Somnath ji, I dont know it is prudent to compare the cost of home-grown to that of US systems. From Dr. Saraswat interview..somnath wrote:Kanson ji,
I posted a "later" estimate of the cost of the US NMD programme...(Re)Quoting from there:
The US has spent about 56 billion in the last 6 years, and planning to spend at leats 50 billion more in the next 3 years - all for something whose reliability is suspect even against a "ballistic missile threat that employs even simple decoys"..Coyle says since Reagan's 1983 Star Wars speech, the United States has spent at least $120 billion to develop missile defense, although the actual figure is probably much higher. According to the Government Accountability Office, the missile agency has spent about $56 billion since 2002 and is budgeted to spend an additional $50 billion through 2013.
This, when the US is not even buiolding its NMD for China and Russia, but purportedly for rogue states with far simpler tech...We, on the other hand have to plan for China and Pak...
300 Cr comes to less than 100 million. What is quoted for ATMS is annual cost only. So i leave it your decision on the relevance of comparing US Star Wars with ours.Secondly, the production costs have come down. For example if the cost of production of a Prithvi missile was Rs 4-5 crore in the early phase, after six-seven years it is only Rs 7 crore now. First, a surface-to-surface missile like it is not available. If at all you get it, it could cost $8 million. If the development and production costs of Prithvi over the last 15 years is around Rs 300 crore for all three versions, a US Army Tactical Missile System (ATMS), initial costs is estimated at $800 million annually.
True, it got C4I etc. And it is also true that we dont know what goes in Phase I, so we take only general clue rather than grinding to minute details. With these you cant say, it will cost more than 3 B USD or the otherway. But if you compare the relatively simple program that of Israel and combine that with cost table in our case, you can compare to a fair judgement that it will be much less than what you stated. I'm only stating the obvious. Secondly, those sensors and C4I will all be part of Integrated AD circuit of AF serving larger mission. So you cant count that as a stand alone cost for ABM alone, just my view.Somnath wrote:A BMD is not just about buying a super radar and linking it up to a bunch of interceptor missiles..As Dr Saraswat said in an interview, the interceptor is really the last leg of the system - a whole network of radars, sensors, satellites, C4I elements need to be put in place...In a recent interview with Force mag, Dr Saraswat said that the "first phase" of India's BMD can be deployed by 2013...We dont know what "first phase" would mean though, not yet in any case...
Ofcourse, the system has to be far more efficient and thats why MoD/DRDO official reasoned that we cant buy the system to suit our needs and the only option is to make the system for ourselves. Thats is the reason we rejected the PAC offer from US, if you remember. I think def min., Pranab M made a statement to this effect.And as I said in the earlier post, the system has to be far more "efficient" in the Indian context due to the extreme short missile flight time between India and Pak (or for that matter China)...the 20-25 billion cost, in that context would be a very very aggressive one, especially as we have no "legacy" to build on, unlike the US...
Ji, the brookings link has this to say...And yes, both warheads and missiles are far cheaper to produce..
On warheads, data is always nebulous due to the extreme secrecy of the process around the world..But a Brookings institution study on the cost of nuclear weapons say that about 86% of the Us expenditure on nuclear weapons were on delivery systems and security systems...Warheads is the balance - for the US, that translated to about 800 billion over a 56 year period (1940-1996, at constant 1996 prices, so inflation-adjusted)..So thats about 15-16 billion dollars every year, for a US-sized arsenal (hitting numbers of 40-50k for a time and including large numbers of more-expensive-to-produce-and-maintain thermonuclear bombs)...For a smaller arsenal running into a couple of thousand, you can extrapolate the cost of warhead production - not more than a billion dollars, or even less...
the study is here:
http://www.brookings.edu/projects/archi ... wartz.aspx
Now delivery systems is what has gotten so much cheaper than what they were 30-40 years back...So you have cruise missiles available at a million dollars each, ballistic missiles of the simpler (Prithvi) variety at a couple of pops..
This 86% cost includes, bombers, submarines, so on so forth. In our discussion wrt Pak context, we are talking only abt Ballistics missile with N warhead. I said, adding N Warhead in hundreds and thousands in not joke. One has to pay enormous cost not only to develop. So if you count only the ballistic missiles leaving other lanching platforms etc, cost of N material to missile goes higher, much higher that 24%. That is what i'm trying to say.These included not only the well known strategic bombers and ballistic missiles, but also artillery shells, depth charges, and nuclear land mines. In fact, when we add the cost of deploying offensive delivery systems to those of defensive weapons, along with the costs associated with targeting and controlling the arsenal, we find that 86 percent of what was spent was spent on building a variety of launch systems and ensuring that not only could they be fired when ordered to do so but,
Even if you say it is 24% including all sensors and other platforms, for me developing ABM missile system will cost less than 24% cumulatively and it is much easier for me to produce these missiles compared to having N tipped BM - just a comparison.
The 20kt N weapon that we tested in POK-II costs around 1 Cr at that time of development. And it is believed to be developed in 80s.
Second for a country like India, where N material is precious and needed for the parallel power generation programme, i probably dont want to match Paki with missile for missile and i can substitute ABM missiles for the Paki N BM. Thats why i said, ABM is part of the offensive and it imparts its own quality to the offensive arm. I can play with them to create a force structure and response system in whichever way i like to defeat the Paki in all gamed events of N warfare.
So Iran has now N bomb? Proof ?Further,fissile material enrichment is not a "black box" to anyone anymore - a range of chaps seem to be able to do it easily now...And ramping up is much simpler as well - as we can see with Iran's example....
Combine the two data points and you can see how much easier and cheaper it is to ramp up fissile material enrichment and missile production...The point is that the science and tech for both these are very very well known - everything is all there on the internet...

Dear Somnath ji, if we can take out hypersonic RV at lower atmosphere, why not a supersonic CM ? Supersonic CM can be easily taken when it is at mid course, only at the terminal phase it gives problem. BMD system when all sensors are hooked gives much enough early warning to take the CM much earlier before it enters the terminal phase.BMD, on the other hand, is an evolving tech, and people are still figuring out the limits of missile capabilities...How much did we spend on developing Brahmos? 250 million dollars? But how much will a BMD system need to spend to have a chance of tracking and eliminating a supersonic cruise missile, given that even a subsonic one is not really within its capabilities today?
If you understand how Chinese conducted themselves after the Agni-3 test and news of Agni-5, you can clearly see, Strength respects Strength. Only way forward is to augment both the offensive and defensive capabilities and conduct diplomacy through this strength and that will be more apt than what the Hindu editorial/column profess.Having said that, as I said, it might just still work in the Pak context...Maybe the resource differential is so large that the incremental efffort that Pak will need to make will cripple it even further...But then, what about China? A BMD programme will also cause China to move more numbers of its nuke forces closer to our border, and as the BMD gains "public" credibility, also ramp up....There is a "reverse gap" between us and China in resources - what happens to our own "minimum deterrence" levels against them then?