggling is fine. What about the French Scorpenes - troubles there too, right? Thing is - India squeezes a LOT out of the Russkis and they part with tech that others simply won't consider.
Regardless, it will be the cheapest, but by how much? Enough to undercut the rest significantly (esp. considering the drop in the Euro)?
I would bet on it, esp. the twin engined ones- IF it makes it past round 1 that is.
IIRC, one of the reasons for France's withdrawal from the FEFA program was the insistence of the UK on a high speed transonic optimized fighter (in the F-15 class) while the French wanted a carrier capable aircraft with good low speed handling at high AoA (in the F-18 class).
I thought the reasons were more political than anything else apart from the insistence of the French re. their requirements being given top priority.
That's why, while the ratio of dry thrust to empty weight is roughly the same for both, but only the Eurofighter has demonstrated sustained supercruise with external stores.
Not so. The EF2K too might take off from carriers if tinkered with, this ability does not automatically mean a2a performance is sacrificed for all versions of a given bird. The Rafale M and Rafale C are different after all. Nor does good low speed performance necessarily mean poor supersonic performance. And IIRC, the Rafale can supercruise with stores.
More significantly, it can supercruise in dry power, even with four missiles and a belly drop tank
http://www.dassault-aviation.com/filead ... e_nr_8.pdf
1. Rafale's A2G munitions tend to be more expensive than American/British options.
Yes, although not by much. Esp. considering that the Meteor/Asraam is not a pure French alternative. But yes, they are pricey.
2. While it'll field an AESA long before the EF, the smaller size ensures the Captor-E will outperform the RBE-2 AA.
True that. Although from a wider/broader perspective, one does not know how much this will matter. I feel that if they are going to spend this kind of $$$s, the IAF should gain some rather unique/esoteric capabilities - AASM, Mica IIR etc.
3. The Dassault proposal doesn't seem to offer the same level of participation as the Eurofighter Gmbh's one.
How do we know? They offered to stick the Kaveri in there a long while back. The EF folks make a lot of noise ala the US and Saab chaps, but ground realities may be different. French make less noise, but seem to offer a lot.
If the Mirage-2000H's $40 million each upgrade is any indication, the French bid is unlikely to be much if any bit, lower than the EFs.
The Tiffy's price so far hasn't exactly been economy class either. None of them are. Btw, iirc a recent F-16 MLU package was equally costly, and its lines are still open.

CM.
Last edited by Cain Marko on 01 Nov 2010 08:24, edited 1 time in total.

Frankly, I feel the french realised that huge sensors (radar output) might be a bit redundant considering fighter packages will often have AWACS to do the seeing for them. At such times being passive would be rather helpful - and they leverage this through the OSF/MicaIIR/Spectra combination.

The IAF too can use this as it will definitely will allow for greater versatility in tactics. It is a formidable capability and it is good to see that the IAF is spending major $$s to get the M2ks working with the Mica IIR.

In a mixed package of MKI + MRCA, only the Rafale can bring in something different and unique, the Tiffy's excellent radar power is considerably offset by the existent MKIs, which have a far larger/powerful radar. So in a case where the objective is deep strike, and a place where AWACS should not go, the MKI + Rafale combo will simply offer more options with the MKI providing a mini AWACs type guidance for the Rafale, which can then use its effective passive sensors to vector in decent positions. I dare say, the Rafale probly enjoys a marginally better range/endurance advantage over the Tiffy as well.

CM.

Viv S wrote: I'm pretty sure the EF and SH were designed to have a low signature right from conception as well. In addition the EF carries half of its MRAAMs in semi-recessed troughs to further reduce its RCS. But, yes between the EF and Rafale, neither has a decisive edge as far as the radar cross section goes.
Probably, but the careful sculpting involved in the Rafale (forward fuselage area especially), and the the angular looks of the Tiffy vis a vis the Rafale imvho suggest this. I feel that the French insistence upon building on their "discrete" objective is a reflection of this emphasis upon low observability (not in the full blown sense of an F22 of course, but in specific applications).

CM.
What I can't understand is why, after all the RCS reduction measures used in the Rafale, did Dassault blow it by putting in an non-retractable refueling probe that can't possibly be stealthy.

afaik, they maintain that making it retractable did not give significant reduction in rcs. thats why they left it out there.
Willy

Post by Willy »

iparvas wrote:SH , SV are all American so prone to get sanctioned ....gRIPEN NG contains too many American stuff so US may not permit those stuff to go to IAF ...
MiG 35 is still a paper plane .. is not ready yet .. wouldnt be able to meet the requirement of IAF to produce them soon ... IAF needs the some jets in fly away condition ... so MiG35 wil not be making the final cut .
Real jets the the IAF would be logically looking at are the EF Typhoon and Rafale ...
Maybe the final cut will be made public after Obama's visit :D
tejas

Post by tejas »

Dassault say they built a non retractable IFR probe to save on cost and complexity. I read this on one of their online articles singing the praises of Rafale. While I find the Rafale to be a gorgeous looking fighter I question if the IFR probe does not partially obscure the pilot's vision. I don't think it is a feather in Dassault's cap.

nachiket wrote:What I can't understand is why, after all the RCS reduction measures used in the Rafale, did Dassault blow it by putting in an non-retractable refueling probe that can't possibly be stealthy.
My guess is space constraints - it seems rather tight near the nose on the Rafale. But "blow it" seems rather harsh. How much frontal RCS will that probe offer? You'll probably get more reflection/return from the tailfin head on. Definitely not pretty though.

http://www.ar.admin.ch/internet/armasui ... le1049.jpg

CM
GeorgeWelch

Post by GeorgeWelch »

Cain Marko wrote:targeting using feeds from others or even the ELS/Spectra or the OSF.
The OSF is no longer included with the Rafale

The Rafale has a Flanker/Fulcrum type hooded look , well atleast they got that one thing right in there , now will they sell it as cheap as a flanker then that could be of interest.
vardhank

Post by vardhank »

http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2010/ ... he-iaf.htm
The F16IN Super Viper is a fifth generation fighter, sharing a heritage with the F-35 Lightening II Joint Strike Fighter and the F-22
Which idiots write this stuff?

They probably forgot to write "Advert" for that piece of news.

can anyone confirm that OSF (rafale) and Pirate (EF) are no longer possible because funding constraints stopped them entering service into user air forces?
Danell

Post by Danell »

About the Rafale OSF, 48 have been delivered with the first batch, it's true the current batch of 59 Rafale F3 ordered in 2004 is not delivered with new OSF because of budget constraints , but it is a removable and interchangeable equipment which can be fitted on any Rafale when needed. And the next batch of 60 Rafale F3+ ordered in nov. 2009 will be delivered with the new OSF-IT.

No date on this so take with large measure of sel:

"There have, however, been increasingly critical comments about Rafale from members of the National Assembly's Finance and Defence Commissions, and there have been reports of disagreements between Dassault and DGA about cost increases and obsolescence. According to Defence Analysis (p.17, Vol 8.No.12 December 2005) Dassault have called the RBE2 radar 'fatally flawed' alleging that its range was "inadequate" and averring that the Rafale therefore relied on AWACS support to overcome this. The DGA also described Rafale's OSF ("Optronique Secteur Frontal") as "obsolescent" and production has been cut back to just 48 units, rather than the planned number, which was to have been sufficient to equip all F1 and F2 versions.

http://www.electronicaviation.com/aircr ... Rafale/819
GeorgeWelch

Post by GeorgeWelch »

Danell wrote:About the Rafale OSF, 48 have been delivered with the first batch, it's true the current batch of 59 Rafale F3 ordered in 2004 is not delivered with new OSF because of budget constraints , but it is a removable and interchangeable equipment which can be fitted on any Rafale when needed. And the next batch of 60 Rafale F3+ ordered in nov. 2009 will be delivered with the new OSF-IT.
The old OSF isn't available at any price because the components are obsolete and not made any more.

The OSF-IT is TV only (no IR) and is 'expected' to be ready in 2012.

OSF-NG will incorporate IR at some undefined time in the future.

In the meantime, Rafale relies on the seeker heads of its MICA missiles for IR imaging, which is rather limiting.

any info on current status and capability of pirate IRST?

this link says first delivery (to Italian AF) was in mid-2007
http://www.air-attack.com/news/article/ ... Force.html

there are photos on the web of some RAF typhoons having pirate and some without..which is puzzling.
Kronop

Post by Kronop »

Saab Sees Great Opportunity In India

http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/201 ... 130200.htm

The Saab CEO told Businessline that the company will look to increase its workforce here along with its Indian partners. It recently signed a letter of intent to set up an R&D centre with Mahindra & Mahindra. “We will set it up with partners like Mahindra and others. We are able to manufacture in Sweden to a very efficient way. What we are looking for is to increase the number of engineers. If we win orders here, we will produce here,” he added.
Danell

Post by Danell »

GeorgeWelch wrote:
Danell wrote:About the Rafale OSF, 48 have been delivered with the first batch, it's true the current batch of 59 Rafale F3 ordered in 2004 is not delivered with new OSF because of budget constraints , but it is a removable and interchangeable equipment which can be fitted on any Rafale when needed. And the next batch of 60 Rafale F3+ ordered in nov. 2009 will be delivered with the new OSF-IT.
The old OSF isn't available at any price because the components are obsolete and not made any more.

The OSF-IT is TV only (no IR) and is 'expected' to be ready in 2012.

OSF-NG will incorporate IR at some undefined time in the future.

In the meantime, Rafale relies on the seeker heads of its MICA missiles for IR imaging, which is rather limiting.

Some errors...
Currently, every Rafale used in operations (As'tan) or exercises (ATLC, Cruzex) are fitted with OSF.
According to Air and Cosmos and DSI magazines, there were problems with the IR but the pilots praise the OSF-TV.
OSF components are obviously still available but with delays still too long . (DSI May 2010 page 103)

As reported by DSI too (page 102 ,103), the decision to save money and to not equip with OSF the 59 tranche 3 Rafale has provoked an outcry among pilots and operationals. Therefore, in June 2009, a remedial order of 49 additional OSF-it was launched. They will equip the current tranche 3 Rafale from mid-2011, before the 60 roadmap tranche 4 rafale ordered in 2009 to be delivered from 2012 with RBE2 AA, DDM-NG, OSF-IT...

Btw ,3 OSF-IT development and 2 OSF-IT standard are currently under test at Cazaux since March 2010. the tests are going well and were even lightened. The qualification for standardized production is scheduled in december.

Air and Cosmos, Rafale special edition may 2010:
http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/8959/92847677.jpg
DSI magazine 59, may 2010:
http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/2503/capture10mr.jpg
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/1127/capture11c.jpg
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

Good Posts guys !!!!

Rafale is indeed a great fighter. I would love to see that in IAF colors. All other fighters are good but they have footprints of Uncle Sam except offcourse Russians. Rafale is a pure french breed and our past experience with mirages has been very good. Also, it is impossible to trust American foreign policy. IAF knows best what they are evaluating. I trust their judgement and also the wisdom of Indian defence planners.

Usually, democrats speak well for india but their actions are against India. India will have excellent relations with American Govt as long as Republicans are in power. Let us hold off on any major American weapon system until Uncle Sam stops supporting Pakistan.
GeorgeWelch

Post by GeorgeWelch »

Danell wrote:Currently, every Rafale used in operations (As'tan) or exercises (ATLC, Cruzex) are fitted with OSF.
Right, because they move around the OSFs they've already bought.

But my understanding is that they cannot buy new ones.
Danell wrote:According to Air and Cosmos and DSI magazines, there were problems with the IR but the pilots praise the OSF-TV.
Which is probably why the OSF-IT won't have IR.
Danell wrote:OSF components are obviously still available but with delays still too long . (DSI May 2010 page 103)
Again, perhaps enough components to maintain the current units, but not manufacture new ones.
Danell wrote:Therefore, in June 2009, a remedial order of 49 additional OSF-it was launched.
These are the ones without IR, correct?
Danell wrote: They will equip the current tranche 3 Rafale from mid-2011,
So you're saying I was off by 6 months and it's mid 2011, not 2012.
Danell wrote:before the 60 roadmap tranche 4 rafale ordered in 2009 to be delivered from 2012 with RBE2 AA, DDM-NG, OSF-IT...
So OSF-NG with IR is nowhere close, correct?
Sandeep_ghosh

Post by Sandeep_ghosh »

R77 RVV sd and RVV MD being offered with the mig 35 has greater range than AIM 120D (Although i think India is being offered AIM 120 C) and the MBDA meteor.
IS eurofighter or teen series offering any substantial BVR missile, Is there any scope for integration of Astra with Teen series, Rafale or the typhoon?

raj ji wrote:Is this new information that the Rafale and EF are expensive? Have you read the countless previous posts, this isn't speculation it is a fact.
Expensive versus what? For what capability? Your aircraft of choice, the Gripen NG is good at making similar large claims in several competitions, only to be not selected when evaluators disregarded those costs and came up with their own estimates, and then claiming that the evaluators did not know what they were talking about (Norway) but where are the actual Gripen NGs to actually learn about the detailed lifecycle and operational costs? The Brazilians even went so far to note that they couldn't get costing for subsystems as the Swedes could not provide them, as the subsystem providers had them classified under national laws. Your claims about expense are hence without merit and akin to stating that a Honda City is expensive, whereas a Maruti 800 is not.
As for partisan evangelizing and games, it is easy to be sucked into the sabre rattling from our neighbours, and throw money at a "potential" threat.
All while knowing that a conflict (small or large) would be very bad for business for the two fastest growing economies in the world, and both sides know it.
Oh wow, so now you trot out the last arrow in the quiver, its uneconomic to go to war argument? Is that why India is spending thousands of crores to position strategic missiles in the North east, equip new divisions and is going for a MAFI for the IAF. All that occcurred presumably because India's decision makers are so silly that they got sucked into saber rattling?

Here's a wake up call for you, India has already been in an undeclared war with Pakistan, also known as a proxy war for over a decade and a half, and now the PRC is also upping the ante. To protect the Indian economy, India needs to have a potent conventional deterrence.

As regards, partisan evangelizing and games, I was referring to your obvious politicking for the Gripen, albeit subtly camouflaged as reasonable. In contrast, anybody unbiased would prefer India to get the maximum bang for its buck, not one of the lowest combat capable aircraft in the competition, one which is not even developed, and whose capabilities are quite in the same league as India's own aerospace endeavour, the LCA. Nor did you even make the most cursory analysis of the threat from the PAF and PLAAF, and when that became apparent, all you have left is, there will be no war. And what if there is, your words would be worth tuppence then.
But if you really want to deal with the threat, invest $10 Billion in the best off the shelf SAM systems, you would have enough to secure all Indian airspace from all but one Air Force.
This is a ridiculous line of argument. SAM systems are inflexible, and remain vulnerable to stand off munitions and cruise missiles. And at the end of the day, they are not even able to take the fight to the enemy. In contrast, aircraft like the ones envisaged in the MMRCA can take the fight to the opponent while performing a multitude of roles. Google swing role.
SAM systems complement, not supplant aircraft capabilities, and that money is going for arresting the decline in the IAF fleet, not for adding gilt.
Last post on this. Again, lets agree to disagree.
Agree to disagree on what. So far you have not made a single valid point in any respect. If you had any depth of interest in the topic, those blatant advertorials for one particular contender would not have emerged.
Last edited by Karan M on 02 Nov 2010 00:37, edited 1 time in total.

Devesh Rawal wrote:
Karan M wrote: Choose a top of the line system, and fight a war with the best tools
A very sensible and rational post. You are on my respected list! :)
Thanks!
Any opinion on the question I asked couple of pages ago about integration of stand-off smart bombs (AGM-154a JSOW) on the MRCA contenders? It seems to be the way to go over traditional munitions?
This is absolutely logical. In fact, I'd even state that we need to look at Apache, Taurus, Israeli alternatives (Popeye, Delilah) as well. In sum, the MMRCA will have to be equipped with a wide variety of long range strike munitions. In this respect as well, the fighters which already have an experience of integrating with these types, come out in front. They save on cost, and integration expense. The US is unlikely to release its munitions for integration on third party types, not the most advanced ones anyway, but MBDA and Rafael are alternatives, till India makes its own systems.

Henrikl wrote: Christ, name ONE technology that the Typhoon and Rafale is flying right now that the Gripen NG won't have.
Its amazing that you dont see the humor in your own post. "One technology that the Typhoon and Rafale is flying right now" versus "Gripen NG wont have". In other words, the other two already have the technologies, that the Gripen claims it will have. That apart, there is also a clear difference in terms of capability and technologies. The latter feed into the former, but they are not always the latter. In other words, the Typhoon and Rafale (and Super Hornet) are heavier planes, able to range longer, strike harder with more payload. Unless the Gripen NG gets alien suppliers and not the same ones who supply better systems to the above two (eg Captor E with more TRMs for Typhoon versus ES-05 for the Gripen NG), theres not going to be much catch up. Not to mention, the critical dependence of the Gripen team on these external suppliers.
"My attitude"? I just spoke the truth didn't I? Did I step on your toes? The Tejas MkII still has a long way to go, probably a lot longer to go still then the Gripen NG has.
Irrelevant, as even if the LCA MKII has a longer way to go, the capabilities it will provide will be in the ballpark of the Gripen NG, why go for the Gripen then, and that too for an aircraft which is also in development as is the LCA MKII. If the Gripen team had a more capable platform, in the Typhoon and Rafale class, then it'd be worth the wait

karan wrote:What sharing parts and where, apart from the engines. The Gripen NG is a hodge podge of systems from across the world, as far as sourcing goes and its likely to complicate logistics not simplify them, with multiple systems all having issues with multiple national laws, in case politics comes into the picture.
So you are saying that the Typhoon or Rafale would be smarter from a logistically point of view.. jeez.
Absolutely, go ahead and show otherwise from a strategic and supply chain point of view. In Rafales case, India has to deal with the French armament authority and things are considerably simplified by the fact that Dassault, Thales, Safran are French owned, while MBDA has French stake. Typhoon - India has existing ties with BAe, the German Govt signed a defence coop treaty with India, MBDA is scouting for a long term partnership with India, EADS is investing in India, many of the building blocks are already in place
In the case of the Gripen, India has to depend on a swedish OEM, which does not own or even have veto rights or political control over the disparate suppliers involved. Its a huge mess, and India will be left holding the can if something goes wrong politically

indranilroy wrote: Could you be a little civil in your choice of words, please.
You misinterpret what a person is saying, and expect others not to note it? Should one use euphemisms or inform you upfront, that you were being inaccurate in attributing words to a source which did not say anything you claimed it to be?

Karan M wrote:I am not a spokesperson for the Gripen NG and Mig-35. I just expressed what I thought was correct. Gripen and Mig-35s are X and Ys for me. I would have said the same if they were any other fighters. And please bear in mind that I didn't say the V. Admiral was saying, go for plane X or plane Y. He said get a plane which can do the job. Is it very different from my above posts? Then why such a scathing remark!
How do you infer what plane can do a job? Did you make any detailed analysis of the same? My "scathing" remark is actually towards your claims, which are now in the form of "x" and "y"s. The V Admiral noted that he thought upgraded Su-30's and LCA (which he supports continued development of) would do the job. Clearly, he is referring to the savings in logistics costs obtained by continuing only with these two types. How does introducing a third type, whether X or Y help then? Furthermore, if your Gripen NGs and MiG-35s were sufficient then why the need for upgraded Su-30s? Are you even aware of what the current Su-30 can do, and what an upgrade would confer?
Could you please tell me how the Mig-35 and/or the GRipen NG are under-performing airframes. And this time stick to the aerodynamics and structural studies as you specifically said airframes. I am hoping for good points from you and not generic statements again. If not would you please retract such a scathing comment on my post.
Anyone who reads the airframe comment in context, would realize they are referring to both aircraft. Airframes is a word commonly used to refer to the aircraft itself! Or if you prefer to nitpick, I was referring to the platforms! The MiG-35 prototype can turn all the circus tricks it wants to, but as long as it does not provide a well put together system, its not worth a dime.

Retract my comment? I daresay, your above wordgames about "airframes" and that bit about "generic statements" only proves the point, that you have an opinion, but without the facts to back them up. No wonder you were so avidly defending that Prodyut Das in the other thread, without even having realized the rubbish he was writing.

And of course, they are under-performing, vis a vis the competition, since you could not be bothered to do your own digging here, let me oblige. To begin with, neither exists as an operational system, bar prototypes. The MiGs overall design has not even been significantly updated, and is per all accounts including several of its competitors, likely to lag in the supersonic regime, while its avionics are decidedly subpar, with reliance on 486 series cards for its mission computing, while its claimed Zhuk AE system is high on claims, but low on delivery. Not a single radar exists yet able to achieve its stated range claims of 200 Km plus for a 5Sq Mtr target, whereas the APG-79, Captor-M, APG-80, per published literature all better that. About the only thing going for it, are its new optics. The Gripen - less said here, the better. A lot of claims made again about "how good it will be", whilst adding capabilities that were built into its peers from day one, including comprehensive jamming suites, which are only now to be featured on the Gripen NG.
Whats the point in going for these, that too on Indian money.
Last edited by Karan M on 02 Nov 2010 01:41, edited 2 times in total.

And here is why I say you really havent thought things out.
indranil roy wrote:If you ask me frankly ... I wouldn't go for a top of the line fighter. I would rather have 2 fighters for the price of one. I don't think the Gripen-IN or the Mig-35 are mud movers. I have am sure many have seen the Mig-35 in the air. If you think thats not an agile plane, then I have nothing more to say. I also don't believe in the end-of-the-line argument. All fighters evolve over time. If the requirement arises the Mig-35 and the Gripen will also evolve.

Call me thrifty but are we looking for the best fighter for our AF (unlike the French/Uk/german). If we are looking for the middle of the pyramid, it should rather be as large as it can be for the amount of money we are doling out
Look at the number of statements here which fly in the face of reality or dont at all meet India's requirements.

Did you bother looking at the teeth to tail for 2 fighters versus 1, when you said "I'd rather have two fighters for the price of one"? In which world, are the logistics costs for two Gripens plus their acquisition costs less than that of a single Rafale or EF?

"I dont think the Gripen and MiG-35 are mudmovers"

And this is a good thing? What wins the war, jousts in the sky or actual effects on the ground? Is the MMRCA a feel good purchase for India or one which can actively go through the rings of SAMs and other defences the Chinse and Paks are putting up? Payload-range, with heavy A2G is critical. The MKIs are not going to be everywhere. We need a fighter which can do a lot, and as much as possible

You note "MiG-35 is...agile", well is it really? In the fighter context, agility is used to refer to the ability to change energy states, ie acceleration, time to height and all that. Maneuverability, is on the other hand, the STR, the circus tricks in the sky. Ideally both are needed, but here, as versus the MiG-35, can it really keep pace with an EF or Rafale, aircraft which were designed a generation later, and have by all accounts, significantly streamlined drag to thrust performance? Which will have better performance in BVR, an EF with Meteor or a MiG-35 with RVV-AE missiles?

You state "all fighters evolve over time" - sure, but did you give a thought to how? Where is the space going to come from, and what of the integration hassles? Which aircraft is better equipped for tomorrow today, an EF which already has most of its subsystems brought upto modern levels in its Tranche3B standard or a MiG-35 which relies on a bewildering mix of legacy equipment developed for the SMT upgrade, refreshes of older MiG-29 items, legacy Russian standard systems, and a handful of new systems, that too still in development. Who pays for integration of state of the art systems to complement this mish mash? Who deals with the maintenance hassles?

Finally "Call me thrifty but are we looking for the best fighter for our AF (unlike the French/Uk/german). If we are looking for the middle of the pyramid" - what is this middle of the pyramid, when you have your own LCA MK2 in development, paid for by Indian money? For $12B, you propose purchasing a type which does not have the combat capability of the more advanced types, is likely to saddle the IAF with platforms for which it will be the sole or the largest operator, leave it at the mercy of unreliable or overly complicated supply networks, and you think this is thrifty?

Please think your own statements through, before stating that its generics or x and y, or that I was scathing. I was merely being forthright, stating that your statements were ill considered.

Karan, you expressed your point of view. I expressed mine.

When I asked you to prove that Gripen and Mig-35 is FAR behind the others, you choose to write essays but not answer to the point. You may choose the airplanes, and not airframes if you wish to.

Instead of writing essays, please bring valid points to the table.

You think Rafale/EF would be able to go and beat the crap out of every other plane in the neighborhood, even if they come in hoards. While the others Mig-35/Gripen can't. I will say your knowledge of air warfare seems quite limited. Mere sterling equipments have never won wars, and never will. Why wasn't the Mig-21 amongst the behemoths, the biggest pain in the a$$. Strategy and often the man is equally important if not more. Having spoken to the people that I have spoken to, I would rather take two 80% of the elite rather than one elite. It's my understanding. There is nothing wrong in stating them. How does this become "ill-considered"?

And besides, I have been trying to look for the role of the fighters. If I need a Mirage-2000 role, why should I buy a EF with its superlative air skills. I would take something which is a decent A2A platform (at par with the Mig-29) and can drop truck loads of A2G. If I see an aerial threat bigger than what they can handle, I will let the su-30s/MCA/FGFA accompany them! Where am I missing the point? All I am saying is that if we need a Jaguar, buy 2 Jaguars instead of 1 Su-30. Stick to the roles! Anything wrong with that?

And instead of bickering like this provide points which say IAF needs/may need the MMRCA for so and so operations and roles.

Write the objectives of the roles properly and say here's where EF/Rafale can do it and the other's can't. If they are valid points then you are perfectly right, we should buy them and their huge costs are justified!

I said something very similar to what the VAdm and indeed others said. Why should I buy "medium" fighters which will cost me the same to buy (actually more) and maintain as the Su-30s. The Su-30 is one of the most swing-role aircrafts in the world. I would rather buy more Su-30s then and simplify logistics, pilot training, simplify strategies, bring in more economy of scale and what not !!

indranilroy wrote:And instead of bickering like this provide points which say IAF needs/may need the MMRCA for so and so operations and roles.
Does one need to provide answers on a plate? Does this forum and by extension, everyone here exist to tell you what you should be determining yourself?
Write the objectives of the roles properly and say here's where EF/Rafale can do it and the other's can't. If they are valid points then you are perfectly right, we should buy them and their huge costs are justified!
I actually wrote what the roles were and where the EF/Rafale were superior. In fact, a few posts above, Devesh Rawal got what I was saying. But you didnt. Please read through them again.
I said something very similar to what the VAdm and indeed others said. Why should I buy "medium" fighters which will cost me the same to buy (actually more) and maintain as the Su-30s. The Su-30 is one of the most swing-role aircrafts in the world. I would rather buy more Su-30s then and simplify logistics, pilot training, simplify strategies, bring in more economy of scale and what not !!
Gee, so just before this, you were saying we should buy Gripen NGs and MiG-35s, X and Y's and now all of a sudden, you question the MRCA itself? So, for a spend of $12 B, we should buy mediocre platforms while you still struggle to convince yourself about what the role of the MRCA is. Do understand, its irrelevant as to whether you'd rather buy more Su-30s or even I or the VAdm. The decision has already been made to go for new aircraft and in that vein, since more Su-30s are NOT being acquired, is it even logical to go for an underperformer? If you still dont get it, I really cant simplify the arguement even more.
Last edited by Karan M on 02 Nov 2010 03:42, edited 1 time in total.

indranilroy wrote:Karan, you expressed your point of view. I expressed mine.

When I asked you to prove that Gripen and Mig-35 is FAR behind the others, you choose to write essays but not answer to the point. You may choose the airplanes, and not airframes if you wish to. Instead of writing essays, please bring valid points to the table.
This takes the cake. When I answer the relevant details about how the Gripen NG and MiG-35 are far behind the others, you say I write essays.

The fact that you cannot understand what I wrote speaks volumes. Anyone with half an interest would understand that I addressed a variety of topics in my last reply, including the airframe performance, subpar avionics and dodgy claims for the MiG-35, and the absolute lack of reliable indices for the Gripen NG, plus airframe limitations for the Gripen NG.
You think Rafale/EF would be able to go and beat the crap out of every other plane in the neighborhood, even if they come in hoards. While the others Mig-35/Gripen can't. I will say your knowledge of air warfare seems quite limited.
Compared to the knowledge you have displayed so far, of air warfare and all things considered, you should be the last one attempting to brazen it out. Please stick to the points, namely that both your chosen peers have severe limitations against the threat perception the Indian Air Force faces and will continue to face. Dont simplify things to mere talk of "beating the crap" and similar simplistic stuff.
Mere sterling equipments have never won wars, and never will. Why wasn't the Mig-21 amongst the behemoths, the biggest pain in the a$$. Strategy and often the man is equally important if not more. Having spoken to the people that I have spoken to, I would rather take two 80% of the elite rather than one elite. It's my understanding. There is nothing wrong in stating them. How does this become "ill-considered"?
And you use such rhetoric about "strategy and often the man is more important", with what assumption, that the other side has no access to strategy and is not making its men important?

It should be clear that the discussion is taking place under the understanding that all things being equal, technology matters. If Indian soldiers have to rely on strategy and the "man in the cockpit", despite spending $12 B, to win against enemies with superior or even at par equipment in the air, while also having to contend with integrated air defenses, then somebody messed up big time.

And what exactly is this supposed to mean "Why wasn't the Mig-21 amongst the behemoths, the biggest pain in the a$$." - was it a pain, or was it not? Make up your mind. For your kind information, the MiG-21 had a terrible record across the Middle East & a so so one in Vietnam. It took the Indian Air Force to get some good results out of it, and that too, after having fixed Gnat gunsights on them. And India was facing a Pakistan with similar and not vastly superior equipment. What happens in a two front war scenario, where Indian MiG-35's or Gripen NGs have to face integrated SAM networks, backed up by a much larger number of similar or even superior fighters on CAP?
And besides, I have been trying to look for the role of the fighters. If I need a Mirage-2000 role, why should I buy a EF with its superlative air skills. I would take something which is a decent A2A platform (at par with the Mig-29) and can drop truck loads of A2G. If I see an aerial threat bigger than what they can handle, I will let the su-30s/MCA/FGFA accompany them! Where am I missing the point? All I am saying is that if we need a Jaguar, buy 2 Jaguars instead of 1 Su-30. Stick to the roles! Anything wrong with that?
Finally, so now you make an attempt to figure out whats what, instead of relying on rhetoric.

First, understand this, there is no "Mirage 2000 role" based on some long term pragmatic planning. India purchased the Mirage 2000 as an antidote to the F-16s. Over time, because of its avionics and superior platform capabilities, the IAF started using it for diverse roles. Today, the IAF speaks of capabilities and not aircraft. What does this tell you? It means that the IAF now has missions which need aircraft, not aircraft with missions which it needs to replace on like to like basis. With me so far?

Now, the IAF Chief has defined several cornerstones of capability - see farthest, go farthest, hit farthest. In all of these criteria, the MiG-35 and Gripen NG fall flat, even if they were to inveigle their way into the system using the L1.

As to what these capabilities are, and why they are required, since you really cant handle essays, I'll keep it short.

India needs aircraft, that can penetrate hostile defended airspace, protected by overlapping SAM networks, AND engage aircraft. It needs aircraft which can reasonably outmatch ALL of the adversary current aircraft and with technology investments, keep pace with future platforms.

This is where the MiG-35 and Gripen NG fail. Their lack of volume and already limited payload/range characteristics, put them at a disadvantage versus future platforms while limiting their current performance itself. The Indian MiG-29 SMT upgrade is getting a 650 MM Zhuk radar with a 120-150 Km range whereas the current local radars on the PRC Flankers can already reach out to similar ranges. Now do you understand? Size matters. Even with technology which is behind, the larger platforms have advantages. And they will continue to improve

And the PRC is fielding more Flankers than India, whereas the combined fleet of mid-level aircraft of the PRC & Pak will outnumber India's by a significant margin.

The IAF has asked for a 55 squadron fleet to face this threat - not likely to be cleared. Its current numbers are at the mid-30's and it hopes to get to 42 by 2022. Now do you understand the gravity of the situation?

The PRC is also the largest user of the S-300 series outside Russia. It has 10 battalions (40 batteries) of the S-300PMU series, including 4 of the latest S-300PMU-2, is fielding its own 120Km ranged HQ-9, and how "aerodynamic" do you think your single engined Gripen will be, loaded with A2G when going up against these targets, hot and high? What advantage does a MiG-35 bring to the table, when going up against PRC Flankers, a decade from now, and when the Chinese have iteratively improved their platforms to extract maximum advantage?

Frankly, the facts are already there. The problem is that the facts are unpalatable to your worldview, stuck as you are on simple 1+1 narratives, thinking of Jaguars and MiGs and what not, whereas the threat scenario has already upped and moved on. And here you are talking of 1 type escorting the other, and what not, when the situation is such, that airframe numbers are declining and we need Su-30 class platforms everywhere, able to handle all sorts of threats, while more are not being acquired. Meanwhile, you tout simpler platforms, while seemingly unaware that the LCA MK2 is shaping up exactly for that kind of role, and can well take it on. And to whose benefit, if instead of the LCA we ended up buying more "Simple fighters" from vendors abroad. And then of course, we have to buy more, and more, because being "simpler", they'll be effective in "number", thrifty indeed!
If India has any common sense, it should buy the best MMRCAs, and also concentrate on more LCA MK2, smart long range munitions, force multipliers, including UAVs, UCAVs, EW and AEW&C.
Last edited by Karan M on 03 Nov 2010 01:43, edited 1 time in total.

You seem to have a different perspective to it. And a good one I must admit. You are looking at using the MMRCA fighters as top of the line fighters for our AF.

But going by your logic we should get the best planes for everything! We should have the top of line fighter for handing the J-11/Su-30MkM/J-XX and also the J-10, J-17s and J-7s which will be made numerically more abundant if a wartime scenario arrives.

The same things that you have pointed out, I had imagined that the IAF had earmarked our strike aircraft squadrons with it. Aren't the Su-30s/FGFA/MCA ear marked for them.

Wasn't MMRCA in place of the delayed LCA's to fill up numbers. If yes, then my logic is good.

If the MMRCA is in place of missing frontline fighters then your logic is good.

Between, the price of 3 J-10 is the same as 1 EF/RAfale. No matter what you do, in most cases 3 J-10s will get the EF/Rafale. So you are better off with atleast 2 Mig-35/Gripen.

Then there are the J-11 and J-xx. We have to tackle them with our Su-30s/FGFA/MCA. That's why there are light medium and heavy aircraft! Or am I missing something?

Btw, your being able to convince somebody doesn't make your idea the right one!

^^^ Speaking of falling squadron numbers, What fills up more squadrons with quality aircraft. 10 squadrons or 6?

All of the contenders in this MMRCA competition are quality contenders. But then you seem to differ on that.

>> Wasn't MMRCA in place of the delayed LCA's to fill up numbers. If yes, then my logic is good.

though oft repeated this is not necessarily correct. the LCA had no realistic chance of being ready in 2001, having been properly funded only from 1991. the original mirage-2000 requirement floated by IAF in 2001 should instead be seen as the re-continuation of the 80's mirage induction and license production, a plan which went awry because of India's precarious economic condition back then.

I think a comparison of IAF's sanctioned and actual sqdn strength in the 90's would give you an idea.

GeorgeWelch wrote:
Cain Marko wrote:targeting using feeds from others or even the ELS/Spectra or the OSF.
The OSF is no longer included with the Rafale
You mean no longer on the current Rafale; the NG version should do the needful. In any case, I was not refering to the thermal imager (IR); it was the TV imaging that is seriously amazing - the Transall example I cited refered to the OSF-TV providing a crystal clear image of the bird's propellers at a distance beyond the Mica's ability to engage (well beyond BVR), and through clouds. I guess with such a solid ability they may actually find the damocles/MIca IR enough - in WVR scenarios at least.
Austin wrote:The Rafale has a Flanker/Fulcrum type hooded look , well atleast they got that one thing right in there , now will they sell it as cheap as a flanker then that could be of interest.
Yes, they seemed to have steered towards the russki designs in terms of the LERX, however, the a/c is quite impressive in other ways as well, and brings some unique abilties to the table. Without doubt its prowess as a striker is unmatched in that it weighs a mere 9500kg (less than the single engined F-16 blk 60), but can carry a payload of 9.5 tonnes, a good 1.5 tons more than the nearest competition - the Shornet.

Offers a lot of choices to the IAF imho.

CM

Also some of the information provided by you is not correct. You seem to be hung up on BVR so let me churn out the numbers for BVR

Radar (range, estimates only )
Mig-35: Phazotron Zhuk-AE AESA: 148-160 km . develops believe that it can be easily scaled upto 200 kms. (Wiki and many others)
Gripen NG: Selex Galileo Raven ES-05: I couldn't find out.
Eurofighter: Caesar: 120 km (Flight International)
Rafale: RBE2 AA: 75 nautical miles: 138.9 km (Aviation Today)
F-16IN: APG 80 series 112 km (AWST)
F-18SH: APG 79 series 128 km (AWST)

If you want to go deep you should have a good combat radius:
Mig-35: 2000 km
Gripen NG: 1300 km
Eurofighter: 1,389 km
Rafale: 1,852+ km
F-16IN: 550+ km
F-18SH: 722+ km

You should be able to carry enough load
Mig-35: 9 hardpoints, 12,200 kg (weapons/fuel)
Gripen NG: 10 hardpoints, 6,000 kg (weapons/fuel)
Eurofighter: 13 hardpoints, 7,500 kg (weapons/fuel)
Rafale: 13/14 hardpoints, 9,500 kg (weapons/fuel)
F-16IN: 11 hardpoints, 7,200 kg(weapons/fuel)
F-18SH: 11 hardpoints, 8,600 kg (weapons/fuel)

Moving onto BVR missiles. I don't want to depict a BVR missiles range as it's lethality, but since you asked.
Mig-35: R-27EM: up to 170km, R-77M (may be): 175+km
Gripen NG: AIM 120D (may be): upto 180 km, meteor: 100+ km
Eurofighter: AIM 120D (may be): upto 180 km, meteor: 100+ km
Rafale: AIM 120D (may be):upto 180 km, meteor: 100+ km
F-16IN: AIM 120D (may be):upto 180 km,
F-18SH: AIM 120D (may be):upto 180 km,

So could you show me where for example the Mig-35 suffers very heavily with the EF/Rafale?

Rahul da, you are right. I shouldn't have brought the LCA thing here. I just wanted to say that when we are categorizing fighters into hi-medium-lo, then I shouldn't expect the medium fighters to do the job of my hi-end fighters.

Are we getting the Medium Multi-Role Combat Aircraft to fight the J-11/J-xx/MKM? If yes, then please buy the best that money can buy. If we are trying to get them to be positioned as strike aircraft which can take care of aerial threats as well, then Mig-35s and Gripen NG will do? Then why not buy them and go for 200 of them instead of 126, or 300 instead of 200? In my opinion The Gripen NG/Mig-35 can't take down a EF/Rafale/F-16/F-18 (MAY BE), but they can easily handle J-10s/J-17s/F-16Blk-52s and two of them can surely be a bigger threat to a J-11,Su-30MKM/J-xx rather than a single EF/Rafale/F-16/F-18.