Only TOI has this kind of headlines with "Stunned"abhishek_sharma wrote:FBI stunned by India's slackness on Headley
We used to think that Americans can't be terrorists and we never checked their records carefully. We were obviously wrong.
For, the FBI and other intelligence agencies of US had wondered as to how Headley could slip in and out of India to Pakistan without the knowledge of its intelligence agencies. US authorities repeatedly asked NIA as to why the sleuths were so slack in tracking Headley.
The Curious Case of Daood Gilani alias David Headley & co
Re: The Curious Case of Daood Gilani alias David Headley & c
Hindustan Times:
Headley's Ex-Wife confessed to friend
According to this report she told an American tourist in May 2008 that DCH was wanted by Mumbia Police and was a terrorist. The tourist decided not to tell anyone!
Also new name surfaces in Bollywood. I havent heard this one before.
Same with this stock trader for not having alerted the police/people atleast in US if he didn't trust the Indians. Evenif he doesn't care for the Indians who died at a minimum the lives of those six citizens and the Israelis are on him. This rascal should never be allowed again into India. If the MEAhas any conscience.
Third who is this Nicky Chua? Is she Rahul Bhatt circle or Dawood Ibrahims' circle?
Is she a parody of Minnie Mouse?
Can folks do some research? GD are you upto it.
Scan the society pages of the Mumbai rags?
According to this report she told an American tourist in May 2008 that DCH was wanted by Mumbia Police and was a terrorist. The tourist decided not to tell anyone!
Two things: What DCH did is not a religous crime but a huma n cirme. So Outalha is also an accessory to the crime. And she will pay in this life.
“My ex-husband (David Coleman Headley) is a man wanted in Mumbai by the police and other authorities... He is also a drugs dealer and mixed up with the mafia in Mumbai.” This is what Moroccan national Faiza Outalha (29), estranged wife of Pakistani-American David Coleman Headley (50), who had scouted targets for the 26/11 attacks for the Lashkar e Tayyeba (Let), had told her American companion George Alexander Mapp Junior, six months before the attacks would begin. Outalha, said Mapp, had said this when they were at a Manali guesthouse in May 2008.
At that time, the Lashkar operative and his reconnaissance activities in Mumbai were unknown to the Maharashtra police. Mapp said: "I was shocked by her revelation for she rarely spoke about her ex-husband, who I later came to know was Headley."
"I did not alert the authorities as I thought that would be intruding into her private matters, or she might be exaggerating due to her then bitter relations with him," Mapp said.![]()
He added, "She also revealed to me that she and Headley had stayed at the Taj Mahal hotel near Gateway in April and May 2007. In retrospect, now, I think she was alerting about what Headley had been doing in Mumbai for his LeT controllers."
Mapp (44), a former stock trader has been questioned by the FBI and NIA due to his "friendship" with Headley’s wife. Outalha had also introduced Mapp to a woman with Bollywood links, Nickey Chua,as Headley’s friend in Mumbai.
Outalha also sent Mapp a farewell text message, saying, "I am religious person, but i did sins and inshalla i would be forgiven after repenting a lot..."
Same with this stock trader for not having alerted the police/people atleast in US if he didn't trust the Indians. Evenif he doesn't care for the Indians who died at a minimum the lives of those six citizens and the Israelis are on him. This rascal should never be allowed again into India. If the MEAhas any conscience.
Third who is this Nicky Chua? Is she Rahul Bhatt circle or Dawood Ibrahims' circle?
I had came across blog postings from G. Alexander Mapp jr. about his romantic encounter with outalah through google. Didnt post here as the narration is more a self serving on a style of trying to get a publicity for self out of it (trying for a book deal). By his own admission he suspects himself to be on watch list of multiple agencies and moved to Thailand once his Indian visa expired. Personally to me he comes out as a bit of a nut with plenty of CT. I think outalah was keen to get to USA and might have cozied up to him thinking he can get her to USA.ramana wrote:Hindustan Times:
Two things: What DCH did is not a religous crime but a huma n cirme. So Outalha is also an accessory to the crime. And she will pay in this life.
“My ex-husband (David Coleman Headley) is a man wanted in Mumbai by the police and other authorities... He is also a drugs dealer and mixed up with the mafia in Mumbai.” This is what Moroccan national Faiza Outalha (29), estranged wife of Pakistani-American David Coleman Headley (50), who had scouted targets for the 26/11 attacks for the Lashkar e Tayyeba (Let), had told her American companion George Alexander Mapp Junior, six months before the attacks would begin. Outalha, said Mapp, had said this when they were at a Manali guesthouse in May 2008.
At that time, the Lashkar operative and his reconnaissance activities in Mumbai were unknown to the Maharashtra police. Mapp said: "I was shocked by her revelation for she rarely spoke about her ex-husband, who I later came to know was Headley."
"I did not alert the authorities as I thought that would be intruding into her private matters, or she might be exaggerating due to her then bitter relations with him," Mapp said.![]()
He added, "She also revealed to me that she and Headley had stayed at the Taj Mahal hotel near Gateway in April and May 2007. In retrospect, now, I think she was alerting about what Headley had been doing in Mumbai for his LeT controllers."
Mapp (44), a former stock trader has been questioned by the FBI and NIA due to his "friendship" with Headley’s wife. Outalha had also introduced Mapp to a woman with Bollywood links, Nickey Chua,as Headley’s friend in Mumbai.
Outalha also sent Mapp a farewell text message, saying, "I am religious person, but i did sins and inshalla i would be forgiven after repenting a lot..."
Kiss and Tell: Intimacies with David Headley’s Ex-Wife, Faiza Outalha by G. Alexander on October 20th, 2010
It was through a mutual acquaintance of ours named Nickey that we met. I was staying at Double Dutch guest house and Nickey at nearby Prakash guest house. Faiza lived directly in the room next door to Nickey, thus the three of us became very well acquainted rather quickly.
Faiza occasionally mentioned her ex-husband but was often vague and revealed very little details about him to me. I do know through a reliable anonymous source in Indian intelligence that she was much more specific with another acquaintance of ours who I will leave nameless. Perhaps, it is because Faiza felt differently towards me than our mutual acquaintance and chose to talk to me about herself rather than her ex-husband.
Faiza and I became very close and spent a lot of time together, we ate dinner out in Old Manali village, frequented each other’s respective room’s. Therefore, it was the world’s worst kept secret that we knew each other. In fact, the entire village of Old Manali knew we were very close including Nickey. One evening when the three of us were eating dinner together at People’s restaurant, (which is located directly opposite Lazy Dog restaurant) there was a dispute between Nickey and Faiza which was witnessed by mutual friends. It was caused by Faiza apparently being too flirtatious towards me in front of Nickey. Which ultimately lead to Nickey storming out of People’s restaurant.
Faiza and I knew each other only about six weeks but anyone who has traveled and befriended other travelers knows that it is possible to become friends for life in an extremely short span of time. In fact, I have well over fifty friends that I met whilst traveling , mostly in India, that I remain close to and in contact with to this day. As far as my relationship with Faiza Outalha, I will not go into very many specifics at this point. I am saving that for my book project where I plan to delve deeper and divulge information in much greater detail.
‘The US made Headley, an undertrial, available to us. Which intelligence agency will do that?’: Ronen Sen
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/-The- ... t-/705872/
People who played an important role in the nuclear deal offer this type of argument. *sigh*
That blog is very interesting. Gives a lot of nuances which we were not aware of. This Fazia begum could be also another agent of third country. How did she make it to the US embassy? Was her estrangement based on recceing Chahbad House?
Its like India is a free port. Every joker can come and go from India. Only NRIs get harassed!
Abe dhakkan'The US made Headley, an undertrial, available to us. Which intelligence agency will do that?’: Ronen Sen
The kapoots here gave a safe passage to the likes of Warren Anderson and didn't we give FBI access to Kasab ?
^ It is strange. Just giving access to a criminal is seen as a great philanthropic act. Moreover, let us forget the plea bargain.
Well is worse at Immigration back into India for Resident Indians coming back from a tour abroad based on my experience at Mumbai airport. So NRI's fell good you are treated atleast 1 step above RI.ramana wrote:That blog is very interesting. Gives a lot of nuances which we were not aware of. This Fazia begum could be also another agent of third country. How did she make it to the US embassy? Was her estrangement based on recceing Chahbad House?
In India it seems white skin/arabs rule.
Well, he's looking at it from the American point of view after all. Not surprising then, is it?abhishek_sharma wrote:^ It is strange. Just giving access to a criminal is seen as a great philanthropic act. Moreover, let us forget the plea bargain.
NSA downplays Headley tiff; unprecedented progress in US ties
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 859304.cms
downhill skiing onlee"In India, (there is a debate on) how much did the US knew about Headley at what time and how much did they tell us. If you look at the broader picture, the kind of access we got to Headley is unprecedented. This is not what many states do very easily," he said at a function organised by FICCI here.
The Americans are well and truly entrenched in our top echelons, if top babus are making such "PR type" statements on behalf of a foreign nation..abhishek_sharma wrote:‘The US made Headley, an undertrial, available to us. Which intelligence agency will do that?’: Ronen Sen
The White House,State Dept. and the Pentagon have made such deep inroads into India's decisionmaking institutions,thta we might as well be another state of the US of A,thanks to Quisling Singh and the servile lackeys he "commands"! The backlash of such "dereliction of duty" to India's interests,which is inevitable,when it happens,will be like the Paki floods! The exposes that will come when that event happens will make the curtrent Congress corruption scandals look like the pranks of mischievous boy scouts.
One thing bothers me a little.
This fauzia lady was on a spilling the beans spree, she was telling everything to the US embassy, to her squeeze in a manali hotel room.
Did she ever manage to tell her story to any Indian authority ever hain ji?
Are our bolis or our spooks ever willing to sanely listen to intel such as this?
This fauzia lady was on a spilling the beans spree, she was telling everything to the US embassy, to her squeeze in a manali hotel room.
Did she ever manage to tell her story to any Indian authority ever hain ji?
Are our bolis or our spooks ever willing to sanely listen to intel such as this?
Now now philip ji, please don't go the way CRamS ji goes, endlessly and unnecessarily berating MMS for everything.
This sounds eerily similar to the deaf and dumb forum people dissing Zardari for everything.
India may be influenced by a lot of powers, the US, Russia, the bigger european countries, but to say that the Indian leadership has somehow compromised sovereignty is not correct at all!
I look at it this way, Ombaba is coming to nai dilli, a lot of people have reservations with Ombaba's personal contributions towards India (or the lack of them)(or the negative contributions he seems to be making all the time). But can we deny that relations between the US and India are on the upswing? Or that both countries have benefited?
This sounds eerily similar to the deaf and dumb forum people dissing Zardari for everything.
India may be influenced by a lot of powers, the US, Russia, the bigger european countries, but to say that the Indian leadership has somehow compromised sovereignty is not correct at all!
I look at it this way, Ombaba is coming to nai dilli, a lot of people have reservations with Ombaba's personal contributions towards India (or the lack of them)(or the negative contributions he seems to be making all the time). But can we deny that relations between the US and India are on the upswing? Or that both countries have benefited?
Sorry Gagan,but I cannot reveal my informed sources and who have given me a pathetic picture of what's happening in the capital.I'm afraid that an inevitable backlash will occur because MMS has not taken the nation/opposition into confidence as to the contours of our so-called strategic relationship with the US and is doing everything to please a horse who is going to be lame very,very,soon and turn into a lame-duck president for the rest of his term.The US will never place its relationship with Pak below that of India and the sooner we understand that the better.Let us have by all means an "adult" relationship with the US,give and take on both sides,not so abysmally one-sided as is taking place right now.The sell-out of the country is happening before our own eyes,barring a miracle,the US has almost achieved what it desperately wants,a tamed India that obeys its every command.We must thank Quisling Singh for that dubious achievement.
Sir-ji,
I was 'in' the capital until a few months ago.
We all know what MMS's position is.
I don't agree with people dissing him all the time. A lot of decisions that get attributed to MMS are actually done with consultation of IAS babus in the various ministries and the cabinet, and rajmata ultimately takes the final call on some of them. The congress netas have really powered back into positions of decision making these days compared to the initial days of the first term when MMS had a lot of leeway with foreign policy.
Some would say that MMS is a sort of a 'spokesperson' for GoI. And we don't shoot the messengers do we?
I was 'in' the capital until a few months ago.
We all know what MMS's position is.
I don't agree with people dissing him all the time. A lot of decisions that get attributed to MMS are actually done with consultation of IAS babus in the various ministries and the cabinet, and rajmata ultimately takes the final call on some of them. The congress netas have really powered back into positions of decision making these days compared to the initial days of the first term when MMS had a lot of leeway with foreign policy.
Some would say that MMS is a sort of a 'spokesperson' for GoI. And we don't shoot the messengers do we?
GaganJi, you are mistaken. I don't berate MMS, I just point out that MMS doesn't see things as someone in his position ought to: as an Indian nationalist. I never doubted his personal integrity, and above all, his "south Asian" credentials for a second. And in that mindset, US narrative on "South Asia", namely India TSP equal equal does make sense to him and he goes with it. No berating here. It is India's misfortune that a nation of a billion people cannot elect a nationalist leader. A nationalist leader would not go with US used car salesman talk on Mumbai and let TSP off the hook. Mumbai was an act of war by TSP, and have not only gotten away with murder, but contines to reap dividends. The latest being $2 billion military toys from US and counting. What is MMS's position on that?Gagan wrote:Now now philip ji, please don't go the way CRamS ji goes, endlessly and unnecessarily berating MMS for everything.
"vee vill vait end dont think vee aar not vatching threats to our netion"CRamS wrote: What is MMS's position on that?
sorry for the OT.
Folks can we stick to the topic. I have tended to this thread all this time I don't want to see rants or whines or nothing! Kapiche!
A lot of effort from GOI types to prevent DCH affair from casting a shadow. Same time other GOI types are pointing out the role of US in the affair.
The most egregious one is the fact that the agencies must have known his role in 26/11 yet did not point it out to India and that enabled him to further survey(March 2009) Indian crown jewels like BARC, PM's House, the NDC campus and what not. And these tapes are with the TSP ISI/LET complex. And there is no contrition on part of US.
Further their ham handed efforts to deny India's access to DCH despite the extradiation treaty are also not helpful.
The same Ambassador who is now taking credit for the guided access was at the forefront of denying access even when the US Aty Gen was for it.
So he has to make up his mind which one is he?
The most egregious one is the fact that the agencies must have known his role in 26/11 yet did not point it out to India and that enabled him to further survey(March 2009) Indian crown jewels like BARC, PM's House, the NDC campus and what not. And these tapes are with the TSP ISI/LET complex. And there is no contrition on part of US.
Further their ham handed efforts to deny India's access to DCH despite the extradiation treaty are also not helpful.
The same Ambassador who is now taking credit for the guided access was at the forefront of denying access even when the US Aty Gen was for it.
So he has to make up his mind which one is he?
Having talked to a couple of low level military intelligence types about Mumbai, I can tell you that consideration of the consequences for India is very very low down on the list of priorities. No one has been tossed out or even at the least reprimanded for this cluster f*@k. Nothing malicious, just not something they think about while running such operations.
What they havn't told us is how many more Headley types are around that they are still running. If one remembers the history of 9/11, the number of dry runs, aborted attempts, different scouts, is staggering. It is extremely unlikely that DH acted all by himself. There is at least one other scout known. When LET finds a loop hole like DH, it is unlikely to stick to just one operative. That SIM card from NJ still bugs me.
Who cased the Railway Stations for instance. The attackers knew a lot about them. Also that hospital. So out of the way.
In any case it is unlikely the US would tell us if there are other DH around even now.
What they havn't told us is how many more Headley types are around that they are still running. If one remembers the history of 9/11, the number of dry runs, aborted attempts, different scouts, is staggering. It is extremely unlikely that DH acted all by himself. There is at least one other scout known. When LET finds a loop hole like DH, it is unlikely to stick to just one operative. That SIM card from NJ still bugs me.
Who cased the Railway Stations for instance. The attackers knew a lot about them. Also that hospital. So out of the way.
In any case it is unlikely the US would tell us if there are other DH around even now.
Its that issue that bothers the GOI mandarins and hence the steady drip of info. How many more DCHs?
Do you recall Gen Paddy's book? It envisaged this but yet it happened.
CRamS ji, I take back my words. Due apologies.
Last word on this subject.
I think that the Pakistanis must have planned to attack these areas. BARC, Commonwealth games, NDC etc must have already have attack plans in place in consultation with the ISI.
No wonder PC and the Army chief were warning the pakistanis that another attack would mean retaliation. So if Pakistan or Kiyani are pushed to a corner by massa, and the pakistanis want to do a big one, they'll attack one of these areas. Otherwise they'll probably do some serial bomb blasts.
Somehow, I get the feeling that DCH was not the only one of his kind. There have to be others like him. This is too much to ask, but can the movements of such people be tracked by RAW within Pakistan? I know for sure that unless massa is involved, things will not be easy, because of the access massa has coerced out of Pakistan.
No wonder PC and the Army chief were warning the pakistanis that another attack would mean retaliation. So if Pakistan or Kiyani are pushed to a corner by massa, and the pakistanis want to do a big one, they'll attack one of these areas. Otherwise they'll probably do some serial bomb blasts.
Somehow, I get the feeling that DCH was not the only one of his kind. There have to be others like him. This is too much to ask, but can the movements of such people be tracked by RAW within Pakistan? I know for sure that unless massa is involved, things will not be easy, because of the access massa has coerced out of Pakistan.
More and more info trickling out:
LeT men checked out targets in 2005, used Indo-Pak match as cover: Headley
Truly weak and pathetic visa checking procedure if known LeT men can just walk in....shudder to imagine what other kinds of pests walked in during that MMS-Mush cricket love making session in 2005!!The handler of American-born Lashker-e-Toiba terrorist David Headley carried out a reconnaissance here when he came to the Capital in 2005 on the pretext of watching an Indo-Pak cricket match, according to an investigation report.
Headley while giving this information during questioning by the National Investigation Agency (NIA), reportedly said his handler Sajid Majid along with another LeT terrorist Abdur Rehman Hashim alias Pasha had visited India using the one-day match in 2005 as cover.
The match, which was played on April 17, 2005, was historic since the then Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf was among the VVIP spectators along with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. India had lost the match by 159 runs.
"Sajid, of course, did not reveal anything about this visit to me. However, Abdur Rehman had given a detailed narration of this visit to India in April 2005," Headley was quoted as saying in the 106-page report of the NIA.
The duo spent some time in Delhi during which they had carried out a recce of some places including the National Defence College here and had "possibly gone to the Indian Military Academy in Dehradun," Headley told his interrogators.
"On their way back, Abdur Rehman recollected that Sajid was extremely nervous at the Wagah gate," Headley said while replying to questions by NIA.
India secured an Interpol Red Corner Notice against both Sajid and Abdur Rehman recently for their role in the 26/11 Mumbai terror strikes.
The 34-year-old Sajid has been with the Lashker-e-Taiba outfit for nearly 16 years and, according to Headley, he stays near the airport in Lahore. The Lashker terrorist added Sajid was arrested in Dubai once and could get out using his "Lashker connections".
The handler of Headley had undergone plastic surgery and had a good understanding of computers, it was stated.
I am afraid but Philip is right about MMS and other cadavers in 10 janpath.
gagan - spy agencies watch all kinds of people, but there are more targets than surveillance assets. they have to choose and prioritise. this is where it becomes difficult. little is published in india on this topic, but we know from uk sources that over 6000 potential terrorist suspects are under surveillance (not including irish terrorists and big league criminals and other people of interest). assuming its 24 x 7 and 3 shifts and 2 people per shift per target, that makes 36,000 surveillance officers active at any time - i dont think MI5 has that many officers available. In india, you can increase the number of suspects by atleast an order of magnitude.
monitoring targets in pakistan, without the ground infrastructure and assets will be tough, but no doubt some key figures are being watched. It will however be impossible to watch everyone.
in the end, its all a cat and mouse game, played in the shadows.
monitoring targets in pakistan, without the ground infrastructure and assets will be tough, but no doubt some key figures are being watched. It will however be impossible to watch everyone.
in the end, its all a cat and mouse game, played in the shadows.
In Desh, half the useful agents and watchers will be busy tailing the opposition, communal evil Hindu organizations and enemies of the first family even within the ruling party!!gagan - spy agencies watch all kinds of people, but there are more targets than surveillance assets. they have to choose and prioritise. this is where it becomes difficult. little is published in india on this topic, but we know from uk sources that over 6000 potential terrorist suspects are under surveillance (not including irish terrorists and big league criminals and other people of interest). assuming its 24 x 7 and 3 shifts and 2 people per shift per target, that makes 36,000 surveillance officers active at any time - i dont think MI5 has that many officers available. In india, you can increase the number of suspects by atleast an order of magnitude.

So, really doubtful as to how many targets can our agencies monitor with the precious little allotted.
sumji - like i said, lots of people need watching, some more than others! 

Newly Discovered Warnings About Headley Reveal a Troubling Timeline in Mumbai Case
Very interesting! it confirms what BRF speculated about him having a paki passport as well that he must have used to hide his trips to pakistan from Indian authorities. Am glad its clearing up dragging innocent Col. Purohit and hindus being blamed for 2007 samjota express blast.
by Sebastian Rotella
ProPublica, Nov. 5, 2010, 7:49 p.m.
A version of this story was co-published with The Washington Post..
A review of the U.S. government's contacts with David Coleman Headley, a central figure in the 2008 attacks on Mumbai, has identified at least five separate cases in which relatives or associates warned he was training or working with Pakistani militants.
The review, which is being led by the Director of National Intelligence, found that plausible allegations about Headley's extremist ties began as early as 2001 and were more numerous and specific than previously disclosed, federal officials said. They described to ProPublica the results of internal inquiries being conducted by the FBI, CIA, and other agencies for the intelligence director, whose office declined to comment.
In a previously unreported tip, one of Headley's ex-wives told U.S. officials overseas that she suspected he was linked to the 2007 bombing of a train in India that killed dozens of people and has been blamed on the Lashkar-e-Taiba militant group. During that meeting, just seven months before the Mumbai attacks, she also warned that Headley was on a "special mission," according to a senior anti-terror official.
As investigative leads about Headley accumulated over seven years, he trained in Pakistani terror camps and scouted Indian, U.S., and British targets around the world for Lashkar, which the United States designated as a terrorist group in 2001. It's not clear whether the investigators who evaluated each tip about Headley knew of all the previous warnings. But it is known that the Pakistani-American businessman was not questioned or placed on a terror watch list.
Since the Sept. 11 attacks, the government has invested billions of dollars in creating new systems to track threats and improve communication in the counter-terror community and with U.S. allies. Sometimes the system appears to work well, as in the recent response to an al-Qaida plot to plant bombs on cargo planes from Yemen. But the handling of the Headley case suggests that flawed information-sharing, an overwhelming flow of raw intelligence and a lack of focus on Lashkar kept U.S. investigators from identifying an American terrorist.
"It's a black eye," said the senior anti-terror official, who spoke on condition of anonymity. "The problem is the information system. New York didn't know about Philadelphia. Islamabad didn't know about Philadelphia or New York."
The Director of National Intelligence, or DNI, launched a review of the Headley case after ProPublica reported last month that federal investigators in New York City looked into a 2005 tip from Headley's wife about his training with Lashkar and other extremist activities. The New York Times followed with a report that another of his wives, a Moroccan, warned U.S. embassy officials in Pakistan in 2007 that she thought he was a terrorist. Officials said both leads were taken seriously, but the wives' allegations were too general to connect Headley to a terror group or plot.
The review has found four additional warnings, officials say. The newly discovered leads surfaced in 2001, 2002, April 2008 and December 2008 -- a month after Lashkar killed 166 people in Mumbai, six of them Americans. Headley, whose reconnaissance was crucial to the attacks, was not arrested until October 2009.
The tipsters in the newly disclosed cases all warned that Headley was an extremist, and three tied him to training or other terrorist activity in Pakistan. The tipsters included one of his former girlfriends in New York City, the owner of a business frequented by his mother near Philadelphia, and one of his mother's friends in the Philadelphia area. The review also turned up a second, more specific tip from Headley's Moroccan wife when she contacted U.S. officials in Pakistan again, just seven months before the Mumbai attacks, officials say.
The FBI arrested Headley after British intelligence discovered in July 2009 that he was involved in an al-Qaida plot to strike Denmark. Headley, now 50, has pleaded guilty in the Mumbai and Denmark cases and is cooperating with authorities.
DNI spokeswoman Jamie Smith said she couldn't comment on specific findings in the ongoing review.
"Reviews of this nature are not uncommon and an important part of improving existing processes," Smith said. "Please note that since these events occurred, advancements in information sharing systems have been made by applying the lessons learned from these reviews.
"We take our counterterrorism cooperation with our Indian partners very seriously," she added. "Our respective intelligence and law enforcement professionals work very closely together on terrorism issues of mutual concern."
Nonetheless, federal officials speaking on background described some of the findings of internal inquiries by the agencies involved, including a timeline of the Headley case. They pointed out that the first two tips surfaced during a deluge of information after the Sept. 11 attacks, as the FBI and other overwhelmed agencies struggled to modernize technology and develop databases for tracking threats. They said the system has progressed significantly since then but that the more recent inquiries about Headley may have suffered from lingering flaws.
"I think the question of how much of a role the system played will be clear after the review," said a federal official familiar with the case. "We will know better what was possible then, what can be fixed. We do know that we had an evolving system, technologies, databases back then. It was the beginning of this transformation."
The review is expected to address another unanswered question: whether Headley's work as a U.S. informant affected the investigations of him. Headley began spying on Pakistani drug traffickers for the DEA in the late 1990s and was still an informant when he began training with Lashkar in 2002, according to officials. Some say the DEA cut its ties with him between 2003 and 2005; others simply say his work ended "well before" Mumbai.
"The issue as to whether he was an informant may have played a role," the federal official said.
After 9/11, the First Warning
The first tip about Headley came in New York City in the tense weeks after the Sept. 11 attacks.
The source was a former girlfriend of the fast-talking former drug dealer. (Headley has been married four times and had several wives simultaneously.) Agents from the Joint Terrorism Task Force in New York interviewed the woman, who worked as a bartender, on Oct. 4, 2001, after another bartender contacted authorities.
The ex-girlfriend alleged that Headley and his mother supported Pakistani extremists, officials say. She quoted Headley as saying he was ready to fight in Pakistan and that Pakistan had suffered at the hands of the United States. But she also told investigators that he had criticized the Sept. 11 attacks, officials say.
Agents interviewed "more than three people" including Headley's mother, Serrill, a wealthy and flamboyant Philadelphian who had divorced his father, a prominent Pakistani broadcaster, officials say. She told them her son was passionate about Pakistan's struggle with India over the Kashmir region, but she also insisted that he opposed the Sept. 11 attacks.
At the time the ex-girlfriend sounded the alarm, Headley had radicalized and was recruiting and raising funds for Lashkar, according to a source close to the case.
The New York inquiry was closed because investigators didn't see a danger, the federal official said.
"The thinking was: Is there a threat that is actionable?" the official said. "Remember what was going on then after 9/11. There were literally hundreds of thousands of bits of information coming in."
Headley's Mother Mentions Terror Training
Headley trained at a Lashkar camp in the mountains near Muzaffarabad in February 2002. He returned to the East Coast that summer, according to a source close to the case.
In July, a second tipster came forward in the Philadelphia area: the owner of a business where Headley's mother was a regular customer and that Headley had visited at least once.
The business owner called an FBI tip line in Philadelphia and said that Headley's mother often talked about her son and described him as an increasingly fanatical extremist, officials say. Headley had told his mother about training with terrorists at a Pakistani camp and meeting 16-year-old trainees who later died in combat, officials say.
"She was concerned about him. She was trying to figure out why he was doing it," the business owner, who asked to remain anonymous for security reasons, told ProPublica. "I'm thinking here's this guy, he's traveling all over. I thought: Should I tell someone or should I not? I decided that if anybody knows anything, they should say it."
The phone conversation with the official who answered the terror tip line lasted about three minutes, the business owner said.
"I figured the FBI would take it from there," the business owner said. "There was no follow-up. I never heard anything else about it."
Investigators took basic steps such as record checks, but it is not clear whether they learned of the New York inquiry, officials say. The Philadelphia lead was filed under miscellaneous terror cases and closed.
"They took it to where they could take it," the federal official said. "There was a lot of information coming in about boyfriends, husbands, sons."
Headley trained again in Pakistan in August 2002 and three times in 2003 and 2004, court documents show.
"Were We Concerned About Lashkar in 2005?"
The third tip came in August 2005 after a domestic dispute that resulted in Headley's arrest.
As ProPublica has reported, his wife in New York phoned the Joint Terrorism Task Force there and described his ties to Lashkar. In three interviews, she told investigators about his training, fundraising and work as an informant. She offered to show them his e-mails, an offer they rejected, according to a source close to the case.
The tip became a lead in the FBI's Guardian Threat Tracking System, which was created in 2004 and can be accessed by terrorism task forces, FBI field offices, and more than 50 legal attachés in embassies around the world. FBI supervisors document each lead that goes into the Guardian system and decide whether to proceed from an initial inquiry to a preliminary or full investigation.
Officials believe the investigators were aware of the first inquiry into Headley by their own task force in 2001. But it's not clear they knew of the 2002 Philadelphia tip alluding to terrorist training in Pakistan.
"We can't say for sure they had access to both leads," the federal official said.
The New York task force found "no nexus to terrorism" and closed the inquiry, officials say. Investigators may have been influenced by a view that Lashkar focused on South Asia and did not pose a threat to the United States.
"The guys that work these issues every day will tell you that there is a problem of sheer volume," a U.S. law-enforcement official said. "And there's a question: Were we concerned about Lashkar in 2005?"
By 2005, though, it was already clear that Lashkar's reach extended beyond Kashmir and India. An aggressive FBI investigation in Virginia had resulted in life sentences for American Lashkar militants who had less contact with the group than Headley did. And former Lashkar trainees had been prosecuted in bomb plots against New York, London, and Australia.
Some officials find it strange that the task force didn't interview or monitor Headley or cultivate him as source.
"You wonder why they didn't try to interview him for intelligence purposes," the senior anti-terror official said. "Why didn't they do a lookout at airports for him so he could be checked or interviewed when he was traveling? Why didn't they put him on a watch list?"
A year later, Headley began using his cover as a businessman to scout targets in Mumbai under the direction of terrorist handlers and a Pakistani intelligence officer, according to investigators and court documents.
Two Warnings from Another Wife
In December 2007, Headley's Moroccan wife went to the U.S. embassy in Pakistan with what would become the fourth tip. She met with agents of the State Department's Bureau of Diplomatic Security and of Immigration and Customs Enforcement.
The wife hoped to get a U.S. visa and was angry at her estranged husband, officials say. During two meetings, she told them Headley was involved with "big people" and "looking to participate in jihad against the U.S." She mentioned suicide bombing and terror training but without "actionable details," officials say.
A State Department security officer forwarded the information to the CIA station chief and the FBI legal attaché, but both decided the allegations were too general to pursue, officials said.
The senior anti-terror official who spoke with ProPublica said the agents in Islamabad did not know about all the previous tips. But the other federal official said that hasn't been confirmed.
"I can't rule out that they had access," that official said.
The Moroccan wife returned to the embassy in Islamabad and offered another, more specific warning four months later, in April 2008, officials say.
"She said Headley had been given a special mission and that he had both U.S. and Pakistani passports," the senior anti-terror official said. "She said she felt she had been innocently used in an express train bombing" in India in 2007.
The allegations again connected Headley to Lashkar and, for the first time, to a terrorist attack.
In July 2009, the U.S. Treasury Department accused a chief coordinator for Lashkar of playing a central role in the bombing of the Samjhauta express train, which killed 68 people. Indian investigators have recently pursued theories that Hindu militants were behind the attack. No link to Headley has been disclosed.
The Moroccan wife's description of a "special mission" was accurate: Thanks to Headley's reconnaissance trips, Lashkar was finalizing its plan to strike Mumbai at the time of her warning.
Officials gave no further details on how the embassy personnel responded. The assault on Mumbai began on Nov. 26. The killing didn't stop until Nov. 29.
Connections Discovered
On Dec. 1, a final tip surfaced -- once again in Philadelphia.
Headley's mother had died 11 months earlier, but the news of the Mumbai tragedy spurred a friend of hers to contact the FBI. The friend told agents about a past conversation with Headley's mother that now led her to believe Headley "had been fighting alongside individuals in Pakistan to liberate Kashmir for the past 5 to 6 years," officials say.
Three weeks later FBI agents tracked down a cousin of Headley's in Philadelphia. The cousin said he knew nothing about militants and told agents Headley had lived in Pakistan for the past five years, officials say. But investigators and documents indicate that Headley was actually dividing his time among Pakistan, India, New York, and Chicago.
Agents checked Headley's background and found at least some of the previous leads dating back to the 2001 tip in New York, officials say. But it isn't yet known if they learned about the Moroccan wife's allegations overseas.
By this time, the U.S. view of Lashkar had changed dramatically. Lashkar had targeted Americans in Mumbai, and Headley represented a possible danger, a potential source of badly needed intelligence or both. Nonetheless, officials say the Philadelphia agents closed the case, or "put it on hold," because they believed Headley was overseas.
Just weeks later, however, Headley traveled from Chicago to Denmark and did reconnaissance for a plot against a newspaper that had published caricatures of the Prophet Mohamed in 2005, according to court documents. He even met with newspaper representatives about advertising opportunities, the documents say.
Lashkar suspended the Denmark plot in March, but Headley continued working on it with al-Qaida until he was arrested in Chicago in October 2009. In the final months of his odyssey, Headley scouted targets for Ilyas Kashmiri, the al-Qaida boss who officials say is behind recent threats of Mumbai-style attacks in Europe.
ProPublica research director Lisa Schwartz and researcher Nicholas Kusnetz contributed to this report.
Very interesting! it confirms what BRF speculated about him having a paki passport as well that he must have used to hide his trips to pakistan from Indian authorities. Am glad its clearing up dragging innocent Col. Purohit and hindus being blamed for 2007 samjota express blast.
Yes, the Samjahuta link is most interesting. And the "secularists" want to go on witch-hunt against Indics for the Samjahuta attack. This is treason.Patni wrote:Newly Discovered Warnings About Headley Reveal a Troubling Timeline in Mumbai Case
"She said Headley had been given a special mission and that he had both U.S. and Pakistani passports," the senior anti-terror official said. "She said she felt she had been innocently used in an express train bombing" in India in 2007.
The allegations again connected Headley to Lashkar and, for the first time, to a terrorist attack.
In July 2009, the U.S. Treasury Department accused a chief coordinator for Lashkar of playing a central role in the bombing of the Samjhauta express train, which killed 68 people. Indian investigators have recently pursued theories that Hindu militants were behind the attack. No link to Headley has been disclosed.
------------------------------
We need to find the simplest explanation that fits the facts. All this usper super 007 stuff of he TSp is not correct. He was on a mission for US agencies and was doing his stuff on the side due to the protection of the primary mission.
At a minimum the US czars need to get to the boom for their own understanding.
Fact that he goes and joins L-e-T after being released from he jail before his time shows the hand of a premier group of people. DEA cant be the one coordinating that task.
At a minimum the US czars need to get to the boom for their own understanding.
Fact that he goes and joins L-e-T after being released from he jail before his time shows the hand of a premier group of people. DEA cant be the one coordinating that task.
It would be interesting if any former L-e-T member comes forward and says he did see Daood Gilani aka David Headley in any LeT camp.
I think its all humbug. He was part of the TSPA/ISI run covert operations group.
Ramana:
I doubt it. TSP is riding through & managing the aftermath of Mumbai quite well. Of course, in no small measure due to USA and MMS.
Pranav wrote:
Yes, the Samjahuta link is most interesting. And the "secularists" want to go on witch-hunt against Indics for the Samjahuta attack. This is treason.
The Col Purohit linkage is purposeful and political in nature. It will not die down so easily after all because it is a stick to beat the RSS and the BJP with.
The truth be damned.
^ Well BJP and Co are equally to be blamed for this they rake up petty issues like valentines day or even the recent incident in IIT Roorke and come across as cultural Nazis , if they are really innocent they should file for a defamation case.
Not sure why BJP and RSS have to answer for Col. Purohit or random acts pinned on Hindu militants as part of political strategy. Are there no Hindus in Congress such that it gets away scot free?
vera_k wrote:Not sure why BJP and RSS have to answer for Col. Purohit or random acts pinned on Hindu militants as part of political strategy. Are there no Hindus in Congress such that it gets away scot free?
In actual fact there are far more Hindutvadis in the Congress than in the BJP.
The masjid would still be standing if it were not so.

It is obvious that the US deliberately ignored all this deluge of information because they knew who Headley was. For them, Indian lives were of absolutely no concern so long as he was able to give them information necessary to save American (followed by other Western) lives. After all, Pakistan had a dispute with India and was justified in using all means to settle its score. Otherwise, there is no way one would have not taken seriously this deluge of information. The rejection by the FBI of the offer of one of the wives to show them Headley's eMails as proof, shows clearly that the FBI knew what their man was up to. All this review and explanations of 'falling between two stools' is pure humbug to defend the indefensible.
For Headley, like *all* Pakistanis, it is India that must be destroyed. Period. And so, he became a sextuple agent (DEA, FBI, CIA, ISI, LeT, Brigade 313). The interesting point there is that his American mother supported his passion, even long after her divorce from her Pakistani husband. That is how much a Pakistani virus can infect.
IMHO, there is more to it ... certain parties may have a vested interest in helping Paks stage terror attacks up to the point of setting off an Indo-Pak nuclear exchange.SSridhar wrote: It is obvious that the US deliberately ignored all this deluge of information because they knew who Headley was. For them, Indian lives were of absolutely no concern so long as he was able to give them information necessary to save American (followed by other Western) lives. After all, Pakistan had a dispute with India and was justified in using all means to settle its score. Otherwise, there is no way one would have not taken seriously this deluge of information. The rejection by the FBI of the offer of one of the wives to show them Headley's eMails as proof, shows clearly that the FBI knew what their man was up to. All this review and explanations of 'falling between two stools' is pure humbug to defend the indefensible.
For Headley, like *all* Pakistanis, it is India that must be destroyed. Period. And so, he became a sextuple agent (DEA, FBI, CIA, ISI, LeT, Brigade 313). The interesting point there is that his American mother supported his passion, even long after her divorce from her Pakistani husband. That is how much a Pakistani virus can infect.
The faked phone call from Pranab Mukherjee to Zardari is a crucial data point that must be included in any model of the situation.