Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
klein

Re: Two-G (2G) Spectrum Scam Tapes and follow-up

Post by klein »

Snippet from : http://openthemagazine.com/article/voic ... we-know-it

How I wish more people were like this :
Consider this internal mail circulated by Arnab Goswami of Times Now:

‘Colleagues,

There has been news about two senior journalists from other media groups being involved in collaborating with corporate lobbyists and corporate groups on the 2G scam issue. This is a low point in the news business. It’s downright shameful. I am writing to reiterate some of the core values of the group and the channel. We believe in fierce editorial independence and complete personal honesty. Our standards have to remain impeccably high. In your interactions at any level, remember that you are ambassadors of India’s number one news channel. In an earlier edit meeting, I have said that even a pass into a stadium that’s accepted free amounts to being compromised, and today I am writing to reassert that. No gifts, no favours, no lobbying, no free dining and wining, no cash, no kind, no pass, no trip, no holiday, no promise, no passes, no special treatment, no tall or short claims, no disrespect to the organization that you represent and the group that we are all a part of, no loose talk, no flexibility on values, will be accepted. If I hear of any, we will come down hard, and no exceptions will be made...

—Arnab’

Amit why would you expect Vishnu to go against the corporate line?? There will be a closing of the ranks.

In that sense they are all the same.

klein wrote:Snippet from : http://openthemagazine.com/article/voic ... we-know-it

How I wish more people were like this :
Consider this internal mail circulated by Arnab Goswami of Times Now:

‘Colleagues,

There has been news about two senior journalists from other media groups being involved in collaborating with corporate lobbyists and corporate groups on the 2G scam issue. This is a low point in the news business. It’s downright shameful. I am writing to reiterate some of the core values of the group and the channel. We believe in fierce editorial independence and complete personal honesty. Our standards have to remain impeccably high. In your interactions at any level, remember that you are ambassadors of India’s number one news channel. In an earlier edit meeting, I have said that even a pass into a stadium that’s accepted free amounts to being compromised, and today I am writing to reassert that. No gifts, no favours, no lobbying, no free dining and wining, no cash, no kind, no pass, no trip, no holiday, no promise, no passes, no special treatment, no tall or short claims, no disrespect to the organization that you represent and the group that we are all a part of, no loose talk, no flexibility on values, will be accepted. If I hear of any, we will come down hard, and no exceptions will be made...

—Arnab’

Dunno Arnab and dunno how authentic this letter is. But this is precisely why I'm against the tendency here of clubbing every single journalist as being dishonest and corrupt.

Surya wrote:Amit why would you expect Vishnu to go against the corporate line?? There will be a closing of the ranks.

I'm hoping there will some sense of self - that is self-respect and ethics.

The other thing I noted about Barkha is she basically shrill and aggressive just like the woman director in our office. Men for whatever reason backout from confronting. In my office i am the only one who gets into heated arguments (appropriately since she is officially higher ranked then I am ) with her and mine is the only section\group she does not manage :). Weirdly we also get along excellently.

It needs a much more sharp tongued individual maybe another woman to takeher on publicly. Santosh bal singh of Open is the type of person who should be let loose on Barkha

manu does not have the debating skills or tone (he sounds like advani ) .
Last edited by Surya on 02 Dec 2010 08:06, edited 1 time in total.

Chawla comea across as an old man - in thinking in everything :)

Surya wrote:The other thing I noted about Barkha is she basically shrill and aggressive just like the woman director in our office. Men for whatever reason backout from confronting. In my office i am the only one who gets into heated arguments (appropriately since she is officially higher ranked then I am ) with her and mine is the only section\group she does not manage :). Weirdly we also get along excellently.

It needs a much more sharp tongued individual maybe another woman to takeher on publicly.
You're right, about Barkha browbeating men. She did that to poor Manu in the NDTV programme. Manu was on to something which could have shafted her (no pun intended!). And that is a Public Relations consultant, who's biggest customer is a mobile operator Tata Teleservices was lobbying to get a particular person (Raja) made the Telecom Minister!

That was a big story and no journalist worth his or her salt could have not seen that. Yet Manu mentioned this point once and when Barkha snapped he got hot under the collar and rephrased the question, perhaps without realising it, as a PR consultant with corporate clients lobbying for Raja.

Now note carefully. "PR consultant with corporate clients" is far less damaging that "PR consultant with a big telecom operator as a client".

Manu should have kept hammering on this point.

Pity I didn't get a chance to grill Barkha Didi! I'm not scared of shills! :)

Prem wrote:Acharya san,
I guess you mean she gauges the reaction and intentions of inner circle of ruling elites and pass on the info to foreign entities . I find it strange that she also have good access to Paki Vulturous RAPES accross the border.
They have too much information and some could be real strategic and sensitive. Nobody knows.
Find out how she questions the ACM about IAF. These are done by somebody who wants to know more about weakness and details needed by rivals.

Look at her affiliations, her circle of supporters and her background. Connect the dots. I do believe she is an informer and "propagandist" for western tools. I do not believe petty assertions like she revealed positions during 26/11. Why do chori on the small stuff when she has a bigger goal
- Columbia school of journalism
- Of same school of thought as Lydia Polgreen and Siddharth Varadarajan
- Has deep contacts with the terrorists in Kashmir (very much aligned with a geo faction)
- Very much of the Brezinski chamcha mould
- Does massive propaganda on behalf of "Maoists, other splitists in India"
- Is supposed to have had temporary relationships with very senior politicians

I truly believe that she like "SV" and the likes of "Suzie" etc, benefit from certain alliances

Manu's responses on matters which Burka raised but did not allow him to answer

http://openthemagazine.com/article/voic ... near-farce
She kept asking whether it was good journalistic practice to carry ‘raw material’ like telephone transcripts. The answer is yes. Also, as a celebrated television journalist pointed out to me after the show, NDTV is very enthusiastically covering the Wikileaks story. So, why the pretence of moral outrage against the Radia tapes coverage?

Sri.Mani Shankar Iyer has himself remarked that the Congress has moved far to the right.If it had any strong Leftist inclinations,they are diluted greatly as of now.Those partymen who espoused socialist thinking have been mostly sidelined as the Congress sold off a huge part of the country to the US.It echoes Arun Shourie's comment about the BJP and Congress being very similar today.Crony Capitalism as we are seeing with this Congress led coalition regime, reminds me a lot of JR Jayawardene's similarly corrupt regime in Lanka in the early '80s.he also like constable Singh spoke of a "dharmista" (just) society,claimed to be clean as washing powder,but in fact,presided over a rotten entity which inevitably floundered on the ethnic issue.Right at this moment,we are seeing on tellly reports about Gadkari's son's mega wedding tamasha at Nagpur,house worth crores and a BMW for the son,the show costing allegedly about 25 crores,a lakh+ guests,CMs,ministers,MPs,MLA's in their dozens all attending.At this juncture with politicos and the entire establishment in disgrace,this mega wedding shows that when it comes to tamashas,all parties are alike.How much time do our politicians spend in attending such functions every year,which prevents them from administering their ministries,states and constituencies? I think if we total it up,we can see that most of what they do is attending one tamasha after another.

Had these scandals erupted in any western nation,we would've ahd half the population on the streets demanding the ouster of the regime.Remember the "orange" and other "coloured" revolutions in former east bloc nations? The scandals pouring out of Pandora's...sorry,Sonia's box of tricksters is getting so large that it is almost impossible to keep track of each day by day.There is now the CVC scandal,linked to the spectrum scandal,linked to the Radiagate scandal,linked to the fixing of cabinet seats scandal,lniked to the CWG scandal,linked to the IPL scandal and so on and on! Where and when will it end? As the great king said,"Who will rid us of these troublesome poliiticians?"

PS:Tx. Prat.I forgot to add,all this tamasha "attendence" is to collect sitting fees at the taxpayer's expense!
Last edited by Philip on 02 Dec 2010 12:16, edited 1 time in total.

Philip,

You say things that I wish to say but you say it a hundered times better then I ever can.

Hats off to you.

BJP and Congress are one party

May be slightly OT, but the interview of Arun Shourie is excellent, its a worth reading in full.
I don't see the difference between the two. I feel they (the BJP and the Congress) are one party. They are jointly ruling. It is a dinner party. They meet at dinners. They meet socially. They decide on what has to be done about issues.

It is all very cooperative behaviour. They (the BJP) are shouting (for a Joint Parliamentary Committee). They know that it will kill the investigation.

A JPC will raise side issues and that is what both sides want. Because the corporates behind both sides are the same. They don't want the 2G spectrum investigation to proceed.

That's a nice CT. The question is why is the GOI not accepting the demand. If it will kill the investigation as suggested by Arun Shaurie.

Or are they being uber chanikian.

Raja Ram wrote:It is good to see where the chips fall. Slowly but surely people will understand that Rahul Mehta's list must include Press and Media elite too. He may not agree, but for me the most vile amongst the lot is the media. The politicos are way behind.
My list Nbjprie includes mediamen. i = intellectuals includes all newsmen, columnists, editors non-technical subjects' professors,. vice chancellors, HoD in Univ of non-techinical depts. And e = elitemen includes media-owners and big advertisers. I have always maintained that least corrupt of Nbjprie are policemen, followed by babu followed by Neta. And most corrupt are intellectuals, then judges. And the elitemen are at the top of the food chain - they are mostly bribe givers.

===
Raja Ram wrote:... Mr. Shourie says now that there is no difference between BJP and Congress and yet was part of the administration and handled important issues. Mr. Shourie should also acknowledge the press and media have an undeserving image. Most of them are not straight. He has a reputation as one of the few who has competence and integrity. By trying to defend his tribe, he is not doing any favour to the profession nor to himself.
RR,

If possible, pls do post the link where Shourie confesses that BJP and Congress are equal, because that link is very important for me to convince Shourie-loving committed young men than Shourie too is a crook. A lot of yougmen are getting mis-guided by Shourie, Tarun Vijay etc crooks because these young men do not know what crooks they are. By exposing these crooks, I can convince these young men to find a better option, and thus save time. So pls do post the link where Shourie has confessed that Congress and BJP are same.
They at least are accountable and people do throw them out or vote them in. The media is no better but it is not accountable. They have not served India's interest. At least not in the recent past.
Congress-hater has no option but to vote for BJP, even if he hates BJP and vice versa. So throwing ALL political parties if not easy unless Instant Recall Voting comes. And even if all existing parties are thrown away and new ones come, in absence of Right to Recall, it would be a wasteful exercise. As mediamen, they are corrupt, but in their defense, they say - why dont you start a better media? Or why dont you improve Doordarshan?

===

Dear All,

The neta are crooks. Wanna-be-neta are non-crooks as they have no power. The wanna-be-neta are polite because they want votes, just as borrower is always polite before he gets loan. Question is - is a neta any better than mediaman after Neta has won the election? Answer is - flat NO. Post-election Neta is no better than a thief, as we commons have no way to get him executed if he acts like a thief.

Solution to crooked neta is not to seek and wait for a better guy to come in power- but to force existing guys to sign Govt Notifications that will enable us commons to execute corrupt Nbjpr. And solution to crooked reporters is to improve DD, and force DD to enter print media as well. Once a good media comes, bad media will become good or vanish.

===

OST, but an excellent read. Better than most news-reports I saw than past 1 year.
This is what Swami Nithyananda told a devotee before convincing her to have sex with him, claiming that they were performing a divine act, and that there was nothing amoral about it.
read full news three times. --- http://timesofindia.hotklix.com/link/Ne ... divine-act ....
Last edited by Rahul Mehta on 02 Dec 2010 14:10, edited 1 time in total.

kmkraoind wrote:BJP and Congress are one party

May be slightly OT, but the interview of Arun Shourie is excellent, its a worth reading in full.
Somewhat scary pic but excellent interview! Thanks for sharing.
Shourie is saying PM is indirectly complicit in this scam. His argument that PM knows everything is convincing. Even Subramanya Swamy was of the same opinion some days ago.

shiv wrote:Somehow I don't think Raman is supporting Burqa. He is saying that her critics from the media are equal bench odds - especially N.Ram. Pot calling kettle black. Surely it should give us some joy to see that name as being shown up for being the traitorous oiseaule he has been recognized to be?

http://ramanstrategicanalysis.blogspot. ... -dutt.html
asking N.Ram, the Editor-in-Chief of "The Hindu", as to why he allegedly let himself be used by the Tamil elements from Sri Lanka as an intermediary with Rajiv Gandhi when he was the Prime Minister in the 1980s? As unkind as asking N.Ram as to why he played down the stories of the mass anti-Chinese uprising in Tibet in 2008? As unkind as asking N.Ram as to why for many years till recently he blacked out references to His Holiness the Dalai Lama in the columns of his paper. As unkind as asking him as to why he used to give publicity in his paper to the despatches of the Xinhua, the news agency owned by the Chinese Government.
Yes. Even I felt that the whole point of the blog post was about pot calling kettle black!

http://greatbong.net/2010/12/01/raktha- ... in-khulla/

You say this not about the 2G scam? But it is, it is. I assure you it is.

Cant quote from it here though. ;)

amit wrote:
Surya wrote:Amit why would you expect Vishnu to go against the corporate line?? There will be a closing of the ranks.

I'm hoping there will some sense of self - that is self-respect and ethics.
It is good of Arnab to state so, but I cant help but think the one single entity if one could point to for regularising corruption or prostituting the media to business interests is Bennett and Coleman India Ltd., with its preferred shares scheme. Isnt Times Now a company of that group?
mnag

Post by mnag »

Surya wrote:Chawla comea across as an old man - in thinking in everything :)
did you hear him mention that the decision wrt Ambani's case was already fixed an the way im which Mukesh Ambani was approaching the case was not the best. i thought the courts were honest but after i listened to him, i get the impression i am wrong. did i interpret it correctly?

deleted by moderator, please at least you can post in a language of grown ups, maybe?
Last edited by archan on 02 Dec 2010 20:34, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: deleted

deleted by moderator
Last edited by archan on 02 Dec 2010 20:36, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: everyone else is corrupt except you maybe. India is doomed. Now STOP your generalizations before I have to act.
mnag

Post by mnag »

Rahul Mehta wrote:
mnag wrote:did you hear him mention that the decision wrt Ambani's case was already fixed an the way im which Mukesh Ambani was approaching the case was not the best. i thought the courts were honest but after i listened to him, i get the impression i am wrong. did i interpret it correctly?

:shock: :eek: :( :((

Did you spend even one day in India? SCjs and HCjs are bigger crooks than Ministers.

Some egalitarian, learned, polished, articulate, educated, advanced degree holder, multiple degree holders etc claim judges are honester than Ministers, because Ministers have high % of OBC/Dalit, while judges have high % of upper caste. But other than "my SoB is better than other SOB", there is no merit in "judges are lesser crooks" statement.

Since 1950s, judges have been as corrupt as Ministers. In fact initial batch of freedom fighters were far far less corrupt than judges --- it was only in 1970s that Ministers rose to level of judges in corruption. And come 2000, judges were much taller than Ministers.

Forget radia tapes, there are 100000000s of examples to show that judges are money minting machines.

My impression that judges are honest was based on what my father would tell me (he is not a lawyer, but being a retired state govt employee has contacts who work in judiciary). But recently, he also lost respect towards the judges after Dinakaran case and few other incidents. But we were hoping that SC was free from corruption

My argument was always that when everything else is corrupt, the judiciary cannot be honest. But the Prabhu Chawla tape as well as the argument from PM's counsel that if integrity was requirement for posts, then several SC juges appointment needs to be questioned have proved that corruption is everywhere.

Here in Karnataka, the judge who is to probe Yeddyurappa's land scam himself is a beneficiary of land allotment. so what can we expect of him

I used to not believe you earlier when you would say bjp and judges were corrupt, but the current BJP rule in Karnataka and the Nadia scam has made me realize you were always right. Everyone connected to govt is a looter here. If they've not looted, it means they werent given a chance :cry:

There are so many scamsters these days that one forgets names! Who was that judge from Tamilnadu (Dinakaran?) who had amassed huge tracts of land by deceit and refused to leave? The "rising dampness" of corruption in the country has reached such a height that the Wikileak references to Russia being run like a mafia state,where criminals and cronies get huge kickbacks,aided by a corrupt administration,are actually more descriptive of the situation in India.Look at the number of our MPs and MLAs who have criminal backgrounds and cases aganst them.It's no wonder that a "raider" like Radiia effortlessly slithered into this viper's pit of corruption and along with her fellow "call girl",the "barking mutt",fixed relationships,found ministerial berths and did tricks for the politico-business classes while feathering their own nests.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

Tanaji wrote: It is good of Arnab to state so, but I cant help but think the one single entity if one could point to for regularising corruption or prostituting the media to business interests is Bennett and Coleman India Ltd., with its preferred shares scheme. Isnt Times Now a company of that group?
You are correct. Some may state that a particular media group or a particular dazzling non-awardee journalist could be honest. But apart from a few, mostly people who have had anything to do with media do not really believe in the "honesty" or such. Of course, we leave aside ex/part time and current journos employed or in touch with the Padmashree awardees or the dazzling foodie cum journalist cum fixers.

See this link of Niira Radia's company: Vaishnavi Corporate Communications.
It shows that Bennett Coleman & Co. Ltd itself is a client of Vaishnavi Corporate Communications.

http://www.vccpl.com/clients.html

So whether it is Arnab or .... this cartoon sums it up:

Morparia: In the lobby, PRessed together

---------------

The tapes and the subsequent discussion have sidelined Raja and the main scamsters on and off the media. Objective achieved indeed by those who wanted to remove the attention from the scam.

whats this obsession in gathering acres and acres of land in SDREs??

Is it a below the surface zamindar\maharajah\noble whatever gene?/

For gods sake how much land can these crooks want

Every @$@$@%$^#^ wants land land land. :twisted: :evil:
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Is simple

1) land ceiling act
2) Govt own the maximum land
3) The MOD own land
4) Railways own the land

The price of the land in Govt books is on millionth of the market value
The Govt land can be alloted to individuals /co op society liKe Apna Aadarsh/insudtries like IT Infosys own huge amount of land in all states
All these lands are alloted for one purpose and then (ab) used for other purposes

One can easily make a killing in the transactions or in the transactions one has to resort to killings.

"PUBLIC MONEY IS LIKE HOLY Water, everybody helps himself to it" 15th century Italian proverb
and My adarsh :mrgreen:

A Moron and BShitter but honestly corrupt person.

ShivaS wrote: A Moron and BShitter but honestly corrupt person.
A honestly honest warning. This is perhaps the third post where you have mentioned the obvious (quoted). Doing so again will lead to a "hit". Simple. And in your case, one hit will be enough for a permanent vacation. No amount of Regals will help you return. You can contribute if you want but you choose to be the above... what can one do onlee..
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Have you not called me so?

Manmohan Singh (MMS) and his “Honesty”

http://rlindia.blogspot.com/2010/12/man ... nesty.html

I wrote this matter in my above blog. Hope you read and give your views

Open magzine has interview of ArundhatiRoy online.
I dislike like her, but she does make sense.
Maybe we have indeed underestimated the extent of rot in our system, which is why these tapes shock us. Perhaps SuAR is not off the mark, but only too cynical of the rot she has seen and which we only hear when such tapes get leaked, which Is rare.

So 2 more possible motives for the leaks:
- Maoist sympathizers wanting to leak big corruption to further their agenda against big businesses & govt
- MMS pmo office itself; trying to absolve himself from the blame and hoping that the party is seen as the force behind corrupt Rajas being retained in the cabinet

Suzzane Roy is more corrupt than most corrupt, true for 99.99% of Maoists too.

And notwithstanding the sickening rants that we have seen on this thread against India as a nation and Indian state, I personally know umpteen number of honest politico's, judges and bureaucrats.

The kinds who go to sleep by 10 and drink some whiskey once in two weeks on Saturday.

When chips are down, there are vultures who would tend to prey on us, using the moral being down to lead us astray. This is exactly the way the Anushilon members were broken by British Marxists.

Be Aware.
Mauli

Post by Mauli »

Jaane bhi do, Barkha

kmkraoind wrote:BJP and Congress are one party

It is not OT. You should have posted the relevant part instead of throwing a == :roll:
Unless the prime minister deliberately shuts his eyes there is no difficulty in knowing everything. It would be incredible that the prime minister would not know. The system is so structured.

Second, all the telecom dealings were done in public. The Prime Minister's Office would certainly read the newspapers. There was so much commotion in Sanchar Bhuvan that people were beaten up the day the allotment of 2G spectrum was announced.

The point is that the prime minister himself wrote a letter and as politely as possible gave instructions that please examine the issue of auctioning of spectrum and determining its price in a fair and transparent manner.

And his minister disregards that.

Do you think that the PM would not know that?

It was the letter signed by him that was ignored.

Coalition dharma doesn't mean that I will become protector of the corrupt.

I feel the prime minister must have known about the 2G issue. That's evident from all sorts of facts.

Second, coalition compulsions do not give you the licence to abdicate your duty.

If your minister is doing something wrong, as captain of the team, the prime minister owes the responsibility to the country to stop the minister.

If the PM had confronted (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam [ Images ] chief M) Karunanidhi with all the evidence, I don't imagine he would have told the PM, 'Don't take action against Raja'.

It is possible that the Congress party must have prevailed over the PMO in that matter.

I don't know. I have heard the opposite. Six months ago, the Congress party had told the prime minister that you remove Raja and it is your responsibility to explain this matter to Karunanidhi. That is what senior leaders of the party have been saying.
Some constable we have at the helm!
Last edited by RamaY on 03 Dec 2010 02:30, edited 1 time in total.

Careful, people have gotten warnings for "constable". I happen to think that it is a dignified position in police force, dunno why people try to use it as an insult. Shri Tukaram Omble was a constable.

I would be the first to throw a stone at ARaja's striped chaddi (and other slimes), but would defend them if an external player pops up to "help fix ARaja".

Indian journos and channels are still fledgling on a global scale and NDTV etc never added any value to India, so screw them. But there is a danger here. That butch-dyke reporter women et al burning furiously are fine and much deserved, but I personally would not want these burning figures to frantically run inside and burn down Tata House. Whatever be these corporate bigwig's political shenanigans, we are not yet there, where one Bear Stearns style foldup can be shrugged off.

ARoy can go f**k herself. She has no qualms in wallowing in the cesspit of Indian Left jounalism, yet is trying to spin even this as the fault of others.

archan wrote:Careful, people have gotten warnings for "constable". I happen to think that it is a dignified position in police force, dunno why people try to use it as an insult. Shri Tukaram Omble was a constable.
Archanullah!

I don't see any contradiction in someone calling MMS constable. However, I struck that part in my post as I see your point. But quoting an exceptional character to restrict use of a social/govt role/status in a sarcastic manner may not be a good idea IMHO. One can raise objection to someone calling MMS a PM as that post was held by Sri Lal Bahadur Sastry.
A constable is a person holding a particular office, most commonly in law enforcement!
The Prime Minister of India (Hindi: प्रधान मंत्री) is the chief of government, head of the Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in parliament. The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India.

A constable is a person holding a particular office, most commonly in law enforcement!
The Prime Minister of India (Hindi: प्रधान मंत्री) is the chief of government, head of the Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in parliament. The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India.
Ramayji I will not comment on the Constable portion of your post but using the definition of PM of India (as qouted from Wiki), Manmohan Singhji should not be called the PM of India as He is not the leader of the majority party in parliament. :mrgreen:

:mrgreen: OK folks, save this thread form going OT now.

ShivaS wrote:No body is clean even Lord Krishna was not clean, but he still upheld the law (Dharma)

Gandhiji was not clean for that matter

so we have to take every one to the cleaners otherwise there will be many proxy rules like SOnia G
One small correction ShivaS garu! There are few people who claim themselves to be Mr/Ms clean and they need to come out admitting their guilt and role in this scam. At least Burkha dutt did not claim to be an honest person, she said she was a good journalist and would go any extent to get what she wanted (paraphrasing).

On the other hand there are people who made their glory on clean image -

1. Mr Clean PM - This gentleman became PM of India on his clean image, or at least he did not correct anyone in media or party when they alleged him to be Mr. Clean.

2. Mata Clean - Rajamata claims herself, her late husband and her even later party are sparkling clean. She has to come out to the public with her own stink first.

3. Beta Clean - This gentleman wants clean politics and clean governance. Perhaps he can come out clean admitting the guilt of his grandpa, grandma, father, mother, and whole khandan...

XXX. I can bring every other name including ABV, NaM etc., but we are talking about 2G spectrum scam.

GOI is entrusted to do this exact job and UPA II failed to that job. I don't see much discussion around it. Burkha dutt is a small fly in this game. A smart mind (that cross-checks the information with other sources) would find BD's loyalties, favoritism, journalistic character by watching just 2-3 programs of hers.

If we were to argue that "the accuser is as dirty as the accused" then we don't need any discussion on any topic. That is a nice tactic by guilty to dodge answering the immediate question.
On the honesty of MMS purhaps gurus read what I have written and judge your self. I am sick of this Honest MMS talk.

http://rlindia.blogspot.com/2010/12/man ... nesty.html

Archan : {commenting on my post} everyone else is corrupt except you maybe. India is doomed. Now STOP your generalizations ... .
Not even one line in post ever implied that "everyone is corrupt". I have said that out of everyone, i.e. 72 cr citizens of India, some 100,000 are top power holders and of them some 99900 of them are corrupt to core. Hence, as per my posts and views, over 71 cr Indians, over 98%, are non-corrupt. So your allegation that I am calling everyone corrupt is false

I accused Arun Shourie as crook, because Arun Shourie is a crook. He used to give cash to many newspapers so that newspapers would give good name to him, and money came from his Dept and other Ministers. Some Ministers collect bribes for themselves, he collected bribes for fame. All news/columns projecting him as some devata were nothing but paid news and paid columns. And when BJP leaders refused to give money for his publcity, he now says BJP==Congress. His hypocrisy alone speaks volumes.

And btw, is it illegal to on BR to call Arun Shourie a crook? People have used much worse words on Raja, Dinakaran, Sonia, MMS, Pramod etc. Last time I checked, insulting leaders was fair game on BR. Pls let me all know if rules have changed.

===
Sanku: Suzzane Roy is more corrupt than most corrupt, true for 99.99% of Maoists too.
True. AWMTA :) . Except, SAA is not most corrupt - the award of most goes to SCjs, HCjs, MMS, Sonia, ABV and many. But I agree she is extremely corrupt and defunct. And Maoist leaders are all for money and have no concern of poor.
I personally know umpteen number of honest politico's, judges and bureaucrats.
Well, no can watch a person on 24*7 basis. You think they are non-corrupt, because the information on their bribery did not come out yet. Or yes, may be they are non-corrupt. But most so calld non-corrupt I have come across almost always developed very friendly relation with corrupt and business-houses, and used their money to get promotions and positive media-space. A different type of corruption, but equally damaging. The litmus test for corruption is- does that person support good laws? eg consider law of imposing wealth/income tax in charitable trust. Ask if that honest person supports that law. If he doesnt, his nexuses with dishonest people will become open.