India selects Typhoon and Rafale for MMRCA shortlist

Re: India selects Typhoon and Rafale for MMRCA shortlist

Avid wrote:Rakesh will be tasked with handling PR and Vishnu's complaints about the meaningless process of having to make you guys compete for the barfis. :mrgreen:
You are right Sir!

Also when I am spending crores on barfis, there has to be a strategic partnership...otherwise I am not bending over backwards for you people...

I am going :rotfl: at the absolutely massive browning of the pants ceremony on deff n dumb and paadf. Total shitfest. :rotfl: When nothing else fits in, it is the Lahori Logic that they find solace in..Yindoo pilots are noobs onlee.. :(( Our pilots are TFTA :(( Bhooke nange bikharis living off US alms & arms talking of 'buying' more F-16s from 'scorned' Unkil. :rotfl:

Pakistan will now run to Unkil and say, "See we told you never to trust those dhotis! If you gave us a similar nuclear deal, we would have gladly bent over backwords for you!"
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

Rakesh wrote:I tried searching for the PIRATE FLIR, but could not come up anything significant.
From "dogfight"
Like the Rafale, the Typhoon “compensates” for the current lack of an
operational AESA radar with a superb IRST system—possibly the world’s
best—called the Passive Infra-Red Airborne Tracking Equipment (PIRATE).
Th e PIRATE system is capable of detecting targets at distances approaching
that of conventional radars. It combines a long-range IRST sensor operating
in the long-wave infrared band with a FLIR thermal imager that is capable of
passively searching, tracking and designating targets for weapons launch. All
system data is seamlessly integrated with the information collected by other
sensors to provide the pilot with a unifi ed track for each target.

ManuJ wrote:It's really interesting to see how many of the posters think that Antony has somehow pulled a fast one on MMS with the downselect. To think that Antony will take this decision without consulting MMS and Madam! People grossly and unfairly underestimate MMS.
What else is MMS responsible for ? the monkey that stole my undie from the line also took permission from MMS ? :roll:

Btw on a serious note the Unkil birds have been chucked out by the IAF even before the matter reaches the MoD leave alone the PMO ; MMS comes into play only if teens would have made the final cut. If SG and MMS had so much say in the affairs of the services then Bofors would not have made it through the field tests so many times.
Last edited by negi on 30 Apr 2011 01:38, edited 1 time in total.

allah ke naam pe, bandar aur j20 ho raha hain na?
MarcH

Post by MarcH »

Rakesh wrote:@March:

1) Is Rafale planned for 2 way datalink in the future? Would be a great addition to have to make midcourse updates to the Meteor. When you refer to external target data, I am assuming you are referring to AWACS/AEW&C aircraft?

French Meteor get the MICA inferface for compatibility issues. I have no idea if le French have any plans to correct that in the future
See this about Rafale's sensor fusion. Pretty interesting...
http://rafalenews.blogspot.com/2011/04/ ... usion.html
Yep, AdlA has been buisy to develop cooperative engagement tactics involving 2 or more Rafales + other offboard sensors. Not only for a2a, the same is applied to engagements to AASM vs. SAM sites for example.

2) Is Rafale planned for a fixed FLIR in the future? I tried searching for the PIRATE FLIR, but could not come up anything significant.

A new IR channel is an option for F4 Rafales, but for now F3 Rafales have to do with the TV channel of OSF IT.
Issue I see for both aircraft is that they rely heavily on MIDS (Link 16 terminal) for their situational awareness. And link 16 needs timestamps from GPS, which is an US system and requires US personel, that provide the respective login codes. Austria for example has now 2 permanent US liason officers in Zeltweg-and they pay for them. :wink:
But India want's to integrate it's own datalink anyway afaik. Maybe one of the most critical issues for localisation, given that both aircraft live by their network capabilities. Rafale even more then Tiffy.
Last edited by MarcH on 30 Apr 2011 01:42, edited 1 time in total.

^ The AC will be MKIized; has happened with even the AC sourced from Unkil so this should not be a big deal.

SaiK wrote:allah ke naam pe, bandar aur j20 ho raha hain na?
The fact that they are begging for more F-Solahs, speaks volumes about the capability of the Fundaar and J20.

Once we get the source code, what can be done with that? Will it help in developing our own systems in the future?

at 30k ft, more so it is for integration of weapon and avionics and electronics system both home grown and third party. For example MRCA can fire local stores (astra) and perhaps Israeli ones. DRDO labs will work on them. We could reuse other pods an probes interchanging with MRCA with MKI or LCA.

For home grown net centric ops, it is of paramount importance that we have source code to work with our doctrine requirements, and AWACs integration.

negi wrote:
ManuJ wrote:It's really interesting to see how many of the posters think that Antony has somehow pulled a fast one on MMS with the downselect. To think that Antony will take this decision without consulting MMS and Madam! People grossly and unfairly underestimate MMS.
What else is MMS responsible for ? the monkey that stole my undie from the line also took permission from MMS ? :roll:

Btw on a serious note the Unkil birds have been chucked out by the IAF even before the matter reaches the MoD leave alone the PMO ; MMS comes into play only if teens would have made the final cut. If SG and MMS had so much say in the affairs of the services then Bofors would not have made it through the field tests so many times.

MMS is so chankian he will let SG take the credit for this one.
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

negi wrote:the Unkil birds have been chucked out by the IAF even before the matter reaches the MoD leave alone the PMO ; MMS comes into play only if teens would have made the final cut. If SG and MMS had so much say in the affairs of the services then Bofors would not have made it through the field tests so many times.
First of all, the IAF was only responsible for submitting the technical evaluation reports. It was the MOD that decided to downselect all except the top 2 contenders - what was preventing it from extending the list to top 3 or top 4?

You seriously think that if the politicians wanted this to be a strategic decision and thus wanted one of the US teens to win, they couldn't have arm-twisted and manipulated the process to ensure that outcome? No, really? The fact that IAF was given the freedom to judge the contenders on purely technical merits means that MMS and Antony absorbed the political pressure and let IAF do its job. Give credit where its due.

Ombaba might have thought if India selects one of the teens then a zillion jobs in massaland could have been created/saved. Now that it did not happen he has to go to plan B. Ask IMF to go easy on Pakis and release the final tranche with bonus. Then the pakis miraculously find some of their own money to get more Fsolas. Voila! Jobs saved. Ombaba is a shoein in 2012.

See the EF page:

http://www.eurofighter.com/

They seem to be happy. Nothing on the Rafale site.

ManuJ wrote:First of all, the IAF was only responsible for submitting the technical evaluation reports. It was the MOD that decided to downselect all except the top 2 contenders - what was preventing it from extending the list to top 3 or top 4?
And pray tell what other evaluation does MoD do ? When the technical evaluation sheet will not have the teens in top slots on what basis will MoD promote the said AC ? Obviously if you are trying to give credit to MoD for not doing Massa's bidding then I am with you afterall MoD is on Unkil's payroll. :roll:
You seriously think that if the politicians wanted this to be a strategic decision and thus wanted one of the US teens to win, they couldn't have arm-twisted and manipulated the process to ensure that outcome? No, really?
I already gave you a live example in form of Bofors (IA has selected Bofors not once but more than twice and yet it has been pushed back by the MoD to re-test 'until Bofors fails'); what politicians want and can do is for everyone to see and read. There is little to speculate there. Point being politicos can rig things once it is out of the services' loop .
The fact that IAF was given the freedom to judge the contenders on purely technical merits means
MMS is no one to give freedom to IAF when it comes to latter's mandate; things haven't deteriorated in India to that level , until now.
that MMS and Antony absorbed the political pressure and let IAF do its job. Give credit where its due.
Boss they would have been tested if IAF evaluations would have had at least one of the teens in second position; it says a lot about the IAF's evaluation where none of the teens qualified despite 2 vacancies.

Btw 2 vacancy rule is stipulated by the MoD (and yes that is for obvious reasons , however if IAF did not shortlist even one of the Unkil's birds in top two slots there is very little that MoD can do unless there there is a excuse to blacklist/disqualify one of the Euro canards on some pretext).
Last edited by negi on 30 Apr 2011 02:36, edited 1 time in total.
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

negi, I am not sure what your argument is at this point. You agreed that if PMO wanted, it could have manipulated the process. On the other hand you are saying that it was only IAF's professionalism that prevented PMO from manipulating the process. Are you implying that PMO tried to manipulate the process but IAF heroically resisted the pressure? Or that IAF, by selecting the Euro-canards as the top 2 contenders, tied the PMO's hands? In either case, I would say that you are being naive.

ManuJ wrote:You agreed that if PMO wanted, it could have manipulated the process.
Where , you seem to in some onther world.
On the other hand you are saying that it was only IAF's professionalism that prevented PMO from manipulating the process.
I am not even implying that PMO tried to manipulate the process, all I am saying is that PMO cannot manipulate the evaluation process even it wants to and hence it cannot take credit/blame for technical evalutaions done by the IAF it's as simple as that. The Politocs can best throw spanner in the works just like the Bofors , once it was in contention they could not force IA to not select the gun obviously after the dog and pony show now that the gun maker has decided to withdraw from the tender IA can't do much , can it ?

Similarly IAF's evaluation of the MRCA contenders is a apolitical process unless you have any data to prove otherwise. Having said that the final winner Rafale/EF would obviously be chosen by the Gobmint and IAF has little say in such matters (akin to Mig-29 over the M2k). That is why MoD wanted 2 final contenders.
Are you implying that PMO tried to manipulate the process but IAF heroically resisted the pressure? Or that IAF, by selecting the Euro-canards as the top 2 contenders, tied the PMO's hands? In either case, I would say that you are being naive.
Hey Boss I did not bring in MMS and other BS into this thread; it was you who made claims about his mythical influence on the MRCA deal.

To clarify I will definetly give the credit to the MoD/PMo for selecting the Rafale over EF which is different from teens not even making the cut in IAF's field tests; basically the latter is all about 'what the AC can do' while the former is concerned with 'What the supplier country can do'.

Some interesting graphics on Rafale ...

ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

I was replying to posters who were ready to put a halo around Antony's bald head, and especially to this statement "Antony-ji has closed the door on the possibilities for MMS by the very public down-select."

No point taking it further.

Thanks Srai.

can you look at C/M threat?
MarcH

Post by MarcH »

Thanks Srai. The first two grapics show what I tried to describe some posts above. And they underline the importance of Link 16.

The last table is BS in my opinion. The numbers quote for Tiffy and Rafale are apples and oranges. The Rafale price is taken from a document of the French senate for fly away costs,
while the number for Tiffy is the T3 contract price devided by the number of airframes ordered. But the T3 contract includes an upgrade of all existing T2 aircraft. For comparison the upgrade
of F1 Rafales to F3 standard costs roughly 30 mill €.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Seems like babus are smarter than people give them credit for. They are buying the equipment where it makes sense and buying others' stuff when it makes sense despite diplomatic pressure. It is good for India to remain independent in these matters. The most salient point here was that strategic partnerships do not hinge on awarding a fighter contract. They hinge on natural long-term convergence of interests. If there is such a thing between US-India, then a strategic partnership will emerge. If there isn't, then it won't, no matter how many fighter contracts are awarded. K

The teens aren't as good for the IAF and the defense agreements are not in India's interests. However if as per BRF all dharma/morality/universal good would be destroyed by selecting F-16/F-18, I wonder why they were invited in the first place. I am amused but not surprised at the constant moral lecturing given to Americans in this thread over a fighter contract. Amused, because India is still buying many billions of $ of US equipment. Khan will huff and puff for a little while over this one, but LM and Boeing already look to have accepted how things stand and are working to get different contracts.

Of 2 left in competition, I want the one -

That goes further, carries more weapons and is a better ground attack/SEAD fighter!!! IMHO India needs a stealthy deep-penetration strike aircraft that can give confidence to Brass/Politicos to not shy away from pre-emptive air raids on pig-o-panda land. Indian threat of pre-emptive air attacks needs to gain both, credibility in enemy’s mind and confidence in Airforce/civil leadership. Next air war should be fought on enemy airspace.

I am just amazed that no one has even considered the possibility, in last 14 pages, that it is fair and square process under "Mr Clean" and "sober" PM. Doing anything else could put you on jail for a long time. We have several billionaires, federal ministers, CEOs, Chief ministers and high profile MPs locked up in Tihar for corruption. I think it is going fair and square as IAF promised and MoD supported over the years.
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

Katare wrote:I am just amazed that no one has even considered the possibility, in last 14 pages, that it is fair and square process

The gem is hiding here. The honorable Mr. Naresh Chandra tells it as it is. This is exactly how I feel, even though I will never be able to articulate it as clearly as the ex-ambassador.

'Life of the IAF pilot is more important than ties'
http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110429.htm

Every sentence from him is a gem and it is worth reading in full. I have posted some here...
Strategic decisions are never decided by marketing sophistication or influential lobbying. It is decided by the strategic factors only
You can't go by strategic relationship only. What will you do with strong strategic relations if you lose the war with technically-inferior aircrafts
The type of relationship that exists between the US and Pakistan Air Force what is the guarantee that our system won't be leaked to Pakistan's system? If that happens, India's advantage would vanish
Why should I even take the labour to explain that the Indian government would look after the interests of the Indian Air force and not any bilateral relations? That goes without saying."
Last edited by rgsrini on 30 Apr 2011 05:28, edited 1 time in total.

Some interesting quotes from the Naresh Chandra interview 8)

Few people have said these things as powerfully as he has put it. Not even me - when I made at least a couple of his points

http://www.rediff.com/news/slide-show/s ... 110429.htm
"Such decisions impact our 30 to 35 years of defence capabilities. You can't go by strategic relationship only. What will you do with strong strategic relations if you lose the war with technically-inferior aircrafts," Chandra asked.
Asserting that the country buys arms and fighter jets to win wars and not to build relationships, he said, "The bottom-line of such a purchase is the requirement of Indian Air Force. It is the duty of political leaders to provide the armed forces what suits them best."
Chandra said Pakistan already had an advantage on the issue, as they have many-decades-old defence ties with the US.

He explained that Pakistan had the F series jet fighters since the last many decades. The Americans were offering the advanced version to India and Pakistan. Pakistan is much ahead of India in maintaining log sheets of it with rich experience of 30-plus years.

Chandra asked, "The type of relationship that exists between the US and Pakistan Air Force what is the guarantee that our system won't be leaked to Pakistan's system? If that happens, India's advantage would vanish."

He also said that even US armed forces opt for foreign purchase when it suits them.

Chandra said, "When the government takes such a decision, strategic relations do not have even 50 per cent weight because no country wants to buy fighter aircrafts, weapons and ammunition to lose war."

He added, "Why should I even take the labour to explain that the Indian government would look after the interests of the Indian Air force and not any bilateral relations? That goes without saying."

I would take all hyperbolical statements about the Tiffy's current avionics with a spoon of salt. afterall its the british press we are talking about here - astute class best in world, john terry best centerback in the world, rooney best striker in the world, .....

not that tiffy is not a great plane, but sometimes guerilla marketing puts future capability as current capability.

both will wipe the floor in most circumstances of ACM vs the F18 or F16-50+ though...and indeed they seem to do it routinely in nato exercises.

the M88-4-eco should close the gap between M88-2 and EJ200 and Rafale being a lighter airframe give it a scary new level of performance better than the tiffy even....and the tiffy was scary to start with...

PAF probably lights a bonfire under every F16 when these operate from POK to keep them warm and startable.

kind of like waving a flag that says "mug me" when IIR equipped Rafale's come with 6 AASM :rotfl:

This is my first post on these new developments.
Everyone should accept this fact that IAF's higher standards are playing a good field game and definitely substandard american aircrafts or any other aircraft from any other country (including India) do not stand a chance against those high standards and that is praiseworthy ..

But, there is a little error that we all are making .. ie if Rafale was amongst the best in mrca class of aircrafts , which it is ...and if ultimately we go for a next gen mirage ,which it is , and hopefully we should select it for the best reasons of simple logistical support.....then was it necessary to carry out this long process of bureaucratic masquerade from the beginning itself ?, wasting a decade of preparedness and the risk associated with smaller airforce and a much higher price tag to come, was it necessary? Why we didnt go for Rafale directly, checking it on those 600+ characteristics and selecting it . ie someone in MoD respossible for all this must answer...
cheers
Last edited by Samay on 30 Apr 2011 06:32, edited 1 time in total.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

shiv wrote:Some interesting quotes from the Naresh Chandra interview 8)
Apart from Naresh Chandra I believe credit also goes to defence minister AK Antony. He explicitly mentioned to IA and IAF commanders ONLY that we need to strictly follow ethical procedures and stay away from corrupt practices. This guy seems to be knowing what his priorities are.

Russia loses deal of the century to Europe: Pravda
Russia was certain from the very beginning that her aircraft would win the tender. Indian experts also estimated Russia' chances for the victory as very high. The MiG-35 fighter jet was taking an advantage over its competitors with its lower price.

Now Russia has received the official refusal from India. On Thursday night, Rosoboronexport and MiG design bureau received a letter in which the Defense Ministry of India informed about the preliminary results of the tender which was announced in 2007. The letter contained the detailed analysis of the drawbacks of the Russian offer. One of the claims is reportedly about the engines.

Russia's Defense Ministry earlier said that it was planning to purchase 26 deck-based MiG-29 and not less than 72 MiG-35. The contracts have not been signed yet. The price of those fighter jets may turn out to be too high for the home market now, after the loss in the Indian tender. If Delhi had purchased the Russian jets, the largest contract would give an opportunity to set the home price for the jet a lot lower.

Experts believe that India's choice for European aircraft makers is based on the intention to obtain the technologies required for the realization of its own TEJAS light fighter jet program. The Russian technologies, which India could obtain with MiG-35 jets, do not fit the program.
aditya.agd

Post by aditya.agd »

Just saw Vishnu's programme on NDTV. He is trying to make a political issue and downplay IAF's decision, with his own pre-conceived decisions. Absolutely horrendous report. Looks like he is lobbying for American technology.

How come these journalists have got so much power? Indian people must be able to reject such biased reports.

There must be courses to prepare a new breed of detailed oriented Journalists. May be Anderson Cooper be able to train them in detailed reporting.

Looks like he is lobbying for American technology.
He should be lobbying for the Grip!!!!

Did he switch sides?

kaments from this article posted - http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 4#p1079414
...why India won't buy American: India has seen Pakistan's suffering as a result of its almost complete reliance on US military equipment, with the US imposing sanctions on Pakistan every now and then. India is no fool, and will not fall into our trap. It knows we are not reliable allies.
8)

i do not see any logisitical commonality between the M2K with Rafale to give it any advantage in that dept vs the Tiffy.

the cockpit in new concept one with side sticks for throttle and flying, the radar is different, so is the EW suite, the FCS is surely different due to canards, the engines are different , the undercarriage is different, geewhiz triple weapons racks.....the only potential commonality (after we use the M2K upg) is Mica and AASM weapons.

Rafale will not use older weapons like matra BGL, 530D, 550 magic, armat, durandal or the Atlis pod for sure. thales damocles pod or rafael litening-4 pod will be it + AASM + mica both versions + meteor + third party weapons like astra, sudarshan, python5(this I hope...because its a counter to the AIM9x)

we are still stuck with 1990s tech in the new/upg Jags and the Mig29S/M2K upgrade....all stuff thats already seen long service in the tornado Gr4, Mirage2000-5 and F-16-block50+ types.

we need a next-gen spear to strike deep and hard into tibet and mainland china tactical and BAI targets with heavy bombloads and self-escort...commonality with dated eqpt is to be SHUNNED in favour of android 4.0/iphone5 stuff :twisted:
shukla

Post by shukla »

Taking off
Indian Express

The author suggests this process of procurement should be a model for all future procurements.. (should have been the case all along)
The salient facts of the process this time round must be noted and cheered.

First, it has been transparent, with rejections made on technical grounds. The two MMRCA selected performed the best in trials and were seen to be closest to the Indian Air Force’s (IAF) requirements.
Second, it was the IAF’s technical expertise that determined which contenders stayed on, without political interference.
Third, the spectre of scandal in defence procurement that has haunted the UPA government would stop arms purchase at the slightest hint of controversy.

As a result, while trials and tenders were falling prey to such fears, the Indian armed forces were being undermined as an institution, blunting our conventional response capability. The IAF itself has seen a sharp decline in squadron numbers. The MMRCA bidding process so far is encouraging, and it should mark a new beginning.
shukla

Post by shukla »

IAF deal: US cos want to know why they lost
Indian Express
The speculation is whether Washington will seek to reverse this decision by crying foul about the selection process.
This was the Air Chief's concerns all along.. (Is there any legal alternative for them to do such a thing??)
The US companies hope to get explanations that will let them better understand Indian processes and procedures with an eye to future competitions.

French/European Research in GaN based technologies for AESA and other applications:

Authors are people from Univeristies, Thales Airborne Systems, United Monolithic Semiconductor [Joint Venture between Thales & EADS] and other places that have direct/indirect contribution to future of AESA for Eurofighter and Rafale.

1) Korrigan Project
http://www.reveyrand.fr/publications/54.pdf

2) 43W, 52% PAE X-Band AlGaN/GaN HEMTs MMIC Amplifiers
http://www.microwave.fr/publications/75.pdf

3) State of the Art 58W, 38% PAE X-Band AlGaN/GaN HEMTs microstrip MMIC Amplifiers
http://www.reveyrand.fr/publications/52.pdf

4) GaN transistor characterization and modeling activities
performed within the frame of the KorriGaN project
http://www.reveyrand.fr/publications/54.pdf

Lots of papers here to get some idea of future right from horse mouth. I will keep people updated on more news on AESA development from EADs and Thales.
http://www.reveyrand.fr/publications
Last edited by Sumeet on 30 Apr 2011 08:45, edited 1 time in total.

We can get an idea of the F-16s performance in Leh by finding out if the Pakistanis have ever deployed the F-16As at Skardu.

IMHO similar latitude and environmental conditions, though Leh is even higher altitude.

The Block 60 / Block 70 that was on offer to the IAF must have been heavier than the vanilla block 10 /15 that the pakistanis currently have (before the upgrade and the new block 52s).

If the pakistanis ever deployed the F-16s from Skardu, it couldn't have been with any greater load then two odd AIM-7s, or AIM-9s and maybe a drop tank.