2-G scam poll

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

The 2G scam will result in

Poll ended at 02 Dec 2010 09:51

Clean up of the system, no change of government
1%
Clean up of the system, change of government
5%
All guilty including ministers will be punished, govt stays
5%
Lower downs punished, ministers escape, govt stays
22%
Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays
62%
Same system, different government
4%

Total votes: 77

2-G scam poll

What do folks think will happen?
Raghavendra

Re: 2-G scam poll

Post by Raghavendra »

Clean up of the Congress, no change of government
Clean up of the Congress, change of government
All guilty including ministers will be punished, Congress govt stays
Lower downs punished, ministers escape, Congress govt stays
Everyone will escape, affair will die down, Congress system and govt stays
Same Congress system, different Congress Party

Add the correct options, then people can vote :mrgreen:

Raghavendra wrote:Clean up of the Congress, no change of government
Clean up of the Congress, change of government
All guilty including ministers will be punished, Congress govt stays
Lower downs punished, ministers escape, Congress govt stays
Everyone will escape, affair will die down, Congress system and govt stays
Same Congress system, different Congress Party
This is option 2

No one will be prosecuted. The case will drag on for 50 years and the accused will die of old age. No changes will take place in the system.

I voted for "Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays".

===

It is a casual thought only, I dont spend too much time in "what will happen" --- I like to focus on what shoukd I do. I am trying to bring RTI2 law following which MRCM and RTR laws will come 1-2 months, and corruption will then become near zero 2-3 months. "What will happen" question is for those who want no action because they want status quo to go on.

Rahul kindly don't accuse me of not wanting to do anything. I want to start a scam of my own and that will not be possible if the likes of you change the system.

It is so easy to start a scam that it is only cowardice on my part for not having done it so far.

"Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays"
coz i see Laloo Cow dung scam Prasad growing richer by the day, so who is going to
get con(I) ?

niran wrote:"Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays"
+1.

Scam! What scam. As far the most honest, efficient and clean PM is concerned, there is no scam.
Even RG and SG haven't talked about it, so there must be nothing.
CAG is barking up the wrong tree and opposition being opposition is making mountain out of molehill and middle class is showing its cheapness by following the media which anyways is Anti-Govt.
After all if there was any Bofors scandal, Govt of Chandrashekhar, DeveGowda, IKG or ABV would have caught the culprits. Isn't it.
ShivJi is showing typical BRF behavior of being Anti-INC. Can't you see that this is the same Govt that removed Natwar Singh and Kalmadi earlier on corruption charges.

Till now all we know is that GoI lost money while distribution licences. Uptil now all that has been documented is that Ministry of telecom is incompetent and some babus effed up big time.
Where does this prove that Govt of the day indulged in corruption and that too at this gigantic scale?

Pls add the option of voting this scam is creation of Media and that Sh. Raja is nothing but servant of the masses.

Doc, if it is permissible to discuss atleast "hypothetical" and absolutely "fantasy-like" solutions in this thread, then i would like to suggest something :

No society/country can ever be 100% corruption free. I am sure there will be conflicts of interests, overlapping of necessities in every society. If we could come up with a solution, i would say we gotta borrow a leaf from China's book here. If the corruption can be contained at the very top level without it ever spreading to roots,then atleast we can clear the system at the micro level.

China was massively corrupt at every level until they started public executions of corrupt officials,not to say that it is no longer corrupt, but atleast not at the regular 'cop on the beat' level. This fear of no reprisal is the reason for our 'chaltha hai' attitude.Ofcourse, this will not stop future 2G scams, but atleast it will save us regular joes from the daily skulduggery in government offices. Do what Mao did, execute the senior most folks in every town and city and that'll automatically put right the junior folks.

Unless we contain the corruption, no amount of chest thumping would help us be a respectable power in this world.Corruption breeds apathy,and the latest 'we spotted, but did not defuse the bomb' that killed 7 in Bihar is a prime example that the path that we have chosen can only take us so far as a nation before it falls on its knees again. Just my 2 cents.
dipak

Post by dipak »

I voted for "Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays".

All drama seems to cut some figures to size, grown too big for the shoe.

Things got elongated because, unexpectedly after long time BJP smell blood and clutch this issue with both hands to avoid being further irrelevant as an opposition party. But they too would fall in line, a backdoor agreement of sort ... but will not go very far.

Govt will stay.

Just my two paise.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Since the name of the game today is identifying scapegoats and 'punishing' them for the greater good, I am thinking that a few people will be punished. Of course the government stays.

Soon the nation will go into mass celebrations because of the wedding of HRH Rahul Gandhi, and the media will eventually move on to things that it is good at and likes doing - covering fluffy tabloid stories. I don't imagine any sustained questioning or allegations from the media.

The CONgress is good at damage control. They'll come up with anything to stave away attention.

Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays
PLUS - the mugs who exposed this scam will get screwed... royally

Remember the ending of 'Jaane bhi do Yaaron'...

Wanted to vote 5, chose 4 . Btw Shiv ji what did you choose ? :)
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

My local goondas policemen municipal and state govt central govt babus will Jack up the rates by 600 percent that's all little else will change

I chose "Same system, different government" from a longer term perspective.

I did not vote as I think this poll is a cruel joke!

Just because majority of participants (even majority of Indians) give up on corruption, it doesn't mean corruption is an acceptable social/political character and one should not question or criticize the government. This apathy is what kills the nation.

This is exactly what MMS said in his response to 2G spectrum issue in Hindustan Times meeting

"The guilty in 2G spectrum allocation will be punished. We will take all necessary legal action against "them". In democracy everyone must allow the parliament to function. We are ready to discuss all issues. Crony capitalism is a worldwide issue and it should be fought against.

I cannot help if people think that we are always in trouble or at wrong. As a prime minister, I often consider myself as a student facing exams. The good news is that we win every time we stand against the exams of time. Our youth are optimistic and that gives me confidence. We should do good to some extent at least"

* There is no sense of responsibility for what happened as the leader of cabinet.
* There is no sense of direction for what needs to be done to control corruption.
* There is no conviction or confidence to achieve the results (if at all).
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

^^ I totally agree with you but I still voted "Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays".
I think this poll is not about what I wish, this poll is about the actual outcome. And going by previous examples people are confident that nothing will happen as clearly confirmed by the poll.

One more thing, people on BR doesn't represent random sample of Indian voter. Do we have any evidence that among the random voters, people are angry with all these corruptions? I am not too optimistic.
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Yes BR is not representative of the Indian Public
this is just time pass
from piskology to psephology
that's all yaar no? :mrgreen:
some times we at BRF take our selves too seriously
We ban members just like that while even Kasab is well fed by GOI
I do chuckle at that
but then I am honestly currupt and a moron to
I mentioned about contonments land being swindle well before Z tv expose
and mark my words what we are seeing is just less than tip of the ice berg
jai hind
Last edited by ShivaS on 23 Nov 2010 04:08, edited 1 time in total.

Who says BRF is not representative of the voting Public

Half of BRF voting Public are foreign Passport Holders, half of Indian voting public are Bangladeshis

negi wrote:Wanted to vote 5, chose 4 . Btw Shiv ji what did you choose ? :)
Lower downs punished. Ministers escape. Although I started the poll I was assuming in my mind that "lower downs" are those who bought licences illegally, and now this other guy the CVC (Thomas) has come to light. These people will take punishment. In any case that is the original design. Scams have "crumple zones" that crumple and absorb the impact. The top people get away.

The guy who wrote "Maximum City" - a book about Mumbai has expressed why people like to cheat very eloquently. Sadly I no longer have the book but he had said something like making an honest living requires no smartness and does not get you far. But being able to bend the system in an innovative way to squeeze out an advantage for yourself is seen as real smartness. It evokes admiration and envy.

Everyone will escape, affair will die down, system and govt stays for now. But further, all the guilty will be under the tight grip, with the threat that if they loose the patronage of mighty and powerful, they will be squeezed as and when convenient. Simple elation for the moment for those who escape, but will be under the threat of blackmail for quite sometime to come. If guilty falls out of good book, the guilty will be thrown under the bus at convenient time and choosing. Even if justice is fast tracked, it will be well over couple of decades before justice will be dispensed and another couple of decades to enforce it, if the guilty happen to be alive by then.
Sri

Post by Sri »

Raja resigned NO??? What else do u want? He will not directly swindle anything anymore. We are indeed saved and all hail Madam and Rahul Baba now...

Yediyurappa remains CM of Karnataka. Now the BJP and Congress are equal equal. You retain your scamsters. We will retain ours.

Cross post - just to note the progress that has been made in the cause of justice..
Muppalla wrote:These tapes have achieved what they are meant for. In the entire media and blogs including this thread - 90% of the discussion is about one of the following in the order of priority:
(1) Media ethics with special emphasis on Bharka and Vir. Bandwith across all sites such as Twitter, facebook is just about this
(2) General corruption in India and how bad it is and how INC corruption and BJP corruption are same. It is all EQUAL so let us bring everything on the plate.
(3) Corruption by the corporates. How bad they and we should not have gone towards capitalism.

The real perpetrators including the frontend that is Raja and the host of backend folks (UPA government including babus and the taller than the tallest) are not give any importance.

The tapes are nothing but a diversion tactics and very succesful too.