India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Gus, the rules are clear at least for me. Probably Theo is missing that (stand corrected - Theo is not missing it). If I may, there are only two ways you can solve your particular problem unless you want to take the easy way out of going back to India for the delivery. I am sure you already know what your options are, but may be its worth repeating so that I understand your situation correctly.

1. Apply to GoI that they bring in dual citizenship.

2. Apply to GOTUS asking for an exception.

or both of course and see which comes through first. The first route had been tried by all and sundry for as long as I can remember (I was paying attention only when it was important to me - after that what do I care?). The second route is a rabbit hole that winds through several layers of GOTUS and final outcome is unknown even if enormous amounts of resources are spent. GOTUS can outlast every non-state actor - individual or organization. By the way GOTUS is not special in this respect. The same will be true for any sovereign state one can think of.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 03 Jun 2014 02:03, edited 1 time in total.

Person born outside India on or after 10 December 1992 are considered as citizens of India if either of their parents is a citizen of India at the time of their birth.
ONLY because my US born daughter has an american passport, which the US forces on her giving her no choice, she cannot go for indian citizenship, because india does not allow dual and will only give her citizenship after she renounces US after 18.
again, this is really simple. for those who can take a minute and read what the issue is and reply accordingly.
I guess I do not see the issue here, sorry. So the young lady has an American passport. Can she not apply for an OCI since (a) she is a daughter of Indian origin parents and (b)she is evidently living overseas from India a holder of an overseas passport? Assuming that the answer is yes, (or does she have to wait until she is 18 to apply? I didn't think so) she can get ALL rights of an Indian citizen except
(a) right to vote (but no Indian citizen under 18 has the right to vote, so no loss there)
(b) stand for political office (again she is not 18 so I think she can wait, the standard age for political leaders in desh is 81)
(c) serve in the Indian military (I don't think they are accepting ppl under 18 yet..)
(d) get a Security Clearance for govt jobs (I doubt if she wants that - they tend to run your lives after that and decide who you talk to, what you can say, where you travel etc)
(e) get a govt job (she is too young to waste her life nodding off from 9-5 M-F)

So what is she missing by waiting until 18 to decide to become a FULL Indian citjen? It appears to me that she has ALL rights and privileges of an under-18 desi PLUS all the rights and privileges of an under-18 Amreeki. Am I wrong?

Is SHE unhappy about this state of affairs? Or can she decide that b4 she turns 18? (or is it a takleef felt only by parents is my pooch, but pls don't beat me up 4 it)

Nandu wrote:No, "custodial rape" is not overstatement. It is an exact description of the procedure.
So what does one call actual rape (in the clinical sense) while in custody?

Could you point me to the definition of custodial rape where cavity search and only cavity search is involved? You may be right, I just have not found anything to corroborate it.

UlanBatori wrote:So the young lady has an American passport. Can she not apply for an OCI since (a) she is a daughter of Indian origin parents
US born kids to Indian ppt holders are not eligible for OCI. Only option is PIO.
So what is she missing by waiting until 18 to decide to become a FULL Indian citjen?
well, for one, she cannot go to the college i went to, except by NRI quota and NRI fees. :P

matrimc,

there is really no practical soln to the problem. i am not even looking for an immediate soln to my situation. i am never one to beat myself on what cannot be changed. all i wanted was to complain and whine about this in true brf fashion in a post or two. that all. i did not think i will get all sh1tted upon by people who do not even understand the issue and keep telling what i already know, but do not spend a minute to look at it from another angle.

and theo, please don't continue saying what everybody (including me) already knows.
You are claiming that because your daughter is inconvenienced the USA should change its 200+ year old citizenship system to suit your circumstance.
what's wrong with asking for a change to "200+ year old system of massa" ? is that such a crime? hasn't anything changed in USA for 200 years. or is something not allowed to be changed because it has crossed 200 years?

what is the real argument here? those who want it can keep it. those who want choice for their children, can defer it until minor becomes adult and reclaim/renounce.

is not the US all about freedom, choice blah blah.

and it took pages and pages to at least reach a point where it is agreed that i can at least claim to be inconvenienced about this situation.
After 2004, BOTH parents MUST be legal Indian citizens at birth for the child to get citizenship. No matter where the child is born. You think this is better?
better or worse is not even a question here. context man. context. stick to it.

people should be free to choose what is eligible for them and kids (up until kids get old enough to choose for themselves).

stop telling me i can go to india to give birth. i already know that. next you will be linking expedia.com to me.

Cosmo_R wrote:So what does one call actual rape (in the clinical sense) while in custody?
statutory rape? as in one that can be shutdown by a female body? :P
jrjrao

Post by jrjrao »

On a side note, this is a sad story, and the video of the event is chilling.

58-year-old convenience store clerk Satish Patel is killed by masked robbers who rushed into the store and started shooting.

The only saving grace is that this is a capital offense in Texas, and this being Houston and Harris County, the perps will soon be caught, and they **will** be sentenced to death, and each will feel the business end of a needle in due course.

Gus wrote:
Cosmo_R wrote:So what does one call actual rape (in the clinical sense) while in custody?
statutory rape? as in one that can be shutdown by a female body? :P
Good comeback. :) Though I advise against any emoticons in the same sentence/paragraph/page containing the word 'rape'.

Added later: 'Statutory rape' includes non consensual monumental sex. (no emoticons)

Ulan Batoriji,

When Gus does go back to India, his child has to write nationality as YooYess in all forms, including college admission forms which have to be filled when s/he is 17. So what happens then? Can yooyess citijen be included in raashun card under Gus' name? Opening bank accounts in the childs's name is easy hey, what with the child being a furrin citizen. I'm sure the procedure is easy, my mother assures me. What are the legal hurdles? Why should I put up with all that, if I can say my child will be an indian citizen. Give him/her the option to apply for american citizenship if s/he wants when s/he turns 18 and make it a 2-week process like EB-1. Big deal. Until then my kid remains Indian and not american. Makes sense no?

I c. Thx.

Actually my Evil 6th Coujin's 16th Coujin Thrice Removed, has opened bank accts and pays tax in desh, as phoren citjen (+ OI(n)C) . I don't think any of the bank aphsars or anyone else in desh except for the E-migrashun aphsars at the airport have the slightest clue what an OI(n)C is - he has been asked at Mallostan domestic airport by bright young airline agints why he was traveling with 2 passports when he handed over OI(n)C card as ID. So as such, the phoren citjenship poses no issue in opening bank accts.

Ration card is a different issue. I would THINK that OI(n)C qualifies under the law (but PIO maybe does not) but not sure since one cannot get an Aadhar card and that may be the qualification for Ration Card. OTOH, one can get a Driver's License (I know that) and use that to get a Ration Card maybe (I can see AmberG slamming me for suggesting that, as deliberately illegal.. :eek: )

School admission I see is a brutal hit, though I don't really understand the regulashuns/quotas involved. I suppose they will do anything to hit with fees where possible. Also may get ripped off on air tickets if they find out she's phoren citjen.

When all is said and done, the issue here is that the child gets a USP if she wants to get INTO the US, and then is stuck with it IF desh won't give passport to someone who has a phoren passport.

In this case, the GOI's policy of allowing dual passports for such kids makes eminent sense!! (I am glad I argued on that side all along..) :mrgreen:

Listen to Ashley Tellis answers. He has interesting things during Q&A to say about why US-Indian relations went down in last few years

http://www.thechicagocouncil.org/files/ ... scise.aspx

lilo garu,
posted in OT thread

West afraid of 'Putin's anti-US alliance'

Years ago, Goldman Sachs economist Jim O'neill coined the term BRIC for the four largest emerging countries that were threatening the global economic status quo. Now, The Times' columnist Roger Boyes is implicitly proposing a new term – RIC, for describing what he calls "Putin's anti-US alliance" because in his view, Russia, India and China are a threat to the existing world order.

Boyes is not the only western opinion maker who is very concerned about the creation of the new anti-American block. According to RT, even the Bilderberg club is concerned about the possibility that Iran and other countries will be drawn to the new block built by Russia and China, making life difficult for the US and its European vassals. Even experts who believe that a formal alliance is unlikely in the near future, like The Diplomat's Dingding Chen, argue that "the US should be careful not to make another strategic mistake that would only facilitate a formal China-Russia alliance."

There are numerous reasons why a new Asian geopolitical alliance, whether formal or informal, is a good idea for Asian countries, including India and Iran. Banded together with Russia and China, all countries that are threatened by the US' bullying, also known as "US diplomacy," will feel safer and will have more chances to keep the US bombers and US influence away from their borders. Judging by articles in western media, the new American strategy for preventing the formation of a new anti-US alliance can be summed up as "less bullying, more seduction."

Washington's expert community seems to be very concerned about the implications of India's rapprochement to China and its longstanding good ties with the Kremlin. India's new and hugely popular Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been under US sanctions for years, but at the same time he had always found attentive interlocutors in Beijing. If Modi stays true to his own mantra "India first," then the obvious route for India is to get closer to Russia and China. Becoming a tool for the US' strategy of "containing China" and "isolating Russia" will bring no benefit to India, while Modi himself will always be viewed as a pariah, unworthy to sit at the same table with the likes of Barack Obama or Francois Hollande.

It is interesting that even smart and well-informed western journalists like The Times' Roger Boyes are advising Washington to "court" the new India and play on the "fact" that Russia is "a junior partner" in its relationship with China. The idea that Washington could try and offer some genuine concessions or a mutually beneficial relationship to New Delhi or Moscow doesn't even cross the mind of the British columnist. Such an attitude is a prime example of what's wrong with the US and the EU's foreign policy.

The West should stop treating the East as a set of colonies that can either be bullied or tricked into submission because otherwise all nightmares that Washington's decision makers have because of a potential "Putin's anti-US alliance" will become real in the nearest future.

Folks this PIO/OIC discussion is not germane to this thread. Please take it to burkha forum OT thread.

This means no more after my post.

One unasked for non-expert advise to the policy makers in DC

Do not get all your information about India from the British. They - across the board including British PIOs - do not have any insight into India - it's past present or future. Listen to your own PIOs. They came up from the working non-elite classes through hard work.

anmol wrote:
West afraid of 'Putin's anti-US alliance'

Years ago, Goldman Sachs economist Jim O'neill coined the term BRIC for the four largest emerging countries that were threatening the global economic status quo. Now, The Times' columnist Roger Boyes is implicitly proposing a new term – RIC, for describing what he calls "Putin's anti-US alliance" because in his view, Russia, India and China are a threat to the existing world order.

Boyes is not the only western opinion maker who is very concerned about the creation of the new anti-American block. According to RT, even the Bilderberg club is concerned about the possibility that Iran and other countries will be drawn to the new block built by Russia and China, making life difficult for the US and its European vassals. Even experts who believe that a formal alliance is unlikely in the near future, like The Diplomat's Dingding Chen, argue that "the US should be careful not to make another strategic mistake that would only facilitate a formal China-Russia alliance."

There are numerous reasons why a new Asian geopolitical alliance, whether formal or informal, is a good idea for Asian countries, including India and Iran. Banded together with Russia and China, all countries that are threatened by the US' bullying, also known as "US diplomacy," will feel safer and will have more chances to keep the US bombers and US influence away from their borders. Judging by articles in western media, the new American strategy for preventing the formation of a new anti-US alliance can be summed up as "less bullying, more seduction."

Washington's expert community seems to be very concerned about the implications of India's rapprochement to China and its longstanding good ties with the Kremlin. India's new and hugely popular Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been under US sanctions for years, but at the same time he had always found attentive interlocutors in Beijing. If Modi stays true to his own mantra "India first," then the obvious route for India is to get closer to Russia and China. Becoming a tool for the US' strategy of "containing China" and "isolating Russia" will bring no benefit to India, while Modi himself will always be viewed as a pariah, unworthy to sit at the same table with the likes of Barack Obama or Francois Hollande.

It is interesting that even smart and well-informed western journalists like The Times' Roger Boyes are advising Washington to "court" the new India and play on the "fact" that Russia is "a junior partner" in its relationship with China. The idea that Washington could try and offer some genuine concessions or a mutually beneficial relationship to New Delhi or Moscow doesn't even cross the mind of the British columnist. Such an attitude is a prime example of what's wrong with the US and the EU's foreign policy.

The West should stop treating the East as a set of colonies that can either be bullied or tricked into submission because otherwise all nightmares that Washington's decision makers have because of a potential "Putin's anti-US alliance" will become real in the nearest future.

Pannicker once wrote there are only four natural powers in the world: US, Russia, China and India.

The whole politics of post WWII thru Cold War was to ensure India does not side with any of the three for that group will become over powerful.
After collapse of FSU, US got hubris and wanted to take down (gentle collapse of) India thru the Congress. Like virus to an elephant and let it die.

Didnt work.

Nagasaki one day after the atomic bombing seen in newly-discovered pictures
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 72178.html

Japanese military photographer Yosuke Yamahata took the images showing the extent of the devastation
Antonia Molloy
Monday 02 June 2014
Poignant images captured in the aftermath of the Nagasaki bombing are to be sold at auction in New York this week.

The collection of 24 newly discovered photographs taken by Japanese military photographer Yosuke Yamahata depicts the devastation wrought by the atomic bomb at the end of the Second World War.

Yamahata was on an assignment near Nagasaki when the bomb dropped on 9 August 1945. Upon hearing the news he took a train to the city along with the writer Jun Higashi and the painter Eiji Yamada, arriving at 3am the following day.

Having been instructed to document the destruction for military propaganda purposes, he worked from dawn to dusk, taking around 119 photographs on two different cameras.

But, unbeknown to Yamahata at the time, one of his cameras had a faulty shutter device - the images to be auctioned are thought to include 12 taken from the original negatives of this defective camera.

The bombing of Nagasaki
They show a city riven to the ground and dotted with dazed and blackened survivors.
Writing later about what he had experienced that day, Yamahata described Nagasaki as “hell on earth”.

He said: “The appearance of the city differed from other bomb sites: here, the explosion and the fires had reduced the entire city (about four square kilometres) to ashes in a single instant.

“Relief squads, medical and fire-fighting teams, could do nothing but wait. Only the luck of being in a well-placed air raid shelter could be of any use for survival.”

He went on: “Even if the medical and fire-fighting teams from the surrounding areas had been able to rush to the scene, the roads were completely blocked with rubble and charred timber. One had not the faintest idea where the water main might be located, so it would have been impossible to fight the fires.

“Telephone and telegraph services were suspended; the teams could not contact the outside world for help. It was truly a hell on earth. Those who had just barely survived the intense radiation-their eyes burned and their exposed skin scalded-wandered around aimlessly with only sticks to lean on, waiting for relief.

"Not a single cloud blocked the direct rays of the August sunlight, which shone down mercilessly on Nagasaki, on that second day after the blast.”

Yamahata’s photographs, which remain the most complete record of the atomic bomb attack, appeared in Mainichi Shimbun on 21 August.

But they were seized after the arrival of the American forces under a strict censorship policy – although Yamahta managed to hide the negatives.

These images were found in a photo album confiscated by an American military policeman from a citizen in Osaka at the end of the Second World.

The photo album is expected to fetch up to £2,000.

Yamahata died from cancer in 1966, aged just 48. His illness is believed to have been caused by his exposure to radiation at Nagasaki.

But his memory lives on in his photos. In 1952 he wrote: “Human memory has a tendency to slip, and critical judgment to fade, with the years and with changes in life-style and circumstance. But the camera, just as it seized the grim realities of that time, brings the stark facts of seven years ago before our eyes without the need for the slightest embellishment.

“Today, with the remarkable recovery made by both Nagasaki and Hiroshima, it may be difficult to recall the past, but these photographs will continue to provide us with an unwavering testimony to the realities of that time.”
Frederic

Post by Frederic »

Much as I would like Modi to give the cold shoulder to that Desai-Biswal lady, I am predicting that Modi will grant her an audience.

I am also going out on a limb and predicting that the case against Khobragade will be quietly dropped. The tax fraud case against the US Embassy school will die a quiet death.

The case against DK wont be dropped just like that by the US. There is too much of ego at stake here. Dropping the case would be seen as GUBOing to a darker skinned "other", which is a strict no no to the white racial mindset that governs most of US politics.

After making it into a spectacle the US would look very stupid to drop the case now. Repercussions from this case would be felt for long. A very ill thought out diplomatic move on the US's part. Again please please do not listen to British educated Humnities/Languages/Political Science policy wonks. They have no idea about India which is a large country where as some of these were in UK during the time when India was still looking up to the British. The similarity between British Democracy and Indian Democracy is superficial only. The British know that strengthening India-US relationship will come at the cost of British exports to India and want to play the spoil sport. If they succeed their gains are only going to be temporary with the end result being China eating the lunch of both US and UK. Essentially in this sense, UK is backstabbing the US. Indian policy makers also shoudl directly deal with US without involving any of the multilateral groupings. India does not need anybody's help. They have enough depth and experience in diplomacy.

I think India should keep raising the costs of NOT dropping the DK case and making amends. Did you notice the PB declaration that
the case was brought by an Indian-American
Hu dat? Himself or the RayBan Maid, or the DUI?

India should demand return of the DUI and RayBan Maid to face charges. All this "quietly dropping" diplomacy of the past 60 years has led nowhere - the Dilli Billis have essentially sold out the Indian Constitution by knuckling under and being "nice" to the DIPLOMATS of the US, UK etc. As stated b4, these "diplomats" are basically losers, not the cream de la creme of the intelligentsia of the US and UK.

Strict reciprocity, except that Indian law must take precedence in India. I am really disappointed that that tax ppl allowed all those tax cheats to leave the country without paying up with interest and fines. A huge chance was missed, to hold that case up for all the world to see. Now THAT would have conveyed a lasting message.

It's interesting to see the expressed hope of the AES billis that when the NaMo guvrmand comes in all will be fine again. Why? If the NaMo guvrmand doesn't enforce the Constitution I plan to write a strong letter about that. Where is his India First?

Shreeman wrote:I will just leave this, here quietly.
Sometimes I feel even LokeshC doesnt read what I write. Still, duty done.

Shreeman wrote:
I read it saaar. I have my ideas on it and I will post em here soon :) Forgive the delay.

LokeshC wrote:

I read it saaar. I have my ideas on it and I will post em here soon :) Forgive the delay.
It waj a joke lokeshchandra, as fights over DK went b/w the law upholders and UB/AG while this lay bare. I am guilty of delay myself. Every day it becomes maybe tomorrow.
Sonugn

Post by Sonugn »

Horrified at reports of violence against women in India: US
"Like so many in India, we were horrified to learn of these violent sexual assaults and murders. Our thoughts are with the victims families during this difficult time," state department deputy spokesperson Marie Harf said on Tuesday

Sonugn wrote:Horrified at reports of violence against women in India: US
"Like so many in India, we were horrified to learn of these violent sexual assaults and murders. Our thoughts are with the victims families during this difficult time," state department deputy spokesperson Marie Harf said on Tuesday
Marie Harf: We are also doing our bit by raping Indian diplomats.
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

When such US officials deign to comment and show their concern for the suffering women and downtrodden in India, I wish that the very next day, some Babu doing the daily press briefing from EAM return the shared values comment about our concern for the hate crimes against racial minorities and other disadvantaged in the great land of the free and home of the brave USA!

If you watch the Chinese do that without fail.

Raja Ram wrote:When such US officials deign to comment and show their concern for the suffering women and downtrodden in India, I wish that the very next day, some Babu doing the daily press briefing from EAM return the shared values comment about our concern for the hate crimes against racial minorities and other disadvantaged in the great land of the free and home of the brave USA!

Doesn't need to be immediate and knee jerk. What Chipanda does is a farce that even their own citizens dont take seriously. We can make it count and purpose driven - Take the moral high ground.

Eg: Every time there is a gun violence and where school children are shot dead at random in US, MEA should issue statement expressing our concern about increasing gun culture in US and express solidarity with the parents. It happens relatively frequently in US. Similarly GOI should constitute a Human Rights panel to discuss violence against minorities anywhere else in the world including mid-east and US. Let us invite the leaders of Black and native American community to give dispositions to the panel and widely publicize it.

Frederic wrote:Much as I would like Modi to give the cold shoulder to that Desai-Biswal lady, I am predicting that Modi will grant her an audience.

I am also going out on a limb and predicting that the case against Khobragade will be quietly dropped. The tax fraud case against the US Embassy school will die a quiet death.
I suspect US may not drop the case. But India will drop the US Embassy school case. SS is the MEA now and what better way to stick this into Modi (although I suspect Modi would also do the same to prove that he harbours no grudge against the US for visa denial forgetting that a visa denial is interference in Indian affairs and that goes beyond an individual's case).

We could provide aid to the Americans by means of free condoms to prevent teen pregnancies. We are afraid such degenerate primitive human ideas will spread to the subcontinent just the way that the ancestors of these people introduced killer diseases to the ancient civilizations.

schinnas wrote:
Raja Ram wrote:When such US officials deign to comment and show their concern for the suffering women and downtrodden in India, I wish that the very next day, some Babu doing the daily press briefing from EAM return the shared values comment about our concern for the hate crimes against racial minorities and other disadvantaged in the great land of the free and home of the brave USA!

Doesn't need to be immediate and knee jerk. What Chipanda does is a farce that even their own citizens dont take seriously. We can make it count and purpose driven - Take the moral high ground.

Eg: Every time there is a gun violence and where school children are shot dead at random in US, MEA should issue statement expressing our concern about increasing gun culture in US and express solidarity with the parents. It happens relatively frequently in US. Similarly GOI should constitute a Human Rights panel to discuss violence against minorities anywhere else in the world including mid-east and US. Let us invite the leaders of Black and native American community to give dispositions to the panel and widely publicize it.
why bother with gun violence.

now take total population into account and decide where rape is a bigger problem.

Under-reporting is a problem everywhere. Any violence is too much anywhere. Worse against women/children. And its impossible to compute statistics that are comparable across societies. It only shows the ignorance of the speaker.

Personally, I would like to see violence/discrimination against children/women left off the political menu. Its a new low whenever media/politicians manipulate this instead of doing something to prevent it. They have better things to comment on.

This was sort of the motivation for the daily diet. About the only right thing one can do is to provide the first stone thrower a new mirror. They must not have one.

Taliban have released this video showing the handover of Bowe Bergdahl.

Frederic wrote:Much as I would like Modi to give the cold shoulder to that Desai-Biswal lady, I am predicting that Modi will grant her an audience.

If ModiJi does that, my respect and trust in him will go down a tad. I hope he doesn't turn out to be yet another ABV redux. I mean, he must realize a couple of things. First, the treatment meted out to DK was treatment meted out to Indians as a whole, it speaks of US's racial mindset. That must not be forgotten. Next, granting an PM level meeting to a 2-bit state dept entity would only demean India, and make the SD and others in US laugh their asses off that despite his tough talk, the humiliation he and Hindus were subjected to by the visa denial, he is still desperate to be in USA's good books. As I mentioned many times, he need not antagonize US, but there must be a Lakshan rekha. At least live up to the pejorative phrase: "Hindu nationalist" that US uses to describe him.

John Kerry during a meeting in Warsaw Poland. (Obama was speaking)

now take total population into account and decide where rape is a bigger problem.
Americans aren't answerable, hell no one talks of American Senate ratifying all diplomatic protocols. In case of Indian diplomats, they ignored UN immunity too. This looks like SDRE hearing the global bully out mostly.

If we were to be very serious we could ask about all these why USA had policies of good/bad jihadis in AfPak/allPak or about bankrolling anti nuclear power plant protests or arming pakis with anti aircraft missiles or interference in internal elections or support to EJs and so on and so forth.

Rahul M wrote: now take total population into account and decide where rape is a bigger problem.
In the US, it is estimated that actual number of rapes are five times that of the reported numbers.

If those rape statistics are correct, it looks like in USA rape is 4 times greater (per 100,000) after allowing for under-reporting (assuming 80% of rapes are reported in US but only 20% are reported in India). I have been very liberal in my assumption of reporting of rape in the USA while I was very conservative with respect to India (just like a DDM :) )

Nandu wrote:
Rahul M wrote: now take total population into account and decide where rape is a bigger problem.
In the US, it is estimated that actual number of rapes are five times that of the reported numbers.
USA is different. Some quotes on twitter

In college, we’d regularly find girls who had been roofie’d and left passed out in the parking lot next to our dorm. REGULARLY.
The fact that my college campus has a parking lot known as 'rape lot.' # YesAllWomen,"

By the way, guess what prestigious colleges were part of list in "first comprehensive look at which campuses are under review for possible violations of the law’s requirements for the handling of sexual violence." link, and another one

Sad...what is "roofie'd"?

Rahul M wrote:[

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BpRIOYMCQAAtzvP.jpg:large

Rahul the difference is the US actively criticizes India as if they are innocent and Indian media promptly report that criticism as if God has spoken

Indian media do not have the originality or the wits to point out what you have done. I always recall the UK saying India has more cellphones than toilets. Guess what. That is true for the UK as well. But it seems that as a nation we are a humble, apologetic bunch who realize that everyone other than us is right.