India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

^^^I agree. I'm a registered independent. SHQ is registered Republican.
Last edited by Mort Walker on 04 Nov 2010 02:06, edited 1 time in total.

At least Ted Strickland, the Ohio governor, who signed off on limiting contracts to Indian companies has been booted out of office. I hope someone requests Kaisch to repeal that discriminatory law.

Jay Goyal retained his seat, but it was close. If he keeps voting to increase taxes, businesses in his district will put full support behind the Republican challenger.

X-posted

SwamyG wrote in Prespectives thread...

Source: U.S. “Quantitative Easing” is Fracturing the Global Economy

A very good read in my opinion.
Great structural changes in world trade and finance occur quickly – by quantum leaps, not by slow marginal accretions. The 1945-2010 era of relatively open trade, capital movements and foreign exchange markets is being destroyed by a predatory financial opportunism that is breaking the world economy into two spheres: a dollar sphere in which central banks in Europe, Japan and many OPEC and Third World countries hold their reserves the form of U.S. Treasury debt of declining foreign-exchange value; and a BRIC-centered sphere, led by China, India, Brazil and Russia, reaching out to include Turkey and Iran, most of Asia, and major raw materials exporters that are running trade surpluses.
In fact, financial conquest is seeking today what military conquest did in times past: control of land and basic infrastructure, industry and mining, banking systems and even government finances to extract the economic surplus as interest and tollbooth-type economic rent charges. U.S. officials euphemize this policy as “quantitative easing.” The Federal Reserve is flooding the banking system with so much liquidity that Treasury bills now yield less than 1%, and banks can draw freely on Fed credit. Japanese banks have seen yen borrowing rates fall to 0.25%.

This policy is based on a the wrong-headed idea that if the Fed provides liquidity, banks will take the opportunity to lend out credit at a markup, “earning their way out of debt” – inflating the economy in the process. And when the Fed talks about “the economy,” it means asset markets – above all for real estate, as some 80% of bank loans in the United States are mortgage loans.
This victimization of the international financial system is a consequence of the U.S. Government’s attempt to bail out the banks by re-inflating U.S. real estate, stock and bond markets at least to their former Bubble Economy levels. This is what U.S. economic policy and even its foreign policy is now all about, including de-criminalizing financial fraud. As Treasury Secretary Tim Geithner tried to defend this policy: “Americans were rightfully angry that the same firms that helped create the economic crisis got taxpayer support to keep their doors open. But the program was essential to averting a second Great Depression, stabilizing a collapsing financial system, protecting the savings of Americans [or more to the point, he means, their indebtedness] and restoring the flow of credit that is the oxygen of the economy.
Instead of lending domestically, banks are sending the Fed’s tsunami of credit abroad, flooding world currency markets with cheap U.S. “keyboard credit.” The Fed’s plan is like that of the Bank of Japan after its bubble burst in 1990: The hope is that lending to speculators will enable banks to earn their way out of debt. So U.S. banks are engaging in interest-rate arbitrage (the carry trade), currency speculation, commodity speculation (driving up food and mineral prices sharply this year), and buying into companies in Asia and raw materials exporters.
Countries on the receiving end of this U.S. financial conquest (“restoring stability” is how U.S. officials characterize it) understandably are seeking to protect themselves. Ultimately, the only serious way to do this is to erect a wall of capital controls to block foreign speculators from deranging currency and financial markets.
{Hmm.....did not our former RBI Governor talk about Capital inflow controls? Putting 2 and 2 together, it sort of lends credibility to some of the accusations in this article.}
The international economy’s role is envisioned as a deus ex machina to rescue the economy. Foreign countries are to serve as markets for a resurgence of U.S. industrial exports (and at least arms sales are taking off to India and Saudi Arabia),{Obama - The Sales Person will sell more of these} and most of all as financial markets for U.S. banks and speculators to make money at the expense of foreign central banks trying to stabilize their currencies.

The Fed believes that debt levels can rise and become more solvent if U.S. employment increases by producing more exports. The way to achieve this is presumably to depreciate the dollar – the kind of “beggar-my-neighbor” policy that marked the 1930s. Devaluation will be achieved by flooding currency markets with dollars, providing the kind of zigzagging opportunities that are heaven-sent for computerized currency trading, short selling and kindred financial options.

Such speculation is a zero-sum game. Someone must lose. If Quantitative Easing is to help U.S. banks earn their way out of negative equity, by definition their gains must be at the expense of foreigners. This is what makes QE II is a form of financial aggression.
The global economy is being turned into a tributary system, achieving what military conquest sought in times past. This turns out to be implicit in QE II. Arbitrageurs and speculators are swamping Asian and Third World currency markets with low-priced U.S. dollar credit to make predatory trading profits at the expense of foreign central banks trying to stabilize their exchange rates by selling their currency for dollar-denominated securities – under conditions where the United States and Canada are blocking reciprocal direct investment (e.g., Potash Corp. of Saskatchewan in Canada and Unocal in the United States.).

Arjun wrote:The dissonance between individuals on this board holding vitriolically left liberal positions wrt US politics and then turning right around and holding right of center views with respect to India never fails to amuse me...Can one of the gurus explain what specific policiies of the Tea Party seems to rile them so much?

I think its due to the self-identification as the "other" in US despite what the Census stats show. Ind-Ams are ~3M in numbers and the highest per captia. Yet they haven't identified with main stream yet. Another thing is the pop has the highest educational achievements which should translate into intellectual leadership but hasn't yet materialised due to the self image. With more time they will shed the under-dog self image and be more mainstream.

Surya, who is putting people on pedestals?

BTW if folks, recall along with another member, I had predicted the rise of Obama during the primaries.

I am an observer and say things as I see them.

CRS have you really followed the South Carolina and Lousiana elections. The vitroil came form the Democrats.

In Lousiana, the Democrat suggested Bobby Jindal was a Muslim.
Infact democrat opponent to Rand Paul released an advertisement accusing Rand of being an anti christian and hurting christian sentiments.So much for Tea party being christian supremacist movement.

Check out the advertisement yourself

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BCa8xw9yGY

^^ This one is even better.One democrat who actually managed to win his Senate seat Joe manchin going all out against Barack Obama.In this advertisement he supports Gun rights and promises to repeal the healthcare bill , both issues dear to Obama.He also makes a point to oppose Cap and trade bill.Just watch the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIJORBRpOPM

Obama is unable to inspire his own party members atleast till now.Worse for him it seems like Tea party has lot of support in Democratic Party as well.

Per Sen. Demint of South Carolina, 40% of Tea Party are Democrats.

This elections will have quite an effect on govt spending etc. However 2011 budget is already ready and might need to be reworked.
If so expect cuts like in UK.

Fed becomes more powerful as its the only one capable of financial measures.

Keynesian Economics (i.e. Govt spending/stimulus to promote growth) in coma if not dead.

PRC will get bolder as P/GOTUS is gridlocked.

Think more.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Arjun wrote:The dissonance between individuals on this board holding vitriolically left liberal positions wrt US politics and then turning right around and holding right of center views with respect to India never fails to amuse me...Can one of the gurus explain what specific policiies of the Tea Party seems to rile them so much?
I am totally with you Arjun. With the exception of the EJ crowd, I am totally on the republican side. Democrats like Boxer and even Obama nauseates me. Obama et al are desi lefty lites.

IF you browse Huffington Post, it would be come clear..the Liberai left democats are the most anti Hindus and anti Jews. The hatred they show is phenomenal.

The core liberal democrats are the evil like Wendy Doniger. et al. Check this NYTimes garbage

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/26/books ... dus&st=cse
Last edited by Manny on 04 Nov 2010 03:00, edited 1 time in total.

Manny check out Boxer's stance on EJ activities in India.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Ramana,

Can you post some links please..I tried google but not getting any meaningful articles.

Arjun wrote:That could be a good explanation, but I would like to get to understand the distinction to a greater level of detail...despite my somewhat flame-type post above, I am genuinely interested in understanding how various folks, including CRAMS and SwamyG reconcile their very clear disgust for the right in US, with their views wrt India....
1. I do not have disgust, if that is the word you want to use, for the entire Right. I have 'disgust' for the pockets of Left as well.
2. I like a balance; which means the country would have to oscillate between one extreme to another extreme and find transient equilibrium before swinging in one direction only to swing back the other.
3. The Indian media is clearly Left leaning. The Academics that control the text-books creation process are Left leaning. "Eminent Historians" are Left leaning. And the Indian Left are anti-Hindus and do not wait to desecrate our traditions without much thought. I value criticisms, even of Indic traditions, based on careful thinking. One can rationalize the behavior of Indian Left, but they are far different from the American or Western Left. BJP is a credible organization that attempts to swing the momentum the other way.
4. In USA, I resonate with some Conservative and Liberal causes. Not all of them. I am NOT A US CITIZEN, so I don't vote. For example, I perfectly understand the anguish of the Christians when they cry over the use of the words "holidays" instead of "Christmas". I perfectly understand the anguish of the Left when they cry hoarse over the control of humans by Corporations. I am pro-choice when it comes to abortion, yet support capital punishment for heinous criminals with solid proof. I can understand the Afghanistan war, but do not understand the Iraq war.
5. I consider Democrats and Republicans as two sides of the same coin when it comes to India.
6. I like to preserve what is worth and change things that are not worth.

The point is I do not look at things as black and white, as Left and Right, Liberals or Conservatives. Over the years I have found that I resonate and associate more with the term 'Dharma' - as in that which sustains. As you are aware dharma is a complex concept and one has to look at things on a case to case basis.

I liked John McCain in 2000, he was considered the 'Maverick', he had the anti-establishment attitude - which I also like, but then he totally flipped in 2008 which I did not like. One can clearly see how Fox News is 'fair and balance' - one has to be blind not to see :-) I listen to NPR, Left & Right wing talk shows. I can identify the conniving and deceiving hosts, unfortunately SHQ seems to be easily brainwashed by the Right wing. My son and I have to continuously work on her whenever she sides something wrong.

ityadi ityadi ityadi ityadi :-)
Manny

Post by Manny »

Here is an example.

There is a book by the name "Hindus-An alternate history " by the anti hindu lefty Wendy doniger and Amazon has readers review. Almost all the positive review for this book comes from the lefty liberals.

Here is one from a conservative Palin supporter. Although evangelicals hate Hindus/Hinduism, many garden variety Christians generally sympathize with Hindus. We should not mix garden variety conservative christians here in the US with the Southern Baptist evangelicals and Pentecostals (The two most rabid evangelical groups determined to ethnically cleanse Asia/India)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hates Hindus, hates Palin, who doesn't she make look bad?, March 10, 2010

Tamara Wilhite "tamarawilhite2" (Bedford, TX United States)

When Hindus, one of the most diverse and tolerant religious groups in the world, are outraged by a book and call it racist, you know it is racist.

The argument the author made that Sarah Palin wasn't a woman just because she had a womb and made 5 kids was ludicrous. The points made in this book stretch credibility and are better described as fiction than academics.
This book is now in a donation stack.

RamaY wrote: If left is as crazy as right and running a country is a task of different nature, what is the point of political parties, elections, and demoncracy :-?

What makes a Obama or a Bush or a Clinton :lol: or a MMS or a SG/RG the right candidate when the doodh and pani will come out only after they get elected?
They are not the "right" candidates, but the "best" candidates, according to the praja, in an election. Rhetoric, oratory skills, creating message, media management ityadi are the complex ways to fool the praja :-)

ramana wrote:You have th right to disagree. However in US its two party system. So a third party will defeat itself. Starting a new party for every disagreement is not helpful if the object is to get power to change.
Where is the enterprising and rebellious ideals of the Founding Fathers? Where are the Thomas Paines? If they could create a new country, can't their descendants a create third party? Unless someone does not want it though :-) Why not just have one party then?

Manny wrote:IF you browse Huffington Post, it would be come clear..the Liberai left democats are the most anti Hindus and anti Jews. The hatred they show is phenomenal.
I frequent FreeRepublic.com too, and I have seen more hatred towards Indians there. Many liberals are anti-Israel which does not make them anti-Jew. I am no liberal or conservative, but I do not like the idea of Israel as a State, so does it make me anti-Jew too?
Manny

Post by Manny »

SwamyG wrote:
Manny wrote:IF you browse Huffington Post, it would be come clear..the Liberai left democats are the most anti Hindus and anti Jews. The hatred they show is phenomenal.
I frequent FreeRepublic.com too, and I have seen more hatred towards Indians there. Many liberals are anti-Israel which does not make them anti-Jew. I am no liberal or conservative, but I do not like the idea of Israel as a State, so does it make me anti-Jew too?
Let me try to say this without sounding harsh SwamyG. Please give me the benefit of the doubt if I come across that way.

No. You may not be an anti Semite...but you sound like most knee jerk liberals. Humanitarians in the abstract. Theoretical sense of fairness trumping reality on the ground. Most often the motives of the liberals are good. They mean well. For many of them, they are unable or unwilling to discriminate against evil. It's all relative. That relativism goes haywire. They would refuse to acknowledge that almost every single Arab country wants Jews/Israel to drown in the ocean and the hostility that surrounds them. "we are all equal equal", we are all people and so we are all same same. "All religions is same same". Such moral relativism is the essence of the Ieftists. Let me say this. The Islamist culture of that part of the world is inferior to the Jewish western culture of Israel as far as political/civics is concerned. Although Israel is founded on religion (theoretically not the ideal), I can totally understand them since this small tribe of people have been targeted for extinction by the Christian world for 2000 years. I would give them a large leeway. Yes I said it. I suspect your views come such moral relativism. JMO. I could be wrong. But thats the impression I get.

PS: I do not mean to disparage you in anyway. I am trying to answer your Q. Really.

http://www.americanthinker.com/2010/10/ ... f_the.html

Very good article .
Soros and the Collapse of the Left
Comments RulesBy J.R. Dunn
Now let me get this straight: George Soros, Media Matters, and the White House, in some unclear capacity, have unveiled their master plan to destroy the right: isolate and nullify Fox News by getting people fired from NPR.

Spare some time for us, Bhopal survivors urge Obama

http://www.hindu.com/2010/11/04/stories ... 841100.htm
Pointing out that Mr. Obama was bringing with him the largest contingent of U.S. corporate representatives, Satinath Sarangi of the Bhopal Group for Information and Action said the survivors would remind him that as promoter of American corporate interests in India, it was his moral responsibility to ensure legal accountability of U.S. corporations operating in this country.

Obama brings no promise on UNSC membership

http://www.hindu.com/2010/11/04/stories ... 351400.htm

Obama visit: IT industry optimistic

http://www.hindu.com/2010/11/04/stories ... 722000.htm

Top official confirms: US to lift hi-tech N-sanctions

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Top-offic ... 21896.aspx

Delhi, Mumbai gear up for security drills

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Delhi-Mum ... 21883.aspx
"Initially, there were suggestions that American air traffic staff would take over the ATC tower and the regular staff would have to move out of the control room," :evil: :shock: a government source said. "But we did not agree… it has been agreed that US and Indian traffic controllers would be present."

India likely to ease offset norms to include aviation, internal security

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/India ... ity/706723

SwamyG wrote: I frequent FreeRepublic.com too, and I have seen more hatred towards Indians there. Many liberals are anti-Israel which does not make them anti-Jew. I am no liberal or conservative, but I do not like the idea of Israel as a State, so does it make me anti-Jew too?
Please follow the money trail, as always. It will lead to some interesting conclusions. Apart from the obvious, cultural affinites etc, there is lot of economic sense. That's a conflict zone well exploited to milk money. The conflict zone is a golden goose that lays egg. Very similar to India and erstwhile western part of India. How would one extract money from let's say Saudi's. Easy, sell/gift F-16s or latest whatever gadgetry to say Israel. Then saudi's would also need to up the ante and need to buyy those F-16s. The direction of the cash flow in these transactions is very significant. So, Israel will be supported to the hilt as long as it makes a good economic case. Once, the situation turns, Israelis will be on their own, and they will be dropped like a cold potato by both the liberals and conservatives. So, it makes eminent economic case to keep the conflict or the semblance of it going on for some forseeable future. Let's say if eye-ran acquires new clear tech, it would end the game, as there are enough crazies there to don the new clear suicide vest. Iran will never be allowed to have capability to end the game.

Same with pakis - supply(gift) them arms (billions in aid) only for military. Why? India has to up the ante, and buy stuff from somewhere. Eventually, the cash flow direction will be favourable. So, the conflict pot is going to be kept simmering for a long time. Got to pay the protection money in one form or the other, unless one becomes the goonda who can collect the protection money. pakis go ape-sh1t to demonstrate that the conflict has not died down, so they get to get the gifts.
Money trail, will yield part of the answer, if not full.

In Bush Memoir, Policy Intersects With Personality

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/04/books/04book.html

Follow Soros. He is an Ekalavya.

Let me try to say this without sounding harsh SwamyG.
I have an idea how you write. So your above post is rather very polite :-), like you are patiently explaining to kindergartner that he just committed a grave blender.

But you jump and make tremendous leaps and opine based on the American framework. Yes, Arabs want what you described, but that does not make the actions of Europeans and some Zionists right. I never have ever considered religions to be equal. As a Hindu, an Indian, with not much of personal stake, I am saying both parties are in wrong. IMO, people who dismiss the mistakes of Israel (I distinguish between Israel and the Jews) and European as biased. They hate Islam so much, that they are willing to give pass to another community and State. The Arabs and Israelite now are suffering for the mistakes of Europe, like India is suffering now. Pakistan and Israel are two modern states that were created by the Christian Europe.
Humanitarians in the abstract.
Labels have been so much abused that they suffocate people as it boxes them into having few predefined positions.
Last edited by SwamyG on 04 Nov 2010 19:28, edited 1 time in total.

JwalaMukhi: You bring a very good point about America and how the European countries deal with regional conflicts and the World. America is one of the top countries - Russia and France the notable other two - that have robust international arms sales in billions.
Arms sales is one reason why it makes sense for these countries to keep Pakistan and India embroiled in trouble.

Acharya wrote:.....

The baby boomers are on notice by a new generation
. The 4 tea party candidates were watched - Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Christina Odonnell and Sharron Angle from NV.
They were supposed to change the nature of the political process and also take on the opponents.
The thing in the mind of the generation is worry that they will not be able to keep the country as it was before in the future. Also Rand Paul talks about the China, funding from china for US deficit and reducing govt spending. They are willing to cut away from China trade which other republicans are not willing to do. Watch the statements of the tea party candidates in the house to find out what is their actual policy. It is not clear but they dont want to reveal everything.

This is the discussion which will start coming from now onwards.

LINK
Very interesting. A step away from 4 decades of consensus on propping PRC.

Wonder how all this pans out.

IT cos upset over US visa screening

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/busi ... 869103.cms

SwamyG wrote:Many liberals are anti-Israel which does not make them anti-Jew. I am no liberal or conservative, but I do not like the idea of Israel as a State, so does it make me anti-Jew too?
Your disapproval for Isreal seems to stem from a general principle of not wanting to have religion-based states, ergo Pakistan, Isreal...You shoud probably apply your same earlier principle and look at things on a dharmic case-by-case basis. Isreal was meant to protect Jews because they were subject to discrimination, not the majority anywhere else in the world, and this was their holy land. Morover Judaism is not a proseletyzing religion. None of these factors apply to Pakistan....Secondly, as you know Hinduism might be in the majority in India but it does not seem to be setting the agenda for its own survival. Hopefully there would not be a situation where the boot will be on the other foot and Hindus need to be running around for their own country to ensure survival.

From a Gandhi family loyalist.

America defeats Obama
India must welcome the U.S. President barrack Hussein Obama knowing fully well that he means ONLY Ill for India, because India Culture belives that the Visitor must be treated as God (Athithi Devo Bhava).

Indian healthcare industry hopes for collaboration with President Obama's healthcare plan
“Healthcare reforms were part of Obama’s presidential campaign. With the increasing number of Americans visiting Mumbai for affordable healthcare, the industry in India is looking forward to some form of collaboration with the US,” Fortis Healthcare CEO Vishal Bali said. Official figures show nearly five lakh Americans came here for cheap treatment in the last one year.

“A cardiac surgery in India costs a foreigner $13,000, including stay and travel. The same surgery in the US costs $55,000-$75,000. While a joint replacement surgery in India costs $9,500, in the US it costs $50,000. With the recent economic slowdown, people in developed countries like the US, are looking for better value for money, and India offers the best deals,” said Bali.

An American patient, Misty, who is undergoing spinal surgery at Fortis hospital at Mulund, said, “When the doctors in the US said I need to undergo spinal surgery, the only option I had was a spinal fusion surgery as disc replacement was not covered under medical insurance because I am self-employed. That’s when I thought of looking out for options, at a quality place at an affordable price. I researched on the Internet for almost six months and Fortis came up. My surgery would have cost $200,000 in the US, whereas I have paid $20,000 here, which includes travel, hospital stay and surgery cost.”
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

self deleted
Last edited by arjunm on 04 Nov 2010 12:28, edited 1 time in total.

"Quantitative easing".I have another phrase for it,"Latrine economics"!

Now,the Mess-iah has dampened Indian spirits with his reluctance to swing a UNSC seat for India (because of secret US understanding with the Chinese to deny us a seat),his wounding words about our parliament's N-liability bill,visa blues et al,and frankly,if this is the US's mentality,we would be better off sitting on a toilet seat of our own,instead of being in the UN and allowing the P-5 to s*ht on us forever! The Mess-iah has been shafted in style by the US voter and his backside is smarting and steaming.He is in backlash mood and will come to India in a foul mood trying to throw his weight around.His pre-visit statements are arrogant and insulting.India is not a US lackey-at least the people of India think so whatever our PM might feel,and we cannot be ordered around and sacrifice our fundamental interests to the US.The vast majority of Indians are desperately poor-hundreds of millions of them who are engaged primarily in agriculture which is their way of life,not a commercial industry as in the US.It is their livelihood which is at stake,which should be India's priority and not US jobs.Obama cannot visit India and act as a conquering hero visiting a far corner of his "empire",or as the global Mess-iah visiting his obedient and faithful followers,neither can our PM genuflect or prostrate himself at Obama's feet and hand over to him India's "family silver" or pay "tribute" like a vassal state.It has ato be a meeting of equals and if unequal demands are thrust upon us they should be firmly and politely rejcted.One sincerely hopes that Dr.Singh will redeem his awful reputation and stand up for India at least for once.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Obama's India visit should affirm New Delhi's global role
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 870108.cms

I think the US public does not like people who are giving money to Pakistan without any proper reasons. While in US they had to ignore the poor and the jobless they donate 2 billions to Pakistan to fight against India. I think these are not popular moves even among the Aericans. Why Clinton, Bush and others have tilted towards India not because they individuallly wanted so but the American Public has increasingly become irritated by Pakistan while the leaders and officials tended to mislead the presidents by manipulating them towards PAkistan.

It is a long term plan for US to engage not only positively with India but also to work closely in a way people in US would certainly be happy about it. Even if Obama does not initiate anything positively the presidents after him will do this historical link and take thisfurther in radical ways. It will be an opportunity missed by Obama to make history in setting things right.

India-U.S. to build strong, strategic defence ties: report
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article868410.ece

Pakistan blackmails US and the Western countries in the name of supporting the war against terrorism. China is using Pakistan for its own ends. Unless India is made strong, US will end up fighting Pakistan a war which China will indirectly be involved. China is using North Korea to supply Nuclear arms to Myanmar, Srilanka, Pakistan and even small countries which will make sure that China is supported and India is in her right place and US will have fear to interfere in anything of this region! Our Indian folks are just going to be spectators. Unless China's red army plan to spread their aspirations of power over many countries is curtailed there will be another kind of war which will involve everyone in this continent.

India a nascent great power, indispensable US partner: Report
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/india ... rt/707013/

China using Pakistan to slow India's growth: Former US envoy

Read more: China using Pakistan to slow India's growth: Former US envoy - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... z14IdeQDT5

President Obama likely to have refueling halt in Pakistan enroute to Mumbai?
http://sify.com/news/president-obama-li ... ijija.html

At Odds with U.S., Pakistan Deepens Ties with China
http://www.time.com/time/world/article/ ... 76,00.html

Pak's blackmail makes US pay up again
Last updated on: October 25, 2010 11:31 IST
http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2010/ ... -again.htm
Last edited by joshvajohn on 04 Nov 2010 16:46, edited 2 times in total.

It keeps on getting worse for Obama.Forbes Magazine has concluded that the world's most powerful person is not Obama but Hu Jintao.Obama is now universally perceived to be a weak,ineffective and incompetent president.

http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2010/ ... m-18th.htm

Those surveys on the most powerful, corrupt or failed states are meant as psy-ops. There is no truth to it. They are influenced by a few states as a sort of pressure tactics before the later draw. As useless and fragile as the UN or the so many anti-proliferation regimes. India should have invaded west pakistan in 71 cause that would have tore the pretence of a neutral regulatory which nixon was so paranoid about loosing.

India should have never went to the NSG. India should have never asked to be indicted into the security council. These organisations should have been undone in 71.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Opening Up India’s Higher Ed Market – Another Action Item for Obama
http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/op ... _medium=en
shukla

Post by shukla »

Will Obama see India's viepoint on Afganistan?
Why Afghanistan could dominate talks with Obama
Rediff news - Dr Shanthie Mariet D'Souza is a visiting research fellow, Institute of South Asian Studies, Singapore, and associate fellow at the Institute for Defence Studies & Analyses, New Delhi
this visit coincides with a critical stage of America's longest war in Afghanistan. This will occupy much of the behind-the-scenes activity, which essentially is the core of each other's national security concern. President Obama's announcement of an Af-Pak strategy caused a lot of initial concern in New Delhi [ Images ]. Analysts in New Delhi viewed it as a 'reductionist' strategy of containing the conflict at four levels -- Afghanistan, Pakistan, Afghanistan-Pakistan and the unstated goal of improving Indo-Pakistan relations, especially with regard to the conflict over Kashmir [ Images ].

Likewise, Western analysts were not far behind in pointing out to the India-Pakistan competition as detrimental to Afghanistan's stability. There have been increased calls for the US to play a 'mediating role' in the New Delhi-Kabul-Islamabad axis, while remaining oblivious to the fact that the US strategy in Afghanistan, thus far, has been far from successful in its own difficult relationship with Iran and Russia [ Images ].

Of particular consequence has been the increased Iranian role in the Afghan souffle, as a factor to raise the ante for the American presence in its neighborhood. It is becoming increasingly clear that the US will not be able to abandon its role in Afghanistan in a hurry, certainly not by the facile deadline of July 2011. India, which has painstakingly built its image through a network of development aid projects in Afghanistan, many times incurring enormous costs, too remains committed to stay put in that country. Some commonality on the end game in Afghanistan is, thus, bound to emerge.

As the Afghan military stalemate continues, there seems to be some convergence on Indian and American thinking on seeking a political solution. Whereas the US now seems open to negotiations with the Taliban [ Images ], India too has shed its initial reservations and remains supportive of the Hamid Karzai [ Images ] government's peace processes. The main point of divergence, however, remains with Pakistan playing a predominant role in the negotiations.
other point of commonality between India and the US is the need to continue military operations against the Taliban and Al Qaeda [ Images ] combine. Even while not being a part of the military campaign, India backs the US and NATO efforts. Given the linkages of the Taliban-Al Qaeda combine with groups like Lashkar-e-Tayiba [ Images ], there has been greater concern of the shifting base of these groups inside Afghanistan. The recognition of this shared threat and means to address these transnational linkages of these groups would figure prominently in the discussions.

What, however, sets India and the US apart is the means employed to seek a final solution to the Afghan conundrum. One crucial area of difference is US 'over' dependence on Pakistan and the almost inexplicable military assistance provided to the Pakistan Counter-Insurgency Capability Fund, without much accountability. A sizeable portion of this aid has augmented the conventional fighting capacity of the Pakistani army vis-a-vis India, even while the aid is primarily directed at the making the latter more counter-insurgent capable.

A new five-year package military aid funding by the US to Pakistan has been increased from $1.5 billion (about Rs 6,750 crore or Rs 67.5 billion) to over $2 billion (about 9,000 crores or Rs 90 billion). The military hardware includes F-16 fighter jets, missiles, laser-guided bomb kits and surveillance drones. These would less serve any counter-insurgency purpose and are more likely to be used in future conventional wars.

Pakistan's geographical proximity with Afghanistan and the location of the much of the Taliban-Al Qaeda's fighting force in the Federally Administered Tribal Areas has turned it into an invaluable asset and a key ally of the US. However, the Pakistan army's [ Images ] tactical avoidance of targeting the Pakistan Taliban, from whom India perceives greater threat, leaves much of Indian concerns unaddressed.

Pakistan continues to remain a puzzle for American and Indian policy-makers. Given the futility of dealing with a belligerent Pakistan army and a weak civilian government, both could engage various constituencies in Pakistan in the non-military sphere which includes trade, transit, business and commerce, thereby building on the constituencies of peace. A fallout of the US Af-Pak policy has been attempts by India revive its ties with Iran and Russia. Both countries, traditional allies of India before the latter treaded on the US-led strategy, remain crucial to the long-term stability of Afghanistan.

Although much of India's efforts at regional diplomacy are at an early stage and will find it difficult to make much headway, it can play a role of a 'bridging power' in bringing together the great powers. A regional solution to the Afghan problem still is a viable option and it is here that India becomes relevant. India, positioned in a difficult neighbourhood, has the potential of playing an important role in the regional diplomacy.
Even though the Obama administration keeps talking about this possibility, it appears clueless how to go about it. This American difficulty can be eased by active Indian diplomacy and projection of its ability. While in India, Obama can certainly explore such possibilities.

In the eyes of the Afghans, India is a friend. Even while not sharing a direct border and having no ethnic affiliation with the Afghans, India is still seen as impartial. India's aid and developmental activity is well received. One hears chorus of the need of greater Indian aid even in Jalalabad, bordering Pakistan. This author's recent discussions with the Governor of Nangahar, Gul Agha Sherzai, during an Indo-Afghan musical concert hosted at his palace brought to light the greater need for India's reconstruction activities ranging from restoration of cultural ties to greater economic development. This finds resonance among the locals who ask for unveiling of big projects like roads, dams, cold storage to access to health services.

Expectations on India are, thus, big. This feel good factor which India generates in Afghanistan can emerge as an inalienable part of the 'build and transfer' component of present counter-insurgency strategy of the US and the NATO. In addition to the guns and the smoke, such soft power must be factored into the present counter-insurgency strategy. Hopefully, Obama will have the vision and determination to make a new beginning.