Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

mahadevbhu wrote:Don't you miss all the windows shortcuts? I miss them on the macbook. Navigation is funny. Icons size is small.

sucks
Nah. What short cuts? I always use the GUI, just as the Mahdi wanted, but of course Command + Q is the exception! :mrgreen:

Icons can be resized.

I hate the MacBook clickpad otherwise its ah fahn machine! The new MBPs should be much better than the recent ones - their main HW guy is back after wandering around other companies for a few years.

Installed developer version of new OS X - Yosemite 10.10. Looks good so far but nothing new from Mavericks (10.9) except for more integration with iPhone/iPad ecosystem.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

vina wrote:Ah. Repent and adopt the one true faith. The Mahdi's genius in the MacBook beckons. As a convert, I highly recommend it. I simply cannot use a Windows laptop every again. I find the UI and the stuff all at sea when I try to use my wife's laptop now. The use of the touch pad for the swipe and other motions instead of touch navigation on the screen is pure genius.

So.. there you are. MacBook !!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
No can do saar. Abdul proposes, company bahadur disposes :((

Plus, the Ultrabook is a pretty good device, apart from the trackpad. Speaking of which, are atrocious trackpads the norm now? My previous Thinkpad's unit was terrible. SHQ's Vaio does no better. Whatever happened to the trackpads that were supplied about five years ago? They were uniformly precise, rugged, and easy to use. Is multitouch so important that it has to be implemented regardless of whether it compromises the basic functionality of the device? Or has the F-35's design philosophy seeped into the personal computer industry too? :twisted:

I was ' that close to buy the 15 retina wala.. few things that stopped me.. touch screen, and the recent announcement of going broadwell arch for 2015 OS.. enhancements that is worth waiting.. touch is required for me now.

so, I'm planning to stay put with my yoga 2 pro.. even with a semi jaundiced look and feel for the yellow only. if I disable the auto brightness feature to save power, it appears better than with it. I am okay for the price-performance aspect.

probably I shall merge my mac book wala along with photo shop needs later. 2015 for me, it shall be!

and hopefully, finally I have my own PC (personal). KB wala, I don't want to mess with it any more. too much monitoring softwares. kids have now two PCs - one all in one (got a good deal last thanks giving), and an hp wala on a nice discount as well.

so, except my all in one i3, rest of the used pcs are i7s, with yoga as the haswell.

Mihir wrote:Just upgraded to Windows 8.1 on my Dell Ultrabook. Their trackpad design is starting to piss me off.
No one aside from IBM got that thing working correctly. Dell's trackpad has some kind of hysteresis it continues to track even after lifting the finger if you apply a bit too much force.

I for one am surprised that Vina sir converted to MBPs this late. :mrgreen:

I have a 2011 model running on i5 , all I can say is I have not installed a single anti virus SW on it in last 2+ years it still starts and shuts down a lot faster than my KB's T 420 which runs on i7 and has a 16GB RAM.

My mid 2010 15" MBP still runs strong. 8GB RAM and an SSD has been enough to keep it running like new, years later. When the times comes, I will probably replace it with a retina MBP, unless there's an Air with a high res screen by then.

pandyan wrote:For some reason mb dont have hdmi out. This is probably 1 big reason preventing me from switching over
MBP Does.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

negi wrote:No one aside from IBM got that thing working correctly. Dell's trackpad has some kind of hysteresis it continues to track even after lifting the finger if you apply a bit too much force.
Okay, I didn't know that the issue existed until you wrote about it. Now I can't stop doing it, and it is going to become a habit. Damn you :evil:

Guru log I have a note 10.1. Since this morning I have noticed that it is showing software update package is downloading. Is it downloading kit kat. As a search on Google suggested that the same.

Am confused onlee.

^ I think it is tied to the employee ID/corporate email and is region specific (EMC used to give it free in US but not here in desh) .

pandyan wrote:For some reason mb dont have hdmi out. This is probably 1 big reason preventing me from switching over
Yes. My MBP does (15" retina, i7 quad core, late 2013/early 2014 with the latest chipset). But then, this HDMI out is nothing a thunderbolt to HDMI adapter (which I am sure Phroot will sell online) will not fix , which will make sure that Mahdi in heaven smiles approvingly with Phroot's cash register goes ka-ching!

negi wrote: No one aside from IBM got that thing working correctly. Dell's trackpad has some kind of hysteresis it continues to track even after lifting the finger if you apply a bit too much force.
Not true. Phroot's touch pads were historically very good and creams everyone else's.
sampat

Post by sampat »

on Reddit people are selling msdn licenses for 10-30$. Go for the verified seller with long list of trades-

on this thread Project 2013 is for $10. This guy has 70+ confirmed trades.
sampat

Post by sampat »

there is a risk but so far no complaints have come forward and he has already sold more then 70 licenses. MS usually reject the active key for new installation. He might be admin in school or other big organization that has access to MSDN keys.

negi wrote: No one aside from IBM got that thing working correctly. Dell's trackpad has some kind of hysteresis it continues to track even after lifting the finger if you apply a bit too much force.
Not true. Phroot's touch pads were historically very good and creams everyone else's.
Only if you are on herps. :lol:

Marten wrote:
SaiK wrote:kb wala provides ms hub discounted price for visio and office. i got them each for 10 bucks each.

now that is it.. i needed ms project pro.. that is not available.. there are certain things I need to keep away from kb wala machine/ any info as to cheaper versions out there? anyone willing to sell their license to me?
I don't have any licenses to sell to you mama, but I want that 10USD license you got...
It is $9.95? I am planning to buy another ms office 2013 prof plus one for my yoga 2 pro soon. I can buy another one for you if you want.
===

ooops! i jumped the gun. I just tried to buy one, and it said:
HUP Request
You have already requested for HUP license and it was processed.
I think it is one per yer per emp.

everyone's favourite co here norton ink and its next move
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 976484.cms

Who is Norton Ink? Peter Norton lost his marbles?? :mrgreen:
Microsoft and Intel are providing technology inputs for a Bangalore-based startup that is building touch-enabled computing devices or ultra-books that will be launched later this year.
So NotionInk has joined the ranks of PC assembly shops from Nehru Place and will be using Intel processors and Windows :lol:
"It is a big inflection point for us," said Rohan Shravan, 28, founder of Notion Ink, who launched Adam five months before Apple placed the first version of the iPad on store shelves in April 2010.However, in the ensuing months as the iPad gained iconic status, Adam dropped by the wayside, felled by the lack of risk capital to grow the business.
Mean-e-while, Shravan babu has upgraded his snake oil salesman skills and learned YumBeeAye speak.....inflection points, technology inputs, risk capital. No mention of a piss poor product with crappy execution served with dollops of bull droppings :mrgreen: He is truly the Kejriwal of Indian startups.
Notion Ink's touch-enabled ultrabook will be a convergence of an ultrabook, a tablet and a laptop. :shock: :rotfl:
It will be an ultrabook, a tablet, a laptop, a PC, an input device, an output device, a networking device, an audio device!!!! ZOMG! Revolutionary! 8) 8)

And mean-e-while, the Diggy Raja of tech media and everyone's favourite uncle-ji is trotted out to make some inane comments...
"This is how things are done here in Silicon Valley: big companies know they can't innovate like startups can, so they partner with them and acquire them," said Vivek Wadhwa, (hint hint, NotionInk can be get acquired by Microsoft or Intel :shock: ...er...with the same probability as Lauren Holly marrying Jim Carrey in Dumb and Dumber :eek: ) a fellow at the Rock Center for Corporate Governance at Stanford University, who is an evangelist for low cost tablets such as Datawind's Aakash. In India, Intel has also partnered with Noida-based mobile phone maker Lava to launch the Xolo smartphone.
Earlier this year Microsoft announced a partnership with Gurgaon-based handset maker Micromax to offer Windows-powered smartphones. "Microsoft and Intel are both worried about the rate at which the market is shifting," said Wadhwa. "It rapidly went from desktops to laptops to tablets.
Uncle ji didn't get the memo that tablet sales are stagnating too. Maybe he only reads his own tripe. Tablets are not replacing laptops as predicted by learned pundits and snake oil salesmen few years ago. Essentially upgrade cycles have lengthened for all categories leading to decline in sales.

As talked about on this dhaaga many moons ago...an example of how a browser is a run-time environment as opposed to embedding a browser control in a native app.

http://www.engadget.com/2014/06/13/fire ... n-android/

uh oh, lets not reopen that debate again lest vinaji spot it on IRST and engage.
last time I think 3000 undies were torn and tattered in melee combat.

Hopefully by now he has shed enough of his YumBeeAye coils and is moderately enlightened :lol:

Raja Bose wrote:Hopefully by now he has shed enough of his YumBeeAye coils and is moderately enlightened :lol:
Pah.. I am getting more YumBeeYead by the day. For eg, I have been rather skeptical about this entire run up in this market about Modi coming in and abracadabra things are fine "acche din aa gaye " stuff. I wrote in the Modi sarkar dhaaga about asking Indra Dev to send in the monsoons and keep El Nino out, but got yelled at by the Yahoos here, added that, it now looks like Iraq is coming apart and if there is any disruption in the southern provinces or if there is Iranian intervention and a general Shia-Sunni war (which I think is inevitable in the medium to long term, even if they manage to keep an immediate lid on it) oil supplies will be severely take it in the gonads and the global economy will be flushed down the Pakistan with Indian markets following faster than you can say "Har Har Modi". Nothing Modi does in the near term call pull it back up. Even with Modi's best efforts , it will be atleast a year before we see any effects on the ground, the Congress really left a scorched earth for him.

What is all this and YumBeeYea you ask. Well, the past few days, there have been a lot of footfalls from so-piss-ticated investors (institutions, phamily aapish and HNI onree thank you, no retail abduls which will see me go to jail if I take their money) who are showing up and singing hosannas about Modi and how they are excited about India etc, etc , and handing over money ! Well, what goes my father's . True YumBeeYea ishtyle, I smile, do chai biskoot, I offer chai/kaapi, but the so-piss-ticated folks want Soda (Coke,Diet Coke mostly), I put posh Upper West side accent on , sip my Kaapi and ( in daily use, my accent has mean reverted to Desi Indian onree now :(( :(( , no longer the Phoren Amreeki ) do schmooze moozche and take the money! Phack..I even wear a proper trouser and a shirt and shoes and actually dress up when some of those posh so-piss-ticated types show up and don't try to be phata abdul.

Modi or not , up or down, I look to make absolute returns, charge my share and collect the fees, if the other guy thinks that it is Modi magic, who am I to disabuse him of his delsusion? After all, en-mo is something that cannot be taught but realized! :twisted: :twisted: . And you never say no to the gift horse in the mouth!

Maybe I should post this in the e-con-o-mic thread and Modi Sarkar thread as well, but on second thoughts , maybe not. The Modi Stuti singers will bust their spleens.
Welcome to YumBeeYea giri ji. Welcome to Modi Sarkar ji (but pray to Indra Dev, there will be a lot of pain if he is in gussa). Har Har Modi etc..

So vina mullah is now man-e-middle dalal :mrgreen: Like I told my stockbroker cousin who was giving me some BS his boss fed him about how his bonus will go up when it is a bull market onlee....you are a middle man, you must make money both ways - when the market goes up and when the market goes down.

pandyan wrote:http://www.businessinsider.com/hp-shows ... ter-2014-6

HP Shows off new kind of computer...

anyidea what the viability of this thing is?
Worked with Stan Williams on this long back. Was vaporware then.

Fruitco products are the best bar none. That applies to MBP (yes a few nitpicks but any typical windows maal will make you want to chew your foot off. Yes that includes surface. Bite me*). It also applies to iphunwa. If they introduce a 4.7 incher, unless you want infinite customizability and different price points, it will be the optimum phunwa. And router. Gawd routers!! Why can't anyone build a decent router? After shelling money to everyone and their grandma, I finally bought an airport extreme. First router to be trouble free.

*Used surface. Mickey is doing a lot of things well these days. Surface is not one of them. In fact it is worse than a Samsung product and I will tell you why. They put in so much effort and added so many gimmicky feature (as opposed to Samsung who put in no effort and come up with gimmicky features. Samsung 1 Microsoft 0). At least in Samsung phones you can turn off the gimmicky nonsense and have a decent phone. In M$ case, it is a shitty laptop *and* is a shitty tablet. And costs an arm and a leg (Samsung 2 M$ 0). It is as though Microsoft tied the legs of the last finishing 100m race athlete and last finishing marathon athlete and sold it to you as a fellow who can run marathons and 100m sprint. Yes I reserve my unqualified hate for surface. Especially because they tried so hard, the build quality is so nice, the screen is so sharp and responsive. So much battery life and computing power inside so thin a package is an engineering marvel. The shitty size, stick on keyboard, windows key on the side and useless kickstand ruins it all.

Buy a macbook air and a iPad mini instead.

Used a surface. The new one. It is an interesting product that is not suitable for 90% of the people out there. I will tell you why.

So what is the difference between a tablet and a laptop. For that matter what is the difference between an android phone and an iPhone? From waaay up above, there is not really much difference. However it is the details that matter. And thats what makes the experience so frustrating.

First surface as a laptop. I reserve my unqualified hate for the kickstand and the keyboard. First the keyboard. I have a tendency to move my laptop using its base whenever I put it on my lap, take it off etc. You cant do that on a surface. Technically you can but it is like moving an expensive book by dangling it by its cover. Makes me wince every time. Second the keyboard quality. It is the shittiest laptop keyboard I have ever used and I include the thin Sony viaos they used to sell circa 2005. Make no mistake, considering its thickness and the way it attaches it is a marvel. But it doesnt detract from the fact that it is the worst laptop keyboard ever. Much much worse than FruitCo or Thinkpad. Even manages to be worse than the generic stuff put out by Dell, HP and Asus. In fact, I have never owned a laptop with such a bad keyboard. BUT When compared to typing on glass in a tablet it is 1000 times better. This captures my dilemma with the Surface perfectly. The goalposts get shifted. It is the best tablet keyboard in a laptop. But the worst laptop keyboard ever. it is like saying I am the best poet among scientists and the best scientist among poets. Next the kickstand. It is the best kickstand ever, but 10 times worse than a laptop hinge. It takes up some distance from the base so if you have it on your lap, you push the surface towards you. For a big fellow like my my arm feels cramped. You can use a laptop lap stand thing (like Mortullah’s ahem ahem wedge). But it topples off of it because most lap wedges are the width of the base of most laptops which means that there is no support for the kickstand to come down unless you have 1/4th of the keyboard poking out, you get the idea.

I do like the 3:2 form factor, how sharp the screen is, how responsive the laptop is. I found the pen to work well, but I didnt use it at all.

Next as a tablet. It is like how you feel when you see people use their iPads to take photos. It is huge as a tablet. To the point of being useless as a tablet. Point of a tablet is to be small and light so you can use it in one hand. This is definitely a two hander. Plus touch targets in the center cannot be reached while holding the tablet in both hands, which makes the other hand tire, so you keep it on your lap anyway which means I could have bought a laptop. It is thicker than various Nexii and iPads I have tried. Somehow feels heavier too (I didnt check the weights to compare). It feels like how you’d feel while carrying a laptop on your arm from one place to another.

So there you go. It is a bad laptop and a bad tablet. But I wholeheartedly agree that among tablets it is the best laptop. And among laptops it is the best tablet. And manages to be extremely well made.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Anujan wrote:Gawd routers!! Why can't anyone build a decent router? After shelling money to everyone and their grandma, I finally bought an airport extreme. First router to be trouble free.
Can you explain pliss? Are there any problems with the stuff that AT&T/Verizon/Comcrap provide you with your internet connection? They always seemed to work fine for me :-?

This is a funny one.... Daily Show feature on Google Glass :rotfl:

To be honest, this is what Google Glass's display should have been. This is by an Israeli company called LUMUS. Came across them during Augmented World Expo. Totally normal looking lens-based display (uses a sequence of prisms vs a single prism in Glass's display), the lens can be prescription lenses unlike the weird bolt-on solution in Glass and the design of the display inherently enables 3D output and AR. Pretty good display quality and contrast even when viewed against harsh floodlights and much better power profile than the Himax display. I was quite impressed by what I saw. If Chacha is really serious about making Google Glass a mass consumer device, they need to ditch Himax (which they are as per rumours) and go with a solution like this.

I am quite happy with my iPad mini. But I haven't used any other tablet so can't compare.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 14 Jun 2014 10:41, edited 1 time in total.

Raja Bose wrote:So vina mullah is now man-e-middle dalal :mrgreen:.
Sort of yes. What I am is called statistical arbitrage. In Inglees, exploit statistical mispricings of related stuff. Crude example , if rice is Rs 10/kg in Hosur and Rs 15/kg in Bangalore, buy in Hosur and sell in Bangalore until the prices converge and pocket Rs 5/kg (less transport, mamool for checkpost in HSRA/BLR border and chai paani , baata for Abduls, hafta for the beat Mamoo and overheads).

So, that works whether Modi is there or MMS is there, market is up or market is down. Mean reversion is my Lakshmi and Orenstein-Uhlenbeck she bestows her munificence!

Anujan wrote:Fruitco products are the best bar none. That applies to MBP (yes a few nitpicks but any typical windows maal will make you want to chew your foot off. Yes that includes surface. Bite me*). It also applies to iphunwa. If they introduce a 4.7 incher, unless you want infinite customizability and different price points, it will be the optimum phunwa. And router. Gawd routers! (and I will add storage)! Why can't anyone build a decent router? After shelling money to everyone and their grandma, I finally bought an airport extreme. First router to be trouble free.
Exactly . I needed a fast snappy top end machine , nearly server class to do serious number crunching and graphics and a backup and storage solution to avoid any IED mubaraks. The normal way of doing it would have been a Mickey Saaft based generic brick that weighs a ton , with a crappy display and a RAID for storage.I looked around and checked out the new MBP retina late 2013 and liked what I saw, very light, thin, i7 quadcore, latest chipset , SSD , retina , beautifully engineered , the works.. And on top of that, the Mac OS is really BSD Unix, so all the stuff I developed for Bijiness on my Ubuntu dabba, was a simple file transfer and run with little or no mods (maybe tweak the environment variables on the Mac suitably). Brilliant performance, noiseless, stunning display, love it.

The thing that sold me on this was the TimeCapsule. Seamless backup via wireless and no worries about IED Mubaraks ever. Restoring and going back is a cinch. So that is what I settled on, MBP with Airport TimeCapsule. Took care of the router and storage business, with top class wireless performance as well.

And to satisfy the skinflint Abdul in me, got all of that that and adapters (thunderbolt to lan and DVi) via a chaddi dost who works at Phroot! :mrgreen:
Buy a macbook air and a iPad mini instead.
Yes. Absolutely.

vina mullah, we have had this discussion before. How much discount did your chaddi dost get you - the usual friends and family 15% or the real chaddi dost 30%? :twisted:

Guess where the Ornystein-Uhlenbatori process also applies?

Raja Bose wrote:vina mullah, we have had this discussion before. How much discount did your chaddi dost get you - the usual friends and family 15% or the real chaddi dost 30%? :twisted:
I told you earlier as well, the "real" chaddi one :twisted:. Not namby-pamby fraands and phamily one.

But not the once in a year employee usable onlee 40% one?

vina wrote:What I am is called statistical arbitrage.
Just curious (not a finance person by a long shot) Would it work in efficient markets? And the arbitrage opportunity might be short lived shorter than the time to make the trade - unless unless you are doing some form of prediction.

Raja Bose wrote:But not the once in a year employee usable onlee 40% one?
The one he got for me is what he told he could use once a year for his personal purchase, it wasnt chalee's iirc, closer to thees I think.

But what to do, Kaliphornicashun became dus percenti and screwed me out of 10% because they couldn't do delivery outside the US and I didnt have anyone to receive it in a state with no state taxes. :(( :(( :((

matrimc wrote:Just curious (not a finance person by a long shot) Would it work in efficient markets? And the arbitrage opportunity might be short lived shorter than the time to make the trade - unless unless you are doing some form of prediction.
Well, this is not a "riskless" arbitrage (think spot and futures relationship, put call parity , interest rate term structure etc. Google chacha/ Wiki mausi will help if you arent familiar and ask), where the relationship is clearly mathematically defined and enforced. Those will be very short lived, becomes a comp sci arms race to exploit them (lot of those are written in low level code in FPGA directly rather than a processor in a higher level language), so the guy who exploits them first gets it.

What I do carries risk and has certain "expectations" based on statistical relationships and tend to exist for significant length of time , allowing poor abduls like me to jump in.

so, I chat with MS support for transferring license from old pc to new yoga 2 pro.. disgusting their std answers are.

- license are activated and not installed - if you say install, they don't understand it
- so, I can't move license from one pc to another.
- so, no no no.. once you install, it is gone. eaten by MS. buy another one.

I have to check how this worked.. the other 2 machines were installed with MS affice 13 hup license for 2 activation. now 3rd wala was on yoga 2 pro, complains that this evaluation will remove all functionality by July.. so, I tried this.. activation by internet.. it said, exceed limits.

there was this button activate by phone.. automated service. there is big number game.. dialed in, followed the instruction, honestly said, I crossed 2 installs.. and the automated system activated my installs - I did this again on my MS Visio buy.

I haven't check if it had automatically chosen one of the 2 older installations for deactivation - as I read it is a 2 activation license.

good for now.. when I check the machines, will revert on that. it is a find!

marten - fyi

Gurus,

I have a business internet at home (because both SHQ & I have Home office) with 50/24MBPS DL/UL speeds. But for some reason we see network slowdown and it goes away when I restart the modem and wireless router.

I recently replaced the Modem, thinking it is the problem. But I think my Wireless router (5yr old) is bleeding, because the problem persists and my speed tests show wireless is doing something.

Any recommendations on a good wireless router?

Thanks a ton.