Cultural Protectionism - Global & Indian Trends

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
member_20617

Re: Cultural Protectionism - Global & Indian Trends

Post by member_20617 »

RajeshA wrote:Shankaraa ji,

we have to be very careful propounding such theories. On the one hand, it can Dharmics the possibility to include Jesus into our Dharmic order as a possible Rishi and Guru.

The miracles he performed back home, could have just been from Ayurvedic knowledge he may have picked up in India.

However, making such assertions are dangerous because it gives the church just as much material to tell the Indians that Jesus was one of them and we Indians should convert to Christianity. At the moment the Church is far more organized than the Dharmics, so it is the Church that would benefit from such theories.
RajeshAji

I am aware of possible manipulation but Hindu religion is the oldest surviving religion in the world and the copyright belongs to us.

We are the ORIGINALS and we should not be scared.

We need to convert Christians to Hindu faith by showing the truth as mentioned above.

They are already Pseudo - Hindus

2 billion Christians converted to Hinduism will make 3 billion Hindus!

Sanatan Dharma Ki Jai!

Jai Mataji!

Shankaraa ji,

I have taken this discussion and topic to another thread: Reverse Inculturation.

Published Magazine July 23, 2012
By Minu Ittyipe
To Cast The First Stone: Outlook Magazine
Sex, violence, corruption, insider exposes rock the Kerala church

Interview of Sister Mary Chandy
“When The Priests Drink, What Spews Out Is Absolute Filth”: Outlook Magazine
The nun who walked out of her Kozhikode convent 14 years ago on what compelled her to leave

Interview of Father Shibu Kalamparambil
“A Life Is Not Born In The Church. The Nun Is Forced To Abort...”: Outlook Magazine
The priest, whose memoirs were published in 2010, on the sexual misconduct of priests and financial irregularities

By Paul Zacharia
Peter’s House Is Broken: Outlook Magazine
The meek shall inherit the earth? Not if the Church has its way.

Editorial
Sins Of Our Fathers: Outlook Magazine
The Little Flower convent nuns who took the church to court

“Later, I’m taken to the priest’s room for coffee. While I’m having coffee sitting on the cot, the only place in the room to sit, he comes and embraces me hard, almost suffocating me. When I struggle to escape from his clutches, he squeezes my breasts and asks me to show them to him. ‘Have you seen a man?’ Stunned, I shake my head ‘no’. In no time, he undresses himself.”
Sister Jesme in her book Amen: The Autobiography of a Nun

“The convents and nunneries are being converted into brothels. The priests have sex with the nuns at night in these convents. Because of these acts, the chastity of the priests and nuns has come under suspicion. Their love for God has shrunk...some of the clergy protect their chastity by watching ***** and reading ***** material. They lose themselves in this habit. These books and DVDs are kept in secret places and can’t be found easily.”
Father Shibu Kalamparambil in his memoir Oru Vaidikante Hrudayamitha (The Heart of a Priest)

“The cry of a baby came from the bathroom of one of the inner rooms along with the sobs of a woman. We used our might to force open the bathroom door and what we saw would break anyone’s heart. A nun who had given birth to a child was pushing the head of the baby into the closet. The bathroom was filled with blood. The legs of the child, which were sticking out of the closet, were kicking for life.”
Sister Mary Chandy in her autobiography Nanma Niranjavale Swasthi (Peace to the One filled with Grace)

Published on Jul 16, 2012
By Jack Losh
Missing girl ‘kidnapped for Vatican sex parties’: The Sun (UK)
THE Catholic Church’s leading exorcist priest has sensationally claimed a missing schoolgirl thought to be buried in a murdered gangster’s tomb was kidnapped for Vatican sex parties.

Published on Aug 16, 2012
By Sat Maharaj
The Conversion Strategy: Guardian (Trinidad & Tobago)
On the arrival of Hindus in Trinidad on May 30, 1845, our ancestors were offered no assistance by the colonial government of Great Britain or the sugar plantation owners to preserve their religious traditions and cultural practices. In fact, every effort was made to have them abandon Hinduism, the religion most practised, and to embrace religious beliefs that were alien to them.

The Hindus were specially targeted by the Canadian Presbyterian Church which poured in resources and manpower from Canada for its mass conversion exercise. Some historians claim that education, through the establishment of schools, was made available to the Hindus by the Canadian missionaries. But most of us who underwent this experience will testify that conversion to Christianity was the expectation of the missionary and in many cases where teaching jobs were offered, the recipient had either to convert or pay the price, which was usually unashamed discrimination. Even today, a number of so-called historians continue to spread bogus Indian history to strengthen their conversion efforts which have now totally collapsed.

The strength of the Hindu community in Trinidad, India and elsewhere is the Brahmin pundits who are versed in the philosophy and rituals of Hinduism. Without these pundits Hinduism would have collapsed long ago in Trinidad as it did in Grenada, Martinique, St Lucia and Jamaica.

Now every effort is being made by a handful of “church”-connected historians to undermine Hinduism by attacking the pundits who came from the Brahmin class. One historian and his young acolyte have written that no Brahmins came to Trinidad, although all the ship’s records indicate that more than 12 per cent of indentured labourers were of this class of people. These records are available and some are held at the Maha Sabha.

Hanging on my office wall is a table of the “Cast of immigrants introduced during the 1879-1880 season.” This is a public document but “church” historians in T&T prefer not to make these correct figures available to students. Source of the information is the surgeon major, DWD Comins. This chart records that 175 Brahmins came to Trinidad during the 12-month period. Immigration lasted from 1845 to 1917, a period of 72 years.

Another bogus theory that has now been totally discredited by modern-day Indian researchers and historians is the “Aryan invasion theory.” In order to further facilitate conversion on the sub-continent of India they invented this theory to divide India into the “light-skinned” north and the “dark-skinned” south.

Although now fully discredited in the world of history, one Christian historian in Trinidad is still teaching this historical lie. Francois Gautier, writing in his book The Wonder That Is India, captures the manipulation of history in the chapter titled The Missionaries. He writes:

“The missionaries arrived in India on the heels of the British. As explained in the first chapter, their first prey were the so-called Adivasis, tribal people, whom they promptly proceeded to name as the ‘original’ inhabitants of India colonised by the bad Brahmins during the mythical Aryan invasion. Was it not right, they said, to free them from the grip of their masters who had enslaved them both socially and religiously?

“Thus they set the Adivasis against the mainstream of Hindu society and sowed the seeds of an explosive conflict which is ready to blow up today, particularly in UP (Uttar Pradesh) where the caste conflict has been created by Mulayam Singh, the butcher of Ayodhya, and Kanshi Ram.

“The missionaries in India were always supporters of colonialism; they encouraged it and their whole structure was based on ‘the good Western civilised world being brought to the pagans.’ In the words of Charles Grant (1746-1823), chairman of the East India Company, ‘We cannot avoid recognising in the people of Hindustan, a race of men lamentably degenerate and base...governed by malevolent and licentious passions...and sunk in misery by their vices.’

“Claudius Buchanan, a chaplain attached to the East India Company, went even further: ‘...Neither truth, nor honesty, honour, gratitude, nor charity, is to be found in the breast of a Hindu!’ What a comment about a nation that gave the world the Vedas and the Upanishads, at a time when Europeans were still fornicating in their caves!

“Lord Hastings, Governor General of India from 1813, could not agree more; he writes in his diary ‘nearly limited to mere animal functions...with no higher intellect than a dog or an elephant, or a monkey...’”

In his History of Hindu-Christian Encounters (AD304-1996), Sita Ram Goel writes:
“Jesus Christ has been the stock-in-trade of Christian missions down the ages. He has been packed in all shapes and sizes depending upon the gullibility of the clients to be duped. And he has been rammed down the throats of those who have refused to be hoodwinked by the hoax.

“As one surveys the history of Christian missions in lands where this hoax has been hawked or imposed, one comes across no end of force and fraud employed in its service by a variety of soldiers and salesmen, most of whom are presented as saints.”

• Satnarayan Maharaj is the secretary general of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha

Publication Date: February 1, 2011
Authors: Rajiv Malhotra, Arvindan Neelakandan
Breaking India: Western Interventions In Dravidian And Dalit Faultlines [Flipkart] [Amazon]

Reviews

Aravindan Neelkandan manages a portal Tamil Hindu.

From Shri Rajiv Malhotra's Discussion Group: A comment by him, x-posted here by his consent.

Subject: Mathews George Chunakara, the World Council of Churches and WCC's views on Hindu Dharma
Ravi wrote:The World Council of Churches (WCC) links 349 Protestant and Orthodox Church bodies representing more than 560 million Christians in some 110 countries.

The Director of WCC's International Affairs and Public Witness is an Indian-origin Christian named Mathews George Chunakara

WCC explores Christian self-understanding in context of Hindu religion

WCC in the news today for its pressure tactics
Christian group to hold conference on Pakistan blasphemy law: Reuters
I want us to not get confused with this mixed signal they send. With one had its a discussion about pluralism with special sensitivity to Hinduism. On the other hand, its an unending crusade to convert using newer and cleverer tactics. Most Hindus I come across lack the background to make sense of this, so they ignore one side or the other of this binary stance.

A book I am trying to finish up is entirely about how a series of prominent Christian theologians from the 1800s till today have intensely studied Hinduism with great sympathy towards many of its philosophical ideas, and even started out criticizing Christianity for its deficiencies. Over the years they start looking for similar sources within Christianity, even if that requires stretching their imagination quite a bit. The typical digestion of Hindu ideas into Christianity follows. Some end up later rejecting Hinduism while others never do that and remain positive towards it, even as they uturn back into Christianity.

As a result of work done by a dozen major figures that I am researching, these serious theological journeys have produced a new liberal Christian approach towards pluralism and especially Hinduism. This is often present in Christian thinkers today. They hide the Hindu origins of these ideas and when pointed out they cite some obscure or reinterpreted western sources.

(Recently in Toronto, at the Chinmaya Mission the Indian lady in charge of education who hosted my day-long discussion, and a young man training to become a Hindu sadhu, each had a persistent position that matched this Christian position. They cited that the Essene and various other Western mystics had all the same ideas as Vedanta already, hence their support for sameness. My point is that many educated, sophisticated Hindus, incl leaders of serious seva, are also in this camp.)

The smoking gun on liberal Christian pluralism:

To make sense of whats going on in Christian pluralism one must understand the following emerging theology, whose most sophisticated developer and proponent was the late catholic theologian Raimon Pannikar:

1) Christianity is re-interpreted with all the great ideas from Vedanta, Shakti traditions, yoga, etc that fit.

2) This digestion of Hinduism also allows them to make Christianity compatible with modern physics, biology, etc.

3) Hinduism is to be respected and not denigrated.

4) The quandary to make both Christianity and Hinduism seem legitimate gets resolved by making Hinduism a subset of Christianity. It has everything except the historical Jesus. Making Jesus' history-centrism fit alongside nondualism has been the complex problem that has occupied a century of theologians. (Hence BD's central target is to show the mutual incompatibility between dharma and history-centrism.)It takes a lot of intellectual gymnastics, hubris, etc. by these theologians. This is one issue where I have detailed compilations of their arguments and my rebuttals.

5) Christianity is described as the global truth, but there are also local truths in each civilization that must be respected as subsets and as preparation for the final truth that only Christianity brings.

6) The global-local relationship is similar to Pizza Hut as global making local products for each market such as paneer tikka pizza in India. This is the philosophical foundation for inculturation.

7) Such conferences as the one mentioned in the post above have been held hundreds of times to do their purva paksha on Hinduism and thereby constantly improve their localization of global Christianity.

8 ) Father Bede and Raimon Pannikar were openly talking of Christian Vedanta as part of the global metaphysics and citing old Christian texts as source for whatever they learned from Hinduism.

9) They were coining phrases like "Indian Christianity" as the localized version meant for teaching to Hindus in ways that appear respectful of Hinduism and Indian culture.

10) In the end they said that Hinduism must be taught as a great religion that was the local Indian version of global Christianity.

TRAGICALLY, VERY FEW SO-CALLED HINDU INTELLECTUALS HAVE THE BACKGROUND OR INTELLECTUAL MATURITY TO UNDERSTAND THIS PROPERLY.

Hence the overabundance of irrelevant responses, or going off on tangents. Even those who have tried to help me accelerate my research into this mountain of data to be examined, invariably run out of stamina rather soon, and cop out under different pretexts. The Hindu tends to be intellectually weak, wanting quick benefits. Consequently, the acquiescence I found in the Toronto Chinmaya Mission by a few prominent members tends to be the common way our people reconcile all this for their own comfort. It gives them a googdy-goody feeling about remaining Hindu while at the same time agreeing with whatever Christianity teaches. This root problem of Hindu morons has been ignored too long. Even many Hindu groups are avoiding me because they find my position too provocative and controversial. Before most of my talks there tends to be a private "negotiation" to make sure that i will tone down my message and avoid discomfort among the members - who are Hindus spending lots of time and money as leaders at temples and other organizations. This is the truth you wont find out sitting at your keyboard pontificating everything going on in the world.
Sumant Balakrishnan wrote:
Rajiv Malhotra wrote:....the acquiescence I found in the Toronto Chinmaya Mission by a few prominent members tends to be the common way our people reconcile all this for their own comfort. It gives them a googdy-goody feeling about remaining Hindu while at the same time agreeing with whatever Christianity teaches. This root problem of Hindu morons has been ignored too long.
I don't see how calling some members of the Chinmaya Mission (a known collaborator in Rajiv ji's efforts) on a widely read Group like this one can help the cause.
I have a thesis called MORON SMRITI. Thats what I referred to. Perhaps I should have clarified. It says that people who are ordinarily very intelligent in other matters, often behave in a certain way when it comes to the relationship between their dharma and Abrahamic faiths. This behavior (and not the entire person) is what I gave the technical term "moron smriti". In fact, when I discuss with such persons in the open, I often explain my theory of moron smriti rather candidly. In Toronto I mentioned it as well.

It is also important to note that most large Vedanta based organizations encourage free thinking and there are wide varieties of views among their members. I find this in RK Mission, Chinmaya Mission, among others. This is a good sign and it differs from the more bhakti oriented groups where they seldom question. I found in my recent visits with RK Mission in Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Calcutta, Belur Math, that each swami is very individualistic in his interpretations and positions on various issues. Individuals are free to have their personal positions and these do not represent the organization as such. Consequently, one cannot turn a comment on one individual and see it as applicable to an entire organization.

Regarding Toronto's Chinmaya Mission: The lady I referred to is not a swamini there, and she is a lay person who runs their education program. In fact, the swamini in Toronto is very supportive of my work and very much in resonance with me. It was she who invited me in the first place, after hearing my provocative debate at Univ of toronto in an earlier visit. But despite the swamini's own views, other members are encouraged to have their own views individually - a good thing. But by the same token, I am also free to take each individual separately and argue on my own terms. I did not find the members I argued against to take my criticism personally.

From Shri Rajiv Malhotra's Discussion Group: A comment by him, x-posted here

Date: Sat, 15 Sep 2012
Subject: Science and Sanskrit tradition: A Western scholar's challenge

The strategic objective of a growing segment of Western scholars, an objective that is usually not stated explicitly, is to show that classical Indian traditions lack coherence. The key word here is COHERENCE. Lacking coherence means there cannot be a legitimate civilization built on such a foundation. This is achieved in many ways by many scholars, including:
  1. "There is no such thing as Hinduism. This was a modern construction by Brahmins as part of nationalism against the British." This is a very common genre - starting with Brian Penington's book "Was Hinduism Invented?" Peninngton will be one of three speakers at this years AAR in Chicago in a special panel to discuss BEING DIFFERENT.
  2. In the name of "diversity of dharma", what many scholars are selling is the incoherence of dharma. They do it in such a manner that many Hindus find it to be a complement, failing to read between the lines. The goal is to emphasize how one dharma system refutes another, how one caste fights another, how one social organization commits violence against another. This internal fragmentation is emphasized as endemic and inherent in dharma, not as something caused by historical events that had nothing to do with dharma.
  3. Those who demonstrate the unity of dharma are accused of constructing homogeneity. Hence, they are totalitarian and this gets conflated with modern social violence as something they cause.
My purpose in starting this thread is to educate the folks at a level deeper than what meets the eye. This particular western scholar might be a small fry today, but his candidness in speaking out is revealing (and hence useful in debate), whereas the more experienced ones are far more sly and can (and do) fool our people. Even in dealing with this scholar, I am told that the Sanskrit folks at JNU have no clue how to respond intelligently. Some go bombastic and emotional - an instant checkmate, and a bad example to students in class. Others join such incoherence theories, seeing some weird glory in them. Yet others prefer to tune out because they lack the skills of purva paksha of the West.

I have been through numerous such encounters for 20 years or longer. BD's strategy was designed based on those encounters. Even those westerners who do lip service to the idea of reversing the gaze cannot tolerate it beyond a point. (There are some exceptions I know.)

The reason is that in BD the West is shown to lack coherence. It is a synthetic construct, the result of centuries of violence against others and digestion of others. It also shows that digestion is the process by which the west establishes its own coherence and simultaneously dismantles the coherence of its prey. So the civilizational discourse thus far has often been a war to establish which side is coherent and which side is not. My thesis is seen as outrageous and dangerous to Western Universalism. It has to be attacked.

Such attacks will come from some persons. But there are also many other Westerners who agree with BD's approach and see it as taking the debate further than ever before on Indian terms. On the other hand, I constantly face Westernized Indian elites (including many who are very Hindu in their personal lives) who debate me from the Western camp. So stage-5 of the UTurn - in which WU gets re-exported back to India and planted there as the gospel truth - has been very successful.

Stay tuned. It is going to get more interesting.....

BRILLIANT!

I found this dissection of the Western strategy simply brilliant. In some ways it is still the divide and rule strategy at a philosophical level.

1) Deny Single Identity to the Other.
2) Exaggerate the Differences making them into Fault-lines.
3) Describe Other's Reaction to such Divisiveness as Predatory and Homogenizing!

If I be allowed some cheesiness, we as Indians have to let them know, that we will remain White Light with all the color of the rainbow embodied in it, and they will not be able to split the colors for their own benefit.

Published on Sep 06, 2012
Desai questions 'suitability' of Gita in modern India: Yahoo News India
Professor Emeritus of London School of Economics Lord Meghnad Desai on Wednesday said the Bhagavad Gita was not "a suitable text for modern India".

"Why are we respecting the text uncritically, which has so many flaws?" he asked while delivering a lecture on "The Bhagavad Gita: A secular inquiry into A sacred text" at AN Sinha Institute of Social Studies.

He said: "The Bhagavad Gita has many flaws and certain questions should be raised by us. My purpose is to analyse and deconstruct the text. I am trying to read the Bhagavad Gita as a secular text and not as a sacred text. I am putting certain questions to the authorship though multiple authors are there."

Desai added that there are certain elements in the text of the Bhagavad Gita which are not suitable in modern India.
The Professor Emeritus said: "In the text, it has been asked to do karma without thinking about the consequences. How can it be said that we should not think about the consequences? Whatever we do affects others too. For example, if I start drinking and then driving without thinking about the consequences, I might kill many people on the road."

He added: "If I do that, I might have to go for psychological examination. It is not possible that we go on thinking just about doing karma without thinking about others. How can we think only about ourselves and not others and go on killing people."

Desai said the people should think about the consequences so that we do not harm others by our actions.

At the lecture organised by Nalanda University, he also talked about women and observed that women had not been mentioned in the text anywhere.

He said: "Women have not been mentioned in the Bhagavad Gita anywhere. It is just two shlokas where they have been mentioned. One among the two is that mentioned in 9.32 (chapter 9, verse 32) that is mam hi partha vyapasritya ye 'pi syuh papa-yonayah striyo vaisyas tatha sudras te 'pi yanti param gatim. The translation for this is ' son of Pritha, those who take shelter in Me, though they be of lower birth, women, vaishyas [merchants] and shudras [workers] can attain the supreme destination.' This is again to be thought about."

Meghnad Jagdishchandra Desai is an Indian-born British economist and Labour politician.

Hetukar Jha, the head of the department of sociology, Patna University, chaired the event. The officer on special duty (academic affairs and university development), Nalanda University, was also present on the occasion. Asian Development Research Institute founder member Shaibal Gupta and Gopa Sabharwal, the vice-chancellor of Nalanda University, were also present at the event.
From Rajiv Malhotra's Discussion List:

Moderator: The background to the news story below relates to another sorry spectacle being played out in the 'higher education' field in India. The lecture is sponsored by the "new" Nalanda University. The "revival" of Nalanda University near the historical Pataliputra(Patna-Bihar)has been given up by Govt Of India to the hands of assorted Left oriented intellectuals who cannot think beyond leftist dogma of "developing" India away from its traditions etc via injection of more "Progressive" education, intellectualism, etc. Meghnad Desai may be a British Peer, a Professor of Economics, but one thing he is not is a serious student of the Gita. Even if he is, as he claims, reading the Gita in a "Secular" way, his highly selective "deconstruction" is peculiarly formulaic and unoriginal, serving the agenda of the other luminaries there, like Amartya Sen, et al. This is not even a pale shadow of the historical Nalanda famous worldwide for it's intellectual calibre

Rajiv Malhotra's Talks Series

Definition of Purva Paksha @~7:26

Rajiv Malhotra's Talks Series

Hindu Dharma Acharya Sabha, November 7, 2012

Rajiv Malhotra wrote:I just returned from India after attending the Hindu Dharma Acharya Sabha's 5th Bi-annual Conference in Ahmedabad. I was fortunate to be invited to deliver a major talk to this apex body of top acharyas and swamis. This was quite an honor and experience. I spoke in Hindi even though I am not as fluent as I wish I were.

Three shankaracharyas attended, along with about 200 mahatmas of various sampradayas and matthas from across India. About 40 sampradayas were represented by their top leader attending in person. When I delivered my talk, to my immediate right sat Baba Ramdev and we got a chance to chat informally. Immediately after my talk and Q&A were over, Baba Ramdev spoke extensively and made references to my talk; his points were supportive of my statements. The 45 minute video I have uploaded on YouTube has my talk and main Q&A, but does not include the subsequent statements by Baba Ramdev and other luminaries as per the privacy policy.

The thrust of my talk was that the acharyas must start programs of purva paksha (comparative studies) of the Abrahamic religions and their secular derivatives. It is encouraging that senior acharyas are very interested in the kinds of issues I am researching and writing about.

Many persons approached me in support, and at least 25% of the attendees said they had read some of my prior works or had watched my YouTube videos. About two-thirds of those present were very keen to get copies of BI and BD - we ran out of copies very quickly and wished we had brought more. Several of them expressed interest to have follow up meetings at their ashrams in order to continue these
conversations.

Swami Dayananda Saraswati started this organization over a decade ago to bring together the leading acharyas, as a forum to discuss matters of common concern and importance. It is a non-political body. He has appointed the very dynamic and impressive Swami Parmatananda to lead the organizational efforts, which I must say he carried out extremely well. The Swaminarayan organization hosted the event very professionally and their hospitality was superb.

One major accomplishment is that the Acharya Sabha has recently registered a case in the Supreme Court of India against the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Act. Many people are unaware that India’s secularism is a twisted and contradictory one, because the Hindu temples (like Tirupati) are administered by the Indian government with civil servants appointed to govern them, collect the donations, make decisions concerning the rituals and activities, and determine the operating budget. As a result, billions of dollars’ worth of temple lands are being sold or rented out against the temples’ interest and without the temples receiving the full benefit. The monies donated by the worshippers end up in the government’s hands, and only a tiny fraction gets allocated back to maintain and operate these temples. The Hindus who worship there and give donations, or the Hindu leaders, do not control how our major temples operate.

Other religions such as Islam and Christianity control their own houses of worship in India. This anti-secular law applies only to Hindu temples. It suffers from two major flaws: that it is governmental interference in the religious affairs of Hindus, and that it discriminates against Hindus by treating them differently than other faiths. The Acharya Sabha’s bold initiative begins what will be a long uphill legal battle, one that must be supported by every fair minded person.

from reddit:

Manny

Post by Manny »

Check this out

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/0 ... 10078.html

One Hindu is elected to high office in the US and it doesn't seem to sit well with this desi christian Yeshu Abraham.

India has elected a Catholic woman to the highest office, the CM of Kerala is a Christian. Supposidly the christian population of India is "Only" 2%.. Yeah right! and yet it upsets that desi christian that a Hindu got elected to congress

Manny wrote:Check this out

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/0 ... 10078.html

One Hindu is elected to high office in the US and it doesn't seem to sit well with this desi christian Yeshu Abraham.

India has elected a Catholic woman to the highest office, the CM of Kerala is a Christian. Supposidly the christian population of India is "Only" 2%.. Yeah right! and yet it upsets that desi christian that a Hindu got elected to congress

What did the educated guy not learn from India, or has he forgotten it all once on the shores of the first world?

Where are unending sermons on minority rights? How about secularism? What did he do to promote equality in USA? What about religious civil code for minorities? What about freedom given to minorities?

Books for the Library

Trusting Doubt: A Former Evangelical Looks at Old Beliefs in a New Light
By Valerie Tarico, PhD
Publication Date: September 1, 2010

Description
Most Evangelical Christians earnestly strive to worship the God of Love and Truth. But a belief that the Bible is literally perfect can put them in the odd position of defending falsehood, bigotry, and even violence. What do Evangelicals believe? And how do these beliefs subvert humanity's shared moral values, including the compassionate ministry of Jesus in the New Testament? Is the Good Book even “good,” given its historical inaccuracies, scientific impossibilities, and moral contradictions? Trusting Doubt answers all these questions … and more. It also provides a clear picture of this variant of Christianity which has risen to political prominence at a spiritual cost.

Raised in a staunch fundamentalist family and educated at Wheaton College – home of the Billy Graham Center for Evangelicalism – Valerie Tarico speaks as a former 'insider.' She offers alternative biblical, social, and scientific explanations that are compatible with contemporary Christianity, interfaith understanding, and non-theism. Gratefully, Tarico's unique voice as a former Evangelical provides a scholarly yet accessible path away from fundamentalism and toward spiritual clarity – a journey based on logic, love, and the quest for truth.

If the Dalai Lama were Pope: Blog
By Valerie Tarico, PhD
Published on Mar 02, 2013
Despite Vatican efforts to keep the public eye focused on pomp and circumstance, speculation about the real reason for Pope Benedict’s resignation dominates conversation about the papal succession: Is it the Vatileaks money laundering? Is it the pedophilia scandal? Might it have something to do with criminal charges filed in European courts? How about the impact of all three on Catholic Church coffers and pews? Is this about immunity or power or finances or brand management?
Narad

Post by Narad »

Psychological tricks used in Proselytization

Published on October 31, 2007
Sharing Christ with Hindus
We need to emphasize to the caste Hindu not to leave their community but stay as an obedient believer in Christ within their family and caste community to lead their family and community to Christ. We have New Testament examples where believers stayed in their community and we can use these scriptures to encourage our Hindu friends. The Bible teaches the believer not to be unequally yoked, i.e. for a believer not to marry and unbeliever. That does not mean that the Hindu believer has to marry outside their community. When the Hindu believer marries another believer from in their own caste community they have a much easier time remaining as salt and light to their community.

Chorrurch,Money laundering and Drug smuggling

Vatican, U.S. in Anti-Money-Laundering Deal .
Drug Money VAT CANITY—The Vatican took another step toward making its finances more transparent Tuesday, signing a deal with U.S. regulators under which each side will share information about financial transactions with the aim of rooting out money laundering and other illicit dealings.The deal announced by the Vatican marks the latest move by the world's smallest state in response to international pressure to better police the Holy See's finances, which for decades were considered opaque.The efforts began in earnest in 2010 in the wake of an investigation by Italian prosecutors into whether the Vatican bank had violated Italy's money-laundering laws—an allegation the Vatican denies.
Measures so far have included laws against money laundering and terrorist financing; regulation that helps bring to justice anyone who commits financial misdeeds on Vatican territory; and the creation of the watchdog, or Financial Information Authority.Under the new agreement, the FIA and the U.S. Treasury Department's Financial Crimes Enforcement Network—which is headed by Jennifer Shasky Calvery—will be able to share information about financial transactions in their respective territories, the Vatican statement said.
The FIA is discussing similar agreements with about 20 other countries, and Vatican officials hope the U.S. deal will help pave the way."This is another step forward in the process that the Vatican initiated in 2010 and shows that we take this seriously," FIA director René Bruelhart said in an interview.
The Vatican's financial watchdog was created in 2011 as part of a regulatory overhaul announced by the former Pope Benedict XVI in late 2010.For the Vatican, which has long cherished its culture of confidentiality, the effort to open up financial dealings to outside scrutiny hasn't been easy.
Months after the FIA was created, for example, Vatican officials rewrote the Holy See's financial laws. They kept the financial intelligence functions of the FIA intact, but left the details of its supervisory functions to be defined by subsequent regulation—which has yet to be completed. The changes were criticized by some at the Vatican, including in documents that leaked out into the Italian press, creating some embarrassment for the Holy See.Because the FIA's role is mainly focused on financial intelligence, its U.S. counterpart is the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, not the Securities and Exchange Commission, according to a person who worked on Tuesday's agreement.The Vatican is also still undergoing evaluation by Moneyval, a committee of financial experts backed by the 47-nation Council of Europe, as part of its bid to persuade foreign lenders and their regulators that Vatican financial institutions are transparent. Last July, Moneval gave the Vatican a mixed report card. It said the Vatican had come a long way, but warned that the Holy See regulators still lacked the power to oversee the flow of money within its borders.