Modi 3.0 - Bharat

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Rupesh

Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat

Post by Rupesh »

It's a financing scheme not grant. FM expects private sector to borrow (possibly with interest subsidy) to spend on basic research and prototype development. I don't see that happening.We will be lucky if private sector spends even a quarter of that amount.

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 13 Jul 2024 18:35

Rajeshji, I can empathize with your frustration.For a moment May 2014, and then even more in 2019, it seemed that we were throwing off the yoke of being a defeated people for 1,000 years. Fact is we were naive. No country has been able to do this in so short a time. The long war is eternal. A victory in a series of battles does not mean that we will win every battle.

Interests inimical to our state-civilization will not give it up so easily. Let's accept that. Period.

3) Above all, "Don't give up." My grandfather fought for independence, my father sacrificed his career to fight authoritarianism, I am fighting to build an economically stronger India with it's own Tech. My father saw Independent India that his father worked for. I saw the fall of the Left in W. Bengal and Ram Temple. The next generation will see Indian firms stand tall in global commerce, but they also will have their challenges- what I don't know. But the fight will have to go on.

That's a fantastic post Mukesh. Do you have an X account?

JE Menon wrote: 25 Jul 2024 11:14
No JEMenonji. I stay in a part of the world where it wouldn't be judicious to share what I think publicly. Other than BRF my accounts are all scrubbed.

People like us, may not be the majority but they exist in sizable numbers. What BRF has contributed to is ensure that a sizable subterranean group who will carry the story across generations and keep the fire burning.

Not everyone will be able to fight openly but they will keep our stories alive.

Please feel free to share the idea as it can be the story of millions in India. You can always say that you had a conversation with your " taxi driver". :)

Grants to Maldives cut by 48% in Indian Budget. Maldivian President Mohamed Muizzu is close to China.

Grants to Myanmar cut by 32%.

Grants increased for Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Seychelles, and Nepal.

India will continue to provide a grant of ₹100 crore for the Chabahar port in Iran.

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 25 Jul 2024 12:39
No JEMenonji. I stay in a part of the world where it wouldn't be judicious to share what I think publicly. Other than BRF my accounts are all scrubbed.

People like us, may not be the majority but they exist in sizable numbers. What BRF has contributed to is ensure that a sizable subterranean group who will carry the story across generations and keep the fire burning.

Please feel free to share the idea as it can be the story of millions in India. You can always say that you had a conversation with your " taxi driver". :)

Mukesh.Kumar, ji

your style is refreshing and the clarity insightful

Under Congress govt in Telangana - Minority Welfare budget surged from ₹2,200 Cr to ₹3,003 Cr,
Increase of 36.5%.
Worry Some breakdown -
₹33 crore for Ramzan celebrations
- ₹4+ crore for Hajj pilgrimages
- ₹2.4 crore for Tablighi Jamaat gatherings.

Tablighi Jamaat is banned in several Muslim countries as the groups teachings are viewed as “too extremist”. The Saudi government has called the Tablighi Jamaat (Society of Preachers) as one of the “gates of terrorism”.
The Saudi Government said “affiliation with partisan groups including the Tablighi “is prohibited in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia”
Why is the govt spending tax payers' money for appeasement?

chetak wrote: 25 Jul 2024 21:42 Mukesh.Kumar, ji

your style is refreshing and the clarity insightful
Thank you Chetakji. The credit for this goes to being a lurker on BRF for over two decades. Two decades ago, I was totally a wooly-woke liberal who was still rebelling against my father for what he believed in. Chanced upon BRF on a random search while working on a project for valuing HAL :D . Since then BRF, specially reading from well informed posters, like ArunS, Hari Nair, the late RayC, RahulM, Vivek.Ahuja,Deans, Raja Bose, Shiv, JE Menon sir, RajeshC ji, Maitya, KP(P)D ji, senior maulana-Lalmohan, Ramana, Rakesh, Disha, et al, who freely educated the rest of us, has helped form my views.
JE Menon wrote: 25 Jul 2024 11:14 Do you have an X account?

Your post, triggered a question that had been troubling me ever since the elections. I don't know the answer.
TL;DR:
What can we do to ensure that our idea of what India needs to do doesn't die out if tomorrow BRF is banned.
  • We saw, how close it came to an alternate dispensation taking over. And in the past I believe BRF has faced challenges (Barkha episode). An alternate government may not view BRF kindly. With censorship increasing globally, chances are that BRF may get shut down.
  • RajeshC's concern of the setback and the recent not so great news from India, are justified because it reflects the feelings of millions- "We seemed to have finally started moving on the right path, and, then we are again sliding back. Will we ever see the India that we want?'
  • Fact is, maybe not. Maybe not in our lifetime. And maybe not exactly how we dream, the world has seen new ideas and clinging to the concept of Dharma as it should be, is refusing to accept changed conditions. What is important is that we keep on the path, focusing on continuous movement forward.
  • Our ideas will survive if the ideas are spread. I would hazard that the median age of BRF members would be above 40. What happens as we grow older? How do the ideas get passed on? If BRF is forced to shut down, or, even curtail discussion of politics (like we saw after 2014 for a short time), how do these ideas get disseminated? If regular BRFites, have had their faith shaken, then what impact would it cause to others? Where do we go to bolster our morale on those low days? Alone, our ideas will die out, we need critical mass to ensure that the ideas stay alive.
  • It doesn't need to be a ban even, it could be as stealthy as BRF getting listed on one of the Disinformation/ Fact Checking services. Forget Organic reach.
  • Till today, I have tried to personally encourage more people to read BRF for an alternate angle. What next? We can't cede the online space totally?
I am seriously considering whether I should get back on Twitter or a blog.My concerns are not only from POV of where I stay but also, because my business has exposure in Europe and North America.

But I seriously would ask some of the other learned posters to take their work beyond BRF like JE Menon writes for Swarajya and Shiv-ji would do videos on YouTube.

It's highway robbery 101

The arabs cannot be too happy about this

there is a clear and present danger for anyone professing "strategic autonomy", or not willing to toe the gora line

India is squarely in the cross hairs

this is the sharp edge of the failing sanctions regime, a new avatar, that is being used to explore new avenues of coercive leverage

why do you think that India brought back its gold from the UK

EU to transfer1.5 billion euros to Ukraine from frozen Russian assets

https://english.alarabiya.net/News/worl ... to-ukraine

SBI systems not affected by Microsoft outage, says chairman Dinesh Kumar Khara

The SBI system

From the news: Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari announces the end of current toll system
He announces to introduce a new satellite-based toll collection system.

Now at the time exit, tax will be deducted automatically through new system according to the kilometer. It can start within two months.

Money will be deducted directly from bank accounts based on road usage, saving time and money for travelers.
(Various main-stream news sources)

Mukesh Kumarji
Two things:
1. Has the BJP setback brought all those hiding under the rocks and in the crevices come out into the open
2. As James Hadley titled the book: is Vulture really a patient bird. Agreed that 10 year run has increased the expectations of the millions. We need to think of the long race.
Will the 2024 USA elections change anything
Trump will change the Pukraine conflict
But the real implications of this would be wide felt
What will be impact on India??
Impact on the BIF agenda
My concern is if the BIF’s and ecosystem start crawling back into the hiding hole
Sorry to bing US and Trump into this but felt his actions would have wider implications

Lithium deposits have been found in the Mandya and Yadgiri districts of Karnataka.

1,600 tonnes of lithium resources have been found in Karnataka's Mandya and Yadgiri districts, Union Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh, who manages several portfolios including Science and Technology and Earth Sciences said on Friday.

https://www.businesstoday.in/india/stor ... 2024-07-26

SRajesh wrote: 27 Jul 2024 01:48 Trump will change the Pukraine conflict
Now I am torn between which nickname is better. Pakraine or Pukraine. :rotfl:

https://rpdeans.blogspot.com/2024/07/ka ... e-370.html

My latest blogpost on Kashmir 5 years after 370 was abrogated.
My initial analysis showed a sharp decline in militancy and return to normalcy in the State, including a rise in tourists. However, significant gaps
remain in governance. For e.g. Kashmir, which should have surplus power and water is deficient in both. Agriculture (apple farming) has been affected by a policy that favors a handful of importers. The continuing of the unfair IWT is also impacting Kashmiris.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5RJxF27OWg

Walter Russell Mead | The Global Meaning of India’s Rise

This video is about 13:11 minutes long

91,060 views Jul 18, 2024
Walter Russell Mead's address at the National Conservatism Conference in Washington, DC on July 8, 2024.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKd377Ho2XM

Ofir Haivry | A Revised Place for India in Western Foreign Policy?

This video is about 20:52 minutes long

22,780 views Jul 18, 2024
Ofir Haivry's address at the National Conservatism Conference in Washington, DC on July 8, 2024.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Amber G. wrote: 26 Jul 2024 23:03 From the news: Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari announces the end of current toll system
He announces to introduce a new satellite-based toll collection system.

Now at the time exit, tax will be deducted automatically through new system according to the kilometer. It can start within two months.

Money will be deducted directly from bank accounts based on road usage, saving time and money for travelers.
(Various main-stream news sources)
As good as it is to have at least one union minister focus on emerging tech and be open to change i do hope the Roadways ministry and agencies like NHAI etc focus more on road safety in India

The better highways have enabled people to drive at crazy speeds but with the same level of driving ability and rule following as ever before and people are dying by the hundreds every day

We need a strict enforcement on seat belt and helmet wearing, Vast improvements in how we handle "exits" and "ramps" on highways and much much stricter driving tests than currently available especially for heavy vehicles.

The roads in India are killing fields. About 180 lakhs people die in road accidents annually. Of this maximum are youngsters on 2 wheelers. Demographic dividend is being hurt. An equal or larger number are hurt in accidents, many permanently.

Nobody in government is bothered.

2 wheeler manufacturers focus on speed in their ads rather than convenience or safety.

More people are dying in road accidents than of diseases or terrorism.

This is a real pandemic

Kumarji
That's more due to lack of civic sense.
hardly following rules
And even if they get caught what's the maximum penalty a Challan??
of course many escape by warming the ever eager palms
How many loose their driving license per year for driving offences??

Respect for Bharat --

Laos issues world's first-ever stamp depicting Shri Ram Lalla of Ayodhya
The special commemorative postage stamp set was unveiled jointly by India’s External Affairs Minister Dr S. Jaishankar and Lao PDR’s Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Saleumxay Kommasith during a ceremony in Vientiane

Modi interacts with winners of International Mathematical Olympiad

Also Prime Minister personally congratulated Manu Bhasker a short while after she won the Bronze for shooting at Paris Olympics 2024!

Nice!

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 25 Jul 2024 12:39

OK cool Mukeshji. Problem is I'm currently also in a place where posts on X have to walk a fine line. But I'll share it in Discords & WA group as something "from a friend". Thanks. Will edit out names, etc.

Contrast ..
Kashmir,with 94 daily flights at Srinagar Airport, stands as a beacon of progress within India

In stark contrast, POK is trapped in a dismal state, with Pàkistani carriers grounded by EU due to safety issues

Amber G. wrote: 29 Jul 2024 21:45 Contrast ..
Kashmir,with 94 daily flights at Srinagar Airport, stands as a beacon of progress within India

In stark contrast, POK is trapped in a dismal state, with Pàkistani carriers grounded by EU due to safety issues
I had spent time, since a decade ago trying to lobby for longer operating hours for Srinagar airport. Back in 2011, there were no flights after 4pm till 8am. Now its closed from 9.00 pm to 7.30. We need to open up Kargil and Thoise to civilian traffic too, by a subsidy if necessary. My blogpost talks of it.

Pak is unique in that both its railways and airline are degrowing. Inshallah if this trend continues, Pak might be without both railways and airlines.

The locus of terror has moved to Jammu

Jihadis want tourism money to flow into Kashmir, to help Muslims & to fund more jihad. They don't want Hindus as residents but only as tourists. Yesterday, in Anantnag, homes of 4 Pandits were burned to the ground

They also don't want Hindu-majority Jammu to grow & the terror attacks are a way to keep away tourism

So, yeah. Hard to get enthused by busy flights to Srinagar. I will be happy about this situation only if there is demographic reversal in Kashmir

SRajesh wrote: 27 Jul 2024 01:48 Mukesh Kumarji
Two things:
1. Has the BJP setback brought all those hiding under the rocks and in the crevices come out into the open
I think this is very much the case. Straw poll around, a lot of voices that were cowed down are speaking out again. And it's not necessarily a bad thing. And at this moment, if you see the headlines, there's a bit of doom and gloom in the media. Nothing has fundamentally changed but the spin is different. Let's see.
2. As James Hadley titled the book: is Vulture really a patient bird. Agreed that 10 year run has increased the expectations of the millions. We need to think of the long race.
Will the 2024 USA elections change anything
Trump will change the Pukraine conflict
But the real implications of this would be wide felt
What will be impact on India??
Impact on the BIF agenda
My concern is if the BIF’s and ecosystem start crawling back into the hiding hole
Sorry to bing US and Trump into this but felt his actions would have wider implications
++1 to the long game. Whoever comes in the US, how China changes, how Russia changes, we need to stay our course. Just as we would be uncomfortable of an assertive and prosperous Bangladesh, or, Thailand, or Iran, given India's size, no one will want us to develop too much. Whether, Trump, Mailapore Mami, or, whosoever, they will engage with India, and also try to subvert. As we grow stronger, what will happen is that instead of trying to break us, they will try to woo us to their side. Think how Ukraine, or, in the past Pakistan courted the US, EU, China and Russia.

My hypothesis is that if the EU weakens more, then instead of trying to try and 'discipline' us they will try to woo us (something France is already doing). I am waiting for the day the Germans treat us the way they treat China (sharing technology).

US is unlikely to do something similar, because of their size. China, won't. Russia, won't (they have a racial thing in their head behind the bonhomie, and I think those buggers are very mixed up between wanting to be European and being forced to adopt a Russian identity).

All this doesn't matter, because we can't really control they external world. We need to become strong. Technology is part of it, but building a society which is equitable is more important. I truly wish India becomes a Hindu rashtra, not in letter, but in spirit, where alternate beliefs are accommodated. How I don't know.

Muslim girls of Nirmala College in Muvattupuzha, Kerala want to do namaz during college time but nearby mosque which is only 200m away, doesn’t allow women, while it allows male students.

So they ask their Christian college to allot them a room for namaz.

They don’t ask the mosque to change rules. When Catholic principal refuses, they gherao him.

They don’t gherao the cleric for not allowing them in mosque.

This is so absurd.

From @swati_gs

Dedicated to those in Middle-class who were threatening to not vote for BJP again. All the best for future endeavours under CONgress!

Funny thing is Joker and Freebie giver CM Siddaramaiah of KNataka is now urging Nirmala Sitaraman to be removed because she does not have "basic budgetary knowledge". Kya inverted world we live. This Congrass moron created freebie for all women in buses and that tanked the economy/budget of the state. Next he dipped into minority funds to help stave the deficit.
Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has urged Prime Minister Narendra Modi to immediately remove Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman from the Union Cabinet, stating that it is extremely dangerous to have her as Finance Minister without basic budgetary knowledge.
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 460198.ece

BTW I saw Pappu in Chatham house white polo shirt arguing in parliament, what happened to Nehru collared clothing of his great grandpa? He and his cohorts, Shampoo Boy Tharoor too, are wasting parliament's time and energy arguing on useless stuff.

@UnSubtleDesi· 3h

Sam Pitroda runs an NGO called GKI. He co-founded it with two women - one a former advisor to US govt and the other, the current VP of Rockefeller Foundation.

His NGO gets funding from USAID, US State Dept and Rockefeller Foundation.

and the mafia family foundation is also funded by the cheeni

one can't get anymore "deep state" than this

pitgaya runs the IOC, the Indian overseas congress

So, which "deep state" is running the scamgress, the amriki flavor or the cheeni flavor or both :mrgreen:

High time for the NJAC to be implemented

This cowboy on his horse, roaming free in the wild act, leading a life of untrammelled independence has to be stopped

They must realize that they are playing with human lives

every demand for dowry can easily be dovetailed into this dark interpretation

No more dahej, it’s Startup capital onlee

This news is a few days old

Bank of India’s staff union in Kerala decides to pay tribute to Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf.

Removes name from list after outrage

This is a slightly old article but still, it shows the forces in play against the Modi govt, as well as, the Indian state

It also reinforces the idea of the "manchurian candidate"

isubodh

Post by isubodh »

No more dahej, it’s Startup capital onlee

Who can be better Angel investor than Father-in-law.
Excessive dowry focus has killed the in-law relationship. Court well understood the relationship

Nice to see Modi 3.0 has nice plans for Energy.. (See Nuclear dhaga)
>>Bharat's installed power generation capacity has surged by nearly 80% over the past decade, now totaling 446,190 MW as of June 2024.