It's 16,5 tons.SaiK wrote:what is the mtow of gripen?
http://www.saabgroup.com/en/Air/Gripen- ... Gripen-IN/
It's 16,5 tons.SaiK wrote:what is the mtow of gripen?
Hilarious.raj ji wrote:Excellent article, from an informed and respected source....take it up with Air Cmde (Retd) JASJIT SINGH, Director, CENTRE FOR AIR POWER STUDIES.
You found it telling because you didn't even bother to examine the alternatives to what Jasjit Singh wrote and the contradictions in his statement as borne out by eventsSo the similarities between the LCA and the Gripen are not a weakness, they are a strength. Add to that now a common engine. Some people have realised that expanding budgets alone do not guarantee results..
..and how this supports the Gripen, only he can tell, because in the world that we are in, ADA has not gone to Saab for assistance, time and again and instead chose Boeing and then EADS for consultancy. This when it had a choice to pick the vendor best suited for its needs."The LCA's glitches, which inevitably exist in all complex new designs (for example, the F-35), would no doubt keep getting resolved as we go along. Of course it would be useful if the vendor selected for the M-MRCA also gives assistance in incorporating the necessary improvements in the LCA to improve upon it."
Looks like the actual people involved with the LCA program are pretty clear about who can help them, and who have the actual competence to rely on.
I was referring to Raj Ji's post not yours. Did you see me even reply to your post? I was merely pointing out that the manner in which Raj Ji was playing up the fact that it was Jasjit Singh who wrote this, was a typical case of "Appeal to Authority" as versus the argument standing on its own merits.indranilroy wrote:Karan,
I didn't post this to show that I was right in my thinking. I wanted to show that my thinking is not entirely baseless.
Agreed.Also my post was not an "appeal to authority". Air Cmde (Retd) JASJIT SINGH, Director, CENTRE FOR AIR POWER STUDIES, might be flawed in his thought process as he is only human. And I don't know how to say one thought is right and the other is wrong in this MMRCA. There will always be these two sides of the table. The IAF/MoD/MoF will choose one side to go with.
Now, you are falling into the trap of "an appeal to authority" after posting a bit logically so far. Jasjit Singh's achievements are substantial no doubt, but if his argument has flaws in it, that somebody can pick out, then those too deserve discussion.Anyways, you shouldn't just dismiss what a senior officer (retd.) has to say. He didn't become AC just like that and he didn't become Director, CAPS just like that. And having been in those places he would have been prima facie to much more decision making and reasons for the decisions than what you, me and any Tom Dick and Harry in the open source would be. He would be quite knowledgeable about our operational tactics and needs.
Jasjit Singh mentions the support for future development of the LCA by vendors as a key parameter at the end of a passage building up the Gripen as the choice, and Raj Ji states that it is an endorsement of Gripen. You disagree.Also, I don't think that he singled out Gripen to be able to give the highest ToT for developing LCA/MCA etc. He was citing all the important criteria. ToT is one criteria. That's all he said. Frankly, you and me know that "production" TOT will only take us so far. We need "design" ToT and nobody will give us that. Even the ones whom we have signed up for exactly that. I am very sceptical of what we shall get out of the Snecma deal. We will know to produce yet another engine in India, part of which is designed in India. I am not taking anything away from that accomplishment, but frankly it is somewhat clear where we are going to end up with that deal. There is no short cut to the GTRE guys figuring it out on their own. I really respect your post on the other thread where you champion for open ended test facilities for GTRE.
There is nothing wrong in what you are feeling, but I was not responding to you at all.As I said earlier, I am not trying to show what is right and what is wrong. Frankly, I have chosen to be a student in these matters and when a senior person comes along and echoes my thoughts, I just feel that I am picking up a right string of thought.
Another essay trying to justify that YOU are right and everyone else is wrong.Karan M wrote:Hilarious.raj ji wrote:Excellent article, from an informed and respected source....take it up with Air Cmde (Retd) JASJIT SINGH, Director, CENTRE FOR AIR POWER STUDIES.
Appeal to authority is a fallacy of defective induction, where it is argued that a statement is correct because the statement is made by a person or source that is commonly regarded as authoritative. The most general structure of this argument is:
1. Source A says that p is true.
2. Source A is authoritative.
3. Therefore, p is true.
This is a fallacy because the truth or falsity of the claim is not necessarily related to the personal qualities of the claimant, and because the premises can be true, and the conclusion false (an authoritative claim can turn out to be false). It is also known as argumentum ad verecundiam (Latin: argument to respect) or ipse dixit (Latin: he himself said it). [1]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appeal_to_authority
Before the MMRCA Jasjit Singh even argued for the restarting of the MiG-21 line, as he postulated it would be good enough against the bulk of the PLAAF..
Only the PLAAF came out with its J-10 & Su-27 variants, and all those studies disappeared.
Moral of the story, appeals to authority are not good enough.
You found it telling because you didn't even bother to examine the alternatives to what Jasjit Singh wrote and the contradictions in his statement as borne out by eventsSo the similarities between the LCA and the Gripen are not a weakness, they are a strength. Add to that now a common engine. Some people have realised that expanding budgets alone do not guarantee results..
He writes:..and how this supports the Gripen, only he can tell, because in the world that we are in, ADA has not gone to Saab for assistance, time and again and instead chose Boeing and then EADS for consultancy. This when it had a choice to pick the vendor best suited for its needs."The LCA's glitches, which inevitably exist in all complex new designs (for example, the F-35), would no doubt keep getting resolved as we go along. Of course it would be useful if the vendor selected for the M-MRCA also gives assistance in incorporating the necessary improvements in the LCA to improve upon it."
Technical and commercial bids were invited from multiple sources, but it was Boeing chosen first, then EADS, what does this tell us.
http://www.defensenews.com/story.php?i=3922101
If anything, it supports the Super Hornet and Eurofighter more. At least the latter, because it could actually step up to provide the consultancy work, versus the former who ran into politics;
Even for the radar integration work, ADA/HAL chose Elta of Israel, over any expertise Sweden may have.
Looks like the actual people involved with the LCA program are pretty clear about who can help them, and who have the actual competence to rely on.
And that should answer Jasjit Singh ji, that it gets disqualified based on MRCA requirements that it needs to be between 20-24 tons.Henrik wrote:It's 16,5 tons.SaiK wrote:what is the mtow of gripen?
http://www.saabgroup.com/en/Air/Gripen- ... Gripen-IN/
B_Ambuj wrote:The Teens are nothing but Trojans; they won’t simply fire when the need will arise, as the key will be in Unkil’s hand with the “Interoperability Clause”.
This logic knocks off the Teens.
The term “MRCA” has been coined in 2002-2003, so it has been going around for 7-8 years. With these many years gone, may be we can wait for another 3-4 yrs and by that time LCA MK - II will be up and flying.
Why do we need to go in for Grippen – NG, which optimistically cannot arrive before 2014 ?
Why do we give the Sea-weeds $10 Billions to subsidize their research for Grippen – NG ? May be we should give $ 10 Billion to HAL instead get 2 X 126 = 252, LCA – NG by 2016 ?
This logic knocks off the Grippen.
What remains are the Rafale , Typhoon and Mig – 35.
Here is what needs to be considered among the above 3 are “performance” factor, “political” factor and “L1” factor.
Talking in favour of the Mig – 35, firstly its going to be the “L1” for sure. On the other hand, we can always have something better than the Mig – 35, a Mig – 35 MKI with the avionics from the France, Israel and India.
I find it difficult to understand when someone gives the logic of keeping all the eggs in the same basket. Some 40 % of Mig – 35 MKI ( if selected), will not be made by the Russians but by the French, Israelis and Indians. Remaining 60 % like Air frames, Fuselage and Engine will be manufactured in India under licence.
At the end of the day, money spend on Mig – 35, will come back to India in form of Technology (FGFA).
Agree with much of what you've said.I find it difficult to understand when someone gives the logic of keeping all the eggs in the same basket. Some 40 % of Mig – 35 MKI ( if selected), will not be made by the Russians but by the French, Israelis and Indians. Remaining 60 % like Air frames, Fuselage and Engine will be manufactured in India under licence.
At the end of the day, money spend on Mig – 35, will come back to India in form of Technology (FGFA).
Pretty well sir.But how does the MiG 35 perform vs. the Rafales and the Typhoons? Reports indicate that the Western European fighters have much better performance.
Perhaps at par with the RBE-2 AA (the quality of Russian GaAs modules is still an open question), definitely inferior to the Captor-E.koti wrote:Pretty well sir.But how does the MiG 35 perform vs. the Rafales and the Typhoons? Reports indicate that the Western European fighters have much better performance.
-The Radar Mig would field will be on par if not better then the Captor or RBE2.
Maneuverability yes. But as far as agility is concerned, the Rafale outperforms the MiG-35 and EF thoroughly dominates it.-There is no question on the agility of the fighter.
I've said this before and I'll say it again. After all the bell and whistles are added - AESA, OLS, composites, uprated engines etcetera, its not going to cheap. And once lifetime costs (note: its production numbers come nowhere close to the EF or SH) are factored in, the MiG's advantage will be... lets say less than decisive.From the above important considerations, it seems pretty fair to say the Mig has the capacity to stand against both the euro's.
But again, it is the cheapest platform of the lot. As cheap as one could field two Migs against each EF (or Rafale) for the same budget.
Its performance safely clears the minimum requirement of the MRCA tender but the EF and Rafale are comfortably superior aircraft. And except for WVR and especially in the strike role, the SH is also remains a better aircraft than the MiG-35.If the Mig would not to be selected, the reasons would definitely not be the performance comparison against the rest of the AC's.
Even in the 80s when there was no problem in the supply of spares from the USSR, the Mirage-2000 remained a far more serviceable aircraft than the MiG-29. The difference wasn't in the spares, it was in the aircraft.koti wrote:Also, most of the maintenance issues we faced in the Mig-29's were due to the quality of the components used.
Since HAL would be building most of the MRCA in-house, this will be a common issue for whichever AC type is selected.
Shuklaji, pls read my question a page back.shukla wrote:Obama talks the talk in Parliament address.. Wonder if the babus now feel the need to return the compliment and gift 'em the MMRCA deal.
Chakoji, after the parliament address it becomes even more relevant..chackojoseph wrote:Shuklaji, pls read my question a page back.shukla wrote:Obama talks the talk in Parliament address.. Wonder if the babus now feel the need to return the compliment and gift 'em the MMRCA deal.
Personally I would love for HAL / ADA / DRDO to work with German (and Dutch fr that matter) engineers. That would be a huge positive for our folks.EF - is a predominantly German AC which has showed its potential in indradhanush. RAF has deployed its EF in major theaters. Special AESA radar will be coming up with this version and getting Israele and French avionics will not be a issue unless you are ready to pay.
I would like differ with your statements on several counts sir.Viv S wrote: Maneuverability yes. But as far as agility is concerned, the Rafale outperforms the MiG-35 and EF thoroughly dominates it.
I've said this before and I'll say it again. After all the bell and whistles are added - AESA, OLS, composites, uprated engines etcetera, its not going to cheap. And once lifetime costs (note: its production numbers come nowhere close to the EF or SH) are factored in, the MiG's advantage will be... lets say less than decisive.From the above important considerations, it seems pretty fair to say the Mig has the capacity to stand against both the euro's.
But again, it is the cheapest platform of the lot. As cheap as one could field two Migs against each EF (or Rafale) for the same budget.
Could you provide more data to support your claim on this?Its performance safely clears the minimum requirement of the MRCA tender but the EF and Rafale are comfortably superior aircraft. And except for WVR and especially in the strike role, the SH is also remains a better aircraft than the MiG-35.If the Mig would not to be selected, the reasons would definitely not be the performance comparison against the rest of the AC's.
I am not clear as to how an aircraft can have maintainability issues if its not for the spares.Viv S wrote:Even in the 80s when there was no problem in the supply of spares from the USSR, the Mirage-2000 remained a far more serviceable aircraft than the MiG-29. The difference wasn't in the spares, it was in the aircraft.koti wrote:Also, most of the maintenance issues we faced in the Mig-29's were due to the quality of the components used.
Since HAL would be building most of the MRCA in-house, this will be a common issue for whichever AC type is selected.
The Results of the comparative test are not out yet (Officially). But, may be you are right, on performance Mig-35 is not on par with Rafale or Typhoon.SriSri wrote:But how does the MiG 35 perform vs. the Rafales and the Typhoons? Reports indicate that the Western European fighters have much