Open Letter to Indian Political Leaders about Pakistan

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Open Letter to Indian Political Leaders about Pakistan

Dear Manmohan Singhji, Soniaji, Advaniji and other netas,

If Indians were being killed in bomb blasts every day; if 125 people got killed on one day in a series of blasts, would you not respond by at least talking about bringing in increased policing in your country? Would you not call out the army to help with security? Did you hear Zardari, Kayani and Hina Rabbani express regret over the murderous bomb blasts in their own country? Do you understand that Pakistani leaders are not responding to crises in Pakistan the way you would be expected to do in India? Or in any other civilized nation?

Do you know why Pakistani leaders do not respond the way we would expect? If you know, you not revealing to us, the Indian public, that you understand what we can see very clearly. Pakistan is not a normal country. Pakistan is no longer under government control. The civilian leadership have no control. The military does not even conduct a coup as happened earlier in Pakistan because they too are no longer confident of controlling the whole country. The Pakistan army's morale is in a shambles. Ten years ago, the Pakistani army had about 30% of its personnel who were Pashtuns. The Pakistan army are now fighting those very Pashtuns and there have been desertions in the Pakistan army.

You are our leaders in India. You know very well why you, and our armed forces who answer to you are not using tanks and aircraft to attack Maoists. We do not use those weapons of war against our own people. But the Pakistani army is actually using those weapons against its own people. Do you really believe that Pakistani political leaders and you have something in common? Do you really believe that our armed forces and the Pakistani armed forces have something in common? But why do you keep saying that the Indian and Pakistani people have something in common? 66 years after partition, Indians and Pakistanis do not have much in common and please do not treat us Indians as if we are so stupid that we cannot see the deep differences that have developed between India and Pakistan.

Dear leaders. It was not your fault that Pakistan was created as a separate country. You know very well that if people wanted a land exclusively for Muslims. they got it and we wish them well. We have always wished them happiness in their land. It is their choice as to how they want to practice Islam. They have made no promise to be secular. Pakistani behavior is communal by choice. We are secular by law and pluralist by nature. What is there in common between India and Pakistan other than the fact that we are all humans. Remember, Kasab too was human. But what do we have in common with Kasab? Why do you leaders insist that there is much in common between India and Pakistan?

It is not your fault that Bangladesh was created. It is not your fault that West Pakistanis like Zulfikar Ali Bhutto and General Yahya Khan responded to an election defeat in Pakistan by trying to kill Bengalis. It was not your fault that ten million refugees came to India out of fear of their own army. Are you going to ask the Indian army to shoot people if you lose an election? Do you think the Indian armed forces will even listen to you if you did that? Then why do you insist that Pakistan and India have a lot in common? Are you leaders really unaware, or do you believe that the Indian public can be fooled forever?

Shri Mani Shankar Aiyer understood decades ago and wrote a book stating that to be Pakistani was to be "not Indian". The late JN Dixit wrote of how Pakistani children referred to him as "Hindu kutta" (Hindu dog). Now we have Pakistani cricketers openly referring to "Hinduon ka zehniyat" -stereotyping all Hindus. And those cricketers are invited to India. Would you allow an Indian cricketer to live as a free man in India if he criticizes all Muslims? Why then do we have these double standards of inviting a Pakistani cricketer who insults all Hindus? Do you think we the Indian public do not feel hurt and insulted when we hear Pakistani minister Hina Rabbani Khar speak of the 26/11 Mumbai attacks and demand that India should forget about it and let "bygones be bygones"? Why should we swallow such insults?

Pakistan is an Islamic country by choice. Pakistan is anti-India by choice. No one in India is being fooled by this pretence of Aman ki Asha. Wy do you insist on that? The Pakistani government is not in control in Pakistan. They cannot control their army. The army cannot control their terrorists. What do we gain by talking to any of these groups? Why do we believe that we have no option other than to talk?

Dear leaders. There is no one to talk to in Pakistan. There is nothing to talk. No entity in Pakistan has the power to implement agreements. No one is in control other than terrorists and even they are not in full control. And the terrorists will not talk. Have you tried approaching Hafiz Saeed for talks> Have you approached Dawood Ibrahim for talks? These people have more influence than Gen Kayani or Zardari. But it is Indian policy not to talk to terrorists isn't it?

I write this letter hoping that someone will read it. I hope that someone in the Indian government will realize that many educated Indians have studied Pakistan and understood some things. I would like to say that peace may not be possible without war. There is no one in Pakistan who will talk to us who also has the power to enforce friendship and peace. That means that a time may come, sooner or later when we have to wage war against Pakistan and bring that area under control. But if you wish that there should be no war, please do not try and fool us and say that we Indians have much in common with Pakistan. You are trying to fool us. We should not deal with Pakistan at all. No visas. No cricket and death to any armed Pakistani who tries to force his way in. Pakistanis want rule by devout Muslims. They want sharia. The Taliban represent both values. Indians, who respect all religions should respect Pakistan's right to allow only Sunni Muslims to live in Pakistan and practise sharia. But please don't say that this is a value that all Indians share and that Indians and Pakistan can be friends. How can there be friendship with very little in common.

Pakistan is undergoing gradual failure as a state. Please acknowledge that and stop pretending that things can be normal between India and Pakistan. Please stop pretending that India and Pakistan can have normal state to state relations like we have between Sri Lanka or with the US.

Many Indians who have studied Pakistan feel that we need to change our policies towards that failed country. But we now worry that you, our leaders are in denial. We worry that you have no policy to deal with Pakistan because you simply believe that Pakistan is a normal country like India and that Pakistanis are normal people like Indians. This is not true. I hope you the leaders of India will be able to understand that and start dealing with Pakistan as a failed state, in a state of religious and ideological war with India. In a war, we may have to get ready to fight and protect what we value. Do you, my dear leaders value what I value?

Respectfully yours

Last edited by shiv on 13 Jan 2013 07:15, edited 3 times in total.

Re: Open Letter to Indian Political Leaders about Pakistan

Great read. You have suggested measures too. But the problem with Pak is that even after those measures there will be provocations. So what should be done at that point?

Dear Shiv,

Thank you for writing this heartfelt letter. I know you don't expect any response even from there pankhawallas and that you are addressing your angst to your fellow Indians.

Your expectations will be fully met. There will be no response: zero, nada, zilch. The 'netas' are caught up in a 'Marie Antoinette let them eat cake' moment.

They are not interested in protecting you or me or our families from harm. They are only interested in protecting themselves from you and me.

What worries them is not a slavering Pakistan but Indians who demand governance and accountability. They are not frightened or concerned about the Pakistani military, they are more concerned about the Indian Army trying to take over: http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2 ... hat_wasn_t AND of course, Narendra Modi.

I regret to say there is no 'chankian' or devious strategy to box in the pakis. There is a single purpose that drives these worthies: beta testing on 1 billion people who deserve a lot more than this inbred scion.

Bashar Assad has a better connection with Syrians than these latter day Bourbons have with ordinary Indians.

The Dilli billis have fully assumed the role of the colonial brits.

Sorry, but nothings going to change until there is an Indian spring.

Very good letter Shiv. Congrats on saying it like it is.

Also Pakistanis even when they leave thier cesspool and immigrate to other countries they still are not Indian.

Case in point Daoud Gilani aka David Headley who was born of an American mother and a Paki father and all he had was hate for India.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Fantastic pro active letter nay eye opening effort.
Instead of the regular Rhona dhona this is commendable and sincere heart pouring of many a citizen of India.

The people of India are in a stupor not realizing the long term consequences of this regime of no accountability coalition drama.

I hope some leaders will spawn in this crisis to lead this nation if this does not happen soon I think India as we know will cease to exits like fabric that get digested over excessive wear and tear.

We need visionary true sons and daughters of the soil to guide to safety prosperity above all dignity of being citizen if India.

Jai Hind

In Mahabharat Bhisma laments at how he failed to see the war coming and hadnt taken steps to prevent it and all he can do is await it and die in it.

I think MMS and his coterie including the BJP Delhi billis all are lamenting and awaiting their fates.

They all have failed the nation/watan.

They have made the tryst with destiny a gang rape.

Shivji,

Thank you for the well articulated letter. Even though I do not agree on certain definitions and potrayals of India, this is a step in right direction.

Happy Makara Samkranti to your family and all Bharatiyas!

ramana wrote:In Mahabharat Bhisma laments at how he failed to see the war coming and hadnt taken steps to prevent it and all he can do is await it and die in it.

I think MMS and his coterie including the BJP Delhi billis all are lamenting and awaiting their fates.

They all have failed the nation/watan.

They have made the tryst with destiny a gang rape.
If they prefer, the Bhishmas of today's Bharat can take 'ichchaa marana' after Monday when uttarayana starts.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

edited
The cancer is internal and needs immediate surgery
Last edited by ramana on 13 Jan 2013 09:10, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: ramana.

Ayyo, don't say such things sir. They are not part of "freedom of speech" package.

Instead I request you to read Maha Pratyangira mantra as much as you can and pray her that she destroys the internal/external enemies of Bharat.

Indian Political leaders=IPL ( Kirket)
UPA=Ummah Promotion Aliance

Lets search for any Bharti Political leader out there doing Tapasya. IPLwalas wont even remove the lice from their head.
Last edited by Prem on 13 Jan 2013 10:39, edited 1 time in total.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

These are depressing days and your letter catches the mood of helplessness beautifully shiv garu. Thanks for expressing the anguish many feel here.

Shiv, fantastic.

Fantastic letter.

Though the current politicians, as you say, are not responsible for the creation of Bangladesh or of Pakistan. They have found and established one thing in common with Pakistan.

They are in denial, like Pakistan.

Best regards,

Rajan

Shiv has shown mirror to leader. If they dont see now that they are in deathly denial they are not my leaders , at least not for me.
Thanks for articulating common feelings.

SSji,

Can this letter be published on your blog so that we can share this letter across the web?

rajanb wrote: They are in denial, like Pakistan.
Yes it does seem like our political leaders are in denial, and that might be because our bureaucrats, who advise politicians might themselves be facing something that they were not trained for.

IAS and IFS are people like you and me who did very well in the UPSC entrance exam and got selected to become IAS. They then gain work experience working with senior diplomats and netas. They are very good in managing diplomatic relations, protocols etc. And they know exactly how relations may be broken when we are at war and how diplomatic relations can be notched up or notched down.

But they have no experience or idea of dealing with a failed state. I can only give a sad analogy of a boy, finding his father unmoving and unresponsive tried calling to him and throwing water on his face - to no avail. The father needed cardiac massage to revive him. The boy did not recognize the symptoms that his father had a cardiac arrest and that usual means to wake up a sleeping person would not help. We are talking to a dying country and pretending that everything will be OK. This is a mistake. I suspect that many in government suspect this but no one has the guts to sit and plan for a failed state next door.

I suspect bureaucrats and netas are trying to deal with Pakistan like a normal state. It is not a normal state. It is a failing state with multiple centers of power. No single entity can control things. One can no longer do deals with such a state. Exchanging visas and trade delegations is pathetic. We will keep getting hit because Pakistan is breaking up.
We can see that. But the government is in denial. The government seems to hope that all will be well if we pretend that all is well.

India has to deal with Pakistan in a different way. We need to tell them straight that no one is in control and that they are losing it and that we have no one to talk to - so talks and deals are ruled out. We are dealing with state failure. Not a rational functioning state. The people we talk to like that bimbo Khar and that asshole wotzisname Malik are toothless and powerless. The army too can only go so far. And Hafiz Saeed etc have some power but it's not enough to make a big difference. This is a stae that is gradually slipping out of control.

The Ashoka Pillar - an emblem of India with lions. We should have lions as leaders.

Why do I have the feeling we have ostriches, with their heads buried in the sand?

About babudom, the less said the better. Pliant to their political masters who remain ignorant of most things diplomatic.

Post by Klaus »

Shiv ji, I thought the letter lost its purpose when it was addressed to the people who it was addressed to. Apologies if you find this comment corrosive but it is pointless indulging in this activity when you know that the JLN fostered system (including BJP) have a symbiotic relationship with the idea of Pakistan, i.e their fates are inter-twined.

Our leaders would not acknowledge anything which would open up a path for their fall.

Klausji, can you please elaborate on your statement? I do not realize how the fates of Indian leaders are inter-twined with Pakistan. The Indian leadership says the fate of India and Pakistan are inter-twined and you seem to be saying a similar thing (although not the same thing).

Post by Klaus »

TSP's final collapse will arrive with the collapse of the INC led system. Fate of current Indian leaders is not the same as fate of India or Bharat. The latter would continue to exist as a civilization even if the current crop of leaders try to undo the Republic to their best efforts.
abhisheka

Post by abhisheka »

Dear Shiv,
Let me give you the perspective from Nayi Dilli. We, along with our Pakistani and Bangladeshi brothers are the Indo-Gangestanis(which consists of almost a billion inhabitants) and we Delhi-walas occupy the center of the Indo-Gangetic plain. Hindus and Muslims are perfectly balanced in Indo-Gangestan. The misogyny, lawlessness, feudalism is exactly the same. For centuries we were ruled by the same bigots. We share the same rivers and even some of the states! The South of Vindhyas are simply outer territories(However, thanks for the taxes your inhabitants pay for our upkeep!).You can surely understand why we consider that Gujarati Narendra Modi as a mortal enemy. Just because we Indo-Gangestanis fight amongst ourselves, doesn't mean that a foreign invader like Narendra Modi can colonize us. We successfully ousted the Marathas from Delhi in 1761(Thank you Afghan brothers!) and in 2014, we shall defeat Modi with our Pakistani fraands. Indo-Gangestan zindabad!

Your fraandly,
Typical Delhi ass-hat politshun.

Shiv,you will be taken seriously only if you write for the Economist or the NYT! Our mendicant of snake-oil only understands the firang tongue,as he has often expressed his love for everything firang.He is NOT an Indian at heart and like his mistress,who runs her party like a Sicilian widow,the interests of India will be always held in contempt unless the people of India come out onto the streets in their millions as they are doing in the Arab street.We are too "Karmic" by nature,accepting criminal governance as our "bad time".Please send your letter to the Economist .If they publish it,you may get heard!

Philip wrote:Shiv,you will be taken seriously only if you write for the Economist or the NYT! Our mendicant of snake-oil only understands the firang tongue,as he has often expressed his love for everything firang.He is NOT an Indian at heart and like his mistress,who runs her party like a Sicilian widow,the interests of India will be always held in contempt unless the people of India come out onto the streets in their millions as they are doing in the Arab street.We are too "Karmic" by nature,accepting criminal governance as our "bad time".Please send your letter to the Economist .If they publish it,you may get heard!
LOL! I'm sure you're right. But I think I'll pass on that... :lol:

Philip wrote:Shiv,you will be taken seriously only if you write for the Economist or the NYT! Our mendicant of snake-oil only understands the firang tongue,as he has often expressed his love for everything firang.He is NOT an Indian at heart and like his mistress,who runs her party like a Sicilian widow,the interests of India will be always held in contempt unless the people of India come out onto the streets in their millions as they are doing in the Arab street.We are too "Karmic" by nature,accepting criminal governance as our "bad time".Please send your letter to the Economist .If they publish it,you may get heard!
It is a Macaulayite Myth that that is what Karma is about. There is no question of "accepting"! "Accepting" is totally different from "Understanding"!

Shiv ji,

The letter is fantastic.

abhisheka wrote:Dear Shiv,
Let me give you the perspective from Nayi Dilli. We, along with our Pakistani and Bangladeshi brothers are the Indo-Gangestanis(which consists of almost a billion inhabitants) and we Delhi-walas occupy the center of the Indo-Gangetic plain. Hindus and Muslims are perfectly balanced in Indo-Gangestan. The misogyny, lawlessness, feudalism is exactly the same. For centuries we were ruled by the same bigots. We share the same rivers and even some of the states! The South of Vindhyas are simply outer territories(However, thanks for the taxes your inhabitants pay for our upkeep!).You can surely understand why we consider that Gujarati Narendra Modi as a mortal enemy. Just because we Indo-Gangestanis fight amongst ourselves, doesn't mean that a foreign invader like Narendra Modi can colonize us. We successfully ousted the Marathas from Delhi in 1761(Thank you Afghan brothers!) and in 2014, we shall defeat Modi with our Pakistani fraands. Indo-Gangestan zindabad!

Your fraandly,
Typical Delhi ass-hat politshun.
This is the true summary of state of affairs.

shiv saar,

this is an excellent letter.

I wonder if I could have written something like this. Basically the BRF thought process, vocabulary, etc. has really created a rift between the two universes, and there are many Walter Bishops here, who have contributed to that.

The "Indian Secular Media", the Indian Politicos speak a completely different lingo than us, and basically what they speak in that universe, nobody here can understand, and what we speak, they too cannot make head or tail about. In this not even a Universal Translator would help, because as mentioned we are simply two separate universes.

So I appreciate your great effort in building this bridge between the two universes, which perhaps enables the politicos there to understand us on BRF.

Perhaps that is the new Urdu!

>> This is the true summary of state of affairs.

Actually that is a pathetic summary. It is unfair to many (most?) people in the Gangetic valley. It is disappointing that members of this forum are seduced by simple-minded generalizations.

Klaus wrote:TSP's final collapse will arrive with the collapse of the INC led system. Fate of current Indian leaders is not the same as fate of India or Bharat. The latter would continue to exist as a civilization even if the current crop of leaders try to undo the Republic to their best efforts.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 3#p1240963
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 6#p1240966

Nice letter to the leaders.. but I am afraid that your respected values would be trashed by the leaders and their setup.

I am happy, you made the awareness trigger the aam minds. It is important to view such feelings.

First we dont have leaders but rulers . Second, the letter might cause Pujya PM=Pakistani Man MM Singh and Foreigner Minister KharShidh a good laugh. Only apprehesion i have is if it madden the Madam and Old Doc hear a knock at the door few minute past midnight. In this case we shall keep the vigil and hope for the best .

Pakis have become political terrorists hiding behind religion.

abhishek_sharma wrote:>> This is the true summary of state of affairs.

Actually that is a pathetic summary. It is unfair to many (most?) people in the Gangetic valley. It is disappointing that members of this forum are seduced by simple-minded generalizations.
I wish you are right.

Cross post
SSridhar wrote:Shatrughan Sinha on TSP
Compared with earlier times the civilians in Pakistan are very pro-India today.
If our netas depend on personal impressions as data we are screwed. If you meet one friendly Paki or even 30 of them and think all Pakis are like that you are deluding yourself.

This is where the US and the west score over Indian politicians. The former actually have opinion polls in Pakistan that assess how Pakis feel about various things. Every opinion poll I have read in the last few years has shown that India is considered the worst enemy by Bakis

But I bet our netas, of who Shatrughan Sinha is one, does not know that. How can you sample a few Paki hosts and then declare that all 180 million Pakis are pro India? I wonder if the entire political class are this naive.

One on one every Paki you meet will profess friendship. Its when they are together that their hatred shows up.

Good piece of writing. One correction though, they are politicians not leaders.

ramana wrote:One on one every Paki you meet will profess friendship. Its when they are together that their hatred shows up.
That is how Indian leaders concede when they are in a one-on-one meeting with their TSP counterparts. I shudder every time reports talk of a one-on-one meeting.

shiv wrote:Dear Manmohan Singhji, Soniaji, Advaniji and other netas,

....Pakistan is no longer under government control. The civilian leadership have no control. The military does not even conduct a coup as happened earlier in Pakistan because they too are no longer confident of controlling the whole country.....The Pakistani government is not in control in Pakistan. They cannot control their army. The army cannot control their terrorists. What do we gain by talking to any of these groups? Why do we believe that we have no option other than to talk?

Dear leaders. There is no one to talk to in Pakistan. There is nothing to talk. No entity in Pakistan has the power to implement agreements. No one is in control other than terrorists and even they are not in full control. And the terrorists will not talk.

....Pakistan is undergoing gradual failure as a state.....
For argument's sake, what is your response to - "the consequences of a totally failed, hostile and nuclear-armed state next door are unpredictable, and the worst-case scenarios are both horrendous and not improbable; in the worst case, even a daily 26/11 will seem like minor stuff. The only option open to us is to try to stave off this total collapse, and the only way to start that process is to talk - even if the talk seems absurd to the majority of educated Indians, and the parties we talk to have little in their control".

I have my own thoughts on the answer to this argument, want to see yours.

shiv wrote:Dear Manmohan Singhji, Soniaji, Advaniji and other netas,

....Pakistan is no longer under government control. The civilian leadership have no control. The military does not even conduct a coup as happened earlier in Pakistan because they too are no longer confident of controlling the whole country.....The Pakistani government is not in control in Pakistan. They cannot control their army. The army cannot control their terrorists. What do we gain by talking to any of these groups? Why do we believe that we have no option other than to talk?

Dear leaders. There is no one to talk to in Pakistan. There is nothing to talk. No entity in Pakistan has the power to implement agreements. No one is in control other than terrorists and even they are not in full control. And the terrorists will not talk.

....Pakistan is undergoing gradual failure as a state.....
For argument's sake, what is your response to - "the consequences of a totally failed, hostile and nuclear-armed state next door are unpredictable, and the worst-case scenarios are both horrendous and not improbable; in the worst case, even a daily 26/11 will seem like minor stuff. The only option open to us is to try to stave off this total collapse, and the only way to start that process is to talk - even if the talk seems absurd to the majority of educated Indians, and the parties we talk to have little in their control".

I have my own thoughts on the answer to this argument, want to see yours.
Actually the answer is that you prepare for the worst-case scenario occurring despite one's best efforts to prevent it. If you are not preparing, then you are not thinking that the worst-case scenario is probable. And if you are not thinking so, then it should not be used as a lame excuse to not act!
Last edited by RajeshA on 14 Jan 2013 18:01, edited 1 time in total.

The worst case scenario is a low-probability event and people often use it to scare others and further their own political goals.