Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Received on SMS:

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has admitted his knowledge of 2-G

Sonia-G
Rahul-G
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

Bharath.Subramanyam wrote:I have been downloading from http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268069

I have done around 35 odd downloads from the top in the above page. Can some begin from "Imp- MK Vinu-20090709-084733 "

But there more pages like:

The Ratan Tata, Barkha Dutt & Other Tapes : http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268068

The Vir Sanghvi- Niira Radia Tapes : http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268066

The Raja-Radia Tapes : http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268064

The Kanimozhi-Radia Tapes : http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268065

Guys can we share the download work? We can then create a repository and then map people & things (as ramana ji has suggested)
Done with all these The Kanimozhi-Radia Tapes,
The Ratan Tata, Barkha Dutt & Other Tapes,
The Vir Sanghvi- Niira Radia Tapes,
The Raja-Radia Tapes

Downloading these next
* MM's PR with 9X, NDTV, CNBC- Seturaman-20090708-224211
* MM-on judgement-20090615-111309
* MWarrier-Exploration-strategy to counter press campaign-20090601-124117
* Natasha for Neeta-20090601-113037
* Need to shake up team-20090602-090713
* Neeta-Shobha De Interview 11-188819-0-30-20090531-144516
* PMS-M Agrawal's ticker removed-20090707-123710
* PMS-Mahesh Agrawal is lying-20090707-122826
* Pre SLP Daljeet-20090703-132153
* pressurising ET-30-20090705-101150
* Rahul ET-disc on 4 issues-20090616-135441
* Rajdeep- MM visits IBN-20090707-162552
* Rakesh- Power distribution-Job offer-Tata stake selling20090613-135627
* Rashmi-argument on Tata Bharti talks rumor-20090611-161639
* Ratan-AI offer-AT&T have called off-Raja Kanni affair-20090707-202907
* Ratan-Maran hitting Raja-20090707-114702
* RatnamDMK-work not done-20090613-114740
* Satyam Board mmbrADA trying to manage Azagiri thro' Raja-20090709-091544
* See how Tony works-20090602-085554
* Some imp advisor from Tata-20090616-135007
* Some IS-20090706-185337
* Some sir writing an article-20090705-125752
* Some Sir wrote article-20090705-125752
* Spectrum talk-PBajpai-AT&T-20090708-105509
* Sr Journo-Post budget-20090707-103320
* Story did not come finally-20090708-093916
* Sukukumar- Mint-20090709-210126
* Sunday after SLP-20090705-102437
* Sunil Arora-note on AI-20090708-084432
* Sunil Jain's article- no head or tail -20090622-102104
* Sunil- HC Judges on various issues-20090616-154243
* Sunil- HC- Corruption-20090620-141213
* Tarun Dass -20090704-202152
* Tarun Dass meeting PM on AirIndia-20090708-092726
* Tarun on Sunil, MDA, RNT-20090612-125256
* Tarun-AI-Batting for Jadhav-20090708-085321
* Tata writing to Power Ministry-20090708-111257
* To Rakesh- Govt is respondet-20090707-185151
* Upendra- AI story-20090620-202732
* Vinu perhaps-All issues-mainly spectrum-20090616-195137
* Vinu-article on national assets-20090622-081358
* Vinu-fudged RCOM figs-gas-Curse on AmarSingh-20090616-200515
* Vir-his letter-MDA interview-20090620-120959
* Warrier- Vir to interview MDA-20090602-085049
* Whose gas is it anyway-20090706-104041
Bharath.Subramanyam

Post by Bharath.Subramanyam »

Raghavendra ji,

Sometime back 'Dhu' from India-forum has replied that he has downloaded all the tapes:

(http://www.india-forum.com/forums/index ... e__st__400)

So for a moment hold on. let's start putting them in a central repository. Any ideas on putting them in some common site?
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

^ www.mediafire.com is a good site to host these files

ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Folks do you notice of late all the scams are headed by weaker sex?

Are madams better suited to get things done?

I memorised this quote from dictionary of quatations in 1975 but cant recall who to attribute, here it goes

"Of all the species the female is the most deadliest"
Last edited by SSridhar on 21 Nov 2010 08:34, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: ShivaS, please be mindful of the way you post. No sexist posts.

Bharath.Subramanyam wrote:Any ideas on putting them in some common site?
There are number of options to host audio files. I have not done myself. I guess one could even upload it to youtube; but there might be some gymnastics involved there.

Shivas garu: I remember that quote in my 12th class :-) We used the word "dangerous" for "deadliest".

shiv wrote: Go ahead and act sir. No need to talk to me or address me at all. It's a waste of time. You only get satisfaction from saying something different - but you will do zilch. The outermost limits of your power extend to being critical of me. You too make me laugh. I sometimes read your posts for that reason. 8)
I am glad my posts are of some value to you Shiv-ji.

I was questioning the purpose of you giving 'smart' and 'piscologically' convincing justifications for everything and anything in that it makes people see no purpose in seeking chnage. You challenging me to act and then immediately criticizing me that I do zilch is an extension of that piscology, which we call here as pakiness. This is same as people saying, "if you dont like US policy on "an specific issue" why are you living here, why dont you go back to your country and live happily", instead of presenting a valid answer on the issue at discussion. This is exactly what todays Kapil Sibals, Burkha Dutts etc are doing on TV.

For example you explained that by going against the top leadership one will be giving the 2nd layer to hide thier corruption behind loyalty towards the leader. Doesn't that perpetually relieve the top leadership from responsibility and blame? Isn't the very strategy the G's are following? Even if one were to accept and follow your advise, will they ever be able to get to the leader (to check if they are corrupt or not) as long as the leadership is able to replinish the 2nd layer?
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Some times one need not heed doctored views
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

OPEN magazine shredded NDTV's BARKHA defense-
REJOINDER In a statement issued by NDTV on Open magazine’s cover story, The X-Tapes, which carried, among others, transcripts of conversations between Barkha Dutt and Niira Radia, the television channel included comments by Open’s editor Manu Joseph. What was not mentioned in NDTV’s statement was that Manu Joseph’s comments were extracted from an SMS he had sent to Barkha Dutt as a reply to her message that someone in Open was running a “smear campaign” against her. His message (which begins with, “That’s not true”) is in reply to her accusation. The editor of the magazine firmly stands by the story, and to say that he has admitted to a “distortion in the story’s caption” is a gross distortion in itself. Also, he had used the word “unremarkable” to describe her transcripts, only in the context of Barkha Dutt’s claim that there was a smear campaign against her.

The NDTV statement further objects to “the clear misrepresentation of conversations between Barkha Dutt and Ms Niira Radia, that took place in May 2009.”

Open maintains that there was no misrepresentation. The conversations were carried as they appeared in the recordings. NDTV does not deny that these conversations had taken place.

The NDTV statement goes on to say, “NDTV believes the magazine should first verify and corroborate facts before participating in a defamatory smear campaign. These are unsubstantiated, baseless and defamatory allegations and we reserve the right to take appropriate action.”

Open magazine is sure of its content, which is why it decided to run the story. Open is one of the most respected magazines in the country, it has among its staff some of the finest journalists in the country and it has no interest in participating in any smear campaign against a well-known journalist. The cover story is self-evident and anybody who has read it can see very clearly that there have been no “unsubstantiated, baseless or defamatory” allegations.
http://www.openthemagazine.com/article/ ... ndtv[quote][/quote]
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

I am deeply disturbed Man these days I thought I was finally reaching the holy grail end..
Now from Blues Brother glasses Karuna nidhi shows me that one needs three wives to get anywhere near G (al) Location.

Man everytime I think I am so close to making it I get defeated..

"Wish my parents parented a goonda"

:((

Congressman blames Sonia
The special programme on Sakshi television was telecast to mark the 125th anniversary celebrations of the Congress party. “Sonia Gandhi is neither the President nor the Prime Minister but she is dictating the politics of the country. There is a coterie around Sonia which is responsible for the mess in the Congress,” the programme said. Calling Prime Minister Singh a “rubber stamp,” Sakshi said the PM remained a mute witness even as the 2G spectrum scandal surfaced and cited Supreme Court’s observations.

“Under her leadership and UPA government, several scandals and scams have occurred which have become a noose around the Congress’ neck. The party high command maintains a stoic silence on all these schemes because the situation is going out of hand,” it said. Sonia Gandhi’s political secretary Ahmed Patel was singled out in the programme. The report said Patel was the leader of the “coterie” around Sonia Gandhi. “Ahmed Patel himself has no political base. He is a native of Gujarat where the Congress has totally been wiped out,” the report said.

2g scam will be a fatal blow to DMK, Sonia
I was with PV Narasimha Rao who was treated very badly by Sonia Gandhi. And I am still very soft on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Even the Supreme Court noted that I have a high opinion about the prime minister. But unfortunately, the Congress today has become a crass money-grabbing entity. So, I have to take a stand. The Congress — not the prime minister but Sonia Gandhi — is trying to target the opposition. She is telling the media not to publish anything I say.

But Sonia Gandhi dare not file a case against me.As far as Raja case is concerned, I don’t need sanction any more. The prosecution can go ahead. The issue is why did the prime minister take such a long time? Why did he not decide immediately? My question is whether there is any mala fide intention in his delay. But I don’t want him to resign because everyone knows he doesn’t exercise full power. He has to take sanctions from Sonia Gandhi.

Airavat wrote:2g scam will be a fatal blow to DMK, Sonia
I was with PV Narasimha Rao who was treated very badly by Sonia Gandhi. And I am still very soft on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Even the Supreme Court noted that I have a high opinion about the prime minister. But unfortunately, the Congress today has become a crass money-grabbing entity. So, I have to take a stand. The Congress — not the prime minister but Sonia Gandhi — is trying to target the opposition. She is telling the media not to publish anything I say.

But Sonia Gandhi dare not file a case against me.As far as Raja case is concerned, I don’t need sanction any more. The prosecution can go ahead. The issue is why did the prime minister take such a long time? Why did he not decide immediately? My question is whether there is any mala fide intention in his delay. But I don’t want him to resign because everyone knows he doesn’t exercise full power. He has to take sanctions from Sonia Gandhi.
One thing about this scam is that it was started with the new govt formation in May 2009.
The business coalition created for the nuclear deal is the primary driver of the govt formation.
The new govt was formed with the coalition of the business with the understanding that the business will profit from new business with the new govt. Now this has backfired since business groups which naturally look for business is caught in a web of corruption since anybody who is connected with business could push his way through since he could claim 'HE OWNS THE GOVT'

Shivas, Please curb your double entendres. Your posts are getting reported.

Muppalla wrote: I guess you did not undestand my point. It has become a big deal only after the GOI released the tapes thru its one of the pets Outlook magazine. What I am trying to tell is Pioneer published evidence (not just story) during 2006 and HT aka India Today aka AajTak plays portions of tapes that has conversations between Rada and Raja and also some telecom officials during late 2009 and early 2010. When HT journos asked Mr.Raja about the tapes, he punched on the face of the HT journo in Chennai airport. This was also in way back.

From that perspective, these tapes are no big deal.
There is another possibility ... sometimes it is hard to control your pets. There could be a higher bidder.

I don't know. The politicsparty.com site, which is a Sonia loyalist, had been going on for some time about a big corruption scandal to be disclosed in November. I took it literally to mean some disclosure about Swiss bank accounts, but this fits the bill as well.

It remains to be seen when and how the Godhra riots verdict is released. Wasn't it due in November? There have been some political setback for INC. Interesting times ahead onlee.

SwamyG wrote:Agreed. I have no illusions. But then why are people like Subramania Swamy still alive. I might not agree with all that he says but I would like him to be safe and alive. He has been a pain in the ass of several politicians.

Getting rid of him will be a bigger pain in the ass for the politicians and they know it. Finger will point you know where.

SwamyG wrote:A serious question. How do these guys steal or accept bribes involving huge amounts of money? It is not like they have hard currency notes in a suitcase under their bed or backyard, right? A dissident from their own camp can alert IT folks.

Wrong. Money is stored and exchanged in bags/suitcases. Dissidents are paid off. IT folks are paid off. Or threatened. With the police under the thumb of a corrupt state politico - people can and do get bumped off. India is a corrupt country. Period.

Don't have any lllusions to the contrary. That is why all supporters of any major party make me laugh. They are all corrupt.

Some peoples son-in-laws are free from checks all over the country. Money leaves in suitcases and "some peoples" jamais benaamis. It is then sent to Macau after the sponsors get the lions share
ShivHari

Post by ShivHari »

According to Hindi newspaper 'NavBharat Times' Subramanyam Swami has levelled charges that 30% of the 2G spectrum money went to Karunanidhi whereas 30% each went to Sonia Gandhi's 2 sisters. Rest 10% was kept by A Raja. No other English or Hindi paper is carrying this story.
Atish

Post by Atish »

geeth wrote:Latest: Vahanvati, selected to represent PM in court appears to have given opinion in favour of Raja, which was contradictory to that given by Law Ministry.

Subramaniam Swamy is having a good time in TV - He is calling Manish Tiwari (Spokesman of Kangress) a "Moorkh" and what not!

Oh God! I am getting back to the 'feel good' mode first time after the last Parliament elections
Please please tell me where I can find this piece of high comedy.
jimmyray

Post by jimmyray »

ShivHari wrote:According to Hindi newspaper 'NavBharat Times' Subramanyam Swami has levelled charges that 30% of the 2G spectrum money went to Karunanidhi whereas 30% each went to Sonia Gandhi's 2 sisters. Rest 10% was kept by A Raja. No other English or Hindi paper is carrying this story.
Hindi newspaper 'Dainik Jagran'http://www.jagran.com also has this story. Subramaniam Swamy was talking to the reporters in Dehradun.

Also it seems that Burkha Dutta insulted Gujaratis in one of the tapes : http://www.newspostindia.com/2010-11-20 ... ple-on-air
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

Nuggets-SWAMY suggesting high secuirty on Raja

Tamil Nadu chief minister M Karunanidhi has said he had nothing against a JPC probe. Do you think he is trying to put the onus of responsibility on Raja?
That is why I insist on high-level security cover for Raja.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/arti ... ?prtpage=1
Read more: Took up spectrum issue as it impinges on security: Swamy - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... z15tz9GROj
[quote]Industry officials present on the location said that DoT had to be blamed for the ruckus as it had announced at 2.45 p.m. through a press release that LIs would be issued between 3.30 p.m. and 4.30 p.m. giving a window of only one hour for the company representatives to collect the letters.

“It is a complete mockery of the processes and systems that have been put in place over the years. The chaos today probably reflects the mood of the telecom industry in general,” said a company official present at Sanchar Bhawan.

Others also blamed a lack of clarity on the first come first served policy for allocating spectrum. While some companies are taking the date of application based on which DoT will allocate spectrum, others said that the date of paying entry fee would be taken as the qualifying date. [/quote

http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/200 ... 670400.htm
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

Will Someone Take This Call?

Here are eight reasons why ‘telecom Raja’ should quit, but he seems untouchable

PARANJOY GUHA THAKURTA
Senior Journalist

WHY DOES Andimuthu Raja have a charmed existence as Union Minister for Communications and Information Technology, despite accusations that he has virtually singlehandedly caused a staggering loss to the national exchequer somewhere between Rs 50,000 crore and Rs 100,000 crore?

Has his continuance as boss of Sanchar Bhavan — headquarters of the Department of Telecommunications (DoT) — got something to do with the fact that he’s a Dalit, as his mentor, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Muthuvel Karunanidhi would have us believe?

How has Raja remained ensconced in his seat despite the fact that the country’s premier police investigating agency, the Central Bureau of Investigation, conducted search-andseizure raids on his offices and the Central Vigilance Commission pointed out “blatant violations” of rules, even as he continued to attend Cabinet meetings?

How many ministers in the government of India can get away cocking an arrogant snook at none else than Prime Minister Manmohan Singh more than once, by tailoring official policies in an unfair and opaque manner to favour a select few at the expense of the public at large — and then pretend that nothing untoward has happened?

Is it not curious that Raja should be tom-toming the government’s “achievement” in obtaining more than Rs 40,000 crore through a “public auction” of third-generation (3G) electro- magnetic spectrum to private firms that provide cellphone services, when, in January 2008, his ministry provided second-generation (2G) spectrum to a clutch of firms on a “first-come-first-served” basis for a fraction of the amount?

Is it not scandalous that the money that was paid in early 2008 (when market conditions were better than today) for an “all-India” mobile telephone licence with bundled spectrum, based on valuations that prevailed in 2001 — an amount of Rs 1,651 crore — is today close to what the same set of companies are offering for a licence for a single telecommunications “circle” or region, namely, Mumbai?

Does Raja, in a sense, represent the worst manifestation of the consequences and compulsions of coalition politics since, after all, the PM was literally arm-twisted into including him in his Council of Ministers, and since the Congress and the DMK are mutually dependent on each other, in Chennai and in New Delhi?
How many ministers can get away with unfair policies that favour a few at the expense of the public?

Did spokespersons of the Congress like Abhishek Manu Singhvi have no choice but to claim that “there is no proof or credible evidence” to substantiate the accusations against Raja — after both houses of Parliament had to be frequently adjourned — when former Minister of State for External Affairs Shashi Tharoor lost his job, confronted as he was with far less serious allegations?

FACT 1: On November 2, 2007, the PM wrote to Raja in response to him poohpoohing the recommendation of the Law Ministry to set up an empowered group of ministers and directed him to ensure that 2G spectrum was allotted in a fair, efficient and transparent manner and to ensure that the licence fee was appropriately revised. He did not.

FACT 2: In late 2007, Raja waited for the seniormost official in the DoT (DS Mathur) to resign, and another senior technocrat (Manju Madhavan) to retire prematurely — both of them had argued against his move to allot spectrum on a first-come-first-served basis — before inducting a bureaucrat of his choice (Siddharth Behura) and going ahead with his controversial policy of allotting spectrum with licences to a clutch of private companies at prices that were around seven times lower than prevailing market rates.

FACT 3: On September 25, 2007, a few hours after the Unitech Group put in 22 applications through eight companies, the DoT issued an apparently innocuous-sounding press release stating that it would not accept applications beyond October 1, 2007. In this period of three working days, as many as 373 additional applications were received. Subsequently, courts of law castigated the DoT for arbitrarily bringing forward the cutoff date for receiving applications.

FACT 4: On October 19 that year, the department implemented its decision on “technology neutrality” — allowing companies using both the Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) technology and its rival Global System for Mobile communications (GSM) to apply for spectrum, in deviation from the TRAI’s (Telecom Regulatory Authority of India) recommendations — that benefitted companies like Reliance Communications and Tata Teleservices.
Courts have rapped DoT for arbitrarily bringing forward the cut-off date for receiving applications

FACT 5: On January 10, 2008, at 2.45 pm, all hell broke loose at Sanchar Bhavan after an announcement was posted on the website of the DoT, stating that letters of intent for issuance of licences bundled with spectrum, would be issued to private companies between 3.30 pm and 4.30 pm on immediate payment of application fees (running into over Rs 1,650 crore in certain cases) by demand draft with supporting documentation. Those who deposited their fees first by even a fraction of a second, were favoured in the infamous first-come-first-served system. In the mad melee, well-heeled CEOs and DoT staffers were bashed up in front of television cameras, before the cops arrived on the scene — late as usual.

FACT 6: In September 2008, Swan Telecom sold 45 percent of its shares to Etisalat (of the United Arab Emirates) for $900 million or around Rs 4,200 crore — the firm had obtained its licence for only Rs 1,537 crore and does not possess any major assets.

FACT 7: A month later, Unitech Wireless offloaded 60 percent of its stake to Telenor, Norway, for Rs 6,200 crore — this company too could only count among its assets, a licence with spectrum for which it paid the DoT a sum of Rs 1,651 crore in January 2008.

FACT 8: Thereafter, Tata Teleservices sold 26 percent of its shares to NTT DoCoMo of Japan for Rs 13,230 crore. All these valuations indicated that under Raja’s stewardship, the DoT sold nine licences for at least one-seventh their market prices, causing a loss of not less than Rs 50,000 crore to the country.

CONCLUSION: In the brave new world of economic liberalisation, what prevails is crony capitalism. The great Indian telecom revolution, often showcased as a glowing example of the success of deregulation in this country, has an all-too-ugly underbelly.
http://www.tehelka.com/story_main44.asp ... omeone.asp

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nira_Radia
Nira Radia is an Indian PR consultant and lobbyist with a British passport.[1] She came into prominence after several tapes allegedly recorded by the Indian Income Tax Department in 2008-09 [2] showed her lobbying for appointment of Cabinet Ministers ex DMK, including A Raja, through influential journalist Barkha Dutt and DMK chief Karunanidhi's daughter Kanimozhi[3][4].

She was subsequently shown involved in influencing the highly controversial 2G spectrum allotment in 2008 by lobbying with A Raja[5], resulting in an alleged swindling of $39bn as per BBC[6], in what is supposedly the biggest financial and economic crime in India till date. [7][8][9]. The tapes which were first made public by the OPEN magazine also featured prominent Indian journalist Vir Sanghvi setting agendas dictated by Radia [10].

[edit] Biography

Radia's family had moved to Britain after they fled Lagos, Nigeria, in the aftermath of the Idi Amin-led upheaval in Uganda in the 1970s, and she, the youngest sibling of four sisters and a brother, grew up in Londons suburbia.

Nira Radia's father, who converted to Islam and was rechristened Iqbal Menon, was an agent for Westland Helicopters in East Africa, and soon started an aircraft charter business in the UK.[citation needed]

A British citizen, Radia moved from England to Surajkund, India with her three sons after her marriage to a Kutchi businessman, Janak Radia failed.[11] In 2003, Dheeraj Singh, a business partner, was arrested with an accomplice for allegedly kidnapping her 18-year-old son.[12]
Raghavendra

Post by Raghavendra »

ShivHari wrote:According to Hindi newspaper 'NavBharat Times' Subramanyam Swami has levelled charges that 30% of the 2G spectrum money went to Karunanidhi whereas 30% each went to Sonia Gandhi's 2 sisters. Rest 10% was kept by A Raja. No other English or Hindi paper is carrying this story.
पीएम के बाद स्वामी ने सोनिया को लपेटा http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/ar ... 963146.cms

देहरादून।। 2 जी स्पेक्ट्रम घोटाले में पीएम को मुश्किलों में घेरने के बात जनता पार्टी के अध्यक्ष सुब्रमण्यम स्वामी ने अब अपने हमले का रुख कांग्रेस अध्यक्ष सोनिया गांधी की ओर मोड़ दिया है। उन्होंने आरोप लगाया कि 1.75 लाख करोड़ रुपये के 2-जी स्पेक्ट्रम घोटाले में 60 हजार करोड़ रुपये रिश्वत बांटी गई, जिसमें चार लोग हिस्सेदार थे। इस घूस में सोनिया गांधी की दो बहनों का हिस्सा 30-30 % है। हालांकि, उन्होंने अपने दावे को पुख्ता करने के लिए कोई दस्तावेज उपलब्ध नहीं करवाया।

10 जनपथ को घोटाले का केंद्र बिंदु बताते हुए उन्होंने कहा कि प्रधानमंत्री सब कुछ जानते हुए भी मूकदर्शक बने रहे। स्पेक्ट्रम मामले पर सुप्रीम कोर्ट में अगली सुनवाई से पहले अपने देहरादून पहुंचे स्वामी ने दावा किया इस घोटाले में घूस के तौर पर बांटे गए 60 हजार करोड़ रुपये का 10 % हिस्सा पूर्व टेलिकॉम मिनिस्टर ए. राजा को मिला। 30% तमिलनाडु के मुख्यमंत्री एम. करुणनिधि और बाकी सोनिया गांधी को दो बहनों-नाडिया और अनुष्का को मिला।

स्वामी ने प्रधानमंत्री से अनुरोध किया है कि अमेरिका से स्पेक्ट्रम मामले में हुए लेन-देन का रिकॉर्ड भी मंगाया जाए। साथ ही उन्होंने पूर्व मंत्री ए. राजा की सुरक्षा की मांग भी प्रधानमंत्री से की है। स्वामी ने राजा की सुरक्षा को लेकर लिखी चिट्ठी के जवाब में प्रधानमंत्री की ओर से आए पत्र को भी सार्वजनिक किया। इस पत्र में कहा गया है कि ए. राजा को सुरक्षा दी जा रही है और स्पेक्ट्रम डील के बैंक रिकॉर्ड की जानकारी के लिए अमेरिकी सरकार से कहा जा रहा है।

स्वामी ने कहा कि इस महाघोटाले की सारी जानकारी राजा के पास है। इस मामले में अरब देशों के अंडरव‌र्ल्ड के लोग भी शामिल हैं। राजा की हत्या कर वे सबूत मिटाना चाहेंगे।
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

2G scam: Text of the special leave petition

http://business.rediff.com/report/2010/ ... tition.htm
arjunm

Post by arjunm »

BJP's set of Quiz for OUR honourable PM

The BJP would like the Prime Minister to respond to some of the disturbing questions which has troubled the nation for the last more than two years.

When the open licence regime was recommended and applications were invited till 1/10/2007, then why an artificial cut-off date of 25/09/2007 created subsequently and all the applications filed between 25/09/2007 to 1/10/2007 were summarily rejected? Mr. Prime Minister why you kept quiet when the rules of game were changed after game had began and which the Delhi High Court very adversely commented.

A licence cannot be operated till one gets the spectrum, scarce national resource. Why you allowed it to be sold in the year 2007 at the 2001 price when tele-density in the country had increased by more than seven times. This question he will have to answer because on Nov 2, 2007 the Prime Minister claims to have written to Mr. Raja to use transparent mechanism of auction for the correct price of spectrum. Mr. Raja replied on 2nd Dec. and on 26th Dec 2007 by almost flouting his direction to go for auction. Yet, the Prime Minister chose to look the other way by his letter dated 3rd Jan 2008 which meant that the then Communication Minister Mr. Raja can go ahead with his “Operation Loot”.

Why did not the Prime Minister call for the entire file himself and recorded his displeasure when such blatant violation of all norms were being done brazenly.

Why did not the Prime Minister order a review of entire allocation of 2G spectrum and ordered enquiry when the 3G spectrum auction against the target of 35,000 crores earned the Government a huge benefit of 1 lac crores.

Why did the Prime Minister chose to keep silent when about 85 ineligible companies (as found by the CAG) were granted letters of Intent and more surprisingly the companies which won the licences were permitted to trade in spectrum. As a result Swan telecom which won the licence for about 1500 crores and Unitech which won the licence for about 1600 crores and many others sold a part of their equity to foreign partners, who sprang overnight at a price ranging from 7000-9000 crores. When all this was happening why did the Prime Minister yet kept quiet when confirmed evidence of deliberate under-pricing of 2G spectrum became evident?

The entire issue was debated extensively in the Parliament in July 2009, yet a vague reply was given though, all the above facts and much of what the CAG has said today was brought to the notice of the Government by the BJP.

The CBI started investigating the matter in Oct. 2009 and in the interim report found that a scam of nearly 25000 crores has taken place. Why was the CBI not allowed to interrogate the secretary Telecom, and other key officials in spite of a raid in the Ministry of Telecom. Leave aside permitting the interrogation of A. Raja or even changing his Department (much less removing him), the Prime Minister brought the integrity standard to and all time low by forcing the appointment of the Telecom Secretary as the CVC.

These are only some of the uncomfortable questions Mr. Prime Minister whose reply you have deliberately and consciously avoided. India is witnessing a deeply disturbing and distressing spectacle. The Prime Minister claims, he is a man of great integrity and professes probity and yet right under his nose lacs of crores of public money is being looted systematically by people who are part of the system and work under him. Be it the 2G spectrum scam or, the commonwealth Organising Committee massive scam and other scams. The nation is not going to believe the “Besura Rag Darbari” and the people would draw their own conclusions.

The Prime Minister has appealed to the opposition to allow the Parliament to run and debate and discuss. The BJP would like to ask the Prime Minister that we have debated, re-debated discussed, re-discussed and asked questions repeatedly. Mr. Prime Minister, you had defended Mr. Raja initially and be very honest but for the Parliamentary pressure you would not have even asked him to resign. Mr. Prime Minister you want debate, the BJP wants action and those responsible must be arrested and sent to jail and prosecuted under the Prevention of Corruption Act. We want A. Raja and company including the beneficiaries to be interrogated, arrested and prosecuted. JPC is the only instrument to ensure that all this is done. It is to be recalled that there was a meeting of all the Opposition parties in the Parliament with Shri Pranab Mukharjee where the entire Opposition unanimously demanded a JPC in which the Leaders of Opposition of both the Houses Smt. Sushma Swaraj and shri Arun Jaitley were also present. Shri Pranab Mukharjee assured in the meeting that he would revert to them after consultation with the Prime Minister. Till date he has not conveyed any formal proposal to enable the opposition to take a final view.

http://www.bjp.org/content/view/3694/394/

If each of Sonia's Italian sisters have received 30% of the loot, the appearance of the story in the "pet" Outlook magazine can only mean that the pet has gone out of control.

Shiv wrote:The fact is corruption starts from the ground level up. The way I see it is that my duty is to reduce corruption at my level where I can do something. I can do something at local level by electing non corrupt politicians and ensuring clean governance where government impinges on society around me. But this is not the only way. Others have other ideas and priorities. Everyone must do what he or she can.
I am curious why you think it is from ground up (it may be, I am just asking the basis for this). My experience has been that if a person on the top is strict and honest, his subordinates will be less likely to engage in outright corruption.

Western societies are not corrupt from ground up. The guys at the top in the West are probably as corrupt as the Indians, if not more, but the society at the bottom is not. For example, if one has to get a drivers license renewed (as per your example) or any other govt service, one does not have to pay a bribe. So this flies against your statement that corruption starts from ground up.

Conversely, one can also argue that if the guys at the top are corrupt (as in West), why is it the bottom are not? This argument sort of flies against the statement that " if a person on the top is strict and honest, his subordinates will be less likely to engage in outright corruption"

Bottom line: I dont think its quite easy to classify corruption. I would say its human nature... while surroundings play a part, it is down to the person.

Tanaji wrote:
Shiv wrote:The fact is corruption starts from the ground level up. The way I see it is that my duty is to reduce corruption at my level where I can do something. I can do something at local level by electing non corrupt politicians and ensuring clean governance where government impinges on society around me. But this is not the only way. Others have other ideas and priorities. Everyone must do what he or she can.
I am curious why you think it is from ground up (it may be, I am just asking the basis for this). My experience has been that if a person on the top is strict and honest, his subordinates will be less likely to engage in outright corruption.

Bottom line: I dont think its quite easy to classify corruption. I would say its human nature... while surroundings play a part, it is down to the person.
Corruption exists from top to bottom in India. But in many instances the top can have a clean man who is powerless to control the ground level corruption. I see many real life examples of this regularly.

For example our local residents association had meeting with the police chief for the area. He was pretty candid that if there was serious crime he should be contacted because the level of corruption at lower levels was high and that he would be able to make the system work the way it was supposed to work. Young recruits who enter the police force have to pay bribes to get in. This is true even for local bus transport driver recruitment. I had a chauffeur who wanted to get a government bus driver job and he was as SC/SC as they come. He was a good driver and had all the caste certificates. What he needed was the bribe money.

I wrote about the corruption in driving licence issuing authorities on an earlier page. I had to visit the office 3 times to get my work done. The first day I stood third in a queue in which the first and second guys were doing the work of about 15 guys each - paying money (legally) and getting the receipts required - which is what i was doing. So it felt like I was 31st in the queue. There were 15 frustrated people behind me.

The next morning I was back for some more work - I had to meet a senior officer who had gone for lunch the previous day. I was early. The man walks in and the first thing he did was to reorganize his security staff to kick out all the touts and agents who were allowed by the security and clerical staff to queue up early with 10-15 names each. That morning the receipt queue moved at a blistering pace and a spare form appeared for me, free, as it was supposed to be. Unlike the previous day.

Many of the senior cadre in these offices are honest. While many are not. But in general the corruption at the bottom level is so rampant because the general public takes that corruption as a fact of life and actually encourage it and join it. Every India thinks bribe paying is required and is ready to pay. Corruption in India is very very definitely a ground level up phenomenon. You can clean up the top and still not weed out corruption at the bottom without major changes in the way things are done. It is happening in some spheres though - eg railway ticketing - as was mentioned by someone on TV last night.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Dear sirs
If Ambani can say "Cogress apna dukan hai"
What should Dawood Bhai be saying any guess?

Now what do you think will follow?

Will there be any punishments meeted out to anyone at all?

If intangibles like wireless spectrum can create so much money out of thin air, imagine the procurement of Arms, equipment, Mining etc should be trove of wealth no?, to be tapped, ok Taped no?

Corruption is universal said Mrs IG (on Jaffer Sherif) why not legalize just like prostitution in some countries?

Rule 1: Swindle upto 1000 crores but invest the money in the country, Start manufacturing no investment in stock market etc.

Rule 2 If the scam exceeds 1000 crores no more ministry or public service retire.

Rule 3 All all type of brokers cum journalists Randy, Raddi, burkah, dutt ,Prabhu, Chawal wallh Virs, Sanguine etc be allowed to fix deals worth 100 crores per year not exceeding two year yerm.

Let it be equal opportunity to loot the country why only select few we are not a banana republic no? we should all contibute our mite to cause of our country.
Thats our duty.

I think this way we can prove that ours is not only largest democracy but nearly greatest too.
Jai Hind

PS: We are no banana republic but according ex Law Minister 8 of the 12 supreme court judges are corrupt.

I will dig the references shortly. Not made up by anay chance..

Here we go

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 568723.cms
The eight allegedly corrupt CJIs feature among a list of 16 prepared by Bhushan—comprising Justices Ranganath Mishra, K N Singh, M H Kania, L M Sharma, M N Venkatachalliah, A M Ahmadi, J S Verma, M M Punchhi, A S Anand, S P Bharucha, B N Kirpal, G B Patnaik, Rajendra Babu, R C Lahoti, V N Khare and Y K Sabharwal. Terming eight among the list as "definitely corrupt", Bhushan put their names in a sealed cover and submitted it to the Supreme Court and virtually dared it to open it and read out the contents.
By no means should we hasten to conclude India is a banan republic because 8 of the judges are corrupt, its just an allegation, I implore..
Last edited by ShivaS on 21 Nov 2010 16:51, edited 2 times in total.

Guys, check out the tape on Air India. The numbers being talked are mind boggling about Praful Patel making Rs16000 Crore in kick backs. Emirates paid $7-28 per seat for licenses to operate. Some talk about kickback from Boeing in the Air india orders. THIS IS MASSIVE!

All tapes are here:
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?268069

I can't believe the number of tapes there are. Recordings of convo's with Ratan Tata - Radia, Radia - Mukesh Ambani, numerous journo's.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

based on outlook link, the out look is grim but not conclusive to say India is banana republic..I still maitain vehemently we are not a bana republic any body who says so will be reported to the admins..
Also, how easy it seems for these power-brokers to casually fix not just politicians -- e.g. Venkaiah Naidu of the BJP here is mentioned as amenable to persuasion, as against Arun Shourie, for example -- but also, in their narration, the higher judiciary.

shiv wrote: For example our local residents association had meeting with the police chief for the area. He was pretty candid that if there was serious crime he should be contacted because the level of corruption at lower levels was high and that he would be able to make the system work the way it was supposed to work. Young recruits who enter the police force have to pay bribes to get in. This is true even for local bus transport driver recruitment. I had a chauffeur who wanted to get a government bus driver job and he was as SC/SC as they come. He was a good driver and had all the caste certificates. What he needed was the bribe money.
It could be that the post of recruitment officer is auctioned off by the minister. So this need not be bottom-up corruption. It could be just a case of an honest officer stuck under a dishonest minister.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

yes , the most expensive post you can buy at state and local goverments are

1) Vehicle inspector (to check lorry and transport vehicles follow the axle weight and other restrictions, HAZMAT etc)

2) Sanitary inspector (to check all food vending institutions are hygenic enough to operate).

many can not pay the bribes to get these posts they run into crores and usually have to pay a percentage of royalty to minister directly like bonded labor..

Pranav wrote:
shiv wrote: For example our local residents association had meeting with the police chief for the area. He was pretty candid that if there was serious crime he should be contacted because the level of corruption at lower levels was high and that he would be able to make the system work the way it was supposed to work. Young recruits who enter the police force have to pay bribes to get in. This is true even for local bus transport driver recruitment. I had a chauffeur who wanted to get a government bus driver job and he was as SC/SC as they come. He was a good driver and had all the caste certificates. What he needed was the bribe money.
It could be that the post of recruitment officer is auctioned off by the minister. So this need not be bottom-up corruption. It could be just a case of an honest officer stuck under a dishonest minister.
Could be. In this case BJP.

Pranav wrote:
Could be. In this case BJP.
It is unlikely that an honest cabinet could not run a clean administration if it wanted to. On the other hand, the commoners can scarcely be blamed for coughing up to extortionist administrators. Which is why it is Yatha Raja Tatha Praja, and not vice versa.

Pranav wrote: It is unlikely that an honest cabinet could not run a clean administration if it wanted to. On the other hand, the commoners can scarcely be blamed for coughing up to extortionist administrators. Which is why it is Yatha Raja Tatha Praja, and not vice versa.
Smart Sanskrit cliches from ancient days is the nonsense we like to hide behind as we want to deny that we are a corrupt nation from bottom to top. Netas deny that they are corrupt of course. You are welcome to think what you like. If you live in India an that is what you see you are blessed. My life is not as blessed as yours.