Page 61 of 72
Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Sep 22, 20
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 10:49
by SSridhar
US & Pakistan will work together for Afghan peace: Ms. Clinton
US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton on Sunday said that Washington and Islamabad would work together for peace and security in Afghanistan as she also recognised the need to stem militants’ use of safe havens on the Afghan side for attacks against Pakistan.
Clinton, who led a high-level delegation for talks with top Pakistani political and military leaders this week, indicated in a CNN interview an improved level of mutual understanding.
“We are very clear. We need to do two things together. We need to squeeze the terrorist networks, including the Haqqani network, out of their safe havens, preventing them from being able to plan and carry out attacks across the border.
“And we have to, on the Afghan side of the border, squeeze and eliminate safe havens of those who move back and forth and use safe havens in Afghanistan to attack Pakistan,” she said. {So, there is reconciliation now ?}
Islamabad has been for months asking the US-led international forces stationed in Afghanistan to stop Afghan-based militants from using safe havens in that country for attacks inside Pakistan.
The chief US diplomat, who issued some tough statements ahead of her visit to Islamabad this week, also openly acknowledged the effectiveness of Pakistan’s cooperation against al Qaeda.
“The cooperation on security that we have received over the past years from Pakistan has been absolutely essential in our efforts to defeat and disrupt the al Qaeda network.”
The Pakistanis, she noted, themselves had suffered enormously as a result of their military actions against the terrorist networks and of course that had not only been military losses but civilians too. “A total of about 30,000 over the last decade,” she noted.
Clinton’s delegation included Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen Martin Dempsey and Director of CIA David Petraeus for the two-day Pakistan visit, which took place in the backdrop of serious strains arising from a spate of events this year, including American unilateral action to take out Osama bin Laden from his Abbottabad hideout and retired Admiral Mike Mullen’s assertions of Pakistani connections with Afghan Haqqani militants.
NATO plans to pull out combat troops from Afghanistan by 2014 and hand over security responsibility to Afghan Army and police.
Meanwhile, the US has also acknowledged reaching out to militants as part of Afghan reconciliation efforts for an orderly transition in the conflict-hit country. app
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 11:00
by sum
Harish wrote:** Deleted **
The same person , after the next terror attack , will write a article about how we must covertly target the TSPA and strengthen the civilains etc... Really tough to understand the position when there is no single firm stance.
But i would still rate him better than true gems like MKB, who must be furiously penning his next outpouring of how the Pakis( esp kayani) are the next re-incarnation of Mother Theresa and how they did so much friendly stuff compared to evil Indian security and babu folk who only badmouth the Pakis and deny them legitimate access in Afg and J&K.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 11:17
by Aditya_V
Harish wrote:** Deleted **
This was something discussed and I thought closed here.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 11:34
by Dilbu
NATO kills militants in Afghan airstrike
KABUL, Afghanistan (AP) — NATO says international troops and Afghan forces have killed "multiple" insurgents during an operation in an eastern Afghan province where a feared Pakistan-based militant network is particularly active.
The U.S.-led coalition said Monday that Afghan and international forces called for an airstrike on militants in Paktiya province's Wuza Jadran district on Sunday. It said the target of the operation was a heavily-armed group of Haqqani network fighters who operate in the area.
NATO has stepped up its focus on eastern Afghanistan, in areas along the Pakistani border. The al-Qaida and Taliban-linked Haqqani use Pakistan as a safe haven and the U.S. and Afghanistan have urged Islamabad to act against the militants.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 11:38
by Dilbu
Forces demolish 14 houses in Bara
LANDI KOTAL, Oct 23: The security forces demolished 14 houses of suspected militants in Bara tehsil of Khyber Agency on the second day of search operation on Sunday, officials said.
They said that most of the houses were demolished in Yousuf Talab area of Sipah. The residence of a local commander of Lashkar-i-Islam was included in the demolished houses, they added.
The security forces also dynamited a market in the same locality where officials claimed that militants used to store ammunition. However, no ammunition was recovered from the market.
The officials said that at least 12 suspected militants were also taken into custody during the search operations, carried out in Yousuf Talab, Nala, Spin Qabar and Kuhi areas. The arrested persons were shifted to Shahkas Fort in Jamrud for investigations, they added.
So TSPA has started demolishing houses and markets. Does that mean they have started another 'military campaign' against taliban like they did a couple of years ago?
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 11:50
by Lalmohan
^^^ sounds suspiciously like slum clearance project like last time - with plenty of warning for the beardies to get away and leave the women and children behind to get their houses blown up
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 13:10
by Dilbu
Pakistan will suffer dire consequences if it fails to contain terrorists: Clinton
US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said that Pakistan will face “dire consequences” if it fails to contain terrorists operating from its soil.
Clinton made this statement in an interview with Bloomberg News two days after she visited Islamabad, adding that Pakistan requires help from the US and Afghanistan to battle militancy.
She added that the US administration does not want Pakistan to overtly launch an military offensive against the banned outfits and forces that attack US and Afghan forces, but carry out clandestine actions.
There are “different ways of fighting besides overt military action,” she said.
Clinton said that she urged Pakistan to share intelligence with the US forces station in Afghanistan to foil attacks and block supply routes.
She also said that better synchronization might curtail incidents like the attack on the American Embassy in Kabul for which the US blamed the Haqqani network.
This report has quoted her words in a completely different tone from the report quoted above by SS saar.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 13:13
by Aditya_V
[Deleted]
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 13:26
by Rupesh
A paki amby's recollection
Soon the orders for my posting to Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) were signed and sent to the embassy in Colombo while more copies were ready to be cyclostyled for dispatch to all others concerned. (Photocopiers were not yet known in Pakistan.) I was disappointed at the prospect of spending the next three years of my life in a country not advanced by any means; and one that was inhabited by people whose skins were even darker than mine! But family and friends consoled me by pointing out that I would get excellent tea to drink. And it would be affordable for me to come home for the holidays, bringing Ceylonese tea gifts for my loved ones. Such consolations did not help much in raising my spirits.
And then, quite suddenly, lady luck smiled on me.
I was called by Director (Personnel) Khan Aziz A Khan who told me that there was a change in my posting and that I would now be going to Ankara instead of Colombo. I was delighted.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 13:31
by sum
and one that was inhabited by people whose skins were even darker than mine!
$%@^ racist Poaks!

Posted: 24 Oct 2011 13:33
by Anujan
The bloomberg interview:
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-1 ... gents.html
The Obama administration isn’t asking Pakistan’s military to occupy its rugged border regions, the base for extremist groups that attack U.S., allied and Afghan forces on the other side, Clinton said in an interview with Bloomberg News following two days of meetings in Islamabad. There are “different ways of fighting besides overt military action,” she said.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:16
by GopiD
Hi Friends,
I have been lurking around the BRF for a long time and wanted to put in my idea regarding the recent bilateral relationship between India and Pak....
We all are aware of the pathetic situation in which Pak's economy is and we all also know that not a thing moves without TSPA's approval with regards to relationship with India. I think TSPA is slowly but surely understanding the gravity of the economic situation in Pak and wants to change the situation, but it hardly has any option other than china. Given the strategy in which China invests, TSPA knows fully well that it can't expect much from it. On the other side is Afghanistan which is in a hopeless economic situation itself. The only other viable option is India, but India is pak's arch enemy and TSPA can't be seen as giving up on cashmere. Hence they have allowed the civilian face of TSPA to slowly build economic relationship with India and on the other hand they are activating the sleeper cells in India to carry out the attacks for plausible deniability. By this way, TSPA thinks it can have the cake and eat it too.
It would be naive on our part if we think that TSPA doesn't know the abyss in which pak's economy is and it would also be naive of us if we think that the economic relationship is being built with us by pak civilians without the blessings of TSPA.
I think the overall idea of TSPA is to let the civilian side at least have something to eat so that TSPA can save their seat on the throne of pak. TSPA knows that now US has replaced India's place as enemy in the aam pakis' mind and it won't be long before the aam paki's turn onto the TSPA for all the ill's of Pak if they aren't given something in the name of job/food/goat.
TSPA knows fully well that the MMS government is yearning for something to build the relationship with pak and they will hold on to anything that is thrown to us.
The MMS is government is showing absolutely no intelligence by accepting these carrots from TSPA. Instead we should leave Pak on it's own and let it rot until the end where TSPA is sunk by it's arrogance and perfidy, before stepping into the field.
The recent chopper incident and it's immediate release by TSPA should be viewed in the above light....
My 2 paise........
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:23
by CRamS
sum wrote:Why is it that our "thinkers" are always waiting for the smallest things to start praising the TSPA generals and ask to reward them?
So, one helo returned means all the direct evidence of Kayani in 26/11, Kabul embassy bombing etc is forgotten and we should sing praises of him?
In the case of BR, it is probably Stockholm syndrome or old age.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:33
by SSridhar
GopiD wrote:I have been lurking around the BRF for a long time and wanted to put in my idea regarding the recent bilateral relationship between India and Pak....
GopiD, please do post more frequently.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:47
by CRamS
In all of HilaryJi's statements, there was no mention of TSP's snakes in its backyard targeting India. Also, it seems to me at least that tactically, TSPA has put Hafeez Saeed on cold storage for the moment. So clearly, Kiyani is playing for time. My gut feeling is that TSPA/ISI will ride this through to fight another times. Once again, a cat with nine lives

Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:56
by RajeshA
GopiD wrote:Hi Friends,
I have been lurking around the BRF for a long time and wanted to put in my idea regarding the recent bilateral relationship between India and Pak....
We all are aware of the pathetic situation in which Pak's economy is and we all also know that not a thing moves without TSPA's approval with regards to relationship with India. I think TSPA is slowly but surely understanding the gravity of the economic situation in Pak and wants to change the situation, but it hardly has any option other than china. Given the strategy in which China invests, TSPA knows fully well that it can't expect much from it. On the other side is Afghanistan which is in a hopeless economic situation itself. The only other viable option is India, but India is pak's arch enemy and TSPA can't be seen as giving up on cashmere. Hence they have allowed the civilian face of TSPA to slowly build economic relationship with India and on the other hand they are activating the sleeper cells in India to carry out the attacks for plausible deniability. By this way, TSPA thinks it can have the cake and eat it too.
It would be naive on our part if we think that TSPA doesn't know the abyss in which pak's economy is and it would also be naive of us if we think that the economic relationship is being built with us by pak civilians without the blessings of TSPA.
I think the overall idea of TSPA is to let the civilian side at least have something to eat so that TSPA can save their seat on the throne of pak. TSPA knows that now US has replaced India's place as enemy in the aam pakis' mind and it won't be long before the aam paki's turn onto the TSPA for all the ill's of Pak if they aren't given something in the name of job/food/goat.
TSPA knows fully well that the MMS government is yearning for something to build the relationship with pak and they will hold on to anything that is thrown to us.
The MMS is government is showing absolutely no intelligence by accepting these carrots from TSPA. Instead we should leave Pak on it's own and let it rot until the end where TSPA is sunk by it's arrogance and perfidy, before stepping into the field.
The recent chopper incident and it's immediate release by TSPA should be viewed in the above light....
My 2 paise........
GopiD ji,
welcome to BRF!
I am of the view, that India should very carefully consider what parts of the Pakistani Economy we should integrate with that of India, and under what conditions, before we proceed.
What we don't want is to support their service industry or their manufacturing industry. What we can do is to build relations with the big feudals to provide agricultural produce to India at low rates. We provide them with Indus Basin Water. They grow crops etc. and send back the produce to India. The feudals don't really pay their underlings all that well. Neither do they pay taxes to the State. So if they get rich, neither does the general population benefit from it, nor does the State get more funds to use against India.
We should also encourage these feudals to invest and spend "their" money, their revenue from the sales of agricultural produce, in India. That way the money remains in India.
Secondly we want to use the Pakistani market to sell our products, preferably finished products. On the other hand, if we see any product with Pakistan written on it, boycott it. When we learn of any company importing anything other than agricultural produce from Pakistan, we boycott it.
We want to keep Pakistan as a hopelessly mismanaged misgoverned corrupt state, and we should not give anything which changes that trajectory.
I
wrote something along these lines earlier also.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 16:57
by Altair
GopiD wrote:
GopiD
Whatever you have posted is true. We must also be aware that there are two dimensions for the economy. The Government and the Business community.GoI may be corrupt and naive to cave into economic embrace with Pak but both sides had plenty of experience doing trade channeled mostly through Dubai. GoI ministers and babus only care about their share. On the business side,Indian traders especially the import and export traders are very very greedy. Quality demands price. Indian consumer can pay more price to a good than average Paki. Paki markets will be flooded with inferior quality Indian goods from toothpastes to motorcycle engines which do not pass quality in India and other export ordered ports. Pakis may have some idea what it will do to their economy in a decade but because of current economic situation they must swallow whatever shit India throws at them. In think it is good for Indian economy to have more market.
Just my 2 paise!
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 17:27
by Multatuli
Ramana wrote:
He wrote a very long book. Should ask for it.
I wasn't aware of this, thanks for telling.
Well Acharya ji, I hereby request that you give the details of how I can obtain your book. Thanks in advance.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 17:37
by SwamyG
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 19:17
by subodh
This is a CNBC18 portal website.
From their homepage, and the 'people' link -
Raghav Bahl
Founding/Controlling Shareholder & Managing Director – Network 18
Raghav Bahl, 50 years, is the Founder, Controlling Shareholder and Managing Director of Network 18. Raghav began his career as a management consultant with A.F. Ferguson & Co. followed by a stint with American Express Bank before he turned to his first love, media. Winner of the Sanskriti Award for Journalism in 1994, Raghav has over 22 years' experience in television and journalism. He founded TV18 (now Network18 Group) in 1993.
He has been instrumental in crafting successful Joint Ventures with such media giants as NBC Universal, Viacom, Time Warner, Forbes, A&E Networks and GS Homeshopping (Korea). In a short span of 18 years, Network18 has achieved a market capitalization in excess of USD 0.50 bn.
Raghav is a widely admired entrepreneur and was hailed as a Global Leader of Tomorrow by the World Economic Forum. He was selected by Ernst & Young as 'Entrepreneur of The Year (2007) for Business Transformation'. AIMA awarded him the 'Media Person of The Year (2011)' and BMA recognised him as the 'Entrepreneur of The Year (2011)'.
An Economics graduate from St. Stephens College, Raghav has done MBA from the University of Delhi.
Raghav has also authored the book 'Superpower?: The Amazing Race Between China's Hare And India's Tortoise'.
He can be contacted at
[email protected]
I wrote to him.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 19:34
by Agnimitra
Tsk tsk, Pakis don't have the cultural memes for democratic freedoms. They would go into a dwindling spiral if you handed them freedom on a platter:
Why Pakistan's media needs a code of conduct
Pakistan's media landscape has exploded over the last decade. But it is still the most dangerous place on earth to be a journalist and there are now calls for a strict code of conduct to protect the press and the public.
But many agree that the hyperactivity of breaking, rolling news has meant objectivity taking a back seat.
"There's a war for ratings and the competition is unhealthy," Zaffar Abbas, editor of Dawn newspaper, says.
Even though parliamentarians proposed a code of conduct for the electronic media to control the graphic coverage of terror attacks, there are still major errors.
The gruesome picture of what many believed was the corpse of Osama Bin Laden was broadcast across Pakistani media - it turned out to be a fake.
More recently, an image of a bearded man wearing a substantial white turban and a brown blazer standing next to former US President Ronald Reagan was reprinted in many Pakistani dailies as an image of Reagan with the notorious Afghan militant Jalaluddin Haqqani.
But Haqqani has never visited the US. The picture, is in fact of an Afghan mujahideen commander called Younis Khalis.
And last year a number of Pakistani newspapers admitted they had been hoaxed after publishing reports based on fake Wikileaks cables containing anti-Indian propaganda.
Clearly the right questions were not asked at the critical moments before publication.
Spewing hatred
Recently, prominent journalist Najam Sethi was targeted on a local television channel which excoriated him (and his daughter) for being anti-Pakistan and collaborating with the United States.
Mr Sethi's life is already under threat because of his outspoken and critical journalism. But a tirade from a high-profile TV host shows that media personalities with clout can be defamatory without being held accountable.
Pakistan is a place where violence against women is commonplace. The coverage is instant but the treatment of the stories is like walking through a minefield.
One case in point is a girl who was gang-raped in Karachi last year. It was covered extensively, but some newspapers named the victim, giving her address and - to add insult to injury - a minister appeared on TV implying she had a "bad character".
The case of a female doctor allegedly raped by a military official in 2005 just disappeared from news stories. Former President Pervez Musharraf made a statement in defence of the accused before the investigation was even over.
Asma Jahangir, now the Supreme Court Bar president, called it a "cover-up". Pakistani authorities deny this, but there was no follow-up in the local media.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 19:54
by shiv
Carl wrote:Tsk tsk, Pakis don't have the cultural memes for democratic freedoms. They would go into a dwindling spiral if you handed them freedom on a platter:
I think that if we quit the political correctness and cut the crap, strict Islam and sharia are incompatible with democratic freedoms. Pakis are pretenders. They will never ever get there without diluting Islam. You hear that you Paklurks. Your moth eaten country is not going to get any democracy. But why worry? You have Islam. Enjoy. Hudood. Wajib ul cuttle. Taqiya. Such fine concepts.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:05
by parsuram
Re: The radical increase in the PRCees agressive presence on Indian borders - now across RJ with the paki. Clearly, this is a level of hubris unsuportable by the worm eating PRCees. The DL has, in essence pointed the way, by seperating, then relinquishing his administrative duties from his spiritual functions as head of the Tibetians in Dharamsala. It is time that IA start to train and induct Tibetan youth across the long, undefined, loosly defended Tibetan border. A few TDAM (Tibetan not Jehadi) inducted into Shanghai, HK, Canton, Chengdu, etc (or even peiping aka beijing) via ready and willing Tibetan youths, who btw, have a couple of orders of magnitude better IQ than the jehadis, so can dependably reassemble the munitions) will get the PRCees back where they belong. As it is, given the agressive posture of the PLA, we should not be surprised if they do not go right on and bring some JDAM into Indian economic centers, and when they do, no one will give a damn - that has been amply demonstrated.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:09
by vishvak
T-e-Taliban coming home to roost.
"I had
personally spoken to the managing directors of the Pakistan State Oil and Shell Pakistan
and demanded that they arrange to pay us Rs 200 million each.
Otherwise, I had warned 
.."
I think these are the 'good Talibans'.
Pak Taliban demands Rs 400 mn from oil firms, threatens
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:15
by shiv
parsuram wrote: Tibetan youths, who btw, have a couple of orders of magnitude better IQ than the jehadis,
They also have something the Chinese don't have. The genes to live at high altitude.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:18
by A_Gupta
Was the incident of the strayed Indian helicopter handled well?
Yes, it was, by any objective standard.
Why does acknowledging that become a case of Stockholm syndrome or creeping senility?
The statement about the helo is not a statement of values, it is a statement of fact. It is no different from saying that, say, a particular Pakistani pilot performed well. It is not an endorsement of Pakistani values, or the cause that the Pakistani was fighting for. The Pakistani generals are "good-for-nothing" as far as their values, objectives, goals are concerned, but they are not "good-for-nothing" with regard to their domain of action. IMO, you cannot be useful as an intelligence analyst for your country, if you confuse the former "good-for-nothing" with the latter.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:28
by Lilo
The TTP sponsored violence in naPak has decreased to a trickle. In fact, the violence expected by many post Abbotabad never materialized .
Is TTP now satisfied with the pakiness of Pakbarian army (afterall, it is confronting Unkil openely these days) ?
Or is it biding its time till the present unkil-TSPA churn stops and final state of relations between the two becomes clear?
Or believing the CT, was TTP told by Unkil to lay low (in the aftermath of Abbotabad) and only now - with TSPA not willing to GUBO on Hakkani, MullahFM started making noises from afghanistan about need to impose Sharia in naPak.
What gives?
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 20:58
by parsuram
shiv: I believe that, sooner or later - more sooner than later - some form of an active Tibetan Liberation Army is going to emerge to fight the PRCees and their pla.I do think that the DL saw this hand writing on the wall, and, not wanting to appear endorsing or even fomenting such a move, did what he did - step down from the administrative, executive leadership of the Tibetans. The pla & prcees may well be playing their paki card to, infact, ward off some form of a TLA - forcing India to hunt down members of such an organization, if and when they become operational beyond public suicides. It would be far better for India to play the Tibet card & force the prcees & pla to back off from playing their paki card as they are doing. In which case, much will go of the paki's father, and their fathers' (prcees') father.
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 23:45
by GopiD
GopiD, please do post more frequently.
Sure Sridharji....will do..!!
Posted: 24 Oct 2011 23:59
by KLNMurthy
SSridhar wrote:sum wrote:Why is it that our "thinkers" are always waiting for the smallest things to start praising the TSPA generals and ask to reward them?
So, one helo returned means all the direct evidence of Kayani in 26/11, Kabul embassy bombing etc is forgotten and we should sing praises of him?
This is our misfortune.
Mr. Raman's comments epitomize the fundamental errror in our strategic thinking. In his SAAG article he makes everything of Kiyani's professionalism and coolness and nothing of the underlying unrelenting hostility towards India which TSP and specifically Kayani have expressed enough times so as to leave no room for doubt. It is hard to escape the conclusion that at the emotional core of our strategic community (of which Mr. Raman is a hawkish member) episodic "good treatment" accorded by the enemy trumps the fact of the enmity itself.
It may be unkind but Stockholm Syndrome is not a wrong way to describe this psychology. A smart predatory enemy like TSP having knowledge of Islamic conquests in its DNA knows how to push these buttons and manipulate its victims.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 00:08
by GopiD
We want to keep Pakistan as a hopelessly mismanaged misgoverned corrupt state, and we should not give anything which changes that trajectory.
I
wrote something along these lines earlier also.[/quote]
Rajeshji.....though the paths we speak are different but the destination is and should be eventual breakup of the so called nation of Pakistan and it's jihadi culture

. If that is the focus, then I am for whatever you and Altairji have suggested....
But I really doubt if the babus and our dear pradhan mantri is going to play such a game with Pak...... On this, we can count on the babus to some extent....but MMS, definitely not....
I think I have answered Altair-jis too.
We can agree on that focus of dismantling TSPA AND TSP.....
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 00:25
by A_Gupta
Mr. Raman's comments epitomize the fundamental errror in our strategic thinking. In his SAAG article he makes everything of Kiyani's professionalism and coolness and nothing of the underlying unrelenting hostility towards India which TSP and specifically Kayani have expressed enough times so as to leave no room for doubt. It is hard to escape the conclusion that at the emotional core of our strategic community (of which Mr. Raman is a hawkish member) episodic "good treatment" accorded by the enemy trumps the fact of the enmity itself.
It may be unkind but Stockholm Syndrome is not a wrong way to describe this psychology. A smart predatory enemy like TSP having knowledge of Islamic conquests in its DNA knows how to push these buttons and manipulate its victims.
If we have to constantly reiterate TSP's and Kayani's hostility in each and every piece we write, then it is like constantly having to write "the sun rises in the east" or "the world is round", and means we have not internalized. it. It is when I don't have to repeat it, then it means it is well-understood and is the common background to the discussion.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 00:55
by svinayak
China's Invested Projects Secure in Pakistan: Expert and Ambassador
2011-10-24 17:41:25
by Xu Fei
http://english.cri.cn/6909/2011/10/24/1821s664215.htm
Dozens of officials and renowned academics from China and Pakistan gathered in Beijing on Monday for in-depth discussions designed to explore opportunities for future cooperation as well as the expansion of bilateral investments in each country.
Pakistan's Ambassador to China Masood Khan said Pakistan welcomes trade delegations from China. Meanwhile, his government is also sending trade delegations and investors to various expos and exhibitions around China as one of the ways of balancing trade between the two countries.
In 2010, trade between China and Pakistan grew by 27.7 percent from a year earlier to 8.67 billion US dollars, with Pakistan's exports to China increasing by 25.5 percent and imports by 37.2 percent.
Concerning the priority areas for Chinese investments in Pakistan, the ambassador said Pakistan is looking into cooperative projects in sectors such as energy, telecommunications, infrastructure and port development
However, the unstable political situation and shortage of energy has resulted in foreign direct investment in Pakistan declining during recent months. Some earlier reports have said that due to security concerns, the China Kingho Group, one of China's largest private coal miners, even cancelled a 120 billion-yuan deal to develop coal mines, power plants and chemical plants in Pakistan's Sindh province.
Masood Khan explained that they have taken the necessary precautions in order to guard against malicious groups.
"Foreign investors are as secure in Pakistan as they can be in any part of the world. And some unfortunate incidents did take place in the past, in 2008 and 2004. But since then, no incidents have taken place. We have taken special measures to protect Chinese investment in Pakistan, including paying special attention to the protection of Chinese personnel, their work places and the places where they live as well as their movement from their residential areas to their work place. And they are provided with extensive police and security personnel," said the ambassador.
The ambassador added that the earlier reports concerning the China Kingho Group's cancellation of projects are false. He explained that "the China Kingho Group neither participated in the bidding process nor entered into any formal negotiations with Pakistan".
About 120 Chinese projects are now underway in Pakistan and there are 13,000 Chinese people working there.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 00:58
by KLNMurthy
^^^ @A_Gupta, I think the point of commenting on an incident is to explain it in a larger context. And yes, reiteration has a role to play, for example there are readers who don't "already know." with all due respect, may I say that's another thing I find problematic with our elites: there is a tendency to treat these matters as a trial of their own individual knowledgeability and cleverness instead of looking at them as a part of a campaign. Here again TSP scores over us.
Actually one way to make sense of Mr. Raman's article is to see it as a taqiya drama for the benefit of TSP and amriki readers. Giving TSP some hechandee only. Otherwise on the face of it there is no sense in it since by the same token as "already knowing" Kiyani's hostility we also "already know" his professionalism so there would be no purpose in writing about it either. So that leaves the "praise" and "hail" which would have to be chankian to make any sense, since Mr. Raman of all people is expected to know that TSPA professionalism is not in our interest.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 01:38
by Mahendra
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 01:39
by Mahendra
^NDTV-carrom-ball-spin-on-Aloo-Andey
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 01:52
by svinayak
MFN status to India criticised
OCTOBER 24, 2011 RECORDER
http://www.brecorder.com/general-news/s ... 2/1244975/
Indian national flag was burnt and a rally was organised, here on Sunday, as a protest against declaring India as the most favourite nation (MFN) and extending bilateral trade with the neighbouring country.
The rally began from Chowk Kutchery and ended at Ghanta Ghar under the leadership of Tariq Naeemullah Khan, President of United Citizen Front (UCF).
Addressing the rally, Naeemullah said, "
we are fighting against India since the creation of Pakistan and we never acknowledged it as our friend but present regime gave a status of MFN under the pressure of United States which is detrimental to our industry and economy."
Haji Mehmood Khan said, "
India stopped our waters, constructed dams unlawfully and it is killing Kashmiri Muslims ruthlessly, how can we declare it MFN, he questioned.
Khurshid Khawar said, "
There should be no permission for the transit of Indian goods to Kabul via Pakistan."
The participants shouted slogans against President, Asif Ali Zardari, Prime Minister, Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani and Foreign Minister, Hina Rabbani for playing the role of 'lackeys of India'.
They also shouted slogans against India and United States.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 02:57
by Prem
Mahendra wrote:^NDTV-carrom-ball-spin-on-Aloo-Andey
In True Paxxi tradition of stealing, They have copied Rabbi Shergill Style of Singing.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 03:27
by ramana
sum wrote:Pak military leadership must be hailed: B.Raman
The Pakistan Army resisted that temptation, treated the incident in the low-key in which it deserved to be treated, consciously avoided dramatising it and let the chopper and its occupants fly back to India within a few hours
This speaks highly of Gen Kayani as a military professional.
His positive and cool reflexes as reflected during the incident need to be noted, acknowledged and hailed by India.
The way the Pakistani military and political leadership resisted the temptation to exploit the incident for ulterior purposes needs to be highlighted and praised.
We do not hesitate to criticise what we see as the negative traits and reflexes of the Pakistan Army in matters relating to India.
In equal measure, we should not hesitate to highlight and hail the positive traits and reflexes of the Pakistani military leadership. The manner in which the Pakistani military leadership handled the incident is worthy of high praise.
Should the good vibrations generated by the Pakistani gesture remain an isolated act without follow-up? I don't think so.
This should be used as a starting point for setting up a more substantial military-military relationship between the armies of the two countries as a distrust-reducing measure. This is the time for us to consider inviting Gen Kayani to visit India.
ShymaD's post in Mil Forum:
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 7#p1183847
My rejoinder for compelteness:
I guess the Pakis will cross check this GPS coordinates data with the IAF's helicopter tender!
Any what does our ex-intelligence super cop have to say about this part of the TSP behavior!
Looks ike a bad month for IAF and IA in North East.
Posted: 25 Oct 2011 03:46
by RCase
Ah! now we can figure out the intent of this song - It is all about showing us the 'moderate majority' of Pakis, never mind all the rage boys and girls or the Qadir admiration fan club. I tend to believe this is carefully planned, planted material.
These guys were not afraid of any repercussions? Maybe they are trying to extend the definition of Canadian Visa.