Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

where the Prime Minister was this upset over Pakistan.
Sorry but couldn't notice this anger of his...
IIRC, the only thing he muttered for the entire incident was when he was asked repeatedly on sidelines of the IA day function and his only squeak "It cant be business as usual". Nothing before and nothing after :-?

While it is fine to belittle, insult and ignore Rahul on the internet; BJP on the ground should never underestimate the fully machinery of INC. It does not matter Rahul does not have the charisma of Rajiv, nor can he pull crowds or inspire party workers. Elections are won or lost by the organizational skills and alliances of a political party. It does not matter if Rahul does not have achievements on his belt, there will be losses before wins. Past performance is no guarantee for future performance.

It ain't over till the fat lady sings. It was not over until Duryodhana was split. It was not over until Ravana paid for his mistake. BJP has time on its hands, to build a solid base and case. An early election is not good for BJP (I said it first).

Good grief! in hindsight, it is good that this sycophantic guy did not get selected to the post of UN secretary general. Wonder what Tharoor ji will do next, since his mind has been stirred by Raul G, perhaps try to pick up a stake in an IPL team?

Who could be these " rivals" in BJP?. Prof Vaidya tweeted that Sangha's insistence for Gadkari is only to dis-empower D4.
The Sangh has overruled the objections raised against Gadkari by L.K. Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, saying the financial allegations against his company were levelled by a media lobby they suspected was “put up” by Gadkari’s BJP rivals.

:
:
As the Advani era that had reached its zenith during the Ayodhya movement of the late ’80s and early ’90s appears set to end, the only BJP leader who now seems to “matter” to the Sangh is Modi, a BJP source said.

Armed with Modi’s consent, Sangh chief Mohanrao Bhagwat and his team are confident of seeing Gadkari through.

All eyes will be on the organisational revamp Gadkari effects after his election. What’s of immediate interest is whether he inducts Modi into the central parliamentary board and central election committee, the party’s highest policy and decision-making panels.

If he does, it will signal the beginning of Modi’s shift from Gandhinagar to Delhi to assume the mantle of party leadership in 2014.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1130121/j ... PyCmh0Tg44

Dont know why it was posted in Nukkad!
vishvak wrote:Some tidbits from a seminar organized by "Samagra Vikasa Trust" per link

Arun jeitly and Ravi Shankar Prasad in a twitter meet in Bangaluru
"In twitter there is an element of political unilateralism but it is not preferred in political collectivism" - A Jaitely #twittermeet
".. Using a grp of ultra-leftist economists European socialist model is wht Mrs. Gandhi wanted to follow .." - A Jaitely #twittermeet
"Congress is a crowd arnd the family..In name f reform thy carried out big ticket exhibitionism & in prcess Ind sufferd" - AJ #twittermeet
"... European socialist model what Mrs. Gandhi wanted to follow " (read sarcasm) -
" .. retail in India was always community centric .." - Arun Jaitley #twittermeet
.reforms cant be wht Americans decide as reforms..but v accept thr definition of refrms & our pink papers propogate them
..Howvr thr is only good job creation in Srvcs but not mass job creation. Mass job creation only in manufacturing
..Global econmy moving twrds low cost economy.. Demographic dividend is most misused term
..to tackle this -substitute discretion completely with stated public policy or auctions ..
" .. and SEND A LOT MORE PEOPLE TO JAIL .. shake the conscious of society ..good for country .."
"..two of India's biggest success stories - Telecom & Highways - both slowed down becos of corruption"
..the whole concept of Swadeshi is you must do what suits your national economy .. "
..u see Pakistan has 3 clear thngs - u hav the military & ISI, the civillian govt & the Terrorist (applause)..
u r dealin wth rogue state..negotiatin space is vry limitd&complusions of Pak poltcs wl not allw resolution of issue
..at such positioning & various optns, redlines as use the word mst all b avlble ..China I think is more serious prblm
u r dealin wth rogue state..negotiatin space is vry limitd&complusions of Pak poltcs wl not allw resolution of issue
Arun Jaitley : The Chinese think that they've arrived. So they keep the Arunachal issue alive
Arun Jaitley : A law is not like a wine that if it's old, it becomes tastier
Arun Jaitley : In democracy, governance is a serious policy

Arun Jaitley : The real worth of Indian democracy will not be realised unless we get rid of dynasties.
Ravi Shankar Prasad : Shinde's only claim to fame is Soniaji has appointed a Dalit leader as country's Home Minister
Ravi Shankar Prasad : Legacy of UPA is a suffering India and an insecure India.
Ravi Shankar Prasad : Growth rate of Karnataka under the BJP Government is 8.5%
Ravi Shankar Prasad : Do not be too much worried about MSM. Had MSM been important, NaMo would never have won any elections.
Wordings can differ with person so better to look at ideas even if this looks like direct quote. These are parts of views from opposition party which gets no media space in democracy, while the ruling party gets most of media space even in debates.

Arjun wrote:Urban India will definitely vote for a leader who is self-made...Rahul's hopes lie with the great unwashed masses.
urban india will still vote for kangress. I saw this in my family yesterday it self. With people saying give RG a chance in 14.

Arjun wrote: I don't discount that a lot of smart campaigning needs to be put in...Urban India went largely with Congress in last Lok Sabha elections - but the situation now I think is more conducive to Modi than to the Dynasty.

Lets wait to see what the independent surveys say in a few months....they usually nowadays sample across the class divide. They were not off the mark in Gujarat.
Arjun ji, as pointed out by Muppalla bhai, the long term trend is definitely downward for Kongis and their acolytes. I did risk my neck in the Predictions thread to state that Rahul will never be the PM. But then Kongis do not have to get into the power themselves they have new Jinnahs to do their bidding for them. And Kongis have learnt from the masters of dogalebazzi. Kongis already have successfully controlled the third front types both by propping them up and acting from behind the scenes and by blackmailing them to keep themselves in power.

A benchmark that perhaps can be used is Sardar methodology. Sardar had 550+ people to reach an understanding with, threaten, deflect, chase away and if I am not wrong he took about 2 years to do that. NM will have to take care of about the same level of effort on a proportionate basis.

Even in your Gujarat example you will realize that Kongis have a huge votebank both amongst hindus and muslims, that still will not give NM a chance.

The nature of the cities is that they are a part and parcel of their respective catchment area. The Sanghis have known how to establish relationships with these. What they now need to roll out fast is the negotiations for the seat level campaign.

One way of looking at the Rahul’s so called promotions is that now even their own chamchas are not willing to come forward to take on the heat. This being more an abandonment of the ship, than a real promotion. So yes there is an opportunity but to encash on the opportunity will require a cunning that is greater than that of the opponent.

Basically I am with you on the opportunities part but not on the executions part. NM for example can talk to the state satraps where BJP is setting itself up for a loss and sell some of his own ideation in cooperation with like minded leaders in Sangh.

As and when NM becomes (by self as well as by party) the candidate, he will move to meet all those 500+ decision makers. If the ancestors of those families were convinced by Patel for the idea of Bharat in 1947 especially under the shadow of Nehru, then NM too can win those alliances in 2014.

It is also possible for NM to promise 5k crore package for each of the samstans, if push comes to shove in return for specific initiatives and support ;)

If RG have access to Rs 3L crore planned budget every year as PM of India, NM too will have the money.

RamaY ji, the express declaration may take time since that would be dependent on the expected election dates. But today relationship building is not restricted to mere holding out of promises. These alliances have to be sealed with some common projects being taken up to signify an Expression of Interests. Say for example a local neta or his backer in Karnataka who is unhappy but manageable finding himself a good project in say Gujarat. These take time to roll out unless off course if one is planning to end up like Gadkari ji and his Purti group. And there has been a big gap in relationships since 2004 when Sanghis were in power.

Challo ji, I guess I am being anxious. At least we can always differ.

Sushupti wrote:Who could be these " rivals" in BJP?. Prof Vaidya tweeted that Sangha's insistence for Gadkari is only to dis-empower D4.
Share exact tweet please. Meanwhile I am amused to note that the same people who were bad mouthing Gadakari a while back as a supporter of the mythical D4 are now pitting them against him.

Media must think Indians are morons, and I am not sure if they are wrong.

Sanku ji, correct me if I am wrong, Gadkari bhaiji came in only because nobody wanted the then central leadership to mess up things with their personal competition.

While I was not averse to Gadkari at any point but then he was the joker in the pack from day one. Nobody was really clear on his value. His valuation seems to be dependent on the game being played. Gadkari himself has given out so many contradictory statements and signals that everybody is confused, friends and foe alike.

ravi_g wrote:Sanku ji, correct me if I am wrong, Gadkari bhaiji came in only because nobody wanted the then central leadership to mess up things with their personal competition.
ravi_g, to the best of my knowledge, Gadakari is the epitome of the organizational man, platoon before self, company before platoon etc. His turn around of Nashik as corporater (?) is legendary (some stuff you wont hear) --> a very nuts and bolts person, and completely "communal" and "capitalistic" to boot.

RSS needed some one like that for the organizational building that BJP sorely needed, the 1999 wins were frankly "luck", BJP as a organization was in no shape to actually contest and manage a country wide op at that point of time. A combination of RJM and congress not being its most venal self, took BJP to national power.

However to be consistently present, they have to do a lot of nitty gritty work (Kkta for example is only half Sangh, the rest half of the org is poached from JDS/Congress etc)

Gadakari was brought in as some one who can do this -- Also as has been posted by others before (sushupti posted S R Goels commenting on it in a negative way) -- RSS and the Sangh are obsessed with the organization, they think that the ideology will win if they can build a strong organization like they want. For them, those values take precedence over other skills.

Do not underestemate Gatkari who is well known for his business capabilities. You may not agree or disagree on his morals but there is no doubt on this capabilities for organisation and thinking ahead. But he will be mercilessly attacked by paid and unpaid media from now onwards. Just like they did for Yaddi. BJP now has to make a choice. Where and how it wants to win 2014. They need to think it thourgh and I am afraid they may not have till 2014 and elections may be after March 2013 budget. INC may not want a clear battle lines and amul VP ( VP has a very bard meaning in Telugu) being closely examined. I am also afraid that Amul VP may not be willing to be in India for long duriation alone with no connection to his "frinds" from the other sex. The latest being rumored as an Afghan lady ( we do not know what happend to the Columbian one) So wait for 2013 elections with BJP cought surprised and unprepared.

^^ You know the Bombay-Pune expressway? India's first 6-lane tolled expressway? Gadkari.

He may be mota and does not understand UN from US., or may not be able to fathom strategic thinking - but if he is half as successful as the expressway he built, that would be in itself a great achievement.

Sushupti wrote:Image
Interesting, RG causes stirrings in Shashi Tharoor and it takes a 50 cr. girlfriend to quieten it.

Tells a lot about the youth leader RG - at such ripe age where is his first duty in producing the 8th generation of G? Is he a G of a different kind? Nothing wrong in it per se, but that may be big in Indian politics.

ravi_g wrote:Sanku ji, correct me if I am wrong, Gadkari bhaiji came in only because nobody wanted the then central leadership to mess up things with their personal competition.
ravi_g, to the best of my knowledge, Gadakari is the epitome of the organizational man, platoon before self, company before platoon etc. His turn around of Nashik as corporater (?) is legendary (some stuff you wont hear) --> a very nuts and bolts person, and completely "communal" and "capitalistic" to boot.

RSS needed some one like that for the organizational building that BJP sorely needed, the 1999 wins were frankly "luck", BJP as a organization was in no shape to actually contest and manage a country wide op at that point of time. A combination of RJM and congress not being its most venal self, took BJP to national power.

However to be consistently present, they have to do a lot of nitty gritty work (Kkta for example is only half Sangh, the rest half of the org is poached from JDS/Congress etc)

Gadakari was brought in as some one who can do this -- Also as has been posted by others before (sushupti posted S R Goels commenting on it in a negative way) -- RSS and the Sangh are obsessed with the organization, they think that the ideology will win if they can build a strong organization like they want. For them, those values take precedence over other skills.
Just to clarify that (i don't know which post you have in your mind) i don't agree with the Goel and his group's (Ram Swarup, Elst etc) criticism of Sangh for lack of intellectualism. Infact i agree with your observation on Sangha regarding building organization and rest will follow automatically approach. My problem is with sleeper cell elements in BJP. I wouldn't have agreed with Goel even on Windbag if i hadn't come across many empirical data and insiders telling their experiences. For example: Goel talks about Windbag enjoying company of communists more than his own partymen (in 70s) and ex-commie Sudheendra Kulkarni acting as speech writer and strategist(in 2000s).
Last edited by Sushupti on 21 Jan 2013 11:51, edited 1 time in total.

Sanku ji, don't personally know about Gadkari ji but yes that was my assessment of him once he came out during the time he was recently attacked. In any case Gadkari ji has fulfilled the best role that could reasonably have been expected from him. But base in north maharashtra is not the same deal as base with big guys jockeying for their respective ghodas in central politics. Good people are best left unknown. Helps keep away the wrong sort of bandwagon.

What I have noticed is that you tend to believe that Gadkari has not got a fair chance. I have some more leads on other guys and the difficulties they are going thru. Is it even possible to feel let down for every one of these guys. Besides most of these guys went upstairs in a highly competitive situation negotiating the trickest governance set up anywhere in the world. They do not need be taken care of. Gadkari will get his chance if he keeps his cool which at times he has appeared to have lost. Life is not fair. Chalta hai. But the least one can do is to look out for his own interests.

And do not allow Sushupti ji to get under you skin. He has to take care of a job he took on. Don't the respective handles that the two of you have choosen say something about what you guys have taken up.

Sushupti - Turiya
Sanku (actually Saanku) - Tearful eyes on account of job taken up.

Narayana Rao wrote: They need to think it thourgh and I am afraid they may not have till 2014 and elections may be after March 2013 budget.

Narayana Rao ji, there was a briton who did an assessment of German Blitz and one of the big conclusions he reached was that in a war no side has the benefit of full and secure intel. So between two opponents, one who takes the initiative and one who waits, it is the first one who rolls over his opponent. Britons waited till dunkirk. They lost the first half to Gen. Hienz Guderian.

Rahul seems like the scapegoat for the old guard. These old guard INC have their bets hedged well. If they are able to outsmart Sanghis then they can claim credit. If they fail they have a Priyanka for the next round of merry-go-round. If they finally conclude that dynasty is nasty then they can all collectively blame dynasty and like the Communists of the post cold war eastern urope they can have their way hoodwinking the people yet again. The competition is not with Rahul. He is not even a face. He is just a detraction. The Kongi jocks have never stopped playing the game and are only going to intensify their attacks and intrigue.

In such a situation a proforma fight, based on an SOP, is not a strategy, its suicide. Against the Mayavi you need something that cuts the Maya to reach the truth.

Sushupti wrote: Just to clarify that (i don't know which post you have in your mind)
I am referring to a post from S R Goel's book on his experiences where he says that the Sangh is obsessed with organization and he thinks that it is stupid.

I am only using it as a data point. I dont agree with S R Goel's view on either Sangh or ABV.

^^^ Well said Ravi_g_ji.

ravi_g wrote: What I have noticed is that you tend to believe that Gadkari has not got a fair chance.
:-) ravi_g, interesting. My handle was chosen for the Sanskrit sanku (as in tri-sanku, something I get to hear from Mahdi all the time :(( )

However I do not feel anything for Gadkari-ji. As you said, its a cut throat business, and NO ONE on the Hindu side (even accidentally) has ever gotten a fair chance. Par for the course, something Nitin Gadakari knew well when he took on the responsibility.

I am only trying to keep the record straight on BRF in my limited knowledge and capacity.

Sushupti wrote:...For example: Goel talks about Windbag enjoying company of communists more than his own partymen (in 70s) and ex-commie Sudheendra Kulkarni acting as speech writer and strategist(in 2000s).
Big deal. I already know what I am, I want to know what they are.

http://zeenews.india.com/news/uttar-pra ... 24152.html

Kalyan Singh’s party to merge with BJP, again
BJP leaders including party president Nitin Gadkari, Varun Gandhi, Murli Manohar Joshi, Kalraj Mishra, Rajnath Singh and many others will be seen at the rally today. The party leaders will blow the poll bugle for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections .

Uma Bharti has networked with Gadkari to bring back Kalyan Singh and cement the one-time OBC vote bank with the larger Hindutva support base.

MIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi surrenders in 2005 case

http://zeenews.india.com/news/andhra-pr ... 24178.html
Why all of sudden so much of attention on these two secular brothers?.

Kalyan Singh coming in is a good deed.

There is another thing where things can be turned.

BKU can re-start the agitation for the toll road usage between villages and farms. The whole of Yamuna Expressway is one big point of agitational politics from land acquisition POV. The construction need not stop only an enhanced compensation can be requested :). Remember how the agitation over the township in Noida was used by one of Maya's own people. But unlike him Sangh should avoid disturbing the residential areas. But the Dehati people have a lot of time in their hands. Somebody has got to figure out a way to use that fruitfully.

This time under the influence of Anna's agitation the Noida people elected as their MLA a damn sharief doctor. But this opens up the whole belt for Sanghis in Western UP. Besides RLD has been paying lip service and back stabbing on many issues. They can be poached from. There are large sections of rural road in an abysmal condition in western UP. Coincidently Akhilesh Yadav has mentioned his focus on roads. Obviously he is doing it for you know what. But that means there is an opportunity there. Probably even mull the idea of getting the Sanghi Muslims into the act.

Pyaar ki pakaudi meethi baaton ki bhel
Thodaa noon, thodi mirch, thodi sonth, thodaa tel
Arrey vaah vaah vaah vaah
Arrey vaah vaah vaah vaah vaah

Is Kalyan Singh powerful as he was earlier. His story is one of tragidy of self inflicted nature. He sould have been PM had is continued properly and Windbag used him properly. Widbag CM of UP - One Gupta (GOK who and where is now) killed BJP in UP from that day they are unable to recover till date. If Kalyan can bring the BJP total to around half of UP total - 40 then game over for INC. But it will be hard task. I am not sure if they are all trying hard for UP. We hardly hear anything about UP from BJP may be because Delli4 does not want compitition.

X-post:
sum wrote:As expected, honarary PA to RG, Sheela Bhatt, brings in Madam Priyanka to show how it was a family show:

Exclusive: Priyanka tweaked Rahul's speech
ahul Gandhi's speech on Sunday moved the scores of Congress leaders present at the party's Chintan Shivir on Sunday and startled even hardened members of the media.

But what most people don't know is that the emotional flourishes and notes, the memories about Rahul's father Rajiv Gandhi [ Images ] and grandmother Indira Gandhi [ Images ], the point about his mother Sonia coming into his room late on Saturday night and weeping, in the speech were added by his sister Priyanka Gandhi [ Images ].

It was Priyanka who inspired Rahul and tweaked his speech. Rahul is known to use Priyanka as his sounding board before he makes important speeches and Sunday was no different.

Priyanka flew into Jaipur [ Images ] on Sunday and was closeted with her brother in a room on the first floor of the Birla Auditorium where the Chintan Shivir was held this weekend.

Both brother and sister then worked on the speech through the day, burnishing it till it shone and was sure to make the impact it did finally.

Priyanka was anxious not to be seen by the media and wanted to leave as soon as she could. A request was then made to Congress leaders to trim their speeches, so that Rahul could deliver his speech.

No sooner had Rahul delivered the last line in his speech, an address which received a standing ovation, its emotional architect had left the venue for Jaipur airport, on the way home to her family.
Standing ovation for this moving family drama!!

Dead right about Kalyan. The man who could have been the King. New leaders rising up should learn from the bungling committed in his case. And no Kalyan is not as powerful. It would be fantastical to believe otherwise. You may as well believe in 72 hoories. But what has BJP got to loose. BJP in UP is already in the ditch. Cannot fall from there. :). Besides yes Kalyan has some voters spreadout but they are there under the radar. Kalyan is a good addition but not the key.

UP is such a varied state that nobody has the key to it. Not even the SP. What SP has, is a sendhmaar/chor darwaza attitude. Actually it should not even be looked upon as a state. UP is a left over inertia of the raj taken forward by the heirs of the Raj. The hindus of UP had banded together under Maya in exactly the manner they had banded together under BJP, and for pretty much the same reasons. Even while Maya tried her best to establish a working relationship with the business community for common good of all, her central purpose was to keep herself at the top. Actually between the three of SP, BJP and Maya, the Hindus treat all three as dispensable/usable. For that people should actually be thankful to an extent to Maya bhenji. But while her relevance is fast declining she is still powerful. Certainly more powerful then Kalyan. Again only because of inertia. She knows it, that is why is very paranoid about BJP. She just cannot afford to loose the so called upper caste to BJP.

There just is no way to get 40 in UP without a big wave. That is why I mentioned RLD. Right now with the wherewithal available only that much is doable. For bigger gains, something bigger needs to be strategized. Only then can the SP be countered. SP has a simpler plan of goonda raj that works because the people range between ignorant-corrupt. These guys are a kind of warlords trading allegiances for the little historic life that they know they have. If you want the muscle power to counter SP then you need to re-activate the good old network. Cause a few incidents of showdown with the target painted against the people. You remember the way Mullah-e-yam used to threaten the RJM movement leaders. He knows the only force that can beat him into shape is the hindutva force. Even Maya is not his match in the muscles department. Mullah-e-yam never had any competition from Kongis. So they both sit well together, alter egos, if you may.

But not getting 40 in UP should not even be an issue. There is little point in taking off the clothes when you have not reached the river. BJP has lost badly in these areas and a heck lot of work is required. Good thing is people want BJP to work for them. But nobody will support an indolent attitude. One consistent mistake that people make while dealing with UP is that they treat it as one entity. Well, UP behaves like one entity only with respect to sharing of spoils. Sharing of spoils was one of the two reasons that kept Maya and SP in power. Other factor, off course being Muslims. But these days Muslims are getting a disillusioned lot. They know they are being taken for a ride. A UP ka Yadav is drenched in politics and knows how to exploit an opportunity for himself without handing over anything to their gratuitous voters aka Muslims. SP walas realised the Muslims cannot now go to Maya since she is herself concentrating on the bulk hindu vote with a strong presence of so called upper caste in her kitty. Muslims kahan jayenge? Either they float new parties or they just sulk and go anti national. It was actually in this light that I suggested having a fit and proper Sangh muslim outfit. This may not yield immidiate benefits but it will do two things. One, it will assuage the hurt feeling that the poorer muslims have and the Musalmano ke thekedaars will be forced into the Owaisi mode further alienating them from the main stream. The lay muslim (poorer variety) will be forced to choose either way which means that the committed vote bank becomes vicious but smaller. This kind of mechanics can be started right now and will be good for cutting losses on difficult seats. Then secondly you have a longer term opportunity of actually turning these UP muslims into a fitter model. What people do not acknowledge is that immediately after partition the most vicious kind of muslims changed boats. The muslims of UP while still conservative are not exactly of the same kind that were there before partition. This ideally should have been treated as an opportunity right after partition. Hindus and Muslims do good business in these parts. Each with its own strongholds. Second, the longer term goal will turn UP muslims into a more confident lot that is less in the bag of SP types.

But then the whole of the muslim population needs to be treated as 3/4 different blocks each a part of their respective situ and muslims remaining calm should be looked upon as an excercise in loss management. No man, no ideology, no confidence building measure, no government can turn overnight (in civilizational terms) the distrust of last 1000 years. So such a fantastical goal should not even be tried. But some tentative and incremental movement is necessary. One smaller but ideological problem with BJP was that they allowed themselves to be treated as a Kongi equivalent. Kongis treated all muslims alike. How can anybody in his right mind club a Ghaziabadi or Meerut muslim with urban property and urban aspirations under his belt in the same bracket as the poorer muslims elsewhere in UP. Unlike Kongis, BJP should have a blow cold attitude where muslims are willing to cooperate and a blow hot attitude where they are not. Polarisation is a fact. Starting from that fact there is only to be gained either way. You can loose a voter but how do you loose somebody who is not your voter.

But I would suggest you take your feedback from more then one place. I know about deal making. My knowledge of ground level politics is limited to my immediate surroundings and is at times anecdotal or logical without being empirical.

Such a swift response from BJP. Looks like BJP of early to mid 90s. Is Sonia alive or D4 is not active anymore?.
BJP’s nationwide protest over Shinde remarks
Posted on: 21 Jan 2013, 04:10 PM

http://post.jagran.com/bjps-nationwide- ... 1358764598

There seems to be a move to make Sushma as BJP president now. Surprising.

ravi_g wrote:Basically I am with you on the opportunities part but not on the executions part. NM for example can talk to the state satraps where BJP is setting itself up for a loss and sell some of his own ideation in cooperation with like minded leaders in Sangh.
Ravi ji, I think you are implying that Modi needs to get into some major wheeling-dealing...would agree he needs to do what it takes - but I think we also need to be conscious of redlines. If the nature of wheeling-dealing requires him to dilute Moditva, then I think it is reasonable to pause and step back and ask whether it is ideology or winning that is more important at this stage.

There were some similar thoughts expressed I think by Yogendra and others on the Modi thread a few weeks back.

Arjun wrote:
ravi_g wrote:Basically I am with you on the opportunities part but not on the executions part. NM for example can talk to the state satraps where BJP is setting itself up for a loss and sell some of his own ideation in cooperation with like minded leaders in Sangh.
Ravi ji, I think you are implying that Modi needs to get into some major wheeling-dealing...would agree he needs to do what it takes - but I think we also need to be conscious of redlines. If the nature of wheeling-dealing requires him to dilute Moditva, then I think it is reasonable to pause and step back and ask whether it is ideology or winning that is more important at this stage.

There were some similar thoughts expressed I think by Yogendra and others on the Modi thread a few weeks back.
Winning is the most important thing and everything is secondary. Ideology does not bring wins but only acts as catalysts. After winning, you can implement the ideology. Otherwise another generation loses

X-post:
One knows it is time for elections when a HM of a country calls the majority community as having terror camps and favourite mouthpieces of INC print articles like:
Inside RSS women’s wing: Yes to wife beaters, no to divorce
Following the incident of rape in Delhi, which left a 23-year-old physiotherapy student dead, the struggle for women’s rights and safety has gathered momentum in the country. While one would like to think that women across the country echo the same feelings and are probably equally restless about the patriarchal structure around which they have to arrange their lives, the RSS women’s wing seems to be a study in contradictions.

Participants in a camp organised by the RSS women’s wing. AFP.

One one hand they encourage women to come out of their homes to join a political organisation and organise camps to encourage sports on the other hand they keep reiterating that a woman’s primary duty is towards her family and its well-being.

An Outlook article by Neha Dixit, explores the amusing mechanisms within the women’s section of the party, called the Rashtra Sevika Samiti.

The article traces how the pracharikas or the workers of the group take pride in the fact that they are not backing or demanding women’s rights. Rather, they seem to be content with the fact that they are working towards the creation of a ‘Hindu’ nation. The women’s wing, which has close to 55,000 branches across the country also seem skeptical of the feminist movements working their way against patriarchal domination in the country.

Sushupti wrote:Image
Gandhi should have been holding Nehru in the above cartoon...
Another interesting cartoon:

Is it possible that Sonia is going to kick the bucket before 2014? That would make most stupid people in India to vote for the clown because the clown will start crying 'My maa mar gaai'

Arjun wrote:
ravi_g wrote:Ravi ji, I think you are implying that Modi needs to get into some major wheeling-dealing...would agree he needs to do what it takes - but I think we also need to be conscious of redlines. If the nature of wheeling-dealing requires him to dilute Moditva, then I think it is reasonable to pause and step back and ask whether it is ideology or winning that is more important at this stage.

Hai Ram, bhai ji even if i did say something of the sort request you for a ksahma. Chota bhai samaj ke maaf kar dijiye. :)

But then there is hardly anything that Modi ji cannot do legally, professionally and in keeping with the Dharm. I mean seriously.

And TIFWIW but here is my view on 'Moditva' -

There is just no way that Modi will not be embarrased by the idiocy of some little karyakarta somewhere and then the media would go to town painting that small wrong doing as the hallmark of Moditva. Hindutva had so many run ins with Media and the circus. Hindutva survived only because of the long line of strong dharmnisht people supporting it.

Your good intentions notwithstanding, concept of 'Moditva' looks like a 'hit me' tag pasted onto a person who have not yet claimed it himself.

PMO to Anna Hazare: Govt will soon pass stringent Lokpal bill

After seeing the fate of his political guru PVNR (after loosing power, all the blame was pinned on PVNR), I think MMS is preparing for something big.

Post by amdavadi »

It means Lok sabha election is around the corner.