Page 4 of 11
Re: Shooting in Wisconsin Sikh Gurudwara
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 22:58
by RajeshA
darshhan wrote:My advice for all PIOs living in US including Hindus and Sikhs. Arm yourself. Devote sometime to firearms training. Get a Concealed carry permit if you can( A huge majority of states in US allow this). Develop a Combat/Warrior mindset.
Such kind of incidents are only going to increase in future in America. And Indian origin people are among the most vulnerable groups because they are the ultimate soft targets. Be prepared.
Try to ensure whenever such incident happens again, you should not depend on cops to take out the shooter.
Stay sharp, stay safe.
RIP to our fallen brothers.
I agree with darshhan.
Indians really need to get testosterone going. Go to the gym. Pump up some muscles! And go get arms training! More importantly do both things - mix up with the locals, all types, but also develop a close network of desis, of similar para-military mindset.
And send your kids to martial arts from age 4!
Carl wrote:Some grassroots relationship management is needed for Indians in the US - not just some lobbying on the Hill. Generally these folks see Indian immigrants as harmless guys, but resent that they are taking away a lot of jobs. The other stereotype about Indians is that the Indian customer will "Jew you down", i.e., they are miserly makhi-choos and clannish types who will bargain with you to death. But still they have far less hatred for Indians than others like Mexicans and Moslems - once they know the difference. Many of the hard right types consider India a potential ally. Hopefully the US Sikhs will use this opportunity to identify themselves and educate the American people on this. And they truly do need to make it clear that they are Indian at this point, if they aren't doing it already.
I fully agree. There is a need to reach out to the extreme right and to influence them positively, just as it is important to do this with Mexicans and Afro-American gangs as well.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:01
by sanjaykumar
The harmless stereotype is an extremely important point. An American's contact with India may be only through a kindly pediatrician, Sanjay Gupta, George Harrison, mandalas, meditation etc. Hindus tend not to wear anything more frightening than a sari-dispensing with wild beards, daggers and ostentatious displays of religion-halal meals, ritualistic public prayers etc.
Unfortunately some self styled spokesmen for NA Sikhs have actively sought to distance themselves from this nerdy and harmless stereotype. Some have emphasised the commonality between Sikhi and Islam. There is also the uncomfortable stereotype of the hard-drinking, wife beating Sikh (at least in the cities I am familiar with). And of course those pictures of phreedom phiters adorning some gurdiwaras. North Americans may be stupid but they are not that stupid.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:19
by Dipanker
The mods should keep any eye on the Pakis who masquerade on this forum as Indians and make Pakistaniat reeking posts. we don't need these Paki trolls polluting our forum.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:22
by nvishal
Somebody shot his own foot
They're like butterheads themselves. Just a little louder.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:36
by Agnimitra
BobbyP wrote:Over the last 25 years or so, I have noticed that the Sikh community in North America has socially withdrawn from the other Indian communities, at least in large cities and towns where Sikhs have sizable populations. I would like to urge all our Sikh brothers to come back and join the rest of us Indians back to form one strong and powerful community.
Well then "other Indian communities" should also step forward in this time of tragedy and come out in support of estranged Sikhs. The Council of Hindu Temples of NA and other Indic orgs should come out and condemn the incident, and other Indians in the neighborhood could come out to support the bereaved, and demonstrate solidarity in front of the media.
Ever since I came to the US I've been a regular at Gurudwaras, and always felt welcome. Yes, at times I do run into the Khalistan types, but even with them I have a heart-to-heart pretty quickly. A lot of their grievance is purely human - without any Pakiness about being TFTA versus SDRE, as is sometimes portrayed. One Sikh professor I knew organized a program on campus with videos of the 1984 riots, etc. I (accompanied by another Indian Sikh friend and a Hare Krishna brahmachari!) were in the audience and during question time we asked what was the need to have such a conference in front of some suspicious looking Americans. Did they think that we didn't feel for the widows of that ugly riot, or that we are Indira Gandhis supporters? The professor (and some younger US-born Sikhs) answered that they constantly felt insulted, humiliated and patronized by Hindus, for quite some time. They quotes folks like Swami Dayananda, and even Gandhi, who supposedly opined that Punjabi was an uncivilized language, and that meat-eating in Sikhism makes them less dharmic. Also, the Hindu-Sikh politics during British rule is well-known, and Punjabi identity itself has been under attack, with Hindus choosing Hindi and Moslems choosing Urdu, and Sikhs being the sole repository of Punjabi culture. So in many ways they have grievances, and the Briturds added their own Macauliff mischief.
So its just another slap when, in a time of tragedy, other Indians sit and sanctimoniously preach to Sikhs that this is their karmic retribution for becoming estranged from the rest of us. These are not the instinctive reactions of people connected by the womb. Instead, it may help to show some warmth, some fellow-feeling and outrage at what has happened.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:52
by KJo
sanjaykumar wrote:And of course those pictures of phreedom phiters adorning some gurdiwaras. North Americans may be stupid but they are not that stupid.
I've seen this myself in a Gurdwara I visited in Chicago area. I had gone to a langar one Sunday and we went to the prayer area and as we entered the other rooms, I saw children's drawings of Satwant Singh, Kehar and Beant Singh with "martyr" written all over them and drawings of a noose and other hate messages towards the Indian Government. This was in 2009, not 1985. I've just been to 1 Gurdwara, so this might be an anomaly but I was taken aback.
Sikhs in Punjab have put aside their hard feelings and integrated back into India. There's almost no animosity and Khalistan is non existent. But the Sikhs who came to the US and Canada in the 70s and 80s still harbor those bad feelings and brainwash their kids against the Indian Govt. The logical extension is to befriend your enemy's enemy and Pakistan is right there with open arms. Hence I would assume, the zeal to show commonality with Islam/Pakis. I think that's whats happening here.
Posted: 06 Aug 2012 23:57
by Agnimitra
KJoishy wrote:Sikhs in Punjab have put aside their hard feelings and integrated back into India. There's almost no animosity and Khalistan is non existent. But the Sikhs who came to the US and Canada in the 70s and 80s still harbor those bad feelings and brainwash their kids against the Indian Govt.
That's because in India there is constant people-to-people contact. But in NA there isn't. This is the time to change that.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:01
by abhishek_sharma
KJoishy wrote:...I saw children's drawings of Satwant Singh, Kehar and Beant Singh with "martyr" written all over them and drawings of a noose and other hate messages towards the Indian Government.
I read about it in a book. Some people certainly consider them martyrs.
But I think it is insensitive to mention these issues at this time. Cut some slack. (I was a child during 1980s, so I don't have first-hand experience of Khalistan problem. Moreover, I think Sikhs have been pretty good citizens of India(at least after the Khalistan problem.))
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:06
by member_23367
Carl wrote:KJoishy wrote:Sikhs in Punjab have put aside their hard feelings and integrated back into India. There's almost no animosity and Khalistan is non existent. But the Sikhs who came to the US and Canada in the 70s and 80s still harbor those bad feelings and brainwash their kids against the Indian Govt.
That's because in India there is constant people-to-people contact. But in NA there isn't. This is the time to change that.
+100%
AFAIK sikhs are more bhartiya than lot of other Indians I have met.In fact They are one community that has bought immense laurels to India from Outside.Very pious and Hardworking community.Most of my Neighbors are from Punjab,not Sikhs,but very closely associated to them.I must tell,the only reason for me to have sustained in US is because of the moral support they have provided to me and my family.I know of many Sikhs who have been through a lot after 9-11, but there feelings and closeness to India has only increased.Without Sikhs there is no Bharat,IMO.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:13
by nvishal
Some indians asking the sikhs to join India. Some pakistanis asking the sikhs to join pakistan.
What is all this racket?
The punjab state has been divided into two. Around 3/4th of the world punjabi population is muslim. Sikhs in india no longer enjoy a monopoly in the military field. Sikhism(a militarised religion) is no longer viewed as useful in a united india where you have other ethic groups clamouring to join the indian military. So basically, they feel threatened.
@BobbyP
It's best to stop at condemnations.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:19
by jamwal
KJoishy wrote:sanjaykumar wrote:And of course those pictures of phreedom phiters adorning some gurdiwaras. North Americans may be stupid but they are not that stupid.
This was in 2009, not 1985. I've just been to 1 Gurdwara, so this might be an anomaly but I was taken aback.
Sikhs in Punjab have put aside their hard feelings and integrated back into India. T
Can't really say anything about Punjab, but my experience with this lunatic fringe has been pretty negative. When you consider how Bhindrawale, assassins of Indira and other terrorists have been deified by Sikh clergy IN INDIA, it's hard to decide how to deal with them. The majority is alright but these Khalistani elements need to be put down.
I'm posting this comment from a related thread on Reddit. If this is how moderate NRI Sikhs think, then God help them
The irony of this situation is that Sikhism is generally known as the warrior religion, they have been persecuted since the 15th century when Mughals (muslims) ruled over India. They gave up their lives (read about the ten gurus) because they would not convert to Islam. The founder, guru Nanak, walked from india to Iraq preaching equality of the human race, which eventually transformed into a new religion (Sikhism). It was a subculture of India that went against social Norms, like the caste system and injustice to females (which included, but not limited to, throwing the wife on the cremating body of the husband because that was her "duty". The reason most Sikhs have "Singh" as their last name is because it omitted any correlation to the caste system, as last names indicated your caste. Singh comes from Simha, a Sanskrit word for lion - it suited Sikhs because they had a "natural mane", i.e unshorn hair, and fearless mentalities like that of a lion. This was adopted by the tenth guru, Gobind Singh, who created an equal brotherhood to defend humanity, mainly from religious persecution. He himself was an aristocrat who lost his 4 sons to the Mughals, who confined the youngest son in a brick wall for not converting into Islam. His mother and middle son were locked on a tall tower, where they suffered from the elements, why? Because they didn't want to convert to islam. And eventually his whole family was killed and he created the "Khalsa - or Sikh brotherhood". So, a religion was officially created and centuries go on, with a little bickering here and there.
They number into the millions and in 1984 another dent is put into the community when Indira Ghandi, Indian prime minister, sent troops to storm the Golden Temple, because separatists wanted their own Sikh nation, where Sikhism would be recognized and not just "another branch of Hinduism" - which I should mention was notarized by the predominant Hindu government of India. So her Sikh bodyguards backfire, literally, by assassinating her. This led to nation-wide anti-Sikh riots, (now keep in mind, that only a small state, Punjab, is predominately Sikh). Sikh were burned alive and Sikh's homes/businesses were burned to the ground by Hindu mobsters. The Indian government had a two-day media black-out, so the numbers of Sikhs killed is not official. But the India government has reported about 10-20,000 deaths. A record kept by a human-rights defender added another several thousands to the "official-count", meaning that anywhere from
50,000-100,000 Sikhs were killed or went missing from 1984-1990 due to government-organized attacks. So due to this reason, many Sikhs fled to Canada, America, England, Singapore and other nations alike, seeking political-asylum, hence the large amount of Sikhs around the world (well, this added to the fact, but Sikhs have always been persecuted by the India government). 
So, the new millennium starts, and everything seems smooth and then BAM! (no pun intended) 9/11 strikes and hate crimes flood the Sikh community, this was a lot worse for Sikhs than Muslims, because Sikhs looked more foreign, and hence "like arabs", because of their turbans and beard. Which I can see, because if you look at Osama Bin Laden and a Sikh man with a turban, (sorry I think it's kind of cool that a guy with a turban plays in the NFL), it's hard to tell the difference, without having previous knowledge. So following this, a Sikh gas station owner in Arizona was shot and killed by some lunatic who thought he was being a "patriot" and killing Muslims (wrong religion, but a wrong motive overall).. And now this happens. What I don't understand is that a group, whose motive has been to abolish the caste system and create equality; ones that "open all-doors" to their temples because a belief is embedded that God is not particular to a group but to humanity overall are targeted because people do not choose to learn about who they are. A simple Google search of "who are the guys that mostly wear turbans, or things on their head,etc..." reveals that Sikhs are the predominate race, especially in the West, that wear turbans and keep beards. This creates angerbut not against "white people" or Americans, but against the media who ignore the fact that they need to showcase individual identities and not focus on Islam and Christianity. In fact, when Balbir Singh Sodhi was killed, the media reported it as "Arab man shot and killed at Gas station", which was later corrected when the Sikh Coalition reported to different agencies that "look guys, you see a turban, don't do your research and try to get your news corporation's word out first, but it's causing harm to our community".
Source: Am a Sikh, well an atheist, but I choose to keep my hair long for spiritual religions that aren't attached to God and practice yoga and meditation.
P.S: There is a huge community of "Gore Sikh" or White Sikh, that converted in the 1970's, mainly because the Sikh ideology attached to nature and meditation attracted many hippies.
As I said before, I'll not be surprised if it turns out to be a target killing gone wrong. It's very hard to believe that an ex-serviceman will mistake a Sikh shrine for a Muslim one.
Before pouncing on me, please check your racist bias against 'redneck' whites.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:24
by Pranav
habal wrote:
He served at Fort Bliss, Texas, in the psychological operations unit in 1994, and was last stationed at Fort Bragg, North Carolina, attached to the
psychological operations unit. The details of his discharge were not immediately clear.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... -Page.html
It would be interesting to know if the shooter continued to be in touch with his former employers. Such folks are often used to infiltrate extremist groups.
Also WISN TV was quoting eyewitnesses that the terrorist(s) was(were) dropped off by a car that sped off (
http://12160.info/page/redditor-s-compr ... g-in-oak-c). So it seems that there were other individuals involved.
It is also curious that the terrorist had only recently moved into the area, and was unknown to his neighbours.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 00:47
by KJo
jamwal wrote:
Before pouncing on me, please check your racist bias against 'redneck' whites.
jamwal ji, you referring to me?

Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:04
by jamwal
No sir.
I just quoted a part of your post for a point I wanted to make. I agree with everything you wrote.
I was just surprised how speculation about Khalistani link was a big no-no while the average American Joe six-pack (or whatever it's called )was being made a convenient scape goat by every one.
I may very well be wrong, but this almost dhimmified gushing praise of Sikh community is a bit out of place due to the points I've mentioned in this thread and much more which I'd rather not. Let sleeping dogs lie.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:09
by abhishek_sharma
>> I was just surprised how speculation about Khalistani link was a big no-no ...
All kinds of speculation are a big no-no. How many Sikhs in Wisconsin agree with Khalistanis? Any numbers?
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:20
by RajeshA
Can we please keep the Khalistani vitriol out of this thread. You have negative experiences to share about North American or British Sikhs, then one can do it somewhere else!
It is really sickening these rants!
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:24
by Lilo
jamwal wrote:No sir.
I was just surprised how speculation about Khalistani link was a big no-no while the average American Joe six-pack (or whatever it's called )was being made a convenient scape goat by every one.
I may very well be wrong, but this almost dhimmified gushing praise of Sikh community is a bit out of place due to the points I've mentioned in this thread and much more which I'd rather not. Let sleeping dogs lie.
^^ Why the f**k is the odium of Khalistani crap being thrown about this thread without even a shred of logic (or evidence) to back it up?
To make things clear to Jamwalji and others, Sikh community is one of the inheritors of the Dharmic tradition of our land. Any jingo worth his salt will be most circumspect before mouthing off one of his own in any open forum. However i dont owe any such responsibility to the "Joe Sixpack". And if "gushing praise" of Sikhs gets someone's panties so much in a twist so as to mount a reflexive equal equal between Sikhs and American Joe sixpack, and then between Sikhs and the Islamists (by terming the praise as a sign of dhimmification), they should take their khujli elsewhere or better even shut it for good.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:34
by SBajwa
This is a perfect time to declare from Akal Takht that Sikhs in USA should discard kirpan and end mass apply to get license to carry a concealed fire arm. Had even one person at Gurdwara carrying a good weapon this might not have happen. Guru Gobind singh told the to carry kirpan in 1699 and now in 2012 we must carry modern automatic weapons to defend ourselves. Sikhs have become just like Hindus of 1699 where today kirpan is as much a symbol as janeu is for Brahmins. No difference between Hindus and Sikhs what so ever at all. Sikhi is/was a reform movement where to protect Dharma(righteousness) kirpan is raised, now it is a impotent as other dharmic symbols.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:39
by jamwal
abhishek_sharma wrote:>> I was just surprised how speculation about Khalistani link was a big no-no ...
All kinds of speculation are a big no-no. How many Sikhs in Wisconsin agree with Khalistanis? Any numbers?
How many discussions in this sub-forum are based on cut and dried numbers like you asked for ? Any figures ?
Rest: I don't have anything but respect and love for pro-Indian Sikhs. I can say it with certainty that I've spent more time in Gurudwaras than most of the posters here have spent in company with Sikhs and I know what I'm talking about. My best friend since my school days is a conservative Sikh and his father is a Granthi who has worked in numerous countries. You think my posts are rant, vitriol whatever. Perhaps time will tell.
If my posts are causing too many chaddies to be twisted at odd angles, I'll cease to post anything on this thread until something comes up.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:51
by Agnimitra
SBajwa wrote:This is a perfect time to declare from Akal Takht that Sikhs in USA should discard kirpan and end mass apply to get license to carry a concealed fire arm.
Exactly my thoughts SBajwa ji. Training in firearms, licensed possession and proud display (along with positive engagement with the larger community) would be the perfect advertisement of Sikhism, and without doubt will draw the respect of fellow-Americans once they ask and are told the dharmic reasons and history behind it.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 01:54
by abhishek_sharma
jamwal wrote:
How many discussions in this sub-forum are based on cut and dried numbers like you asked for ? Any figures ?
Maybe you should ask for numbers there? If people suspect that you are peddling lahori logic then you should expect negative feedback. And this is not the first time you have engaged in gross generalizations involving region and religion. How unfortunate.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 02:08
by nachiket
Carl wrote:SBajwa wrote:This is a perfect time to declare from Akal Takht that Sikhs in USA should discard kirpan and end mass apply to get license to carry a concealed fire arm.
Exactly my thoughts SBajwa ji. Training in firearms, licensed possession and proud display (along with positive engagement with the larger community) would be the perfect advertisement of Sikhism, and without doubt will draw the respect of fellow-Americans once they ask and are told the dharmic reasons and history behind it.
This is exactly the convoluted logic used by americans to support their current gun laws. I have heard similar arguments after the Colorado theater shooting - that if the people inside had had guns themselves, things would have been better. That is a fallacy. Instead of one shooter shooting at people in the dark, you would have had 4-5 insufficiently trained shooters trying to defend themselves in the dark by shooting at any location they see gun flashes coming from with other people caught in the crossfire. It would have been an even bigger disaster. Same with the Gurudwara shooting. If people inside had guns, there would have been one military trained attacker and several untrained people shooting at each other in the initial chaos (where nobody knows how many and who the attackers are) with unarmed people caught in the middle. I guarantee you there would have been even more casualties.
And before you say it, practicing at the local gun range does not make you skilled in urban close-quarter combat. There is a reason why police and army commandos train so hard in it.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 02:17
by ShauryaT
Shedding a tear for the dharmics killed. Request that this discussion initiated by BobbyP be clamped down. It is in bad taste, ignorant and biased.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 02:29
by pentaiah
Sad that intelligent people here are losing sense of situation, grief and unity at this juncture
I say this out of sadness but not to pass strictures on anyone.
We are people of Indian origin and our interests are all alike.
another thing, all of our dissensions come out when we are in distress why now, wait at least till cremations, its almost like my fathers alleged lenders saying condolences and asking for repayment of debt then and then.....
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 02:48
by Anantha
ShauryaT wrote:Shedding a tear for the dharmics killed. Request that this discussion initiated by BobbyP be clamped down. It is in bad taste, ignorant and biased.
A sensible post.
I mourn the killing of our dharmic brothers, I have 1st hand experience of the dharmic nature of Sikhs-on more than one occasion and once from an unknown Sikh family, who opened up their home for me and my wife when we were lost while moving (homes).
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 02:50
by sanjaykumar
I mourn the killing of our dharmic brothers, I have 1st hand experience of the dharmic nature of Sikhs-on more than one occasion and once from an unknown Sikh family, who opened up his home for me and my wife when we were lost while moving (homes).
Let this be the last word of this business on this thread.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:00
by Lilo
habal wrote:
Ex-army and that too worked for a very specialized division.
He served at Fort Bliss, Texas, in the psychological operations unit in 1994, and was last stationed at Fort Bragg, North Carolina, attached to the psychological operations unit. The details of his discharge were not immediately clear.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... -Page.html
What's with the military PsyOps background of this killer

I dont follow american TV media , but any one else came across this being mentioned on MSM TV there ?
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:10
by paramu
SBajwa wrote:This is a perfect time to declare from Akal Takht that Sikhs in USA should discard kirpan and end mass apply to get license to carry a concealed fire arm. Had even one person at Gurdwara carrying a good weapon this might not have happen. Guru Gobind singh told the to carry kirpan in 1699 and now in 2012 we must carry modern automatic weapons to defend ourselves. Sikhs have become just like Hindus of 1699 where today kirpan is as much a symbol as janeu is for Brahmins. No difference between Hindus and Sikhs what so ever at all. Sikhi is/was a reform movement where to protect Dharma(righteousness) kirpan is raised, now it is a impotent as other dharmic symbols.
Dangerous idea. Keep in mind that you are suggesting this in a non-Dharmic land. Just with Kripans, Sikhs are being confused as terrorists. Make them carry large guns, you make this classification easy.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:14
by Agnimitra
nachiket wrote:This is exactly the convoluted logic used by americans to support their current gun laws. I have heard similar arguments after the Colorado theater shooting - that if the people inside had had guns themselves, things would have been better. That is a fallacy. Instead of one shooter shooting at people in the dark, you would have had 4-5 insufficiently trained shooters trying to defend themselves in the dark by shooting at any location they see gun flashes coming from with other people caught in the crossfire. It would have been an even bigger disaster. Same with the Gurudwara shooting. If people inside had guns, there would have been one military trained attacker and several untrained people shooting at each other in the initial chaos (where nobody knows how many and who the attackers are) with unarmed people caught in the middle. I guarantee you there would have been even more casualties.
And before you say it, practicing at the local gun range does not make you skilled in urban close-quarter combat. There is a reason why police and army commandos train so hard in it.
I understand your point Nachiket ji. But if an individual is well hatted, not just skill-wise but also in terms of his sense of responsibility and a moral code, then he becomes a deserving owner of weapons. Sikh dharma teaches its sincere adherents to put their own life at risk in order to protect the weak, no matter who they are. This philosophy is backed up with a daily prescribed spiritual regimen, moral indoctrination, a culture of social service, and public identification of their credo.
If Sikhs were known to carry weapons - publicly displayed in holsters or concealed - then any would-be gunman would think 10 times before undertaking a clearly suicidal operation like this one. Its not a question of the risks of cross-fire, but rather the deterrent value of the custom.
In proper Sikhism, sant and sipahi are supposed to go hand in hand. Problems arise only when those whom society trusts to carry weapons and flaunt a kshatriya dharma then turn on society itself. My mother once told me that Indian women used to feel safe whenever there was a Sikh around, such as in a public bus. But in the 80's that feeling had turned to discomfort.
paramu ji, there are many sections of American society that believe in carrying weapons - and not just concealed weapons but openly on display. Sikhism can set an example of how this can be moulded along dharmic lines. So weapon licences for Sikhs should go hand in hand with vigorous engagement with the wider community and social services - not in a defensive, ghetto kind of way. In addition, the American people should be informed that Sikhism comes from the same Mother as Buddhism and Hinduism.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:21
by Prem
nachiket sir
We cant change others / US laws so we can change ourself for the sake of safety and protection. Time and event of death is not for the politics. Not even with the enemies unless they are Paki who have crossed all the human boundaries .
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:28
by Philip
Are these two events merely coincidental or part of a "sympathetic detonation"?
Our well known diplomat,G.Parthasarathy,on TV said that he hs studied many US reports ,and that the attack on the gurdwara was part of the Islamophobia phenomenon that has gripped the west,with racial profiling,in the aftermath of 9/11.Unfortunately our Sikh brethren seem to have been mistakenly caught up in this hate campaign due to their appearance.With the number off loonies who have served in the US armed forces over the last decade,responsible for some of the worst war crimes committed since WW2,now at large in the US with easy access to guns,their warped thinking gives ample opportunities for such lunatic acts.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... und.htmlUS mosque burned to ground
A mosque burned to the ground in Missouri on Monday, in what worshippers suspect was a hate attack, less than a day after six people were killed in a shooting at a Sikh temple.
9:40PM BST 06 Aug 2012
Firefighters and police were called to a blaze at the Islamic Center in Joplin, Missouri – where around 125 members of the local Muslim community pray – at around 3:40am (0840 GMT), according to the FBI's Kansas City office.
"The building was completely destroyed," said Sharon Rhine, a spokesman for the local Jasper County Sheriff's office. No one was wounded in the incident.
"No one was apprehended. They don't want to call it a hate crime without information or knowledge of having someone to charge," Rhine said.
Monday's fire followed an attack on July 4, when an unidentified suspect threw a petrol bomb onto the roof of the same mosque, causing minor damage.
The mosque's surveillance cameras captured an image of the assailant's face, and the FBI offered a $15,000 (£9,600) reward for information related to the July incident, but no one has been apprehended.
Related Articles
Sikh leaders fear Wisconsin gunman believed he was targeting Muslims
06 Aug 2012
Temple gunman named as Wade Michael Page
06 Aug 2012
Sikh massacre gunman was lead singer in neo-Nazi band
06 Aug 2012
"It does seem coincidental that there was a fire a month ago and there was another one this month," Rhine said.
FBI spokesman Bridget Patton said both incidents occurred in the middle of the night, but said the FBI would "wait to determine the cause of the fire."
"If it is determined that the attack was intentional, we will conduct and investigation to see if there is any correlation between this fire and that of July 4," Patton added.
Local community members say this is one of a series of attacks on their mosque since it was founded in 2007.
"Since the establishment of the mosque, we've been constantly under attack," said former mosque board member Navid Zaidi, 47. "Our sign has been burnt ... Our mailbox was smashed multiple times. We had bullets shot at our sign."
Zaidi says the local community is lucky the attack occurred in the early morning, when no one was there.
"During Ramadan is a time when more people attend the services. We are fortunate that no one was hurt today," he said, referring to the ongoing Muslim holy month of fasting and prayer.
Zaidi complained that no suspects have been apprehended in the month since the July 4 attack. "I don't recall in my 27 years in the US, ever seeing perpetrators apprehended," he said.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:35
by SBajwa
Dangerous idea. Keep in mind that you are suggesting this in a non-Dharmic land. Just with Kripans, Sikhs are being confused as terrorists. Make them carry large guns, you make this classification easy.
Deterrence!!
Why do Sikhs use to wear a real kirpan? Because Mughals forbade all non-muslims to carry it!!
Why do Sikhs Wear a turban? Because Mughals forbade it for any non-nobles (non-zamindar, non-nawab) to wear it.
Thus in modern times just a display of the weapon on a Sikh is a big deterrence just like in ancient times.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:45
by Manish_Sharma
This is exactly the convoluted logic used by americans to support their current gun laws. I have heard similar arguments after the Colorado theater shooting - that if the people inside had had guns themselves, things would have been better. That is a fallacy. Instead of one shooter shooting at people in the dark, you would have had 4-5 insufficiently trained shooters trying to defend themselves in the dark by shooting at any location they see gun flashes coming from with other people caught in the crossfire. It would have been an even bigger disaster. Same with the Gurudwara shooting. If people inside had guns, there would have been one military trained attacker and several untrained people shooting at each other in the initial chaos (where nobody knows how many and who the attackers are) with unarmed people caught in the middle. I guarantee you there would have been even more casualties.
In Oregon Rajneeshpuram, the sannyasins of Osho had to openly carry Uzis and other big guns and none of those fanatical white supremacists carries of genocider's DNA oregonians dared to touch them. These oregonians were threatening, they even printed t-shirts with Osho's head being looked through sinper's vision. But never dared to attack, not a single man from the whole city.
So many Sikhs retired and trained from army are going to settle in US, or they can train Sikh Youths on their visit to motherland. Just a couple of Khalsa's holding Uzi keeping a watch will make these sixpack joes pee in their pants. Basically american's a cowardly bunch they are bullies who feel good by hitting weak/unprotected. Hence they never pick someone their own size like Soviets to fight, but just small ones like vietnam or iraq.
These white ex-army toughies also pick unarmed civilians to show their might, never someone armed.
Another thing I wonder is, how the tone of US media and our own media would change if a couple of EJs from US are given solid beating in Bharatvarsh itself how it won't some crazed supramist-shist term used but Hindu terrorist or Sikh terrorist term will be used.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 03:57
by putnanja
SBajwa wrote:Deterrence!!
Why do Sikhs use to wear a real kirpan? Because Mughals forbade all non-muslims to carry it!!
Why do Sikhs Wear a turban? Because Mughals forbade it for any non-nobles (non-zamindar, non-nawab) to wear it.
Thus in modern times just a display of the weapon on a Sikh is a big deterrence just like in ancient times.
I would be a bit more careful. Even the police in US are prone to shoot first and ask questions later, especially if the wrong kind (Blacks, browns etc) carry weapons and are just bystanders in any sort of stand-off situation. In recent incidents, a black kid who had a fake gun in school was shot dead. In seattle, an american-indian who was deaf, and a wood carver, was killed when he was walking with a piece of wood and a knife, and he didn't hear the police officer's order to drop the knife and turned around.
There are multiple such instances. so better to exercise caution in US.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 04:00
by ManjaM
Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa
Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh
America hero Lieutenant Brian Murphy. The Sikh nation salutes you and prays for your quick recovery.
Please take a few minutes to write a letter or email, or send a card to Lieutenant Brian Murphy who was shot multiple times before finally putting down the gunman. You can mail to:
Oak Creek Police Department
ATTN: Lt. Brian Murphy
301 West Ryan Rd
Oak Creek, WI 53154
Email:
[email protected]
Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa
Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh
^^This is doing the rounds of facebook. This gentleman is apparently the policeman who was shot trying to shoot the terrorist.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 04:09
by ramana
Folks enough chest beating and wailing. Please stick to the topic and discuss only that. No more whining.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 04:53
by member_23651
What does Khalistan have to do with the murder of 6 Sikhs by a right-wing American while they were in the Gurudwara? - Caution - JE Menon
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 04:57
by Prem
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000087 ... tm[b]Sikhs in India Grieve After U.S. Shooting .[/b]
NEW DELHI—Sikhs in India reacted with outrage and grief to Sunday's shooting at a Sikh temple in Wisconsin, with many expressing concern that the incident is evidence of growing intolerance against the religious community in the U.S.Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, himself a Sikh, condemned what he called a "senseless act of violence" and conveyed condolences to the victims' families. "India stands in solidarity with all the peace-loving Americans who have condemned this violence," he said in a statement, adding that he hopes U.S. authorities will ensure "that such violent acts are not repeated in the future.".Avtar Singh, president of the trust that runs one of Sikhism's holiest shrines, the Golden Temple in the northern city of Amritsar, said the temple was planning a three-day prayer ceremony in honor of the victims. "We are still in shock," he said.At the New Delhi gurudwara, many devotees said they feared Sunday's incident was a hate crime. Harinder Singh, 58, said this type of violence happens "mainly because people [in the U.S.] don't understand what the turban is and why Sikhs wear them.""It is ironical for such incidents to happen at the holy site of a gurudwara where people come to pray for a long life," he added.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 05:46
by Anantha
For most recent updates check here
http://www.jsonline.com/
It has pictures of the brave officer who engaged the killer.
Posted: 07 Aug 2012 05:49
by AdityaM