Hero Sarabjit Singh
I am surprised that a thread was not started to pay homage to a great Indian hero, Sarabjit Singh, who was detained for 25 years, tortured and finally brutally murdered by Pakis this past week. There are several different stories about Sarabjit.
1. That he was an innocent civilian who was caught in the crossfires of Indo-Pak politics, as Indian government claims.
2. That he was an Indian intelligence agent operating in Pakistan, as his family claims.
3. That he planted bombs in Lahore and other places inside Pakistan, as the Paki government claims.
But regardless of which above story is true, one thing is for certain. Sarabjit Singh and his family showed tremendous strength and grace under the most difficult circumstances any human would ever have gone through. Through torture, through being under tremendous pressure, through the most horrendous circumstances, he never gave up his fighting spirit, never converted, never gave in to bullying, never gave up his individuality and in the end died fighting an unequal fight with a number of prisoners in a Paki prison. In fact, he was hit in the head by a blunt hard object from behind. The very fact that he had to be physically attacked and eliminated clearly means that the Pakis and even the prisoners in that jail were not able to break him emotionally or mentally. His family too demonstrated what an ideal Indian family should be, always standing by Sarabjit, putting pressure on the non-responsive and traitorous Indian Government who did not do enough to get him released, but without getting too bitter or without turning against our country. Contrast Sarabjit's family with the cowardly and self indulgent families of the hijacked passengers of the Air India flight to Kandahar and the difference in character clearly comes out.
So, regardless of whether he was an Indian Intelligence Officer or not, I salute Sarabjit Singh and pay homage to him. I can understand if we dont want to put up a thread like this in open forum, but we certainly should have one here.
Rest in Peace, Sarabjit, my friend. I hope at some point in the near future, your country will catch up, and catch on and become a country befitting heroes like you !
1. That he was an innocent civilian who was caught in the crossfires of Indo-Pak politics, as Indian government claims.
2. That he was an Indian intelligence agent operating in Pakistan, as his family claims.
3. That he planted bombs in Lahore and other places inside Pakistan, as the Paki government claims.
But regardless of which above story is true, one thing is for certain. Sarabjit Singh and his family showed tremendous strength and grace under the most difficult circumstances any human would ever have gone through. Through torture, through being under tremendous pressure, through the most horrendous circumstances, he never gave up his fighting spirit, never converted, never gave in to bullying, never gave up his individuality and in the end died fighting an unequal fight with a number of prisoners in a Paki prison. In fact, he was hit in the head by a blunt hard object from behind. The very fact that he had to be physically attacked and eliminated clearly means that the Pakis and even the prisoners in that jail were not able to break him emotionally or mentally. His family too demonstrated what an ideal Indian family should be, always standing by Sarabjit, putting pressure on the non-responsive and traitorous Indian Government who did not do enough to get him released, but without getting too bitter or without turning against our country. Contrast Sarabjit's family with the cowardly and self indulgent families of the hijacked passengers of the Air India flight to Kandahar and the difference in character clearly comes out.
So, regardless of whether he was an Indian Intelligence Officer or not, I salute Sarabjit Singh and pay homage to him. I can understand if we dont want to put up a thread like this in open forum, but we certainly should have one here.
Rest in Peace, Sarabjit, my friend. I hope at some point in the near future, your country will catch up, and catch on and become a country befitting heroes like you !
Re: Hero Sarabjit Singh
probably there was a reason for not having started a thread.
When Kasab and Guru were hanged I said to myself Sarabjit will not survive. But you got to do what you got to do. We need to extract a heavier price from the Pakis for this. Hope RAW and GOI are on the job.
My sraddhanjali to Sarabjit Singh
Of course, the Traitorous Indian government will never do it. Not even close. But 10 Paki throats Halalled, extra slow, is a fitting response to Sarabjit's death.
I know it is a pipe dream and I apologize for indulging in fantasies.
But this is how I feel on the inside. What a cowardly, cowardly act. A new low even for the the lowly Pakis. Just when you think that the PAkis cant get any lower - they surprise you again...and again
I know it is a pipe dream and I apologize for indulging in fantasies.
But this is how I feel on the inside. What a cowardly, cowardly act. A new low even for the the lowly Pakis. Just when you think that the PAkis cant get any lower - they surprise you again...and again
apparently another prisoner chamel singh was killed in january 

and GOI asked the jailors to keep the napakis safe in the jails.
Sarabjit, may you know peace and your persecutors fall to pieces....
I think it is difficult for us to contemplate all that Sarabjit went through. Imprisoned in prison full of mad dogs and madder jailers. We don't know how he was humiliated day in and day out! We don't know whether he was fed well or at all. We don't know whether he used to be beaten day in and day out! We don't know what he went through when the made dogs fell upon him!
He faced all of that - Alone! His countrymen were not with him! His government was not with him!
At any time, all we needed to do was to capture some influential Paki and exchange him for Sarabjit. We did not do it! All we had to do was to start bombarding the hell out of Pakistan positions on the LoC until they had returned Sarabjit. We did not do it! All we had to do was to capture some Pakistani Naval Ship, saying it intruded into Indian waters, and exchange it for Sarabjit. We did not do it!
With Pakis there is only one way one can negotiate! You cut off Paki's prick and then negotiate what he needs to do so as to get it back in time! Maybe there is a chance one can sew it back on!
Sarabjit,
Rest in Peace! We failed you!
He faced all of that - Alone! His countrymen were not with him! His government was not with him!
At any time, all we needed to do was to capture some influential Paki and exchange him for Sarabjit. We did not do it! All we had to do was to start bombarding the hell out of Pakistan positions on the LoC until they had returned Sarabjit. We did not do it! All we had to do was to capture some Pakistani Naval Ship, saying it intruded into Indian waters, and exchange it for Sarabjit. We did not do it!
With Pakis there is only one way one can negotiate! You cut off Paki's prick and then negotiate what he needs to do so as to get it back in time! Maybe there is a chance one can sew it back on!
Instead of giving Burney 25 crores Rupees, all one needed to do was to cut off his prick and offer it back to him for a price - the return of Sarabjit!Anindya wrote:From TOI live blog:
Live Blog: Pak activist Burney demanded Rs 25 crore for Sarabjit's release, sister says
Sarabjit's sister Dalbir Kaur said that if she had paid Rs 25 crore to Pak activist Ansar Burney, Sarabjit would have returned to India.
Sarabjit,
Rest in Peace! We failed you!
Another brave Indian spy/soldier we have failed. Shows how impotent we Indian men are when we are unable to rescue our own kind or our borders, its our own kind which is in the govt as well.
May you attain moksha dear Brother and if at all you have another janma may it be in your karma bhoomi India when times are better and there is some value to an Indian's life!
X-post...
Sarabjit Singh's sister Dalbir kaur on media (in Hindi)
http://khabar.ndtv.com/video/show/news/273160
Sarabjit and many like you....may you come back again in thousands of new forms bearing weapons in your hands.
That day those who tortured you, those who looked the other way when your blood and tears flowed and those who never cared would be scattered like dust.
Sarabjit and many like you....may you come back with a new dawn when the colour of the sky turns Basanti.
That day those who tortured you, those who looked the other way when your blood and tears flowed and those who never cared would be scattered like dust.
Sarabjit and many like you....may you come back with a new dawn when the colour of the sky turns Basanti.
We need to keep in mind who said what so they don't retract. Looks like INC is taking big hit and is rushing Rahulbaba to his village.
Firstpost:
From Dalbir Kaur to Cursed:Who said what
Firstpost:
From Dalbir Kaur to Cursed:Who said what
Add to the TSP beheading Indian soldiers this puts a nail in the coffin of MMS plans to revive Shameless sellout.From Dalbir to Khurshid, who said what on Sarabjit Singh’s death
by May 2, 2013
Indian prisoner in Pakistan Sarabjit Singh died early on Thursday morning in Pakistan's Jinnah Hospital where he was admitted after he was brutally assaulted by fellow prisoners on 26 April.
Sarabjit had slipped into a coma, and breathed his last this morning. India woke up to the news that has certainly stirred the hornet's nest, with the BJP demanding strict action by the government and the prime minister gravely condemning the incident.
PTIHere are some reactions:
Sarabjit Singh's sister Dalbir Kaur: God knows how many people tortured Sarabjit. Whether we are BJP or Congress we have to support Shinde ji and Manmohan ji. Earlier Pakistan stabbed Vajpayee's back and today they have stabbed Manmohan Singh. Pakistani activist Ansar Burney cheated us. Had I paid Rs 25 crore to Burney, Sarabjit would have returned to India.
Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde: We are speaking to Pakistan authorities to send Sarabjit's body as soon as possible. The family can conduct last rites where they please. We requested Pakistan to pardon Sarabjit till the last moment. We had told Pakistan that his was a case of mistaken identity.
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh: The criminals responsible for the barbaric and murderous attack on Sarabjit Singh must be brought to justice. I regret that Pakistan did not heed pleas of India and Sarabjit's family for taking a humanitarian view in this case. The government will make arrangements to bring home remains of Sarabjit and conduct his last rites. May his soul be granted the peace that he could not enjoy in life. The nation shares his family's profound grief with them.
{He sounds like Obama!}
Minister of Externel Affairs Salman Khurshid: We are extremely distressed. Details of what has happened we would like to share with Parliament. Sustainable and long lasting relationship between two countries has to be between people.That relation between the two countries has been hurt by what has happened today.
My heart goes out to the family and I pray God gives them strength.
Union Minister of State Manish Tewari: An Indian citizen has been murdered in cold blood in the custody of the Pakistani state. The Pakistani establishment must account for it. Our hearts and minds are with the family. BJP wants to politicise every issue. Even in a moment of grief the only thing these people can think about is politics.
Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi: Both, the Government of India & Government of Pakistan have misled people on Sarabjit Singh issue. The truth on this issue must come out. Sarabjit Singh's demise is very sad. May his soul rest in peace. May God give strength to his family to bear this loss.
BJP leader Syed Shahnawaz Hussain: Sarabjit Singh's death has unmasked the Pakistani government. Sarabjit was India's son and he should be declared a martyr. The incident has soured Indo-Pak ties.
BJP spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad: This is a cold blooded murder. I am very pained about the gross indifference of the government of India.
Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj: It is a cold blooded murder. This is not the way civilized nations behave.
Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal: Sarabjit dies. Leaves behind many questions.
Sarabjit Singh's lawyer Awais Sheikh: One can never expect in a country in a civilised world that a prisoner could be brutally murdered like this. I have been associated with Sarabjit for the last 4 years. And I can tell you what a nice man he was. I informed the jail authorities that he was under threat, but still they failed to protect him. I blame jail authorities for his death. This happened because of their negligence.
Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal: Government of India too dithered and dilly-dallied in reacting to the attack on him (Sarabjit). Was enough done to save him? Steps by government of India to secure his release earlier were weak and totally inadequate.
Sarabjit's family friend Raj Kumar Verka: The Pakistan government was doing drama by putting Sarabjit on ventilator. Pakistan fooled his family. Pakistan did not allow family to meet Sarabjit because they did not want them to realise that he is dead.
Sarabjit you deserve a better country and better people. MMS I don't know if you will get the nobel in this lifetime but you will definitely get the nobel in napunsakta (if there were ever such an award).
Being jailed does not make one a hero. It makes one more of a victim. I don't know what Sarabjit Singh did, but to be a hero in my book, he has to have killed 10 Pakis.
Either way, bhagwan unke aatma ko shaanti de.
>> Being jailed does not make one a hero. It makes one more of a victim. I don't know what Sarabjit Singh did, but to be a hero in my book, he has to have killed 10 Pakis.
Taking the risk for the country makes him a hero (even though we don't know about his performance). Some might say he was merely there for money. Maybe. Like thousands of others, he could have earned his livelihood by stealing from others. He did not.
I don't know about SS's specific situation, but we have to be careful while labeling someone a hero because real heroism gets diluted. This is the problem here in the US, where everyone is called a "hero". You might get shot on the streets, the media will call you a hero. The Boston bystanders who died in the blast were "heroes" when in reality they are victims.abhishek_sharma wrote:>> Being jailed does not make one a hero. It makes one more of a victim. I don't know what Sarabjit Singh did, but to be a hero in my book, he has to have killed 10 Pakis.
The media should publicize SS's whole story a bit more. Even joining the Army does not make one a hero unless the person does something selflessly like saving his platoon, his fellow soldiers etc like the PVC winners did.
Can someone say what his deeds were that made him a hero? I looked here and I don't see anything.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarabjit_Singh
Cmon man, this cannot be the standard.Like thousands of others, he could have earned his livelihood by stealing from others. He did not.
It's sad that our impotent Govt does not care for its own citizens.

Yes, not everyone can be a hero. But, assuming that Sarabjit Singh was an intelligence officer, he was a hero. Why? Because he chose a dangerous job to serve his country. A person standing on the street near a bomb blast is different from a soldier standing near the LoC, or a covert intelligence officer in a foreign country.
>> Cmon man, this cannot be the standard.
Yes, this cannot be a standard for an IT-vity person like me. Being not corrupt does not make me an extraordinary person. Why? Because I am not risking my life.
It is difficult to imagine that Sarabjit SIngh (or those soldiers whose head was cut off) could not have found a less dangerous job.
>> Cmon man, this cannot be the standard.
Yes, this cannot be a standard for an IT-vity person like me. Being not corrupt does not make me an extraordinary person. Why? Because I am not risking my life.
It is difficult to imagine that Sarabjit SIngh (or those soldiers whose head was cut off) could not have found a less dangerous job.
May god give his Aatma shanti.
In 2006, GOI bent over backwards to get a man released from Saudi jail mainly due media akkrosh. Why did this same media no create any akkrosh for SS?

RIP.
waiting for a day when India will respond in such a way that such incidents(or any other similar) will not happen on any Indian in any country including napakistan.

We do not have a nationalist Government. We have an appeasing Govt which will GUBO to any foreign interest. Modi is the only hope.
RIP gentle friend.
You indeed suffered and died because you were Indian.
Our government failed in its duty to protect you.
You have indeed been in Hell for a very long time, I know that god will give you peace now.
There will be no more suffering.
You indeed suffered and died because you were Indian.
Our government failed in its duty to protect you.
You have indeed been in Hell for a very long time, I know that god will give you peace now.
There will be no more suffering.
Just my thoughts. I am not blaming/judging anyone.
SS could be a spy or ordinary farmer or a thief. The issue is that he could not have been identified conclusively by GOI for 23 years and get him the justice he deserves as a Bharatiya.
One may question, well in India itself we have court cases running into decades and centuries. What is so special about SS.
One and only special thing about SS is that he was in Pakistani jail. Knowing Pakistan and its hatred for India, he should have gotten special attention.
The pain multiplies when we have termites as leaders who give $10Bs to western developed nations and treat confirmed white killers as 5* guests but cannot finance our own justice systems to give our own citizens speedy justice.
Mods: I am sorry for criticizing GoI, yet again.
SS could be a spy or ordinary farmer or a thief. The issue is that he could not have been identified conclusively by GOI for 23 years and get him the justice he deserves as a Bharatiya.
One may question, well in India itself we have court cases running into decades and centuries. What is so special about SS.
One and only special thing about SS is that he was in Pakistani jail. Knowing Pakistan and its hatred for India, he should have gotten special attention.
The pain multiplies when we have termites as leaders who give $10Bs to western developed nations and treat confirmed white killers as 5* guests but cannot finance our own justice systems to give our own citizens speedy justice.
Mods: I am sorry for criticizing GoI, yet again.
Sorry to see this Drama on Sarabjit Funeral.
3 Helipad constructed over night , All of Punjab Cabinet , Rahul Gandhi and top politician present , these people were missing since 20 years in the events happened recently. In few days camera will move to another event things will be forgotten and Sarabjit would end up etched in memories of their family and daughters.
Hopefully the Govt allots Petrol Pump and give them Government Job to the Daughter , besides some financial support.
3 Helipad constructed over night , All of Punjab Cabinet , Rahul Gandhi and top politician present , these people were missing since 20 years in the events happened recently. In few days camera will move to another event things will be forgotten and Sarabjit would end up etched in memories of their family and daughters.
Hopefully the Govt allots Petrol Pump and give them Government Job to the Daughter , besides some financial support.
pakis will be pakis
Vital organs missing in Sarabjit’s body: Second autopsy report
Even as outrage poured in India against the brutal killing of Sarabjit Singh, new revelation might aggravate the relation between the two countries. A second autopsy was conducted at Patti Hospital in Amritsar to ascertain the cause of death and to cross-check the claims of Pakistan over the same and the time of death which found vital organs like heart, kidneys and stomach were missing from the body.
A panel of five doctors, consisting of heads of the departments of Forensic, Anaesthesia, Orthopaedics, Surgery and Pathology from Amritsar Medical College, conducted the post-mortem of Sarabjit’s body on Thursday night.
According to sources the panel found vital organs like heart, kidneys and stomach missing from the body of Sarabjit.
This will make the autopsy exercise in India grossly inconclusive, said doctors, raising further questions marks over the intentions and conduct of Pakistan in the case of Sarabjit, who was brutally assaulted inside the Kot Lakhpat Jail.
On Thursday, a six-member Pakistani medical board performed the autopsy of Sarabjit Singh, 49, at the Jinnah Hospital in Lahore, before handing over the body to the Indian officials, media reports said.
RIP brother. We failed you. 

thanks sangram and rajesh for writing those posts. that he held personal fort, in an abusive hostile environment is really a sign of the strength of his character. he and his family had so much to be bitter about, the grace with which they handled it is truly commendable. they dont teach such things in schools.
RIP Sarabjit. It's a shame that so many Govts and heads could not put adequate pressure to free you. Meanwhile our thinking PM:
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh termed the assault on Sarabjit inside jail as a "very sad" incident. "It is very sad. I think in the jail, I think some inmates attacked him. I think that is very sad," he has said.

Interesting. Looks like Sarabjit got police/military honors. Is GoI confirming that he is a spy?
No. He is getting a state funeral from Punjab as a native son. GOI provided Air India aircraft to fetch his dead body.
No one from GOI has the courage to attend. Salman Kurshid as MEA should have attended as the poor guy was murdered in Pakistan a foreign country.
Moved to Strat Forum so people can see and pay homage.
ramana garu,
thanks! I was thinking of requesting the same!
If he is a hero then what about hundreds of other Indian prisoners who are in Pakistani jails for decades now ?
What about Chamel Singh who was killed earlier this year. He didn't even get a 10 line column in papers after his death. This tamasha over a single Victim (not Hero) when 100s of other Indians are facing even worse is just stupid
OK, Why didnt you start a thread when you knew? Dont whine here.
Get real.
Start a Facebook and Twitter campaign for those prisoners in TSP. Write to media. Create a blog for peopole to register theri anger. So far we dont even know the names of the prisoners.
Get the Dilli billis to hold candle vigils of the WKKs and the TSP embassy.
Do something!!!
Get real.
Start a Facebook and Twitter campaign for those prisoners in TSP. Write to media. Create a blog for peopole to register theri anger. So far we dont even know the names of the prisoners.
Get the Dilli billis to hold candle vigils of the WKKs and the TSP embassy.
Do something!!!